"Indian cricket survives on money alone, whereas Pakistan cricket is based on talent": Javed Miandad

Quotes coming through from a function where Javed Miandad spoke about the current Indo-Pak situation

Some quotes (rough translation from Urdu)

"Indian cricket survives on money alone, whereas Pakistan cricket is based on talent"

"Indian people should stop their PM from making aggressive statements - I am sure such statements do not represent the will of the Indian people"

"We should not run after India to play a series with us, we can always play a series against another country"

I would have felt bad probably if some known intellectual or a professional media personality like Imran or Wasim, Zaheer Abbass had said that but Miandad, well as a great a cricketer he was is not known to be a great spokesman. He's a great fellow though, respected by cricketers all around and actually come across as a very humble and soft spoken guy during India-Pak joint discussion.

This is just another case of a Pakistani being a little careless with the local media. So case closed, no offense taken. :)

And Pakistani people should stop you from making statements but that isn't possible either!

Wouldnt surprise me if he recommends the PCB award talent to the Man of the Match instead of money to cut costs.

Pakistan of yesteryears survived purely on individual brilliance, despite a non functional board and ego clashes in the dressing room. But the Pakistan post 2000 survival is "ALSO" due to Misbah, who led Pakistan during the toughest time. Cricket in exile, shadow of spot fixing, turmoil in the country and a dysfunctional board, yet he managed to lead Pakistan out through the turbulence, and now there is a feeling that Pakistan cricket can just face any adversity. Misbah may not be appreciated a lot now, but I am sure history will salute his contributions.

Good to see you Genty.

Misbah came in post 2007, and took control of the team post 2010.

Misbah became a regular member after 2010 and took the team to lowest rankings in ODI

Javed backed his words with his actions though. Indian cricket is all about money, but that has led to about 100 millionaires (in US$) from cricket & another 1000 who can take the game as profession - that's about average $25k/year for 15-20 years of FC career.

PAK cricket is all about talent & passion (He missed it, I am adding) - so in about half a decade as Director General, Cricket Operations, Javed & Co has developed a fantastic Domestic style, from which apart from top 50 players, rest earns $25/match.........inclusive of food & allowances.

What talent? India has produced better talent than Pakistan in the last 10-15 years compared to the 90's

Sent from my SM-G925W8 using Tapatalk

"Indian cricket survives on money AND talent whereas Pakistan cricket is based on talent alone." This would've been a better statement.

Miandad sees money are haram. That's why Miandad didn't take even a paisa for his non working honorary post of MD in PCB during Ejaz Butt's chairmanship

Anyway if India has only money and its Pakistan which got talent then what's purpose of playing with such a talentless boring team? Just some easy money to fill the pocket?

i being of Pakistan origin apologist to any Indian fans offended by this very disrespectful comment by another former Pakistan cricket atg, Indian cricket is were it is today thru BCCI professionalism not like the musical chairs that our PCB is famous for

Laughable to say the least. Talent? What talent? Those 3 guys who are tying to come into the team after selling off their team and it's fans 5 years back?

If you see the amount of money and structure and stability from which Indian players are coming out from,. and then see the lack of money and lack of structure and lack of stability from which Pakistani players are coming out from. Theres a big difference.

Inspite of that difference both teams are evenly matched nowadays.

This I think would complete Miandads' and most peoples' sentiments.

He is right. What is the talent of Virat Kohli compared to that of Ahmed Shehzad and Umar Akmal? He bought those 22 ODIs hundreds at the age of 26 in 161 ODIs with BCCI money, while our players are breaking world records and recently scored 4 Test hundreds in Australia in one series and equalled Viv Richards' records through sheer natural ability and hard work.

In Pakistan most people believe Umar Akmal and Shehzad are rated on par with Kohli, actually.
your sarcasm is kinda off here.

What exactly was Miandad's salary under various roles in PCB? I suppose he took home only "talent" as salary.

In Pakistan most people believe Umar Akmal and Shehzad are rated on par with Kohli, actually.
your sarcasm is kinda off here.

Yes, that's the tragedy of it.

I should have added my signature 'typical Pakistani fan' to it.

Javed bhai, aaloo pak gaye he aa ke kha lo

As they say in Punjabi - 'Dakka ni todeya ess bande ne', Miandad is a slacker through and through, bottom feeder and leeching PCB all the time.

Former Pakistan captain and coach Javed Miandad urged on Sunday the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) to stop pleading the Board of Control for Cricket (BCCI) in India to resume bilateral ties.

Miandad said the provoking statements given by Indian leaders and ministers were unfortunate and would not help Indo-Pak cricket relations.

“I don’t think these inflammatory statements are a true reflection of the feelings of the Indian masses towards Pakistan and they are not helping us move forward in improving ties,” Miandad said, according to the Press Trust of India.

Further, Miandad said given the shifty attitude of the Indian cricket board towards the India-Pakistan series, it is wiser for the PCB to stop running after them and instead focus on organising series against other teams.

“Pakistan has always been superior to India in cricket and we have more raw cricketing talent compared to them. Their cricket is surviving on money and commercialism,” the legendary batsman stated.

“It is good if both countries can resume bilateral ties but not at the cost of our self—respect and pride,” he added.
Source: http://tribune.com.pk/story/951762/stop-running-after-bcci-javed-miandad-tells-pcb/

Pathetic statement. Miandad may have been a great cricketer, but he doesn't have the basic professionalism.

And all other players of the world loses the match and gets money from Bcci to let india win. And trio sell their talents cause of money. Money rules talents. Give me one cup of talent please.

Its a half true statement from Miandad. Definitely India has produced great bunch of batsman in this modern era of cricket but has failed to produced quality bowlers.

Former Pakistan captain and coach Javed Miandad urged on Sunday the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) to stop pleading the Board of Control for Cricket (BCCI) in India to resume bilateral ties.

Miandad said the provoking statements given by Indian leaders and ministers were unfortunate and would not help Indo-Pak cricket relations.

“I don’t think these inflammatory statements are a true reflection of the feelings of the Indian masses towards Pakistan and they are not helping us move forward in improving ties,” Miandad said, according to the Press Trust of India.

Further, Miandad said given the shifty attitude of the Indian cricket board towards the India-Pakistan series, it is wiser for the PCB to stop running after them and instead focus on organising series against other teams.

“Pakistan has always been superior to India in cricket and we have more raw cricketing talent compared to them. Their cricket is surviving on money and commercialism,” the legendary batsman stated.

“It is good if both countries can resume bilateral ties but not at the cost of our self—respect and pride,” he added.
Source: http://tribune.com.pk/story/951762/stop-running-after-bcci-javed-miandad-tells-pcb/

now I realize why "talent" is the most abused word in PP .... cant blame the regular fans when Great players from the country have this sort of mindset . :facepalm:

Iam pretty sure JM will find some excuse to explain how Ind has more WC wins , the 25+ yr long winning streak in WC against Pak, more wins against Aus in Tests etc etc ... Maybe we bankrolled all those wins. :))

I agree with Javed which I don't normally do but in this case, I 100% agree with him.

now I realize why "talent" is the most abused word in PP .... cant blame the regular fans when Great players from the country have this sort of mindset . :facepalm:

Iam pretty sure JM will find some excuse to explain how Ind has more WC wins , the 25+ yr long winning streak in WC against Pak, more wins against Aus in Tests etc etc ... Maybe we bankrolled all those wins. :))

Bhai to kya WC k ilawa matches charity k leye the?

And Pakistani people should stop you from making statements but that isn't possible either!
He told the reality, nothing offensive.
[/IMG]

Sent from my QMobile X35 using Tapatalk

Pathetic from Javed Miandad. India team also has talent they won the last CT, 2011 World Cup and 2007 Wt20 in the last ten years you cant do that unless you have talent.

What exactly was Miandad's salary under various roles in PCB? I suppose he took home only "talent" as salary.

Spot on. The domestic players are payed peanuts and these people earn 100K $ salaries while working for PCB. In India atleast a domestic player earns 25 to 30 lakh Indian rupees just by playing domestic matches(even if they dont play IPL). atleast they can ensure that domestic players earn an appropriate salary then if if they compare then its OK.

Stop running after BCCI, Javed Miandad tells PCB

stop-running-after-bcci-javed-miandad-tells-pcb-1441549295-2466.jpg

Karachi: Former Pakistan captain and Coach Javed Miandad today urged the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) to stop pleading the Board of Control for Cricket (BCCI) to resume bilateral ties, Indian state run PTI reported.

Miandad said that the provoking statements given by Indian leaders and ministers were unfortunate and would not help Indo-Pak cricket relations.

Further, Miandad said that given the shifty attitude of the Indian cricket board towards the India-Pakistan series, it is wiser for the PCB to stop running after them and instead focus on organizing series against other teams.

“It is good if both countries can resume bilateral ties but not at the cost of our self-respect and pride,” he added.

http://nation.com.pk/sports/06-Sep-2015/stop-running-after-bcci-javed-miandad-tells-pcb

Why is this guy still relevant enough to be a soundbite

Spot on. The domestic players are payed peanuts and these people earn 100K $ salaries while working for PCB. In India atleast a domestic player earns 25 to 30 lakh Indian rupees just by playing domestic matches(even if they dont play IPL). atleast they can ensure that domestic players earn an appropriate salary then if if they compare then its OK.

i think you just proved Miandads' point

Miandad!! :))

Yup all the talent in the world is located in the Indus Valley!

Sure.

Talent in the wrong direction supported by mass public approval.

Bhai to kya WC k ilawa matches charity k leye the?

zara dhyan sey dekhe tau Test Matches bhi likha hai ... Lekin talent WC mei nahi tau aur kahan istemal karogey ?

For the non-desi public :

IF you look closely I have talked about Test Matches too in that post ... but if you arent going to put your talent to use in WC where else is it going to be used ?

Just for giggles sake ... we have won more World Level Tournaments, Asia cups etc etc than Pakistan. We won both 50 overs and T20 WC before Pak. We Just don't win Enough Kitply or Hajmola cups :))

These Pak ATG should come out of the past and accept the future. The level of Pak team has gone down and down only and if such attitude persists then it will never improve. Being Self Obsessed can still be acceptable but being Self Delusional is criminal

He may have a point here. Not completely true ....But financial security of players definitely helps develop a positive mindset on their game.

Sure thing Javed-guess all that talent India produced which took them to being number one in the world & World Cup winners was just an illusion?

zara dhyan sey dekhe tau Test Matches bhi likha hai ... Lekin talent WC mei nahi tau aur kahan istemal karogey ?

For the non-desi public :

IF you look closely I have talked about Test Matches too in that post ... but if you arent going to put your talent to use in WC where else is it going to be used ?

Just for giggles sake ... we have won more World Level Tournaments, Asia cups etc etc than Pakistan. We won both 50 overs and T20 WC before Pak. We Just don't win Enough Kitply or Hajmola cups :))

your overall record against Pakistan still stinks..so not sure how you winning more cups proves anything.

One would expect a team that supposedly has more "talent" to win more of the big tournament cups. Hasnt been the case though has it.

"We have a talent, thats a fact!! Winning is for mere mortals! We are simply the talented blessed people on earth"

No offence but if you really had a talent factory, you would not be waiting with bated breath for 5 years for bans of convicted fixers to get over and would not be so desperately asking PCB to forgive 4 times convicted player like Asif. If you couldn't find replacements for some fixers for 5 years, where is the talent?

so with this logic, are the South Africans not talented?

"We have a talent, thats a fact!! Winning is for mere mortals! We are simply the talented blessed people on earth"

Imagine going into wars with "talented" soldiers and end up in jail for moral victories.....

Just means they're chokers hence the choker tag that follows them everywhere.

not sure what your point is. Your first post said teams with talent should win "big tournaments"...based on that South Africa are talent-less

They arent talentless, they just havent been good enough to win on the big stage so far.

I personally believe that in order for Pakistan(maybe even generally as a country) to improve, the word 'talent' should now be considered a swear word and one must serve jail time if they openly use it.

They arent talentless, they just havent been good enough to win on the big stage so far.

and Pakistan is talentless because they haven't won as many "big tournaments" as India? or is that not what you meant to imply in your initial post

I personally believe that in order for Pakistan(maybe even generally as a country) to improve, the word 'talent' should now be considered a swear word and one must serve jail time if they openly use it.

replace talent with either "dawood" or "hafiz saeed" for India

and Pakistan is talentless because they haven't won as many "big tournaments" as India? or is that not what you meant to imply in your initial post

Did you even read my original post properly? where did i say teams were talentless. Every team has players who have some form of talent otherwise how can they be selected for the national team among all the others who play in domestic cricket hoping for the same thing? If anything the way Miandad made his statement it sounded like he was the one who was saying that only Pakistan has all the talent in the world and India is talentless. So if that was true, my question to him and other Pakistani's who also have the same opinion, why arent you winning more world cups and dominating world cricket in general because thats what talented teams are capable of right?

Historically...Pakistan has produced more talented fast bowlers and India produced more talented batsman. Both countries produced same amount of talented spinners, probably with bit of edge to India due to venkat-prasanna-bedi combo.

For Miandad to come out to say Indian cricket is only based on money is lol worthy.

Someone please tell him, with all the talent in the world their country yet to produce

A) Single test batsman with 10k test runs. SL started playing 4 decades later already has 2 batsman in that league.

B) With all talent in the world, yet to produce a bowler with 500+ test wickets. Talentless Indians and SL players already there.

C) A single ODI batsman with 200+ score. India has 4.

Someone please wake him up and offer him a strong coffee.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

India won the 1983 Worldcup without talent?
Did they also win the Benson and Hedges series in 1985 in Aus without talent.
I am also assuming the 1984 Rothmans cup (inaugral Sharjah cup ) Sharjah win was also without talent.
They must have won it on basis of their BCCI financial power in that era.
But for some strange reason I do not recall BCCI money and the term Big 3 in that era.

I am also wondering how India won 2007 Worldseries (T20) in 2007 not to mention 2011Worldcup of ODIs and champions trophy of 2013 in England if India talent was none

Oh wait now i get it. India has been using Swiss bank accounts to win these tournaments but in 2015 Worldcup they did not have enough money in Swiss bank to win that :))

India won the 1983 Worldcup without talent?
Did they also win the Benson and Hedges series in 1985 in Aus without talent.
I am also assuming the 1984 Rothmans cup (inaugral Sharjah cup ) Sharjah win was also without talent.
They must have won it on basis of their BCCI financial power in that era.
But for some strange reason I do not recall BCCI money and the term Big 3 in that era.

I am also wondering how India won 2007 Worldseries (T20) in 2007 not to mention 2011Worldcup of ODIs and champions trophy of 2013 in England if India talent was none

Oh wait now i get it. India has been using Swiss bank accounts to win these tournaments but in 2015 Worldcup they did not have enough money in Swiss bank to win that :))

One thing people need to remember is that India defeated the West Indies twice in the 1983 World Cup.

Heard many people say that this was a fluke because WI defeated India in the bilateral that followed the WC!!

The thing is India had a very good team for the conditions, though they weren't most talented side during WC 83. We had bowlers who could swing the ball both ways (and their military medium pace made it very difficult for the batsmen to put pace on the ball) and Indian bowlers weren't easy to score off during that WC. We were full of utility players with multiple skills - our fielding was one of the best and our bowlers were more than a handful on swinging English conditions. Though India didn't match the WI team man for man on paper, we were very solid as a team and the English conditions highly favoured both Indian batsmen and bowlers. We were easily the second best team (even if we concede that WI were superior on paper) during WC 83.

It's also quite laughable when commies associate Afridi with the word 'talent' despite being around for forever.