Last chance for Sarfraz Ahmed says Iqbal Qasim

Saj

Qasim said that the Asia Cup would be Sarfraz's last chance to seal his place in the Pakistan team. "It's our inability that we don't have a batting wicketkeeper but this would be the last chance for [Sarfraz Ahmed] to step up and do well with the bat. Otherwise, after the series, we are starting the talent hunt for an all-round wicketkeeper."

No pressure then :)

Stupid statement from the Chief Selector.
Just imagine the pressure on the poor guy.

so what. he is right. our players need to know this. especially this guy. he thinks he can be in the team and not be up to scratch.

perform or get out and we will find someone else

Not the wisest thing to announce in the Media is it...

How can he step up and do well coming in at number 7 or 8 ?? in three matches ??

If hes sent in earlier at position 1-6 then we could maybe draw a conclusion

one 50 and two scores of 20-30 at good rate should keep him in future squads...

But it all depends on the situation he comes in at.

All the best to him

Not an intelligent statement.

I don't even agree that 3/4 odis should be a 'last chance' for a wicket keeper but even if that's the case, this news shouldn't be made as a public statement.

Should of kept that info to himself and the selectors.

No need to add more pressure on the kid.

Hope sarfraz does pretty well ,we know hes a gr8 wicketkeeper
now needs to click with bat but if we bat him at number 8 wht will he do??? INSHAALLAH i hope he does better this time :sahmed

Pathetic stuff from chief selector regarding Sarfraz Ahmed

Qasim said that the Asia Cup would be Sarfraz's last chance to seal his place in the Pakistan team. "It's our inability that we don't have a batting wicketkeeper but this would be the last chance for [Sarfraz Ahmed] to step up and do well with the bat. Otherwise, after the series, we are starting the talent hunt for an all-round wicketkeeper."

http://www.espncricinfo.com/asia-cup-2012/content/current/story/556077.html

How can you say last chance to a youngster who has only batted 9 times in ODI's? What about the likes of Farhat, Nazir, Kamran, Sami etc.. who were given many chances and yet still continue to be in the mix.

Surely they've learnt from the debacle of Kamran Akmal that having a safe keeper behind the stumps is of primary importance. You can get away with it in T20's but not in the longer formats especially with our bowling attack being built predominantly around spinners like Ajmal, Afridi, Hafeez & Rehman, we definitely need a top class gloveman and for me Sarfraz is one of the best in the country.

Absolute nonsense from this Qasim guy, looks like he wants Sarfraz to fail. Give the youngster a fair run in the side and then make your reservations.

it is always good to have some expectations but this is not the way to go Mr. Iqbal Sb. you shouldn't have said this in media.poor kid!!!

Salaam.

That's very weird and unprofessional IMO.
He could have said something like that this applies for many players to don't take their place in the team for granted, and he could have met or called Sarfaraz Ahmed and told him that this is how he feels, in a way that will keep him motivated.

And how do you measure his performance? As someone mentioned coming in at nr 6-9, when the team is loosing/collapsing, etc is not going to help much. 70-80% focus should be on his keeping, IMO. I don't care much if our wk batsman scores a couple of fifties here and there if he can not even hold on to regulation catches.

I hope that "all round" wicketkeeper is not :kami :facepalm:

yea wht a shame ... will we ever get a proper selector who doesnt doo these cheap things :facepalm:

Well I think it was kinda obvious it would be his last chance anyway...I guess that means Adnan Akmal is out the picture now?

He shouldn't have said it to the media but mite make Sarfraz kick-on...who knows!

I am sure that Sarafaz tries his best everytime he get's a chance, it's not like he has a regular spot in the team and is taking it for granted.

Sarfaz will never be good enough as a batsman at this level. I am amazed that no-one else outside these 2 jokers has been tried.

Well Sarfraz needs to be given a proper chance then and not coming in at number 8 or 9...

I agree he should be saying these statements in private only.

That said this should be the last chance for Younis Khan and others as well in the ODI format, not just Sarfraz. Either perform or face the axe

We got rid of 2 jokers, hopefully that will be enough to send the message to the rest.

Can PCB issue a show-cause notice for stupidity?

Nothing is going to change in Pakistan cricket, the same old stupid and spotlight hungry ppl keep getting top positions...It's frustrating and sad tbh

No pressure then :)

This is stupidity of the highest order!

Why?

It's clear to see the reason that he has not succeeded so far is that he is nervous.

So what do you do? Put more pressure on him! Clever.

Unbelievable statement really, the guy is already under pressure to perform and you just put more pressure on him.disgraceful statement

How about telling the likes of Malik, Farhat that they are on their last chance? When has Sarfaraz been given an extended run in the side? How long did it take for the likes of Moin, Rashid, Kamran before they made a mark with the bat? I dont think they had anything to write home about in their first couple of series?

What!?

Safraz has hardly played, his opportunities have been so limited. What about how many chances Farhat had!?

Stupidity.

They are just creating a situation for him to fail so they can get Kamran Akmal back. The circus continues.

Great start from Iqbal Qasim :facepalm:

Bechara Sarfaraz being pressurized off the field by the chief selector and on the field by Hafeez

at the end they'll just look at the scorecards and say 'Oh, he didn't perform well, lets scrap him for good'.

Stupidity of our selectors never seizes to amaze me. What possible good can come from this statement? Why not back your selection by saying 'we're confident he has the ability to do well'?

Can't imagine ACB or ECB selectors making a statement like that.

What a joker!
Too much pressure on sarfaraz now....lets hope this man is not thinking about his NBP friend :kami

If this is just some kind of a setup to bring Kamran back in the side then they should have just recalled him instead. I dont see the point of this.

If he performs well in the Asia cup then I honestly think we should take him in Tests as well. No offence to Adnan Akmal but he just isn't gud enough with the bat.

No idea why everyone is crying.

Sarfraz hasn't ever done it at the international level.

So this public statement can have 2 effects. He does nothing....again, or he actually does something.

Why are people complaining? It's a no lose situation.

The PCB chairman shud have a talk with Qasim about this. One day in the job and already creating waves. Pathetic.

No idea why everyone is crying.

Sarfraz hasn't ever done it at the international level.

So this public statement can have 2 effects. He does nothing....again, or he actually does something.

Why are people complaining? It's a no lose situation.

These things are not meant to be said in the open to the media.

If this is the case last chances should be for many other players as well. Why single out Sarfraz? Even Adnan hasnt batted well. Even guys like Hafeez are under scrutiny.

What did :hafeez do? :13:

Lol, bechare ki batting aati hi nahin hai to konsi motivation? :fawad

I;ve seen him bat well in domestic matches but he becomes a completely different player in international matches. He becomes very timid and anxious. Now he should just go out there and play his natural game. If you're going to go down, might as well do it with a fight.

No wonder some youngsters never flourish in Pakistan and fully achieve their potential. Instead of giving them a consistent run in the team, we make such threats and are dropped after one or two matches.

What did :hafeez do? :13:

I remember Sarfaraz missing a couple of chances off Hafeez's bowling who was too aggressive towards him in response.

Im not saying that Hafeez shouldnt be aggressive but atleast take it easy on a newcomer.

Meanwhile, when Umar Akmal missed a few chances behind the stumps during the England series, Hafeez wasnt angry at all.

So why the double standards?

Bechara Sarfaraz

Sarfraz has been in and out of the team for a few years, he made his debut in 2007. The guy has only played 15 ODI's in 5 years, he's never had a proper run in the team.

It's a tough situation for him now, he will either come in with a few overs balls at the end of the innings or after a major collapse.

I think the 'last chance' remark was probably to motivate him while at the same time fizzling out criticism from those who want a totally new keeper.

I remember Sarfaraz missing a couple of chances off Hafeez's bowling who was too aggressive towards him in response.

Im not saying that Hafeez shouldnt be aggressive but atleast take it easy on a newcomer.

Meanwhile, when Umar Akmal missed a few chances behind the stumps during the England series, Hafeez wasnt angry at all.

So why the double standards?

Bechara Sarfaraz

Sarfraz is in the team because of his keeping. Higher standards. Afridi did the same when Umar missed a chance. He just put his hands on his head and said nothing. Afridi knew it was a part time wiki.

What a tool this chief selector sahab is :facepalm: I don't think we are going to see a single professional person in management in our life time. Utter rubbish and unprofessionalism at its best!

Very idiotic... but who knows... maybe the do or die spirit might bring the best out of Sarfaraz. This reverse-sweep from the chief selector could either go straight down deep point's throat, or sail over for a six. Only time will tell us which one it is.

http://www.espncricinfo.com/asia-cup-2012/content/current/story/556077.html

How can you say last chance to a youngster who has only batted 9 times in ODI's? What about the likes of Farhat, Nazir, Kamran, Sami etc.. who were given many chances and yet still continue to be in the mix.

Surely they've learnt from the debacle of Kamran Akmal that having a safe keeper behind the stumps is of primary importance. You can get away with it in T20's but not in the longer formats especially with our bowling attack being built predominantly around spinners like Ajmal, Afridi, Hafeez & Rehman, we definitely need a top class gloveman and for me Sarfraz is one of the best in the country.

Absolute nonsense from this Qasim guy, looks like he wants Sarfraz to fail. Give the youngster a fair run in the side and then make your reservations.
Absolutely agree . Other more mediocre players never get told anything like that .

Fair statement, probably should have been kept private.

A keeper can only get a certain amount of chances. The few times Sarfraz has batted, he's looked out of place.

Yes, he hasn't got a lot of chances, but you should at least look the part. He hasn't and thus you see these comments from the selector.

why is everyone getting uptight at this

no problem at all.

i dont like sarfaraz ahmeds attitude. he thinks he can be picked without performing with the bat. i am glad he has been told straight. perform or get out

rubbish player anyway

Sarfraz is in the team because of his keeping. Higher standards. Afridi did the same when Umar missed a chance. He just put his hands on his head and said nothing. Afridi knew it was a part time wiki.

Why is Umer is so ladlaa to you?

Little respect there was for Qasim is gone now.
Being a chief selector you have to be even more professional.

At least Ilyas never did that but again he did many other thiings

Very stupid statement from a chief selector. Rather then giving him the motivation and confidence he is putting pressure on a player who was always played as a fill in, the reason why he was nervous in his past outings.

My theory

Mr Qasim felt necessary to single out his fellow Karachite to showcase that regional biases played no part with Sarfraz's selection.

Fancy saying that to someone who has not been given a consistent run over the last year. I think even M Salman played more continuous games than Sarfraz has recently. Plus bet he wouldn't have the nerve to say that about any one of our underperforming 'Seniors'.

Guess if Sarfraz doesn't perform the next replacement will be the NBP keeper, good ol' butterfingers.

Sarfraz needs to work on his batting for sure. Asia Cup is his golden chance to prove his critics wrong

I don't actually agree with the selections of:

- Sarfraz (Despite all the hype about Sarfraz, Adnan Akmal's batting and glove work is better than Sarfraz) and

- Azhar Ali (would have preferred Ahmed Shehzad)

Why does Pakistan get all the incompetant cricketing administrators of the world? This guy was head of selection when we had that awful tour of Australia. We use the same tried and tested failures on and off the pitch. No sane selector on the planet would give statements like this. It's no wonder his first team selection following his appointment is so poor. Younus, Asad, Misbah and Azhar CANNOT work in a single odi line-up, period. He has learnt nothing from our recent odi struggles.

Backward thinking selection will see us lose many odis. You cannot ask Ajmal to get 6-10 every game so tbat your snail pace batsmen have a chance to chase a low score. This current team cannot score 300 without a once in a blue moon hundred from Umer or Hafeez. But Umer is shoved at 5/6 where he can't make a difference. Misbah bats so low he might as well not bother.

Many, many things wrong with the selectors and this team.

Ok if it's his last chance then give him chance to play in the middle order, which is his actual spot.

I think that it's a last chance for Iqbal Qasim too (as a CS), and I expect him to to suck at his job.

People say that his batting is not upto mark and that is true but honestly for me he isn't exactly a great keeper either. He wont have howlers like Kamran but definitely not as agile and athlethic as Adnnan

The PCB chairman shud have a talk with Qasim about this. One day in the job and already creating waves. Pathetic.
Qasim is honorary selector i.e. not paid to do the job as he is full time employed by NBP so he might not care too much about this chairmanship.
But totally un professional statement either way.

how come this stupid selection committee missed the point that Sami, Ahmed, Nazir were stars of the BPL. The same country, where Asia cup is being played.

what a stupid statement....why is everyone related to pakistan cricketing affairs incompetent :facepalm:

how come this stupid selection committee missed the point that Sami, Ahmed, Nazir were stars of the BPL. The same country, where Asia cup is being played.

Because

A) That was T20
B) The bowling and fielding standard was very bad