India and Pakistan should have never been divided: Milkha Singh

Legbreak

With the Indian government delaying granting permission for the proposed Indo-Pak cricket series, the debate about the propriety of India resuming sporting ties with Pakistan has been making the headlines in the past few days. While the public opinion over the issue is divided, India's most celebrated athlete, Milkha Singh, minces no words when he says, "Kyun nahi khelna chahiye? India aur Pakistan ek dusre ke saath kehlna chahiye. Sports hotha hai pyar badhane ke liye, politics karne ke liye nahi."

That a man whose parents were hacked to death in front of his eyes in the aftermath of India-Pakistan partition, is championing the message of love between India and Pakistan does seem intriguing. Does that mean he has made peace with the ghosts of murder of his family members? Not quite. "No. Losing my family in those riots is still as fresh in mind and haunts to this day. But the partition of India and the violence that ensued was a of dirty politics, not the will of the people. If you ask me, India and Pakistan should never have been divided, it was just petty political upmanship at play, the consequences of which the poor people of both countries had to bear unfortunately," he exclaims.

Recalling the warm welcome he received from the people of Pakistan when he defeated Abdul Khaliq in that historic 200 meters run in Lahore, 1960, that earned him the soubriquet of Fying Sikh from the then Pakistani premier, General Ayub Khan, Milkha says, "We were a contingent of 50 athletes travelling in a bus to Pakistan. Upon reaching the Wagah border, the Pakistani officials called out for me and took me on an open top jeep. I can never forget how thousands of Pakistanis on the streets cheered me on. It just goes to show that the people on both sides of the border don't hate each other." Staying on the subject of love, Milkha Singh's love affair with Hyderabad is stuff of legend.

Afterall, he discovered his life's calling after finishing sixth in a cross country run when stationed at the EME Centre in Secunderabad in 1951. He was posted in the city for nine years and has many fond memories of the city. But strangely enough not a single city girl caught his attention during the stay. "Ab hamara pehla pyar tho Delhi mein thi, jaise film mein bataya. Hamara dil usipe tha," he says signing off.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...divided-Milkha-Singh/articleshow/49983258.cms

Singh Saab, we Indians can't even treat our own Muslim population fairly and your saying that partition should never have happened? :sanga

Partition has caused a lot of resentment in India and hence muslims are probably treated worse then if there was no partition. People will not trust them because 1947 showed that when they form a majority in an area they call for separation, that's the cold hard truth. The fact that so many muslims stayed behind in India has made people think that the muslims had their cake and ate it too!

Anyway extremely few Pakistanis will say that partition shouldn't have happened.

What do you think will happen to any state that becomes Muslim majority in the future?
Some states like Kerala and West Bengal already have a 30% Muslim population

Eventually the muslims will stop having so many babies, this is already happening so their population won't grow so much, in West Bengal the illegal migration needs to stop.

Getting separation from a military powerful nation like India is impossible. If things ever got so bad, it might end up like Burma style violence.

India is center stage in the media. So their military wouldn't play the primary role in curbing separatist movements. Mainland India is not kashmir.

Most likely the outcome would be the Hindutva establishment enticing race riots, while the government turns a blind eye and claims ignorance.

There could be a large scale attack on Muslims within the next 20 years even without separatist movements.

The indian subcontinent is full of insecure majorities and oppressed minorities.

A little vandalism on a mosque here, a little fire in a temple there, and what follows is many many dead people.

A volatile environment to say the least.

There would be no Pakpassion tho :(

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

India is center stage in the media. So their military wouldn't play the primary role in curbing separatist movements. Mainland India is not kashmir.

Most likely the outcome would be the Hindutva establishment enticing race riots, while the government turns a blind eye and claims ignorance.

There could be a large scale attack on Muslims within the next 20 years even without separatist movements.

The indian subcontinent is full of insecure majorities and oppressed minorities.

A little vandalism on a mosque here, a little fire in a temple there, and what follows is many many dead people.

A volatile environment to say the least.

Nonsense.

Btw, most of the recent riots in India have actually been induced by a so called peaceful minority. To me it appears that Hindutva govt is actually giving Muslims an excuse to spread their extremism and cry victim in case people try to counter it.

Nonsense.

Btw, most of the recent riots in India have actually been induced by a so called peaceful minority. To me it appears that Hindutva govt is actually giving Muslims an excuse to spread their extremism and cry victim in case people try to counter it.

Interesting.

If you mean by who did the first killing of humans yes, than you may be right in some cases.

That is not what I meant by enticing riots though.

In a country like India, communal violence is an every other week occurrence.

For example, there were a few people killed for "eating beef" recently.

So yes in the past, Muslims may have killed people first. But it is up to the state to make sure it stops there. Just like they did with the beef killings. They arrested the murderers and relatively calmed things down.

However, like I said sometimes the government looks the other way. Such is the case with the Gujarat riots.

Interesting.

If you mean by who did the first killing of humans yes, than you may be right in some cases.

That is not what I meant by enticing riots though.

In a country like India, communal violence is an every other week occurrence.

For example, there were a few people killed for "eating beef" recently.

So yes in the past, Muslims may have killed people first. But it is up to the state to make sure it stops there. Just like they did with the beef killings. They arrested the murderers and relatively calmed things down.

However, like I said sometimes the government looks the other way. Such is the case with the Gujarat riots.

Gujrat riot was a massive state failure, no denying that. But since then, things have been a lot different, both during Congress and BJP regime. Even a smallest of issues against minority overshadows some worst issues that Hindus face. For example, if some Mullah kills me tomorrow, it won't make a national story. But if I bash a Muslim or minority up, there will be a dozen more celebrities returning their awards and expressing their concern for the country.

As for religious violence being a weekly affair in the future, yes, it will likely be the case. Even with a population of 30 Crores, America is keeping up with India when it comes to attacks/violence based on religion. I think it will always be the case ANYWHERE in the world unless different religions start to trust and support each other.

Gujrat riot was a massive state failure, no denying that. But since then, things have been a lot different, both during Congress and BJP regime. Even a smallest of issues against minority overshadows some worst issues that Hindus face. For example, if some Mullah kills me tomorrow, it won't make a national story. But if I bash a Muslim or minority up, there will be a dozen more celebrities returning their awards and expressing their concern for the country.

As for religious violence being a weekly affair in the future, yes, it will likely be the case. Even with a population of 30 Crores, America is keeping up with India when it comes to attacks/violence based on religion. I think it will always be the case ANYWHERE in the world unless different religions start to trust and support each other.

As good as things have gotten, there will always be issues in the future that are similar to Babri Masjid type scenarios.

Riots will follow with majority Muslim casualties regardless of who drew the first blood.

I agree before BJP things were improving in terms of tolerance.

The media was not emphasizing communal rifts as much, but due to having a Hindu nationalist government tensions are high.

As good as things have gotten, there will always be issues in the future that are similar to Babri Masjid type scenarios.

Riots will follow with majority Muslim casualties regardless of who drew the first blood.

I agree before BJP things were improving in terms of tolerance.

The media was not emphasizing communal rifts as much, but due to having a Hindu nationalist government tensions are high.

Not really. Sounds more like you were not too interested in researching Indian stories before BJP came to power.

In the last 5 years, below are the major cases where communal tensions has led to a massacre. Death toll and the reason for riots is mentioned below.

massacres.JPG

How much worse is BJP doing? If anything, India is a better place today.

Another interesting trend you will see is that despite being a minority, Muslims are the ones causing most trouble in India.

Not really. Sounds more like you were not too interested in researching Indian stories before BJP came to power.

In the last 5 years, below are the major cases where communal tensions has led to a massacre. Death toll and the reason for riots is mentioned below.

How much worse is BJP doing? If anything, India is a better place today.

Another interesting trend you will see is that despite being a minority, Muslims are the ones causing most trouble in India.

If a muslim eats beef, and he is killed Hindu nationalists say go to Pakistan to eat beef.

Not that a Hindu killed a Muslim.

If the Hindu establishment demolishes Babri Masjid and Muslims react (I admit violently), you say Muslims started the trouble.

Shiv Sena organizes riots and entices people to attack Muslims, this is seen as a reaction to the Babri Masjid violence.

Some muslim extremists bomb somewhere in retaliation for the riots it is seen as Muslims being Muslims are creating violence.

A muslim actor says India is becoming intolerant. Hindu actors say go to Pakistan if you think India is intolerant.

To me it seems like extremists from both sides are causing problems.

But if you think the muslim extremists are the only bad ones and hindu extremists are innocent angels, that is your opinion and I respect that..

I find it quite rich that all of the above cases were ignored by our Pakistani friends, but since Modi came to power, every little story seems to be signalling the downfall of India.
[MENTION=131506]blackanhyellow[/MENTION] , be honest brother... is it really Modi govt. that is making things worse for India, or is it the case where Pakistanis have preferred to exaggerate all the bad happening under this "Hindu" govt?

I find it quite rich that all of the above cases were ignored by our Pakistani friends, but since Modi came to power, every little story seems to be signalling the downfall of India.
[MENTION=131506]blackanhyellow[/MENTION] , be honest brother... is it really Modi govt. that is making things worse for India, or is it the case where Pakistanis have preferred to exaggerate all the bad happening under this "Hindu" govt?

I said there are extremists on both sides.

Muslims have extremists and Hindus also have extremists.

The downfall of India is if a government comes in that has links to either of these extremists.

BJP government has links to Shiv Sena and RSS.

If a Hindu nationalist government came into power, but did not have these extremist links and extremist views, then it wouldn't be a problem really.

But if you have a Hindu nationlist government that will say "Go to Pakistan to eat beef" every time a muslim is killed for eating beef, then you will have problems.

BJP needs to cut ties to Shiva Sena and RSS they are terrorists by every sense of the word.

To me it seems like extremists from both sides are causing problems.

But if you think the muslim extremists are the only bad ones and hindu extremists are innocent angels, that is your opinion and I respect that..

That's not my opinion and even if it was, you shouldn't have respected it.

What I am saying in your posts above, you painted a picture where India was moving towards religious intolerance under Modi Govt and things were about to go worse. I hope I showed you enough evidence to convince you that things have actually been better than before.

I know Pakistanis don't like Modi and all.... but we should be fair with our criticism. :)

BJP needs to cut ties to Shiva Sena and RSS they are terrorists by every sense of the word.

I agree. Thankfully, BJP and Shiv Sena are at a war already, and hopefully, RSS influence too will diminish in coming years.

Oh Please, partition was the best thing to happen in the history of the subcontinent. Thank Gods I don't have to share a country with Pakistanis.

That's not my opinion and even if it was, you shouldn't have respected it.

What I am saying in your posts above, you painted a picture where India was moving towards religious intolerance under Modi Govt and things were about to go worse. I hope I showed you enough evidence to convince you that things have actually been better than before.

I know Pakistanis don't like Modi and all.... but we should be fair with our criticism. :)

I did not mean I respected that particular opinion of yours, I was just saying I respect that you have your own opinion.

Maybe what you say is true, and India is safer under Modi.

Time will tell though. As even under congress India went a couple of years without a massacre, once in a while.

I agree. Thankfully, BJP and Shiv Sena are at a war already, and hopefully, RSS influence too will diminish in coming years.

Yes but I understand why you can't due to politics, or atleast why it is difficult to do.

Pakistan also has extremist religion based organizations such as LET.

Indians are always confused as to why Pakistan won't ban such and such organization after so much proof.

Yet Shiv Sena and RSS are constantly proven to be involved with terrorist attacks and riots yet they are never banned.

These types of organizations embed themselves into the local politics and are like cockroaches.

I did not mean I respected that particular opinion of yours, I was just saying I respect that you have your own opinion.

Maybe what you say is true, and India is safer under Modi.

Time will tell though. As even under congress India went a couple of years without a massacre, once in a while.

Yes but I understand why you can't due to politics, or atleast why it is difficult to do.

Pakistan also has extremist religion based organizations such as LET.

These types of organizations embed themselves into the local politics and are like cockroaches.

LET comparison is very harsh. RSS and Shiv Sena are more like Hindu Madarsas. While most their members have good intentions and teach a beautiful way of Hindu life, there has been a misguided minority who have played a part in riots.

A lot of theHindu extremists that have committed acts of violence are "former" RSS members. If I recall correctly, the person who assassinated Gandhi was a "former" RSS member. Sorry if I am wrong about this but I think I remember reading this.

Or Swami Aseemanand another "former" RSS member who orchestrated the Samjauta Express bombing and numerous other attacks.

So I think the comparison to LET is valid in the context of a violent organization hiding under the disguise of politics.

A lot of theHindu extremists that have committed acts of violence are "former" RSS members. If I recall correctly, the person who assassinated Gandhi was a "former" RSS member. Sorry if I am wrong about this but I think I remember reading this.

Or Swami Aseemanand another "former" RSS member who orchestrated the Samjauta Express bombing and numerous other attacks.

So I think the comparison to LET is valid in the context of a violent organization hiding under the disguise of politics.

In the same vein, religion too can be termed as a violent belief that is hiding under the disguise of goodness and virtue. After all, many of the LET/ISIS recruits are former Madarsa products who chant religious slogans before they blow themselves up.

Yet we want RSS to be compared to LET, but Madarsas/Religion stay holy...why?

I think we need to understand that these examples are of misguided RSS members, they don't represent the organization. Like Madarsas, RSS too is a radical organization, but they would never plan or support a terrorist act. Don't judge an organization based on what a few rotten souls do.

As long as I was ok with India,I was ok with partition.
But now it is beyond irritating that my Punjab was butchered so that these two dharti pe boojh countries could come into existence.

What happened was beyond unfortunate. However lets not insult more than 1 billion people in both Pakistan and India who both love their respective countries.

Are you Indian punjabi? or Pakistani punjabi?

Muslims in an undivided india today would have formed about 35 to 40 percent of population meaning hindus would have been in plurality.it would be be interesting to guess how social protoplasm and the other geopolitical scenario have unfolded and would babri masjid have been demolished or a hindutva vadi mass murderer elected as india's head of state??

If you are from Pakistani Punjab, then all I can say is that your province is dharti pe booj on our country. You elect corrupt and incompetent leaders like the Nooras even though nobody else voted for them in the rest of the country and all you do is sit on your charpai and eat Nihari, while the hard working people in Karachi bring all your revenue so that you can build a Disney land in Lahore.

You can shove your provincialism where the sun don't shine, that place might be too cramped though since your head is already in there.

If Partition hadn't happened, our women would be marrying Pakistanis (they still do but in a limited way). So can't thank enough for Partition.

Your obsession with skin color and looks is sickening.

An undivided India would probably be a violent mess like Congo if partition didn't happen. People say that Hindus, Muslims and Sikhs all got along together before partition but that was all under a leader who conquered i.e. Mughals, Marathas, Sikhs, British, not under a democracy.
I would it say british india should have been balkanized on ethnic, and linguistic lines into various nation states.even if there were communal riots, most of them would have localized.

An undivided India would either have become a global/regional superpower by now (no Kashmir conflict to divert funds from development) or had become something like Sudan/Congo with infighting between the different provinces.

No way, whatever problems Pakistan has faced and is facing thankgod we are separated.

An undivided India would either have become a global/regional superpower by now (no Kashmir conflict to divert funds from development) or had become something like Sudan/Congo with infighting between the different provinces.

Most likely the latter

https://sports.ndtv.com/othersports/legendary-sprinter-milkha-singh-dies-at-91-2467302?pfrom=home-ndtv_topscroll

Legendary Indian sprinter Milkha Singh died on Friday due to post-Covid complications. He was admitted to the Intensive Care Unit (ICU) of a hospital in Mohali on May 24. The 91-year-old had tested positive for COVID-19 on May 19 but was in home isolation at his Chandigarh residence after revealing that he was asymptomatic. However, a few days later, the legendary athlete was admitted to the ICU of Mohali's Fortis hospital due to "COVID pneumonia". His death came five days after his wife Nirmal also died due to post-Covid complications.

"It is with extreme sadness that we would like to inform you that Milkha Singh Ji passed away at 11.30 pm. on the 18th of June 2021," his family announced in a statement.

"He fought hard but God has his ways and it was perhaps true love and companionship that both our mother Nirmal ji and now Dad have passed away in a matter of 5 days," the statement further added.

He was then admitted at PGIMER in Chandigarh on June 3 "and was treated for Covid there till 13th June when after putting up a valiant battle with Covid, Milkha Singh Ji tested negative," the hospital said in a statement.

"However, due to post-Covid complications, he was shifted out of Covid Hospital to medical ICU. But despite best of the efforts by the medical team, Milkha Singh ji could not be retrieved from his critical condition and after a brave fight, he left for his heavenly abode at 11.30 pm on 18th June 2021 here at PGIMER," the statement added.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi gave his condolences to the legendary sprinter.

"In the passing away of Shri Milkha Singh Ji, we have lost a colossal sportsperson, who captured the nation's imagination and had a special place in the hearts of countless Indians. His inspiring personality endeared himself to millions. Anguished by his passing away," PM Modi tweeted.

"I had spoken to Shri Milkha Singh Ji just a few days ago. Little did I know that it would be our last conversation. Several budding athletes will derive strength from his life journey. My condolences to his family and many admirers all over the world," he added in another tweet.

Popularly referred to as the 'Flying Sikh', Milkha Singh made his name in the track and field, winning four gold medals at the Asian Games. He also won a gold at the 1958 Commonwealth Games in Cardiff.

He narrowly missed out on an Olympic medal, finishing fourth at the 400m final of the 1960 Rome Games.

Milkha Singh finished the race in a time 45.73 seconds. It remained a national record for nearly 40 years before Paramjeet Singh surpassed it in 1998.

Milkha Singh had also taken part in the 1956 and 1964 Olympics. He was conferred the Padma Shri, India's fourth-highest civilian honour, in 1959.

Thanks for your service to the nation. The flying Sikh has taken his last flight.

RIP the old warhorse
Such a gentleman.
He never made any money out of sports, just had this love for the nation. That movie they made on him which was a blockbuster hit, he took just one rupee for it, can you believe that?

RIP, our beloved Flying Sikh! You will be missed, but never forgotten.

RIP Milkha Singh, the flying sikh.

What a champion!

Alwida Milkheya... Really put Indian sports to the forefront.
A Proud Sikh and a Proud Indian.. Thanks a lot.. Rab Rakhaa..

RIP legend.

What a man, what an athlete.

Milkha Singh To Be Cremated With Full State Honours

Milkha Singh, who died at 91 on Friday, will be cremated in Chandigarh on Saturday evening with full state honours.

Milkha Singh, one of independent India's biggest sporting icons, who died of COVID-19 complications, will be cremated in Chandigarh on Saturday evening with full state honours.
The Punjab government will also observe a day of state mourning in the wake of the passing away of the track and field legend.

"Have directed that late Milkha Singh Ji will be given a state funeral by our government," Punjab Chief Minister Amarinder Singh tweeted.

"Also, Punjab will observe one day of state mourning as a mark of respect to the departed legend," the Chief Minister said.

Amarinder Singh tweeted earlier," Upset and saddened to hear of Milkha Singh Ji's demise. It marks the end of an era and India & Punjab are poorer today."

"My condolences to the bereaved family & millions of fans. The legend of the Flying Sikh will reverberate for generations to come. Rest in peace Sir!," read his tweet.

The cremation will take place at 5 pm, a spokesperson for the family, said earlier.

The 91-year-old Milkha Singh died on Friday night after a month-long battle with COVID-19. He had lost his former national volleyball captain wife Nirmal Kaur to the same ailment.

The Padma Shri awardee, who was nicknamed ''The Flying Sikh'' for his accomplishments, is survived by his golfer son Jeev Milkha Singh and three daughters.

Condoling Milkha Singh's demise, Punjab Governor and Chandigarh Union Territory Administrator, VP Singh Badnore said, "Extremely grieved at the demise of #Flying Sikh# Padma Shree#Milkha Singh Ji."

"India has lost another precious life to #Covid. His contribution in the field of sports will be remembered forever," Mr Badnore tweeted.

Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar said India has lost a great athlete.

"Milkha Ji has left us but he will always inspire every Indian to shine for the country. "Flying Sikh'' will always live in the hearts of the Indians," Mr Khattar tweeted.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/milkha-singh-to-be-cremated-with-full-state-honours-2467584

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">A legacy that inspired a whole nation to aim for excellence. To never give up and chase your dreams. Rest in Peace <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/MilkhaSingh?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#MilkhaSingh</a> ji &#55357;&#56911;. You will never be forgotten. <a href="https://t.co/IXVmM86Hiv">pic.twitter.com/IXVmM86Hiv</a></p>— Virat Kohli (@imVkohli) <a href="https://twitter.com/imVkohli/status/1406156912819806208?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 19, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

RIP Sardar Ji,

Truly inspirational figure and legend, was a flying machine with huge amounts of dedication and will power. He also had the heart of a lion befitting his name.

Interesting to note that despite what happened to his family during the partition, he still had the fortitude to come back to Pakistan and compete in race at Lahore in 1960 where he won gold.

It was here that he was bestowed the title of 'The Flying Sikh' by General Ayub Khan.

India team seen wearing black armband in Milkha Singh's honour

Screenshot 2021-06-19 142630.jpgWhatsApp Image 2021-06-19 at 2.26.38 PM.jpeg

Rest in peace to one of India's greatest icons.

The nation thanks you with folded hands and wet eyes today.

You will forever remain a source of huge pride and inspiration Sir.

#TheFlyingSikh has taken off

Milkha Singh, one of India’s first sport superstars and an ace sprinter who overcame a childhood tragedy to become the country’s most celebrated athlete, has died of COVID aged 91.

Singh, a four-time Asian Games gold medallist and dubbed the “Flying Sikh”, passed away at a hospital in the north Indian city of Chandigarh late on Friday.

His wife Nirmal Kaur, a former volleyball captain, had died of the virus just days earlier. She was 85.

“He fought hard but God has his ways,” Singh’s family said in a statement.

Singh was the first Indian athlete to win a gold medal at the Commonwealth Games in the 400m division in 1958. He narrowly missed out on an Olympic medal, finishing fourth at the 400m final of the 1960 Rome Games.

Singh represented India at the Olympics in 1956, 1960 and 1964.

Cricket icon Sachin Tendulkar said Singh’s legacy would live on.

“Rest in Peace our very own ‘Flying Sikh’ Milkha Singh ji,” he tweeted. “Your demise has left a deep void in every Indian’s heart today, but you shall keep inspiring several generations to come.”

Indian women’s tennis star Sania Mirza said the “world will miss a legend like you”.

His rise to elite athlete made Singh a national hero and inspired a Bollywood film in 2013 called “Bhaag Milkha Bhaag” (Run, Milkha, Run).

The film’s lead actor Farhan Akhtar, who won top awards for his portrayal of the star athlete, paid tribute to Singh in an emotional message.

“You represented an idea. You represented a dream,” Akhtar wrote on social media. “You represented (to use your own words) how hard work, honesty and determination can lift a person off his knees and get him to touch the sky.”

The movie’s title refers to the poignant last words spoken to Singh by his father.

As he was dying, he told Singh to flee or he, too, would be killed in the post-partition riots sweeping the subcontinent.

Singh ran for his life and boarded a train with other refugees. More than a million people are believed to have died in the bloody sectarian upheaval.

“We all grew up with the folklore of Milkha, he’s a larger-than-life figure for us,” said the film’s director Rakeysh Mehra in 2013. “He’s like what Pele meant to football, or what Jesse Owens meant for track and field for the West.”

Oh yeah I forgot about him. But he as never an icon the way Milkha was for a generation of Indians. Also, I was thinking primarily of post Independence sporting heroes.

I can see from where you are coming.

Don't want to debate on this occassion out of respect for a beloved Indian legend.

Dhyan Chand's heroics however put him in the league of Bradman, Bolt as a sportsman. He has by far and away the greatest career of all Indian sportspersons.