"I feel that I should have represented Pakistan on more occasions than I did" : Wahab Riaz

Pakistan fast-bowler, Wahab Riaz earned praise for leading his side Peshawar Zalmi to the final of PSL 6 and also impressed with his maiden appearance at this year's The Hundred where he took 4/30. A back injury ended his stint at Trent Rockets after just one match but the pacer with 154 international appearances to his name is now all set for his next challenge at the 2021 edition of the Caribbean Premier League.

In an exclusive interview with PakPassion.net, Wahab spoke about his impressions of the inaugural edition of The Hundred, working with Head Coach Andy Flower, why he feels Saqib Mahmood has a bright future as an England bowler, hopes that he will be selected for the ICC T20 World Cup, what impresses him most about Shaheen Shah Afridi, Pakistan's chances at the ICC mega event and explained the reasons behind not having represented Pakistan on more occasions than he has so far.

E8SdgFQXIAwBPYp

PakPassion.net: Unfortunately you only played one match in The Hundred, but how was the experience?

Wahab Riaz:
I had been looking forward to participating in this tournament for a while and it seemed that the wait was worth it but unfortunately, I suffered a back injury and that limited my participation to just one match. Overall, this was a good experience and was something different. What I really enjoyed about this format is that it provides great entertainment for cricket fans and as a player, it tests your skill-levels as you have less time to think about what you are going to do. You have to make your decisions early and as a bowler there’s a lot of pressure on you, but you have to be on top of your game and make sure that you utilise all your varieties with the ball.

PakPassion.net: Do you think the hundred ball format can grow around the world and perhaps into international cricket?

Wahab Riaz:
It’s exciting and an entertaining format and from what we have seen in the inaugural edition, the fans have loved it and come to the grounds in big numbers. Of course, it’s a different challenge for the players but at the same it’s enjoyable. I think it’s a format that can grow in other countries within the domestic structure. I think it’s too soon to talk about this format at the international level but who knows in future, maybe we might see it being played at the highest level.

PakPassion.net: How was the experience of working with Andy Flower at the Trent Rockets?

Wahab Riaz:
Working with Andy as our Head Coach at the Rockets has been a good experience. He’s very clear about what he wants from the players and what each players’ role is. He makes it crystal clear as to what he expects from his players, what the demands are and what he wants in each situation during a match. He’s straight forward, very blunt and it was really good working with him. I saw a lot of qualities in him as a coach and I can see exactly why he took England to another level as their Head Coach. I think it’s good for a coach to be clear with the players regarding roles and plans and Andy certainly was very clear. I’m working with him also at the upcoming Caribbean Premier League so that should also be a great help to me.

317332.6.jpg

PakPassion.net: Saqib Mahmood who played under you for Peshawar Zalmi at the Pakistan Super League seems to be making rapid progress. What are your thoughts on him as a bowler?

Wahab Riaz:
Saqib is a really good and skilful bowler who enjoys his cricket. He knows exactly what the demands are on him as a bowler and what the team needs from him. I found him to be a brave bowler who will always raise his hand and make himself available in pressure situations and won’t hide. He’s one of those bowlers who doesn’t hide, he wants to preform for the team and bowl when the pressure is on and when the team needs him most. He’s got a lot of good qualities and I think he is someone who can represent England in all three formats in the future for a very long time.

PakPassion.net: Do you think it’s too easy nowadays for players to announce their retirement and just play in Twenty20 leagues around the world?

Wahab Riaz:
It really depends on the individual and where they stand in their career at a certain point, and what they are thinking about their future. Some players obviously at a certain point in their career realise that the longer format isn’t suited to them and they wish to concentrate on playing shorter formats only, or only want to participate in leagues. It’s not always an easy decision, but one that players think long and hard about.

PakPassion.net: You retired from Test cricket, were then asked to make yourself available for the tour of England last year in Tests, but didn’t play a match. How frustrating was that?

Wahab Riaz:
The Pakistan Cricket Board contacted me and asked if I would make myself available for Test cricket on the tour of England as they might need me. I said I was happy to make myself available, but you have to remember that by making myself available that didn’t mean that I could automatically expect to be picked. I agreed to their request and was ready and prepared if needed, but unfortunately my services weren’t required as the other bowlers were doing very well and I had to be satisfied with a place as a reserve.

resized_70779-2020-09-01t205915z_1768374709_rc2wpi9w14vc_rtrmadp_3_cricket-t20-eng-pak.jpg

PakPassion.net: You continue to be ignored by the national selectors. How disappointing and frustrating is that?

Wahab Riaz:
As a player it’s always disappointing to be ignored by the selectors because I do feel that things should be different and I should be playing for Pakistan more than I have been. But at the same time, it’s the selectors who make the decisions and I guess they know exactly why I am not being picked. All I can hope for is that whatever the selectors are thinking is in the best interests of Pakistan cricket.

PakPassion.net: Do you think the current Pakistan white-ball teams are lacking experience that the likes of you and Shoaib Malik can provide?

Wahab Riaz:
Experience is vital in any format of the game, especially when it comes from seniors who have been performing as that can make a big difference for the side. Young blood can win you matches now and then, but experienced players who are still performing should be a part of the national squad because they still have a lot to offer. Look, I don’t think it’s a bad thing to give youngsters a chance, but the selection of players should be in the best interests of Pakistan cricket and the players should be match-winners who can win you matches for the country.

PakPassion.net: Is it fair to say that the current Pakistan squads don’t have too many match-winners?

Wahab Riaz:
That’s a good question and the answer to this question lies with the selection committee. It would be interesting to know about their thought process, and to understand what combination they want to go with and who they think is the best choice for Pakistan. These are questions that the selection committee should have answers for and should be asked of them.

PakPassion.net: What’s happened to the great art of bowling yorkers in Pakistan cricket?

Wahab Riaz:
It was always the go-to ball but that has changed as nowadays it depends on the bowler himself. Some bowlers think differently and want to bowl something else under pressure or bowl what they feel they are comfortable with when the pressure is on. I still feel that the yorker is the best ball in the death overs as it remains the most difficult ball for a batsman to score freely from. As a bowler, I love to bowl yorkers and take the batsman on especially at the end of an innings, but it seems that these days not all the bowlers share my opinion on this strategy.

PakPassion.net: What are your thoughts on the progress of Shaheen Shah Afridi?

Wahab Riaz:
Shaheen’s progress since his debut has been exceptionally good for Pakistan. He takes wickets up front when the team needs them and that is really important and on top of that he bowls really well in the latter stages of the innings. He’s a very good prospect and the way he has been bowling is proof of the amount of hard work he has been putting in. I think he will only get better in the future and continue to be an integral part of Pakistan cricket.

Wahab-2011-WC

PakPassion.net: Can Pakistan beat India at this year’s Twenty20 World Cup?

Wahab Riaz:
They definitely have the ability to achieve that result. If Pakistan plays to its potential, then they can beat any team in the world including India. Twenty20 cricket is such a format that the whole match can turn in the space of a few balls or even one incident and the Pakistan versus India match will be no different. If Pakistan play at their best, they can certainly beat India.

PakPassion.net: How do you rate Pakistan’s overall chances at the Twenty20 World Cup?

Wahab Riaz:
Given the conditions and where it’s being held, I believe Pakistan has a very good chance of winning the tournament. Pakistan has played a lot of cricket in UAE, and this gives them a very good chance to win the competition. They’ll be familiar with the conditions, and they’ll know what the ball will do. If they can utilise the conditions and use them to their advantage, then there is no reason why they can’t be considered amongst the leading contenders for the title.

PakPassion.net: Do you think we’ll see you at the Twenty20 World Cup?

Wahab Riaz:
If it was up to me, then yes you will. But it’s up to the selectors who they want included in the side and who they think will provide the maximum utility. As a player, all you can do is to perform and that’s what my aim is and that’s what I am doing around the world. Lately I’ve played in the Pakistan Super League (PSL), and I have showed what I am capable of, and I don’t think I have to prove it again and again. Regardless of what they feel, I am performing well wherever I am getting a chance to play. So, let’s see what the selectors have in mind and whether they want me to be a part of future squads is totally up to them.

PakPassion.net: You’ve been captaining Peshawar Zalmi at the PSL. Is captaincy something you enjoy?

Wahab Riaz:
Captaincy is enjoyable at times but at times it can also be very frustrating. You are working with experienced players but also some very inexperienced players at the same time. At times it can be hard when players are under pressure to take them away from that situation. As a captain I feel that you need to give confidence to your players and to appreciate the fact that players will have good days and bad days and you just have to accept and cope with that. You have to support your players and give them the self-belief and confidence that they can win matches for you.

PakPassion.net: You seem to be a popular choice for Twenty20 franchises around the world. Going forward is this the priority?

Wahab Riaz:
The important thing for me is to just be playing cricket and maintain my fitness and form. I believe that if I am performing in Twenty20 leagues then that gives me a chance of playing for my country. If I am playing, performing and fit then that can always re-open the door to international cricket for me. I’ve not given up hope of playing for Pakistan, but at the same time it’s important that I am playing cricket wherever the opportunity presents itself.

927261-nz-vs-pak-2020.jpg

PakPassion.net: Isn’t it heartening to see that New Zealand and England have agreed to tour Pakistan?

Wahab Riaz:
It’s a great initiative taken by the Pakistan Cricket Board and they deserve a lot of credit for this. We’ve seen South Africa in Pakistan; New Zealand and England are due soon and hopefully we will also see Australia touring Pakistan. It’s great news for the future of Pakistan cricket that such teams will be visiting Pakistan. It’s fantastic for the players to play these teams in their home conditions and for the fans to see these teams at close quarters in Pakistan.

PakPassion.net: Looking at your career numbers, do you feel you should have played more matches for Pakistan?

Wahab Riaz:
Yes, I feel that I should have represented Pakistan on more occasions than I did. But the major setback for me was when Pakistan’s home matches had to be shifted to UAE where spinners were needed more than pace-bowlers. That period of playing home matches in UAE was detrimental to the careers of a lot of Pakistani pace-bowlers including myself. But who knows what the future holds, there might yet be a few more international matches to come for myself.

Good interview. I agree with him and it has been discussed quite a few times before that home series in UAE impacted the pace bowling of Pak big time. The sudden increase in returns for pacers like Shaheen and Hassan can be seen since the move back to Pakistan.

While not so much in terms of results but, playing home series away from home and on surfaces like UAE was a huge disadvantage in terms or development of the players and team. Just like other pacers Wahab was naturally impacted as well especially in tests otherwise atleast his test stats could have been better.

However, I dont agree with Wahab with regards to ODIs especially that he deserved to play more matches as average of 34.5 and eco of 5.7 is not great. Two new balls rule really exploited his limitations in ODIs. Yes in T20s he probably could have played more.

I think he represented Pakistan more than he deserved

Again, same story, experienced cricketer lose interest in any hard work or improvement and just wanted to be in team for performances of medieval time period

I think he has 12 months left in him to play for Pakistan. Pakistan should look to give Shaheen a rest in some of the matches against lower-tier teams. Wahab Riaz would be a good option for the next 12 months he is experienced, fit and eager. The selectors should be making use of experienced players like this as it enables them to rest bowlers and the younger bowlers are still developing and gaining experience.

The selectors need to know how to use all their assets and that doesn't mean over bowling your best bowlers or throwing teenage bowlers into the deep end of Test cricket straight away.

i feel you could have done much much better than 2hat you did in the far too many opportunities you got bhai... except for 1-2 spells you got nothing to write home about...

He apparently has posters at home of his spell against Watson. Sums up his career.

Wahab is symptomatic of the 2010's era for Pak cricket. A whole host of players underachieving leaving the side to go on a downward spiral, which we are still trying to recover from.

Wahab is one of those at the top of the list, had fearsome pace but couldn't quite put it all together at the international stage though he had his moments.

our boys have low standards... 20-30 runs bana kr selfie kings, 2-3 cheap wicket lei kr respect nhin mil rahi... aur har 2 takay ki performance k baad Cake cutting.... whereas other teams arent satisfied with such things, player are hungry to get to 200* if they only got 100, or a fifer if they got 2-3 wkts... or they hit the gym and training harder than before... hamaray shuperishtars dawat pr dawat where ever they go, and then our out worldly coaches, what else to say...

Veteran Pakistan pace bowler Wahab Riaz rues not playing more matches for the national team. Wahab Riaz, who announced an indefinite break from Tests to concentrate on white-ball cricket, has not been a regular starter in the side. However, he hopes to represent Pakistan more in the near future.

Wahab Riaz's most recent outing in national colours was back in December 2020 in a T20I against New Zealand in Hamilton. The left-arm seamer has stayed in and out of the side, but has played well in franchise cricket. Riaz, the second-highest wicket-taker in PSL 2021, grabbed four scalps in the only Hundred game he played this year.

Speaking to PakPassion.net, Wahab Riaz felt he should have played more for Pakistan than he has. The 34-year old especially lamented the time Pakistan's home games were held in the UAE as the pitches were a lot more spin-friendly. As a result, it proved detrimental for plenty of pacers. However, the veteran hopes for more matches in the few years to come.

"Yes, I feel that I should have represented Pakistan on more occasions than I did. But the major setback for me was when Pakistan’s home matches had to be shifted to UAE where spinners were needed more than pace-bowlers. That period of playing home matches in UAE was detrimental to the careers of a lot of Pakistani pace-bowlers. including myself. But who knows what the future holds, there might yet be a few more international matches to come for myself, "Wahab Riaz in contention to play in the T20 World Cup:
Nevertheless, Wahab Riaz has a fair chance of playing in the upcoming T20 World Cup. With Mohammad Amir out of the frame, the men in green might rely on Riaz for experience. He has 34 wickets in 36 matches and averages 28.55. He has an economy rate of 8.20.

Hence, the 34-year old would be the perfect foil for the likes of Shaheen Shah Afridi, Haris Rauf and Mohammad Hasnain. Pakistan, clubbed with India, Bangladesh, and Afghanistan in group two, will open its campaign on the 24th of October against India in Dubai.

https://www.sportskeeda.com/cricket/news-wahab-riaz-feels-played-lot-international-games

Pakistan can beat India during T20 World Cup: Wahab Riaz

Pakistan’s pacer Wahab Riaz, in an interview with PakPassion.net, claimed that the Men in Green can beat India during the upcoming T20 World Cup.

The 36-year-old believed that Pakistan could beat any team in the world if it played up to its potential.

“They definitely have the ability to achieve that result. If Pakistan plays to its potential, then they can beat any team in the world including India. Twenty20 cricket is such a format that the whole match can turn in the space of a few balls or even one incident and the Pakistan versus India match will be no different. If Pakistan play at their best, they can certainly beat India,” Wahab said.

“Given the conditions and where it’s being held, I believe Pakistan has a very good chance of winning the tournament. Pakistan has played a lot of cricket in UAE, and this gives them a very good chance to win the competition. They’ll be familiar with the conditions, and they’ll know what the ball will do. If they can utilise the conditions and use them to their advantage, then there is no reason why they can’t be considered amongst the leading contenders for the title,” he added.

The fiery pacer stated that he had nothing to prove while revealing that the final decision of his inclusion in the squad rested with the national selectors.

“If it was up to me, then yes you will. But it’s up to the selectors who they want included in the side and who they think will provide the maximum utility. As a player, all you can do is to perform and that’s what my aim is and that’s what I am doing around the world. Lately I’ve played in the Pakistan Super League (PSL), and I have showed what I am capable of, and I don’t think I have to prove it again and again. Regardless of what they feel, I am performing well wherever I am getting a chance to play. So, let’s see what the selectors have in mind and whether they want me to be a part of future squads is totally up to them,” he concluded.

https://cricketpakistan.com.pk/en/n...an-beat-india-during-t20-world-cup-wahab-riaz

After a long wait of 28 months, India and Pakistan will resume their on-field rivalry as the two teams square off in the league stage fixture of the T20 World Cup 2021 on October 24 in Dubai. Given the political tensions between the two countries, they only square off in ICC events and Asia Cup.

Just like the 50-over World Cups, India also hold a big lead over Pakistan in T20 World Cups and the Men in Green are winless against the one-time champions. Two months before the much-awaited fixture, pacer Wahab Riaz has backed the Men in Green to end their winless run against India in World Cups.

As per Wahab, who last played for Pakistan in 2020, Pakistan can certainly defeat India if they play at their best. "They definitely have the ability to achieve that result. If Pakistan plays to its potential, then they can beat any team in the world including India. Twenty20 cricket is such a format that the whole match can turn in the space of a few balls or even one incident and the Pakistan versus India match will be no different. If Pakistan play at their best, they can certainly beat India," he told Pakpassion.net.

India and Pakistan have squared off on 5 occasions in T20 World Cups. Back in 2007, the league stage game between the two sides ended in a tie. India won the game in the bowl out. Later in the tournament, a young side led by MS Dhoni defeated Pakistan in the final to win the inaugural edition of the tournament.

The two teams did not cross swords in the next two editions. In 2012 and 2014, India defeated Pakistan in one-sided contests. In the 2016 T20 World Cup, which was played in India, the home team chased down 119 in a memorable fixture. The only time Pakistan defeated India during a T20 WC was in a practice match in 2012. The fixture had a live telecast.

In 50-over World Cups, India hold a 7-0 lead against Pakistan. Both the teams last squared off in the 2019 World Cup, where India won by 89 runs.

https://www.timesnownews.com/sports...pak-to-end-winless-run-vs-india-in-wcs/804524

Pakistani pacer Wahab Riaz feels that Pakistan’s home venue shifting to UAE was a major setback for his career. According to Riaz, it emerged as a disadvantage to many pace bowlers since UAE has spin-friendly conditions. The left-arm pacer also feels that he should have represented Pakistan on more occasions than he did.

Wahab Riaz last played in the national jersey in December 2020, in a match against New Zealand. The 36-year-old was not part of the national side in any format this year, despite Pakistan playing many multi-format series in 2021 against teams like Zimbabwe, South Africa, England, and West Indies.

In a conversation with PakPassion.net, Wahab Riaz said that he should have played for Pakistan on more occasions. The 36-year-old also said that Pakistan’s home matches shifting to UAE was a big setback to his international career.

“Yes, I feel that I should have represented Pakistan on more occasions than I did. But the major setback for me was when Pakistan’s home matches had to be shifted to UAE where spinners were needed more than pace-bowlers.

“That period of playing home matches in UAE was detrimental to the careers of a lot of Pakistani pace-bowlers. including myself. But who knows what the future holds, there might yet be a few more international matches to come for myself,” Wahan Riaz said.

After the terrorist attack on the Sri Lanka squad during a bilateral series in Pakistan in 2009, Pakistan was banned by ICC from hosting any international games due to security concerns. Their home matches were shifted to UAE later, and the country observed UAE as their home ground for many years in the last decade. Now, the situation has improved in Pakistan and their home matches are being scheduled in their own country.

Wahab Riaz has so far played 27 Tests, 91 ODIs, and 36 T20I games for Pakistan. He has bagged 83 wickets in Tests and 120 in ODIs. In T20Is, he accounts for 34 scalps. Since December 2020, he has not represented the national side but was active in franchise T20 league Pakistan Super League 2021 (PSL).

https://cricketaddictor.com/cricket...-to-uae-was-the-major-setback-for-his-career/

https://uk.sports.yahoo.com/news/wahab-riaz-feels-pakistan-home-093650153.html

bhai ne apnay career ka best over aur spell abhi abhi karaya apna loha manwanay k liye... 32 runs in 1 over and 3 overs 61 runs, aik aur over de deitey toh bhai ne century kr daalni thi... bhai deserves more.

Wahab was way too inconsistent.

I think he played just the right number of games. Not more and not less.

"I feel that I should have represented Pakistan on more occasions than I did"

Two days later: 3 overs, 61 runs :)))

Never change Wahab, never change. Always was and always will be a rubbish bowler.

He is still living off that fluke Mohali spell and the useless bouncer barrage against Watson.

He has done nothing in his career and should have been history after 2016-17.

Janne do yaar...

You played enough... too much for my liking TBH.

And if I hear another reference to the spell against Watson (which he didn't even get him out during) my head will explode.

He’s absolutely right about the impact of the UAE pitches and imo the tactics employed by Misbah and co. That single handedly destroyed pak pace bowling. While everyone was backslapping all those victories in the UAE, I was horrified by them and what our team had become.

Even when we went abroad, our great “MBA educated” captain had no idea how to employ pace bowlers, what fields to set and tactics to set out.

This is a massive reason why we haven’t had a pace bowler who has taken even 150 test wickets since Waqar.

Riaz should go look at his career stats (forget about last few years, they are even worse), then look at the mirror and make the same statement

Wahab Riaz recovers well in his second outing in the CPL: 1/17 off 3 overs.

He was tasked by Faf du Plessis to defend 14 runs off the last over for St Lucia, gave away only 8.

"I feel that I should have represented Pakistan on more occasions than I did"

Two days later: 3 overs, 61 runs :)))

Never change Wahab, never change. Always was and always will be a rubbish bowler.

He is still living off that fluke Mohali spell and the useless bouncer barrage against Watson.

He has done nothing in his career and should have been history after 2016-17.

LOL now he has single-handedly won his side the match.Keep hating.

You don’t need to be a “hater” to come to the conclusion that Wahab is a poor bowler.

He is always on the cusp of getting smashed and losing his team the game. He is always one or two games away from having a complete meltdown, and when has 2-3 decent performances after a dozen average outings, those decent performances get overrated because of how poor he normally is.

He has no bowling intelligence, very little control and no skill with the ball except when the ball is reversing. After Mohali, he has been smashed by India every single time he has faced them.

Him getting injured was a major reason why Pakistan won the CT. It immediately improved the outlook of the bowling attack.

On top of that, he is 36 years old and will probably be touching 40 in reality considering how almost every Pakistani cricketer has reduced his age by a 2-3 years if not more.

I don’t know why it is hard for some people to acknowledge that Wahab is a poor bowler and any so-called improvement at this stage of his career is nothing but a false hope.

It is true that Pakistan has virtually no talent and almost every young player coming through the system is mediocre.

However, for every pathetic young bowler like Naseem, Pakistan has also produced the likes of Shaheen, and if they continue to look around, it shouldn’t take long for them to find a better bowler than Wahab, or at least someone who is equally mediocre like Wahab but is not going through a midlife crisis and is half his age.

Pakistan cricket is run in a childish manner.

Our fans and ex-cricketers complain about what we don't have, but fail to use what is at our disposal to its full potential.

They complain about not producing quality batsmen, yet turn a blind eye to those that have performed past the expectations for their selection.

Selectors and higher officials let their personal preferences get in the way of what their jobs are.

When you have a businessman or accountant such as Ehsan Mani as the Chairman of your Cricket board, you are already in a dire situation.

The same can be said about Wasim Khan, he's nothing more than a businessman.

You don't need people who look at the numbers at the top of your leadership, that's someone else's job. You need people who will not hesitate in taking the right decisions, qualitatively, for the improvement of the cricketing structure in the nation.

I fail to understand what exactly Mani-Wasim have accomplished that Imran Khan hasn't had to feed into their mouths. The idea to alter the domestic structure was Imran Khan's vision. They'll claim all the responsibility for foreign countries touring Pakistan when in reality a lot of the work in convincing such teams was done prior to their arrival.

Businessmen being businessmen is quite clear when all the PSL franchises are complaining, in fact, taking PCB to court over the financial model which the PCB is exhausting for every ounce of cash to fill in their own salaries rather than invest in the domestic structure.

So I find this Mani-Wasim combination to have been a failure especially since they didn't do much hard work to reap the rewards of short-lived success.

With Ramiz Raja as the Chairman, he will have a much more difficult task in ridding the PCB of the filth that has crept into the organization. He will have to take big decisions, and I would start by getting rid of those who are constantly failing at their jobs, and bring replacements who have knowledge of what they are doing.

Wahab should be nowhere near Pakistan's team. He never was good to begin with - except for brief patches when he gave everyone hope.

Pakistan know what they get with him - and whatever it is, it's not good enough.

Wahab Riaz recovers well in his second outing in the CPL: 1/17 off 3 overs.

He was tasked by Faf du Plessis to defend 14 runs off the last over for St Lucia, gave away only 8.

The new and improved Wahab Riaz?

1/11 in 2 overs so far vs TKR

aaca7e81-41c0-4515-aefa-3104a18b96e1.jpg

Most over-rated/useless bowler to play for Pakistan.

I still remember him wearing that jacket, eating a kebab and laughing in England.

Should've also been investigated, but whatever.

Just retire already.

Decent effort by Wahab so far - 1/16 in 3 overs and will end up on the winning side.

He learned the art of bowling( White ball cricket) too late. He was brilliant in 2019 WC, but unfortunately he started slowly losing pace due to age factor.

Has taken wicket of Chris Gayle - 2 0vers for 7 runs as well

He learned the art of bowling( White ball cricket) too late. He was brilliant in 2019 WC, but unfortunately he started slowly losing pace due to age factor.

No he wasn't. He averaged 34 in the WC 19 with the ball which is similar to his overall ODI career average.
He got a few good wickets at crucial times and that's it.

t20s remain his strongest format, but then again you never know what you're going to get out of Wahab in every game.

No he wasn't. He averaged 34 in the WC 19 with the ball which is similar to his overall ODI career average.
He got a few good wickets at crucial times and that's it.

Stats can be very misleading

He did his job very well in the middle overs and death overs, I have watched all the WC matches and he was brilliant in the world cup

I think we pick on him unfairly. He hasn’t been worse than any other bowlers of his era apart from Asif and Aamir. None of our bowlers post Wasim/Waqar/Shoaib era has been great. Sami, Gul, Wahab, etc… pretty much the same.

I like Wahab because he was always very fit and focused on his fitness and hard work. He was never the prodigious skillful bowler but got the job done.

Delivered some good spells in UAE and England in tests.
Took 200 intl wkts and scored 1000 intl runs for Pak.
Conceded 100+ in single spell ODIs. Bottled several times under pressure

All in all played much more than I thought he would do after seeing him first time get savaged by Sehwag, Gambhir and Dhoni

I think we pick on him unfairly. He hasn’t been worse than any other bowlers of his era apart from Asif and Aamir. None of our bowlers post Wasim/Waqar/Shoaib era has been great. Sami, Gul, Wahab, etc… pretty much the same.

I like Wahab because he was always very fit and focused on his fitness and hard work. He was never the prodigious skillful bowler but got the job done.

Also he can field and can bat

Better performances from Wahab now:

In the Guyana Amazon Warriors vs Saint Lucia Kings game last night:

Wahab Riaz 2/16 in 4 overs

1006969500.jpg

"If Pakistan plays to its potential, then they can beat any team in the world, including India" - Wahab Riaz on upcoming T20 World Cup

Pakistani pacer Wahab Riaz believes that the Men in Green can beat India during the upcoming T20 World Cup, which will be held in UAE and Oman. The 36-year old feels that Pakistan can beat any opponent in the world if they play to their potential.

India and Pakistan will lock horns at the T20 World Cup on October 24 in Dubai. During an interview with PakPassion.net Riaz said:

"If Pakistan plays to its potential, then they can beat any team in the world, including India. T20 cricket is such a format that the whole match can turn into the space of a few balls or even one incident and the Pakistan versus India match will be no different. If Pakistan plays at their best, they can certainly beat India."

This will be the 6th time that India and Pakistan will come up against each other in the T20 World Cup, with India having won all five of the previous encounters.

Speaking about the Men in Green's chances in the upcoming T20 World Cup, Riaz said:

“Given the conditions and where it’s being held, I believe Pakistan has a very good chance of winning the tournament. Pakistan has played a lot of cricket in the UAE, and this gives us a very good chance to win the competition. We'll be familiar with the conditions and we'll know what the ball will do. If we can utilize the conditions and use them to our advantage, then there is no reason why we can’t be considered amongst the leading contenders."

Pakistan have won four of their last five T20 international series, only losing away from home to England.

Riaz also commented on the speculation about his inclusion in the T20 World cup squad. He feels that he has nothing to prove while revealing that the final decision of his inclusion in the squad rested with the national selectors. Riaz said:

"As a player, all you can do is perform and that’s what my aim is and that’s what I am doing around the world. Lately, I’ve played in the Pakistan Super League (PSL), and I have shown what I am capable of, and I don’t think I have to prove it again and again."

Riaz added:

"Regardless of what they (selectors) feel, I am performing well wherever I am getting a chance to play. So, let’s see what the selectors have in mind and whether they want me to be a part of future squads is totally up to them."

https://www.sportskeeda.com/cricket...n-green-can-beat-india-upcoming-t20-world-cup

Pakistan fast bowler Wahab Riaz has had a great year so far in T20 franchise cricket. The left-arm pacer started by leading from the front for Peshawar Zalmi by chipping in with regular wickets in power play and at the death overs. He also ably led the squad and took his team to the finals of this edition’s Pakistan Super League (PSL). Riaz continued his good form in the inaugural edition of The Hundred and took 4/30 in the first game he played for Trent Rockets.

An injury to his back cut short his The Hundred stint. But a successful recovery meant he could take part in the Caribbean Premier League (CPL). He performed well for the St Lucia Kings and has picked six wickets in five matches so far. While everyone felt Riaz would be an automatic choice in Pakistan’s squad for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup, it was not the case as the selectors didn’t pick him.

Overall, Riaz has played 154 matches across formats for Pakistan but has not quite been a regular member of the team for a considerable amount of time. In an exclusive interview with PakPassion.net, the 34-year-old has opened up on why he has not played for his team on more occasions.

“Yes, I feel that I should have represented Pakistan on more occasions than I did. But the major setback for me was when Pakistan’s home matches had to be shifted to UAE where spinners were needed more than pace bowlers. That period of playing home matches in UAE was detrimental to the careers of a lot of Pakistani pace bowlers including myself. But who knows what the future holds, there might yet be a few more international matches to come for myself,” Riaz told PakPassion.net

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) and management have been copping a fair bit of criticism from the experts and critics for leaving out experienced players like Shoaib Malik and Sarfaraz Ahmed from the team. The selectors have gone with some fresh faces instead and have included the likes of Azam Khan, Mohammad Hasnain, and Khushdil Shah.

https://www.crictracker.com/i-shoul...stan-on-more-occasions-than-i-did-wahab-riaz/

LOL, a low grade bowler who could only have found international career in a team like Pakistan. Just like most of Pak bowlers of his era and of current age, would do more huffing & puffing for posturing purpose than causing real troubles for the batsman.

Yes he can bowl quick, get yorkers in at will, is very handy with the bat and a good fielder So youd think hed be a dead cert in a team like pakistan in all formats

The trouble with wahab is that there has been no consistency to his bowling throughout his career

He can have one decent game where he looks like a world beater and then 3-4 very very poor games where hes all over the place and expensive as hell

His stats reflect this A mid 30s avge in both test and odi cricket over a decade reflect a underwhelming career

So to say he should have played more for pakistan is untrue

Like most pakistan If anything he shouldve played a lot less than he has

He is already a lot better than Asif, Khushdil, Azam and Maqsood with the bat only.

Oh boy we have made some serious selection blunders which will haunt the PCB.

One good game and everyone calls for him to be recalled in place of the inexperienced youngsters. He gets recalled, he has one decent game followed by 8-9 poor matches. Have seen this so many times. Our selectors just lack balls and succumb to media, social media, and ex player pressure

28* off 9 balls to take his side to a win

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/8e9y24" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

I dont rate hasanali...rauf and him.could have swapped i think defo should have taken him

Wahab Riaz - the most prolific bowler at the National T20 Cup:

Wahab Riaz, who also captained Central Punjab in the absence of Babar Azam, became the most prolific bowler in National T20. During the course of his 12 wickets with an economy of 6.54, he went past Saeed Ajmal’s record of 89 wickets to become the highest wicket-taker in the tournament’s history.

Wahab now has 93 wickets at an average of 22.96 and an economy of 6.81.

People still think Wahab should have been picked for this T20 World Cup?

Let me refresh the memory of those supporting Wahab Riaz...He is the second worst ODI bowler by Number of runs conceded (110-0), in the 400+ runs scored by England.

I completely agree with you [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] on this. We need talented and fresh blood in this team...both Batsmen and Bowlers. No need to carry the oldies who are like 40+ for upcoming WC. The current lot is already experienced imo

But after Rauf doing well and Wasim jnr and Dahaniz he is very unlikely to be picked and rightly so, he say he was in 4th class in 1992 world cup , adding two years of kg and nursery and going to school at the age of 5 means he was 10 or 11 years old, means he is 40 years old now atleast, come on man, you are done, play leagues cricket and that's it.

Not sure why everyone is obsessed with age🤦🏻*♂️ If a 40 year old is performing better than a 20 year old, are you going to take the 20 year old to a WC?

Wahab was the second highest wicket taker in the PSL, so he’s not really done.

We should select Wahab Hassan Malik and Hafeez at next years WC one final send of after a quick exit in the group stages.

Not sure why everyone is obsessed with age&#55358;&#56614;&#55356;&#57339;*♂️ If a 40 year old is performing better than a 20 year old, are you going to take the 20 year old to a WC?

Okay there is a difference bw 50 overs and 20 overs cricket.and I don't think we are short of fast bowlers in T20 to slect him , anyways should not play odi.

Not sure why everyone is obsessed with age🤦🏻*♂️ If a 40 year old is performing better than a 20 year old, are you going to take the 20 year old to a WC?

Playing in PSL is different than playing against tough competition in tournaments. You are up against the best batsmen out there my friend...And that too in foreign conditions and not in Pakistan..

Not sure why everyone is obsessed with age&#55358;&#56614;&#55356;&#57339;*♂️ If a 40 year old is performing better than a 20 year old, are you going to take the 20 year old to a WC?

I agree if a 40 year is performing then he can stil play for Pakistan but we must take in consideration the format and the conditions.

Left-arm Pakistan fast bowler Wahab Riaz is planning to retire from international cricket after the 2023 World Cup in India. The 36-year-old pacer, who has played 27 Tests, 91 ODIs and 36 T20 internationals, has not been a regular in the Pakistan team for a while now and was also ignored for the T20 World Cup.

“Everyone has to say goodbye to cricket one day. But my target is to carry on playing until the 2023 World Cup, that is if I remain full fit and my passion for the game remains strong as well. Obviously if I am performing I will carry on,” Wahab said in an interview.

“I think I still have two or three years of good cricket left in me,” he said. “I have been in and out of the national team for a while now but I am playing in domestic cricket and also in different leagues including the Pakistan Super League and I am performing well so that is keeping me going.”

The pacer, who appeared as an expert on the A sports channel for the T20 World Cup, said he firmly believed that he could be around as a performing player until 2023. “My belief is simple age is not a matter as long as a player is fit and performing and enjoying his cricket. There are so many examples around these days.

“Fitness levels, diet and all these things have improved a lot in modern day cricket so times have changed.” Wahab said in Pakistan Cricket unfortunately there have been examples of players being sidelined because of their age.

“I have nothing against young players, obviously you need them in the team. They bring energy and a future with them. But the thing is experience, especially as a fast bowler, is so very important especially in T20 cricket these days,” he said.

Wahab said he was disappointed at missing the T20 World Cup but he could understand the selectors’ policy. “My job is to just focus on doing well as a player, that is all which is my control. If I can play in next year’s T20 World Cup or the 2023 event it would be great.”

https://www.outlookindia.com/websit...oots-after-2023-icc-world-cup-in-india/401026

ODIs have been his weakest format by far.

Exactly , didn’t see any notable performances after the WC2015 fiery spell to Watson

This culture of wanting to play for long even after the gas is empty was cultivated by none other than Misbah and look what he says , after Wahab says he wants to aim to play 2023 CWC

Misbah says may be bowling from wheelchair lol.

First game in LPL - 2 overs for 29 runs and 0 wickets

It should have been “I feel that I should have performed for Pakistan on more occasions than I did”

Wahab attending the opening of Shoaib Malik's new restaurant.

1.jpg

KARACHI: Wahab Riaz is not giving up. At 36, the veteran pacer has an unwavering belief that he will play for Pakistan again.

The left-armer made his last appearance for the country back in December 2020 in a T20 International against New Zealand and had announced last year that he will retire from international cricket after the 2023 Cricket World Cup, set to be held in India.

Pakistan, in the meanwhile, have managed to identify their core bowling group for all three formats over the last 12 months, which means Wahab, who will lead Peshawar Zalmi in the upcoming seventh edition of the HBL Pakistan Super League, has to do the extraordinary to achieve his ambition.

“I am very passionate about playing for Pakistan and probably that is the reason I am still playing cricket,” said the Zalmi skipper during a virtual press conference on Saturday.

“When you’re playing cricket, it is obvious that your focus is Pakistan only.”

Wahab is well aware of the bowling arsenal Pakistan have been able to build and wishes the best for his colleagues.

The Lahore-born fast bowler is also confident that his performances in the domestic circuit and T20 leagues around the world during the time he has been away from the national side have been good enough for him to be considered among the best available options.

Wahab was the fifth-highest wicket-taker with 12 scalps in the 2021 National T20 Cup and maintained an economy rate of less than seven runs, the best among the top five.

He also claimed the second highest number of wickets in the last edition of the PSL, bagging 18 dismissals at an average of 23.44.

“I’ve performed in all the tournaments that I’ve played. Last year too, I was the second highest wicket-taker,” said Wahab.

“Shaheen and Haris are great bowlers and I pray for them to be more successful. I think my record speaks for itself when it comes to answering the question if I can perform better than them in the PSL.

“I am not competing with anyone but myself because I wish to give my level best in this tournament and do everything that it takes to play for Pakistan.”

The veteran said he is eager to make the most of the opportunity in the upcoming PSL matches, with the first set to be held on January 27 at the National Stadium here. Zalmi play their opener against Quetta Gladiators on the next day.

“This tournament is another opportunity for me to perform well and attract the selectors’ attention to make a comeback,” said Wahab.

“I feel that I can serve Pakistan for another two, three years so I’ll try my level best.”

Wahab was also impressed by the measures taken by Pakistan Cricket Board to ensure the PSL is concluded on the planned February 27 deadline with the number of coronavirus cases surging throughout the country.

The Zalmi captain also called for unity and responsibility from every stakeholder of the cash-rich league to make the event a successful one in these times.

“It is definitely better than last year since the whole hotel has been booked and all floors are with the PCB,” said Wahab. “I think it will make a huge difference because there won’t be any chance for people from outside, who used to roam around, to make an impact. It is a great step to take.

“All people involved in the PSL — the players, security officials and the PCB officials — will have to be responsible and stay united to fight with these testing times. The last two seasons were halted, this time it should not happen.”

Former Pakistan skipper and Quetta Gladiators captain Sarfraz Ahmed also expressed satisfaction with the arrangements. The wicket-keeper said the teams were eager to get on the field after finishing the three-day quarantine period which started on Wednesday.

“We’ve been living in bubbles since the last two years,” said Sarfraz.

“Last year, the bio-secure bubble arranged by PCB in Abu Dhabi was outstanding and this time too it looks great. We’re just waiting for the isolation to end and looking forward to play.”

Just like Wahab, Sarfraz too will be aiming to prove a point in the PSL that he is among the best available wicket-keepers for Pakistan.

“Any domestic event, be it PSL, national T20 or first class tournament, is important for every player who wants to be selected for the Pakistan team or make a comeback in it,” said the 34-year-old.

“So, obviously, it is important for me too and therefore I’ll try to give my best for the team.”

Published in Dawn, January 23rd, 2022

He is awful. Who made him the captain in the first place? I hope he is never selected for Pakistan again.

Expensive so far at PSL7:

5 wickets in 7 matches.

The economy rate is terrible - 9.33

Wahab Riaz has today become the first bowler to the milestone of 100 wickets in the Pakistan Super League.

I could be wrong but I get the impression he is hiding himself . . he takes the ball at junctures where things are quieter and the pressure is comparatively off . . and then towards the end where he can get some wickets . . so I was glad to see him take the ball today after the first 2 overs went for plenty . .

This Psl he has been really poor no many wickets and leaking alot of runs.

I could be wrong but I get the impression he is hiding himself . . he takes the ball at junctures where things are quieter and the pressure is comparatively off . . and then towards the end where he can get some wickets . . so I was glad to see him take the ball today after the first 2 overs went for plenty . .

He is bowling at the back end when pressure is on, Yesterday Islamabad required 25 on 12 balls and he bowl the very good over.

He is using his ability as per his strength in the last overs, He was never a new bowl bowler.