Iftikhar Ahmed should be Pakistan's number 4 in ODIs

He could be a decent choice at number 4 but since Rizwan is doing a decent job at this position so there is no real need of this change at the moment. We need a batter who can hit sixes in the last 10 overs in ODI cricket and he is one of the best options we have at the moment to do this.

LOL 20 years ago - we had Inzy as our no. 4 and now you are advocating for Chachu in this position..

Crazy decline in standards

Ifti when he gets going....unstoppable although he should have been out had SL taken the review

LOL 20 years ago - we had Inzy as our no. 4 and now you are advocating for Chachu in this position..

Crazy decline in standards
Both Rizwan and Chachu were brilliant this evening and I think their partnership has helped Pakistan to post a winning total.

Agree they were brilliant - But Chachu will not always come out to bat on a flat wicket with a license to hit in the last 10 overs if he bats at no. 4

At the moment Rizwan is doing a good job at number 4 so there's no need for us to change this position. Iftikhar is OK at number 6 or may be at number 5 depending on the match situation.

Iftikhar putting some of his younger teammates to shame.

Fans are naive to be satisfied with Iftikhar’s 40s and 50s batting at number 6/7.

Little do they know that Ifti can give them a 150 batting at no.4

Why was Iftikhar hiding today?

He should have been at 5. Not after Harris and Nawaz. Did he ask Babar to shield him? So Iftikhar is the number 7 going forward?

Lol they gave belief to the opposition

“If these two can bat, tou humne chooriya nahi pehnhi hui”

Well done Ifti. I know you have been mentally bruised by Babar sending you at numbers 7 & 8.

First chance you got at number 4, and you shined.

Well done Ifti. I know you have been mentally bruised by Babar sending you at numbers 7 & 8.

First chance you got at number 4, and you shined.

Are you serious? He was dropped off the bowling of Smith and then David Warner, of all people, before he started smashing them...even then couldn't get to a hundred as holed out to Marnus...
Why do we judge him so differently compared to others.

Trust me on these golden words. If Babar has a good World Cup, Pakistan will be in top 4/5. If Chacha has a good World Cup, Pakistan will be in the Finals.

It is as simple as that.

Why do we judge him so differently compared to others.

Trust me on these golden words. If Babar has a good World Cup, Pakistan will be in top 4/5. If Chacha has a good World Cup, Pakistan will be in the Finals.

It is as simple as that.
I am judging him on players from the past that did the same role as him...Hafeez, Malik and Afridi before him...the spinning all rounders who all have ODI centuries against major countries unlike Chacha who only managed this accomplishment recently and against Nepal of all teams!

Iftikar can be an X-factor for Pakistan if he bats at the right position. If you ask me there should be no fixed position for him. He can be a floater.

I am judging him on players from the past that did the same role as him...Hafeez, Malik and Afridi before him...the spinning all rounders who all have ODI centuries against major countries unlike Chacha who only managed this accomplishment recently and against Nepal of all teams!

What a slap in the face to all three, Chacha comes nowhere close to any of them.

Yea, I agree. Iftikhar is nowhere near to these three as an allrounder, but lately, he has developed his batting lower down the order and is surely the one on which the Pakistan team will be putting trust.

Iftikhar as a batsman needs some balls to get set. After that, he has ability to accelerate very quickly. I do agree with posters who believe he should be used as a floater. In my opinion, the ideal time for him to enter the crease is around 30 overs whenever the wicket falls near that over.
If pitches are flat, he should be given a role to hit around 100 runs in 60 balls given that he bats through.

Sri Lankans would be intimidated seeing Chacha in this mood

Ifti mania is getting ready to take on Sri Lanka

He will be an important player for Pakistan in this World Cup and I think he would make useful contribution with both bat and ball in this World Cup. BTW Rizwan is doing a decent job at number 4 so Iftikhar should stay at number 6.

Its really painfull to see threads like these which promotes batsmans like ifti and shadab. They are just okay as number 6 and 7, nothing more than that.

Ifti mania is getting ready to take on Sri Lanka

Why such dramatic music for what is just a standard tuk tuk session?

I’d understand if he was absolutely pasting it in the nets.

If anything this video makes our great finisher look a bit silly. Poor from the media dept.

Its really painfull to see threads like these which promotes batsmans like ifti and shadab. They are just okay as number 6 and 7, nothing more than that.
He is doing a good job at number 6 and he should stay at this position. I don't understand why people would want to change number 4 where Rizwan has been doing a good job.

Another one of those maybe, ifs and buts innings and what could have been.

Flashes of brilliance together with flashes of mediocrity.

If Pakistan's openers provide a strong start so there is no harm in experimenting with Iftikhar at the number 3 position.

The more deliveries he will face the higher the chances of achieving substantial scores.

He should play a floating role. If the top order puts up a good start then he should come in earlier, if top order failed then let Rizwan/Saud rebuild.

He’s the only one who hits clean 6’s on pace bowling.

Chacha should open because he can only play pace

our openers are too slow and normally waste powerplay
Don’t think he has the skill level to be an opener tbh, bowlers like Boult/Bumrah etc would get him out very early if the ball is swinging

Haris Sohail is the best middle-order ODI batsman in the country. He needs to bat at 4.

I would play Iftikhar at 6 with Rizwan at 5 because Iftikhar is a better hitter. He would be more useful in the later overs.

Fakhar
Imam
Babar
Haris
Rizwan
Iftikhar
Salman
Usama
Shaheen
Two fast bowlers

This is a top ODI team. Certainly the best Pakistan have had in a very, very long time.
Do you still believe this? Usama in a “top ODI team”. The guy is a bum of the highest order.

For me, he has been the biggest disappointment of the World Cup so far because he had a golden opportunity of liberating Pakistan from Shadab once and for all.

I have seen him bowl before this World Cup and he looked so much better than Shadab. He could actually generate spin and bounce and these conditions are perfect for him to make an impact.

However, I haven’t seen a player look so nervous, so scared. You could see it on his face - he is petrified. That horrendous dropped catch v Warner was a consequence of the nerves that he is battling right now.

He is mentally shot and clearly doesn’t want to be out there. I don’t know why that is the case but you have to grab your opportunities at this level especially when you are competing with someone who is one of the favorites of your captain and is generally not subjected to any type of accountability.

Usama will probably be booted out for good after this World Cup unless he can do something in the remaining games (if he is picked) and he will have no one to blame bar himself because he has absolutely blown his opportunity so far and shown zero bottle.

He should play a floating role. If the top order puts up a good start then he should come in earlier, if top order failed then let Rizwan/Saud rebuild.

He’s the only one who hits clean 6’s on pace bowling.
I agree with your on floating role but I don't agree with you when you say he hits sixes on pace bowling only. He can hit sixes against spin bowling too.

For me, he has been the biggest disappointment of the World Cup so far because he had a golden opportunity of liberating Pakistan from Shadab once and for all.

I have seen him bowl before this World Cup and he looked so much better than Shadab. He could actually generate spin and bounce and these conditions are perfect for him to make an impact.

However, I haven’t seen a player look so nervous, so scared. You could see it on his face - he is petrified. That horrendous dropped catch v Warner was a consequence of the nerves that he is battling right now.

He is mentally shot and clearly doesn’t want to be out there. I don’t know why that is the case but you have to grab your opportunities at this level especially when you are competing with someone who is one of the favorites of your captain and is generally not subjected to any type of accountability.

Usama will probably be booted out for good after this World Cup unless he can do something in the remaining games (if he is picked) and he will have no one to blame bar himself because he has absolutely blown his opportunity so far and shown zero bottle.
It’s funny how we disagree on almost all pf the systematic parts of our team but at the end of the day would select the exact same 11. Agree that Usama Mir is the biggest letdown. He’s the sole reason I thought we’d easily crush Afghanistan on a spinning pitch. In the New Zealand series earlier this he was bowling brilliantly and was just not just spinning the ball you could actually see him setting batsmen up and see his thought process. I think perhaps dropping that catch of Warner early on and then Warner going to score so many runs as well as being brutally taken to the stands by the Australian batsmen has really destroyed his confidence. If he ends up playing bad the remaining games and is ultimately dropped from the squad, it’s going to be incredibly hard for him to work his way back into the team.
I agree with your on floating role but I don't agree with you when you say he hits sixes on pace bowling only. He can hit sixes against spin bowling too.
I agree he’s a good hitter of spin as well - sort of Misbah esque in that way but Misbah had a bigger shot selection. My only fear for Iftikhar is his age and that he probably will be too old for the next World Cup. That’s why I’m sort of hesitant to believe we should invest in him playing too far up the order, but no doubt he’s a good player who has really been underutilized. I mean look at his bowling this World Cup, out of all of our spinners he’s been the tightest even though he’s not taking wickets, he’s building pressure. Big mistake by management to not make more use of him overall while we had the chance.

Ifti is medicore beyond belief, but he's the only player who playes to modern standards minus falhar when fakhar was inform.

Atleast he can bash minnows. Might as well try ifti at 4. He's the only six hitter we have lol

Taking number 4 from this team’s Rizwan is equivalent of taking Ponting’s number 3 position

#sochnabhimanahai

Taking number 4 from this team’s Rizwan is equivalent of taking Ponting’s number 3 position

#sochnabhimanahai
😂😂. Ik this is sarcasm, but tbf Ricky was made no 3 before captaincy, cause it was Australian tradition to play as your best player at no 3, which Ricky was In the atg line up.

Apparently rizzu is the best no 4 for Pakistan 🥸🥸

😂😂. Ik this is sarcasm, but tbf Ricky was made no 3 before captaincy, cause it was Australian tradition to play as your best player at no 3, which Ricky was In the atg line up.

Apparently rizzu is the best no 4 for Pakistan 🥸🥸
Best number 4 in Pakistan history

4 big games coming up for our GOAT

Best number 4 in Pakistan history

4 big games coming up for our GOAT
He might perform against bangaldesh and England though, their bowling is toothless and to give credit to rizzu, he knows how to accumulate and Soft score against toothless lineups.

SA will expose him and so will NZ, the warmups were darly Mitchell bowling. He won't survive satner, Henry or boult.

Ifti bats at 3 in T10 (pretty much new ball) and he’s quite destructive

You could definitely open with him and ask him to bat in his T10 mode

He might perform against bangaldesh and England though, their bowling is toothless and to give credit to rizzu, he knows how to accumulate and Soft score against toothless lineups.

SA will expose him and so will NZ, the warmups were darly Mitchell bowling. He won't survive satner, Henry or boult.
Against England I’m expecting Adil Rashid to run circles around our middle order. I doubt Rizwan will do much or score an impactful amount of runs

Ifti can hit. But it is a bit one-dimensional. Goes back deep into his crease and launches. It was 100% certain Zampa was going to find him out against Australia and it's quite likely most spinners will run rings around him.

Still, I'd like to see him get a bit of a run in the top order. If he somehow manages to play 50-60 balls and then gets a chance to go nuts at the end we will probably win the match.

He's one of the few players that can somewhat hold his head high in this WC.

Against England I’m expecting Adil Rashid to run circles around our middle order. I doubt Rizwan will do much or score an impactful amount of runs
Oh yh, forgot about rasheed. He can still survive and duck.

Against bamgaldesh he couldn't play their only quality bowler so 10 dots on the trott but he bullied the rest. I expect him to possibly do so against England as well just not attack rasheed.

He gets exposed when 2 or 3 bowlers are quality and he has no choice but to play them. And unlike last semifinals he doesn't have ish sodhi to help him lol.

We'll see. NZ and SA is defo a no performance though.

Be prepared for the bamgaldesh assault and possible England assault though. Rn rizzu fans are quiet. They are waiting 😂.

Koi hal nahi hai hamri kom ka

Ifti can hit. But it is a bit one-dimensional. Goes back deep into his crease and launches. It was 100% certain Zampa was going to find him out against Australia and it's quite likely most spinners will run rings around him.

Still, I'd like to see him get a bit of a run in the top order. If he somehow manages to play 50-60 balls and then gets a chance to go nuts at the end we will probably win the match.

He's one of the few players that can somewhat hold his head high in this WC.
The positive about Ifti though is that he is strong on both front and back foot. He is actually the only 360 degree type player we have who can hit in all directions with the same amount of force.

Bhai he's not a 360 player 😂😂. He's a hitter. The only hitter Pakistan sadly has and ironically pur best player in a team full of spineless morons.

I've not really seen him play off the front foot. He goes back deep and shuffles across to cover his stumps before hitting.

It's a great technique btw, I used it in tapeball but it's very easy for a bowler to overcome it.

Bro, this is nothing new for me. At the end of the day, I always have the last laugh on this lot.
Their are those who are educated like you and their are those who are not.

That's all I'll say.

Team management trying really hard to destroy Iftikhar’s confidence by shuffling him between positions 5, 6 and 7.

I wonder why does Babar or Rizwan never leave their own slots.

Team management trying really hard to destroy Iftikhar’s confidence by shuffling him between positions 5, 6 and 7.

I wonder why does Babar or Rizwan never leave their own slots.

He's rubbish. He's not had a good WC as well. Just one good innings against Afghanistan. He's now batting like Misbah, 15 off 26 balls.