Is India Broke?

KingKhanWC

World Star
I can see so many requests for donations in monetary terms for India's Covid outbreak.

I can understand equipment or oxygen but financial aid to a country which is the 3rd largest military spender in the world. Has a space programme costing hundreds of millions of $ each year.

We know have Bollywood stars asking for donations and dozens of charities.

Organisations such as:

Oxfam
Action Aid
Water Aid...list goes on.

Surely India has the money or am I missing something here?

This is the first time in 15 years apparently that India is relying on foreign aid and asking for it.

From “Make in India” to begging for foreign aid..

This is the first time in 15 years apparently that India is relying on foreign aid and asking for it.

From “Make in India” to begging for foreign aid..

Why are they asking for money? Surely the Modi government has plenty or it can borrow?

I wish Indians the best of health but I wont be donating, there are more causes which need the funds.

We have the likes of Priyanka Chopra asking for donations, only a year ago she was cheerleading war against Pak. I assume she wants Pakistanis to donate now?

It is a bit perplexing that one of the largest economies is so open to foreign financial aid. Surely it is the medical supply chain which should be their only concern (oxygen etc.). At a time of crisis, access to large loans via capital markets should be no brainer.

As slow as the UK government response has been over the pandemic, we at least saw daily briefings from the PM and a large financial stimulus.

As popular as Modi has been domestically, no point hiding when the country is on its knees, should be leading from the front.

It is a bit perplexing that one of the largest economies is so open to foreign financial aid. Surely it is the medical supply chain which should be their only concern (oxygen etc.). At a time of crisis, access to large loans via capital markets should be no brainer.

As slow as the UK government response has been over the pandemic, we at least saw daily briefings from the PM and a large financial stimulus.

As popular as Modi has been domestically, no point hiding when the country is on its knees, should be leading from the front.

UK government borrowed £355bn from April 2020 to April 2021.(covid)

Does anyone know how much BJP government has borrowed in the same time?

Didn't Modi just put up $10mil for saarc covid relieve fund and his people started calling him god or something because to them thats alot of money

What is modis plans are to control this catastrophe?
Is he and his team addressing the nation on what he is doing?

Most PMs lead from the front, Boris was holding daily briefings when the pandemic was at its worst in the uk

Why don't the multi billionaires put a few billion in the government's kitty. The usual names like Ambani's, Adani, Mittal and Hinduja's come to mind. Time to show real patriotism boys.

The Indian govt does have reserves but they simply do not care about their people. The govt is money centric and being human is way down the list. However, this is what the people voted for so they have to accept it.

I remember Imran Khan giving 20000 rupees to each poor person in the previous lockdown but I didn't hear anything from India.

As much as the OP wishes them to be, no. Modi just is incompetent or apathetic, likely a combination of both.

Is there any evidence that Indians are begging for money and financial help from Int'l community?

Not so long ago, this creature ordered planes worth $1.35 billion for himself. Now go figure!

No country with military strength and nuclear capability is broke to the point where it cannot look after its own in such times.

The problem is that in south Asian countries, the value of human life is almost zero and low on the priority list.

In Pakistan, the vaccine roll out has been among the worst in the world and the Sputnik vaccine is 3x the price it should be because apparently, we don’t have money.

However, the lack of money didn’t deter us from spending 4.68 billion rupees on military parade on Pakistani day on March 23, an event that had nothing to do with them.

No country with military strength and nuclear capability is broke to the point where it cannot look after its own in such times.

The problem is that in south Asian countries, the value of human life is almost zero and low on the priority list.

In Pakistan, the vaccine roll out has been among the worst in the world and the Sputnik vaccine is 3x the price it should be because apparently, we don’t have money.

However, the lack of money didn’t deter us from spending 4.68 billion rupees on military parade on Pakistani day on March 23, an event that had nothing to do with them.

Read title of thread.

Can anyone post a single link saying Govt of India asked for financial aid or assistance?

Yes there is a shortage of medical equipment etc, which friendly countries are providing at free of cost, while in many cases govt is buying it.

India sent 60mn doses of vaccines and medical aid to many many countries during the pandemic. A fact that governments of other countries have acknowledged.

A country is broke if its govt has to ask for loan waivers on sovereign loans or take bailouts etc.

International community is giving aid and India is begging for medical supplies, vaccines and oxygen tanks

India bought much of the supplies. While friendly countries are returning the favour, because India helped out other countries during the pandemic.

Govts of countries like US, Germany, France etc have acknowledged that India helped and they are helping India now. This is how international diplomacy works

Begging is for those who can only keep asking loans, bailouts etc etc.

Indian government is accepting only medical aid. And none from pakistan. So come down from your high horse.

Well your Punjab government did want oxygen from Pakistan and the charitable Edhi foundation but your bigoted federal government seems to have gotten in the way.

Pakistan ready to supply oxygen to Punjab but Centre in way’

In response to this emergency our neighbouring countries have offered help which should be welcomed with open arms. The government of Pakistan and Edhi Foundation have offered support to India to help us fight this deadly wave of Covid-19.”

https://indianexpress.com/article/i...ave-oxygen-shortage-pakistan-support-7290685/

Hopefully your politicians didn’t put their ego over innocent lives.

We are always broke bur have useless PR covering for it.

broke? no.

In scarcity of some specific commodities? yes.

Its like comparing apples and oranges.

I am surprised at the Intellectuality of the posters who are arguing based upon the OP.

broke? no.

I am surprised at the Intellectuality of the posters who are arguing based upon the OP.

Point that most of us are trying to make, if you have reserves then spend it on your people and generally on human development.

Let's not be under any illusion that if Pakistan or similar under-resourced country was in the same situation as India they would be heavily reliant on international handouts.

But, one would have thought India would have the financial strength to deal with the current situation better (not historical investment in healthcare). Purchasing supplies, offering furlough, business loans etc to support families and health facilities in need. Not relying on oxygen supply fundraisers in Leicester.

Once this crisis is over, and we all hope soon..any independent assessment will conclude to a massive failure in leadership.

Im not sure about broke but it has been massively overwhelmed by a pandemic of apocalyptic proportions. No need to listen to the BJP shills on this site, speak to your colleagues and Indian friends and they will tell you the reality of how India is suffering at the moment.

Over the past few years we have been subjected to much hyperbole from India and Indians. The reality is that for the vast majority of the population life is a living hell and the delusions of the superpower of India was nothing more than a marketing effort.

broke? no.

Aunty jis in southall are selling their family gold to pay to donate to the India.

Its not a scarcity of resourfe but a massive infrastructure collapse to a level not seen in the modern world.

Point that most of us are trying to make, if you have reserves then spend it on your people and generally on human development.

money can't buy you everything. and it's this materialistic perspective of some people that have created these kind of insecurities.

Ask the western nation about how much they want to spend in order to invent a vaccine for corona virus or even manufacture it instead of outsourcing it.

If money was the absolute solution for every problems, life would have been much simpler. But people in this thread fails to realise it.

Aunty jis in southall are selling their family gold to pay to donate to the India.

Its not a scarcity of resourfe but a massive infrastructure collapse to a level not seen in the modern world.

That shows their patriotism. Instead of appreciating the gist of the donation, you are actually insulting it by calling it as collapsed.

donation doesn't mean a system is broken. It's simply a catalyst which could make the system grow faster.

If you have three bathrooms in your apartment and 8 family members, overwhelmed is when everyone has diarrhoea. Collapsed when the bathroom is clogged and cannot be used.

That shows their patriotism. Instead of appreciating the gist of the donation, you are actually insulting it by calling it as collapsed.

donation doesn't mean a system is broken. It's simply a catalyst which could make the system grow faster.

Im not insulting them.

If its just a 'scarcity of resource' there shouldn't be a need for this level of charity.

If you have three bathrooms in your apartment and 8 family members, overwhelmed is when everyone has diarrhoea. Collapsed when the bathroom is clogged and cannot be used.

I can make the link between India being a bathroom in your analogy but may need your on the ground knowledge to understand if the current situation is blocked or diarrhoea.

India bought much of the supplies. While friendly countries are returning the favour, because India helped out other countries during the pandemic.

Govts of countries like US, Germany, France etc have acknowledged that India helped and they are helping India now. This is how international diplomacy works

Begging is for those who can only keep asking loans, bailouts etc etc.

Why are you always so hurt? It is okay, no country is perfect. You are indeed a true bakht :) And India didn't help for free, the world paid for vaccines. May be if your Modi govt wasn't profit centric, they would have saved more internal supplies.

money can't buy you everything. and it's this materialistic perspective of some people that have created these kind of insecurities.

Ask the western nation about how much they want to spend in order to invent a vaccine for corona virus or even manufacture it instead of outsourcing it.

If money was the absolute solution for every problems, life would have been much simpler. But people in this thread fails to realise it.

This is indeed a head in the sand post.

Just shows that human life is cheap in India when people make such excuses. Money does make things easier and I am saying no wrong in that human development needs to be focused upon.

Im not insulting them.

If its just a 'scarcity of resource' there shouldn't be a need for this level of charity.

Its a simple demand and it's fulfillment issue. Covid is an unforseen circumstances and while the existing system was enough to address the other diseases, it needed some tweaking in order to work efficiently against covid.

This doesn't happen in a day with a country of billions and while a permanent solution is in process, you need to make shift temporary arrangements in order to address that time period till the permanent system starts to operate.

There will be some cons of the temporary make shift arrangements in any institution. Even in a small company, it faces disturbances when it moves to a new building. That doesn't mean the company is collapsing.

This is indeed a head in the sand post.

Just shows that human life is cheap in India when people make such excuses. Money does make things easier and I am saying no wrong in that human development needs to be focused upon.

As I've said earlier, you set your standards relative to money. I don't.

I can make the link between India being a bathroom in your analogy but may need your on the ground knowledge to understand if the current situation is blocked or diarrhoea.

his example fits perfectly. it's not that the hospitals or the facilities are failing, but they aren't enough to the wide spread nature of Covid in certain states. the existing ones are working though in terms of Covid, you need more.

Yes money can't miraculously solve this situation overnight. However money enabled the rich to get fast track access to private hospitals, fly out of the country on private jets.

Govt spending could ensure people stay at home, support business owners and get access to scarce resources (such as medical equipment) even if they are in temporary structures.

China, UK, etc. quickly developed temporary medical establishments in the space of weeks.

There is a template for what Govts have done to deal with the pandemic well and templates for Govts to make the pandemic a crisis. Sadly India falls into the latter camp.

Yes money can't miraculously solve this situation overnight. However money enabled the rich to get fast track access to private hospitals, fly out of the country on private jets.

Govt spending could ensure people stay at home, support business owners and get access to scarce resources (such as medical equipment) even if they are in temporary structures.

China, UK, etc. quickly developed temporary medical establishments in the space of weeks.

There is a template for what Govts have done to deal with the pandemic well and templates for Govts to make the pandemic a crisis. Sadly India falls into the latter camp.

china.... no one knows what's going inside.

UK.... are you seriously comparing UK to INDIA? a tiny little country with negligible fraction of population of India?

I have lost of words here. People have no clues and living in an idealistic world rather than a real one.

Point that most of us are making is we are perfectly capable of taking our own decisions without anyone telling us what to do.

No OP, India is not broke yet. It will take a while for us to get there, and I don't think we will, despite Modi.

Struggling for oxygen is more a case of extreme ineptitude mostly from the Centre but also to some extent, from the individual states. Oxygen plants don't cost much. In fact, it's small change for most countries including India.

Is India headed by the most incapable leader in its history? Probably yes.

china.... no one knows what's going inside.

UK.... are you seriously comparing UK to INDIA? a tiny little country with negligible fraction of population of India?

I have lost of words here. People have no clues and living in an idealistic world rather than a real one.

Well the real world is people dying on the streets with images / videos headlining the international media, countless organisation and communities across the globe donating financial relief.

You can blame the posters here but that is the reality.

This pandemic too big and too fast for anyone to develop any solutions.

1) Human life is not cheap in India - It is just unfortunate that we have no recourse as we are not a developed nation like Canada, Singapore or US/UK and Euro countries. Sorry if I may have seem to exclude your nations (Aus NZ or any of other). What I mean is that we don't have hospitals and support services as we are still developing. One day we will get there but not now.

2) Don't for a moment think that people are not working hard. Everyone is exhausted and working beyond their capacities. All state services such as healthcare, administration, police and industries are stretched due to lack of resources. We will overcome tis but meanwhile we are exposed.

3) The government and all political parties are also helping their respective states and divisions and spending energies.

4) There is incompetence at all levels but it is because of lack of knowledge and not intention. for every 1 person who appear in media as a callous person, there are thousands more who are genuinely helping.

Mistake from government (and you can take pot shots at BJP if it floats your boat but there are more people at fault).

1) Lack of adequate number of test kits. It should have been free pan India.

2) Zone-wise lockdown and "permit to move" should have been stricter in District by District. This was left to states and not center. should have been centrally controlled.

3) PPE production ramped up. But O2 and ventilators production ramp-up was slow probably because everyone in Jan 2021 that India has got it under control. This was purely with states govt.

4) Laxity in imposing curbs on gathering (cricket, religion, social etc) Though this was left to states and not center.

Well the real world is people dying on the streets with images / videos headlining the international media, countless organisation and communities across the globe donating financial relief.

You can blame the posters here but that is the reality.

People ARE suffering in this world. Be it for covid or wars or out of hunger.... there's no denying it. But you will be living in a lala land if you could think that a solution will just come in matter of days.

Most countries are struggling. those who have small population, will find it a bit easier to contain that a country with billion.

People were dying out of hunger even from pre independence.

WHERE WERE YOU all these times?

WHAT HAVE YOU DONE in order to mitigate it?

Its easier to take cheap shots in a forum like this but real world doesn't work like that way.

I, CJ, Kayaal all are working inside the very system you are stating it as "collapsed" then what the hell we are doing? You think we are THAT STUPID that we are fighting a war that we know we can't win?

People just see some images and videos in media and starts to rant about that here.

People ARE suffering in this world. Be it for covid or wars or out of hunger.... there's no denying it. But you will be living in a lala land if you could think that a solution will just come in matter of days.

Most countries are struggling. those who have small population, will find it a bit easier to contain that a country with billion.

Its easier to take cheap shots in a forum like this but real world doesn't work like that way.

I, CJ, Kayaal all are working inside the very system you are stating it as "collapsed" then what the hell we are doing? You think we are THAT STUPID that we are fighting a war that we know we can't win?

People just see some images and videos in media and starts to rant about that here.

tbf, people will react to media and there is truth in the allegations about India exposed. Not to say that other countries can do better (Heaven forbid if they find themselves in India's position and I don't wish for this).

for those who are taking potshots -
If you feel for India, kindly contribute in any way you can and criticism is not helping. Don't hit a man who is down.
If Life is cheap in India, then you can afford to support so many.

Any posts turning this to be Ind vs Pak debate will be deleted. Repeat offenders - pl note.
Report the post you dislike but don't respond

Point that most of us are making is we are perfectly capable of taking our own decisions without anyone telling us what to do.

So to clarify, as an Indian are you happy with the way Covid has been handled?

I mean as only your opinion counts and you dont want to be told what to do please let us know your thoughts.

Continue taking decisions like these! If arrogance was an individual: a bakht.

Your capability is for the world to see but who cares, Modi Zindabad. Who cares about the screw up that he headed.

The value of a human life at the govt level is very low in all poor countries and Ind is a poor country.

When people start to value life in terms of money (rich/poor), it will be.

I am starting to believe if most Pakistanis attribute money to a solution of everything.

get rich, you will reach heaven and even covid can't touch you.

tbf, people will react to media and there is truth in the allegations about India exposed. Not to say that other countries can do better (Heaven forbid if they find themselves in India's position and I don't wish for this).

for those who are taking potshots -
If you feel for India, kindly contribute in any way you can and criticism is not helping. Don't hit a man who is down.
If Life is cheap in India, then you can afford to support so many.

Unfortunately this pandemic is a global one and has impacted many, including a lot of posters here I would imagine. Lots of people have been involved in supporting - whether from healthcare workers or something as simple as buying food for a vulnerable neighbour.

I'm in no doubt the people on the ground are doing an amazing job to save lives in India right now, it seems more extreme situation than in the UK some months back - so we have all been through it (maybe to some different extents). For the record i have contributed and even my organization has made a significant donation but a part of me feels it a bit late and to some degree avoidable.

So people are more than entitled to have an opinion and pinpoint where they think this particular part of the crisis was wrong / mismanaged.

Unfortunately this pandemic is a global one and has impacted many, including a lot of posters here I would imagine. Lots of people have been involved in supporting - whether from healthcare workers or something as simple as buying food for a vulnerable neighbour.

I'm in no doubt the people on the ground are doing an amazing job to save lives in India right now, it seems more extreme situation than in the UK some months back - so we have all been through it (maybe to some different extents). For the record i have contributed and even my organization has made a significant donation but a part of me feels it a bit late and to some degree avoidable.

So people are more than entitled to have an opinion and pinpoint where they think this particular part of the crisis was wrong / mismanaged.

UK is a small nation and hence has smaller chain upwards to the govt or downwards to the common people. Any aberration won't turn that much chaotic which can happen in case of big countries such as India.

India is a big country with billion population which has a much bigger chain in terms of resources and any mishap in one point will cascade it to the lower ones or towards upward depending upon the flow of direction.

A simple example. central govt allocates oxygen supply to individual state depending upon the quotas provided by them. if some state govt makes an error and quotes for lesser amount, when the emergency will arise, the supply will be broken because other states won't be giving away their quota since they will require it for themselves if emergency arises. Added logistics will need to be placed as an emergency which is happening right now.

Its not just dark and white as you people may think from the portrayal by media. There goes a lot inside which media won't show because it won't sell otherwise.

When people start to value life in terms of money (rich/poor), it will be.

I am starting to believe if most Pakistanis attribute money to a solution of everything.

get rich, you will reach heaven and even covid can't touch you.

Your making out as if Inds are treating the poor with dignity , they are not. Your rich have run and the elite are pretty safe. Maybe you should be aiming your fire at your own and not us.

So are you telling me the riches in US or UK are treating poors with dignity and respect?

2008 financial crisis was the greatest example of how riches treats the poor in US in housing bubble.

Don't paint as if countries become richer, suddenly lives of poor people becomes better.

Actually, whenevet there are friendly debates on the forum and people question Indian narrative you guys default response is that we should butt out etc. Even now Joshilla bhai is saying we cant question India at all.

You guys can't have it both ways. Whenever we laugh at the statements of your PM, advise you that hindutva BJP is doomed fot destruction, and to calm down with the hubris you went on the aggressive and demeaned and attempted to embarrass us.

Now because you have been caught with your pants down you are making excuses. The mess that Indian govt has made from Covid could decimate innocent countries like Bangladesh and Pakistan if this mutation spreads.

Finally, nobody is calling you stupid for being a doctor. I hope you stay safe inshAllah and are a source of hope for your countrymen in this tough time.

You guys may find it surprising since from your own posts and conduct you have no regard for humanity apart from those that share your narrow minded views....but the images from India and the harrowing tales our Indian colleagues have shaken us Pakistanis to the core.

The images are so harrowing but the similarities in the faces and the language of the anguish screams hits home because it could be our families next door.

We really wish the best for India in this case.

So are you telling me the riches in US or UK are treating poors with dignity and respect?

2008 financial crisis was the greatest example of how riches treats the poor in US in housing bubble.

Don't paint as if countries become richer, suddenly lives of poor people becomes better.

You are needlessly getting offended. Just accept the sympathies being offered with gratitude and move on.

Actually, whenevet there are friendly debates on the forum and people question Indian narrative you guys default response is that we should butt out etc. Even now Joshilla bhai is saying we cant question India at all.

You guys can't have it both ways. Whenever we laugh at the statements of your PM, advise you that hindutva BJP is doomed fot destruction, and to calm down with the hubris you went on the aggressive and demeaned and attempted to embarrass us.

Now because you have been caught with your pants down you are making excuses. The mess that Indian govt has made from Covid could decimate innocent countries like Bangladesh and Pakistan if this mutation spreads.

Finally, nobody is calling you stupid for being a doctor. I hope you stay safe inshAllah and are a source of hope for your countrymen in this tough time.

You guys may find it surprising since from your own posts and conduct you have no regard for humanity apart from those that share your narrow minded views....but the images from India and the harrowing tales our Indian colleagues have shaken us Pakistanis to the core.

The images are so harrowing but the similarities in the faces and the language of the anguish screams hits home because it could be our families next door.

We really wish the best for India in this case.

i appreciate your post and may disagree with one or two few points but overall, I understand the gesture and stand in the same side with you.

My post was only towards posters who seems to have unrealistic expectations.

No sane person will be happy looking at deaths of other people be it friend or foe. But if we get demoralize by it, then there will be more casualties that will come. As hard as it is, it will be only tougher here on.

i am not a doctor but working in a rural public sector which covers varieties of areas for welfare of the villagers. So I work close mostly with the poor section of the society. And it does hurt when I see the same people in other areas facing such horrors.

But you can do what you are able to and people are trying their best. There's no easy way out of this. That's the tragic story.

This is well received and thanks for wishing these indians well. Dont think it will make any difference though, unless wishes really have a supernatural connection.

No problem brother and I hope you stay safe and well in these tough times.

The elite in these countries treat their lower strata with more dignity than an elite in a poor country ever will. They are not perfect but they are much better. I don't know about America but in the UK no one is on the breadline and anyone that tells you anything is lying.

So.... only you are telling the truth and all others are lying?

If what you stated was true, then people wouldn't have lost their homes, savings, businesses wouldn't have shut down in UK 2008 financial crisis. Because the elites didn't sell those poisonous products to the common people right?

I have no doubts about your intentions but you have element of naivety. That will stop you from looking at pictures in clearer way.

So.... only you are telling the truth and all others are lying?

If what you stated was true, then people wouldn't have lost their homes, savings, businesses wouldn't have shut down in UK 2008 financial crisis. Because the elites didn't sell those poisonous products to the common people right?

I have no doubts about your intentions but you have element of naivety. That will stop you from looking at pictures in clearer way.

People may have lost these things but I said that no one is on the breadline. That is a fact. The safety net gives the poor dignity,which simply isn't the case in places like Ind etc.

It's really sad to see that India produces so many ceos of fotune500 yet it chooses a religious and hate mongering hack like Narendra modi as it's pm. I seriously wish Indians wake up and smell some coffee when this is over and realize Narendra Modi is a paindu who doesn't listen to experts but only his instincts which only tells him how he will get him more votes. A person that only cares about winning elections will always have a shallow view of the world and country.

India has lot of money so this crisis should not have forced them to ask for money from others.
But money is being asked for, Canadian government recently give $10M donation to them.
So my guess is India does not want to spend much of its money on its citizen and thats why there is shortage. Canadian government for example is paying 2000$ for every person who lost his/her job because of Covid for the past 1.5 years. Its about priorities. Remember India's current government is hindu extremist and extremist usually do not care about human life much.

Indian government is accepting only medical aid. And none from pakistan. So come down from your high horse.

Weren't you hectoring Pakistan to ask for vaccine donations from India? Why when the shoe is on the other foot, are you now triumphantly declaring India won't take medical aid from Pakistan?

I can see so many requests for donations in monetary terms for India's Covid outbreak.

I can understand equipment or oxygen but financial aid to a country which is the 3rd largest military spender in the world. Has a space programme costing hundreds of millions of $ each year.

Organisations such as:

Oxfam
Action Aid

Either you are spectacularly uninformed about economics or you are asking a rhetorical question.

India is not broke, it has forex reserves of almost $600 billion.

https://tradingeconomics.com/india/foreign-exchange-reserves

India has lot of money so this crisis should not have forced them to ask for money from others.
But money is being asked for, Canadian government recently give $10M donation to them.
So my guess is India does not want to spend much of its money on its citizen and thats why there is shortage. Canadian government for example is paying 2000$ for every person who lost his/her job because of Covid for the past 1.5 years. Its about priorities. Remember India's current government is hindu extremist and extremist usually do not care about human life much.

Outsiders can only judge a country from the pictures they see, and when we see India, usually it looks like huge swathes of their population live in poverty. Having lots of millionaires doesn't mean much if the infrastructure is poor and quality of life of the average citizen is miserable. India isn't broke, but clearly they are still a third world country, and that is why they struggle to cope. The UK used it's wealth to provide free healthcare for all. India obviously doesn't have the money to do anything like that.

The $10M is symbolic, it is only for appearances. Indian forex reserves are $600B, so the $10M is like giving 1 cent to someone who has $600 in the bank :))

This is even more dangerous. From what you are saying, India is like the fake beggar who pretends to be crippled but when he makes enough money from begging throws off his rags and drives off in a Mercedes.

I find it highly doubtful but I'm surprised you are deluded enough to believe it.

India was broke(n) since 15th Aug 1947.

Fortunately, it was just the appendix that broke off. :rabada2

As for the financial aid, a lot of well-meaning people want to help but India isn't short of money .. rather, it is the infrastructure and supply logistics that is so criminally disorganized, thanks to Modi. I wouldn't be surprised if some of these foundations/trusts in the UK soliciting donations end up keeping the money for themselves.

This is even more dangerous. From what you are saying, India is like the fake beggar who pretends to be crippled but when he makes enough money from begging throws off his rags and drives off in a Mercedes.

I find it highly doubtful but I'm surprised you are deluded enough to believe it.

He isn't wrong in some aspects.

Just because you can, it doesn't mean you will spend all of the finances on covid only. Otherwise it will destroy the small and medium enterprises, farmers, rural workers and other public sectors which relies on govt aids.

If that breaks down, it will be more catastrophic than covid itself.

Either you are spectacularly uninformed about economics or you are asking a rhetorical question.

India is not broke, it has forex reserves of almost $600 billion.

https://tradingeconomics.com/india/foreign-exchange-reserves

lol

My OP clearly suggested India is NOT broke, which is why I mentioned the spending.

The point many on here are missing is very simple.

Why doesnt the BJP government start spending some money to help Indians as other nations have done? I.e UK borrowed over £300 billion to pay wages, increase support for health services? How much has Indian spent on Covid for the 1.2 billion people it has?

Why are dozens of charities and bollywood stars asking for donations?

lol

My OP clearly suggested India is NOT broke, which is why I mentioned the spending.

Why doesnt the BJP government start spending some money to help Indians as other nations have done? I.e UK borrowed over £300 billion to pay wages, increase support for health services? How much has Indian spent on Covid for the 1.2 billion people it has?

It could be a cultural thing. Indians seem to heavily favour capitalism, so money is everything. You don't get it unless you earn it, that might be why they don't like to waste money on those who are at the lower end of the wealth spectrum. In modern India the caste system might be playing a silent part.

its a 3 trillion dollar economy for what ? if you cant pay or make your own oxygen , equipment's etc thn trash this out in Arabian sea.

Organisations such as:

Oxfam
Action Aid

No, we are rich. We are #1 in the world at anything and everything. We have money for military jets, 300 million dollar worth of statue that's useless. But coivd.....ya that's a diff story. But, hey we are rich, we won the 2011 WC, we won all the wars. Inventede everything and anything. We are #1/.

No OP, India is not broke yet. It will take a while for us to get there, and I don't think we will, despite Modi.

Struggling for oxygen is more a case of extreme ineptitude mostly from the Centre but also to some extent, from the individual states. Oxygen plants don't cost much. In fact, it's small change for most countries including India.

Is India headed by the most incapable leader in its history? Probably yes.

How is center responsible for oxygen shortage?

lol

Govt cannot stop NGOs from asking for donations. Its time for most of these NGOs to make some money.