India vs England: Video of Mohammed Siraj grabbing Kuldeep Yadav by the neck raises eyebrows

Bhaag Viru Bhaag

Mohammed Siraj grabs Kuldeep Yadav by the neck, video goes viral.

The video is a screengrab of post-stumps scenes in the Indian dressing room, where fast bowler Mohammed Siraj could be seen grabbing wrist-spinner Kuldeep Yadav by the back of his neck.

siraj-kuldeep-fight-bcci_1612671284068_1612671291545.jpg

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/avprrd" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

A video involving India cricketers Mohammed Siraj and Kuldeep Yadav has created quite the buzz on social media. The video is a screengrab of post-stumps scenes in the Indian dressing room, where fast bowler Mohammed Siraj could be seen grabbing wrist-spinner Kuldeep Yadav by the back of his neck.

The incident took place after the end of Day 2 of the first Test between India and England, with the camera focusing on the Indian team dressing room. In a short clip, Siraj aggressively grabs Kuldeep, but before anything else could be seen, the camera tilted towards head coach Ravi Shastri.

Although the act raises a few concerns, its context is clearly not known. While it could be something questionable, it could also be simply a gesture between two friends. Both Siraj and Kuldeep are not part of India's Playing XI in the Chennai Test with Ishant Sharma and Shahbaz Nadeem getting the nod over them.

Siraj was one of the architects of India’s memorable Test series win against Australia Down Under. Siraj made his debut in the second Test in Melbourne, picking up five wickets. He dismissed Marnus Labuschagne for his maiden Test wicket and got the wickets of Cameron Green. In the second innings, he grabbed 3/37 as India recorded a great comeback win to level the series 1-1.

In the fourth Test in Brisbane, leading India’s bowling attack, Siraj registered his maiden five-wicket-haul in Tests. Kuldeep on the other hand has not played a Test match since January of 2019. He missed out playing the Gabba Test with Washington Sundar getting preference over him.

The last Test Kuldeep played, he picked up a wicket-wicket-haul – against Australia in Sydney during the 2018-19 Border Gavaskar Trophy. He played one ODI against Australia during the recently-concluded tour, picking up 1/57. Several former cricketers were amazed at his omission from India's Playing XI for the Chennai Test.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...k-video-goes-viral-watch-101612671218426.html

Lol, that does not look friendly at all.

Grabbing by the neck is one of the most endearing ways to bond with your male friends. And you don't need to be a rowdy to do that :)

Move on.

Both players are of same age, similar experience. Relax! There is nothing that one can make of that.

Siraj is still very young in his career.

Siraj needs to be reprimanded if not suspended for this type of behavior. Not professional.

I think the fact that his name starts with Mohammad is why it's all over the news.

I've done this so many times in my life and had my neck grabbed too. It's a stupid thing but for some reason is a habit among friends.

Yeah. Hopefully our third class media won't give a religious angle to this because it can get very nasty pretty quickly.

This happens quite alot between male friends. Especially in our part of the world.

Nothing to worry about, they're still friends I'm sure

Yeah. Hopefully our third class media won't give a religious angle to this because it can get very nasty pretty quickly.

What do you expect?

Hyderabadi Muslim attacks UP Hindu.

I can already see Arnab salivating at the prospect of repeating Siraj's name while putting emphasis on Mohammad, just like he goes on an on about the Rome Vatican Congress and emphasizes Robert in Vadra :rabada2

Seriously among friends we do this type of stuff all the time sometimes if it’s a shorter friend like kuldeep it clearly a friendly thing they wouldn’t have anything against each other lol

Nothing to see. Indian media just being the idiot it is.

If it was a scuffle, Kuldeep would not have reacted like that to that grab. It is obvious that they are frank with each other. Many members here live abroad in western countries and are not accustomed to seeing men interacting with each other like that.

This does not look friendly, kuldeep looks like he has crapped his pants reluctant to make eye contact must have done something? Siraj looks proper peed off

How can people simply say it's friendly without more information?

This looks far from friendly. Mohammad looks forceful while Kuldeep appears to naturally take a submissive stance as if he's not expecting it. Not the body language of two people who are used to being that way with eachother.

Meh. We do it all the time. There's a surprise element into it and that's why the shocking reaction (that's the purpose).

If it is bullying then Kuldeep can address it through the proper channel. It's not like siraj is a very big player who has greater influence.

I think you should see the context also! Players seem like getting back from field (I am not able to catch this match fully live so far!) Siraj welcomes another player while he has friendly/affectionate grab towards Kuldeep! (Perhaps remotely/internally indicating that they both might get chance to play for the team sometime OR even if it means that they are still part of it not playing the match!)

Roti gang does that too each other all the time. If he wasn't muslim this wouldnt even be a thread.

A bit of a fight breaks out between two among a group of guys, it happens, things are usually friendly by the next day.

It's just an alpha male exerting dominance.... sorry I've been watching a lot of nature documentaries recently! Just needed David Attenborough to do the voiceover...

Seriously? Pic is misleading but video does give proper context. People thinking this was aggressive posture probably never visited SC in their entire lifetime.

Until we know what was the context, you can't make up things. We do it all the times among each other in a friendly way. For an example: "Yaar, tu hi har baar pay karta hai, agar next baar try bhi kiya to......"

All seems ok between the two here :)

After the 2nd innings of the 2nd Test. Siraj had smashed a couple of sixes....

sirajkuldeep.jpg

It's just an alpha male exerting dominance.... sorry I've been watching a lot of nature documentaries recently! Just needed David Attenborough to do the voiceover...

if you have been watching recent documentaries, you will know that alpha beta theory has been thoroughly debunked, even in wolves (the species for which these terms were coined)