Imran Khan's first speech as Prime Minister of Pakistan

You spread negativity whether it is politics or sports.

As far as being away from home, do you any iota of shame blaming expatriots for no contribution. I am sure you as an individual contribute zero to Pakistan - IF you ARE a Pakistani. - I work and send money to Pakistan in DOLLARS to contribute!!!!!!!

I have come up with a proposition and I hope you will comment on it. How about all of us Pakistanis, who are qualified and educated, move out of Pakistan and find jobs in the West so that they we can also join you in your noble cause of sending back dollars and sterling to Pakistan.

We should only leave behind unskilled workers in Pakistan, while the skilled workers should move abroad and send back dollars. This will ensure that our foreign reserves will boost up and we can use it to clear our debt.

Do you think this will work? Why or why not? As a doctor who was born and brought up in Pakistan and someone who plans to work in Pakistan in the long-term, I am greatly inspired by your noble cause of living abroad so that you can help the economy by sending dollars.

After all, you are not living abroad because the standard of living is better, you are making more money than you would in Pakistan, your children will have better education and life security. You are living abroad because of the sole purpose of helping the foreign reserves of the country with your hard earned dollars.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">This is how Pakistani's response when Khan asks them for help. How much they trust their <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PrimeMinisterImranKhan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PrimeMinisterImranKhan</a><br>See,How Dr Imran, regional director and a physician in USA, selling all his properties there and bringing all his wealth in foreign currency to Pakistan<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PMIKAddress?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PMIKAddress</a> <a href="https://t.co/u0WQnNvznF">pic.twitter.com/u0WQnNvznF</a></p>— PTI (@PTIofficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/PTIofficial/status/1031402727035858944?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 20, 2018</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Can you please contact this gentlemen, a doctor in the U.S. who is planning to come back to Pakistan to reverse his decision? I hope you will be able to convince him in joining your noble cause of living abroad in order to help the country by sending dollars to Pakistan.

By coming back to Pakistan and joining other U.S. qualified doctors like me, he will be contributing far less to the country than overseas Pakistanis like you who can help us clear our debt with the dollars that you send back to the country.

You can call me Reham Khan of PP or whatever you want. In my time on PP, I have been called worse and better things.

Can you please explain why he didn't shed any light on the lavish lifestyles of the military elite? He talked about our bureaucracy and our politicians, but what stopped him from talking about the military elite who are also living beyond their means?

Is he afraid, or did he conveniently forgot to pen them down?

Why didn't he say a word on terrorism and extremism, which are amongst the biggest problems the country is facing today?

He lost his own candidate in the election campaign due to terrorism, but not a word on that?

Why didn't he comment on the issues that put our military establishment in bad light?

Mr. Reham khan give IK a break. He already spoke about terorism after his election victory speech. He can’t apeak about each and every thing in his every single speech. You guys just know one thing and that is blind criticism. Please stop with all this nonsense negativity.

He lost his own candidate in the election campaign due to terrorism, but not a word on that?

Maybe you missed it, but I'm pretty sure he talked about terrorism and the implementation of the national action plan towards the end of his speech.

My point is that he didn't emphasize much when it should have been the central part of his speech. It is the biggest problem plaguing the country but he left the main part of his speech to talk about the 580 servants that Nawaz had at his disposal along with a hundreds of servants.

Terrorism and extremism should have been discussed in a lot more depth instead of some soundbites for 30 seconds in the end. He didn't mention the worker who died at the hands of terrorism, but he did talk about the members who lost their lives due to natural causes.

Yet another perennial skeptic of Imran Khan's very capacity to breathe who somehow freezes his innate distrust of the man to acknowledge the quality of the speech :

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Empathetic address by <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ImranKhanPTI</a>. Hit the right notes. A mixture of Ayub’s developmental model and ZABhutto’s populist postures. Hope he hasn’t bitten more than he can chew. But the wish is he’s able to achieve what he has promised. He has my (critical) support. All the best.</p>— Nadeem Farooq Paracha (@NadeemfParacha) <a href="https://twitter.com/NadeemfParacha/status/1031237924183068672?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 19, 2018</a></blockquote>

Mr. Reham khan give IK a break. He already spoke about terorism after his election victory speech. He can’t apeak about each and every thing in his every single speech. You guys just know one thing and that is blind criticism. Please stop with all this nonsense negativity.

Terrorism is not each and everything. It is the biggest problem that the country is facing right now and eradicating it is the biggest challenge.

Furthermore, it is a lot more relevant topic to discuss than the number of cars and servants that PM Nawaz had. He should have talked about these issues in more detail instead of giving himself brush and tooting his horn that he will live in a 3 bedroom house with two servants and two cars.

Living in a small house with no luxury will not help the country as long as we continue to fail to counter terrorism and extremism. They are bigger and more pertinent issues, and not "each and every thing".

It is not a coincidence that he avoided - or didn't give air time - to topics that put the military elite (who helped him win the election) in bad light.

There is way too much hate for the speech and the man. People need to give him time and a chance after all he has not been in power before neither has been in politics for decades like PPP and PMLN.

So the military have finally put in a man who can actually speak.
I think we should all be applauding the military.

Thank you &#55357;&#56911;

On a serious note.
It was an excellent speach and exactly what I expected.

The speech was not a seminal moment, it did not have the passion or jingoistic nuance of someone like Kennedy or Churchill...but that also means it was not merely a collection of beautiful words, it was rather a framework upon which a better country, if not necessarily a new one, can be built. We did not get much by way of details but the overall idea is clear and concise, a socialist reform of Pakistan's economy, agriculture, education and policing. If Khan can even deliver a fraction of this in the next 5 years, it would be a huge step forward.

It was a great speech. I have been waiting for a long time to ehar a speech like that.

so heres my brief analysis:

Pro's:

He kept on message. Austerity, looking after the poor, revitalising and reforming institutions, his highlighting the plight of widows was excellent, swift justice, and revitalising education and health. We have finally got a govt that will look to implement a national health insurance plan which is long overdue. If they even manage a quarter of what he has promised it will put pakistan down a totally different road. I like his emphasis on our core values of social justice and social democracy Like the sahifa of Medina.

Cons

The immediate economic situation. how will they deal with this? its all well and good asking OVP's to invest but that takes time, what are we to do now. In the immediate short term. Hopefully Asad Umar can highlight these in more detail. Also reforms in kaachi will be a massive challenge. How will the PTI work with the PPP to ensure Sindh is not left out?

Overall a great speech and I'm looking forward to ehar detailed presentations and press conferences from Asad umar and co. Also want to see how they do what they promised..

Last half of Karachi Jalsa Speech and now this address to nation. Honestly, I Can't pick which one is better.

You can call me Reham Khan of PP or whatever you want. In my time on PP, I have been called worse and better things.

Can you please explain why he didn't shed any light on the lavish lifestyles of the military elite? He talked about our bureaucracy and our politicians, but what stopped him from talking about the military elite who are also living beyond their means?

Why didn't he say a word on terrorism and extremism, which are amongst the biggest problems the country is facing today?

Why didn't he comment on the issues that put our military establishment in bad light?
Do you want another martial law?

Majority of Pakistani do not care or have anything bad to say about Pakistan's military, what they care about, IK had spoken about.

Is he afraid to say anything against Military? If he was he wouldn't have spent time in jail during Mushy era of rule.

I called you Reham Khan because for the reaction and attention you crave for on PP. Just wanted to make that clear, I do not know what you look like.

Who makes this stuff :)))

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">The best meme out there right now <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PMIKAddress?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PMIKAddress</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Pakistan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Pakistan</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ImranKhan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ImranKhan</a> <a href="https://t.co/NRIBRTUcLj">pic.twitter.com/NRIBRTUcLj</a></p>— Asfandyar Bhittani (@BhittaniKhannnn) <a href="https://twitter.com/BhittaniKhannnn/status/1031492953448099845?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 20, 2018</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Terrorism is not each and everything. It is the biggest problem that the country is facing right now and eradicating it is the biggest challenge.

Furthermore, it is a lot more relevant topic to discuss than the number of cars and servants that PM Nawaz had. He should have talked about these issues in more detail instead of giving himself brush and tooting his horn that he will live in a 3 bedroom house with two servants and two cars.

Living in a small house with no luxury will not help the country as long as we continue to fail to counter terrorism and extremism. They are bigger and more pertinent issues, and not "each and every thing".

It is not a coincidence that he avoided - or didn't give air time - to topics that put the military elite (who helped him win the election) in bad light.

Can you make up your mind did military stop him from getting absolute majority ie RDS like you were saying in the election thread or did they bring him to power. Can't really argue with someone that plays both sides.
Let us assume military controls everything only an idiot would take them on as soon as he gets into power. You need to build your base and support in the pubilc first consolidate your power before going after them. Austerity by the ruling politicians actually gives them a base to say why generals etc are living so lavishly. Something no one of the ppp or pmln could honestly ask after all the corruption they have done and the way they live.

He talked about the national action plan. Do you know what that is about?

Can you make up your mind did military stop him from getting absolute majority ie RDS like you were saying in the election thread or did they bring him to power. Can't really argue with someone that plays both sides.
Let us assume military controls everything only an idiot would take them on as soon as he gets into power. You need to build your base and support in the pubilc first consolidate your power before going after them. Austerity by the ruling politicians actually gives them a base to say why generals etc are living so lavishly. Something no one of the ppp or pmln could honestly ask after all the corruption they have done and the way they live.

The military wants a federal government that obeys them. Sharif, Imran, Zardari etc. are nothing but pawns.

When Sharif stopped dancing to their tunes, he was sent packing.

The ideal situation for the military was a hung parliament because it weakens the government.

PTI did better than what even they anticipated, and were on their way to achieving sweeping majority. However, as soon as they reached 124 seats, the system conveniently crashed.

By the time everything was fixed, the number of seats were reduced, and PTI were forced to get into bed with MQM, even though, PTI social media workers were doing bhangra on Facebook and Twitter only a few hours ago that the country is finally free of MQM, and now they have been given two ministries.

The military got what they wanted. Imran is PM by only 4 votes now, and his position is weak. Other parties are in a position to blackmail the government if they don’t agree with certain bills, which means chaos, and political chaos is what the military wants.

He talked about the national action plan. Do you know what that is about?

The central theme of his speech was not NAP but austerity and showbaazi, as well as “ghabrana nahi hai” type sensationalist statements that have sent the gullible nation into a frenzy.

He didn’t focus on terrorism and extremism in depth, and he didn’t comment on the lavish lifestyle of the military elite which is far and beyond compared to civil elite.

The central theme of his speech was not NAP but austerity and showbaazi, as well as “ghabrana nahi hai” type sensationalist statements that have sent the gullible nation into a frenzy.

Get your facts right, "Ghabrana Nahi Hai" is a motivational statement for the targeted public by a leader. Learn the subject of psychology, it might probably get you out of this pessimist mindset.

I know what it I was, and it was hot air. These type of statements don’t suit a leader, but they resonate well with our people. They are doing bhangra on social media and have made it a hashtag, which simply shows how gullible our audience is.

On a side note, had Nawaz or any other PM failed to mention Kashmir in his maiden speech, he would have been dubbed as “Modi ka yaar”.

Some people are still crying over that epic speech :))

bunda chota ho leken kabhi itna chota na ho

Heard IK is going to the UN with just 4 people. My word is he taking this Austerity thing seriously

Anyone see that pic of IK walking with his secretary or some kind of PM's helper and IK is holding a whole stack of papers and files while the guy next to him is empty handed. This guy is an angel.

IK didn't look comfortable in that guard of honour when arriving at PM House. Had that classic Imran sheepish grin on his face.

It's strange given his reputation as a captain and political leader but he's an introvert at heart.

I know what it I was, and it was hot air. These type of statements don’t suit a leader, but they resonate well with our people. They are doing bhangra on social media and have made it a hashtag, which simply shows how gullible our audience is.

On a side note, had Nawaz or any other PM failed to mention Kashmir in his maiden speech, he would have been dubbed as “Modi ka yaar”.

Your highness doesn't even has the capacity of giving even 1% of Imran Khan's speech, as only a true leader knows the positive effects of motivatation and feels for the nation.

Those with the agenda of dynastic politics only think about their personal gains and family business while leading a nation towards disasterous economy.

Haters keep on hating.

What do you expect? May he should have sung the magic formula to destroy terrorism / extremism, during the speech, once for all? :yk

LOLz.

He wants kids to go to school, make the poor part of society instead of alienating them. That's one way to end ignorance and all the toxicity it brings, including terrorism / extremism.

Meanwhile, prepare yourselves corrupt patwario. Qaum ka loota hua maal wapis do :ik

Heard IK is going to the UN with just 4 people. My word is he taking this Austerity thing seriously

Wait what... none of that entourage and the hundreds of journalists flying on state expense?

I miss Nawazo where is the pomp and grandeur :ssmith

Wait what... none of that entourage and the hundreds of journalists flying on state expense?

I miss Nawazo where is the pomp and grandeur :ssmith

He's turned our country into a Tanga party. What about keeping up appearances? What about keeping up with the Joneses? The world's gonna think we're broke. They're gonna laugh at us. The cool kids aren't gonna wanna hang out with us.

It'll even out though, at least for once our leader will look in shape, have a full head of hair and be easy on the eye.

I have come up with a proposition and I hope you will comment on it. How about all of us Pakistanis, who are qualified and educated, move out of Pakistan and find jobs in the West so that they we can also join you in your noble cause of sending back dollars and sterling to Pakistan.

Really? Are you a little kid? A doctor would NEVER respond in such a manner. Another troll attempt to swing the issue like a pendulum which is expected from you. We were not discussing whether people in Pakistan are contributing to its society or not - Of course many are. The issue was that you denoted that overseas Pakistanis are only good for nothing. Again, this was your statement: I voted for PTI because I am not sitting in Canada like you, and I was eligible to vote unlike you. Your “support” is limited to the Internet and social media including these forums.

Now tell me again, why do you think that overseas Pakistanis have NO contribution in development of Pakistan if you were not trolling?

We should only leave behind unskilled workers in Pakistan, while the skilled workers should move abroad and send back dollars. This will ensure that our foreign reserves will boost up and we can use it to clear our debt.

Again spouting without a thought process. No one is asking anyone to leave - however there is no denying that much of the skilled class has ALREADY left the country forced to work overseas since "hadharams" through nepotism have occupied their slots which is largely for feudal culture and patwaris are no different.

Do you think this will work? Why or why not? As a doctor who was born and brought up in Pakistan and someone who plans to work in Pakistan in the long-term, I am greatly inspired by your noble cause of living abroad so that you can help the economy by sending dollars.

LOL epic self glorification! My family is full of doctors which is a NOBLE cause and you may serve the humanity anywhere you like. Mind you, get yourself prepared well cause if you plan to come to USA, Pakistan doctors are dime a dozen who could not pass the tests here and ended up working as a tech somewhere and I personally know one who was bagging in a store.

After all, you are not living abroad because the standard of living is better, you are making more money than you would in Pakistan, your children will have better education and life security. You are living abroad because of the sole purpose of helping the foreign reserves of the country with your hard earned dollars.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">This is how Pakistani's response when Khan asks them for help. How much they trust their <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PrimeMinisterImranKhan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PrimeMinisterImranKhan</a><br>See,How Dr Imran, regional director and a physician in USA, selling all his properties there and bringing all his wealth in foreign currency to Pakistan<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PMIKAddress?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PMIKAddress</a> <a href="https://t.co/u0WQnNvznF">pic.twitter.com/u0WQnNvznF</a></p>— PTI (@PTIofficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/PTIofficial/status/1031402727035858944?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 20, 2018</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Can you please contact this gentlemen, a doctor in the U.S. who is planning to come back to Pakistan to reverse his decision? I hope you will be able to convince him in joining your noble cause of living abroad in order to help the country by sending dollars to Pakistan.

By coming back to Pakistan and joining other U.S. qualified doctors like me, he will be contributing far less to the country than overseas Pakistanis like you who can help us clear our debt with the dollars that you send back to the country.

TROLLING AGAIN. I have spent more the 25 years of my life in USA. I am well settled and my family is happy. Yes, I am used to of the culture and the system so it aint happening. Why don't you contact the doc and get yourself a chance to work. He might be able to give you some tips to pass the exams and get settled here if you wish.

PM Imran Khan reminds nation of the real meaning of sacrifice in Eid message

Top Pakistani sportsmen from Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa have called upon the administration of Prime Minister Imran Khan to pursue ‘sports diplomacy’ with India and Afghanistan in an effort to reset fractured ties between the two hyphenated neighbours. They have also offered to play a role in this regard, if asked by the government.

Cricket stars Shahid Afridi and Younis Khan, squash legend Jahangir Khan and popular Pashto pop singer Rahim Shah said this in a recent group interview with Rahman Bunairee of Deewa Radio, the Pashto service of Voice of America (VOA). “This is the age of sports, not of war and conflict.”

“I’ve played with cricketers from Afghanistan. I’ve very good relations with them,” former Pakistani skipper Younis Khan said. “Cricket diplomacy is very important,” he added. “Prime Minister Imran Khan should use our contacts [for promoting ties with Afghanistan].”

Relationship between Pakistan and Afghanistan has been plagued by mistrust and mutual recrimination. Last week, Afghan officials blamed Pakistan of helping the Taliban in their recent offensive in Ghanzi, an allegation vehemently denied by Islamabad.

India’s cricketer-turned-politician Novjot Singh Sidhu visited Pakistan for the swearing-in ceremony of Premier Khan where he called for the two countries to bury their bitter past and look to the future.

“Sidhu has said this now, while I’ve been saying this since long that cricket has the potential to bring Pakistan and India closer,” Afridi told Deewa Radio.

Jahangir Khan said that politics should never affect sports. “Sports should never become a casualty in political confrontation,” said the legendary squash player.

“Like other sports, Imran Khan should also take concrete steps for the revival of squash in Pakistan,” Jahangir said. “Like cricket and hockey, Pakistan has ruled the world of squash for more than a decade.”

On his part, singer Rahim Shah said he has been singing for bringing the people of Pakistan and Afghanistan closer. “Peace is my mission and I’ll continue to pursue my mission,” he said.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/1785428/1-pm-urged-pursue-sports-diplomacy-india-afghanistan/

Screen Shot 2018-08-22 at 11.34.08 PM.jpg

I guess for some in this thread they are still on the first stage...long way to go to get to acceptance, but you will get there.

He didn’t focus on terrorism and extremism in depth, and he didn’t comment on the lavish lifestyle of the military elite which is far and beyond compared to civil elite.

I think, he deliberately avoided both topics.

Kashmir & Army are two issues that had been milked so much in past, that probably he decided not to spoil the party with statements that can be elaborated both way. There are enough spoilers to derail the theme on a topic, for which I doubt any one has a ready made solution. If he used Kashmir, may be critics would have accused him running cheap millage on what is India's internal issue :) And, surely, PAK Army won't have court marshaled him, for two cents extra popularity on his first speech.

It was extremely wise for him not to touch the terrorism issue - a burning fact that every Pakistani (& every human that can recognize PAK) are well aware off. Actually, he could have used that for his own agenda - it was "profitable" for him to shred PPP & PML-N on terrorism with reference to 3/9 and the APS shooting, as he is in better position - those two blocks were in charge then. But, hind side is - that exposes PAK as well; you don't remind people of the dark, when they are already scared just at dusk.

He has talked about PAK's global image, about tourism, about investment, about HD Index - precondition to succeed in those are improvement in Law & Order situation, probably it's not required for a PM to spell it out in front of global media - that speech was followed live or delayed by at least 1 billion educated people of world, I believe more. On top of that, he has kept Homeland Security (Interior) Ministry under him, has shared detailed plans on Police/Law enforcement agency reforms - therefore I am sure AT action is one of his top most priority, just wisely decided not to admit that TERRORISM IS A BIG ISSUE IN PAK.

What IK'll achieve, only time will tell, but that speech was a fantastic one, hardly could have been better. Donald Trump of PAK, may be, I don't know - but remember, Donny boy did become POTUS from peoples mandate - you have to honor it, that's democratic spirit. And, that naughty guy can talk - if possible, watch the series on DT at Netflix - you can love him, hate him, but you won't be able to ignore him; he'll make you stop and turn back on shoulders to listen.

It was a fantastic speech Mamoon - without any stake, I heard it twice!!!!

Dr Shireen Mazari is part of his inner circle... we don't need to worry about Kashmir being put on back burner.

In any case, Kashmir will only be solved one way or another when Pakistan is strong. Either through the war that will end all wars or negotiated settlement.

Uninformed people saying he didn't talk about terrorism :))

Do they even know what the National Action Plan is and what it is for? IK specifically talked about it in his speech.

I have to say I'm always surprised to find out how a lot of international people know about Imran Khan

Was talking to an Aussie girl and an American guy yesterday and both knew of him. The American is into global politics so understandable but I was surprised with the other one

I have to say I'm always surprised to find out how a lot of international people know about Imran Khan

Was talking to an Aussie girl and an American guy yesterday and both knew of him. The American is into global politics so understandable but I was surprised with the other one

My Filipino friend walked upto me asked who is Imran Khan because he has been hearing about him quite a lot recently. Never had a Pakistani leader have such widespread reach or recognition.

Cricket is the obvious connection. Especially winning the world cup in australia!

Honestly I don't think that is the major reason. We're mid 20s so his last game was almost when we were born and she could hardly name more than 5 current Aussie cricketers.

Regardless from optics and image point of view IK is a massive massive upgrade on NS and Zardari

I don't think I know a single person here who hasn't heard of Imran Khan.

The '92 World Cup semi-final gave the Pakistan team a lot of respect in New Zealand, and Imran Khan is pretty much a household name in households that are even remotely interested in cricket. Despite the negativity from NZ media over Imran Khan's "army backing", from what I see, people here are happy to see Imran as PM. It is just great to finally have a PM that Pakistanis can be proud of.