ICC CT 2017 | Sri Lanka vs Pakistan | 12th June, 2017 | Cardiff | Pre-Match Thread

Replace azhar wirh haris and shadab with fahim. Get hafez to open alongwith fakhar. Hafez looks out of sorts at 4 and should open if we are to utilize him to the fullest of his potential. Dropping shadab would not hurt us either as we already have plenty of spin options. Fahim can be a good hitter at death where we are struggling to post huge totals. So 11 according to batting order should be
Fakhar
Hafez
Babar
Haris
Malik
Sarfi
Imad
Fahim
Amir
Ali
Junaid

To light up CT we need some moment of brillance

Wahab spell in WC , Aamir spell in dhaka. Jayasurya magic. Aravinda innings in Eden. Sharjeel Final PPL. Something like that

Considering the leech is going nowhere,the role for him is to bowl his 10 economical overs and come in as a pinch hitter at number 7.

We seriously need to say goodbye to him as someone like Amir Yamin/Hussain Talat can bring a lot more balance to the team with their hitting abilities.

I will play this XI.

Sarfraz
Fakhar
Babar
Haris
Malik
Imad
Hafeez
Amir
Shadab
Hasan
Junaid

Top 8 will play with Left-Right combo which is an additional pressure on opposition due to field placings after every single taken.

To light up CT we need some moment of brillance

Wahab spell in WC , Aamir spell in dhaka. Jayasurya magic. Aravinda innings in Eden. Sharjeel Final PPL. Something like that

Wahab and amir spells came in losing causes. It has to be a complete team performance.

Previously, they had announced the squads a day before matches for first two encounters. They haven't done it here.

Same XI.
There aren't going to be any changes to the XI that played against SA.

Pakistan 423/6

Malik 132* (109)
Babar 105 (81)
Fakhar 76 (35)

Sri Lanka

153/10

Hasan Ali 6/23
Hafeez 2/11
Imad 2/35

Pakistan win by 270 runs and go ahead of India on NRR, thus topping the group.

Wahab and amir spells came in losing causes. It has to be a complete team performance.

This CT has been gloomy and LOL. A good spell of hostile pace, quick fire innovative fearless innings can make it come to life. Loosing and winning are part and parcel. As fans we want semifinal like Aus vs WI 96. Aus vs SA 99. Ind vs Eng 2011.

I heard Warne mention somewhere that Mark Taylor would almost always want to bat first. Batting first gives you 50 overs to take wickets while batting second gives you 50 overs to lose them.

So what is the playing eleven for SL match or has they not announced it this time?

Hafeez was sent to do today's official pre-match interview/conference, so it would seem he is definitely playing tomorrow (whatever else happens).

I think this game comes down to the toss. Both teams will want to chase, and I think whoever loses the toss will also lose the game.

Pakistan 423/6

Malik 132* (109)
Babar 105 (81)
Fakhar 76 (35)

Sri Lanka

153/10

Hasan Ali 6/23
Hafeez 2/11
Imad 2/35

Nice day dreaming mamoon bhai , but it's night in Pakistan so maybe you posted it in sleep mode :yk:

It's gonna be the same squad. No changes.
Would like to see Fahim replace Azhar and get Hafeez to open with Fakhar at the top. Azhar's contribution is zero anyway. Not sure why the management continue to persist with this talentless LOI batsman.

Lots of nervous posts !!!! Looks like faith in our Team is slowly evaporating regarding the match against SL tomorrow ????? Hmmmmmm ....... !!!!!!!

Sri Lanka will win this. Their batting has too much firepower and ours is cannon fonder compared to them. Our bowling will tie them down for a while but lose it in the last 10 overs as Cardiff will not be dry enough to offer reverse swing like Birmingham. It will be the best day in Pakistan in the last six years as Hafeez, Azhar, Shehzad will finally be gone from the ODI team.

It will be the best day in Pakistan in the last six years as Hafeez, Azhar, Shehzad will finally be gone from the ODI team.

This is not happening. Dont be surprised if Hafeez becomes the captain. His lobby has already started campaigning for his captaincy after he gave a well versed press conference in 'English' today.

Hafeez and Shehzad are favorites of majority. No matter how selfish they are on field they are in good books because they conduct themselves well on media and social media which is all that matters for majority Pakistanis. Including phrases like "Pakistan hai to hum hain'', "lay my life for Pakistan" etc in every sentence make their case even better.

You saw Pakistani fan's behavior when Hafeez didnt bowl against India? jaisay Hafeez na ho gya Murlitharan ho gya. Expect similar outrage if Hafeez is dropped. This guy is going nowhere along with Shehzad, they have strong backing.

All set for tomorrow?

going to cardiff tomorrow to see the game live... my 5th game of this CT... and to be fair, i am more excited abt this game than anyother game...

what are ur preps. :yasir:yasir:yasir:yasir:yasir:yasir:yasir:yasir:amir3:amir3:amir3:amir3:babar:babar:babar:babar

Hoping for a good cracker of a match from comfort of home.

The Best team goes through to the Semis.

Mickey Arther giving Hafeez a lecture:

Time for him to stand up! he spent too much of his life living in the UAE Paradise! [MENTION=43583]KingKhanWC[/MENTION]

Take an eye catching poster with you so that you show up on camera :ibutt

OP,

Yeah, do take a catchy poster with you.. Mention your username MilkyWay on it so that we can recognize you.
:srini

Missing the game tommorow due to being at work. :mv

Skip work. It's just one day.

OP,

Yeah, do take a catchy poster with you.. Mention your username MilkyWay on it so that we can recognize you.
:srini

Skip work. It's just one day.

Too late now bhai. Already planning a way to skip work for thepotential semi vs England :kp

Would have gone to the game but I have an exam in the morning and will miss the first 30 mins at least of the game. With Pakistan involved, anything can happen in the first 30 mins of a match. :((

IDK something along the lines of "Dont tell my boss that I called in sick to come watch Pakistan play" :srini

my manager already said tht to me when i asked him if i can have day off... he said if i say no, u r gonna call in sick anyways so ya. take it off lol ...

will try something like tht anyway ...

have managed to get a SL friend / colleague of mine to come with me n my friends.. lol . hope we win, bashing him would be great

Fahim Ashraf needs to come in for Azhar Ali, Hafeez can open

"Go Nawaz go"-banner?

Where does everyone want Nawaz to go though? :yk

On topic i can only watch the match in parts :( have some work in between so will miss parts of both the innings.

Please think out of the box, bring in Faheem for Azhar and let him go absolutely mental with the bat. Sohail for Hafeez is the other one but our stupid think value the experience of this momentum destroying tuk tuk.

Your ideal XI for Sri Lanka match

I think with his team, Pakistan has a good chance to win:

Hafeez
Fakhar
Babar
Malik
Sarfraz
Imad
Faheem
Shadab
Hasan Ali
Amir
Junaid

4 genuine bowlers, with 3 part timers.

But I know this is the team we will most likely get :sanga

Azhar
Fakhar
Babar
Hafeez
Malik
Sarfaraz
Imad
Shadab
Hasan
Amir
Junaid

Bowling they need not worry.

Batting, Babar Azam just needs to click and the rest need to bat smart. Fakhar Zaman also needs to do what he did the last match...he was a breath of fresh air smacking that ball around.

Pakistan wins.

PS: Bring Sarfaraz up the order, and send down Hafeez the professional test batter.

Pakistan 423/6

Malik 132* (109)
Babar 105 (81)
Fakhar 76 (35)

Sri Lanka

153/10

Hasan Ali 6/23
Hafeez 2/11
Imad 2/35

Get off Brian Lara Cricket and come in to reality hehe

Ideally
1. Fakhar
2. Safraz
3. Babar
4.Haris
5. Malik
6. Imad
7. Fahim
8. Shadab
9. Hassan
10. Amir
11. Junaid

Most likely team for tomorrow
1. Fakhar
2. Azhar
3. Babar
4. Hafeez
5. Malik
6. Safraz
7.Imad
8. Fahim/Shadab
9. Hassan
10.Amir
11.Junaid

BOWLING AVERAGES vs SL🇱🇰:

-M.Amir 21.81 & 11 wkts
-Imad Wasim 32.66 & 3 wkts
-Junaid Khan 30.18 & 16 wkts
-M.Hafeez 30.39 & 30 wkts

BATTING AVERAGES vs SL 🇱🇰:

-Hafeez 41.26 (100x4 & 50x6)
-Azhar 48.22 (50x3)
-S Malik 34.25 (50x7)
-Sarfraz 23.11 (50x1)

Bowling they need not worry.

Batting, Babar Azam just needs to click and the rest need to bat smart. Fakhar Zaman also needs to do what he did the last match...he was a breath of fresh air smacking that ball around.

Pakistan wins.

PS: Bring Sarfaraz up the order, and send down Hafeez the professional test batter.

Absolutely . 6 or 7 overs opening stand, then babar bats through which he should be able to do if he gets through first 15 balls inshaAllah.
Everybody else going run a ball throughout with 90 in last 10. That will get us 330

I wouldn't actually mind if Azhar plays.
He is showing he knows what is required in modern odi and he can pull it off against not the best bowling attacks
The only thing winding me up now is I CAN'T GET TO SLEEP!!!

Pakistan needs to bowl first if it wins the toss because Sri Lanka can chase any total they manage to muster. Suffice to say, even against this Lankan bowling, 300+ seems a distinct possibility unless changes in batting personnel and batting order are made. If SL win the toss and decide to chase, that's game over for us, as they have firepower throughout their batting.

Pakistan 423/6

Malik 132* (109)
Babar 105 (81)
Fakhar 76 (35)

Sri Lanka

153/10

Hasan Ali 6/23
Hafeez 2/11
Imad 2/35

a little change in dream if exit in reailty
Pakistan 423/6

sefarz107 (79)
Fakhar100 (70)
milk 66 (42)
other(rest is best if can rest)

Sri Lanka 153/10

Hasan Ali 6/23
Hafeez 2/11
Imad 2/35

Pakistan 423/6

Malik 132* (109)
Babar 105 (81)
Fakhar 76 (35)

Sri Lanka

153/10

Hasan Ali 6/23
Hafeez 2/11
Imad 2/35

For a pessimist like you, your posts in this CT are strangely quite positive. :-)

Shoaib Malik to play his 250th match today, how much do y'all rate his career or his contribution to Pakistan Cricket?

4sb6vl.png

Congratulation Pakistan :sanga