If India's foreign policy affects cricket, should India even be allowed to host ICC tournaments?

Major

Test Star
India has had issues with Pakistan that has resulted in pakistan not playing in India.
Now BCCI has forcefully asked for removal of a Bangladeshi cricketer from the ipl and their politicians have claimed it as a victory for hindus after his removal, indicating now India is unsafe for Bangladeshis.

With this point in mind, now BCB wants its wt26 matches in india moved out as it clearly indicates that Bangladeshis are not safe in India.

With India allowing its foreign relations shenanigans spill over to cricket and countries not wanting to play their, should india be allowed to host icc tournaments?

Ideally the entire subcontinent should not be allowed to host any tournament going forward because this drama will continue no matter if it's India, Pakistan or Bangladesh hosting. Sri Lanka alone cannot host any major tournament.

Let all big tournaments be in SENA, even the camerawork, grounds and atmosphere seem better there.

You don't kill the goose that lays the golden egg.
It’s not an immortal goose. If you push your weight around enough, eventually you’ll get clapped back.

And as regards the big claims by Indian posters of splitting cricket and isolating certain countries, please, go ahead and try it.

Have fun watching the sport die out, as viewers get bored of the same big teams playing each other again and again, and the TV bubble bursts.

Allowed is the wrong word.

We know that India controls the ICC. Other countries fall into line to keep enjoying the rewards.

Ultimately cricket is the only foreign policy lever that India can pull, so it pulls it regularly as is it something that makes them look proactive. Despite the overall result in the grand scheme of things being very limited.

Any change to Indians outlook must come from within. In most sports I follow the fans talk a different language to the corporates. There is usually push back and a sense of anti establishment anti corporate feeling. Fans feel like this is their game to own, it's not the game of the men in suits.
Unfortunately in India it's quite different. Their fans enjoy the corporate side of it and relish it. Is TV rights deals, viewership, franchise fees discussed to the level it is by anyone else by Indians? In any other sport?

The answer is no.

When you see somewhat credible sporting journalists analyse the current situation not through sporting lens that a deserving team has been made uncomfortable to play in a WC they qualify for, but in a purely economic sense, and many legacy fans echoing the same sentiments, then you know the game is gone.

I had hoped for an Indian pushback against corporate hijacking of cricket, but it's unlikely.

Cricket will continue in its current trajectory until the bubble pops.

Ultimately international cricket may become a second tier sport, where IPL and India dominated the first tier and there is some form of cricket being played in other tiers, I believe @Rana @sweep_shot have mentioned this too and you know what, I'm ok with it. As a fan I sometimes go and watch lower league football to get the authentic feeling. I'm sure I can do the same with cricket if it goes the way we think it's going.

2031 world cup is being jointly hosted by India and Bangladesh. This issue should be addressed immediately too and clarity given.

I think it should be rescheduled for UAE asap.

2031 world cup is being jointly hosted by India and Bangladesh. This issue should be addressed immediately too and clarity given.

It may be india and sl or India and uae as hosts, Bangladesh alone can’t host anything

Allowed is the wrong word.

We know that India controls the ICC. Other countries fall into line to keep enjoying the rewards.

Ultimately cricket is the only foreign policy lever that India can pull, so it pulls it regularly as is it something that makes them look proactive. Despite the overall result in the grand scheme of things being very limited.

Any change to Indians outlook must come from within. In most sports I follow the fans talk a different language to the corporates. There is usually push back and a sense of anti establishment anti corporate feeling. Fans feel like this is their game to own, it's not the game of the men in suits.
Unfortunately in India it's quite different. Their fans enjoy the corporate side of it and relish it. Is TV rights deals, viewership, franchise fees discussed to the level it is by anyone else by Indians? In any other sport?

The answer is no.

When you see somewhat credible sporting journalists analyse the current situation not through sporting lens that a deserving team has been made uncomfortable to play in a WC they qualify for, but in a purely economic sense, and many legacy fans echoing the same sentiments, then you know the game is gone.

I had hoped for an Indian pushback against corporate hijacking of cricket, but it's unlikely.

Cricket will continue in its current trajectory until the bubble pops.

Ultimately international cricket may become a second tier sport, where IPL and India dominated the first tier and there is some form of cricket being played in other tiers, I believe @Rana @sweep_shot have mentioned this too and you know what, I'm ok with it. As a fan I sometimes go and watch lower league football to get the authentic feeling. I'm sure I can do the same with cricket if it goes the way we think it's going.

Bangladeshs essential supplies flow through India so there are plenty of of levers to pull,

Since you fail to understand, let me put this in simple words,indian money won’t be flowing to a hostile nation no matter what is the premise

It’s not an immortal goose. If you push your weight around enough, eventually you’ll get clapped back.

And as regards the big claims by Indian posters of splitting cricket and isolating certain countries, please, go ahead and try it.

Have fun watching the sport die out, as viewers get bored of the same big teams playing each other again and again, and the TV bubble bursts.

Pakistanis have been dreaming of this clap back since 2010, but cricket is getting more dependent on India, even ecbs league is now dependent on indians to buy teams

All bubbles eventually burst. Like I said, India’s dominance is not immortal, nor does it have seven lives.

I simply dont understand how not picking a player in IPL affects ICC and India hosting international events?

Last I checked, IPL is a domestic event. How is this different from Pak banning Afg players from PSL?

Bangladeshs essential supplies flow through India so there are plenty of of levers to pull,

Since you fail to understand, let me put this in simple words,indian money won’t be flowing to a hostile nation no matter what is the premise
We will see when they are pulled. Until then we will file this away with other nonsense like Indian boycott of China, USA, and Turkey etc

Until then we can only comment on what is Infront of us and that is India showing its muscles via IPL and not playing bilateral with countries.

And once again you have shown that apart from economic lens there is no argument..you are arguing that money won't flow to one Bangladeshi player ( who will get paid anyway) but want 25 to come and visit your country just because you feel they should.

India has had issues with Pakistan that has resulted in pakistan not playing in India.
Now BCCI has forcefully asked for removal of a Bangladeshi cricketer from the ipl and their politicians have claimed it as a victory for hindus after his removal, indicating now India is unsafe for Bangladeshis.

With this point in mind, now BCB wants its wt26 matches in india moved out as it clearly indicates that Bangladeshis are not safe in India.

With India allowing its foreign relations shenanigans spill over to cricket and countries not wanting to play their, should india be allowed to host icc tournaments?
ICC is helpless looking at BCCI's financila clout , more so with turd Shah at helm .

BCCI banning an BD player as retaliation is stupid. I mean this is laughing stock material.

Fortunately (for us Indian fans), either BCB is even more stupid or they’re as vulnerable to political pressure. IPL is a private league, and yet you choose to deliver your response in a global, ‘official’ tournament. Best of luck with that.

BCCI banning an BD player as retaliation is stupid. I mean this is laughing stock material.

Fortunately (for us Indian fans), either BCB is even more stupid or they’re as vulnerable to political pressure. IPL is a private league, and yet you choose to deliver your response in a global, ‘official’ tournament. Best of luck with that.
Was it a "private League" who banned the player from attending or the Indian government?

I blame Shah Rukh Khan for this entire saga. Guy has a unique love for Pak and BD cricketers, a kind of unexplained love that we see from some Indian posters here :inti

His Franchise KKR bought most number of Pak & BD players in first edition of IPL. Then was dancing full chaiya chaiya with them in stage and saying openly whenever Pakistan wins it feels his Walid Sahab has won. Then post 2008 attacks when Pak players were banned, he sneakily included Wasim Akram as a coach for his team. Then added a 38 year old retired Azhar Mehmood as soon as he got British passport and eligible to play for IPL. I still remember how in 2014 edition, his team kept a young Kuldeep Yadav on bench for Azhar. Then in 2019 he also hired Pak origin American cricketer Ali Khan. Even his overseas team likes Trindago Knight Riders has most Pakistani players like M.Amir, Usman Tariq, Imad Wasim etc etc. And now knowing very well what is happening with Hindus in Bangladesh, his franchise is the only one that bought a BD player. Anyone that thinks Mustafizur deserves 9.2 crore in 2026 knows nothing about cricket anyway.

Compare the above with how he treated Indian great and Bengal's pride Saurav Ganguly. Stripped him of captaincy after first edition and then humiliated him in SA edition of IPL.

Shah Rukh Khan is a big star, has millions of fans and it is his money afterall. He can hire anyone he wants and it is none of anybody's business. However, if anyone says he has no inclination towards Pak or BD cricketers, is clearly lying. Everyone in India knows the truth.

I blame Shah Rukh Khan for this entire saga. Guy has a unique love for Pak and BD cricketers, a kind of unexplained love that we see from some Indian posters here :inti

His Franchise KKR bought most number of Pak & BD players in first edition of IPL. Then was dancing full chaiya chaiya with them in stage and saying openly whenever Pakistan wins it feels his Walid Sahab has won. Then post 2008 attacks when Pak players were banned, he sneakily included Wasim Akram as a coach for his team. Then added a 38 year old retired Azhar Mehmood as soon as he got British passport and eligible to play for IPL. I still remember how in 2014 edition, his team kept a young Kuldeep Yadav on bench for Azhar. Then in 2019 he also hired Pak origin American cricketer Ali Khan. Even his overseas team likes Trindago Knight Riders has most Pakistani players like M.Amir, Usman Tariq, Imad Wasim etc etc. And now knowing very well what is happening with Hindus in Bangladesh, his franchise is the only one that bought a BD player. Anyone that thinks Mustafizur deserves 9.2 crore in 2026 knows nothing about cricket anyway.

Compare the above with how he treated Indian great and Bengal's pride Saurav Ganguly. Stripped him of captaincy after first edition and then humiliated him in SA edition of IPL.

Shah Rukh Khan is a big star, has millions of fans and it is his money afterall. He can hire anyone he wants and it is none of anybody's business. However, if anyone says he has no inclination towards Pak or BD cricketers, is clearly lying. Everyone in India knows the truth.
3 teams in total bid for Mustafizur. Do you blame the losers too?

If we are only talking about this issue, yes all 3 franchises are to be blamed. However, I just wanted to remind everyone SRK's love story with Pak & BD cricketers in last 18 years of IPL history. So anyone questions him has merit in it and not jingoistic.

SRK whenever sees Pak cricketers - Kuch Kuch Hota Hai and when he sees Bangladeshi players - Dil to Pagal hai

So much lowe :love:

:misbah

He was expelled from a private league. That’s all that matters.
Its a very convenient way of looking at it.

Let's be clear. Was he expelled from this "private" league? If so who by?

Once we have answer to that question then the intentions behind Bangladesh asking for ICC to reschedule their games will hopefully become clearer to you.

If we are only talking about this issue, yes all 3 franchises are to be blamed. However, I just wanted to remind everyone SRK's love story with Pak & BD cricketers in last 18 years of IPL history. So anyone questions him has merit in it and not jingoistic.

SRK whenever sees Pak cricketers - Kuch Kuch Hota Hai and when he sees Bangladeshi players - Dil to Pagal hai

So you have been against the inclusion of Bangladeshis in IPL for last 18 years?

Its a very convenient way of looking at it.

Let's be clear. Was he expelled from this "private" league? If so who by?

Once we have answer to that question then the intentions behind Bangladesh asking for ICC to reschedule their games will hopefully become clearer to you.

It’s the only way of looking at it. The rest is conjecture.

And we know how BD has responded. The rest is conjecture.

You are free to make your hypothesis, I am basing whatever I say on facts.

Pakistani players are banned from IPL because of Pakistan’s alleged involvements in terror activities in the Indian soil.

Bangladesh players are now banned because of human right atrocities against minority Hindu population in Bangladesh.

India has fair reasons to take this stand and reasons it can comfortably defend in any fair institution.

Sports and Politics cannot be separated when things cross a certain level. The above mentioned are not ordinary allegations.

Shakib was playing for your 'Tau' Mukesh Ambani's team in a random league, what would you call him then? Or is Shah Rukh Khan being targeted simply because he is an Indian Muslim? SRK bought him because the BCCI had allowed him to be sold. Why don't you blame BCCI then?

We saw the same pattern with Diljit Dosanjh, who signed a film with @Bhaijaan's favorite Hania Amir long before the Pahalgam attack but 'andhbhakhts' and other 'bhajpille' were blaming Diljit instead. Blaming minorities seems to come instinctively to andhbhakhts. It's no surprise that players like Harbhajan Singh and Irfan Pathan are often pressured to prove their loyalty by saying things they otherwise wouldn't. :yk :inti

Let me reiterate I am not in favour of the expulsion of Fizz. Because in my opinion it achieves nothing, and only makes us (India) come across as petulant, and weak.

It’s a populist knee jerk reaction to a serious underlying issue, and simply exposes that GoI so far doesn’t have a measured, effective and serious response.

When social media outrage begins to drive policy, you know you’re already behind in the real exchange.

Raju , do you love this '' PakPassion '' forum ?
& ...
Do you think IND/BCCI should snap off all ties with BD ?

Azhar played for Punjab kings aswell, do u blame them aswell?
Rajistan royals had 3 pakistanis in first season, did u blame them?

Akshay kumar did a press conference of Delhi daredevils with asif and malik sitting on his left and right, did u blame him?

Really dumb post mate.

It is far more likely that the tournament will be moved out of both India and Bangladesh entirely.

Bangladesh and Pakistan are unlikely to travel to India, while India is equally unlikely to visit Bangladesh.

As a result, the tournament would turn into a logistical nightmare. Teams would be forced to travel back and forth between multiple neutral venues, disrupting preparation, recovery, and fairness. Such constant movement would not only exhaust players but also compromise the integrity and smooth running of the competition.

It is ironical that Shakib Al Hasan is not able to return to his country due to security threats and BD is accusing India of security concern for their players.

Azhar played for Punjab kings aswell, do u blame them aswell?
Rajistan royals had 3 pakistanis in first season, did u blame them?

Akshay kumar did a press conference of Delhi daredevils with asif and malik sitting on his left and right, did u blame him?

Really dumb post mate.

Yes Major, a rare good post from you. Took you a while but a good start to the New Year. Keep it up.

I simply dont understand how not picking a player in IPL affects ICC and India hosting international events?

Last I checked, IPL is a domestic event. How is this different from Pak banning Afg players from PSL?
Both instances are equally condemnable.

It is ironical that Shakib Al Hasan is not able to return to his country due to security threats and BD is accusing India of security concern for their players.

Also iconic that India is hosting ex PM of Bangladesh but cannot host a Cricketer

India is hosting Haseena as a fugitive because Bangladeshis will hang her moment she goes back. Every country around the world give shelter to fugitives. England is holding Vijay Mallya, Pakistan is holding Dawood Ibrahim etc.

India can host every cricketer, including Bangladeshis. In-fact, Bangladeshis were playing in IPL up until last season. Now because everything happening with Hindus there....we dont want Bangladeshis to be playing on our league. No fault of Mustafizur in it but since he is from Bangladesh he cant play.

I'm amazed that India, with all the various diplomatic, economic and political levers it can pull, decides to use cricket of all things as a way of sanctioning what it considers hostile nations.

India has an issue with Bangladesh's alleged mistreatment of Hindus. Pressurising an IPL franchise to release a Bangladeshi bowler is the best move you can pull ?!

It's like a teenage cyber-sanghi constantly on social media is in charge of these decisions - yet it seems that's who the Indian Government are trying to appease.

Same with handshake-gate - the only reason that became an issue was because foaming-at-the-mouth nationalists were screaming on social media after seeing a visual of Yadav shaking hands with Naqvi.

I'm amazed that India, with all the various diplomatic, economic and political levers it can pull, decides to use cricket of all things as a way of sanctioning what it considers hostile nations.

India has an issue with Bangladesh's alleged mistreatment of Hindus. Pressurising an IPL franchise to release a Bangladeshi bowler is the best move you can pull ?!

It's like a teenage cyber-sanghi constantly on social media is in charge of these decisions - yet it seems that's who the Indian Government are trying to appease.

Same with handshake-gate - the only reason that became an issue was because foaming-at-the-mouth nationalists were screaming on social media after seeing a visual of Yadav shaking hands with Naqvi.

There are hundreds of minority attacks in India.

Minority attacks in India are state-sponsored. Minority attacks in Bangladesh are isolated incidents (also, much lesser in numbers).

Indians should take care of their own minorities first before pointing fingers at other countries. There is a slow genocide going on in India involving minorities. Just go through these threads:

There are hundreds of minority attacks in India.

Minority attacks in India are state-sponsored. Minority attacks in Bangladesh are isolated incidents (also, much lesser in numbers).

Indians should take care of their own minorities first before pointing fingers at other countries. There is a slow genocide going on in India involving minorities. Just go through these threads:

If India were actually consistent in their policymaking and genuinely concerned by the treatment of minorities by a so-called Islamic government, they would have zero contact with the Afghan Taliban instead of rolling out the red carpet as they did recently.

Given the Taliban's track record, shouldn't every single Afghan cricketer be barred from IPL ? Or is their fundamentalism okay because they align with India's strategic goal to isolate/antagonise Pakistan ?

If India were actually consistent in their policymaking and genuinely concerned by the treatment of minorities by a so-called Islamic government, they would have zero contact with the Afghan Taliban instead of rolling out the red carpet as they did recently.

Given the Taliban's track record, shouldn't every single Afghan cricketer be barred from IPL ? Or is their fundamentalism okay because they align with India's strategic goal to isolate/antagonise Pakistan ?

Agree.

They demonize Muslims in India/Bangladesh/Pakistan but buddy up with the Talibans and beg to gulf states with a begging bowl.

They are big hypocrites I guess. :inti

images

*checks in for the first time in a while*

Guys let's be absolute realists here.

India is not going anywhere. They have too much money. If Pakistan and Bangladesh have a problem with India the best solution is to maximize their own revenues and make themselves viable for high value cricket. It's time for everyone to pull themselves up and stop relying on India to fund everything.

That said, political boycotts of sporting are not new. The USA boycotted the Olympics in Moscow. The Soviets returned the favor. There are the many examples of cricket teams boycotting other teams over political issues (i.e. Australia refusing to play Australia due to their treatment of women, and Pakistan the same over political tensions).

I have said this many times before but if you want India to be constrained the best way to counter them is to bring more big economic countries into cricket.

First of all, there is nothing called alleged. There are documented proofs of Hindus getting persecuted in Bangladesh everyday, including the one today. All eyes for Rafa but becomes alleged when Hindus gets killed is it?

Second, who said this is the best move India could pull in? Indian Govt will take steps what they think best suited to stop Hindu persecution. It has already taken multiple steps like CAA, NRC etc.

Not taking Mustafizur Rahman in IPL is an emotional decision by BCCI after facing widespread criticism. Nothing personal against Fizz but on one hand Hindus getting killed in Bangladesh and a Bangladeshi player earning money in Indian premier league, a country with 80% Hindus, is wrong. It is playing with emotions of people. It is similar to when Muslim's in Birmingham forced police to stop Mccabe Tel Aviv fans from attending Villa match. At that time you guys were cheering, even though white Villa fans themselves were disgusted at the end of the match but now shedding crocodile tears for Mustafiz.

Absolutely not going to work, this double standards.

The real clap back is your team being forced to come to Sri Lanka to play Pakistan. What happened to we will go back on our own and force Pakistan to come to India? Hahahaha

Yup lets blame all and sundry but ignore the root cause of all problems. Poor Shahrukh khan, always under the radar due to his religion.

What is the root cause of all problems? I mean Bangladeshi players always were part of IPL. Yes not many of them because most weren't good enough. But decent ones like Shakib and Fizz played in IPL for years under various franchise. So what changed from 2024? Any idea?

Well, if the BCCI thinks there’s a security threat when a Bangladeshi player plays in the IPL, then how is it possible for their entire team to play in India for WC?

All bubbles eventually burst. Like I said, India’s dominance is not immortal, nor does it have seven lives.
It’s better Pakistan integrate into India rather than depend on an army to loot its own people in the name of hatred for India. Pakistani’s can become politicians in India and Bollywood Stars rather than lower middle class radicals in Pakistan.

Potw. @The Bald Eagle

@Markhor has just ripped apart indians here

GUYS, PLEASE TRY TO KEEP IS RELEVANT TO CRICKET... DISCUSSING POLITICS IS NOT FOR CRICKET THREAD.

Bangladeshis are burning and killing hindus at the same time time a Bangladeshi getting paid a million USD in India isn’t going to to work bcci and the government has to work as per public sentiments

This isn’t a military dictatorship where a failed marshal will give software updates to shut people

Bangladeshis are burning and killing hindus at the same time time a Bangladeshi getting paid a million USD in India isn’t going to to work bcci and the government has to work as per public sentiments

This isn’t a military dictatorship where a failed marshal will give software updates to shut people
I asked this earlier here. Since everything related to Bangladesh is a strict NO now, will business houses like Adani pull out of their Bangladesh ventures, or does that not apply to trade and commerce ?

The clear answer is no. But we can’t expect sense to prevail in Cricket controlled by India.
😂😂 If cricket is controlled by India then why can't they get their Asia Cup trophy?

Allow me to elaborate

An entity controls something when it dictates all the tactical and strategic moves of the thing it controls

India "influences" cricket through its mass viewership. It doesn't control cricket.

Pakistan is the living example to prove my assertion

Despite its best efforts to hurt Pak cricket to oblivion, India has failed to end Pakistan's role in international cricket

Similarly, it won't be able to do crap to BD cricket either because the states need people's thoughts diverted from the real problems of the country and end up investing in sports by themselves if they can't get the private sponsorship

Agree.

They demonize Muslims in India/Bangladesh/Pakistan but buddy up with the Talibans and beg to gulf states with a begging bowl.

They are big hypocrites I guess. :inti

images
Beg to gulf states, India isn’t Bangladesh, the 4th largest economy in the world isn’t begging go check how many usd India gave to bd as aid

😂😂 If cricket is controlled by India then why can't they get their Asia Cup trophy?

Allow me to elaborate

An entity controls something when it dictates all the tactical and strategic moves of the thing it controls

India "influences" cricket through its mass viewership. It doesn't control cricket.

Pakistan is the living example to prove my assertion

Despite its best efforts to hurt Pak cricket to oblivion, India has failed to end Pakistan's role in international cricket

Similarly, it won't be able to do crap to BD cricket either because the states need people's thoughts diverted from the real problems of the country and end up investing in sports by themselves if they can't get the private sponsorship
Truth be told, BCCI’s bluff is just starting to be called out now.

As a Pakistani I want India to continue to host the ICC events

This way the rest of the world gets exposed to the true face of India and India as a brand gets hurt

For example, due to the childish approach of the Indian cricket board (BD related development) many travel plans will be affected. The affected people will get upset and the India's image gets impaired

Needless to say, the hospitality industry of India gets impacted too. Cancellations of hotel bookings, etc.

Most importantly, through the ICC events many of the SENA countries tourists get exposed to the real conditions of people residing in India. The beggars across the road of the hotel and terrible stench that can be smelled in the hotels by the Bombay beaches because the homeless and the poor defecate in the ocean. They don't have access to toilets. I am talking about the things which I personally observed in India.

So, yes I want India to continue to host the ICC events because its real face gets exposed when foreigners visit it. It is a face which is very different than it is advertised.

If BCB is able to move it's games away from India, this is more of a Sri Lanka World Cup than an Indian one.

:dw
Yes , semifinals and final are going to play in Lanka 🤡🤡🤡

Minnows playing in Lanka is good things. Take all the Minnow match to Lanka.

ICC World T20 final is going to play in Narendra Modi stadium, Ahmedabad India.

#HaiHimmat to rok ke dikhao final m pahuch ke 😂🤣🤣🤣

#Aaukat ⚡⚡

:klopp :kp

Luckily for india the rest of the world isn’t as stupid as india. If other cricketing nations used the same logic India loves to apply, they’d be boycotting India left, right, and centre over its treatment of minorities.

What happened to Christians during Christmas in India wasn’t hidden, it was broadcast to the world churches attacked, harassment in the name of “nationalism,” and total silence from those who pretend to lecture others on morals.

Hypocrisy at its finest. Chest-thumping propaganda at home, victim card abroad. The world sees it even if you choose to live in denial.

Luckily for india the rest of the world isn’t as stupid as india. If other cricketing nations used the same logic India loves to apply, they’d be boycotting India left, right, and centre over its treatment of minorities.

What happened to Christians during Christmas in India wasn’t hidden, it was broadcast to the world churches attacked, harassment in the name of “nationalism,” and total silence from those who pretend to lecture others on morals.

Hypocrisy at its finest. Chest-thumping propaganda at home, victim card abroad. The world sees it even if you choose to live in denial.

They are talking about Hindus being burned in BD. I don't actually know if it happened or not. BD posters in this forum would be in a better position to verify it. Indians and Indian media do a lot of propaganda. If it did happen, it's condemnable.

However, the interesting thing is that former BCCI chief, who is presently the Chief/President of ICC, has a father whose political party goons have burnt alive a Muslim Indian legislator and later cut him into pieces during the Gujarat riots

During the same riots, a female was gangraped. Her rapists when released were received with garlands by political workers of Modi, whom some of the Indian posters on this forum support and worship

In the Delhi riots, of 1980s Sikhs were tied up, tires were put around their shoulders and they were burnt alive

None of the countries stopped playing cricket with India because they knew that cricketers were not involved

Many Indian posters here might pretend that they care about the lynchings in BD bout they support the Indian politicians who support beef-lynching in their country

I don't know if you are aware but Mohammad Shami has been summoned by the Elections Commission of India to prove that he is an Indian. If a Hindu player had been summoned by the BD for same reason, it would have been made a big deal. But I haven't come across any Indian patron on this forum condemning it. Shami has received national awards from the government of India. Now he will have to prove to Modi and ICC's President's father that he is an Indian...

It's a cheap, performative stunt by lashing out at an easy target with no real means of responding (Bangladeshi cricketers) to appease the online mob than a substantive response to communal violence in Bangladesh.

As @Human786 said, will the Indian Govt pressure business leaders to withdraw their investments from Bangladesh ? Will the Indian Govt suspend trading relations ?

Alternatively, Indian Govt could recall its Ambassador, or expel Bangladeshi diplomats. Apparently a water sharing treaty is expiring this year so that's another point of leverage.

If India is having headaches over Hindu mistreatment in Bangladesh - you may also wish to look at the actions of your new best friends the Afghan Taliban:

So please advise me when India will announce similar sanctions on the four Afghan cricketers retained by their IPL franchises ? Or is Hindu mistreatment forgiveable when perpetrated by an ally ?

Yet you didn’t write an essay on the others - goes on to show the typical Indian hatred towards a certain group of people

Ideally the entire subcontinent should not be allowed to host any tournament going forward because this drama will continue no matter if it's India, Pakistan or Bangladesh hosting. Sri Lanka alone cannot host any major tournament.

Let all big tournaments be in SENA, even the camerawork, grounds and atmosphere seem better there.

This is what happens when you put petty people in charge. If BCCI operated like a professional board and without the small-minded vengeance driven mentality, there would be no issue.

This is why cricket would have been far better off if ECB/CA were running the show.