KP buys medicines at prices lower than Punjab [50pc to 800pc]

WebGuru

PESHAWAR: The Khyber Pakhtunkhwa health department has purchased drugs at price lower than Punjab for the government hospitals in the current financial year, according to sources.

They said that health departments in both the provinces had certain mechanism for procurement of medicines but the manufacturers were able to sell the same preparations at different prices. A comparison drawn up by Punjab Pharmacists Association has pointed out huge differences in the prices of drugs purchased by the governments of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Punjab for the financial year 2016-17. It has enlisted 31 essential drugs with the minimum difference of 50 per cent in their rates.

Sources said that Diclofenac Sodium, a pain killer, was purchased at Rs0.31 per tablet by Khyber Pakhtunkhwa while the same preparation was sold to health department of Punjab at Rs3.94.

A pack of 14 Omeprazole 200mg was given to Khyber Pakhtunkhwa at Rs1.09 per capsule. The Punjab government got the same medicine from another manufacturer at Rs10.12, showing 828 per cent increase in its rate.

Comparison shows 50pc higher rate in Punjab

The comparative list indicates that Punjab paid 806 per cent more in purchase of Cetirizine and bought it at Rs2.90 while Khyber Pakhtunkhwa bought at Rs0.32. The association said that Punjab government procured Maxifloxacin 250ml bottle at a rate of 403 per cent higher than that of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa. It said that there was difference in prices of same medicines made by different manufacturers as well as the same companies.

“Latest example is oral hepatitis C tablet Sofosbuvir, which has been purchased at Rs54 and Rs49 per tablet by Punjab and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa respectively from the same company. The former is spending Rs500 million and the later Rs4.5 million for buying the same,” said the association.

It said that Punjab paid Rs10.42 for Tranexamic Acid 500mg while Khyber Pakhtunkhwa paid Rs6.65 per capsule to the same pharmaceutical company. Khyber Pakhtunkhwa spends about Rs5 billion on buying medicines and equipment every year while expenditures of Punjab are six times more in the same head.

“The companies, which get contract for a product in Punjab, demand lesser price in the other province for the same item because they know that competitors would give lower quotation than Punjab,” sources said.

They said that successful bidders in both the provinces were multinational and local firms. About 900 pharmaceutical companies operate in the country. They want to sell their products to the government in bulk.

“The governments make purchases once in a year, therefore, the companies make every effort to get contract for some products,” said sources.

They said that Punjab government purchased drugs first owing to which Khyber Pakhtunkhwa government got benefit of the competition among the bidders. The Medicine Coordination Council (MCC) has formed many committees for selection of rates and quality etc of the pharmaceutical companies, enabling the hospitals to purchase the same as per their need.

Sources said that they for the first time issued a centralised formulary to hospitals. In bidding process, it short-listed 54 of the 160 companies after technical and financial evaluation in accordance with Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Public Procurement of Goods, Works and Services Rule 2014.

The committees visited the site offices of the manufacturers and purchased drugs directly from them.

The bidders were given marks on the basis of their lowest rates and best quality.

“Recently, health department has also shared the whole procedure for drugs purchase with Balochistan and Sindh governments upon their request,” said sources.

Source: http://www.dawn.com/news/1313468/kp-buys-medicines-at-prices-lower-than-punjab

How is it even possible? The difference is really big is it because of some commission involved? [MENTION=140234]DRsohail[/MENTION] [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION]

Flats in London need to be paid for, who better to contribute than the people who can afford to pay for it the least.

How is it even possible? The difference is really big is it because of some commission involved? [MENTION=140234]DRsohail[/MENTION] [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION]

i dont know much about this process but i can saythat the price at which kpk got it are unbelievably low lke omeprazole 200 mg capsule at 1 rupee is to low ....the reasons for the difference may be 1 difference b/w the companies ie local are multinational 2comisson from punjab purchasers 3 its not a true story..

Report says manufacturers are same

Bhai flats ki mortgage payment bhi tou jani hai..

Sounds highly dubious to me. If it's true and I hope it is, I would like some more firsthand information. Unfortunately I'm not in Pakistan right now.

thats why i said it may not be true..i will buy loads of omeprazole if it is available at this price...normally it costs 10 rupees per cap minimum..

Maybe that's because goverments buy massive stocks from these companies for a whole year for their hospitals without putting distributors and all those 3rd parties in middle im no sure if privates docs or clinics can get their hands on same price.

Interestingly this is a dawn news report not ary or geo.

Sir you are talking about retail cost which is always higher than cost of medicine when directly procured by the government.

When you buy a medicine from the pharmacy there are several cost margins added to it, such as the profit of the pharmacy, the transporter, the middle man, the manufacturer, plus taxes and duties. Add them all up and the cost goes up substantially. However, if the government directly procures from the manufacturer then all of those middlemen are cut out. Also the government buys medicine in bulk which means the manufacturer can reduce the profit margin per tablet but still make a huge amount of money, and obviously the government wouldn't charge tax from itself.

Interestingly this is a dawn news report not ary or geo.

The news is always 'dubious' when it is against his excellency Nawaz Sharif but almost like gospel when it is against Imran Khan. I wouldn't take these people seriously if I were you.

Sir you are talking about retail cost which is always higher than cost of medicine when directly procured by the government.

When you buy a medicine from the pharmacy there are several cost margins added to it, such as the profit of the pharmacy, the transporter, the middle man, the manufacturer, plus taxes and duties. Add them all up and the cost goes up substantially. However, if the government directly procures from the manufacturer then all of those middlemen are cut out. Also the government buys medicine in bulk which means the manufacturer can reduce the profit margin per tablet but still make a huge amount of money, and obviously the government wouldn't charge tax from itself.

i dont know the these sorts of things but the price was too low thats why i said it...and kpk health department is way better and doing good job...institution based practice is starting in our hospital from 16th feb lets see how it goes but kudos to pti govermnt for crossing all the hurdles and making it practical...insaf cards are good addition too...

Good to know. Are Insaaf cards a good facility for the people or just another political gimmick? And do you have details about how it works? What kinds of operations/treatments are included in the Insaaf card? Can you also purchase medicine at reduced rates through it?

There is this Indian doctor who has started his business providing cheap medicine to people.

The thing about medicine is that it isn't and most of it really isn't expensive. The process is designed such that by the time the medicine gets to the end user the price of it has increased manifolds.

Happy that someone in KPK is doing something good. Hopefully the end consumer gets to have some benefit for once.

Not defending the price differences in any way whatsoever, but the economics of production and sales costs are more complicated that the OP article appears to realise.

For example, some of you may have bought last minute discounted seats on a flight. Here is how it works.

The aircraft has 200 seats, 190 passengers have booked seats in advance at £250 per seat, meaning there are still 10 seats left unsold. There are minutes left before take-off.

Does the airline allow the plane to take-off with 10 empty seats, or does the airline sell the remaining 10 seats at a vastly knock-down price at the last minute just before closing the gates?

i.e. get whatever revenue they can get for those additional 10 seats knowing that 99% of the cost of the journey (ie fuel, aeroplane leasing/depreciation costs, staff costs, airport fees etc) will be the same whether the plane flies with 190 passengers and 10 empty seats or flies full with 200 passengers.

Think of Punjab as being the "190 passengers" and KP as the 10 passengers buying at the last minute.

“Recently, health department has also shared the whole procedure for drugs purchase with Balochistan and Sindh governments upon their request,” said sources.

Interesting and great to see provinces sharing their experience.

Finally in last year of govt experienced Punjab is also trying to copy many ideas of KP govt specially health and education reforms although they are still staying away from police reforms.

Interesting and great to see provinces sharing their experience.

Sharing good practice is all good and well but Lets cut the pretence that the Sindh and Baluch govt didnt know how to purchase cheap drugs for patients. The money goes towards payback for the corrupt purchase of over priced and as the stent scandal showed, dangerous merchandise.

That stent scandal was an eye opener in Punjab but i doubt if anything is going to happen the mafia have been playing with people live for so long without getting caught.

Good to know. Are Insaaf cards a good facility for the people or just another political gimmick? And do you have details about how it works? What kinds of operations/treatments are included in the Insaaf card? Can you also purchase medicine at reduced rates through it?

treatment up to 5 lac is completely free...it includes every sort of treatment taken in goeverment hospital....and no political draa here...it is purely received by deserving people ..2 days ago a 40 years old lady was asking eveybody to tell her where opd is...i saw her in trouble made her sit on the chair and asked her why are u so tense..knowing the reason i myself examined her 14 years old son that was smple sore throat ,i did write the medication and she went prayng so much was looking poor and having insaf card.....i was happy that people like her are being benefited by this sort of facility.....just narrated the story because relieving her suffering made me very much relaxed and satisfied..

May Allah bless for your good work. On the one hand we have the likes of you and many like you and on the other hand, we have Nooras.

thanks brother....humanity is above everything....pti is way better than the rest no doubt.

Are there just a few private hospitals treating people with insaf cards or many already subscribed to this program in KP or Peshawer? If i am not wrong an insurance company is working with KP govt to run this program.

It is and long may Allah keep you on the straight path. My worry for the PTI is that it will fall into the hands of the crooks. As long as IK is alive, it will not become self serving but bar Assad Umar and few others, it could easily become part of the crooked status quo if something happens to IK.

Are there just a few private hospitals treating people with insaf cards or many already subscribed to this program in KP or Peshawer? If i am not wrong an insurance company is working with KP govt to run this program.

i ahve to find it out..atmi dont know.

Sure lets us know but i guess it will take time program is new and private hospitals will be careful

I hope the Insaaf card scheme becomes a precursor to such a scheme across Pakistan along the lines of the NHS in the UK or national health program in Canada.

Federal govt is already copying KP and NS launched it in a few districts but it's good this competition will only help the poor.

Help me find Imran or Khattak photo on Sehat card or Insaf card issued by KP govt.

Cqc0z0RWYAEvkI_.jpg:large

113.jpg

Now see the typical shobaz thobra of Nawaz on health card issued by federal govt in a few districts trying to copy KP

pm.jpg