"I get paid more for playing T20 leagues than I get playing for Pakistan" : Sohail Tanvir

https://www.dawn.com/news/1393976

Prior to his wicketless outing against Quetta Gladiators on Wednesday, Multan Sultans pacer Sohail Tanvir was in superb form with the ball in the ongoing Pakistan Super League 2018.

He had registered bowling figures of 3-14 in back-to-back matches, playing a pivotal part in victories over Quetta Gladiators and Peshawar Zalmi.

Those twin performances were fair examples of how the unorthodox left-arm pacer usually performs in T20 league cricket, and for which he remains a hot commodity in the format.

But despite his expertise and proven track record in the 20-over game, Tanvir is no more a regular fixture of Pakistan's T20 unit, with his last appearance for the side coming against West Indies last April.

In a recent media talk, Tanvir was asked to comment on him being out of favour with the national selectors, to which he said: "I get paid more for playing T20 leagues around the world than I get playing for Pakistan. Even then I always prioritise the national team over money.

"I perform all over the world and then when I don't get to represent my country...it's disappointing."

The 33-year-old, however, refuses to take no for an answer, saying he will continue knocking on the selectors' doors and answer their call if recalled to the national side.

"My job is to perform," he said. "I have no answer to why I don't get included in T20 squads. Nevertheless, whenever Pakistan needs me I'll be there for the team."

Good stuff.

Maybe now is the time he announces he is quitting international cricket :)

yah, mashallah shukar hai bhai achi kamai kar raha hai, chalo abh jaldi jaldi apni international circuit se retirement announce kar do, meharbaani :salute

He's a pretty good bowler, and can bat too. Should be considered for T20 selection for pakistan.

Has the tools required to be successful at league cricket, but should no where be near the green kit. :misbah3

League / franchise cricket is the future

Give it some years and these franchise teams will have youth academies like football teams and produce future players

He's a pretty good bowler, and can bat too. Should be considered for T20 selection for pakistan.

he takes less than a wicket a game in International T20s, he has a batting average of 11, and he makes Irfan seem like a great fielder. So please tell me how he is a "pretty good bowler"

This is level, stay in franchise cricket and become rich(er)

No business in international cricket, yet another ttf with an overinflated ego and sense of entitlement.

I am pleased for players like Tanveer, it's good to see Pakistan based players have an avenue to create good income considering they are barred from the tournament which most top players earn their living, the IPL. That said, a lot of them really aren't good enough to get into the big earning T20 leagues either, and end up playing in PSL, Bangladesh or the Caribbean.

Maybe because your Pakistan career has been dreadful and nonexistent for the last few years.

The man has played 57 T20s for us, not a small number and still a pretty mediocre record. That's why he isn't in the squad anymore.

Those who've never played him before find him harder to play. In domestic some of them will never have seen a guy who bowls on the wrong leg like that before.

Been inconsistent, on his day bowls beautifully on others he's just thrashed.

He should be delivering for us especially in T20, he has the ability. Unfortunately he's been below par in pretty much every format for us.

Good for you just don't play for us anymore and please don't play domestics too.

I am pleased for players like Tanveer, it's good to see Pakistan based players have an avenue to create good income considering they are barred from the tournament which most top players earn their living, the IPL. That said, a lot of them really aren't good enough to get into the big earning T20 leagues either, and end up playing in PSL, Bangladesh or the Caribbean.

see I disagree that most top players play in IPL. Most of the top T20 players are Pakistanis and they dont play in IPL so how can we say that most top players play in IPL?