I felt roads in Madhya Pradesh are better than US: CM Shivraj Singh Chouhan in Washington DC

On his visit to the US today, Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan compared the road infrastructure in that country and the one in his state. Indicating that he was not left much impressed by the state of roads in Washington DC, Chouhan said, “When I got down at Washington Airport and travelled on roads, I felt roads in Madhya Pradesh are better than those in the US.” He was addressing a press conference in Washington DC.

Chouhan is in Washington DC on a six-day visit to the US. While meeting members of USISP Forum, CM sought the opportunity to showcase the investment opportunities offered by Madhya Pradesh. He also praised the bigggest tax reform in the country, GST saying, ” India today is on the cusp of great economic progress under the leadership of PM Narendra Modi. GST is a game changing tax reform.” He further added, “One Nation, One Tax, One Market is a dream come true for any investor. GST has made life simpler for businesses in India.”

Revealing his governemnt’s achievements in the sector, Chouhan said, “We’ve constructed 1.75 lakh km (approx) of roads in MP. Have connected all villages with roads.”

Further emphasising on the effect of post GST era, Chouhan said that Madhya Pradesh is at the center of India and the focus of the government is on the logistics that would bring a lot of opportunities for the state. “Madhya Pradesh being at the centre of India, our focus on logistics would bring lot of opportunities for the state in the post GST era,” he said during a session organised by US-India Strategic Partnership Forum (USISPF) and CII today.

During his six-day visit to Washington D.C., Chouhan visited the National Museum of American History in Washington, D.C. today. His visit is aimed to promote investment in Madhya Pradesh. Tomorrow he is expected to hold a series of meetings with Amazon representatives until lunch. In the evening, he will be attending a ‘Friends of MP’ interactive session at the Indian Consulate in New York, followed by dinner. On Friday, Chouhan will again be attending a series of one-to-one meetings and will depart for Mumbai from Newark Airport on Saturday, as reported by ANI.

http://www.financialexpress.com/ind...hivraj-singh-chouhan-in-washington-dc/904976/

It's a huge myth that US has good road infrastructure.. I've only been to the states bordering Canada and there was a massive drop in quality as soon as you travelled south of the border. No US highway (they call it freeway) can compare to the 401.

There are better roads in USA. (but those ask money)
but they also have bad roads...

:))) 401. Clearly you haven't travelled further than Buffalo.

403 is better though :P

Roads? What are they?

Here in Bangalore, the so called IT capital, we deal only in potholes:

Just a couple of months ago I was in Bangalore. Infrastructure is non-existant. Pot holes, trash and dirty puddles every where. Not to miss the pollution and dust. Even when you are in a car, you feel like you are riding a camel.

Beautiful weather though. Nice and cool even during peak summer.

Just a couple of months ago I was in Bangalore. Infrastructure is non-existant. Pot holes, trash and dirty puddles every where. Not to miss the pollution and dust. Even when you are in a car, you feel like you are riding a camel.

In the meantime, blobs like Siddaramaiah and KJ George are stamping their feet over Hindi signposts on the Namma Metro, or a flag for the state - issues which nobody cares about.

They'll be kicked out in next year's election - mark my words - and after that, the Congress will only have Punjab as one of the major states they're still in power in. Good riddance, they are utterly hopeless.

Beautiful weather though. Nice and cool even during peak summer.

This is because of mother nature, nothing else. And even then we are doing the best to ruin it through endless culling of trees et al.

Michigan is the worst when it comes to road. You have no idea how much I hate it since I live there. But it's not the same in other areas..specially if you go down south and to the west. 401 is smooth but only a 2 lane-r until you get to the GTA..don't think it's a match for Route 66.

In the meantime, blobs like Siddaramaiah and KJ George are stamping their feet over Hindi signposts on the Namma Metro, or a flag for the state - issues which nobody cares about.

They'll be kicked out in next year's election - mark my words - and after that, the Congress will only have Punjab as one of the major states they're still in power in. Good riddance, they are utterly hopeless.

This is because of mother nature, nothing else. And even then we are doing the best to ruin it through endless culling of trees et al.

Found it bizarre. All of the signs are in Kannada :facepalm:

Me being a Telugu, can read Kannada. So i was still okay. But imagine the plight of rest of South Indians and Northies. Pretty stupid right there.

I remember visiting Bangalore when I was a kid. It was truly a garden city back then. Now it is hard to find trees.

Also, something needs to be done regarding the flocking of people from all over India to Bangalore. It is clear Bangalore cannot support that huge population. Immigrants from all over India pouring into the city.

It was one of the first cities to modernize in the 1990s, once the IT companies set up shop here. I guess it's become similar to Mumbai in the sense that folks from all over converge to make a living, though obviously too many people causes problems.

you are being sarcastic?

Highway and freeway are two different thing. Highway connecting two cities. Freeway within the city with no lights, railroads, etc.

comparing 401 with the rest of the highways in US is a joke. Travel further south and you won't find anything as good in Canada as US.

:))) 401. Clearly you haven't travelled further than Buffalo.

Buffalo is a small town compare GTA, and to be honest highway to buffalo from the border aren't bad at all compare to 401. The only difference I noticed was 403 and 401 has street lights.

Found it bizarre. All of the signs are in Kannada :facepalm:

Me being a Telugu, can read Kannada
. So i was still okay. But imagine the plight of rest of South Indians and Northies. Pretty stupid right there.

I remember visiting Bangalore when I was a kid. It was truly a garden city back then. Now it is hard to find trees.

Being a telugu how can you read kannada? Are the letters similar to telugu or did you learn it like any other new language?

My knowledge about kannada starts and ends with "Kannada gothilla". I don't understand anything.

Being a telugu how can you read kannada? Are the letters similar to telugu or did you learn it like any other new language?

My knowledge about kannada starts and ends with "Kannada gothilla". I don't understand anything.

Likewise. I don't know a single syllable of Kannada. It's usually Hindi or English for me, and everybody understands either or both.

I presume it's different in parts of interior Karnataka.

Likewise. I don't know a single syllable of Kannada. It's usually Hindi or English for me, and everybody understands either or both.

I presume it's different in parts of interior Karnataka.

Are you not a kannadiga? How could you not know kannada?

Arey bhai Kabhi kashmir mai bhi sadak banwa do. Ek flyover bana rahe ho 10 saal se woh bhi complete nahi hota

Kashmir will be good for road tunnels like in austria. They have one of the best tunnel system.

images.jpg

you are being sarcastic?

Highway and freeway are two different thing. Highway connecting two cities. Freeway within the city with no lights, railroads, etc.

comparing 401 with the rest of the highways in US is a joke. Travel further south and you won't find anything as good in Canada as US.

Your highways are shut down and cordoned off if there is half an inch of snow... 401/403/QEW/DVP keep running under several inches of snow. Plus also check out the quality of the road, its not just about number of lanes, in that sense nobody can compete with Chinese highways. Canadian are alot smoother than what I found going to NYC or Chicago or Detroit. Granted I haven't gone further south by road, but NY is the third richest state and Illinois is the fifth richest state so hard to imagine things being any better in the poorer states.

where are you getting facts from? This is totally not true. If this was the case, US economy would shut down for days.

and to the rest of it. No!, have traveled all over US and i'm on 401 almost every month. beside lot of building along the highway, it is nothing special.

Because Telugu and Kannada scripts are almost 90% similar. Anyone who can read Telugu can easily read Kannada.

We do not understand Spoken Kannada. But easy to read it and the Street signs are always single words. So we can easily follow them.

India cannot build bridges in POK. :yk

Seriously, the situation is hopeless in all of India. Not just Kashmir.

You say the most deluded stuff.

The South and west especially Texas has the best roads cause we have big driving culture.