"I have the goal of becoming Pakistan’s best all-rounder in future" : Aamer Yamin

Shayan

It seems like a considerable amount of time has passed since Pakistan could boast a quality fast-bowling all-rounder. The likes of Wasim Akram, Abdul Razzaq and Azhar Mahmood were the envy of many sides in the late nineties and noughties but stocks in this department appear to have run dry as Pakistan have increased their reliance on spin bowling in recent years.

One man looking to buck this trend is 25-year-old Aamer Yamin who has already had some success in a Pakistan shirt. His international debut came in the ODI series against Zimbabwe in 2015 where he showcased his ability by opening the bowling and providing useful runs down the order, including 62 batting at number eight in his second ODI. With some important overseas tours coming up in which a fast-bowling all-rounder could be a vital component of the side, Aamer Yamin may become a well recognised name for Pakistani fans in the coming months.

In an exclusive interview with PakPassion.net, the Multan-born pacer spoke about how he got into the game, his international debut, the importance of international cricket returning to Pakistan and his exclusion from the Pakistan Test and A squads touring England this summer.

opsfog.jpg

PakPassion.net : Tell us about how your introduction to cricket?

Aamer Yamin : I used to watch a lot of cricket when I was young and had a lot of interest in the game but what made this a more serious pursuit was when I started playing club cricket in 2004. I just went to a net and started practicing one day and slowly my interest in cricket grew and I eventually reached the Under-19s side. I had a few role models too which were largely made up of the 1999 World Cup side that reached the Final; so the likes of Wasim Akram, Waqar Younis, Inzamam-ul-Haq and Shahid Afridi were people I looked up to. When I started playing cricket more seriously, I did have a few problems at home as you would expect given that most people didn't consider this a proper profession but thankfully it was nothing too serious and as I started playing cricket at a higher level, the worries of my family eased considerably.

I would like to mention Wasim Haider, who was my coach at Multan when I moved up from Under-19s to First-Class cricket. He encouraged me a lot and told me I have the ability to play for Pakistan and become a very good all-rounder. His words did seem to have some weight as in 2013 I was Multan’s best all-rounder after scoring a lot of runs and taking wickets so that was a very important time for me. Later in the year I received an offer to join the State Bank of Pakistan team based entirely on merit which I took, and from there my cricket has gone from strength to strength.

PakPassion.net : Do you consider yourself more a batting all-rounder or a bowling all-rounder?

Aamer Yamin : I started fast bowling in 2008 having played at Under-19 level as a batsman. I developed my bowling slowly after the coach saw me bowl a bit and told me I can become a good bowler. I can’t really say which of the two is stronger for me as I consider both my batting and bowling to be at a good level at the moment. Given I’ve scored most of my First-Class runs batting at number eight position, my bowling is probably considered the stronger one and I do enjoy bowling more than batting.

PakPassion.net : You made your international debut against Zimbabwe in 2015, how was that experience?

Aamer Yamin : It was a very memorable debut series for me. We won the first match against Zimbabwe and in the second we were chasing 276 and were 76-6. I then had a good partnership with Shoaib Malik and made 62; this was after having been not out in the first game. I hit 5 fours and 4 sixes so was very pleased with my performance although the only disappointment is that we lost that 2nd ODI. Early in the innings Shoaib Malik asked how I wanted to play and I said I want to be positive and he encouraged me to play my natural game. He kept talking to me and suggesting things I could do differently so I really enjoyed that partnership with him. We played in a very calculated way and didn’t take too many risks but managed to maintain the required run rate.

I don’t remember feeling much pressure on my international debut, I just treated it as any other game. I have passion for cricket and I felt well prepared for this occasion so I wasn’t very nervous or stressed before my debut as some players are.

I would like to add a few words about senior players who really helped me during that series against Zimbabwe and also later on. I would like to mention Mohammad Hafeez who gave me a lot of support and told me that I’m a very good all-rounder and that I should work on my skills. He also encouraged me to train hard and to have the right diet which was all very useful advice. As mentioned before, Shoaib Malik was also very supportive and I also played under him in the Pakistan Cup where I was given the new ball which showed the trust he had in my abilities.

When I later made my T20I debut against England, it was just as memorable for me as I took the wicket of Jason Roy with my first ball and bowled two overs for 12 runs. Whilst we also lost that series I was satisfied with my own performance and hope to get more opportunities in future.

PakPassion.net : Inzamam-ul-Haq has stated that Pakistan do not have a Test quality all-rounder at the moment. Do you see Test cricket as the ultimate goal?

Aamer Yamin : I’m most interested in the longer form of the game because it gives you time to show your ability. As I said, all my big scores have come batting at number eight including a score of 225 for Multan against Quetta in 2013. During that innings we were 62/6 yet I still had time to get 225! So I’ve been able to score runs in difficult conditions and tough situations and I’ve enjoyed those challenges. As a result I much prefer Test and 4-day cricket over the shorter forms.

PakPassion.net : Tell us about the experience of playing in the Pakistan Super League (PSL).

Aamer Yamin : The PSL was a fantastic learning experience for us as we had the opportunity to speak to and learn from some huge names. I was sharing a dressing room with Darren Sammy, Wahab Riaz and Shahid Afridi so I learned a lot from the way they approach matches, their attitude to the game, their gym training and work ethic. Being around them in the hotels also meant we saw how they reacted to victories and defeats. We saw that they didn’t get too down about performing badly and always maintained a positive attitude so that was good to see. It was really a huge honour to play with someone like Darren Sammy who has now led the West Indies to two World Twenty20 titles. He encouraged us to work hard and remain focused on our game as that’s the only way to deliver good performances, whether that’s at club, domestic or international level. He also stressed the importance of fitness as good fitness helps to produce good performances. So it was a great learning experience for me and I hope that future editions of the PSL provide the same opportunity.

PakPassion.net : How big a difference does it make to play cricket at home?

Aamer Yamin : It’s always nice to play in Pakistan in front of our own crowds and on pitches and wickets we are more familiar with. We know for example how the wickets in Lahore or Karachi will behave and I think if international cricket returns to Pakistan, teams will really struggle to beat us. We’ve seen how teams like India and South Africa and England prosper in their home conditions by preparing wickets which suit them. England have twice come to the UAE and lost recently and we’d perform even better if we were playing in places like Multan or Faisalabad where we know the conditions even better. So it’s a huge loss not having international cricket at home, particularly since we don’t get to play in front of our home crowds.

PakPassion.net : Were you disappointed at missing out on selection for the Pakistan A tour of England?

Aamer Yamin : I completely understand the decision as a professional so there wasn’t anything to be disappointed about. The selectors have a tough job and they do it well. What I need to do is to perform well going forward and work my way back into the team. I’m working on my technique and my fitness so that when I get another opportunity I’m ready for it. Inzamam-ul-Haq has said that selection in the Pakistan A team isn’t the only requirement to progress further and I can still go straight into the senior side if required which is encouraging for me. Whatever happens next, I know that I need to continue to perform to the best of my abilities as I have the goal of becoming Pakistan’s best all-rounder in future.

Seems like a very handy cricketer - hopefully he is in the same boat as Fawad Alam in that the selectors don't feel he needs to play in the A team - he can just be called upon to the senior team when needed

I like his mentality.

Could be Pakistan's first quality all-rounder after the Razzaq era. There is something about him.

I like his mentality.

Could be Pakistan's first quality all-rounder after the Razzaq era. There is something about him.

Top score of 225 in First Class cricket and clearly a handy bowler. Really hope he gets another go soon.

I have always rated him. Should be our permanent number 7 in ODIs and T20s. Time to replace the garbage like Anwar Ali.

Hasnt been given a fair run thus far despite not doing bad in limited opportunities.

I have always rated him. Should be our permanent number 7 in ODIs and T20s. Time to replace the garbage like Anwar Ali.

Agreed you could see his talent in that innings VS Zimbabwe. Can remember watching it with my Dad and we both loved the way he was striking the ball. Although he was unhappy when he got out :misbah

This kid has something definitely. He also has the right mentality judging by this interview. Needs to be given a long rope on LOI formats so we can see if he's good enough. I would have in the team vs England for LOI formats. If he keeps doing well in 1st class cricket I would consider him for tests

Should have been in A squad. Experience conditions of england before ct next year and world cup thereafter.

Did nothing to merit being dropped after Zimbabwe and England series.

From what little I've seen of him, deserved to be in the A-side. We need seam bowling all-rounders and we didn't send him to England.

To me a golden opportunity missed. Even if he isn't up to the level, should have been selected.

Ammad Butt and Amir Yameen need to be invested upon heavily as there really aren't any all-rounders in our setup while most of the successful cricketing nations are reaping dividends from all-round players.

Note: other then Stokes who is test class, not many all-rounders are proven test class yet but Marsh is being invested in by Australia while Kiwis are working with Corey, et. al.

It's the only mistake Inzi has made. One of Aamir Yamin or Amad Butt should have been in the A squad. In the UK you can really use that extra batsman.

Aamir Yamin is the first allrounder after Razzler who can actually bat and play some good shots. Looking forward to see more from this guy.

Excellent interview, InshAllah you will become our best AR. After a long time, i saw a medium bowling AR (Genuine) not bits and pieces players like Anwar or Bilawal or Sohail Tanvir.

I hope in future tours, Inzi must must consider him.

Should invest into both Amad and Yamin going forward.

No point is further pursuing with Anwar, Tavir and Bhatti type players..

I think he should be given a chance in LOI's but one thing is that Test allrounders are a different breed to LOI allrounders; they're ridiculously hard to train and find. I trust Inzy on not picking Amad or Yamin in the Test squad because in Test cricket it is vital that you trap batsmen and pick up wickets. We'll eventually have a Test class allrounder soon but at the moment it's best to invest in specialists who can pick up wickets. I personally think that Yamin will be picked in at least one of ODI's and T20's.

So what makes Yamin special? Like his jazba and hope he can prove inzi wrong about no decent all rounder available for selection

Arthur said in the press conference today he is looking for a seam bowling all rounder who can bat in the top 6 in test matches. Yamin your time to impress Arthur and co. :ahmed

He's better than all those pseudo useless allrounders like Amad Butt, Anwar Ali, etc etc.

Definitely has potential this guy.

Impressed with what I've seen so far and very surprising that he never made the Pakistan A squad to tour England.

Amir Yameen bowling beautifully today 3 wickets already for him defending a low total of 118. His 3 wickets today are both akmal brother one back to back deliveries and than Salman Butt.

Lahore 25/3 atm struggling to chase the total

He hardly put a foot wrong in chances he got and our genius selectors dropped him after his maiden ODI and T20 tours and havent selected him since

4 overs 5 runs and 4 wickets.

His victims : Akmal brothers, Salman Butt and Sikander Raza

Inzi :facepalm:

4 overs 5 runs and 4 wickets.

His victims : Akmal brothers, Salman Butt and Sikander Raza

Inzi :facepalm:

Damn those are dream figures. Inzi dekh le yaar tumharay hi shehar mein ho raha hai tourney :danish

Inzamam seems like a typical ex cricketer, with no understanding of modern game and statistics.

This is exactly why I said in an other thread that I am afraid that we will have to appoint a foreign chief selector in the future.

It's not even about sifarish/politics. Pakistanis in the cricket setup just do not understand the modern dynamics of cricket these days. Like Mickey said the other day, we are still stuck in the 90's with everything that is related to cricket.

This is why we keep selecting wrong players for every format and just do not get our limited overs combination right. Instead of replacing an A/R with an A/R we replace it with a bat or bowler. How many times has not this happened?

Deserves a chance should never have been dropped in the 1st place

i agree he shouldn't have been dropped but instead of moaning he should just let his performance do the talking and he really hasn't been that consistent since being dropped, he bowled well yesterday but overall hasn't really set the domestic circuit by storm since being omitted

This guy looked like a better bat than Imad/Nawaz today.

He should bat at 5 for his First Class team.

i agree he shouldn't have been dropped but instead of moaning he should just let his performance do the talking and he really hasn't been that consistent since being dropped, he bowled well yesterday but overall hasn't really set the domestic circuit by storm since being omitted

I can understand his fustration though but has to let performance do the talking

It's really sad how few guys get hard done by the "system". Have done nothing wrong to deserve it, if anything, they have done everything right to more than just survive in the Pakistan domestic system yet are still not seen by the selectors. Inzi, Bari, Qasim, all are the same kind made of the same cloth.

How he got dropped after scoring 61 vs Zimbabwe while other superstars flopped :hafeez not to mention after the England t20 where he took a wicket 1st ball with swing and where Tanvir got tonked, is just amazing.

Here is Tanvir making his 50th comeback yet Yamin has to sit out. Credit to guys like Yamin and Sadaf though for still continuing to play, if any other ordinary person was in their shoes might have decided to go another career route.

Sure, they may flop 5 or 6 games in to internationals, but they have earned the right to at least get those 5-6 games, no?

My Stance on Him Remains Same.

Should Bat at Number 6 in Pakistan Odi Team and Bowl 3 to 7 Overs in Every Odi depending upon Match Situation and Pitch Assistance.

Way too much faux outrage. There is no grave injustice done here. In whose place is he to come? Sohail Tanvir? Who is basically the senior most bowler in the squad now?
for him to come above ruman or saad, I trust inzi better than the folks here.
As for replacing Tanvir: cant drop everyone in one go.

My Stance on Him Remains Same.

Should Bat at Number 6 in Pakistan Odi Team and Bowl 3 to 7 Overs in Every Odi depending upon Match Situation and Pitch Assistance.

Umar Akmal should be at 6, Yamin at 7, Imad at 8

Sharjeel
Azhar/Salman Butt or Khalid
Babar
Sarfraz
Malik
Umar Akmal
Yamin/Nawaz (for UAE)
Imad
Amir
Hassan
Wahab/Asghar (for UAE)

Yamin can use new ball quite well. He has both swings and can bowl 5 with new ball in every match. More depending upon conditions

Way too much faux outrage. There is no grave injustice done here. In whose place is he to come? Sohail Tanvir? Who is basically the senior most bowler in the squad now?

I politely but very, very strongly disagree.

You have a Pink Ball Day/Night Test coming up in a month in Dubai, and another six weeks later at Brisbane.

We know that to protect the Pink Ball, the wicket and the outfield have to be covered in grass. All the evidence is that Pakistan will need a fourth seamer who can bat, and that height doesn't matter as much as in Red Ball cricket.

You need a team something like this:

6. Batsman/keeper: SARFRAZ AHMED
7. Fourth seamer to keep the strike bowlers fresh, needs to be able to score runs
8. Part-time spinner who can bat
9. Third seamer who needs to bat a bit
10. Strike Bowler
11. Strike Bowler

As a purely Horses For Courses selection, I'd be going into that Dubai Test viewing it as a dress rehearsal for Brisbane. In view of the thick grass preventing spin or reverse, I'd leave out both Yasir Shah and Wahab Riaz, and select:

6. Sarfraz Ahmed
7. Aamer Yamin
8. Mohammad Nawaz
9. Hasan Ali
10. Mohammad Amir
11. Mohammad Asif

That is a bowling attack to win a Pink Ball Test with the ball.

But that lower-middle order could also save the day with the bat in the following very likely Brisbane scenario:

Day 1 Drinks Session 1 Australia 40-2
Day 1 Tea (end of session 1) Australia 80-4
Day 1 Drinks Session 2 Australia 120-5
Day 1 Dinner Australia 160-7
Day 1 Session 3 Drinks Break Australia 200 all out
Day 2 Close Pakistan 40-5 (Sarfraz 5 not out, Yamin 2 not out)

That is a scenario where Pakistan needs batsmen 6-11 to last the whole first session to get the score up to 130 and until just before Tea to get a lead. But they need to bat as long as possible in daylight to ensure that Australia's second innings is played in the dark.

With "my" tail, they could aspire to:

Day 2 Session 1 Drinks: Pakistan 85-6 (Yamin 15 not out, Nawaz 5 not out, Sarfraz out for 32)
Day 2 Tea Break: Pakistan 125-6 (Yamin 35 not out, Nawaz 25 not out)
Day 2 Session 2 Drinks: Pakistan 165-8 (Yamin 55 not out, Amir 10 not out, Nawaz out for 25, Hasan Ali out for 10)
Day 3 Dinner: Pakistan 195 all out.

That tail puts Pakistan into a matchwinning position. Because now Australia starts its second innings under lights against a new Pink Ball, and although the Aussies led by 5 on First Innings, Pakistan would hope to reduce them to 90-7 by the end of Day 2. And then they can knock off the runs by day the next morning.

Aamer Yamin would be crucial in that. Straight after Dinner, it's not fully dark, and Pakistan might prefer to save Amir and Asif for an hour so that they can bowl in the dark. Hasan Ali and Aamer Yamin are good enough to open the bowling under lights with a Pink Ball.

Inzi doesnt know more than folks here about Pakistan's domestic scene. He just recently selected Iftikhar who shouldnt even be near the squad of Peshawar team and that says a lot about his judgement.

Problem is that Yamin has been completely ignored even for A-series which could have given performances and staked claim on selection. With some sound performances he could have even debuted as we were in desperate need of a 4th seamer through out English series and I can bet my life on the fact that he is miles better bat than Iftikhar.

Sharjeel
Babar
Sarfraz
Malik
Umar Akmal
Yamin/Nawaz (for UAE)
Imad
Amir
Hassan
Wahab/Asghar (for UAE)

Yamin can use new ball quite well. He has both swings and can bowl 5 with new ball in every match. More depending upon conditions

Precisely this, seems better position for Yaamen.

But i am shocked that you have mentioned Salman Butt's name. :)

Can anyone neutral clarify how good is yamins batting and bowling?

Is he good enough to be a frontline bowler and avge 30 with the bat in odis?

Sharjeel
Babar
Sarfraz
Malik
Umar Akmal
Yamin/Nawaz (for UAE)
Imad
Amir
Hassan
Wahab/Asghar (for UAE)

Umar Akmal has failed to do Finishing Role in both batting first or chasing Score.

He Should not Bat at Number 6 whatever the Team or Squad is in hand.

Can anyone neutral clarify how good is yamins batting and bowling?

Is he good enough to be a frontline bowler and avge 30 with the bat in odis?

No, but he's not that sort of all-rounder.

He can never be an Imran Khan or a Kapil Dev.

His role would be the Shane Watson role - average 35 with the bat, and bowl 4-6 overs.

Umar Akmal has failed to do Finishing Role in both batting first or chasing Score.

He Should not Bat at Number 6 whatever the Team or Squad is in hand.

He is among the few ho can hit the ball and he doesnt warrant a place in top 4, so whether he likes it or not he can only bat at 6

Why? If amir can play so can Butt and Butt has a decent record as an ODI opener

Butt's SR has been poor and has played selfishly imo in the national T20 cup which isn't the highest level of our domestic tournaments.

Dont consider him a good T20 player, but in this era, he certainly can have 80+ S/R with late 30s average in ODIs. He had a decent strike rate for the time he was playing in 2003-10.

It's time Yamin is given another opportunity. He should replace Malik in the LOI side. Given Malik's weaknesses against genuine pace, we can't afford to take a player of Malik's calibre to Australia.

Rizwan's a middle order bat.
Where would you fit Rizwan then? Only other option would be to pull Akmal down but he deserves a shot up the order.
Pakistan could go for someone like Khalid Latif or Bilal Asif.

Then again, none of them inspire much confidence. This is where Pakistan is really lacking.

Yamin finished with 10 wickets in 7 matches for FATA, tied for 4th on the list of top wicket-takers. Pity he didn't get more chances with the bat, he is far better than the likes of Bilal Asif who often batted above him.

Reminds me a lot of Yasir Arafat.

On the short side, skiddy type of bowler.

Bowls mainly inswingers.

Reminds me a lot of Yasir Arafat.

On the short side, skiddy type of bowler.

Bowls mainly inswingers.

He is a very very good batsman. He says he is a bowler first but tbh i feel he can be a batting all rounder. His bowling is okay for 6-7 overs per ODI.

This guy should be in the LOI side. The more they waste his years, the more they are going to regret later.

Very happy for him.

Hope he plays the remaining games and does well there too.

Needs to be in our LOI squads.

5 wickets today, was a bit expensive though, I didn't watch so someone will have to tell me how he bowled, but surely he's good enough to be at 7 in our ODI side...

another trundler with delusions of grandeur..I mean is this really the best we have?? he should put some meat on the bone and seriously consider whether he's up for the role of an int cricketer..

He is an all rounder anyways, He will never bowl his full 10 overs in a Pakistan shirt, maximum 6, and he's good enough for that.

Expensive today but got 5 wickets. Hope we get a chance to see him bat this tournament

Seems to have a knack of getting early wickets. Saw him do it for Pakistan. Did it in PSL. Now in Pakistan Cup. Let's see how he does with the bat in the rest of the tournament. Hope he does well, because he could be handy for the CT.

Don't get too excited guys. He was bowling to TTF's. Pakistan batting standards are shockingly poor.

My only concern with yamin is his big hitting vs pace, still feel Hammad is a better batsmen. There is doubt though that yamin horribly treated and should have played more