Jos Buttler is what Umar Akmal could have been...

Titan24

Senior Test Player
Making his debut at 19 years of age and scoring a match winning century in only his 3rd ODI (102 off 72 balls) by completely dominating the Srl bowling attack showed glimpses to the whole world of his talent. He kept on doing decently but never showed that hunger to keep on improving and becoming the best version of what he could have been. His disciplinary issues along with the lack of hunger to improve derailed his career.

His treatment was also not the exemplary by the managements he played under as there was no justification to drop him from the test squad where he was doing decently even before he was dropped.

Josh Buttler on the other hand was a slow starter in 2012 and got his first international century in 2014 almost 2 years after his debut. However, he kept on working hard improving every little detail of his game and now in 2019 he is one of the most dangerous batsman around the globe.

Last century which he has scored against Pakistan was off 70 odd balls (Though in a losing cause) which just made me think which middle order batsmen of Pakistan in the last decade or so had the ability to do anything like that with such strokes and dominance and I remembered the innings of Umar Akmal in his 1st series and that too in 2009 when scoring a century of 70 odd balls coming at no 5 wasnt very common and there was just one white ball and no such field restrictions as we see today.

Sad thing is that innings was probably the best Umar Akmal played in his ODI career against a decent side. He had the ability but to become great you need other factors as well but those factors like like discipline, hard work, temperament etc are controllable ones however, having the ability or not cant be controlled.

One can find players who can control those controllable factors really well and can become very good cricketers e.g Azhar Ali but finding ability of certain level which only few cricketers possess is rare. Unfortunately Umar Akmal just wasnt able to control those controllable factors otherwise he could have been what Josh Buttler is today...

Akmal is fully to blame for his current predicament. He never learns.

That being said, him batting at 6 in ODIs in his first 2 years while someone like Younis batted at 3 was criminal and perfectly represents the mindset of our management and captain at the time

The problems of Pakistani players are self-made:

a) stardom syndrome

and

b) lack of hard work and motivation.

The talent is there but the mindset isn’t.

Imagine Buttler being a Pakistani batsmen, would he have become what he now is - it is his hard work and continuous desire to succeed which has paid off.

Okay suppose he had polished all the talent and skills, and had scored multiple tons in the beginning of his bright career, all the Pakistani fans are praising him and saying he is the ‘next-best’ etc.

And then comes the batsman’s rough patch - there is no concentration on the batting or no desire to improve because the player thinks he is perfect.

And this is the point where our Pakistani players fall behind their counterparts.

I was done when i saw umar akmal in the title could have been shouldn have doesnt matter cause he never was and never will be. Why do you guys keep making these comparison threads about guys who arent even in the team and might not even be in the domestic even

Umar Akmal should still make a comeback post WC.

He can take Malik’s place easily.

I was done when i saw umar akmal in the title could have been shouldn have doesnt matter cause he never was and never will be. Why do you guys keep making these comparison threads about guys who arent even in the team and might not even be in the domestic even

I am not comparing Umar Akmal with anybody, just saying he had the skillset to be one of the most dangerous limited overs players. Why he couldnt become I have mentioned the reasons as well.

Umar Akmal does not have Buttlers skill set

At no point were they at a similar level.

Buttler has more cricketing sense in his pinky than umar Akmal has in total

Please stop portraying umar Akmal as the tragic hero?

What next? Shehzad could have been a Rohit?

lmao Akmal again ����*♂️

Also yes. Can we stop talking about this guy already

Seeing players of every team in the WC and even before that, it has just confirmed talent of a certain level is a rare breed. Believe it or not, around the world most of the players playing in many international teams are good but that extraordinary spark isnt very common. I am not saying how great Umar Akmal is, just showing disappointment at such a talent going to waste.

Umar is not mentally stable. He cannot process simple situations. It's been a decade now. People need to understand and move on.

Umar Akmal does not have Buttlers skill set

At no point were they at a similar level.

Buttler has more cricketing sense in his pinky than umar Akmal has in total

Please stop portraying umar Akmal as the tragic hero?

What next? Shehzad could have been a Rohit?

He has all the shots in the book but as you mentioned its the lack of cricketing sense and game awareness which . I dont remember many players scoring a test century with SR of 80 in swinging conditions of NZ against Shane Bond, Daniel Vettori.

I am not saying he is a tragic hero. Its just my opinion that he had the skills to be a dangerous player but was lacking in many aspects as I have mentioned in the OP.

Umar is not mentally stable. He cannot process simple situations. It's been a decade now. People need to understand and move on.
True, the only problem is that the other batters just dont have a second gear. You look at Imam, you look at Haris Sohail or even Babar Azam. These guys cannot score 15- 20 off an over, Umar Akmal can.

He is still scoring runs in domestic cricket. I feel a different team management can still get the best out of him.

Completely agree. Just showing bit of disappointment for a talent who couldnt fill his potential and what he could have been if he didnt have so many issues.

True, the only problem is that the other batters just dont have a second gear. You look at Imam, you look at Haris Sohail or even Babar Azam. These guys cannot score 15- 20 off an over, Umar Akmal can.

He is still scoring runs in domestic cricket. I feel a different team management can still get the best out of him.

No, they can't. This team management is as good as it gets. The rest in on the player. Babar, Fakhar, Imam have come leaps and bounds under this management.

He has all the shots in the book but as you mentioned its the lack of cricketing sense and game awareness which . I dont remember many players scoring a test century with SR of 80 in swinging conditions of NZ against Shane Bond, Daniel Vettori.

I am not saying he is a tragic hero. Its just my opinion that he had the skills to be a dangerous player but was lacking in many aspects as I have mentioned in the OP.

There’s enough of a sample set to conclude that his debut test innings was a fluke. Also there was no defensive cricket in that innings. All attacking shots.

To be a good or great batsman, no matter how attacking, you need a solid defensive base to build off. AB and Buttler have that and hence they achieved what they did. Guys like Afridi and Akmal didn’t and that is reflected in their batting records.

Batting is not just about playing flashy attacking shots and that is evident from Akmals career. He has played under Waqar, Mohsin, Whatmore, Waqar again and Mickey Arthur. None of them were able to crack the code and at some point you just have to accept that umar akmal is probably operating at the level he deserves

Some brainless posters missing the point of this thread, it’s simply discussing the point - of where Umar COULD have been had he had the right mindset and work ethic, the talent he had at 19 was amazing, unfortunately talent can only get you so far as a batsmen. Something to learn from for any young upcoming international players.

Completely agree. Just showing bit of disappointment for a talent who couldnt fill his potential and what he could have been if he didnt have so many issues.

There's plenty more where he came from. Pakistani selectors should focus more on testing the cricketing IQ of our players before selecting them. We have invested in too many idiots with potential with zero results. We simple need not waste time on them.

Why stop at Buttler? He could have been Viv Richards or Don Bradman himself for that matter.

There’s enough of a sample set to conclude that his debut test innings was a fluke. Also there was no defensive cricket in that innings. All attacking shots.

To be a good or great batsman, no matter how attacking, you need a solid defensive base to build off. AB and Buttler have that and hence they achieved what they did. Guys like Afridi and Akmal didn’t and that is reflected in their batting records

He has just played 16 tests with avg of 35, 1 centuries and 6 50s. It was a much better start to test career than ABD and Amla.

Yes I completely agree he has shown poor defense but that is not because he doesnt have the technique its again something to do with the confused mindset with which he plays in the middle. Many might laugh but Umar Akmal is one of the technically most solid player we have but his short selection, analysis of game situation and targeting of bowlers is where the problem lies and has been for a decade now.

There's plenty more where he came from. Pakistani selectors should focus more on testing the cricketing IQ of our players before selecting them. We have invested in too many idiots with potential with zero results. We simple need not waste time on them.

I hope there are many more as its been a long time I have seen a consistently dominating middle order batsmen from Pak. I hope some young talented players like Saif Badar, Nabi Gul, Khushdil Shah etc develop

Bhai maaf kardo even an Umar Akmal at peak form in prime fitness can't polish the shoes of the guy who polishes Buttler's shoes.

He is a glorified hack and a leg side slogger with zero game sense or awareness. I don't know how a player of his quality went past club cricket. That's his level.

Why stop at Buttler? He could have been Viv Richards or Don Bradman himself for that matter.

Buttler is the modern day star so I though I will refer to him. :smith

Every body talking about temperament and game awareness of Umar Akmal should realize I have pointed the very same reasons for his failure.

I am not his fan or his way of being dismissed and I am equally disappointed in him as you guys are. However, this thread is about just the natural talent he possessed and the very same reasons as everybody is mentioning which stopped his growth as a cricketer.

Every body talking about temperament and game awareness of Umar Akmal should realize I have pointed the very same reasons for his failure.

I am not his fan or his way of being dismissed and I am equally disappointed in him as you guys are. However, this thread is about just the natural talent he possessed and the very same reasons as everybody is mentioning which stopped his growth as a cricketer.

You should not be disappointed. Just as some humans are physically limited, there are many mentally limited as well. Cricket is not a physical game alone, no sport is.

How come his averages are like below against better ODI sides of his time. May be he is just a minnow basher?

vs OZ 32
vs BD 39
vs Eng 25
vs India 15
vs NZ 18
vs SA 21
vs SL 45
vs WI 57

Butler except against India (avge 24) he averages 35 plus against all major countries

Many are not reading the last paragraph and are just being pumped up by reading Umar Akmal's name. Kindly relax and read the whole OP, even a kid on the street knows whats the problem with Umar Akmal is, this thread is just my opinion that he could have been a player to look forward to if there werent such problems with him.

I am just talking two talented players going on totally different routes.

What natural talent? So clearing the leg and swinging across the line translates to natural talent? Then players like Afridi and Razzaq might be the most talented batsman in history since they could do same and even more. Just so you know talent is not defined by how long of a six you can hit.

Talent is defined by how easily you can pierce gaps, rotate strike at will and find the boundary playing low risk shots. That's the problem people think Akmal is talented when Infact he misses straight ball from part-timers (Yuvraj).

Garbage player who wouldn't have made it even to the A side of most nations.

Many are not reading the last paragraph and are just being pumped up by reading Umar Akmal's name. Kindly relax and read the whole OP, even a kid on the street knows whats the problem with Umar Akmal is, this thread is just my opinion that he could have been a player to look forward to if there werent such problems with him.

I am just talking two talented players going on totally different routes.

I know brother Titan, read my post and ignore the dumbos jumping on the bandwagon to just totally write Umar Akmal whole career off and disregard the points you have made , Umar Akmal in his first couple of years was a feared batsman to an extent especially T20s.

What natural talent? So clearing the leg and swinging across the line translates to natural talent? Then players like Afridi and Razzaq might be the most talented batsman in history since they could do same and even more. Just so you know talent is not defined by how long of a six you can hit.

Talent is defined by how easily you can pierce gaps, rotate strike at will and find the boundary playing low risk shots. That's the problem people think Akmal is talented when Infact he misses straight ball from part-timers (Yuvraj).

Garbage player who wouldn't have made it even to the A side of most nations.

He showed much more than that in his test century of debut in NZ where conditions dont allow you to keep on playing by clearing the front leg.

Yes he has looked mediocre more often than not in his career, I cant deny that but cant deny some of the shots (Not the leg side hacks) like the cover drives and straight drives he had the ability to play.

How come his averages are like below against better ODI sides of his time. May be he is just a minnow basher?

vs OZ 32
vs BD 39
vs Eng 25
vs India 15
vs NZ 18
vs SA 21
vs SL 45
vs WI 57

Butler except against India (avge 24) he averages 35 plus against all major countries

In Pak we define TALENT by how long of a six you can hit. Constructing an innings and finding gaps is considered lame. Awkward moment for Akmal fans when specialist captain who is also a keeper has better or comparable averages against most sides as compared to talented Akmal.

Umer is not well, people should leave him alone and wish him the best. So of course he won't match Butler now but Umer could have been an all round batsmen in all formats.

I know brother Titan, read my post and ignore the dumbos jumping on the bandwagon to just totally write Umar Akmal whole career off and disregard the points you have made , Umar Akmal in his first couple of years was a feared batsman to an extent especially T20s.

Thanks, appreciate it. I know where others are coming from and I do agree with some of the points being made but then I never denied any of those points even in my opening post.

The biggest exhibition of Umar Akmal's superior talent was when he was sent at number three in one of the games in the Aane Do series. Akmal came in and Bhuv bowled first two balls going away and everybody and their aunt could tell that the next ball(last of the over) will be an inswinger, but no not Mr. Talented. The bowl nipped in and Akmal sahab played a full blooded drive with zero feet movement and had his middle stump uprooted.

Pathetic player.

For anyone who is feeling pumped kindly read this again as you might have missed it in OP:

" Sad thing is that innings was probably the best Umar Akmal played in his ODI career against a decent side. He had the ability but to become great you need other factors as well but those factors like discipline, hard work, temperament etc are controllable ones however, having the ability or not cant be controlled.

One can find players who can control those controllable factors really well and can become very good cricketers e.g Azhar Ali but finding ability of certain level which only few cricketers possess is rare. Unfortunately Umar Akmal just wasnt able to control those controllable factors otherwise he could have been what Josh Buttler is today..."

Yes he would have been, but you can’t blame him for his very low IQ.

Based on talent and raw hitting ability, yes he could be as good as Buttler.

Umar Akmal was many things, at one point in time Pakistan's best Limited overs and reliable batsman to most irresponsible, his demise is also a result of poor mismanagement where he was kicked out of the test side, played in the lower order to his own faults as well.

To be honest he has also been over rated as well and his abilities have been over estimated as well. He suffered from high expectations

My assessment is Umar Akmals demise started after being predominantly assigned the role of lower order hitter where either he came in crisis situations or when he had to hit at the end. Never developed his overall batting

Umar Akmal is a better test batsman and can improve as an ODI batsman by playing long term as a no 4 or opening.
The chances get better for him with Malik and Hafeez retiring Haris not a guaranteed starter and Imam likely to be found out over time Akmal is very much in the frame for a top order spot and rightly so one of the few match winning top order batsmen in the country currently.

Umar Akmal is a better test batsman and can improve as an ODI batsman by playing long term as a no 4 or opening.
The chances get better for him with Malik and Hafeez retiring Haris not a guaranteed starter and Imam likely to be found out over time Akmal is very much in the frame for a top order spot and rightly so one of the few match winning top order batsmen in the country currently.

Can you tell when was the last time Akmal won a match for his side in international or domestic level?

He regressed at an alarming rate, it's sad.

That innings in the Sri Lankan ODI in 2009, coming in at 6, was probably his best innings ever.

The only other notable innings I can remember are 55 vs NZ in SF CT '09 where he got a wrong call from the umpire.

91 vs Sri Lanka in 2011 in UAE.

60 odd vs Sri Lanka in Asia Cup 2012

60 odd vs Australia 5th ODI in 2010

102* vs Afghanistan in Asia Cup 2014

44 vs Australia in 2011 World Cup

That's all I can remember from the top of my head.

Ignoring the flaming replies on here (some of you really get triggered by just his name. Calm down), I agree with you OP.

Were quick to label players as good or bad. It simple isnt that black and white. At international cricket, a lot of other factors come into play.

It is unfortunate umar Akmal couldnt make it. I dont know the guy but to start with he never quite got matured or developed on his game from 19. I also think he never got proper guidance. Whether that's his doing or his circumstances who knows.

It is very obvious he was an incredibly talented player at a young age. All PP posters here denying that must be more intelligent then all those experts that talked about his excellent stroke play all around the pitch.

However, he failed which is quite unfortunate. Imo better guidance and a solid prolonged spot at number 3 and thinks might have been different.

International cricket is harsh. Sometimes you just dont make it.

Can you tell when was the last time Akmal won a match for his side in international or domestic level?

He won Balochistan matches in Pakistan Cup 2019 and also was pretty decent for QG in PSL. He was also the highest run scorer in the Pakistan Cup 2019, also scored centuries in the final of QAE trophy.

Again I understand why he is not rated anymore and was dropped from the team however, he is still one of the better players in our domestics.

Ignoring the flaming replies on here (some of you really get triggered by just his name. Calm down), I agree with you OP.

Were quick to label players as good or bad. It simple isnt that black and white. At international cricket, a lot of other factors come into play.

It is unfortunate umar Akmal couldnt make it. I dont know the guy but to start with he never quite got matured or developed on his game from 19. I also think he never got proper guidance. Whether that's his doing or his circumstances who knows.

It is very obvious he was an incredibly talented player at a young age. All PP posters here denying that must be more intelligent then all those experts that talked about his excellent stroke play all around the pitch.

However, he failed which is quite unfortunate. Imo better guidance and a solid prolonged spot at number 3 and thinks might have been different.

International cricket is harsh. Sometimes you just dont make it.

Exactly, most of the posters after his so called downfall are not even accepting that he had any talent.

It was unfair to drop him after just one series of his recall into the team

Thread #100000 of “what UA could have been.....” reality UA is done n dusted in international cricket setup

Everyone in Pakistan from Asif to Akmal is like Butler, yet the team is borderline minnow.

Jos Buttler is 29 years old, has 1722 Test runs at an average of 35.87, with 80% of his runs scored at home.

Umar Akmal is 29 years old, has 1003 Test runs at an average of 35.82.

In what way is Umar Akmal trailing Jos Buttler?

Currently their records are identical.

Are you referring to the Umar Akmal who was Man of the Match in the last domestic First Class Final, in December 2018?

That Umar Akmal?

It was unfair to drop him after just one series of his recall into the team
In which he averaged 30 against a top class team, and didn’t fail in five innings - he just didn’t kick on for a big one.

Not again . Umar Akmal done & dusted ,Pak should give some young talented player chance after wc but not this Akmals

Everyone in Pakistan from Asif to Akmal is like Butler, yet the team is borderline minnow.

I never once said that, Umar Akmal is as good as Buttler neither I am comparing him to Buttler. I am just comparing the natural talent and ability which Umar Akmal showed in his early days. Even now he plays match winning knocks for his domestic sides, however, due to number of factors he could replicate that in international arena. Its just my opinion and again I am not comparing the current versions of Buttler and Akmal.

Jos Buttler is 29 years old, has 1722 Test runs at an average of 35.87, with 80% of his runs scored at home.

And surprisingly Umar Akmal was never selected for test team since 2011, there is no justification for that.

Without looking, I do recall Akmal playing a few decent knocks in T20I so he was not completely useless. It’s more of his mindset- poor personality and did not strive to improve. He doesn’t know when to attack and when to play sensibly.

5-16-2019 2-15-04 PM.jpg

He was never as bad as many posters are saying and believe. Other than one year all other years he has performed reasonably well in ODIs.

Without looking, I do recall Akmal playing a few decent knocks in T20I so he was not completely useless. It’s more of his mindset- poor personality and did not strive to improve. He doesn’t know when to attack and when to play sensibly.

Rightly said. These things have hampered his growth as a cricketer and didnt let him reach his true potential.

Only two years where he averaged above 40.

The rest are mediocre.

Yes mediocre but not poor especially considering he played at mostly no 6 and 5 in his career. Miller, Maxwell, Stokes, Duminy, Nicholls average in 30s and they play in similar positions.

View attachment 92358

He was never as bad as many posters are saying and believe. Other than one year all other years he has performed reasonably well in ODIs.

What is reasonably well in your opinion? I see only two good years and the last of them was in 2011 a good 8 years ago. I don't know what it'll take for people to finally realize that Umar Akmal is garbage.

I never understood, Akmal was a top 10 ODI batsman and had a Test average of 37 outside Asia, but he was never promoted to no. 4 or 3 (considering younis with a far worse record was persisted with) and was never given a chance in Asia for Tests to prove his worth.

It is very frustrating, when you look back at it.

I never understood, Akmal was a top 10 ODI batsman and had a Test average of 37 outside Asia, but he was never promoted to no. 4 or 3 (considering younis with a far worse record was persisted with) and was never given a chance in Asia for Tests to prove his worth.

It is very frustrating, when you look back at it.

Indeed it is frustrating Azhar Shafiq Younis Hafeez Shehzad all inferior batsmen in ODIs were given plenty of chances in the top order while Akmal was never promoted a young batsmen who should've been developed in the top order.

In tests only Younis was better than him but again he was dropped never played again after 2011 the coach and captain would obviously have a major say in this.

View attachment 92358

True.

However, most posters here get triggered on the mere mention of Umar Akmal because of made up minds and prejudice.

Umar Akmal was on a good trajectory but bad management ruined him. Also some of it is his own fault.

Even after being at his worst he's better than Buttler in Tests.

In domestics recent form shows he's as good or better than Buttler. If applied those skills in international arena as well.

Making his debut at 19 years of age and scoring a match winning century in only his 3rd ODI (102 off 72 balls) by completely dominating the Srl bowling attack showed glimpses to the whole world of his talent. He kept on doing decently but never showed that hunger to keep on improving and becoming the best version of what he could have been. His disciplinary issues along with the lack of hunger to improve derailed his career.

His treatment was also not the exemplary by the managements he played under as there was no justification to drop him from the test squad where he was doing decently even before he was dropped.

Josh Buttler on the other hand was a slow starter in 2012 and got his first international century in 2014 almost 2 years after his debut. However, he kept on working hard improving every little detail of his game and now in 2019 he is one of the most dangerous batsman around the globe.

Last century which he has scored against Pakistan was off 70 odd balls (Though in a losing cause) which just made me think which middle order batsmen of Pakistan in the last decade or so had the ability to do anything like that with such strokes and dominance and I remembered the innings of Umar Akmal in his 1st series and that too in 2009 when scoring a century of 70 odd balls coming at no 5 wasnt very common and there was just one white ball and no such field restrictions as we see today.

Sad thing is that innings was probably the best Umar Akmal played in his ODI career against a decent side. He had the ability but to become great you need other factors as well but those factors like like discipline, hard work, temperament etc are controllable ones however, having the ability or not cant be controlled.

One can find players who can control those controllable factors really well and can become very good cricketers e.g Azhar Ali but finding ability of certain level which only few cricketers possess is rare. Unfortunately Umar Akmal just wasnt able to control those controllable factors otherwise he could have been what Josh Buttler is today...

Jos Buttler is way better than Umar Akmal, dont compare him to any Akmal. Umar Akmal has Talent, he still does. But he lacks common sense that is when to play which shot. He always does something inexplicable and ruins everything. Sorry but Pakistan lost too many matches because of him. Even after a decade of failure and disappoints, PCB gave a golden opportunity in UAE against Australia, where some players scored 2 centuries but Umar Akmal failed yet again. Just forget about him, let him play T20 Leagues where he actually belongs.

Here is Jos Buttler ODI performance Vs Umar Akmal odi Performance

Buttlers
134 ODi matches,
9 Centuries
Average 42.22
Strike rate 120

Umar Akmal
121 Matches
2 Centuries
Average 34.34
Strike rate 86

Look at the difference in Strike rate, Centuries and Average

Buttlers
134 ODi matches,
9 Centuries
Average 42.22
Strike rate 120

Umar Akmal
121 Matches
2 Centuries
Average 34.34
Strike rate 86

But but but talent and Umar Akmal is shunted down in the lower order just don't mention that Buttler also bats at 6 :sree

What is reasonably well in your opinion? I see only two good years and the last of them was in 2011 a good 8 years ago. I don't know what it'll take for people to finally realize that Umar Akmal is garbage.

Avg of 34 while playing most of your career at no 5 and 6 is reasonable in my opinion. Obviously it’s subjective and opinions can differ. I have also pointed out players like Miller, Duminy, Maxwell, Nicholls etc who also avg in 30s playing at similar positions and even get promoted sometimes up the order.

Buttlers
134 ODi matches,
9 Centuries
Average 42.22
Strike rate 120

Umar Akmal
121 Matches
2 Centuries
Average 34.34
Strike rate 86

I guess like many you havent read the title and the opening post. Title is Buttler is what Umer Akmal could have been. Even kid in the street knows Buttler is miles ahead of Buttler at the moment. I have also mentioned the reasons of Umer Akmal’s failures and career progression of both.

Point of the thread was the ability Umer Akmal had for a 19 year old and what he could have become. If you think he never had any talent like others are portraying and he randomly got selected to play for Pak at 19 years of age then thats another matter.

But but but talent and Umar Akmal is shunted down in the lower order just don't mention that Buttler also bats at 6 :sree

Umer has performed poorly and I havent denied that. He doesnt have the game sense and many other things which buttler has. Its just my opinion that with the shot making ability and all the shots he had if he had few of other things as well he could have been as good as buttler.

Buttler is one of his kind but its my opinion that Umer Akmal had the ability to become that.

I guess like many you havent read the title and the opening post. Title is Buttler is what Umer Akmal could have been. Even kid in the street knows Buttler is miles ahead of Buttler at the moment. I have also mentioned the reasons of Umer Akmal’s failures and career progression of both.

Point of the thread was the ability Umer Akmal had for a 19 year old and what he could have become. If you think he never had any talent like others are portraying and he randomly got selected to play for Pak at 19 years of age then thats another matter.

Like I said in the post before this, He always had the talent. He does not have a batsman's brain, he gets out when he is set in nonsensical ways, there is nothing anybody can do about that. He is just a lost cause and a waste of talent. Even then he was given a golden opportunity versus Australia in UAE but he failed to Capitalize.

Umar can blame others, but the reality is that he himself is largely to blame for being sat at home and watching the World Cup from his living room and not being out here in England.

I was speaking with a former coach of Umar's recently and he was saying it's such a shame that Umar's career has gone the way it has, because when it came to ability, there were not many better than him.

Let's not demean butlers talent and skill by comparing him with Umar akmal. Comparisons :uakmal with yousuf pathan is more apt