In good faith, what can BCCI do to amend brotherly relations with Pakistan and Bangladesh?

We won’t select Pakistani players in IPL.
(Fair enough, your league your rules).

We will not tour Pakistan!
(Fair enough your choice)

We will come to Pakistan if they tour us for an ODI and T20 series. We did, annihilated them at there home ground. NOW WE WILL NOT TOUR PAKISTAN!
(Chalo, okay, kher hogaye)

We will only play in Pakistan in ICC events if they visit India for the World Cup. Agaye bhai, abb app bhi ajayen Champions trophy kay liye.
(NO WE WONT TOUR PAKISTAN! DESH SEY MUHABBAT! HUM Neutral venue pey khelengay)

Chalain okay, neutral venue hogya boss.
(HAATH NAHI MILAINGAY)!
Hain? Chalo theek hai bhai naa millaou

We won’t accept trophy from the Chairman of ACC cause he’s Pakistani.
(Kaafi zyada nahi ho raha abb?)

When you start politicising cricket, then why are you so surprised when we give it back to you. The utter hypocrisy of doing all of the above but still playing us at ICC events for the money shows the kind of greed BCCI shows.

If you had an ounce of respect for your so called patriotism, you would’ve done what we did a long time back.

You’re not pissed at Pakistan for boycotting, you’re pissed because your right wing nationalism is confined to Bollywood movies rather than practical implementation.

- Found on Muh k kitab

The BCCI is currently busy trying to convince, and reportedly threaten, Pakistan to reverse its decision on the India–Pakistan match. This is because it is the only fixture that generates significant revenue for both the ICC and the BCCI. Without this game, cricket’s already fragile financial structure and declining relevance become even more exposed.

BCCI stands most to lose as its these types of fixtures that generated the craze and sponsorship money that made them the financial power they currently are. So one way or the other they are trying to minimize the damage and trying to atleast get Pakistan to play anyway.

BCCI revenue comes from IPL so icc os affected not BCCI, icc may need Pakistan not BCCI

We will come to Pakistan if they tour us for an ODI and T20 series. We did, annihilated them at there home ground. NOW WE WILL NOT TOUR PAKISTAN!

We will only play in Pakistan in ICC events if they visit India for the World Cup. Agaye bhai, abb app bhi ajayen Champions trophy kay liye.

(HAATH NAHI MILAINGAY)!

When you start politicising cricket, then why are you so surprised when we give it back to you. The utter hypocrisy of doing all of the above but still playing us at ICC events for the money shows the kind of greed BCCI shows.

If you had an ounce of respect for your so called patriotism, you would’ve done what we did a long time back.

You’re not pissed at Pakistan for boycotting, you’re pissed because your right wing nationalism is confined to Bollywood movies rather than practical implementation.

- Found on Muh k kitab

You realise that this boycott affects icc an not BCCI, no one is pissed

(HAATH NAHI MILAINGAY)!

- Found on Muh k kitab

Reading this makes me realise we overdid it dear.

BCCI revenue comes from IPL so icc os affected not BCCI, icc may need Pakistan not BCCI
Both ICC and BCCI lose more than Pakistan. BCCI maybe able to absorb the losses better but in pure numbers term they lose more

I’m hoping Pakistan backtrack from their India match boycott. They dug themselves into a hole there making it a point of pride where it didn’t exist. You had already been even with India with a mutual agreement that both countries will play at a neutral venue, so this makes no sense at this time.

The long term repercussions will not just be monetary - which will be huge for Pakistan (don’t believe for one second that ICC will just let it pass or they have no option but to accept, that’s too naive). It will also result in poor relationships with other boards that Pakistan screwed in the process. In the absence of India Pakistan matches, the world monetary structure will realign and while the rich boards will get by just fine, the smaller boards will feel the pain. Pakistan will be financially hurt, and to become a poor board in a poor country where the Government has naturally higher priorities than to support PCB, it will be detrimental to the development of the game in Pakistan.

When some sane people really think deeper about it - unlike the jingoistic type pro-boycott fans and pseudo stakeholders that abound on PP in droves who really have nothing to lose personally - they will rightly back off from this threat - not for the good of the world, but for their own good.

Both ICC and BCCI lose more than Pakistan. BCCI maybe able to absorb the losses better but in pure numbers term they lose more

ICC losses they give less share to members or don’t pay pcBCCI carries on, what will pcb do?

Senior sports journalist Waheed Khan in his vlog after extensive discussions with senior ICC past and present officials, PCB and some sources in the BCCI, is concluding that the PCB's current show down with the ICC and BCCI has nothing to do with Bangladesh but instead has everything to do with a long standing resentment in the PCB that they are being grotesquely underpaid by the ICC especially given the massive value of the Indo Pak matches to the ICC coffers and to the other ICC member countries and therefore PCB should rightfully be placed at number 2 on the ICC table with 18-20% of the revenues especially since India does not play Pakistan billaterally.

Mohsin Naqvi is holding the ICC by its balls and is gambling that the PCB while striking when the Iron is hot will be able to make the ICC, BCCI and other ICC member states agree to their demands

I’m hoping Pakistan backtrack from their India match boycott. They dug themselves into a hole there making it a point of pride where it didn’t exist. You had already been even with India with a mutual agreement that both countries will play at a neutral venue, so this makes no sense at this time.
I’m hoping they don’t. I genuinely want to see what happens now because I think Indian Propaganda is all bull$hit

Let’s see what happens.

The long term repercussions will not just be monetary - which will be huge for Pakistan (don’t believe for one second that ICC will just let it pass or they have no option but to accept, that’s too naive). It will also result in poor relationships with other boards that Pakistan screwed in the process. In the absence of India Pakistan matches, the world monetary structure will realign and while the rich boards will get by just fine, the smaller boards will feel the pain. Pakistan will be financially hurt, and to become a poor board in a poor country where the Government has naturally higher priorities than to support PCB, it will be detrimental to the development of the game in Pakistan.
When some sane people really think deeper about it - unlike the jingoistic type pro-boycott fans and pseudo stakeholders that abound on PP in droves who really have nothing to lose personally - they will rightly back off from this threat - not for the good of the world, but for their own good.
To be quite honest, India is has a greater responsibility to bear for the poor relationship than Pakistan. You can't pull the kind of stunt they pulled during the Asia Cup and expect the other side to just take it. Any self-respecting team would be massively disrespected by that. I don't support PCB's decision to boycott the match or show the finger to India, but at the same time, we shouldn't act like PCB is solely to blame for the poor relationship or how things came to this point. India's M.O has been to blackball & disrespect Pakistan every chance they get, politicizing this match, while at the same time benefitting financially by playing them in ICC tournaments/Asia Cups. You can't have your cake and eat it too. As far as punishing Pakistan is concerned, I'm not sure how much India can punish Pakistan unless they pursue some kind of illegal methods. The Force Majeure clause in the ICC rules has very specific edict about government decisions, but also has enough grey area where you would have to stretch the bounds of interpretation to really punish Pakistan.

India should decide if they are actually interested in acting in good faith and letting cricket be cricket, or if they are more interested in using cricket as a tool of statecraft to project power. Because if they continue doing that, it will only cause more problems/annoyances for them and affect their bottom-line, most of all.

I’m hoping they don’t. I genuinely want to see what happens now because I think Indian Propaganda is all bull$hit

Let’s see what happens.
Sure, then hurt India alone, why hurt the other boards, and yourself too in the process? Pulling such stunts at the last moment won’t buy Pakistan any meaningful supporters. They should have told ICC in advance that they don’t want to play India. I’m sure this could have been done in a much better way.

It’s a bizarre take given Paks boycott of 1980 Olympics, the babri masjid abandonment of tours in the 1990’s and avoiding South Africa during apartheid

It depends on the nature of the competition imo. If it's a national team competition, they're obviously coming as amabassadors and representatives of their country so political relations between the two countries matter especially when it involves wars and terrorism. International sport is an expression of good will among the countries involved.

But if you're competing as individuals, I don't see the logic in bans or boycotts. Like when Wimbledon banned a couple of Russian players from competing due to the Ukraine invasion. That was odd.

Mohsin Naqvi is holding the ICC by its balls and is gambling that the PCB while striking when the Iron is hot will be able to make the ICC, BCCI and other ICC member states agree to their demands

This Naqvi chap must be really powerful if he could do all that.

Haha...they won't ever

They’re even travelling to Colombo like absolute luloos.
Practising there, getting familiar with the conditions — like proper luloos.
Then they turn up on match day, ready for the toss, still looking like luloos.

And guess what?
Pakistan doesn’t even show up.

Honestly, I don’t know what could be more humiliating than preparing for a match that never happens because the other team couldn’t be bothered to turn up.

People done seem to be answering seriously, so at least let me be serious.

BCCI should accept Islam, surrender Kashmir and allow Abhishek Sharma to open for Pakistan.

PCB should settle for nothing less.

Senior sports journalist Waheed Khan in his vlog after extensive discussions with senior ICC past and present officials, PCB and some sources in the BCCI, is concluding that the PCB's current show down with the ICC and BCCI has nothing to do with Bangladesh but instead has everything to do with a long standing resentment in the PCB that they are being grotesquely underpaid by the ICC especially given the massive value of the Indo Pak matches to the ICC coffers and to the other ICC member countries and therefore PCB should rightfully be placed at number 2 on the ICC table with 18-20% of the revenues especially since India does not play Pakistan billaterally.

That isn’t a high risk gamble as much as complete satta the man is playing - and he’s playing against the house.

You seriously think that he will be allowed to get 18-20 per cent of revenues of ICC, while other member states will agree?

For a second let’s think this through logically? What can PCB do if Naqvi’s demands / threats aren’t considered?

What power does he have this situation?

What’s the impact on the global cricket economy if Pakistan withdraws? What happens to Pakistan’s revenue inflows?

Some Pakistani forumers have said they don’t care. But that’s not relevant here in the context of the OP.

And guess what?

Honestly, I don’t know what could be more humiliating than preparing for a match that never happens because the other team couldn’t be bothered to turn up.
Just because you are dumb enough to not understand ICC rules doesn't mean everyone else is.

ICC rules states that the other team needs to be present for all of the above till the toss even if the other team forfeits.

But then again people who live under military rule their entire life cannot understand how normal process works and how people follow normal laws and rules.

What is funny is people like you parading your ignorance for the entire world to see.

Dumb. Dumb. Dumb.

And guess what?

You think this is humiliation, a team going about its business, ready for all eventualities? And that in some way PCB has an upper hand? Then I doubt the quality of this teenage level debate will ever extend to logical inferences.

Also these are clear guidelines according to ICC rules. Till the toss the other team needs to follow all guidelines and everything agreed as before. Only when the forfeiting team doesn't show up at the toss, is the match declared forfeit.

You cannot sit at home and declare forfeit. Just because their team and board is unprofessional doesn't mean the entire world is unprofessional.

All these threads and posts end
up showing, is how dumb and ignorant some so called cricket fans are.

This Naqvi chap must be really powerful if he could do all that.

this is the same guy who forced BCCI on their knees and got them to agree to a hybrid for WC26

prior to that we visited you in 2023 but you don't want to visit us.

so now we don't want to play you at all.

Unless you’re going to turn up like men on the cricket field and not do hijra type of stunts like no handshakes business or hiding during trophy presentations because its a Pakistani that's going to present it.

this is the same guy who forced BCCI on their knees and got them to agree to a hybrid for WC26

prior to that we visited you in 2023 but you don't want to visit us.

so now we don't want to play you at all.

Unless you’re going to turn up like men on the cricket field and not do hijra type of stunts like no handshakes business or hiding during trophy presentations because its a Pakistani that's going to present it.
There is a saying - never give respect to donkeys, they will not appreciate it and will consider it your weakness.

India was gracious enough to agree to Pakistan's demand but you are considering it our weakness.

You cry if you get your way and you cry if you don't get your way. You cry if we reject your demands and now are crying because we accepted your demands.

You are literally juvenile cry babies crying at anything.

And no one is going to miss if you don't play, not even your new best friend Bangladesh.

All you will learn is your true aukat in world cricket. Just wait and watch.

Just because you are dumb enough to not understand ICC rules doesn't mean everyone else is.

ICC rules states that the other team needs to be present for all of the above till the toss even if the other team forfeits.

But then again people who live under military rule their entire life cannot understand how normal process works and how people follow normal laws and rules.

What is funny is people like you parading your ignorance for the entire world to see.

Dumb. Dumb. Dumb.

are the 2 points worth more than your pahalgam victims? yes? no?

BCCI making the mistake that PTI did i.e. thinking Mohsin Naqvi is a simple ordinary man based on his simple body language but the guy is a shatir go getting individual who knows how to get things done, this is a guy who has wined, dined with the US President, Arab Monarchs, EU Heads of States, Ambassadador, COAS and he is the mastermind behind the persecution of the PTI and turning international forces against the PTI and Imran Khan i.e. US legislators and Trump Administration officials.

are the 2 points worth more than your pahalgam victims? yes? no?

That's for the victims to decide, not the terrorists.

It's the first time I have heard terrorists lecturing victims on how to protest .

Next the thief will lecture the victims in how to file police complaint.

The murderer will lecture victims family on how to protest.

Satan will tell the priest how to pray.

It's only and only for the victims to decide how to protest, terrorists and their sympathizers have no say in it.

There is a saying - never give respect to donkeys, they will not appreciate it and will consider it your weakness.

India was gracious enough to agree to Pakistan's demand but you are considering it our weakness.

And no one is going to miss if you don't play, not even your new best friend Bangladesh.

All you will learn is your true aukat in world cricket. Just wait and watch.

this is why we stop giving respect to Indian donkeys and showed them the middle finger and told them stright we are not playing you.

your Indian broadcasters and the Indian ICC chairman is already missing us and having sleepless nights.

your aukhat is shown when Jay shah is running around asking people to intervene and make Pakistan agree to play on 15th February.

BCCI making the mistake that PTI did i.e. thinking Mohsin Naqvi is a simple ordinary man based on his simple body language but the guy is a shatir go getting individual who knows how to get things done, this is a guy who has wined, dined with the US President, Arab Monarchs, EU Heads of States, Ambassadador, COAS and he is the mastermind behind the persecution of the PTI and turning international forces against the PTI and Imran Khan i.e. US legislators and Trump Administration officials.
I dunno man, I see no good coming out of this for Pakistan or Pakistani cricket. Naqvi has over reached himself while not having a great deck of cards.

Maximum I can see is him being able to generate sympathy among the Pakistani voting public, where they can act victim and feel persecuted and he is hoping the people unite to vote his party, for this issue, but it cannot be good for Pakistan cricket in any form.

this is why we stop giving respect to Indian donkeys and showed them the middle finger and told them stright we are not playing you.

your Indian broadcasters and the Indian ICC chairman is already missing us and having sleepless nights.

your aukhat is shown when Jay shah is running around asking people to intervene and make Pakistan agree to play on 15th February.
So you are back to lying through your teeth and making up fantasies.

Here's the deal, if you want people to take you seriously, including other Pakistanis, you just need to stop lying dude.

You lie more than you breathe.

So you are back to lying through your teeth and making up fantasies.

Here's the deal, if you want people to take you seriously, including other Pakistanis, you just need to stop lying dude.

You lie more than you breathe.

point out where I lied? I will show you evidence and then after that you apologise to me for calling me a liar?

in big bold text?

I dunno man, I see no good coming out of this for Pakistan or Pakistani cricket. Naqvi has over reached himself while not having a great deck of cards.

Maximum I can see is him being able to generate sympathy among the Pakistani voting public, where they can act victim and feel persecuted and he is hoping the people unite to vote his party, for this issue, but it cannot be good for Pakistan cricket in any form.
Dude you are so ignorant it’s not even funny, Mohsin Naqvi doesn’t have a party.

Do you even know who he is?

:yk

Seriously, how old are you? In your teens I think?

Dude you are so ignorant it’s not even funny, Mohsin Naqvi doesn’t have a party.

Do you even know who he is?

:yk

Seriously, how old are you? In your teens I think?

i think he still wears diapers before he goes to sleep you can tell by his name sachin fan :D

So is that the official reason for boycott ? Yer tiny feelings got hurt for not shaking hands aww :therethere

I agree that whole incident was pathetic btw. I said so at the time. SKY was being a real dhik. However .. boycotting an entire match in reply is bizarre. Y'all have no sense of proportion.

So is that the official reason for boycott ? Yer tiny feelings got hurt for not shaking hands aww :therethere

I agree that whole incident was pathetic btw. I said so at the time. SKY was being a real dhik. However .. boycotting an entire match in reply is bizarre. Y'all have no sense of proportion.

if you don't want to shake hand because of "pahlgham" victims why you played the whole game in the first place
so what was that dramaybaazi? is it BCCI didn't have the courage to boycott Pakistan or were they chasing money over the dead bodies of the pahalgam victims??

do you think those Hindus in their ganga river would be pleased with team India? that you played the whole game and just didn't shake hands :confused:

and then you complain about Pakistan bringing politics to cricket.

BCCI should give a statement that they apologize for decision to omit Bangladesh from world cup , they now will take Bangladesh back, apologize for not accepting Asia cup from Naqvi, apologize for playing Asia cup in UAE and swear that they will give equity to all boards from now on .

Let ICC become ICC instead of remaining BCCICC. That can solve a lot of the problems. :inti

Also, don't mix politics with sports.

Acknowledge that all dramas were started by India and go from there.

India preparing to play Pakistan even now isn’t a sign of weakness. And you aren’t going to see many concessions, if any.

But on the flip side the Indians’ refusal to shake hands, the treatment of Naqvi, the expulsion of Fizz was arrogant behaviour, and to me cannot be justified under any circumstances whatsoever.

It’s not something one can fairly deny and speaks to a meanness of spirit.

You can disagree with, even make fun of, the way in which BCB and PCB have reacted. But you can’t say that they are angry without reason.

India preparing to play Pakistan even now isn’t a sign of weakness. And you aren’t going to see many concessions, if any.

But on the flip side the Indians’ refusal to shake hands, the treatment of Naqvi, the expulsion of Fizz was arrogant behaviour, and to me cannot be justified under any circumstances whatsoever.

You can disagree with, even make fun of, the way in which BCB and PCB have reacted. But you can’t say that they are angry without reason.

Indeed it is. India have the head start and absolutely nothing to lose.
Them not turning up won’t make the ICC take any action against them, yet they still lack the courage.

India is a whoosey country

Indeed it is. India have the head start and absolutely nothing to lose.
Them not turning up won’t make the ICC take any action against them, yet they still lack the courage.

India is a whoosey country

You’re confusing purpose and strategy- prepping to play - with a useless course of action (not turning up) that has no meaning, no purpose and concedes tactical advantage to the opposition.

How’s that courage in any sense of the word? Foolish maybe.

To be quite honest, India is has a greater responsibility to bear for the poor relationship than Pakistan. You can't pull the kind of stunt they pulled during the Asia Cup and expect the other side to just take it. Any self-respecting team would be massively disrespected by that. I don't support PCB's decision to boycott the match or show the finger to India, but at the same time, we shouldn't act like PCB is solely to blame for the poor relationship or how things came to this point. India's M.O has been to blackball & disrespect Pakistan every chance they get, politicizing this match, while at the same time benefitting financially by playing them in ICC tournaments/Asia Cups. You can't have your cake and eat it too. As far as punishing Pakistan is concerned, I'm not sure how much India can punish Pakistan unless they pursue some kind of illegal methods. The Force Majeure clause in the ICC rules has very specific edict about government decisions, but also has enough grey area where you would have to stretch the bounds of interpretation to really punish Pakistan.

India should decide if they are actually interested in acting in good faith and letting cricket be cricket, or if they are more interested in using cricket as a tool of statecraft to project power. Because if they continue doing that, it will only cause more problems/annoyances for them and affect their bottom-line, most of all.
Let me first say I love reading your posts. They are logical, respectful, and full of good arguments and I like having a good conversation with you, even if we might disagree. Just like Usama, you are someone worth knowing in real life too. Keep it up!!

I agree with you on the handshake fiasco. I can see why they may not want to shake hands with Naqvi given he’s not just a part but a major component of the political structure, but disrespecting fellow cricketers who have nothing to do with terrorism is wrong. I said the same thing when this happened in September. Unfortunately, politics has forever been intertwined with sport, including cricket and that’s how it’ll remain.

As far as politicizing and gaining at the same time is concerned, I believe the Indian position has been to not let Pakistan gain directly from India and therefore no bilaterals. There are other countries that are part of ICC tournaments that also benefit from an India Pakistan match - especially outside of the big three. India is being responsible by meeting its obligations in ICC tournaments, even though Pakistan too indirectly (through ICC share) benefits from it. By boycotting the India game, Pakistan is not helping anyone, most of all itself. They need to put their heads together and come up with some solution that hurts only India and not anybody else. Now Sharif comes and says they are boycotting in support of Bangladesh. The boycott was always on a slippery slope to start with, now they’re sliding on ice. I suspect they will backtrack. Because it’s not just a huge loss for them, but also other a financial loss to other countries that this boycott will cause.

A “bhookh hadtaal” - fast unto death works when there’s a decent amount of support behind you. In this case, they’ll just starve themselves and in the end the development of cricket in Pakistan will suffer. A lot of people on forums and social media put out a lot of nationalistic and jingoistic bytes, and with a lot of passion too, because they are not directly affected by the boycott. Ask the players waiting for support or assistance who don’t get what they need, and without even knowing you might end cricket careers before they started. It’s always easy to say “… aagey badho hum tumhare saath hain” without having any skin in the game. With the money at BCCI’s disposal, share of a Pakistan match won’t make much of a dent, they would have made a LOT more by playing bilaterals with Pakistan (and vice versa), but the ground reality is that PCB needs every dollar from ICC to maintain or grow cricket in Pakistan.

Personally speaking, I do hate all external factors including politics that affect cricket because at the end of the day I remain a cricket fan.

There has never been brotherly relations between India and Pakistan and there shouldn’t be any. Pakistanis, especially on this forum, should learn to move on. At every angle, whether in politics, sports, society, culture etc, India is an enemy state and should be seen as such.

Bangladeshis have finally found out that the 1000 year chip on Indians is irredeemable and are now taking appropriate actions against both the BCCI and India.

Let me first say I love reading your posts. They are logical, respectful, and full of good arguments and I like having a good conversation with you, even if we might disagree. Just like Usama, you are someone worth knowing in real life too. Keep it up!!

I agree with you on the handshake fiasco. I can see why they may not want to shake hands with Naqvi given he’s not just a part but a major component of the political structure, but disrespecting fellow cricketers who have nothing to do with terrorism is wrong. I said the same thing when this happened in September. Unfortunately, politics has forever been intertwined with sport, including cricket and that’s how it’ll remain.

As far as politicizing and gaining at the same time is concerned, I believe the Indian position has been to not let Pakistan gain directly from India and therefore no bilaterals. There are other countries that are part of ICC tournaments that also benefit from an India Pakistan match - especially outside of the big three. India is being responsible by meeting its obligations in ICC tournaments, even though Pakistan too indirectly (through ICC share) benefits from it. By boycotting the India game, Pakistan is not helping anyone, most of all itself. They need to put their heads together and come up with some solution that hurts only India and not anybody else. Now Sharif comes and says they are boycotting in support of Bangladesh. The boycott was always on a slippery slope to start with, now they’re sliding on ice. I suspect they will backtrack. Because it’s not just a huge loss for them, but also other a financial loss to other countries that this boycott will cause.

A “bhookh hadtaal” - fast unto death works when there’s a decent amount of support behind you. In this case, they’ll just starve themselves and in the end the development of cricket in Pakistan will suffer. A lot of people on forums and social media put out a lot of nationalistic and jingoistic bytes, and with a lot of passion too, because they are not directly affected by the boycott. Ask the players waiting for support or assistance who don’t get what they need, and without even knowing you might end cricket careers before they started. It’s always easy to say “… aagey badho hum tumhare saath hain” without having any skin in the game. With the money at BCCI’s disposal, share of a Pakistan match won’t make much of a dent, they would have made a LOT more by playing bilaterals with Pakistan (and vice versa), but the ground reality is that PCB needs every dollar from ICC to maintain or grow cricket in Pakistan.

Personally speaking, I do hate all external factors including politics that affect cricket because at the end of the day I remain a cricket fan.
Thank you - appreciate it, and the feeling is mutual.

I understand the situation and like I said, I don't support the decision to boycott the match. As you rightly said, this is a decision that affects all teams, rather than just India and Pakistan... even associates, who could see their share dwindle as a result of this boycott. Above all though, this is the World Cup and Pakistan v India is a big match that brings millions of fans in front of their screens and shows the true power of sport to unite, excite, and elevate the tournament as a whole.

That said, we shouldn’t look at this incident in isolation. We need to consider how we got here. Let’s put official board positions aside for a moment and focus on what’s right and wrong. Is it really right for a country to openly say that the goal is to damage another country’s cricket by denying them opportunities and revenue?

For the past decade or so, India has handled its cricketing relationship with Pakistan with consistent hostility. Even back in 2019, there were official statements pushing for Pakistan’s removal from the World Cup. You could argue about the seriousness of those statements but still it was something that was done. Infact from what I remember Vinod Rai called for Pakistan to be banned from all sporting events altogether. Political tensions have always existed between the two countries, but slowly over the past decade or so and they are becoming more and more entrenched in the sport of cricket.

Pakistan certainly shares blame for many things over the years, but prior to this latest incident, it has largely been India using cricket as a tool to pressure and isolate Pakistan, and instigating situations that are both petty and damage the integrity of the game. And realistically, has any of this changed Pakistan’s behavior in any meaningful way? Or has it mainly served as political messaging... something to boast about during elections, like “we taught Pakistan a lesson”?

The reason I mention all this is because you can’t treat someone like dirt and then act surprised when they eventually react. Everyone deserves to be treated with respect. You can only push someone so much before they decide to lash out.

In my view, India, as the most powerful cricketing nation in the world, has not acted as a responsible leader or in good faith when it comes to Pakistan. What we’re seeing now is the result of a years of ill-will, hostility and bad blood. And while I don’t support Pakistan’s decision to boycott, it was only a matter of time before something like this happened. Pakistan definitely needs the money and we don't know how this decision (if they choose to continue to stick to it) will impact their future, but I can't imagine it will be good. However at the same time, Pakistanis will be perfectly okay playing this negative-sum game if it helps send a message. Again, not something that I support or condone, but if push comes to shove, or things don't change, they will be more than happy to continue boycotting this match in the future aswell.

I think India really needs to rethink its attitude towards world cricket going forward. Whether it wants to be a responsible leader that works stability and fairness, or whether it wants to continue to use cricket as an extension of state policy. Because if the answer is the latter then it will only lead to more incidents like this in the future.

The Pakistani cricketers have nothing to do with Pahalgham, The Pakistani awaam has nothing to do with Pahalgham..

Mohsin Naqvi is who he is..

Zero proof provided on Pahalgham, it may as well have been inside job. The continued killings of Baluchistanis by indians has to stop, the world needs to see the state sponsored killings india is orchestrating in other countries…

This is the reason for boycotting. Not stupid handshakes!!

Blood repaid with blood..

I understand the situation and like I said, I don't support the decision to boycott the match. As you rightly said, this is a decision that affects all teams, rather than just India and Pakistan... even associates, who could see their share dwindle as a result of this boycott. Above all though, this is the World Cup and Pakistan v India is a big match that brings millions of fans in front of their screens and shows the true power of sport to unite, excite, and elevate the tournament as a whole.

That said, we shouldn’t look at this incident in isolation. We need to consider how we got here. Let’s put official board positions aside for a moment and focus on what’s right and wrong. Is it really right for a country to openly say that the goal is to damage another country’s cricket by denying them opportunities and revenue?

For the past decade or so, India has handled its cricketing relationship with Pakistan with consistent hostility. Even back in 2019, there were official statements pushing for Pakistan’s removal from the World Cup. You could argue about the seriousness of those statements but still it was something that was done. Infact from what I remember Vinod Rai called for Pakistan to be banned from all sporting events altogether. Political tensions have always existed between the two countries, but slowly over the past decade or so and they are becoming more and more entrenched in the sport of cricket.

Pakistan certainly shares blame for many things over the years, but prior to this latest incident, it has largely been India using cricket as a tool to pressure and isolate Pakistan, and instigating situations that are both petty and damage the integrity of the game. And realistically, has any of this changed Pakistan’s behavior in any meaningful way? Or has it mainly served as political messaging... something to boast about during elections, like “we taught Pakistan a lesson”?

The reason I mention all this is because you can’t treat someone like dirt and then act surprised when they eventually react. Everyone deserves to be treated with respect. You can only push someone so much before they decide to lash out.

In my view, India, as the most powerful cricketing nation in the world, has not acted as a responsible leader or in good faith when it comes to Pakistan. What we’re seeing now is the result of a years of ill-will, hostility and bad blood. And while I don’t support Pakistan’s decision to boycott, it was only a matter of time before something like this happened. Pakistan definitely needs the money and we don't know how this decision (if they choose to continue to stick to it) will impact their future, but I can't imagine it will be good. However at the same time, Pakistanis will be perfectly okay playing this negative-sum game if it helps send a message. Again, not something that I support or condone, but if push comes to shove, or things don't change, they will be more than happy to continue boycotting this match in the future aswell.

I think India really needs to rethink its attitude towards world cricket going forward. Whether it wants to be a responsible leader that works stability and fairness, or whether it wants to continue to use cricket as an extension of state policy. Because if the answer is the latter then it will only lead to more incidents like this in the future.
Post of the Month!!

You have to give credit to BCCI, for trying to bring PCB back on board despite Indian fans calling for aggression.

Its all Jay Shah and his mature, gentlemanly working brother.

You have to give credit to BCCI, for trying to bring PCB back on board despite Indian fans calling for aggression.

Its all Jay Shah and his mature, gentlemanly working brother.
working like a hidden agent? bcz most of Indian posters still claim that its not BCCI while everyone knows upon whose request ICC/BCB were in Pak yesterday

This post should really close the debate on this situation. It's a perfect summary of where we stand in world cricket primarily as a result of India/BCCI's actions but contributed to by Pakistan/PCB's.

Unfortunately I don't think there's a simple way back. India is still too noveau riche (cricket-wise) like a clumsy boy suddenly grown big, unsure of it's power and lashing out at real and perceived enemies. It'll be years if not decades before it is secure enough in it's power to behave as sensibly as you're expecting it to in cricket especially against a real world enemy like Pakistan.

Pakistan on the other hand cannot accept subservience like other cricketing nations have done especially against a real world enemy like India. Unfortunately, given the weakness of their economy, the only tool they have is this hostage situation where they're waving a gun around threatening to shoot everyone including themselves.

This can only end badly.

working like a hidden agent? bcz most of Indian posters still claim that its not BCCI while everyone knows upon whose request ICC/BCB were in Pak yesterday

BCCI and PCB are both valuable to ICC.
One brother may be more valuable but that doesn't mean the other brother isn't.

A team of Non Indians visited Pakistan yesterday to :-
  • show respect to Pakistan, Bangladesh cricket and nation, that we acknowledge your unhappiness and we are here to discuss with you in good faith
  • show that BCCI isn't as antagonistic to PCB currently as is being portrayed. They want a mutually agreeable solution and want to move on.
  • show we want a win-win situation and a respectable compromise for all parties involved.

I would also like to propose a friendly lunch between Respected Shri Mohsin Naqvi ji and the Indian cricket team at a suitably fancy, Michelin-star fine dining restaurant in Colombo.

Nothing too serious. Just a relaxed table, good company, and some delicious food, brother. History has shown that it is remarkably difficult to hold grudges while passing the dessert menu.

As a gesture of warmth and long-term camaraderie, Mr. Naqvi must be given the title of Honourary Uncle of Indian cricket, with complimentary access for him and his family to major events in India for the rest of life, not limited to cricket.

I would also like to propose a friendly lunch between Respected Shri Mohsin Naqvi ji and the Indian cricket team at a suitably fancy, Michelin-star fine dining restaurant in Colombo.

Nothing too serious. Just a relaxed table, good company, and some delicious food, brother. History has shown that it is remarkably difficult to hold grudges while passing the dessert menu.

As a gesture of warmth and long-term camaraderie, Mr. Naqvi must be given the title of Honourary Uncle of Indian cricket, with complimentary access for him and his family to major events in India for the rest of life, not limited to cricket.

Just as the lunch winds down and the air turns soft and sentimental, the Indian captain steps forward to respectfully present Shri Mohsin with a gift hamper containing 100 pristine 8K resolution DVDs, the finest Bollywood classics ever made. Timeless songs, heroic dialogues, childhood favorites. A treasure chest of memories.

For a moment, the PCB Chairman isn’t a chairman at all. He’s just a boy again. Cinema halls. Popcorn. First whistles. First dreams. His smile widens like a monsoon sky clearing.

The players begin heading toward their team bus outside. Shri Mohsin waits near his limousine, still holding the hamper close. The team turns to leave.

And then a voice calls out, warm and commanding.

“Thehro beta!”

They stop. Suryakumar Yadav and a few others turn back.

There stands Uncle Mohsin, holding the Asia Cup trophy in both hands.

He smiles and says,
“Aap isse lena to bhool hi gaye.”

For a heartbeat, nobody moves. Then the emotion hits. Eyes turn watery. Shoulders loosen.

The players rush back, laughing, almost tripping over themselves, like kids running home.

A tight hug. A proud handshake.

And the trophy, the one they had always dreamed of, finally resting in their hands.

A memory. A moment. A story they’ll tell forever.

E1F4E938-8284-44BA-8A18-EC3F58D104B9.png

BCB and PCB are kids in front of BCCI.... In fact you cannot remove the venom of hate India from their minds...... that's why Zaka Ashraff when PCB chairman termed India as dushman mulk

BCCI can’t do anything, next 10-15 years it will be same. After that it can become worse or improve time will tell.

Is OP even serious?

If yes - then India-Pak should start playing cricket and try to leverage this as sort of cricket diplomacy.

Also, inclusion of Pakistanis in IPL.

For the past decade or so, India has handled its cricketing relationship with Pakistan with consistent hostility.
Given the history between India and Pak, I'd argue that Indi ahs been fairly docile.

Pakistan started this mess in cricket after its 1992 win and had no issues mixing politics with sport both in cricket and elsewhere (olympics).

All the we want to separate sport from politics BS is nothing but hypocritical nonsense meant to help Pak/PCB's wallet. nothing more. Unfortunately there have been enough GNV infected clowns in India who buy this. God news for India is those vermin are a dying breed.
I think India really needs to rethink its attitude towards world cricket going forward. Whether it wants to be a responsible leader that works stability and fairness,
What is your standard? In cricket two countries held power before for almost a century. want to go back to that?

I see this a classic case of looking at a gift horse in the mouth.

The sport has spread due to Indian idiots giving away funds to rich countries like Netherlands instead of making the sport more accesible to kids in india.

Even the current mess is thanks another idiot Saurav Ganguly who got fooled and gave CT25 to Pak. Pak was sidelined after its shenanigans with DRC. It should have allows to rot.
or whether it wants to continue to use cricket as an extension of state policy. Because if the answer is the latter then it will only lead to more incidents like this in the future.
IMO, this is an incident BCCI/India has been waiting for. Hope they stand firm