Legendary Actor Dilip Kumar Passes Away at 98 After Prolonged Illness

MP2011

RIP, the tragedy king of Indian cinema!

==

Legendary actor Dilip Kumar passed away. He was 98. The actor was admitted to suburban Khar-based Hinduja Hospital, a non-COVID-19 facility, last week to address age-related “medical issues" days after being discharged from the same hospital. Dilip Kumar’s family friend Faisal Farooqui confirmed the news of his death on the actor’s official Twitter account. “With a heavy heart and profound grief, I announce the passing away of our beloved Dilip Saab, a few minutes ago. We are from God and to Him we return," the tweet read.

“He passed away due to prolonged illness at 7.30 am,” Dr Jalil Parkar, who had been treating Kumar, told PTI. Dilip Kumar’s last rites will be held at 5pm today, his remains will be buried at the Juhu Cemetery.

On Monday, his wife Saira Banu had confirmed that he was recovering and might soon return home. She had also shared an update about his health on Twitter. “We are grateful for God’s infinite mercy on Dilip Sahib that his health is improving. We are still in hospital and request your prayers and duas so that Insha’Allah he is healthy and discharged soon. Saira Banu Khan (sic)," read her tweet via Dilip Kumar’s official handle.

The Hindi cinema veteran was admitted to the Hinduja Hospital in June following episodes of breathlessness. At the time, Kumar was diagnosed with bilateral pleural effusion — a build-up of excess fluid between the layers of the pleura outside the lungs — and underwent a successful pleural aspiration procedure. He was discharged after five days.

Kumar’s career spanned over five decades with hits like “Mughal-e-Azam", “Devdas", “Naya Daur", and “Ram Aur Shyam". His last big-screen appearance was in the 1998 film “Qila". The thespian was honoured with the Dadasaheb Phalke award in 1994 and the Padma Vibhushan in 2015 for his contribution to Indian cinema.

The Pakistan government also honoured him with its highest civilian honour - Nishan-e-Imtiaz - in 1997.

https://www.news18.com/news/movies/dilip-kumar-passes-away-at-age-of-98-3934067.html

RIP.. an icon of Indian Cinema.
Still watch Mughal E Azam and Devdas in my free time and his acting was superb.
India will mourn today.

End of 50s golden era, surely. Is there any legend from that era who is still there with us?

Dileep Saab was so immense and immersed in his portrayal of the sad characters in his movie career that it deeply affected him psychologically and had to take help of psychologists.

RIP. I only watched one of his films, Mughal-e-Azam, and I think he did a terrific job in that movie.

Inna Lillahi Wa Inna Illahi Rajiyoon

Very sad news

Very sad news Yusuf saab was such an incredible actor and person A true legend has passed on today

The end of an era in Indian cinema. Dilip sahab was responsible for a new paradigm in acting. He was one of the few who successfully transitioned between the old era without playback and editing, and the new one with all its technological advances.

May Almighty Allah grant him a special place in Jannat.

End of 50s golden era, surely. Is there any legend from that era who is still there with us?

Sadly, not many remain. Only Lata Mangeshkar perhaps.

RIP to a legend of Indian cinema.

I always found it ridiculous that he had to change his name to a Hindu name because muslim names have thrived in the industry, maybe not in numbers but the few who did have been mega stars.

Very sad news. Dilip Sahab was an absolute legend. His later year movies like Shakti and Mashaal were my favorites.....RIP

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Indeed to Allah we belong and to Allah we shall return.<br>A huge loss for Yousuf Khan sahib's fans from KPK to Mumbai and across the globe. He lives on in our hearts. Deepest condolences to Saira Banu sahiba. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DilipKumar?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DilipKumar</a> <a href="https://t.co/T51NelBl6O">pic.twitter.com/T51NelBl6O</a></p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1412627136821800960?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 7, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Saddened to learn of Dilip Kumar's passing. I can never forget his generosity in giving his time to help raise funds for SKMTH when project launched. This is the most difficult time - to raise first 10% of the funds & his appearance in Pak & London helped raise huge amounts.</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1412666535131422723?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 7, 2021</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Apart from this, for my generation Dilip Kumar was the greatest and most versatile actor.</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1412666538260320256?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 7, 2021</a></blockquote>

Without doubt one of the greatest actors produced in the subcontinent.

RIP

A true icon.

His home in Qissa Khawani bazaar in Peshawar where he was born and spent his adolescent years.

He also visited his ancestral home numerous times.

It's crazy how so many top actors in Bollywood trace their roots to either the KPK province or Afghanistan. Dilip Kumar, SRK, Salman Khan, Aamir Khan, Saif Ali Khan just from the top of my head.

Also all Kapoors, Vinod Khanna (born in Peshawar) and Raj Kumar (born in Baluchistan if i remember correctly).

Dont think Saif Ali Khan has any link to KPK though. His links to Pakistan may only be because some of his relatives migrated to Pakistan after partition.

Also all Kapoors, Vinod Khanna (born in Peshawar) and Raj Kumar (born in Baluchistan if i remember correctly).

Dont think Saif Ali Khan has any link to KPK though. His links to Pakistan may only be because some of his relatives migrated to Pakistan after partition.

Indeed to Allah we belong and to Allah we shall return.

RIP Dilip Kumar, real legend of Indian cinema.

Although Saif Ali Khan’s family is from Pataudi.

They are ethnic Pashtuns from which they can trace their roots to the Barech tribe hailing from Afghanistan.

A true icon.

His home in Qissa Khawani bazaar in Peshawar where he was born and spent his adolescent years.

He also visited his ancestral home numerous times.

Great videos, thanks for sharing. Any idea when was the last time Dileep saab visited Peshawar?

Rest in peace.

A legend.

I remember my parents always saying what a brilliant actor he was.

I saw some of his last few films and he was still a great actor.

It's not crazy at all.

Punjab has dominated hindi cinema, it's well known and half of historic Punjab now lies in Pakistan.

I am from Punjab and I am geographically situated closer to Pakistan than the rest of India. That is actually crazy. When you are in Amritsar and you realize Pakistan is just an hour's drive and i am closer to Lahore, a major city of Pakistan, than even to any other major city of India.

The more you think of such stuff, the more you realize how badly we have shagged ourselves due to our communally driven thought process and a deep rooted sense of insecurity, hatred.

Thisis why despite the fact that Punjabis have seen major bloodshed due to India-Pakistan conflicts , still we hug it out whenever we come across because people of other regions of India simply cannot comprehend the brotherly relationship we share with Pakistanis. We fight like crazy but we share our origins which cannot be changed ever.

It's not crazy at all.

Punjab has dominated hindi cinema, it's well known and half of historic Punjab now lies in Pakistan.

I am from Punjab and I am geographically situated closer to Pakistan than the rest of India. That is actually crazy. When you are in Amritsar and you realize Pakistan is just an hour's drive and i am closer to Lahore, a major city of Pakistan, than even to any other major city of India.

The more you think of such stuff, the more you realize how badly we have shagged ourselves due to our communally driven thought process and a deep rooted sense of insecurity, hatred.

Thisis why despite the fact that Punjabis have seen major bloodshed due to India-Pakistan conflicts , still we hug it out whenever we come across because people of other regions of India simply cannot comprehend the brotherly relationship we share with Pakistanis. We fight like crazy but we share our origins which cannot be changed ever.

To be honest, I would much rather Indians and Pakistanis shared an emotionally neutral relationship like how Indians and maybe Sri Lankans are, rather than the volatile love-hate relationship they do. It's actually more hate than love if we're being honest. The "love" if anything arises due to how little Indians and Pakistanis interact with each other in real life within the subcontinent and how hard it is for Indians to visit Pakistan and Pakistanis to visit India. Yeah sure Punjabis hug each other when they visit the other side but they were also the people who hacked each other the most during the partition.

Indians and Pakistanis do Aman ki Asha one day and curse each other the next day. It is very common to read lovely comments in videos of Pakistanis visiting India or vice versa, and at the same time, hate filled comments in other videos about their countries. Until Indians and Pakistanis learn to view the opposite country as just another country like every other country in the world, and the people living in those countries as normal human beings like those living in every other country instead of getting emotionally invested deeply, this relationship between Indians and Pakistanis will continue to swing between love and extreme hatred, mostly on the hatred side.

RIP.

I am not gonna lie that I watched all his movies, I have never watched a single one. I found it weird that why he had to change his name from Yousuf Khan to Dilip Kumar.

To be honest, I would much rather Indians and Pakistanis shared an emotionally neutral relationship like how Indians and maybe Sri Lankans are, rather than the volatile love-hate relationship they do. It's actually more hate than love if we're being honest. The "love" if anything arises due to how little Indians and Pakistanis interact with each other in real life within the subcontinent and how hard it is for Indians to visit Pakistan and Pakistanis to visit India. Yeah sure Punjabis hug each other when they visit the other side but they were also the people who hacked each other the most during the partition.

Indians and Pakistanis do Aman ki Asha one day and curse each other the next day. It is very common to read lovely comments in videos of Pakistanis visiting India or vice versa, and at the same time, hate filled comments in other videos about their countries. Until Indians and Pakistanis learn to view the opposite country as just another country like every other country in the world, and the people living in those countries as normal human beings like those living in every other country instead of getting emotionally invested deeply, this relationship between Indians and Pakistanis will continue to swing between love and extreme hatred, mostly on the hatred side.

You can't do anything about it.

Both are backward nations with majority of their population being stupid.

Our region as a whole represents the biggest and the dirties plague on the planet.

There are people arguing over who suffered more casualities and losses over a war that occured half a century ago in another active thread here so what to expect from nations having such people.

Very well put! I cant ageee more about the wierd dynamics played out between the two countries. The best solution would be to learn to ignore each other, but i guess going by the emotional nature of the population that would be impossible. No wonder people are stuck in a time warp 70 years back.

Flashback to times when Dilip Kumar donned whites for a cricket match

India woke up to very sad news on Wednesday, July 7, as veteran Bollywood actor Dilip Kumar passed away at the age of 98. Apart from being a fine actor, Kumar was known for his generosity and compassionate nature, which set him apart from his contemporaries. Indeed India lost one of the most precious gems.

While fans, experts, and critics paid tribute to the late actor by posting pictures of his old songs or movie dialogues, none expected to pay tribute to Kumar by donning the cricketing gear. Yes, indeed he played a friendly cricket match along with none other than Raj Kapoor’s team.

The match took place in 1962 and was organized to raise some charitable money for Cine Workers Relief Fund. The match took place in January, with the likes of Shammi Kapoor, Prem Nath, Joy Mukherjee, Jabeen Jalil, Manoj Kumar, Shubha Khote, and Rajendra Kumar Agha, etc.

In a short film directed by Kuldip, Raj Kapoor was seen in a jovial mood by being his usual self, while Kumar was seen in a serious mood by focusing more on the cricket match, even though it was just a friendly game. Apart from being known for his disciplined nature, the veteran actor was also known to being soft-spoken and being very gentlemanly especially when it came to dealing with women in particular.

In this match also, he was seen escorting women members of the team such as Waheeda Rahman to the pitch.

When Dilip Kumar donned the white in the year 1962

The match was won by Raj Kapoor’s team, but Dilip Kumar was definitely the hero by getting attention from all the quarters. Apart from the match, all the actors were seen having a good time, albeit maintaining humor too by pulling each other’s legs. In the short video clip uploaded, one can see some fans barging in the pitch to get a glimpse of their favorite actors.

Apart from the usual stuff, some actors were seen hitting sixes and taking some easy catches on offer. It was indeed a jolly occasion for the actors involved and also for a good cause as the money raised went to someone useful.

https://www.crictracker.com/flashback-to-times-when-dilip-kumar-donned-whites-for-a-cricket-match/

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Dilip Kumar speaking about Imran Khan during a visit to Pakistan "through his bowling and his batting, he's brought himself up to such high levels. My prayers are with you" <a href="https://t.co/I5fNgg6ByO">pic.twitter.com/I5fNgg6ByO</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1412791828261257223?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 7, 2021</a></blockquote>

I always found it ridiculous that he had to change his name to a Hindu name because muslim names have thrived in the industry, maybe not in numbers but the few who did have been mega stars.
This is what a narrow minded sanghi had to say about this,

In a tweet written in Hindi, Arun Yadav - whose Twitter bio says he is the "State IT & Social Media Head" for the BJP in Haryana - said: "The death of Mohammad Yusuf Khan (Dilip Kumar), who earned money by keeping a Hindu name in the film world, is an irreparable loss to the Indian film industry! Deepest condolences to the bereaved family!"

An acting instituition himself A great human being and huge legendary personality Its the end of an era May allah swt forgive his ills and give the highest rank in jannah ameen

He had to change his name to appease the Hindutva mob. His real name is not Dilip Kumar, it's Muhammed Yusuf Khan.

It was right after partition when Hindu and Muslim tensions were very high. Many Muslim actors had Hindu screen names in 50's and 60's.

Salman, Amir and Sharukh and other plethora of Khans did not change their names. Even the non-khans like Imran Pal adopted the name Imran Khan. A.R.Rahman AKA Dilip Kumar converted to Islam and the world saw him succeed. Religion is not an issue to succeed in Bollywood.

It was right after partition when Hindu and Muslim tensions were very high. Many Muslim actors had Hindu screen names in 50's and 60's.

Salman, Amir and Sharukh and other plethora of Khans did not change their names. Even the non-khans like Imran Pal adopted the name Imran Khan. A.R.Rahman AKA Dilip Kumar converted to Islam and the world saw him succeed. Religion is not an issue to succeed in Bollywood.

I suggest you look up the real names of Hollywood actors who had to appease the Jews who control Hollywood.

Many celebrities have had to change their name names to succeed in an industry. You can start with Tom Cruise.

It's nothing to do with partition but rather appeasing who controls the industry.

I suggest you look up the real names of Hollywood actors who had to appease the Jews who control Hollywood.

Many celebrities have had to change their name names to succeed in an industry. You can start with Tom Cruise.

It's nothing to do with partition but rather appeasing who controls the industry.

Then why did the Bollywood Khan's not change their name? There are others like Imran Hashmi, Nawazuddin etc who did not change their names.

Sorry state of affairs in India. Would have been hugely successful as a kafir had he migrated to Pakistan.

Report regarding why he changed his name:

But, it is known to all that Dilip Kumar was the actor's stage name and that he was born Muhammad Yusuf Khan. There are many stories as to why the thespian changed his name. Some state that he changed his name on producer Devika Rani's request. Dilip Kumar has confirmed the same in his autobiography, Dilip Kumar: The Substance and the Shadow. He had written, 'She (Devika Rani) said, quite matter-of-factly: ‘Yousuf, I was thinking about your launch soon as an actor and I felt it would not be a bad idea if you adopted a screen name. You know, a name you would be known by and which will be very appropriate for your audience to relate to and one that will be in tune with the romantic image you are bound to acquire through your screen presence. I thought Dilip Kumar was a nice name. It just popped up in my mind when I was thinking about a suitable name for you. How does it sound to you?' However, in a 1970 interview, Kumar had said that he had changed his name out of fear of his father. The late actor's father did not appreciate Kumar's acting career and called it 'nautanki'. His father didn’t have much liking for showbiz and didn’t quite like that Dewan Basheshwarnath Kapoor's (his friend) grandson Raj Kapoor was in films.

Report regarding why he changed his name:

But, it is known to all that Dilip Kumar was the actor's stage name and that he was born Muhammad Yusuf Khan. There are many stories as to why the thespian changed his name. Some state that he changed his name on producer Devika Rani's request. Dilip Kumar has confirmed the same in his autobiography, Dilip Kumar: The Substance and the Shadow. He had written, 'She (Devika Rani) said, quite matter-of-factly: ‘Yousuf, I was thinking about your launch soon as an actor and I felt it would not be a bad idea if you adopted a screen name. You know, a name you would be known by and which will be very appropriate for your audience to relate to and one that will be in tune with the romantic image you are bound to acquire through your screen presence. I thought Dilip Kumar was a nice name. It just popped up in my mind when I was thinking about a suitable name for you. How does it sound to you?' However, in a 1970 interview, Kumar had said that he had changed his name out of fear of his father. The late actor's father did not appreciate Kumar's acting career and called it 'nautanki'. His father didn’t have much liking for showbiz and didn’t quite like that Dewan Basheshwarnath Kapoor's (his friend) grandson Raj Kapoor was in films.

If someone has inferiority complex and not proud of his origin or ethnicity , its not a big deal to change his identity from Muslim to a Hindu identity.

As somebody mentioned, it might be the compulsion of those times post partition. Many Muslim actors & actresses of that era had Hindu screen names back then - i recollect my grandfather/father talking about Madhubala & Meena Kumari who were Muslim actresses. Dont think that most actors these days do not change their names & nor do people care about others’ religion anymore.

He was past his prime when he appeared in a film in the 80's with Amitabh who was at the peak of his powers and he still managed to steal the show from him, such was the legendary status of the man

Dilip Saab used to consider himself a fraud for receiving so much adulation from his ever increasing number of fans as he considered himself unworthy of it. This caused him great mental agony and had to see a psychologist for this.

He did only 60 films in his 54 years old film career. Extremely low number of movies for such a great actor!

Also with his death, golden troika (Raj Kapoor, Dev Anand & Dilip Kumar) of Indian cinema has now passed into ages.

He was past his prime when he appeared in a film in the 80's with Amitabh who was at the peak of his powers and he still managed to steal the show from him, such was the legendary status of the man
Who told you he was past his prime in '80s? Just that he was always extremely choosy when it came to pick the movies he wanted to do.

Dilip Kumar dies

No thread on the death of Dilip Kumar?? A great actor by all means although I am a bit surprised he only starred in 60 movies or something. My favourite DK film would be "Ram aur Shyam", watch it if you haven't done so already. I would say he was slightly ahead of Amitabh in acting and dialogue delivery. At 98 he had a good long life, bless him.

There has been a thread on his death. And yes, Ram aur Shyam is an awesome movie. I have it's DVD.

Roots don't matter to me at all. I have no problem in calling Dilip Kumar an Indian for it is there where he made his name and became a legend. Seeing the terrible state of our movie industry such a great talent would have gone to waste had he not moved across the border. His younger brother Nasir Khan who starred with him in "Ganga Jamuna" made his cinematic debut in a Pakistani film "Teri Yaad".

I don't like it when certain Pakistanis attempt to claim him as one of our own just because he was born in British India, not Pakistan. We never show the same affection towards Raj Kapoor, Dev Anand, Raaj Kumar or any other actor born in what is now Pakistan as they are non-Muslim. DK was supposedly a very difficult person to get on with due to his self righteous attitude. I do wish his now widow would stop praising him sky high all the time with comments like "mein sahab ke kadmo ki dhool bhi nehin". He was human too like the rest off us.

A surprising thing to note about Dilip saab's movie career was that he didn't act in a movie with his better half Saira Bano always thinking that she was way too younger for him to play her hero till Gopi happened in 1970!

However he was already married her in 1966 when he was 44 and Saira was 22!

Dilip Kumar was Indias greatest method actor. He was an institution , not just an actor.

He was definitely the greatest actor in the history of South Asian Cinema and an acting institution.

Dilip Kumar was the man who inspired the next generational superstar of Indian Cinema, notably Amitabh Bachchan and Shahrukh Khan, both who learnt from Dilip Kumar and then dominated their respective eras.

The GOAT for me. RIP, Dilip Saab.

He was THE role model and THE actor that the likes of dharmendra and amitabh were inspired by and looked upto

RIP saab

I remember visiting Peshawar in spring of 1988. Apparently Dilip Kumar was visiting Peshawar at the same time. There were huge banners all over Qissa Khawani bazaaar "Kushamdeed Yousuf Khan". We didn't realize who this Yousuf Khan was until later in the evening when it was part of the Khabarnama @ 9.

That was the closest I got to him.
Innalillah

Big B reminiscing about Dilip saab, some great anecdotes. Some gems about the man from someone who himself is an institution of acting.

Naseeruddin Shah stands by comments on Dilip Kumar's lack of contribution to Indian cinema, dismisses rumours of feud

Naseeruddin Shah has offered clarification about his comments on the late Dilip Kumar, whom he accused of not doing enough for cinema.

Naseeruddin Shah stood by what he wrote about the late Dilip Kumar, whom he accused of not doing enough for cinema in India. Naseer in an op-ed published after Dilip Kumar's death wondered why the late actor ‘chose to play safe the way he did’, despite being a star and ‘immaculate’ at his craft.

In a new interview, Naseeruddin Shah said that he said what he did after careful consideration. He also addressed rumours of a turbulent working relationship with Dilip Kumar, on their sole collaboration, Subhash Ghai's Karma.

Asked about the controversy generated by his op-ed, he told SpotboyE, “Those who decided to take offence at what I said about Dilip Saab should have read the entire article and they would have realised that my praise, though conditional, for his acting chops was nothing less than glowing. I practically ran out of superlatives when describing his acting abilities. My 'complaint' had nothing to do with that at all. However, the reaction of people who choose to see meanings where there are none doesn't bother me... I said what I had to say, and if I hadn't meant it I wouldn't have said it.”

He also said that the rumours of a feud between himself and Dilip Kumar was the media's doing. "The supposed problems we had during the making of a film which I'd rather forget was all the invention of the media and some vested interests who made our working together sound like some sort of acting duel that was to take place, when considering the nature of our respective roles. I actually didn't stand a chance. All this fanned the non-existent flames when the fact was we hardly even met including in the scenes we had together. I don’t consider acting to be a contest or a game of one-upmanship and I was far from happy with all the talk of Dilip Kumar versus me. I have never denied that it was my childhood dream to act with and not opposite him.”

Dilip Kumar died on July 7 after a prolonged illness. Coincidentally, Naseeruddin Shah was suffering from pneumonia and was admitted to the same hospital as Dilip in his last days. However, they did not meet.

In his op-ed for Indian Express, Naseeruddin Shah had written, "Some of those works doubtless will survive the test of time but, given the position he was in, it is more than evident he didn’t do enough apart from acting and being involved in social causes close to his heart. He produced only one film, didn’t direct any (officially at least), never passed on the benefit of his experience, didn’t bother to groom anyone, and apart from his pre-1970s performances, left behind no significant lessons for future actors; even his autobiography is but a rehash of old interviews."

https://www.hindustantimes.com/entertainment/bollywood/naseeruddin-shah-stands-by-comments-on-dilip-kumar-s-lack-of-contribution-to-indian-cinema-dismisses-rumours-of-acting-duel-101627445385346.html

Veteran actress Saira Banu, who lost her husband and legendary actor Dilip Kumar on July 7, has been admitted to the hospital. She is in the Intensive Care Unit (ICU) of Mumbai's Hinduja Hospital. She is 77.

Saira Banu's husband, legendary actor Dilip Kumar, who is credited with bringing method acting to Hindi cinema, passed away at the age of 98, due to age-related health issues. Following his demise, Saira had thanked Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Maharashtra Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray for according Dilip Sahib burial with state funeral protocols.

As per news agency ANI tweet, "Actor Saira Banu, wife of late veteran actor Dilip Kumar, was admitted to Hinduja Hospital in Khar, Mumbai after she complained of issues related to blood pressure three days ago. She has been shifted to the ICU ward today."

https://www.timesnownews.com/entert...eteran-actress-saira-banu-hospitalised/806367

At Dilip Kumar's 100th Birth Anniversary Film Festival, Saira Banu Gets Emotional.

It is legendary actor Dilip Kumar's 100th birth anniversary today (December 11), and to celebrate his birthday Film Heritage Foundation has organised a two-day film festival titled Dilip Kumar Hero of Heroes. On Saturday, Saira Banu arrived at the opening ceremony of the film festival, and upon seeing a poster of the late megastar, she appeared teary-eyed. The veteran actress looked evergreen in a black kurta set. Farida Jalal, Asha Parikh, Waheeda Rehman, Prem Chopra, Shatrughan Sinha's wife Poonam Sinha, Ramesh Sippy, Divya Dutta and other celebs were also spotted at the screening.

Dilip Kumar Hero of Heroes, a two-day film festival, commenced on Saturday (December 10, 2022) and will continue till Sunday (December 11, 2022). During the film festival, Dilip Kumar's critically acclaimed films such as Devdas, Aan, Ram Aur Shyam and Shakti will be screened in over 30 cinema halls and 20 cities across the country.

Dilip Kumar and Sair Banu got married in October 1966. On July 7, 2021, Dilip Kumar died due to a prolonged illness. The legendary star has given numerous blockbuster movies such as Mughal-E-Azam, Gunga Jumna, Ram Aur Shyam, Devdas, Naya Daur, Kranti and many more.

NDTV