Ireland vs Pakistan | 1st T20I | Dublin | May 10 | Pre-Match Discussion

Which side will win the 1st T20I game between Ireland and Pakistan?

BouncerGuy

As part of their prep for the 2024 T20 World Cup, Pakistan is set to play Ireland in the 1st T20I game of the 3-match series at Dublin’s Clontarf Cricket Club Ground starting from May 10.

The touring Pakistani team, led by Babar Azam and featuring players like Mohammad Amir and Imad Wasim, has already been announced. On the other hand, the Irish team, captained by Paul Stirling, has also revealed their 14-member squad for the series.

1715153075962.png

SQUADS:

Pakistan squad:
Babar Azam (c), Abrar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Rizwan, Irfan Khan, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Salman Agha, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Usman Khan

Ireland squad:
Paul Stirling (Capt), Mark Adair, Ross Adair, Andrew Balbirnie, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Graham Hume, Barry McCarthy, Neil Rock, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Ben White, Craig Young.

=======

All posters please take note of the following guidelines for match threads on PakPassion:

1. No personal insults at other posters, players, officials, coaching staffs etc.

2. No making fun of player's, official's, coaching staff's names.

3. Do not add any references to media, their social media or post any pictures or screenshots from other sports websites.

4. Stick to commenting on this match. There is no need to bring other countries into the match discussion as there are plenty of other threads where those discussions can be added.

This will be a good test for Pakistan. Ireland are no mugs especially in home conditions. The ball will swing a bit.

This is high time that Pakistan stop experimenting too much now and play their best possible 11 that is going to play most of the world cup games. Should win this series comfortably now. No excuses.

A cloudy weather expected on game day with bit of a sunny afternoon and very little chance of rain, so be ready for an impactful contest ahead.

Pakistan should go with a combination that's going to play in the World Cup.

Now the time for experiments is over!

We do tend to struggle against lesser sides. 55/45 in favour of Pak methinks.

Pakistan should go with a combination that's going to play in the World Cup.

Now the time for experiments is over!
We have been experimenting since 2012, it's been 12 years. When will they end? 😂😂.

Pakistan eternal rebuilding phase lol

This is high time that Pakistan stop experimenting too much now and play their best possible 11 that is going to play most of the world cup games. Should win this series comfortably now. No excuses.
Disagree, ireland series can and should be use to test bench strength. Do you want to risk Shaheen getting an injury against Ireland?

We have been experimenting since 2012, it's been 12 years. When will they end? 😂😂.

Pakistan eternal rebuilding phase lol
On the other hand, Pakistan has not experimented at all. How many matches did Farhan for example got on the trott in his actual position? ZERO.

You're going to injure our pacers, make our already unfit batters more unfit, and send the team into an ambulance before they head to the cup lol.

2023 has repeated itself in terms of prelude to the exact core.

On the other hand, Pakistan has not experimented at all. How many matches did Farhan for example got on the trott in his actual position? ZERO.
Bro, it was a rhetorical play on words. OBVIOUSLY we have not been experimenting.

Babar's formula is to keep playing the same 11 until it gets butchered, injured, dog walked and humiliated.

Then babar will go on a tangent, and eventually after some cooling off, he'll bring himself to open again 😂.

Hurray!!! Statpadding time guys.

Its time to Improve the average now! SR jayai bhaar main.

15oOerG.jpeg

I will go with this xi

Babar
Saim
Usman Khan
Fakhar Zaman
Azam Khan
Iftikhar
Shadab
Abrar
Naseem
Amir
Abbas Afridi

Imad and Shaheen can be rested and brought in on the 2nd/3rd t20.

This is our worst format so I'd expect Pakistan to win all three, your pacers are just gonna be far far too good for our top order. That said, we have a very weird ability to post a respectable score even in disastrous situations, doesn't mean we win much but I'd hope 1-2 games are competitive. We have the likes of McCarthy at #9 who are handy sloggers.

Little being at the IPL robs us of our best pacer but Adair is a very handy t20 cricketer on his day, and Young can be expensive but I've always liked. Our spin remains comfortably the worst in the cricketing world, White is OK but very raw.

You should win all these games. Clontarf is a fairly small venue and hasn't been used for a mens international since 2018 so, either it'll be a club wicket with low scores or we'll see 200 plus with the small boundaries.

Hope I'm wrong, a win or two would be a big boost to our ranking and possible auto qualification for 2026

This is our worst format so I'd expect Pakistan to win all three, your pacers are just gonna be far far too good for our top order. That said, we have a very weird ability to post a respectable score even in disastrous situations, doesn't mean we win much but I'd hope 1-2 games are competitive. We have the likes of McCarthy at #9 who are handy sloggers.

Little being at the IPL robs us of our best pacer but Adair is a very handy t20 cricketer on his day, and Young can be expensive but I've always liked. Our spin remains comfortably the worst in the cricketing world, White is OK but very raw.

You should win all these games. Clontarf is a fairly small venue and hasn't been used for a mens international since 2018 so, either it'll be a club wicket with low scores or we'll see 200 plus with the small boundaries.

Hope I'm wrong, a win or two would be a big boost to our ranking and possible auto qualification for 2026
Pakistan under Babar has the special ability to lower themselves down to the competitive level of the opposing team. I would not be surprised, if we lose 1/2 matches.

So Amir hasn't made it to Ireland then has he?

Yes, he is still waiting for his visa. Will miss the first game and might as well miss the next game as well. But I guess that is fine, we have all the basis covered with Hasan Ali in the team. No worries...
King karwa lee gah.

Bro, it was a rhetorical play on words. OBVIOUSLY we have not been experimenting.

Babar's formula is to keep playing the same 11 until it gets butchered, injured, dog walked and humiliated.

Then babar will go on a tangent, and eventually after some cooling off, he'll bring himself to open again 😂.
How many rotations were there in the last series? You can't count them on one hand

Rotations doesn't mean just flip flopping the squad. Have you seen the way England rotates during bilaterals? They've even experimented with moeen Ali opening.

Mohammad Amir gets Ireland visa after facing initial delay. The Pakistan pacer will depart for Dublin on the first available flight as Pakistan is scheduled to face Ireland in the 1st T20I in Clontarf on 10th May.

Practice session of Pakistan cricket team at Clontarf ground in Ireland.

The players practiced batting, bowling and fielding for three hours under the supervision of the coaches.

All the players are fit and excited for the series.

The first T20I of the three-match series between Pakistan and Ireland will be played tomorrow.

ai29Qfp.jpg

Looking forward to seeing Saim Ayub playing, I hope he has learnt his lessons. One thing he must do is to play straight a lot more.

Pakistan and Ireland go toe-to-toe in inaugural T20I series on Friday

•M Amir expected to be available for Sunday and Tuesday’s T20Is; both Pakistan and Ireland are in the same ICC Men’s T20 World Cup group

Dublin, 9 May 2024:

The Pakistan men’s cricket team will kick off its Europe tour with the first of three T20Is against Ireland on Friday. The remaining two matches will also take place at the Castle Avenue on Sunday and Tuesday, before the team heads to Headingley, Leeds, on Wednesday for a series of four T20Is against England.

Following the England series, with matches scheduled at Headingley (22 May), Birmingham (25 May), Cardiff (28 May), and The Oval, London (30 May), both England and Pakistan will head to the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024. England will face Scotland in Barbados on 4 June in their opening match, while Pakistan will launch their campaign against the USA in Dallas on 6 June.

This marks the first time Ireland will host Pakistan for a T20I series. The two sides have previously met only once in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2009 where Pakistan won by 39 runs with Kamran Akmal receiving the player of the match award for his 51-ball 57 and two stumpings.

Interestingly, both teams are in the same group for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 and will face each other in Florida on 16 June. Apart from the two sides, India, USA, and Canada are also in the same group, with the top two teams advancing to the second stage.

Pakistan head coach, Azhar Mahmood:

“Our preparations for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 began with the home series against New Zealand and now it’s all about putting the final touches on those preparations. We have clarity on our game plans, strategies and combinations. It’s about bringing everything together before we arrive in the United States.

“We’ve only played Ireland once, so they will be a relatively new opponent for us. However, any team in T20 cricket can be dangerous as the match can swing in one over. The three T20Is will provide us with good information about their players and how they approach T20 cricket.”

Meanwhile, fast bowler Mohammad Amir will miss the first T20I due to delays in the issuance of his visa. He is expected to join the side on Friday.

Squads (to be selected from):

Ireland: Paul Stirling (captain), Mark Adair, Ross Adair, Andrew Balbirnie, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Graham Hume, Barry McCarthy, Neil Rock, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Ben White, Craig Young

Pakistan: Babar Azam (captain), Abrar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Amir (unavailable for first T20I), Mohammad Rizwan, Muhammad Irfan Khan, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Salman Ali Agha, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi and Usman Khan.

Mohammad Amir gets Ireland visa after facing initial delay. The Pakistan pacer will depart for Dublin on the first available flight as Pakistan is scheduled to face Ireland in the 1st T20I in Clontarf on 10th May.
I thought Amir had a British Passport? Or is he applying via his ILR?

Fakhar and Rizwan/Saim should open. Give Saim this series. If he doesn't fire, open with Rizwan but it isn't going to happen.

As part of their prep for the 2024 T20 World Cup, Pakistan is set to play Ireland in the 1st T20I game of the 3-match series at Dublin’s Clontarf Cricket Club Ground starting from May 10.

The touring Pakistani team, led by Babar Azam and featuring players like Mohammad Amir and Imad Wasim, has already been announced. On the other hand, the Irish team, captained by Paul Stirling, has also revealed their 14-member squad for the series.

View attachment 143668

SQUADS:

Pakistan squad:
Babar Azam (c), Abrar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Rizwan, Irfan Khan, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Salman Agha, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Usman Khan

Ireland squad: Paul Stirling (Capt), Mark Adair, Ross Adair, Andrew Balbirnie, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Graham Hume, Barry McCarthy, Neil Rock, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Ben White, Craig Young.

=======

All posters please take note of the following guidelines for match threads on PakPassion:

1. No personal insults at other posters, players, officials, coaching staffs etc.

2. No making fun of player's, official's, coaching staff's names.

3. Do not add any references to media, their social media or post any pictures or screenshots from other sports websites.

4. Stick to commenting on this match. There is no need to bring other countries into the match discussion as there are plenty of other threads where those discussions can be added.
should win comfortably , weather forecast ?

Fakhar and Rizwan/Saim should open. Give Saim this series. If he doesn't fire, open with Rizwan but it isn't going to happen.
I have a wild suggestion but if Saim fails. Open with Iftikhar. Iftilhar used to open when he came in domestic t20

Ireland all-rounder George Dockrell says the three-match home series against Pakistan will be ideal preparation for their T20 World Cup challenge which begins in New York against India on 5 June.

Irish conditions may not be quite the same as in the Big Apple or Florida where Ireland's four opening World Cup group games will be played.

But the Dublin weather looks set to behave at least for Friday's opener although showers are forecast for the matches on Sunday and Tuesday.

"It's some great cricket to kick off our summer and especially playing at home is fantastic," said Dockrell, 31, who broke into the Ireland set-up as a spinner in 2010 but has also since developed into a highly effective middle-order batter.

Following the three Pakistan contests at Clontarf, Ireland will be involved in a further four-game T20 tournament in the Netherlands against the hosts and Scotland before they travel to USA.

"We’ve got a fantastic schedule building into the World Cup and really looking forward to the next month and a bit."

The Pakistan games will offer both sides the opportunity to size each other up for their concluding World Cup group game in Florida on 16 June.

Ireland are also set to play Canada and USA after their opener against India.

BBC

Restore Rizwan's opening position

Look bro, people do have a point about Babar and rizwan.

I'm probs in the minority and idk if you'll disagree with me or not, but I didn't actually mind their opening partnership as much pre 2022, because since then saim isn't really doing himself any favors.

Pre 2022 they have very good wins over India, NZ, and Australia wasn't too bad, it could have been better bit it was the bowling that let us down, the biggest problem was SR, but babar pre 2022 had been making multiple claims on improving SR and since 2016 I saw he was improving with more single taking stroke play + an effort to hit 6. Rizwan was an issue but he didn't throw his wicket away and was consistent enough.

So when people advocate for Ba/riz i dont mind it as much.

My personal issue is 2022 and onwards. These 2 developed an ego way way way over their heads. First of, from 2022 onwards they had numerous poor performances. The fact that their avg and sr have been decreasing very consistently shows how poor they've been. Its been 2 consequective years of horrible performances.

Secondly it's the new ego system. Babar went from having interviews of, I wish to improve my SR and be a dominating bat for Pakistan to "I'm an anchor, I must open, everyone else must bat around me, I see no issue with my performance"

With rizwan from 2015 and 2019 he had frequent interviews saying he wants to play for the crest on his chest and is fine with batting at 6. Now however he's making interviews about mein kush nahi hoon no pei. Infact he's actually making further statements on showing displeasure and wanting PHD thesis written to convince him why he's batting down the order.

The reality is, Babar and rizwan have declined since 2022 and have been that way since 2+ years, their avg and sr declining is their to see. The 2022 tournament should have been enough to warrant a permanent boot and atleast try and build new youngsters especially when some of them like saud shakeel have been better at opening them Ba/riz based of PSL.

You can understand why me or @Rana Are frustrated. We wouldn't be advocating a boot if their performances weren't bad. Atm these 2 have been playing like minnow level test openers in t20 for the past 2 years. 2021 t20 wc is a pipe dream and isn't relevant now.

should win comfortably , weather forecast ?
Why do I always see these types of comments? They were made on NZ c team as well.

We're favourites but I wouldn't say we will win comfortably lol.

Hum ko maloom hai team ki haqeeqat lekin
Dil ke khush rakhne ko Ghalib ye khayal acha hai
Chacha is literally a babar and rizwan copy, he's no different, infact he's worse considering he

A) Bats at a lower SR despite batting lower down the order where Sr's are naturally high.

B) Is even more clueless against spin then babar is.

C) Has trouble with pace due to slow reactions.

Unless your Nepal, C team NZ, or 2022 SA that had suffered pacer injuries aka teams where medium pacers were mostly bowling, then he's useless.

He can't play pace let alone swing his reactions are too slow, and he can't read wrist spin. Nor can he utilise the PP, he'll be even slower then babar and rizwan at opening.

Chacha is literally a babar and rizwan copy, he's no different, infact he's worse considering he

A) Bats at a lower SR despite batting lower down the order where Sr's are naturally high.

B) Is even more clueless against spin then babar is.

C) Has trouble with pace due to slow reactions.

Unless your Nepal, C team NZ, or 2022 SA that had suffered pacer injuries aka teams where medium pacers were mostly bowling, then he's useless.

He can't play pace let alone swing his reactions are too slow, and he can't read wrist spin. Nor can he utilise the PP, he'll be even slower then babar and rizwan at opening.
So in WT20 2022 Iftikhar faced medium pacers and C bowling vs India and South Africa?

This should be his last series if he doesnt perform now... he has already given too many chances!
But we all know if Saim fails and gets dropped. Then the only opening combination we will be seeing in the WT20 is RizBar (Which might perform in US/West Indies but that's besides the point right now).

So in WT20 2022 Iftikhar faced medium pacers and C bowling vs India and South Africa?
Most of his scoring came of arshdeep Singh, Wayne parnell etc. Against proper pacers he more or less did his usual blocking until it came in his arc.

Infact he got LBW'd against shami and Rabada and got dismissed in tye same fashion.

Chacha isn't special. He's the same as babar and rizwan and when settled babar and rizwan actually play faster then chacha, Infact babar who I hate as a t20 bat has a 49 ball 100 which is > what chacha can do.

Chacha at opening will basically be the same as babar/ Rizwan but less reliable. He'll block and block until it comes in his arc and will hit a 4 here and their and block and block.

The Indian and SA side he faced doesn't have the bowlers that they do now with the like of jansen, Kuldeep etc etc

Most of his scoring came of arshdeep Singh, Wayne parnell etc. Against proper pacers he more or less did his usual blocking until it came in his arc.

Infact he got LBW'd against shami and Rabada and got dismissed in tye same fashion.

Chacha isn't special. He's the same as babar and rizwan and when settled babar and rizwan actually play faster then chacha, Infact babar who I hate as a t20 bat has a 49 ball 100 which is > what chacha can do.

Chacha at opening will basically be the same as babar/ Rizwan but less reliable. He'll block and block until it comes in his arc and will hit a 4 here and their and block and block.

The Indian and SA side he faced doesn't have the bowlers that they do now with the like of jansen, Kuldeep etc etc
Lies after lies arshdeep didn't even bowl a single delivery at iftikhar. Are you imagining again like India rarely plays away.

Lets see how Shaheens perform tomorrow, not expecting any lopsided contest at all. To beat Ireland in Ireland won't be easy.