Kerala floods: Red alert issued as death toll rises in Indian state

(CNN)Severe flooding in the southern Indian state of Kerala has killed at least 80 people in the past week, and more heavy rain is forecast in coming days.

State Relief Commissioner P.H. Kurian said the biggest loss of life came Thursday when 10 people died in a landslide.

Boats have been deployed across the state to reach thousands of people stranded by floodwater, and fishermen had been asked to help with rescue efforts, he said.

Officials announced the entire state was subject to a red alert Wednesday, the highest level, indicating the extent of the disaster which has forced tens of thousands of people to seek shelter in relief camps.

Railway and road transport has been all but halted with railway tracks and roads submerged under water. Operations at the international airport in the city of Kochi have been suspended until Saturday due to flooding.

"Kochi Airport operations temporarily suspended till 18th Saturday 2 pm since the inflow of water is still on a rising trend. We are working hard to drain out the storm water," said a statement posted on its website. Kochi metro operations have also been suspended until the water recedes.

Prime Minister, Narendra Modi has asked the defense ministry to step up relief and rescue operations in the state.

"Praying for the safety and well-being of the people of Kerala," he tweeted.

The state has been experiencing heavy rainfall that has resulted in dams filling to capacity. Water has had to be periodically released from these dams which has resulted in severe flooding in low-lying areas.

"No dams have been damaged. We are releasing more water from the dams and that is what is causing the floods plus the rain," said Kurian, the state relief commissioner.

Military personnel have been deployed across the state and are working on search and rescue missions. More teams from the National Disaster Response Force have also been requested to assist in evacuations.
The Indian Meteorological Department has issued a warning for heavy rainfall in the state for the next four days.

https://edition.cnn.com/2018/08/16/asia/india-kerala-floods-intl/index.html

Our prayers and good wishes for the people of the region.

Hope the people don't suffer nature's cruelty. They are innocent people just trying to earn a living.

Situation here is really pathetic. Dams are overflowing, the shutters of 34 dams have opened. Landslides are everywhere. Several thousands are stranded in the second floor and terraces of houses. No food, drinking water, electricity, medicine etc...

And this is the 1st half of rainy season. More rain is yet to come.:facepalm:

Seems worse than Chennai 2015 from all accounts.

[MENTION=140459]SandyB[/MENTION]'s hometown Aluva is under water. Hope he is safe.

Hows the situation in your town?

I am at my village here in Malappuram . River near my house is overflowing due to the continuous rain. All the fields are destroyed and submerged in water. Thankfully our house is much above the waterlevel and are safe(as of now). Electricity was interrupted due to falling of trees but now it’s restored in my locality. Same can’t be said about the rest of the houses. Rescue operations are in progress everywhere.

Landslides are the main issue in my district. But Southern districts are bearing the brunt of floods arising from all the dams that are constructed on Periyar river and it tributaries. The water in Idukki reservoir is rising at an alarming rate.

I am at my village here in Malappuram . River near my house is overflowing due to the continuous rain. All the fields are destroyed and submerged in water. Thankfully our house is much above the waterlevel and are safe(as of now). Electricity was interrupted due to falling of trees but now it’s restored in my locality. Same can’t be said about the rest of the houses. Rescue operations are in progress everywhere.

Landslides are the main issue in my district. But Southern districts are bearing the brunt of floods arising from all the dams that are constructed on Periyar river and it tributaries. The water in Idukki reservoir is rising at an alarming rate.

Stay safe, Inshallah

I hope more help is provided to the flood affected areas. This is unprecedented in kerala.

Once this calamity passes govt must look into planting more trees and stop illegal deforestation. That will help prevent landslides.

Be safe. People around the country are collecting resources to help those affected in Kerala. But whats needed is emergency rescue services right now.

Has the rain relented?

Apparently only 100 Crore was sent to the state, not nearly enough by all accounts

Not a BJP state. Why should they release?

They could use that money for more useful things like building some more statues. And wait for Kerala to recover so that it can continue to donate approximately 75 paisa as charity to the BJP's favourite states.

Or maybe they are waiting for Modiji to make a grand landing today (Friday), so he can announce some grand package in his charitable and classy inimitable style.

Has the 100 crore already been utilized? First use this amount. Kerala will get more relief from the Prime Minister's fund.

They could use that money for more useful things like building some more statues. And wait for Kerala to recover so that it can continue to donate approximately 75 paisa as charity to the BJP's favourite states.

Has kerala utilised this amount? This is immediate relief. Infact its not a bjpnstate so bjp will do more.

Has the 100 crore already been utilized? First use this amount. Kerala will get more relief from the Prime Minister's fund.

Do you brush your teeth?

If so, tomorrow your roommate will hold up a toothpaste tube for you and allow you to caress the bristles of your brush against its mouth. First brush with that. When you're done, you will get more.

Unless you chew neem twigs of course.

Do you brush your teeth?

If so, tomorrow your roommate will hold up a toothpaste tube for you and allow you to caress the bristles of your brush against its mouth. First brush with that. When you're done, you will get more.

Unless you chew neem twigs of course.

I see. The malayali politicians are waiting for full relief package to be sent to them before they start brushing, i mean helping with relief work. 100 crore is too small an amount for them to move their lazy bums. No wonder.

I hope more help is provided to the flood affected areas. This is unprecedented in kerala.

Once this calamity passes govt must look into planting more trees and stop illegal deforestation. That will help prevent landslides.

Be safe. People around the country are collecting resources to help those affected in Kerala. But whats needed is emergency rescue services right now.

Has the rain relented?

Yes. Good thing is that the rescue operations are more active today because of the decreased rain. But the state is still under red alert. More rain is yet to come as per weather forecast.

Has kerala utilised this amount? This is immediate relief. Infact its not a bjpnstate so bjp will do more.

It's been flooding here and people are in the relief camps for past 1 week. Rajnath Singh visited 2 days before and announced this 100 crore relief. Our total loss was 8300crore back then and the State Govt asked for 1320crore as interim relief of which 830crore is part of NDRF for the state. Even the Central team that visited the state before the fresh spell of flooding had also recommended the same amount as immediate assistance.

I see. The malayali politicians are waiting for full relief package to be sent to them before they start brushing, i mean helping with relief work. 100 crore is too small an amount for them to move their lazy bums. No wonder.

Thankfully our Politicians, Kerala businessmen, South Indian actors, TN Govt and DMK etc has contributed much more than 100 crore to our Chief Minister Disaster Management Fund. This has been great help for us in past few days.

If the Centre could do more help as soon as possible, that would save several more lives. That's all i want to say.

No amount of money can stop nature. The rain has to subside first

Thankfully our Politicians, Kerala businessmen, South Indian actors, TN Govt and DMK etc has contributed much more than 100 crore to our Chief Minister Disaster Management Fund. This has been great help for us in past few days.

If the Centre could do more help as soon as possible, that would save several more lives. That's all i want to say.

You do realise part of the flooding is because TN is not releasing the waters of the dam? Kerala needs to throw that ludicrous agreement out

It's been flooding here and people are in the relief camps for past 1 week. Rajnath Singh visited 2 days before and announced this 100 crore relief. Our total loss was 8300crore back then and the State Govt asked for 1320crore as interim relief of which 830crore is part of NDRF for the state. Even the Central team that visited the state before the fresh spell of flooding had also recommended the same amount as immediate assistance.

320cr already released.

https://www.indiatvnews.com/amp/new...ster-relief-fund-to-kerala-for-2018-19-458015

You do realise part of the flooding is because TN is not releasing the waters of the dam? Kerala needs to throw that ludicrous agreement out

Flood is because of the non stop raining resulting from the severe low pressure developed in the Odisha coast. This is causing the wind to flow from the Arabian sea towards Bay of bengal. But they are blocked by the Western Ghats causing rainfall in Kerala. We received 30% more rain than the usual mansoons, leading to the overflowing of all the dams and water reservoirs. Even lakshadeep received 50%less rain than normal because of no mountains to block it. Everything is raining on us. Shutters of 34 dams including the Idukki dam are opened for the first time after several decades because of this excess rain.

Only Mullaperiyar Dam is under TN Govt's control. After consulting the Centre and SC, they have agreed to open it to decrease the waterlevel to 139feet from 142. It's a 123yr old dam, our concern is whether it could hold on it's maximum capacity for so long. If god forbid it falls apart, whole Ernakulam, idukki and alappuzha district will be washed away.

Flood is because of the non stop raining resulting from the severe low pressure developed in the Odisha coast. This is causing the wind to flow from the Arabian sea towards Bay of bengal. But they are blocked by the Western Ghats causing rainfall in Kerala. We received 30% more rain than the usual mansoons, leading to the overflowing of all the dams and water reservoirs. Even lakshadeep received 50%less rain than normal because of no mountains to block it. Everything is raining on us. Shutters of 34 dams including the Idukki dam are opened for the first time after several decades because of this excess rain.

Only Mullaperiyar Dam is under TN Govt's control. After consulting the Centre and SC, they have agreed to open it to decrease the waterlevel to 139feet from 142. It's a 123yr old dam, our concern is whether it could hold on it's maximum capacity for so long. If god forbid it falls apart, whole Ernakulam, idukki and alappuzha district will be washed away.

Are you sure they have agreed to reduce the levels? TN just made a court argument yesterday not too. The Valai dam is fast approaching capacity and if TN continues to be belligerent and the rains continue the floods may just get worse

All news reports say that the dam is structurally very sound. It was last passed in 2014.

Are you sure they have agreed to reduce the levels? TN just made a court argument yesterday not too. The Valai dam is fast approaching capacity and if TN continues to be belligerent and the rains continue the floods may just get worse

Yes. Yesterday the Supreme Court has ordered to decrease the water level to 139 feet from 142 feet. They have opened the shutters yesterday. It's all over the news now.

All news reports say that the dam is structurally very sound. It was last passed in 2014.

It's a long argument tbh. Idukki is an earthquake prone area. Scientists have argued that if there is an earthquake in the region measuring above six on the Richter scale, the lives of over three million people will come under grave danger. Residents living downstream are always under this constant fear.

Yes. Yesterday the Supreme Court has ordered to decrease the water level to 139 feet from 142 feet. They have opened the shutters yesterday. It's all over the news now.
Ok that’s great. Hopefully Kerala takes control of the dam once all this is over

It's a long argument tbh. Idukki is an earthquake prone area. Scientists have argued that if there is an earthquake in the region measuring above six on the Richter scale, the lives of over three million people will come under grave danger. Residents living downstream are always under this constant fear.

Sure - but let's just say that after 120+ years, the chance of an earthquake happening here and now in this week is slim to none.

So rest easy.

More than 2.5 lakh people are in relief camps. There is lack of food, drinking water, medicines etc. Need as much help as we can.

Dont worry. The govt is not your only hope. People all around the country are gathering resources.

I am even more surprised at how low casualties were when we had floods a few years ago, Kerala has the sea and the dams to contend with, thankfully we didn't have the sea to worry about

8IYi3J8.png

Doing a couple of proving flights, touch and go etc. before being used as a BLR-TRV-BLR ferry.

My Dear Tamilians,

Will you please wake up ? Not allowing Kerala to send more water from the Mullaperiyar dam to Tamil Nadu during this disastrous period is inhumane and have caused immense damage to Kerala, so many have died due to flooding. Mullaperiyar dam might I also say is a water bomb, only a matter of time before it collapses and half of Kerala will be gone. Instead of sitting there and crying about someone who died of old age like karunanidhi, please wake up to REALITY and show some concern to the people who are really suffering !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Because they are selfish and only care about themselves, they want their water even if it means nearly half of Kerala would be under risk. If the Mullaperiyar Dam collapses it will be the biggest catastrophe in human history with 20 odd million Indians from Kerala instantly drowning to death. The Mullaperiyar Dam is not in a good state, Tamilians have influenced the Supreme Court with money so this DAMNED DAM can be kept going, but why do Tamilians care anyway ? 20 Million from Kerala dies, who cares huh ? Read up on the Mullaperiyar Dam, it is a ticking water bomb bro..

TN gets water from mullaiperiyar dam only through subterranean tunnels. Not through the usual means of opening the shutter, by which water goes to idukki dam only.. Kerala govt wants to open the shutter but TN says no because the water from opened dam will add to Kerala Flood .

Another 500 crore released. Total amount reaches 820crs.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en-gb"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Since many across the country and overseas are asking how to help Kerala in distress...<br><br>Sandhya Ramesh ⁦<a href="https://twitter.com/sandygrains?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@sandygrains</a>⁩ has it all togetherness here: <a href="https://t.co/zoLE1JUAbl">https://t.co/zoLE1JUAbl</a></p>— Shekhar Gupta (@ShekharGupta) <a href="https://twitter.com/ShekharGupta/status/1031090847587086336?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">19 August 2018</a></blockquote>

Rain has decreased now. Nearly 8 lakh people are in relief camps all over Kerala. Next step is disease prevention and protection.

Apart from Army, NDRF and NGO’s a big thanks to the fishermen from all over Kerala. We are indebted to them for the rest of our lives.

Social media has somewhat helped in collecting funds, everyone I Know of has given funds, hoping it reaches to right people and are used appropriately.

I hear oncewater levels are down people are going to be driving down to the state from nearby citieswith whatever is collected as well.

So many family friends have families that are affected.

Social media has somewhat helped in collecting funds, everyone I Know of has given funds, hoping it reaches to right people and are used appropriately.

I hear oncewater levels are down people are going to be driving down to the state from nearby citieswith whatever is collected as well.

So many family friends have families that are affected.

Every single person I know whether a middle aged or a teenager has donated via Paytm.
Even if the amount is as less as hundred bucks, it's good to see people taking initiative for a change.

Every single person I know whether a middle aged or a teenager has donated via Paytm.
Even if the amount is as less as hundred bucks, it's good to see people taking initiative for a change.

True,disappointed with Nivin Pauly though playing politics.

wow this seems to be really bad.

hopefully everyone stays safe out there.

Prayers for the affected

is this worsee than the floods few years ago in Uttarkhand?

Uttarakhand floods were one of the scariest natural disasters I have witnessed. Unlike here, the water was travelling at several miles an hour devouring anything that came it's way. 200 people were officially dead, and 5000 are still missing. It has been over 5 years since, so they are all likely dead too.

Wishing people living there the best. Having seen Hurricane Harvey kind of have an idea how devastating it must be.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Deeply saddened by the devastating floods in <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Kerala?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Kerala</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/India?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#India</a>. The <a href="https://twitter.com/SAFoundationN?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@SAFoundationN</a> shares your pain & stands with our brothers and sister in need. May Allah ease your sufferings & you find quick relief. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/KeralaFloods?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#KeralaFloods</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/SAF?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#SAF</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HopeNotOut?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#HopeNotOut</a> for Humanity.</p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1031461510873313281?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 20, 2018</a></blockquote>

During disaster events, Governmental relief funds are usually the most reliable. Have seen the corruption that goes on with private funds, NGOs etc. So, it's a good thing they're finally not being miserly.

Thanks to all of thus who contributed generously to our relief funds.

UAE govt announced 700 crs ($100 million) for Kerala govt.
Qatar Emir gave 35 crs($5 million)
Sharjah Sultan 5 crs.

They are paying us back for building their country.:)

Sharjah Sultan 5 crs.

The central govt also funds all the relief activities of the NDRF and Army.

Thanks to all of thus who contributed generously to our relief funds.

You do not need to thank us. We all are doing our duty and nothing less should be expected of us. When earthquake struck Gujarat did the people of Kerala not do the same?

Personally knowing a number of Keralites has only made my feelings stronger.

Good to see support pouring in for Kerala from all corners of the country and the world. Some of the other Indian states haven't been so fortunate in the past and I hope this will serve as a template for the whole country to look out for each other in the hour of need.

Peshawar Zalmi through the Zalmi Foundation announce relief support to the people of Kerala in India

On the basis of humanity, we want to extend our full support to the people of Kerala, said Javed Afridi.

We are deeply saddened by the havoc caused by the floods in Kerala, India and aim to provide support in anyway we can through the Zalmi Foundation.

Chairman Javed Afridi expressed his remorse over the millions of people affected by the floods in Kerala. Through the Zalmi foundation, he has announced 5000 relief tents and medical supplies for the people of Kerala, India. Our prayers are with them and we are standing with them in this time of need.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">My thoughts and prayers are with the people of <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Kerala?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Kerala</a> who have been severely affected by the disastrous floods. Hope humanity prevails and we can help them out of this tragedy. Prayers and thoughts with the victims and their families.</p>— Azhar Mahmood (@AzharMahmood11) <a href="https://twitter.com/AzharMahmood11/status/1032004899314262017?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 21, 2018</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">My prayers are with people that have been affected by Kerala floods proved so deadly! Let's all show our support for them, as Empathy has no Boundary. Plenty of Dua from Pakistan!&#55357;&#56911;<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/KeralaFlood?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#KeralaFlood</a></p>— Hassan Ali (@RealHa55an) <a href="https://twitter.com/RealHa55an/status/1031999112491794435?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 21, 2018</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">There is a fresh new air in Pakistan but we are hearing some sad news from <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Kerala?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Kerala</a>, India. Millions have been displaced by floods and from <a href="https://twitter.com/PeshawarZalmi?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@PeshawarZalmi</a> and <a href="https://twitter.com/FoundationZalmi?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@FoundationZalmi</a> we will like to donate 5000 tents and basic medical supplies for <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/KeralaFloods?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#KeralaFloods</a> . <a href="https://t.co/TfWVOg0pnK">pic.twitter.com/TfWVOg0pnK</a></p>— Javed Afridi (@JAfridi10) <a href="https://twitter.com/JAfridi10/status/1031862037675036673?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 21, 2018</a></blockquote>

Virat Kohli dedicates win to Kerala flood victims

India captain Virat Kohli dedicated his team's win over England at Trent Bridge to the flood victims of Kerala.

Nearly 400 people have died, with more than a million people displaced, following the worst flooding in the state for a century.

"First and foremost we as a team want to dedicate this victory to the flood victims in Kerala," Kohli said, after India's 203-run victory.

"People are going through a lot. This is our bit we can do."

India needed only 17 balls on the final day to take the one remaining England wicket.

It halved England's lead in the series to 2-1 with two matches remaining, the next of which takes place at Southampton on 30 August.

"The victory was much needed at this stage of the series and to have a performance like that, which was so clinical in all three departments, is something that was pleasing to me as a captain," said Kohli, who won the man-of-the-match award for his 97 and 103.

"The players are really proud of what they've done in this Test too. Everyone is taking responsibility at the right time,"

By scoring his 23rd Test century in the second innings at Nottingham, Kohli moved level with Steve Smith, Virender Sehwag, Kevin Pietersen, Justin Langer and Javed Miandad.

He has scored 440 runs in the series, 234 more than the next highest run-scorer, England's Jonny Bairstow.

https://www.bbc.com/sport/cricket/45272634

Kashmiris are doing the little we can to help out our brothers and sisters in Kerela. Have decided to donate some part of our salary for relief purposes in Kerela. I urge everybody to not just send good wishes but also try to send some help practically. May God be with Kerela and bring the people out of these troubling times. Ameen.

That's nice. Also those who use Paytm can donate it easily. There is a donate for Kerala option on the home page both on the website and app. Paytm have already collected 30 crores for donation. There will be no transaction fees for this donation.

Sharjah Sultan 5 crs.

Religion personally for me is something I generally don't look at very favorably. But there is no religion that leaves me as confused as Islam. On the one hand you see and experience the negative aspects which are mostly regarding its non-inclusive and rigid nature (at least from my POV) and on the other hand, I keep seeing a helpful side to its followers. Christianity too has this philanthropic touch to it and there is a phrase right, Being Christian. But anyway, this being PP, Islam is more relevant. Christian charitable efforts in education and healthcare appear to be driven by some spiritual need to spread kindness. And Muslims appear to be driven by a sense of gratitude. You can't generalize, but what I've seen is Muslims tend to not forget help you might have given them and wait for an opportunity to return it, mostly manifold. It's interesting that despite cultural differences this seems to be a common theme.

A few years back, a family friend who was a top doctor for a couple of decades in Qatar had retired and moved to England. Recently his wife was diagnosed with cancer and the treatment involved transplants and was very expensive, running into a crore and a half INR. At some point, a Qatari politician whose dad had been this guy's patient got to know about this and he arranged for the Qatar government to fund the entire cost and even paid a daily allowance to the lady's brother who had to spend time in England for transplant related matters. All without the doc even putting in a request for help. This is just one personal example, in the context of UAE offering such a large amount.

Sharjah Sultan 5 crs.

India has provisions to not to receive the outside monetary help during disasters.

We have a total loss of 20 000 crore. What the centre so far given is only 600 crore. Even if many others are contributing, we are still short of money tbh. Instead of changing this wrong policy, the centre is talking about holding on to our self esteem and dignity. They don't feed people. We need to rebuild our whole state from scratch. They are not helping us much neither do they let others to donate.

Regarding the outside monetary help, there are 1000's of Keralite's working in UAE. They helped UAE to build up from ground zero. This 700 crore is a repatriation from the govt. They raised a fund in corporation with all the businessmans including Indians. Even if Central govt denied it, the businessmen from Kerala is gonna give it our State govt. No worries.

What is the purpose of refusing help?

Lives are less important than ego of some people it seems.

whether you take help or not, the world will still look at you as a poor 3rd world country.

We have a total loss of 20 000 crore. What the centre so far given is only 600 crore. Even if many others are contributing, we are still short of money tbh. Instead of changing this wrong policy, the centre is talking about holding on to our self esteem and dignity. They don't feed people. We need to rebuild our whole state from scratch. They are not helping us much neither do they let others to donate.

Regarding the outside monetary help, there are 1000's of Keralite's working in UAE. They helped UAE to build up from ground zero. This 700 crore is a repatriation from the govt. They raised a fund in corporation with all the businessmans including Indians. Even if Central govt denied it, the businessmen from Kerala is gonna give it our State govt. No worries.

Thing is there is a policy.I do not think its totally right but its there in the law. Everyone agreed to it when MMS govt proposed it in 2004. Now how we change it i dont know since no govt will be willing to do it because of obvious reasons.

Devastation happened during Tsunami and UKD floods. No foreign aid was taken then as well.

State govt cannot accept funds from the foreign govt as well. Individuals is a different thing.

The center's help also includes all resources used by the army and the NDRF.

A large amount infact majority of the 20k loss will be personal losses. No money will be given to people for that,except for rebuilding houses. So its useless comparing losses like that.

As an outsider, how can you help when the Indian Government is refusing money from outside.