Jalandhar bats with Pakistani goods

http://www.newindianexpress.com/the...andhar-bats-with-pakistani-goods-1692212.html

CHANDIGARH: India’s hostile neighbour Pakistan is scoring tons across the border off the field. Batting for cricket-crazy India, Pakistan is exporting bats to this country from Sialkot, especially to Jalandhar in Punjab, where local traders put Indian stickers and ‘made in India’ tags on them.

Jalandhar-based sports goods manufacturers, which were known for their sports equipment,were unable to compete with imports from Pakistan, China, Japan and Taiwan. Many of them shut shop and moved into trading.

Now they import cricket bats and hockey sticks from Pakistan; baseball, volleyball and tennis balls from China; badminton equipment from Japan and gloves and other sports gear from Taiwan.

Around 400 sports goods units in Jalandhar do business of Rs 1,200 crore per year by importing sports goods and putting their own labels on them. Around 150 containers of sports equipment are delivered to Jalandhar traders every month from abroad.

English willowbats are popular for their quality and durability, followed by Kashmir willow bats,for which wood is sourced from the Kashmir Valley. “English willow cricket bats come from Pakistan, besides hockey sticks (composite sticks).The Sachin Malik brand of hockey sticks from Pakistan are sold in India for `1,000-12,000. Soft leather goods like gloves (cricket, boxing and weight lifting), footballs and cricket balls come from across the border,’’ said VipinPreenja owner of Marhsal Exports.

“A Pakistani English willow bat costs Rs 2,000 - Rs10,000, and is a consignment is delivered in just 10 days. In India, the same order from another country can take up to two years.’

However, sports equipment can only be imported from Pakistan, and not exported to it. Preenja imports cricket bats and hockey sticks from Pakistan worth `50 lakh per year. Bats made in Sialkot are of excellent quality.

One of the major factors behind the deterioration of this industry in Jalandhar is the unhealthy tax system.
Ravinder Dhir, owner of sports good manufacturer Dixon Group, says,

“Jalandhar was once the hub of sports good manufacturing. Most manufacturers have now shifted to retail and wholesale business of sports goods due to the policies of the Central and state governments. We protested against GST for four months as it ruined our business.

We had to stop manufacturing and start trading a few years ago due to bad polices of state government.With GST, we have to stop trading and shut our business.”

Make in India? Government needs to take a look at what's going on and ban the import of these goods from Pakistan. our sports manufacturing industry was pretty good till a few years ago so we can still revive it.. We need to have a strong manufacturing structure for our country to grow and if something which we were good at is now getting imported from neighbouring countries then it's a huge problem.. If we stay a service based economy we will always be developing and never be developed..
[MENTION=76058]cricketjoshila[/MENTION] bhai what happened here? Cricket manufacturing was a big deal in Meerut and Punjab how did it get to a point we are importing it from Pakistan?

Sialkot's reputation is amazing!

Sialkot has of course deep roots as a central location in South Asia for sports good manufacturing. It could be speculated that this expertise in cricket manufacturing may have played a small role in the democratisation of cricket in the early years of Pakistan. At independence, the game was played generally by the relatively affluent. But manufacturing of cricket equipment would have provided a small section of the less well-to-do groups exposure to the game.

Make in India? Government needs to take a look at what's going on and ban the import of these goods from Pakistan. our sports manufacturing industry was pretty good till a few years ago so we can still revive it.. We need to have a strong manufacturing structure for our country to grow and if something which we were good at is now getting imported from neighbouring countries then it's a huge problem.. If we stay a service based economy we will always be developing and never be developed..
[MENTION=76058]cricketjoshila[/MENTION] bhai what happened here? Cricket manufacturing was a big deal in Meerut and Punjab how did it get to a point we are importing it from Pakistan?

The quality of Sailkot sports goods is world renowned. It produced the footballs used in the previous world cup. Indians probably need to up their game.

I don't deny Sialkot's goods being world renowned but I don't think this decision is due to quality it's probably due to costs.. Which is weird since goods produced in India should not be much costlier than ones being produced in Pakistan as both countries have similar currencies and similar labour costs I would think..

Apparently the difference in cost is enough for manufactures to turn into traders and start importing everything from Pakistan..

Serious issue this one..

Wish we had better relations with Afghanistan. With cricket thriving in the country, we could’ve increased the export of Sporting goods.

[MENTION=140308]blue_champion[/MENTION]

"Kyonki Pakistan mei sports manufacturing talent bohut hai"...thought I should congratulate you for your first and only factual statement on PP. Must feel great knowing India relies on quality products from across the border.