Indian government ends Hajj subsidy for muslims from this year

Madplayer

Senior Test Player
There will be no subsidy for Haj from this year, Minority Affairs Minister Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi said on Tuesday.

Mr. Naqvi told reporters that despite the subsidy withdrawal, a record number of 1.75 lakh Muslims will undertake the pilgrimage this year from India. “This is part of our policy to empower minorities with dignity and without appeasement,” Mr. Naqvi told reporters and cited a host of measures for the welfare of minorities.

http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/government-ends-haj-subsidy-from-this-year/article22450240.ece

This is what muslims had been demanding since a long time. As it was not really a subsidy, and the money can be used for better purposes.

Nice. Lets hope the government stops funding kumbh melas and other yatras as well. People can handle it on their own.

Govt can fund whatever they want. I remember reading about the Haj subsidy in a previous thread, it turned out that while the Haj was indeed subsidised, it was conditional on using Air India on heavily overpriced travel packages. Perhaps this has something to do with the Indian airline being opened up to foreign investors.

Good. Governments should never subsidize religious practices. Throwing good money, from an extremely limited pool no less, after fairy tales in a country where hundreds of millions live in abject poverty is beyond comprehension.

The money which was allocated for haj subsidy is still going to be spent on minorities. Sure the government can stop its expenses for kumbh bandobast, but should also let go off the funds raised by temples.

Yes you are right. And its a good thing that money would be spent for education and all.

By the way Do these temples come under the jurisdiction of State or they fall under autonomous bodies?

Govt can fund whatever they want. I remember reading about the Haj subsidy in a previous thread, it turned out that while the Haj was indeed subsidised, it was conditional on using Air India on heavily overpriced travel packages. Perhaps this has something to do with the Indian airline being opened up to foreign investors.

Of course they can but it is always better let people handle their own religious expenses no matter which faith they belong to.

Good. Governments should never subsidize religious practices. Throwing good money, from an extremely limited pool no less, after fairy tales in a country where hundreds of millions live in abject poverty is beyond comprehension.

Might be fairy tales for you, not for the believers who consider it an important part of their faith.

I agree with the rest.

Yes you are right. And its a good thing that money would be spent for education and all.

By the way Do these temples come under the jurisdiction of State or they fall under autonomous bodies?

Don't know, but they dont have the same freedom like waqf board. And minority schools don't come under Right to Education either. System should apply equally to everyone, but this policy of pick and choose is what adds to resentment as every community feels hard done by.

Might be fairy tales for you, not for the believers who consider it an important part of their faith.

I agree with the rest.

If it's an important part of their faith, they should spend their own money. When public money, in a third world country where every last paisa matters, is wasted this way, people need to speak up. This is literally the equivalent of burning hundred Rupee bills in front of a beggar.

Don't know, but they dont have the same freedom like waqf board. And minority schools don't come under Right to Education either. System should apply equally to everyone, but this policy of pick and choose is what adds to resentment as every community feels hard done by.

The Amarnath shrine board here enjoys a lot of freedom.

Education is one place where there should not be any pick and choose in my opinion. But of course its not as simple as that. Lots of things to consider.

If it's an important part of their faith, they should spend their own money. When public money, in a third world country where every last paisa matters, is wasted this way, people need to speak up. This is literally the equivalent of burning hundred Rupee bills in front of a beggar.

True and i agree.

However, do you consider the fact that the state itself uses religion, religious festivals and religious sites in a country to generate profits and circulate money in the economy? The beggars themselves get a lot of charity because of religion.

True and i agree.

However, do you consider the fact that the state itself uses religion, religious festivals and religious sites in a country to generate profits and circulate money in the economy? The beggars themselves get a lot of charity because of religion.
Still a waste. Every Rupee spent on religious activities (even if that Rupee is making returns) is a Rupee wasted. The returns would be minimal and so would the impact compared to if that same money was spent giving an R&D subsidy to a manufacturer, building a road or upgrading facilities at a port.

Many Indian Muslims have been asking for this for years because they claim carrying out Hajj when someone else is picking up the bill, even if it's only a fraction of the bill, is apparently haram.

This is a eyewash. Ending haj subsidy but soending the money only on minorities. Why?

Money should be spent on poor people irrespective of religion.

We need a common civil code, polygamy, cow slaughter ban, minority institution running on public money not following RTE, all these laws are not required in a secular republic.

This is a eyewash. Ending haj subsidy but soending the money only on minorities. Why?

Money should be spent on poor people irrespective of religion.

We need a common civil code, polygamy, cow slaughter ban, minority institution running on public money not following RTE, all these laws are not required in a secular republic.

Hopefully in 2024 when India is a Hindu Rashtra, there won't be any need to continue this secular state nonsense, and the money can be spent on religious causes that matter for the majority religion. The people voted for the BJP to stand guard for the Hindu faith and there should be no shame in saying it.

I completely agree with this decision of the govt. Hajj should be performed with one's own money, not from the taxpayers money.

I agree with the rest.

Again Hajj is compulsory only for those who can afford it. If he can't go there because of financial limitations, it doesn't make him any less Muslim.

Still a waste. Every Rupee spent on religious activities (even if that Rupee is making returns) is a Rupee wasted. The returns would be minimal and so would the impact compared to if that same money was spent giving an R&D subsidy to a manufacturer, building a road or upgrading facilities at a port.

If thats how you look at economy, then there wont be many sectors you would want to invest in. Obviously some activities generate more profit than others. Infact Religious tourism is one sector which was always a big thing. The associated spritual tourism is becoming a big thing and eastern nations are recognising this fact and actually investing in it to maximize profits. It would be great if Pakistan invests in sufi shrines and creates sufi circuits for tourists seeking them. Obviously for that the general security conditions must improve as well.

What government does with the money also depends on what people who elected them into power want.

Again Hajj is compulsory only for those who can afford it. If he can't go there because of financial limitations, it doesn't make him any less Muslim.

I know but the discussion has nothing to do with whether he or anyone else is a muslim or not. Its more about the decision of govt and i think for the 1st time i am seeing that everyone is agreeing with each other lol

That's true.:))

IN many Indian states the temples are under government control The govt sets up specific bodies to administer temples. Mostly manned by Hindu officials. The income generated by temples is supposed to be used for Hindu welfare alone.

But this is one major area of contention in India as the minority institutional are all free of govt control, the BJP/RSS demands the same for hindu temples too. But again that throws up problems of who actually should run them . Unlike the past , the lower castes in most states have tremendous political power, by virtue of having more numbers. So without proper power sharing arrangements being made between the castes, freeing up temples from Govt control won't work .

[MENTION=133135]kaayal[/MENTION]
[MENTION=131678]Madplayer[/MENTION]

How this money should be best used in education?

Should it go into modernisation of Madrasas?

Should it be used to pay fees of minority students who cannot pay for higher education?

Should this be used in primary education?

IN many Indian states the temples are under government control The govt sets up specific bodies to administer temples. Mostly manned by Hindu officials. The income generated by temples is supposed to be used for Hindu welfare alone.

But this is one major area of contention in India as the minority institutional are all free of govt control, the BJP/RSS demands the same for hindu temples too. But again that throws up problems of who actually should run them . Unlike the past , the lower castes in most states have tremendous political power, by virtue of having more numbers. So without proper power sharing arrangements being made between the castes, freeing up temples from Govt control won't work .

Many temples in Kerala have non hindu appointed as administrators by Govt. Thats a bigger issue.

Hopefully in 2024 when India is a Hindu Rashtra, there won't be any need to continue this secular state nonsense, and the money can be spent on religious causes that matter for the majority religion. The people voted for the BJP to stand guard for the Hindu faith and there should be no shame in saying it.

Spot on. I do not understand why Indians are pretending their nation is secular, when they should man up and admit that Modi/Yogi/BJP represent the preservation, longevity, and superiority of the Hindu faith in India. I certainly would have more respect for someone who pulls punches from the front.

Many Indian Muslims have been asking for this for years because they claim carrying out Hajj when someone else is picking up the bill, even if it's only a fraction of the bill, is apparently haram.

yeah you are supposed to perform Hajj only when you can bear the expenses

Spot on. I do not understand why Indians are pretending their nation is secular, when they should man up and admit that Modi/Yogi/BJP represent the preservation, longevity, and superiority of the Hindu faith in India. I certainly would have more respect for someone who pulls punches from the front.

Congress could yet pull the rug from BJP's feet. If they are smart they will launch a campaign highlighting Modi's failure to deliver the promised Hindu temple at Ayodhya. They can reclaim their heritage as India's blue blood party by showing up Modi and the BJP as lily-livered fakes. Imagine if a Gandhi was the one to strike the first stone of the promised temple!

India seem to be focusing a lot on the Muslim pilgrimage
From telling Muslim women they dont need to be accompanied, to telling them what airlines they should fly too to get to Hajj
After promoting Sufism as a peaceful ancient anti tide to modern ‘Wahhabism’ covertly for years at home in Pakistan looks like Modi is showing his cards for once

Makes sense. They should use the money to clean up the ganges , at least it will continue to help some religious folk.

Is this a BJP right wing idea or would Congress have done the same.

The cheapest Hajj package per head for the common man after massive subsidization by the Pakistani govt is Rs 365,000 per head. I know of people who paid their Hajj groups Rs 1.5-2 million per head and complained about the substandard facilities and arrangements.

When i look at the facilities that the people who went on the Rs 365,000 per head package got i.e. 4 meals a day, decent living accomodations with Air conditioners, a fully dedicated team of doctors, round the clock transportation, 42 days stay in Saudi Arabia with some days spent in Jeddah and other days in Makkah. Some would argue that they are performing Hajj for free almost.

Peoples experiences of Hajj is now based on the passport and wallet. SA have made it a booming business. Nonetheless, the expenses should come out of people’s own pocket. If you cannot afford it, than it not obligatory for you to perform the pilgrimage. Simple as can be.

Should it be used to pay fees of minority students who cannot pay for higher education?

It can be used for literally any kind of development. Obviously if the subsidy was meant for muslims, the muslims would expect that it is spent on their development.
Personally, dont mind if it is spent on any kind of development.

Peoples experiences of Hajj is now based on the passport and wallet. SA have made it a booming business. Nonetheless, the expenses should come out of people’s own pocket. If you cannot afford it, than it not obligatory for you to perform the pilgrimage. Simple as can be.

It was a good business for the state because the discounts were made on (over priced) tickets of the state owned carrier called Air India.

Congress could yet pull the rug from BJP's feet. If they are smart they will launch a campaign highlighting Modi's failure to deliver the promised Hindu temple at Ayodhya. They can reclaim their heritage as India's blue blood party by showing up Modi and the BJP as lily-livered fakes. Imagine if a Gandhi was the one to strike the first stone of the promised temple!

Yeah, but does the voter base really care about that though? The anti-Islam sentiment globally should not be correlated with any fictional pro-Hindu/Christianity/Buddhism sentiment. Here in India, the major reason the Congress got defeated in 2014 was not because of some temple, mosque or church but because of the abysmal performance of UPA II from start to finish, complete with scams, a dwindling economy and a Prime Minister who was remote controlled from above. Getting 218 seats in 2009 but 44 in 2014 is pure destruction.

The BJP got voted in on the plank of development and progress, and most will agree that it has left the Manmohan government in the dust, whatever else its shortcomings may be. If the BJP went the same way as UPA II during its next term, I assure you that they will be voted out even if they build 5 temples from milk and honey in Ayodhya. Nobody cares.

One would think that the issue is simply of government control or no government control. And then the tentacles come out and you see why nothing has changed for so long.

You were expecting these sort of replies ?
Makes sense. They should use the money to clean up the ganges , at least it will continue to help some religious folk.

Is this a BJP right wing idea or would Congress have done the same.

Don't know why you added the name of the community to the original headlines.You also didn't mentioned the reason behind government's decision.

The Centre’s decision followed a 2012 Supreme Court order asking that subsidies for the Haj be phased out by 2022 and the money saved (around ₹450 crore annually) diverted to more welfare-oriented activities.

Yeah, but does the voter base really care about that though? The anti-Islam sentiment globally should not be correlated with any fictional pro-Hindu/Christianity/Buddhism sentiment. Here in India, the major reason the Congress got defeated in 2014 was not because of some temple, mosque or church but because of the abysmal performance of UPA II from start to finish, complete with scams, a dwindling economy and a Prime Minister who was remote controlled from above. Getting 218 seats in 2009 but 44 in 2014 is pure destruction.

The BJP got voted in on the plank of development and progress, and most will agree that it has left the Manmohan government in the dust, whatever else its shortcomings may be. If the BJP went the same way as UPA II during its next term, I assure you that they will be voted out even if they build 5 temples from milk and honey in Ayodhya. Nobody cares.

Didnt BJP use the "Congress apeasement of muslims" as a big card in their campaigns? The very slogan "sab ka sath sab ka vikas" was interpreted by many Bjp leaders as the policies which would stop muslim appeasement. Infact modi clearly said in his speeches that there is no "big brother or little brother" for them where the big brother sacrifices for the little brother. He was pointing to some special treatment of muslims by UPA which would stop.

Ofcourse many would say he wasnt wrong in what he said. Thats not the point. The point is that his campaign had communal overtones and the hindutva base line played an important role in getting him elected. The slogan of "Hindu jaag gaya hai" had become very common in those days.

You were expecting these sort of replies ?

Don't know why you added the name of the community to the original headlines.You also didn't mentioned the reason behind government's decision.

The Centre’s decision followed a 2012 Supreme Court order asking that subsidies for the Haj be phased out by 2022 and the money saved (around ₹450 crore annually) diverted to more welfare-oriented activities.

Haj is for muslims, maybe thats why?

And i provided a link to the original article for everyone to read.

Didnt BJP use the "Congress apeasement of muslims" as a big card in their campaigns? The very slogan "sab ka sath sab ka vikas" was interpreted by many Bjp leaders as the policies which would stop muslim appeasement. Infact modi clearly said in his speeches that there is no "big brother or little brother" for them where the big brother sacrifices for the little brother. He was pointing to some special treatment of muslims by UPA which would stop.

Ofcourse many would say he wasnt wrong in what he said. Thats not the point. The point is that his campaign had communal overtones and the hindutva base line played an important role in getting him elected. The slogan of "Hindu jaag gaya hai" had become very common in those days.

It's not a part of the campaign that the voter base took too seriously. Development was the #1 priority. If he had campaigned on the plank of development and development alone, he would have still won. If he had campaigned on solely constructing this whatever temple in Ayodhya and dissing Muslims, people would have been highly skeptical at best.

Yes, I admit that the Muslim stock isn't very high at the moment (be it in India or the rest of the world), but the rest of the voter base have other grievances that they take to the polling booths and make their decisions on.

Haj is for muslims, maybe thats why?

And i provided a link to the original article for everyone to read.

People here know it's for muslims that's why asked you. If you are looking for a fair and balanced discussion rather than finger pointing and mud slinging it's important to mention main details.

It's not a part of the campaign that the voter base took too seriously. Development was the #1 priority. If he had campaigned on the plank of development and development alone, he would have still won. If he had campaigned on solely constructing this whatever temple in Ayodhya and dissing Muslims, people would have been highly skeptical at best.

Yes, I admit that the Muslim stock isn't very high at the moment (be it in India or the rest of the world), but the rest of the voter base have other grievances that they take to the polling booths and make their decisions on.

Yes thats right and fairly obvious that just being communal wouldn't have helped him much. There were other factors like anti-incumbency, mediocrity of UPA and also Modi's promises of development. That goes without saying but do you agree that his campaign did have communal overtones and that did affect the mindset of a lot of people in India for the worse?

People here know it's for muslims that's why asked you. If you are looking for a fair and balanced discussion rather than finger pointing and mud slinging it's important to mention main details.

Its a bit pedantic because i provided the link but i would say okay, my bad. I would be more careful next time.

Yes thats right and fairly obvious that just being communal wouldn't have helped him much. There were other factors like anti-incumbency, mediocrity of UPA and also Modi's promises of development. That goes without saying but do you agree that his campaign did have communal overtones and that did affect the mindset of a lot of people in India for the worse?

I personally think the media lets on more about it than what's actually happening on the ground. Again, I stress that even if there is a slight increase in anti-Muslim sentiment, it's a global phenomenon and not restricted to India.

Not that it makes it right...

Modi got votes due to his clean image and hard work. He is not a dynast and is a workaholic. India need that kind of leadership with high energy, commitment and no corruption. Also what aided him was the positive stories, achievements from the Gujarat and thus Gujarat model.

And thats the problem with Congress , as they dont have any alternative vision nor success stories. What are some achievements of any Congress governments in last 4 years? Its shameful that there is none and thats why they keep whining about secularism and spreading fear. And havent even started talking about Rahul and his absolute zero credentials.

So what you're saying is that the perception of BJP is wrong, it is in fact a party which has little to do with Hindu nationalism which is how most would describe them, and is more about fiscal policy. Added to that, the Ayodhya temple issue which they used as an election platform is more a global issue with Muslims in general?

So if development and progress is the factor which the public votes for, why the need for any Hindutva program at all? It would be easy to rebuild the mosque at Ayodhya and build a temple and a school in the same vicinity.

Because, sadly, it appears that there is nothing to lose by throwing stones at Muslims by world leaders anywhere, considering that they are aligned to vote only in one direction. In the Indian context, they will largely vote for the Congress come hell or high water so there is no effort needed to attract or repel them.

The Congress still tries some cheap tactics to woo the supposed Muslim votebank, so I guess the BJP does the opposite for some short-term oomph and nothing more. 'Hindus', if we are looking at it from a religious lens oscillate between the BJP and Congress depending on performance and local level politics and there may be more effort needed. Once they come to power though, it doesn't make a difference: the pillage and plunder rumbles on.

Fact remains though that the economy moves forward only when the BJP are in charge, be it in the early-2000s or now.

Because, sadly, it appears that there is nothing to lose by throwing stones at Muslims by world leaders anywhere, considering that they are aligned to vote only in one direction. In the Indian context, they will largely vote for the Congress come hell or high water so there is no effort needed to attract or repel them.

The Congress still tries some cheap tactics to woo the supposed Muslim votebank, so I guess the BJP does the opposite for some short-term oomph and nothing more. 'Hindus', if we are looking at it from a religious lens oscillate between the BJP and Congress depending on performance and local level politics and there may be more effort needed. Once they come to power though, it doesn't make a difference: the pillage and plunder rumbles on.

Fact remains though that the economy moves forward only when the BJP are in charge, be it in the early-2000s or now.

So why do you describe throwing stones at Muslims as a sad thing if it enables financial and social progress? Isn't it better to just say that the ends justifies the means?

You dont have to take everything literally. Think you never met the neighbourhood aunty who comes to console when there is a tragedy in a family, and keeps saying tch tch tch..so sad..he was so young..he should not have died...bechara...what will happen to his kids. That is not expressing sorrow..that is gloating on someone's sorrow.

I want the money to be spent on health care and education. But as long as UCC is applied, i want this to go for the fund for higher education of poor minority students.

No money should be given to muslims, unless they are socially backward like pasmandas.. for too long the elite muslim have usurped the rights of the downtrodden muslims. Explain why muslim personal law board is full of syeds?

Throwing stones - metaphorically - does not mean financial and social progress. Financial progress will occur anyway, but Muslims are unfairly (sadly) in the firing line regardless.

I am convinced. The removal of Haj subsidies, along with the reduction of public holidays for Muslims are not Hindutva related, however they might appear to defensive Muslims. These are just necessary steps which needed to be taken to bring everyone in line with Indian social and economic progress.

Another example of the victim mentality. That calendar had a list of holidays chopped off, even Christian and Hindu ones. But who are the only group up in arms? Exactly.

Agreed, Indian Muslims really are a precious bunch. I think you were being too kind to them in your previous post when you said they were unfairly (sadly) in the firing line.

My thoughts exactly. I hope this money is well spent and doesnt end up lining pockets of vote getters.