India defeat Pakistan by 6 wickets in blockbuster clash

I like this new "upright, wristy" Shehzad. If he keeps chipping away like this I would turn from a detractor to a cautious supporter

Shehzad can also score tons. And he is 24. Its not about Tons, Salman Butt never was something to talk about usually just bashing indisn bowling which was poor back then.

I disagree. Butt was much better than most of the dross that turned up after Saeed Anwar.

And extra spinner would have not made a difference, India were playing spinners well and that's the reason we lost

The game wasn't about restricting India to score the game was about taking wickets

Why was Amir kept till the final overs?

Why was sami not given overs after taking 2 wickets in a row

Until the spinners didn't come on we were in the seat

Wrong both spinners bowled wrong length and pace that took spin out of equation...actually Pakistani spinners did most for Indian batsman to neutralize the threat.

Amir is always due to bowl in last 4 overs.

You question and answered because he took 2 wicket in his first over...better question is why was he selected on this wicket.

because our spinners bowled badly we lost if....we were never winning this game since the ball one Pakistan lost it when suddenly wicket turned square and they entered with 4 pacers.

I'm confused. Are you saying our 2011 bowling attack was better than your 2011 bowling attack or are you talking about today's match?

Actually almost any match Pak bowling > Ind Bowling ... its always been that way over the years. but it never turns out that way for big matches. Today was the best opportunity and it wasnt like they had to bo on top for 50 overs. Just 13 overs. Mohali was headed only one way the moment Sehwag took out Gul. Unless one of your superstar bowlers do the same to our batsmen there is really no contest because your batting is just too weak.

Pak needed few more spinners. On a rank turner playing 4pacers was calamitous to beggin with. The spinners who were there bowled far too full, leg sided, poor areas and too quick - needed to flight the ball, try spinning the ball, on right areas and let the pitch do the rest.

to be fair no one expected it to grip like that until Ashwin bowled the 2nd over.

especially for som1 who is playing as an "all-rounder," his over 6 runs economy on this square turner was amazing.

move on...... the guy is neither a genuine all-rounder nor a good thinking cricketer.

if he was smart, he would have had slip on his very first ball against Yuvraj.

Simply a one dimensional cricketer.

Tiger yaar read my op regarding slip in Hafeez disgusted thread.

Rather than blaming captain you are blaming bowler ?

Already dil toota hua ooper se :'(

I disagree. Butt was much better than most of the dross that turned up after Saeed Anwar.
no he wasnt

apart from a bit of indian bashing butt was as useless as the rest of em

Shehzad is technically awful; no feet movement. However, I would be content to have him in the test format.

As for technical batsmen; Malik is up there. Asad is technically OK; but lacks mentality to succeed at top level. Umar Amin is also technically OK; but mentally fragile. Only reason why Azhar has progressed ahead of him is because Azhar has shown grit and determination.

Again, he is a part-time spinner. Don't expect him to bowl like a specialist.

That's the difference. He doesn't have a good bowling brain or the skills to execute it. He was finished as a bowler a decade ago.

Actually, along with his batting, he's in the side because of his bowling. He was picked because he can offer that spin option, one that Hafeez can no longer because of his ban. He may be a part-time spinner in essence, but he was brought to India to fulfill the role of a specialist spinner. There is no doubt in my mind that he knew that he'd have to play a specialist spinner's role.

"Finished as a bowler a decade ago'' shouldn't be an excuse for what has been a very terrible bowling performance from him on a pitch that was helping even Raina, a part-part-time spinner.

Point is, we shouldn't be thanking Malik for anything. He's looked the best batsman on show, and Afridi should've known better than to go in to this game with 4 seamers.

Malik has definitely become an important cog in this team, and I do hope that he continues to churn out runs for Pakistan.

His bowling though is atrocious right now. Was terrible in NZ, was bad in the PSL, was really bad today. Is it his fault that the no-brain trust picked him as one of only two actual spin options? No. But it's still an issue that he's so poor with the ball.

Then again everyone else is poor with the bat so who cares.

His bowling 'll be more than sufficient to be 5th bowler (not 6th, 5th), if he himself puts his fielders.

Apart from the slip fielder (I know why MoHa was smiling later - he must have said that, unless we get one of them out now, match won't go till 18th like Asia Cup, Afridi told him to go to squire leg & said that - Larke Lenge, like 1952 Lakhnow Test) - Malik's entire bowling plot was destroyed by the field placing.

On a turner, against lefti, a classical off spinner should bowl 6-3 with all 3 on leg boundary, 3 men in short cover, extra cover & backward point; a slip, a backward point on line (fast runner, covering for both short 3rd man & sweeper) & a long off so that he can flight the ball bowling round the wicket & entice drive on a turner or slog across, for that 3 men waiting on leg line.

The Chosen One put a short fine leg, a mid wicket & 3 men on leg boundary, while just 4 on the off-side; now what do you think, he 'll bowl out side off & allow UV a free swing with absolutely no threat from miscuing one?

Next time, whenever pilgrims from Lalaland comes to worship about captaincy, I 'll pick this match - watched every bit by ball.
[MENTION=138468]tigerkhan[/MENTION]

They were 15 short. Regardless, we still had the game in our control for a brief period and Afridi's captaincy let it all slip.

We lost the game when Malik came on and Afridi opted to go without a slip and missed the chance. He brought a slip in after but it was too late. Malik is a part time bowler and you can't expect him to create numerous chances. That was the crucial moment of the game for Pakistan which allowed India to build a match winning partnership.

If India is 4 down at 40 odd with Dhoni in, we could've put India under serious pressure by bringing Sami and Amir for an over each, cutting off the singles by bringing the field in.

atleast appreciate Sami bowling today ?

There is no appreciation tread for Mohammad Sami bowling in pakpassion which is shocker for me atleast we should appreciate his bowling and efforts for the team he might be 35 in age but bowls around 140 + he is better than that Wahab Riaz .

Was Raina bowling to the best batsman in the world?

Are u serious? Did the other batsmen not bring their bats with them?

Next time we have the world's great batsmen, should we automatically skip the over and give the 10-15 runs?

Bro Malik is not half a bowler he used to be with his illegal doosra. He makes the cut because he is an "all-rounder," as per team management. I appreciate that u might be a fan of Malik but he just simply not a decent bowler that you assume him to be.

There is a reason that he doesn't get to bowl in majority of the games.

People laughed at me when I said I was gonna put a bet on my rivals to win today. The only thing I'm pleased about is that we kinda ruined India's NRR just like in 2012 when they got knocked out by SA. It's important for us now to focus on NZ and hope our excellent record lives up to its name.

They will play BD next. They can make up all the NRR they want on the flattest Bangalore track.

Still don't understand why Afridi kept bowling himself, Malik and even Irfan ahead of Sami/Aamir. We needed wickets to win and Afridis strange plan to save overs till the end, cost us this game.

^ No Taskin, 4-0-40-0 Mustafizur, India's favorite Al-Amin, aging Mashrafe and out of form Shakib. BD team is going to get an epic phainty with Rohit on full flow on a flat deck against his favorite team. If Pak batting can score 200 against the BD bowling, you know what Indians can do on a flatter deck

Yep. He bowled very well. Most of the posters thought Imad should have replaced him for some reason

Still don't understand why Afridi kept bowling himself, Malik and even Irfan ahead of Sami/Aamir. We needed wickets to win and Afridis strange plan to save overs till the end, cost us this game.

Trying to be the hero thinking he could dismiss Kohli who was toying with him.

Huh? He bowled a load of filth and got a couple of wickets because the batsmen were surprised when Sami accidentally landed the ball near a good area.

^ No Taskin, 4-0-40-0 Mustafizur, India's favorite Al-Amin, aging Mashrafe and out of form Shakib. BD team is going to get an epic phainty with Rohit on full flow on a flat deck against his favorite team. If Pak batting can score 200 against the BD bowling, you know what Indians can do on a flatter deck
Mate calm the hype down. Like any bowler Mustaf had a bad day in the Asia cup against Ind (having just returned from an Injury), he will have bad days, he is human. even the likes of mighty Steyns and Rababda's been gone for 50runs in 4overs. But, don't act like Mustafiz hasn't ripped India apart on his own before.

We won't see Pakistan beating India in a world cup, atleast not in my lifetime

To be fair conditions were almost the same through out the game.
The toss matters? Yes, definitely but then the results should be announced right after the toss. Noo need to go through the exercise of actually playing the game.

these are professional cricketers. They are getting paid to play cricket. They should always have plans to play under adverse conditions.

India would have still won if they had batted first. They are just a superior team right now.

i am yet to see a 36+ bowler bowling at 145 + ... We should commend him for that... may be he is in his last lap... he achieved less than he should have but he was never a mediocre bowler...

For all those who think the score wasn't enough i agree but 118 wasn't to bad and was definitely defend-able.
what shocked me was the turn and bounce the indian spinner's where extracting from the pitch.
It was turning square,where as Pakistani spinner bowled way to pitched up and didn't allow the ball time to turn.
If any one really paid attention to the lengths of the indian spinner's
they would have seen they generally bowled just short of a length which allowed the ball more time to turn.

Afridi's captaincy and bowling today fell apart.

You make some good observations.

By Pakistani standards, Shehzad is technically okay because at least he plays with a straight bat. Most of our batsmen are leg-side sloggers.

However, by international standards, he is average.

I have put Shehzad criticism to bed because I have resigned to the fact that he is the best available opener in the country, after witnessing the plight of the likes of Manzoor, Sharjeel and Sami Aslam.

Absolutely agree, by international standard Shehzad is average but by far the best in Pakistan. There git to be many better than Sharjeel.

Huh? He bowled a load of filth and got a couple of wickets because the batsmen were surprised when Sami accidentally landed the ball near a good area.

If only others could have also bowled faith and surprised batsman like he did, we might have won the match.

Sami has been a disappointment for most of his career but give credit where its due, he and Aamir were the only bowlers that looked even remotely threatening

Few good balls followed by gutter trash ending him up with a rpo of 8.50, not that great. You want us to appreciate 2 wickets? Hey how about we start winning when it matters and appreciate that instead? You know, a collective team effort and not 1 or 2 overs by random bowlers? :srt

Now Nehra is the one who should be appreciated along with Amir. Other pacers got spanked and these two lefties came out unscathed.

Actually, PAK won the toss at Centurion - then PAK's superstar Fast bowler Captain opted to bat 1st in a Day game, on a ground having 80%+ successful chasing record in Day matches - that too after over night rain delayed the toss for few minutes & PAK playing with 4 regular pacers ..................... ittefaq se, same guy was part of the TANK, that had chosen 4 fast bowlers on a dead slow Eden rank turner.

Brother , the lesser we say about Waqar The better.

Its really saddening to see him as a Head coach :(

Mate calm the hype down. Like any bowler Mustaf had a bad day in the Asia cup against Ind (having just returned from an Injury), he will have bad days, he is human. even the likes of mighty Steyns and Rababda's been gone for 50runs in 4overs. But, don't act like Mustafiz hasn't ripped India apart on his own before.

Exactly. The Indians had a couple of off days and you shouldn't hype him much. They are humans too and mightier batsmen have fallen for lesser bowlers. They just had a grueling WC and were tired. You get it now.

Imad is wicket to wicket bowler ...we needed off spinner for today match which we don't have in our squad .

Na man. His trajectory is the flattest I've seen. Atleast Afridi gives the ball a bit of air.

Well, Imad was actually giving the ball some flight in the last match against BD. Who knows, maybe seeing the pitch Imad would've given the ball some air as well, but we can't live in ifs and buts.

That's true. Who knows? But his replacement Sami actually bowled very well in the first over. TBH, that;s the only phase of the game when I thought Pakistan were ahead. He turned the game into Pakistan's favor.

Until Kaptaan phuntaastic came to the rescue. :sa

Issue is with afridi lovers. He performs on days when the platform is already laid for him. Against Bengalis he came in with a solid platform and bowled in the power play knowing he has runs to play with. Absolute pathetic coward... In the big games I have never EVER seen afridi perform albeit his 2009 T20 heroics. Since that tournament he has only shown true courage and leadership and guts in irrelevant/pressureless games.

And to be honest, that's the issue with Pakistan. Bunch of heartless scared, gutless individuals. The reason Kohli always rolls over Pakistan is because he comes out with determination and absolute adrenaline surge wanting to destroy Pakistan. Pakistani players on the other pray and bite nails that they somehow pull of a win. You don't play cricket like that.... You'll never win anything like that.

Brother , the lesser we say about Waqar The better.

Its really saddening to see him as a Head coach :(

Most interestingly, he does identify his role - it's not that he is not aware of what a Head Coach's role is. Recently, he did say that his role is to identify team combination, help players to find improvement areas, plan on games .......... It's just that he not good enough for the role he is hired. And, PCB is persisting with him for 5 years now.

True. But it was the same Sami who bowled no ball after no ball and lost the match sgaindt Bangladesh. Sami is blow hot, blow cold.

Actually, PAK won the toss at Centurion - then PAK's superstar Fast bowler Captain opted to bat 1st in a Day game, on a ground having 80%+ successful chasing record in Day matches - that too after over night rain delayed the toss for few minutes & PAK playing with 4 regular pacers ..................... ittefaq se, same guy was part of the TANK, that had chosen 4 fast bowlers on a dead slow Eden rank turner.
This.

Sent from my SM-G925W8 using Tapatalk

Hardly blockbuster, more like a flop movie. We surrendered again meekly.

Hope we meet in finals somehow. If we can't beat India there, then we never deserved to win it all. If we win, we end the streak and win the gold and thoroughly deserve it.

Afridi bowled on good lengths in last game and got 2 wickets. He batted superbly as well.

Sometimes I dont understand what happens to him against us... It was a very good wicket for spinners. He is a leg spinner. If Jaddu can spin, surely he can but he didnt allowed it to get spin. Why he didnt bowl in same way the way he did against Ban?

Sami and Amir were the only two who adjusted their lengths. They both can also ball cutters which should have been utilized more. It was because of Sami that we had a game. What was required after that is Afridi and Imad bowling and turning the ball for next 8 overs like Jadeja and Ashwin did. That never happened. Afridi was full and enough already said about Imad.

then drop irfan or wahab for Immad or nawaz I would of played both

1999 was the best chance. It was an ATG Pakistani team chasing a sub par Indian score. 2011 on the contrary had ATG Indian batsman. I get you though. 4 dropped catches of Tendulkar with that dubious LBW decision were just outrageous.

I think 1996 was the best chance Pakistan had. They were well on their way when Sohail decided to sledge Prasad, and lost his wicket next ball trying to follow through. India had its back against the wall, and owes a debt of gratitude to Sohail.

In 1996 Pakistan were 113 for 1 after about 15 overs (RR of > 7.5) when Sohail started his mini-drama. Given that the asking RR at the beginning of the innings was only 5.76, and the required RR was only about 5 one can say Pakistan was well on its way to victory.

In 1999 in contrast, Pakistan were reduced to 65 for 4 after 17.4 overs (RR = 3.68), and 78 for 5 after 24.2 overs (RR = 3.22). There wasn't any point in the Pakistan innings that it seemed they were likely to win.

The 11-0 streak was most in danger in Bengaluru on March 9, 1996.

Lara and Yusuf were right, 118 was a winning total here, but none of your bowlers had the quality to trouble the out of form Indian batsmen on a mine field of a pitch,Amir kept bowling a wide line to avoid getting hit, Irfan was putting it half way through the pitch, Wahab was also putting it half way through the pitch, Sami actually got 2 wickets!!! Shoaib already said in a recent interview "Jise dunya me kuchh bhi nahi aata use off spin to aati hi hai" and afridi has never performed against India, a B'Deshi,Lankan,Kiwi,proteas,Poms,Aussie or Windies attack would have defended this score against India 9/10 times but Pakistan couldn't, the quality is just not there

Na man. His trajectory is the flattest I've seen. Atleast Afridi gives the ball a bit of air.

So was Jadeja's yesterday and he was turning square while bowling flat and quick

Afridi has no game awareness at all. His captaincy has been seriously lacking. He can't read the pitch, doesn't play according to match situation, doesn't select the right combination. His field placements are horrid and his bowling changes are the worst. In all his years of experience this dud has learnt zilch

Agreed. Stupid decision to drop Imad Wasim. We should have played Imad and Nawaz in place of Wahab and Sami (although Sami got 2 wickets, he still was bashed in the next over and his no-balls are just too hard to watch). And we need to accept the fact that our bowling unit is over-rated. On these pitches, playing 4 fast bowlers, were our captain and coach high?

Lara and Yusuf were right, 118 was a winning total here, but none of your bowlers had the quality to trouble the out of form Indian batsmen on a mine field of a pitch,Amir kept bowling a wide line to avoid getting hit, Irfan was putting it half way through the pitch, Wahab was also putting it half way through the pitch, Sami actually got 2 wickets!!! Shoaib already said in a recent interview "Jise dunya me kuchh bhi nahi aata use off spin to aati hi hai" and afridi has never performed against India, a B'Deshi,Lankan,Kiwi,proteas,Poms,Aussie or Windies attack would have defended this score against India 9/10 times but Pakistan couldn't, the quality is just not there

Agreed. We choke against India (historically in world cups and recently in all matches). And we have a mediocre team. The cherry on top was our team selection - playing four fast bowlers on a turning pitch - AMAZING.

To Afridi / Waqar / Team Management - This is not Australia. Stop this over-reliance on your pacers and stop praising our over-rated fast bowling attack. They get taken to the cleaners a lot.

I don't understand why we can't come to the realisation that Pakistan is no longer a formidable force in international cricket. We've fallen off the edge people! And the sooner we as fans realise this and the sooner the team management and players themselves realise this, we can start the rebuilding work and start preparing for the future of Pakistan cricket

Went how I expected it to go with a score of 120 on the board

Should drop Sami and Sharjeel for the next game

Or we can see keep seeing Sharjeel fail and laugh at how horrible he is

Sami?! Wahab did better? Two games now that Mr. Big Game has failed to turn up. What is he waiting for?

I've been visiting this forums for a few years now but never signed up for a account but after the forums being locked out for guests I finally decided to make one. As for the game it was really painful to watch us lose yet another game to India in world events it seems like we will defeat them.

Actually almost any match Pak bowling > Ind Bowling ... its always been that way over the years. but it never turns out that way for big matches. Today was the best opportunity and it wasnt like they had to bo on top for 50 overs. Just 13 overs. Mohali was headed only one way the moment Sehwag took out Gul. Unless one of your superstar bowlers do the same to our batsmen there is really no contest because your batting is just too weak.

Agreed.

LOL if anything this game was in our hands when we scored 120 odd runs . Batting was first was ok.

Really after many many wc games we had india for the taking. Breaking thr streak at eden gardens packed housd. The script couldnt have been written better.

Afridi for me and many pak fans will go down as a big big loser. He gifted india this match.

Breaking the streak in front of all the guys who tried and failed and all the guys who came out victorious. Winning a match full of cosntroversies and drama even before it started, while Imran, Wasim, Waqar, Akhtar, Sachin, Gavaskar, Ganguly, Sehwag etc watching and replying in kind in front of 1 lakh people!!

Throw in the heavy bollywood presence led by Amitabh, richest people in the world, politicians and CM of the state and you would have a victory that would have washed all previous 10 sins.

Phew, thank gods it didnt happen, or else we would not have heard the end of it here.

1999 was the best chance. It was an ATG Pakistani team chasing a sub par Indian score. 2011 on the contrary had ATG Indian batsman. I get you though. 4 dropped catches of Tendulkar with that dubious LBW decision were just outrageous.

I think 1996 was the best chance Pakistan had. They were well on their way when Sohail decided to sledge Prasad, and lost his wicket next ball trying to follow through. India had its back against the wall, and owes a debt of gratitude to Sohail.

In 1996 Pakistan were 113 for 1 after about 15 overs (RR of > 7.5) when Sohail started his mini-drama. Given that the asking RR at the beginning of the innings was only 5.76, and the required RR was only about 5 one can say Pakistan was well on its way to victory.

In 1999 in contrast, Pakistan were reduced to 65 for 4 after 17.4 overs (RR = 3.68), and 78 for 5 after 24.2 overs (RR = 3.22). There wasn't any point in the Pakistan innings that it seemed they were likely to win.

The 11-0 streak was most in danger in Bengaluru on March 9, 1996.

The 1992 Match for me. Thought we were dead and burried when Pak were 100/2 half way with a well set Javed and Sohail with plenty of good batting to come (Moin at #9 lol) on a decent pitch and Massive ground to defend). Then Tendulkar happened (with the ball) :) getting rid of Sohail and from there they collapsed to 173.

http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/65133.html

Pakistan's losing point Pakistan haven't any off spinner like AJMAL. Pakistan have GOOD bowling attack but spin is must on Indian Pitches. But next match against New Zealand I think pitch will help pace and bounce.