Kerala floods: Red alert issued as death toll rises in Indian state

What is the purpose of refusing help?

Lives are less important than ego of some people it seems.

whether you take help or not, the world will still look at you as a poor 3rd world country.

Dont try to pass off the biased green tinted opinion of yours as world view.

Religion personally for me is something I generally don't look at very favorably. But there is no religion that leaves me as confused as Islam. On the one hand you see and experience the negative aspects which are mostly regarding its non-inclusive and rigid nature (at least from my POV) and on the other hand, I keep seeing a helpful side to its followers. Christianity too has this philanthropic touch to it and there is a phrase right, Being Christian. But anyway, this being PP, Islam is more relevant. Christian charitable efforts in education and healthcare appear to be driven by some spiritual need to spread kindness. And Muslims appear to be driven by a sense of gratitude. You can't generalize, but what I've seen is Muslims tend to not forget help you might have given them and wait for an opportunity to return it, mostly manifold. It's interesting that despite cultural differences this seems to be a common theme.

A few years back, a family friend who was a top doctor for a couple of decades in Qatar had retired and moved to England. Recently his wife was diagnosed with cancer and the treatment involved transplants and was very expensive, running into a crore and a half INR. At some point, a Qatari politician whose dad had been this guy's patient got to know about this and he arranged for the Qatar government to fund the entire cost and even paid a daily allowance to the lady's brother who had to spend time in England for transplant related matters. All without the doc even putting in a request for help. This is just one personal example, in the context of UAE offering such a large amount.

Whatever help they have given us will be projected as spreading of wahabbi extremism in Kerala. There is no point in explaining the Arab's gratitude or their relationship with the people of Kerala.

Dont try to pass off the biased green tinted opinion of yours as world view.

Let's not start this again.... this is a serious thread

Anyway, I see Islamic Relief UK has an emergency India (Kerala) appeal on its website, will make a donation there.

What is the purpose of refusing help?

Lives are less important than ego of some people it seems.

whether you take help or not, the world will still look at you as a poor 3rd world country.

It's an old policy from the Congress era.
Dunno the rationale behind it honestly.

It's an old policy from the Congress era.
Dunno the rationale behind it honestly.

I too do not know the rationale. Earlier it was accepted on basis of which country offered help. Now its across the counter rejection.

Thing is there is a policy.I do not think its totally right but its there in the law. Everyone agreed to it when MMS govt proposed it in 2004. Now how we change it i dont know since no govt will be willing to do it because of obvious reasons.

Devastation happened during Tsunami and UKD floods. No foreign aid was taken then as well.

State govt cannot accept funds from the foreign govt as well. Individuals is a different thing.

The center's help also includes all resources used by the army and the NDRF.

A large amount infact majority of the 20k loss will be personal losses. No money will be given to people for that,except for rebuilding houses. So its useless comparing losses like that.

What's wrong in changing this fault policy? We are in need of money and they are giving it even without asking? Even the BJP minister from our state is asking the Centre to change this and accept this 700crs aid. He knows the gravity of our situation and for the first time is talking some sense.

I too do not know the rationale. Earlier it was accepted on basis of which country offered help. Now its across the counter rejection.

Should accept all the help we get imo.
When people's lives are at stake, egotism should be the last thing to worry about (assuming that's what the reason is).

Other than ego, I do not see any other reason.

Lives should come ahead of ego. If the local people want to accept help then it makes this an even more maddening policy.

What's wrong in changing this fault policy? We are in need of money and they are giving it even without asking? Even the BJP minister from our state is asking the Centre to change this and accept this 700crs aid. He knows the gravity of our situation and for the first time is talking some sense.

I do not think there is anything wrong in changing the policy. I do not even understand why it was made in 2004 by the congress govt and why everyone agreed to it.

The earlier policy of accepting help based on which country is offering it was better.

But politics will prevent this change.

So hopefully the govt will use part of our $400bn reserves to help in reconstruction.

There is international diplomacy and politics too at play. If i remember correctly MMS mentioned something like this in 2004. Need to dig up on this.

This policy started in 2004 after the Tsunami.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">On behalf of the people of Pakistan, we send our prayers and best wishes to those who have been devastated by the floods in Kerala, India. We stand ready to provide any humanitarian assistance that may be needed.</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1032637468531666945?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 23, 2018</a></blockquote>

Individual contributions are not denied IIRC ,only country's aid is refused [MENTION=44089]Eagle_Eye[/MENTION]

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en-gb"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">On behalf of the people of Pakistan, we send our prayers and best wishes to those who have been devastated by the floods in Kerala, India. We stand ready to provide any humanitarian assistance that may be needed.</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1032637468531666945?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">23 August 2018</a></blockquote>

If the centre cannot accept the UAE money can it not be donated directly to the CM'S relief fund?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en-gb"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">On behalf of the people of Pakistan, we send our prayers and best wishes to those who have been devastated by the floods in Kerala, India. We stand ready to provide any humanitarian assistance that may be needed.</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1032637468531666945?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">23 August 2018</a></blockquote>

+1

Thoughts are with those who have suffered.

No, we can’t accept it directly without the centre’s approval. That’s how the rule is.

You can donate to NGOs etc, only country's aid is denied which I think is fair, other people paying their own tax money for some disaster happened, is a decision every other citizen of that country might not agree with.

No, we can’t accept it directly without the centre’s approval. That’s how the rule is.

It's so silly then. And it contradicts the government's own National Disaster Mangement Plan of 2016.

During Manmohan Singh's regime, India had no formal policy on receiving foreign funds. In fact, it was the Modi government who came up with the National Disaster Management Plan in 2016. The plan was also touted as the country's first such plan.

The National Disaster Mangement Plan of 2016 is easily available on the internet and when you go through the PDF, on page number 145, it is clearly stated that if a nation voluntarily offers help, the government may accept it.

"As a matter of policy, the Government of India does not issue any appeal for foreign assistance in the wake of a disaster. However, if the national government of another country voluntarily offers
assistance as a goodwill gesture in solidarity with the disaster victims, the Central Government may
accept the offer," read the exact text under section 9.2 of the plan.

https://www.ibtimes.co.in/modi-govt...use-manmohan-singhs-policy-heres-truth-778566

Ironically the PM even tweeted to thank Sheikh Mohammed for this offer.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en-gb"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">A big thanks to <a href="https://twitter.com/HHShkMohd?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@hhshkmohd</a> for his gracious offer to support people of Kerala during this difficult time. His concern reflects the special ties between governments and people of India and UAE.</p>— Narendra Modi (@narendramodi) <a href="https://twitter.com/narendramodi/status/1030803194186788864?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">18 August 2018</a></blockquote>

It's sad that so much politics is being played here - haven't seen such a thing during previous natural disasters in India.

It's so silly then. And it contradicts the government's own National Disaster Mangement Plan of 2016.

https://www.ibtimes.co.in/modi-govt...use-manmohan-singhs-policy-heres-truth-778566

Ironically the PM even tweeted to thank Sheikh Mohammed for this offer.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en-gb"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">A big thanks to <a href="https://twitter.com/HHShkMohd?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@hhshkmohd</a> for his gracious offer to support people of Kerala during this difficult time. His concern reflects the special ties between governments and people of India and UAE.</p>— Narendra Modi (@narendramodi) <a href="https://twitter.com/narendramodi/status/1030803194186788864?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">18 August 2018</a></blockquote>

It's sad that so much politics is being played here - haven't seen such a thing during previous natural disasters in India.

"
It was in 2004 that the Manmohan Singh government took a decision to shed "the poor country" tag attached to India. In the aftermath of the tsunami in December 2004 in the Indian Ocean, the Manmohan Singh government refused to accept financial assistance from foreign countries. Before this, India used to accept aid from the international community in the wake of a big natural calamity."

"
It was in 2004 that the Manmohan Singh government took a decision to shed "the poor country" tag attached to India. In the aftermath of the tsunami in December 2004 in the Indian Ocean, the Manmohan Singh government refused to accept financial assistance from foreign countries. Before this, India used to accept aid from the international community in the wake of a big natural calamity."

But is it actually enshrined in law or was this simply government policy at the time? I think it’s the latter in which case there should be no problems accepting such help on a case by case basis. Even the Americans, the richest nation in earth, accepted foreign aid from sovereign states when the Katrina disaster happened. This “we can handle everything ourselves we don’t need foreign help” is such a stupid and immature stance to take by the GOI imo.

There are reports that no compensation was actually announced by the UAE government. Also India stopped accepting foreign aid not due to the poor country tag but due to the conditions being attached to the aid. Some governments will have restrictions on how the aid is distributed and what it can be used for, some even send their own aid distributors.

But is it actually enshrined in law or was this simply government policy at the time? I think it’s the latter in which case there should be no problems accepting such help on a case by case basis. Even the Americans, the richest nation in earth, accepted foreign aid from sovereign states when the Katrina disaster happened. This “we can handle everything ourselves we don’t need foreign help” is such a stupid and immature stance to take by the GOI imo.

The govt that changes this policy will be plastered on the wall as being incompetent and so bad that it has to take foreign help.

If Modi decides to take aid, a sensible decision, his rivals will tear into him with the above logic.

There are reports that no compensation was actually announced by the UAE government. Also India stopped accepting foreign aid not due to the poor country tag but due to the conditions being attached to the aid. Some governments will have restrictions on how the aid is distributed and what it can be used for, some even send their own aid distributors.

The conditions are ofcourse unacceptable.

As an outsider, how can you help when the Indian Government is refusing money from outside.

Its easier to contribute individually. Kashmiris will always give a helping hand (in our limited capacity) to anyone who needs it.

No matter what some people in India would like to think about us, we try our best not to mix politics with human to human relations. Few months ago, Kashmiris even rescued Indian armymen when their vehicle fell into a gorge, simply out of humanity in a non-combat situation.

Its easier to contribute individually. Kashmiris will always give a helping hand (in our limited capacity) to anyone who needs it.

No matter what some people in India would like to think about us, we try our best not to mix politics with human to human relations. Few months ago, Kashmiris even rescued Indian armymen when their vehicle fell into a gorge, simply out of humanity in a non-combat situation.
And yet you felt the need to mention it explicitly. How about donating and not doing a show dance around it?

Eh? First of all nobody here knows who i am. So my status in society is not going to get elevated if i anonymously speak about it on the internet. Secondly i spoke about it only and only to urge more people to donate. I believe when people hear that so many people are donating, they get inspired to donate too.

You did make it a point to showcase your region. Should all of us do that? Also the person you quoted was based in the uk while you have access to the Indian banking system whether you like it or not

Yes i did point out the region to put more weight into the appeal that even a state which is always at odds with Indian governments is helping out. If that sounded bad to you, i appologise.

It does sound off as everyone donates at the time of calamities. Even Pakistan is willing to donate and we have donated to Pakistani calamities in the past.

Its all good and well to show that show you are a superpower but the poor guys on the ground need help. I could bet my last rupee that no relatives of the BJP Ministers have lost a house, or a short of food and power. Its easy to play politics and act hard with other peoples lives.

Can you read bro? Legislation passed in 2004 due to aid politics by certain developed countries. No aid was accepted during the equally devastating Uttarakhand floods. Just because you started reading the news now and believe WhatsApp forwards, does not make your opinion true

IK wasn't lying when he said he would be batting for peace.

Heard about the Kerala floods. Very very unfortunate.

What's even worse is that the frequency and intensity of these floods will increase in our part of the world (South Asia) in the coming years due to global warming. All nations of South Asia need to sit out and eek out an effective strategy to counter it as we are nations that going to be worst hit by it.

Can you read bro? Legislation passed in 2004 due to aid politics by certain developed countries. No aid was accepted during the equally devastating Uttarakhand floods. Just because you started reading the news now and believe WhatsApp forwards, does not make your opinion true

No i cant, i am just an illiterate. So can you just explain this please. @Mods can you please put the whole article for those of us that cant read.
https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/amp....ays-department-international-development-dfid

UAE dismisses CM Vijayan's claims of financial aid, says no amount announced yet
http://www.india.com/news/india/ker...&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=fullarticle

The UAE crown prince did communicate with the PM’s office on Aug 18. Modi reciprocrated their help as “gracious offer” and thanked them on Twitter. The exact amount of 700 crore was informed to the Kerala CM by the Lulu Group Chairman M A Yousafali who works in close association with the UAE govt and the Committee who is collecting fund for Kerala relief.

Help us to reconstruct our State. It doesn’t matter who gives the money, we need aid. Dirty politics should not be played at the cost of people’s lives.

This special love for UAE aid is slap on the face of the rest of indians who are contributing to help kerala. Do you know in Kerala House in Delhi had so much material that they asked for more volunteers just to sort the aid material...I was far so couldn't go.

Anyone can contribute individually, as [MENTION=44089]Eagle_Eye[/MENTION] already said, it's available on Islamic Relief site in UK.

Any country's direct Aid comes with consequences, and is the tax payers money of that country.

Individual contributions as well accepted and we are grateful for them.

This special love for UAE aid is slap on the face of the rest of indians who are contributing to help kerala. Do you know in Kerala House in Delhi had so much material that they asked for more volunteers just to sort the aid material...I was far so couldn't go.

There’s no special love for UAE. We are just grateful to them for helping us in need. It’s a proud moment for the 42% of the population of UAE which are Indians (of which more than 50% are malayalis).

Regarding the distribution of aid, the collectors of the less affected districts are also asking for more volunteers for sorting of this aid materials. It’s a problem everywhere.

There’s no special love for UAE. We are just grateful to them for helping us in need. It’s a proud moment for the 42% of the population of UAE which are Indians (of which more than 50% are malayalis).

Regarding the distribution of aid, the collectors of the less affected districts are also asking for more volunteers for sorting of this aid materials. It’s a problem everywhere.

Wow..proud moment for malyalis that when their is death, their master is giving them charity. I hope this sense of servitude is not shared by many.

And how are we not helping you? Should we get rid of laws which were put in place for a reason without thought of consequence? How is the 100 million so important to you when the rest of the country is already helping out. Or is it just you peddling the north hate that is bandied around by a large contingent of Keralities online?

Wow..proud moment for malyalis that when their is death, their master is giving them charity. I hope this sense of servitude is not shared by many.

These gulf malayalis doesn’t have any financial assets to survive in this calamity. The only thing they have so far earned is spend on building this house and buying a car which got washed out in this flood. For them they need to start from ground zero. It’s when the UAE announced this aid. Of course they will feel proud of their masters when they help.

And how are we not helping you? Should we get rid of laws which were put in place for a reason without thought of consequence? How is the 100 million so important to you when the rest of the country is already helping out. Or is it just you peddling the north hate that is bandied around by a large contingent of Keralities online?

Where did i spread hate?? I am asking for help and thanking those who actually contributed to our cause. Tell me where did i or any malayali peddled hate against the northies here?

Then how exactly was my post about dirty politics? Why are you implying that the rest of us are not helping you rebuild your state? About hate, you probably need to check Kerala support pages online, should get your answer

Commies and Lemurians are bigger threat to the integrity of India than Naxalites or terrorists.

HINDU nationalists still occupy that slot, churning out idiots from Bajrang Dal, VHP in such huge numbers.

Hindu nationalists are nowhere near that Jaded Bhai. Most of them are brainless idiots with a big mouth.
Commies on the other hand have been known to jeopardize country's interests several times in the past.
Look what they did to Bengal, once the cultural capital of South Asia.
The people [MENTION=143407]GBK_Fan[/MENTION] talked about are mostly commies or cryptos trying their utmost hard to break the country from within.

Even when it comes to aid dirty politics is being played - people are actually putting political party logos on relief packages.

DlVqP3-UwAEDh7U.jpg

Even when it comes to aid dirty politics is being played - people are actually putting political party logos on relief packages.

DlVqP3-UwAEDh7U.jpg

[MENTION=137142]JaDed[/MENTION]
The hoax of aid was spread by Commies as well. Check out the vitriol they have been spewing against North Indians since last few days.
**** all of them.

Hindu nationalists are nowhere near that Jaded Bhai. Most of them are brainless idiots with a big mouth.
Commies on the other hand have been known to jeopardize country's interests several times in the past.
Look what they did to Bengal, once the cultural capital of South Asia.
The people [MENTION=143407]GBK_Fan[/MENTION] talked about are mostly commies or cryptos trying their utmost hard to break the country from within.

If they were brainless Babri Masjid wouldn't be destroyed , right wing nationalists have equal amount of plans to divide the society to favor the majority.

You are right about them Communists doing same, but at end of the day it's all about being in power and everyone is doing that with hatred.

Any one from outside India who wants to donate.... you should find the biggest relief charity in your country and donate through them. Make sure they have an appeal running.

Whatever you do, don't give to your local mandir or mosque collection, they don't have the means or network on the ground to get help to the people quickly.

Can we stop fighting here and start doing more for Kerala?

If a keralite feels that a emirati is doing more than a northie then something must be done to correct that feeling.

It clear that UAE hasnot promised $100mn.It was a hoax.

But that doesnot mean Kerala doesnot need help.

What the Kerala floods tell us about the two Ideas of India

A debate has been conducted in India since news of the Kerala floods broke, not through words, but through actions. Two different Ideas of India are being debated. They are opposite ideas, and we will soon be called upon to choose one of them.

To get a sense of the first idea, consider the countless heroes who stepped up in Kerala to help the countless victims. As the water levels rose, as homes were submerged and livelihoods destroyed, fisherfolk from across the state turned their boats inwards to help. The most enduring image: Jaisal KP, a fisherman from Mallapuram, bending and offering his back as a ramp for rescued people getting on a boat.

Thousands of volunteers from across the country, even as far away as Kashmir, turned up to volunteer at relief camps. Those locals who escaped the worst of it stopped their Onam shopping to buy relief materials instead. Thousands donated to the Chief Minister’s Relief Fund, including an eight-year-old girl who had been saving for four years to buy a bicycle. She donated every rupee. In the town of Suntikoppa, the local church, temple and madarsa turned into relief camps, coordinating with each other, as if to say, our religion is humanity.

What is this Idea of India? It is the idea that we are one people. We celebrate our differences, but we recognise that what holds us together is stronger than anything that pulls us apart. In this India, when the water level rises, no one will ask what your religion, caste, language, state, cuisine or ideology is. They will offer you their hand — or their boat, or their bicycle. The other Idea of India is filled with hate and anger. One man claimed this was God’s punishment on Kerala because menstruating women had been allowed into the Sabarimala temple. Another claimed that it was God’s punishment on Kerala’s Muslims and Christians for, well, not being Hindu. Another appeal went out for donations only to go to Hindu organisations, which would help only Hindus.

There were those who wanted not only to gloat on Kerala’s misfortune, but to prevent it from getting help. A gentleman, who was later revealed to be a member of the BJP IT cell, put out a viral video saying that since Kerala did not have too many poor people, there was no need to donate. Another man in an army uniform gave a similar message, only for the army to then declare that the fellow was an imposter.

In all this, the Hindutva WhatsApp factories were active. They circulated images supposedly of RSS people distributing relief, though some of them turned out to be of non-RSS people — including from the communist parties — and the others were old, recycled pictures. Will not help, will not allow others to help, will take credit anyway: this was also the story of the central government.

When the Kerala government asked for aid, the Modi government gave a fraction of what had been asked for and what they had given other states for smaller tragedies. When speculation spread that the UAE government had offered Rs 700 crore as relief, the Modi government said it would not allow the money to go from willing donor to needy recipient. Yes, really. This is the second Idea of India. Here, we are divided by religion, caste, region, language. We feel schadenfreude, not sympathy, at the pain of others. Here, it is a zero-sum game, and we like to see others fall, as only their falling will help us rise.

I call this the Tukde-Tukde Vision of India. People who think in terms of divisions, who foment hate among their own people — what else can one call them but anti-national? They are betraying both the inclusive entities they claim to speak for: Hinduism and India. I consider them a greater threat to our nation than any terrorism from across the border.

It is true that all Indian politics is identity politics. Every government we have ever had, every party that exists today, has let this nation down. But this ruling party, and the entire Hindutva movement, has hit new lows with the way they actively tried to prevent aid from reaching Kerala. Such malice? Why?

The people they let down were not just the people of Kerala, but the citizens of India. From across the country, the rest of us were watching, and deciding which of these two Ideas of India is dear to us. And just as this debate unfolded through actions, we can make our choice clear through action. Vote wisely next year.

https://m.timesofindia.com/home/sun...leshow/65545647.cms?__twitter_impression=true

Writer is Amit Varma, used to write for cricinfo. Know him very closely. but he is biased here, cherry picking stuff to form a story.

From that article.....

When the Kerala government asked for aid, the Modi government gave a fraction of what had been asked for and what they had given other states for smaller tragedies.

Is this claim true? Does anyone have any figures.

Are they allowed to do that?

That's a serious stain on the government at the centre.... what's the foreign reserves of India... £200 billion?

It is a stain on the kerala govt, who have a history of mismanagement and corruption, and now beghairati is added to the list. Who goes begging from others when your own are doing so much to help you. These corrupt beghairat politicians only want to become richer with the aid.

This is a political gimmick by the ruling party in Kerala to successfully create an us vs them narrative. State governments have in the past taken loans from world bank for different reasons if Kerala wants to, it should go ahead. Loans from the WB don’t come without strings attached and if it means Kerala has to liberalise a few of its state laws that’s a welcome change

It is a stain on the kerala govt, who have a history of mismanagement and corruption, and now beghairati is added to the list. Who goes begging from others when your own are doing so much to help you. These corrupt beghairat politicians only want to become richer with the aid.

Kerala has topped the Public Affairs Index (PAI) for 2018 as the best-governed state for the third consecutive year since 2016. They must be doing something right to earn people’s trust and respect.

http://https://www.indiatimes.com/news/india/kerala-ranked-best-governed-state-in-india-tamil-nadu-telangana-among-other-top-performers-349869.html

Kerala has topped the Public Affairs Index (PAI) for 2018 as the best-governed state for the third consecutive year since 2016. They must be doing something right to earn people’s trust and respect.

http://https://www.indiatimes.com/news/india/kerala-ranked-best-governed-state-in-india-tamil-nadu-telangana-among-other-top-performers-349869.html

Lol. who calculated this index, is it some government body, or a body with international repute? Looks like the pan masala awards that bollywood keeps giving its stars.

Or you could look at a more credible report from crisil https://www.crisil.com/content/dam/.../CRISIL-Research-Insight-States-of-growth.pdf

Where they highlight how Kerala rightfully brings up the rear on economic indicators? Maybe step away from the benevolent rule of the communists

Lol. who calculated this index, is it some government body, or a body with international repute? Looks like the pan masala awards that bollywood keeps giving its stars.

Well other states are also having different awards for different categories. They might be also buying those awards.;-)

And the opinion of the People of Kerala about our Govt and their management of these floods is what matters the most. The CM’s ‘salary challenge’ urging people to contribute a month’s salary for the flood victims has touched a chord among the global Malayali community. The donation portal of CMDRF gives daily updates on the funds collected. So far 714.2 crore has been collected. Similarly, it should also provide the details of the fund utilisation so that the entire process does not create a controversy later. This is a testing time for this govt, if they succeed in this mission of rebuilding Kerala people will elect them again. But if they fail, they can forget Kerala forever.

Regarding BJP in Kerala,The few votes that BJP had in Kerala is done with these floods. So now if you are a BJP supporter in Kerala, you will be treated with kid gloves because you are a relic to be preserved in one of our Museums for future Kerala generations to see how a BJP supporter looked like in 2018.:D

Or you could look at a more credible report from crisil https://www.crisil.com/content/dam/.../CRISIL-Research-Insight-States-of-growth.pdf

Where they highlight how Kerala rightfully brings up the rear on economic indicators? Maybe step away from the benevolent rule of the communists

Kerala has always been low on GDP growth. Still we top in many of the Social health indicators. There is a lot to improve especially providing employment to our people. We agree we are not the best.

Don't get all the hate and disrespect for Kerala from so many Indians here. It has always seemed one of the more open and chill places looking in from the outside, I feel even some of the more unsavoury characters from PP like slipcatch, KKWC or Cpt Rishwat would find a smile and a welcome there, melting our frosty hearts. I can only wish our friends over there a speedy recovery with well-wishes from the UK and Pakistan.

I agree you will find succour there. Let’s have a peace deal, as long as you take Kerala you can have Kashmir

Petty party politics should go out the window when it comes to a disaster like this, just look at America in this respect - for all it's faults when a natural or man made disaster strikes it doesn't matter if a Governor or Mayor is Republican and the POTUS Democrat (or vice versa), they just get on with the job.

Don't blame the Kerala government for fighting it's corner to get the most cash possible but there are ways and means to go about this and what they've done isn't the right way imo.

Also, this really highlights the need for home insurance for those that can afford it.

Kerala deluge shows home insurance is now critical

https://www.dnaindia.com/personal-f...-shows-home-insurance-is-now-critical-2656119