Is Varun Aaron the fastest bowler in the sub-continent?

Aaron could be India's bilawal bhatti with his lively 86-88 mph fast medium stuff .
Wahab is world class these days , no bowler has bowled quicker in the UAE recently .

Varun Aaron once again showing he is in a different league. Wahab is quick but Aaron is quicker.

I saw Wahab bowl yesterday, his average was 142 something despite bowling cutters every over.

The fastest was around 148.5 or something like that.

So what was Aarons pace today?

I saw Wahab bowl yesterday, his average was 142 something despite bowling cutters every over.

The fastest was around 148.5 or something like that.

So what was Aarons pace today?

Wahab's average pace was 139.5 kph yesterday.
Wahab.jpg

So far, Aaron has bowled 143 kph average this series (Test matches). In ODI's however, his average pace is 145+.

^^ lol , ever heard of slower balls and cutters , still the top speeds are consistently higher .
Varun's bowling average may beat Wahab's top speed one day , getting close now , already above 50 :)

Some PPers will gk to any leng try to lie and project Wahab as faster than Aaron and Yadav.

I agree. In little blitz, Wahab bowls just as fast but overall he is like 4-5 clicks slower than BOTH Yadav and Aaron.

No harm in admitting the obvious.

Wahab is very quick. fastest bowler in the world now. Even if his avg speed is lower than aaron he is faster because he is a pakistani.

^^ lol , ever heard of slower balls and cutters , still the top speeds are consistently higher .
Varun's bowling average may beat Wahab's top speed one day , getting close now , already above 50 :)

Oh please, go check the bowling graphs for variations in bowling speeds, all bowlers have that.

Wahab is a 136-140kph bowler for 70% of his matches. A couple of quick spells in ICC tournaments don't make him quicker than Aaron.

Wahab's average pace was 139.5 kph yesterday.
View attachment 62074

So far, Aaron has bowled 143 kph average this series (Test matches). In ODI's however, his average pace is 145+.

It is cricinfo's statistic. The visuals from the match were different.

Secondly as I said, the amount of cutters that Wahab bowled are obviously visible even in the graphic here. Slow pitches dude, slow pitches.

Hard to say who's constantly quicker unless you've watched a lot of matches involving Riaz, Aaron and Yadav but based on recent ODI's and Tests, I can't see any difference in speed between Riaz and Aaron.

My brothers from across the border aren't stating the facts.

Let me state some.

But firstly I want to state an obvious.

The hardest place to bowl for fast bowlers wrt weather are two :

1. Srilanka in summers heat and humidity

2. UAE in summers heat and humidity

There is only one bowler in world cricket in last 5 years who has averaged 90+ mph in a 10 overs spell in UAE or srilanka his name is Adam Milne. He did that against Pakistan in UAE in 2nd odi. Where as second fastest average speeds have been by wahab and starc at 88.2mph in 10 overs spell in these places. (Do your research)

The fastest bowler in the world currently on average speed is Adam Milne. He has potential to bowl fastest bowl of 2015 , 2016 as well. His fastest bowl ever has been 95.5mph he bowled this year.

Than on average speed comes the name of Starc. But his fastest bowls are not as quick as Cummins or Wahab.

The 3rd fastest on average speed have to be Cummins and wahab both have bowled at 88.5mph average speed with crossing 149kph 4,5 times in a spell. Wahab's fastest has been 154.5 kph while Cummins fastest ball ever has been 95.9mph which he bowled in 2015 and wahab's fastest is 96.01 which he bowled in 2015.

Than the fastest bowl by starc ever has been 95.2mph and by pattinson 94.9mph.

Varun Aaron has never ever clocked these speeds in his entire international career. Not in any format not in any country.

The fastest bowls bowled after 2010 are

Mitchell Johnson 156.8 ( in an odi in England 2013 )

Mitchell Johnson 155.78 (2nd test in aus vs eng 2013)

Mitchell Johnson 154.6 (1st odi in india 2013)

Wahab Riaz 154.5 (odi vs India wc 2015)

Wahab Riaz 154.4kph (4th test match in England 2010)

Now let's compare speeds of Varun Aaron in the first test vs SA and the first test vs Eng in India and UAE.

1st innings

Aaron total 8 overs bowled . Average speed 87.2 , fastest 89.8

Wahab total 37 overs bowled . Average speed 87.3 , fastest 91.9

2nd Innings

Aaron 3 overs bowled . Average speed 87.9 , fastest 91.8

Wahab 2 overs bowled . Average speed 89 , fastest 92.5

First of all there is no comparison of average speeds between 11 overs spells and 37 overs spell still Wahab's average speed wins despite bowling 26 more overs than Aaron.

And Also wahab's fastest bowls in first test are faster than Aaron's fastest bowls.

Now let's see the fastest bowls bowled in 5 years time taking speeds of 154+kph who has crosses it how many times ?

1. Johnson ( 3 times )

2. Wahab ( 2 times )

3. Cummins ( 1 time )

The fastest bowler from subcontinent or Asia is Wahab Riaz. When all the bowlers from subcontinent were playing in worldcup and all were fit than Wahab was the fastest among all subcontinent fast bowlers on average speed , on top speed and on the number of times he passed 150kph barrier in world cup.

** NOW CLOSE THIS THREAD. THANK YOU.

Let me state some.

There is only one bowler in world cricket in last 5 years who has averaged 90+ mph in a 10 overs spell in UAE or srilanka his name is Adam Milne. He did that against Pakistan in UAE in 2nd odi. Where as second fastest average speeds have been by wahab and starc at 88.2mph in 10 overs spell in these places. (Do your research)

The fastest bowler in the world currently on average speed is Adam Milne. He has potential to bowl fastest bowl of 2015 , 2016 as well. His fastest bowl ever has been 95.5mph he bowled this year.

Than on average speed comes the name of Starc. But his fastest bowls are not as quick as Cummins or Wahab.

The 3rd fastest on average speed have to be Cummins and wahab both have bowled at 88.5mph average speed with crossing 149kph 4,5 times in a spell. Wahab's fastest has been 154.5 kph while Cummins fastest ball ever has been 95.9mph which he bowled in 2015 and wahab's fastest is 96.01 which he bowled in 2015.

Varun Aaron has never ever clocked these speeds in his entire international career. Not in any format not in any country.

Now let's compare speeds of Varun Aaron in the first test vs SA and the first test vs Eng in India and UAE.

1st innings

2nd Innings

First of all there is no comparison of average speeds between 11 overs spells and 37 overs spell still Wahab's average speed wins despite bowling 26 more overs than Aaron.

And Also wahab's fastest bowls in first test are faster than Aaron's fastest bowls.

Now let's see the fastest bowls bowled in 5 years time taking speeds of 154+kph who has crosses it how many times ?

1. Johnson ( 3 times )

2. Wahab ( 2 times )

3. Cummins ( 1 time )

The fastest bowler from subcontinent or Asia is Wahab Riaz. When all the bowlers from subcontinent were playing in worldcup and all were fit than Wahab was the fastest among all subcontinent fast bowlers on average speed , on top speed and on the number of times he passed 150kph barrier in world cup.

Not about fastest ball bro. Mitchell Johnson may top the fastest ball charts but hasn't averaged 145+ in recent times.

No doubt Wahab's effort ball is faster.

Not about fastest ball bro. Mitchell Johnson may top the fastest ball charts but hasn't averaged 145+ in recent times.

No doubt Wahab's effort ball is faster.

Please see comparison of Aaron vs Sa first test in Indian winters and Wahab vs England 1st test in UAE heat. I have compared both bowlers average speeds and fastest balls please see those. And also don't forget one bowler has bowled only 11 overs in test match and other has bowled 39 overs in test match and still the average speed of the one who has bowled 39 bowlers is higher than the other. Not just effort (faster) balls.

Let me state some.

1st innings

2nd Innings

1. Johnson ( 3 times )

2. Wahab ( 2 times )

3. Cummins ( 1 time )

I salute you for going to these lengths to set the record straight. But don't expect the mass delusion and total hysteria no matter how logical or factual your argument is

I watched the Indis SAtest after the first hour till the tea time yesterday. There is no way Aaron is faster than wahab. I hope Pakistan plays India in a test real soon and Aaron and wahab bowl in the same match.

Please see comparison of Aaron vs Sa first test in Indian winters and Wahab vs England 1st test in UAE heat. I have compared both bowlers average speeds and fastest balls please see those. And also don't forget one bowler has bowled only 11 overs in test match and other has bowled 39 overs in test match and still the average speed of the one who has bowled 39 bowlers is higher than the other. Not just effort (faster) balls.

Why 1st Test, why not 2nd Test? Is this because Wahab was 86mph there?

Aaron bowled 88.5mph average today, even that isn't mentioned in your comparison while Wahab's 2 overs in an inning get a mention. Not a very fair assessment there I must say. Maybe I'll take some time out and try to settle the debate tomorrow.

Why 1st Test, why not 2nd Test? Is this because Wahab was 86mph there?

Aaron bowled 88.5mph average today, even that isn't mentioned in your comparison while Wahab's 2 overs in an inning get a mention. Not a very fair assessment there I must say. Maybe I'll take some time out and try to settle the debate tomorrow.

Yaar fazool Behus ka Koi faiza hai ? I would look stupid If I say shehzad is better batsman than kohli or Umar Akmal is better batsman than kohl or younis is better odi batsman than Sachin or our batsman have had better careers than Sachin. I would look plane stupid when facts , stats , visuals say something else.

Why compared 1st Test ? Because 1st Test has passed by in both cases. You expect me to compare day1 of one test with 5 days of another test ? Is it a comparison ?

Even then you are comparing Aaron's 9 overs spells with wahab's 19 over's spells.

And I just wrote latest tests examples because you and brothers from across the border were comparing UAE pace of the pacer with pace of the bowler in India that too with winters in one country and hot humid weather in another country.

And since when you have been participating in this thread ? Even before this test started and you were comparing 1st Test bowling speeds averages with wahab's ODI's average speeds.

Don't you even know that in ODI's slower bouncers , slower bowls , cutters , back of the hand balls are bowled to deceive batsman and how that impacts average speed ?

Go and Read my entire post again .

I salute you for going to these lengths to set the record straight. But don't expect the mass delusion and total hysteria no matter how logical or factual your argument is

I watched the Indis SAtest after the first hour till the tea time yesterday. There is no way Aaron is faster than wahab. I hope Pakistan plays India in a test real soon and Aaron and wahab bowl in the same match.

Thanks brother.

After that totally selective display of speeds from TalentSpotter bhai, I think it becomes important that we set the record straight.

- First of all, when we call someone the Fastest, it isn't based on Top-speeds alone. If that was the case, Srinath would be the second fastest bowler of late 90s behind Akhtar. How can you simply highlight the top speeds and claim a bowler to be the fastest when his average pace hovers at around 140kph? :facepalm:

Now coming back to your point about Wahab being faster in longer Test spells, well here I present the documented speeds for last 5 Tests Wahab and Aaron played -

100-150 Deliveries in an inning :

Wahab - 86.9mph, 86.3mph, 87.6mph
Aaron - 87.8mph ( Didn't get as many opportunities to bowl this long)

Here's a graphical comparison - Captur100-150.JPG

150-200 Deliveries an inning :

Wahab - 86.2mph, 87.3mph, 85.1mph
Aaron - 87.6mph, 87.6mph

Graphical comparison -

Capture200.JPG

200+ Deliveries :
Wahab - 87.3mph
Aaron - No Sample

----------------------------

To conclude - So even in longer Test spells, Aaron bowled the slowest spell at 87.6mph (141kph).

Wahab slowest spell in comparison was 85.1mph, and almost 50% of those spells were bowled at 86mph domain.

Wahab is good, but Aaron is simply quicker. Really don't see the point of this debate.

Who has bowled the fastest ball in 2015? End. Of. Debate.

Lee's average speed was as good as Shoaib's in 2002-03, yet Shoaib is the king because of THAT one delivery.

What a pointless thread anyway. Aaron is rubbish while Wahab is incredibly inconsistent.

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

Every other bowler from the subcontinent is basically a trundler when compared to Wahab

After that totally selective display of speeds from TalentSpotter bhai, I think it becomes important that we set the record straight.

- First of all, when we call someone the Fastest, it isn't based on Top-speeds alone. If that was the case, Srinath would be the second fastest bowler of late 90s behind Akhtar. How can you simply highlight the top speeds and claim a bowler to be the fastest when his average pace hovers at around 140kph? :facepalm:

Now coming back to your point about Wahab being faster in longer Test spells, well here I present the documented speeds for last 5 Tests Wahab and Aaron played -

100-150 Deliveries in an inning :

Wahab - 86.9mph, 86.3mph, 87.6mph
Aaron - 87.8mph ( Didn't get as many opportunities to bowl this long)

Here's a graphical comparison - View attachment 62376

150-200 Deliveries an inning :

Wahab - 86.2mph, 87.3mph, 85.1mph
Aaron - 87.6mph, 87.6mph

Graphical comparison -

View attachment 62377

200+ Deliveries :
Wahab - 87.3mph
Aaron - No Sample

----------------------------

To conclude - So even in longer Test spells, Aaron bowled the slowest spell at 87.6mph (141kph).

Wahab slowest spell in comparison was 85.1mph, and almost 50% of those spells were bowled at 86mph domain.

Wahab is good, but Aaron is simply quicker. Really don't see the point of this debate.

You also have to consider how often the bowler uses change of pace deliveries as well as where they bowled in regards to the conditions

Who has bowled the fastest ball in 2015? End. Of. Debate.

Lee's average speed was as good as Shoaib's in 2002-03, yet Shoaib is the king because of THAT one delivery.

What a pointless thread anyway. Aaron is rubbish while Wahab is incredibly inconsistent.

Starc, not Wahab.

You also have to consider how often the bowler uses change of pace deliveries as well as where they bowled in regards to the conditions

If we consider factors like that then there is no objective use of the speed measurements. We have to assume that bowlers usually try to bowl as fast as they can. At the end of a match, their slower variations even out.

I had a debate with a Zaheer Khan's Fan in a thread of PP in November.

By that time 1st Test of India vs SA had completed.

He was arguing with me that Varun Aaron is faster than Wahab Riaz on Average Speed.

I said let's compare speeds of Wahab Riaz in first test vs England in Abu Dhabi from 13th to 17th October 2015 when temperatures were 33,36,38,36 & 38 degrees (UAE heat & humidity)

and

Compare it with 1st Test of series India vs South Africa 5th to 7th (3 day test) when temperatures were 27,28 & 25 degrees of Mohali India.

Wahab Riaz Average Speed in first innings was 87.3 mph with fastest
91.9 mph mph in a spell of 37 overs. Whereas in the second innings his Average speed was 89.0 mph with fastest speed of 92.5 mph in a spell of 2 overs.

Varun Aaron bowled Average Speed first innings was 87.9 mph with fastest
91.9 mph mph in a spell of 8 overs. Whereas in the second innings his Average speed was 87.2 mph with fastest speed of 89.8 mph in a spell of 3 overs.

I said to him look Wahab bowled 39 overs in hot humid conditions while Aaron bowled only 11 overs in relatively cool temperatures and yet Wahab is only 0.6 kph slower than Aaron in first innings match despite bowling 29 more overs than Aaron so it is evident that he is faster than Aaron on average speed since what are the energy levels of a fast bowler after he bowls 5 overs 1st spell than 6 overs spell than 8 overs spell than 7 overs spell than 5 overs spell and than 6 overs spell

6 spells in 1 innings consisting of 37 overs compared with 2 spells of 4 overs each.

I said a tired fast bowler who bowled 37 overs in first innings averaged 89mph in 2nd spell of 2 overs with fastest of 92.5mph whereas the bowler who bowled just 8 overs in first innings bowled 3 overs in 2nd innings and his average speed was 87.2 mph with fastest 89.8 mph.

So I asked him who is the fastest among both on Average speed tell me ?

He said Varun Aaron

Hahahahahahaha Hahahahahahaha haha

Wahab Riaz bowled 108 overs in a 3 test series whereas Ishant Sharma bowled 62 , Umesh Yadav bowled 42 & Aaron bowled 20 overs in a 4 Test series vs South Africa.

3 bowlers bowled 124 overs and 1 bowler bowled 108 overs.

Varun Aaron toured England in 2014. He played the 4th test there and he was at his fastest than recently he has slowed down as evident from his speeds of last test series where his fastest ball was 147.8 kph.

So on August 7-9 that test match was played in pleasant weather (not hot and humid) and Aaron bowled 26 overs where his fastest was 92.4 mph and Average Speed was 86.4 mph.

Now let's compare his 26 overs spell with Wahab's 37 overs spell in October heat and humidity of Abu Dhabi and Wahab's Average speed was 87.3 mph with fastest 91.9 mph. despite bowling 11 more overs than Aaron his Average speed was 1 mph faster than Aaron that too in heat and humid of UAE not 20 degrees temp of Manchester.

None of Indian Pacers is faster than Wahab Riaz in any format currently even on Average Speed Comparisons. This is just a circulated myth on PP.

I think this myth of Indian bowlers being faster than Pakistan's has been put to rest for a while after this T20 Asia cup clash.

It will only be a while before some delusions start to creep up again though.

I think this myth of Indian bowlers being faster than Pakistan's has been put to rest for a while after this T20 Asia cup clash.

The Indian bowlers that are considered faster than most of the Pakistani bowlers are Aaron, Yadav etc. None of them played in the India vs Pakistan match.

Ishant,Shami,Yadav and Aaron that's 4 of our main fast bowlers....Our 2nd string or even 3rd string fast bowling line up is being competitive enough to run through sides lol

That's because India's fastest bowlers Varun, Umesh and Shami aren't even playing in the tourney whereas the fastest Pak bowlers are. India's pacers in the tourney are Uncleji Nehra and rookie Bumrah. Wait till Kohli takes over the captaincy.

ICC should arrange fastest bowler competition from Asia I am 200% sure that all four indian and Some srilankans bowlers will out pace this hyped Pakistani bowlers

Whatever makes you happy my friend

Shami is injured and he's a quality bowler so I will give you that. Sharma is a mediocre pacer, has always been one and isn't terribly quick either so why he is being mentioned is a mystery. All four of our pacers are easily quicker than him.

As for Umesh and Varun, why are they not playing? Are they injured? Or is it the fact that they are just not good pacers and have deluded the deprived Indian kaum into thinking that they are fast and furious?

Shami is injured and he's a quality bowler so I will give you that. Sharma is a mediocre pacer, has always been one and isn't terribly quick either so why he is being mentioned is a mystery. All four of our pacers are easily quicker than him.

As for Umesh and Varun, why are they not playing? Are they injured? Or is it the fact that they are just not good pacers and have deluded the deprived Indian kaum into thinking that they are fast and furious?

Yadav was the third highest wicket taker in the World Cup, ahead of any Pakistani bowler.

Ishant,Shami,Yadav and Aaron that's 4 of our main fast bowlers....Our 2nd string or even 3rd string fast bowling line up is being competitive enough to run through sides lol
1. No
2. Let's assume yes for a second, pitches like these narrow the gulf between trundlers and world class bowlers, so again no.
3. Let's assume yes for another second, you need to eat meat to get a predator's instinct and to build actual muscles. Pace bowlers can't be herbivores, so again no.
4. Let's assume yes for yet another second, with the money that is being poured by your greedy board, it is funny that you include an lol in your post. India should have been the top batting AND bowling side given the amount of finances being invested, yet you manage to have only one bowler who averages decently. So again no.

Sent from my INFINIX-X551 using Tapatalk

Dont know if Wahab is quickest in asia or not but he is a very mediocre bowler. He dont even have half the skill Amir has and few leagues below Irfan & Junaid as well. As an opponent, never really worried about Wahab Riaz out of all people. Infact in that last game after that spell from Amir when Wahab came to bowl, it brought smile in my face thinking here are some easy runs coming. Always get a spanking from Indian boys especially from Kohli.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

Shami is injured and has been injured since ages, as for Yadev and Aaron..LOL the reason they are not in squad coz Dhoni preferred others who might not have the pace but are still much better than those two.
If someone's main fast bowler happen to be Aaron, then they have a serious problem.

wahab reached 155 kph in WC that too against india ... amir can easily break into 150s and so can Sami at will. Irfan is there too ... From the the domestic circuit, ziaulhaq was bowing at 144-145 in PSL in his first match against karachi, Hasan ali and adil can generate pace too. Indos have internet ego issues thats why this thread exists otherwise its a joke to compare indian pacers to pakistani ones on individual scale. Its like comparing younis khan to Ganguly and dravid in terms of quality because younis will soon reach 10K mark too in tests ...

Not surprised seeing some indians believe aaron is quicker than Wahab.

They also believe Srinath was quicker than Waqar Younis.

Not surprised seeing some indians believe aaron is quicker than Wahab.

They also believe Srinath was quicker than Waqar Younis.

Actually both statements are true. What I am surprised is, how come you guys believe Wahab is some kind of a legend. Apart from Amir, I see no one in Pakistan attack who is worth mentioning.

Aaron? He was going to break Akhtar's Tait's Lee's record...yeah yeah

Sent from my GT-I9500 using Tapatalk

Actually both statements are true. What I am surprised is, how come you guys believe Wahab is some kind of a legend. Apart from Amir, I see no one in Pakistan attack who is worth mentioning.

Srinath was quicker than Waqar? Lolwut?

Who believes that Riaz is a legend?

Kudos to [MENTION=139678]Zak_Fan[/MENTION] for clearing all doubts regarding speeds.

Varun abd Yadav are the 2 quickest bowlers in Asia and there should be no shame in any Pakistani's heart in admitting that.

Its funny that they got Varun, yaduv fastest bowlers in Asia Atm...but still they were facing bowling problems :D

Sent from my GT-I9500 using Tapatalk

Your 200% ain't much of a guarantee when you whine and cry so much, is it?

Don't know why people are so obsessed for having the fastest pace. Only pace without skill and direction is useless. Tait is a good example. It's like obsessing over having the highest strike rate in batting.

Even if Amir bowls in the 142ks, he will be comfortably better than all the Asian 150k pacers.

wahab reached 155 kph in WC that too against india ... amir can easily break into 150s and so can Sami at will. Irfan is there too ... From the the domestic circuit, ziaulhaq was bowing at 144-145 in PSL in his first match against karachi, Hasan ali and adil can generate pace too. Indos have internet ego issues thats why this thread exists otherwise its a joke to compare indian pacers to pakistani ones on individual scale. Its like comparing younis khan to Ganguly and dravid in terms of quality because younis will soon reach 10K mark too in tests ...

Younis is comfortably better than Ganguly in Tests.

Under Dhoni, I am certain Wahab would still be playing first class Cricket now. Hope that we'll see changes under Kohli, and let the world know that Aaron is in fact better and faster than Wahab.

:))) please tell us you were joking

Srinath quicker than waqar??? In what world?

I am sorry to say but Indian fans are just embarrassing themseleves in this thread. Everytime indian bowlers and Pakistani bowlers have played in the same match, the Pakistani bowlers have outpaced them.

Don't know why people are so obsessed for having the fastest pace. Only pace without skill and direction is useless. Tait is a good example. It's like obsessing over having the highest strike rate in batting.

Even if Amir bowls in the 142ks, he will be comfortably better than all the Asian 150k pacers.

One of the better posts in this thread.

Yes Srinath was faster than Waqar Younis just like Inzamam was fastest to reach 15000 runs :)

Aaron is the quickest by a country mile but he is useless most of the times like TAIT. I don't understand why is it so difficult to swallow for many here

I think this is Shami's fastest ever ball.

Morris is the Only allrounder capable of consistently bowling 90+ mph. But still 6 out of Top 10 fastest balls uptil now bowled by him.

Let's see who hits the 150 kph mark first.

f4d42e98c7cdc68d89922ed9c2514a40.jpg

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

8 out of Top 10 fastest balls bowled by Chris Morris.

He has touched 150 kph mark aswell.

Really impressive by Morris, never realized that he was this fast, always thought he was in the mid to low 140s
Improved alot as a player in last 12 months.

Fastest bowler wrt Allrounders in World Cricket and in top 3 wrt average speed.

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

Chris morris is quicker than I thought. A very talented cricketer who has improved a lot over the last year or so.

Are Umesh Yadav and Varun Aaron even playing in the IPL

Seems like India has moved on from them

Great news if Shami is still bowling fast after injury. I am so glad, skill wise he's always been way better than Vrumesh.

Damn Morris can hit 150k?? I always took him as a military medium wobbler the kind of which South Africa produce in huge numbers.

Can smack 80 off 30 as well when he gets going.

Scary LOI all rounder he's gonna be and with that pace he could be a threat in tests too.