Legendary Indian singer Asha Bhosle passes away at 92

globetrotter

Asha Bhosle, India's beloved singing icon, died on Sunday following multiple organ failure, doctors treating her said.
She was 92.

"She passed way due to multi organ failure a few minutes ago," Dr Pratit Samdani told PTI.

Bhosle was admitted to Breach Candy hospital here on Saturday evening due to chest infection and exhaustion, her granddaughter Zanai Bhosle shared in a media post.

With a career spanning over eight decades, Asha Bhosle was known for her versatility and has sung many memorable melodies, from romantic songs to ghazals to peppy numbers.

Among her most popular songs are 'Abhi Na Jao Chhod Kar', 'In Ankhon Ki Masti','Dil Cheez Kya Hai', 'Piya Tu Ab to Aaja', 'Duniya Mein Logon Ko', and 'Zaara Se Jhoom Loon Main', among others.

Bhosle recorded over 12,000 songs in different Indian languages and has been the voice for many leading ladies, from Meena Kumari, Madhubala, Zeenat Aman to Kajol, Urmila Matondkar and also South actors like Padmini and Vyjayanthimala. -- PTI

Inna lillahi wa inna ilayhi raji'un

A very sad news indeed. My grand father who lived in Shiraz was very fond of her as well as my parents. A great singer indeed who lived under the shadow of her legendary elder sister but was no less.

Inna lillahi wa inna ilayhi raji'un

A very sad news indeed. My grand father who lived in Shiraz was very fond of her as well as my parents. A great singer indeed who lived under the shadow of her legendary elder sister but was no less.

Yes ....Ashaji was more versatile singer than her older sister Late Lataji..... Ashaji sung many versatile songs in her career. In cricketing terms Ashaji was all-rounder

RIP Ashaji

Most of you will be too young to remember this song, it was in 1997 after all....

/:

Brimful of Asha" is a 1997 hit song by Cornershop that acts as a tribute to Indian playback singer Asha Bhosle, celebrating the comfort, hope, and joy found in music. The title is a pun: "Asha" means "hope" in Hindi, while also referring to the singer whose music provides that hope, all played on "45" rpm vinyl

//

Asha Bhosle, India's beloved singing icon, died on Sunday following multiple organ failure, doctors treating her said.
She was 92.

"She passed way due to multi organ failure a few minutes ago," Dr Pratit Samdani told PTI.

Bhosle was admitted to Breach Candy hospital here on Saturday evening due to chest infection and exhaustion, her granddaughter Zanai Bhosle shared in a media post.

With a career spanning over eight decades, Asha Bhosle was known for her versatility and has sung many memorable melodies, from romantic songs to ghazals to peppy numbers.

Among her most popular songs are 'Abhi Na Jao Chhod Kar', 'In Ankhon Ki Masti','Dil Cheez Kya Hai', 'Piya Tu Ab to Aaja', 'Duniya Mein Logon Ko', and 'Zaara Se Jhoom Loon Main', among others.

Bhosle recorded over 12,000 songs in different Indian languages and has been the voice for many leading ladies, from Meena Kumari, Madhubala, Zeenat Aman to Kajol, Urmila Matondkar and also South actors like Padmini and Vyjayanthimala. -- PTI
My condolences to her family and loved ones.

Legendary singer. Like many of her songs. Was a pre teen when my uncles cousins used to play her songs all the time. Her and late Lata Ji were really really popular UK desi households, amongst desi uncles and aunties in the 90s. such memorable evergreen beautiful voice.

My favourite song of hers is this one:

RIP.

88944.jpg
Pakistani authorities issue notice to news channels that played Asha Bhonsle’s songs during a news report about her death.

Indian songs and content remain banned on Pakistani channels.so much for the large heartedness .

View attachment 163524
Pakistani authorities issue notice to news channels that played Asha Bhonsle’s songs during a news report about her death.

Indian songs and content remain banned on Pakistani channels.so much for the large heartedness .

Pakistan singers are also equally popular in India, Gulam Ali(chupke chupke, Hungama) , Nusrat Fateh ali, Hasan Jahangir (Hawa hawa) and Nazia Hassan.

Pakistan and Pakistani posters doesn't know who made Nazia Hassan international star and Bollywood singer overnight? Its a Indian composer music director Biddu

Pakistan singers are also equally popular in India, Gulam Ali(chupke chupke, Hungama) , Nusrat Fateh ali, Hasan Jahangir (Hawa hawa) and Nazia Hassan.

Pakistan and Pakistani posters doesn't know who made Nazia Hassan international star and Bollywood singer overnight? Its a Indian composer music director Biddu
I think its from munir doctrine. He won't let anything disturbs his 2 nation / religion theory. As long as him and Naqvi are there at the helm, we can't expect any normalcy even at the basic stage.At this rate, I will expect one more war before he left.

My favorite Asha Bhosleji's songs...........

1] Aasmaan Pe Likh do......... this was one of my favorite childhood songs—somehow lost along the way as I grew up. Finally rediscovered it during lockdown (thank you, COVID times for the nostalgia 🙏).

The song is beautifully dominated by Shabbir Kumar, but Ashaji’s intermittent lines add such effortless magic… only she can do that so gracefully ✨

2) Tauba, Tauba Kya Hoga.......

3) Do Lafzon ki hai dil ki kahani........

4] Pyar Karane Wale......

5] Tanha, Tanha yahan pe jeena

Dear Ashaji,

You are no longer with us, but your voice continues to live in every note you left behind. Your songs are not just melodies—they are emotions, memories, and timeless moments that generations will continue to cherish. Though you may be gone, your legacy remains immortal, echoing in the hearts of millions.

You will always be remembered, not just as a legendary artist, but as a soul who gave music its deepest meaning.

With love and remembrance.

vids missed.........

1] Aasmaan Pe Likh do......... this was one of my favorite childhood songs—somehow lost along the way as I grew up. Finally rediscovered it during lockdown (thank you, COVID times for the nostalgia 🙏).

The song is beautifully dominated by Shabbir Kumar, but Ashaji’s intermittent lines add such effortless magic… only she can do that so gracefully ✨

View attachment 163524

So, Pakistan Electronic Media Regulatory Authority has issued a notice to a Pakistani news channel for airing Indian Bollywood songs while covering the news of Asha Bhosle ji’s death. Such is their hatred for India.
And meanwhile, a section of people in India is always ready to treat Pakistan as their “Abbu.” :inti

It’s strange how a few trolls derailed this discussion by dragging Pakistan into it.

What PEMRA does in Pakistan is not something Indians need to worry about. I don’t support that decision either, but my point is simple: if you are mourning a death, you shouldn’t be disturbed by what others are doing elsewhere. Focus on your own moment of grief instead of turning it into a political argument.

Also, let’s not pretend this is a one‑way issue. In the past, Pakistani artists and singers were effectively blocked from working in India, so please don’t suddenly claim that music and art have no borders only when it suits you.

It’s strange how a few trolls derailed this discussion by dragging Pakistan into it.

What PEMRA does in Pakistan is not something Indians need to worry about. I don’t support that decision either, but my point is simple: if you are mourning a death, you shouldn’t be disturbed by what others are doing elsewhere. Focus on your own moment of grief instead of turning it into a political argument.

Also, let’s not pretend this is a one‑way issue. In the past, Pakistani artists and singers were effectively blocked from working in India, so please don’t suddenly claim that music and art have no borders only when it suits you.
Same two 🤡🤡, @Devadwal and @globetrotter, derailing yet another thread. :inti

View attachment 163524

India is responsible for large scale terrorist activities inside Pakistan and thousands of innocent Pakistani soldiers and people are dead as a result. A country that is waging war against us constantly, we cannot afford to give them platform on our airwaves.

Wasim Akram almost died in India from mob attack from RSS workers.

They wouldn;t even spare Zainab Abbass. Although in that case, what she did herself was disgusting and she rightfully blasted for it by everyone including us Pakistanis/muslims.

Can't agree more.

Andhbhakts should be the last creatures on this planet to sook about music having no boundaries, blah, blah, blah....

You won't find a more hypocritic tribe than andhbhakts

When it happened?

Below one happened in pak.
2015 Karachi Shooting: Wasim Akram was involved in a road rage shooting incident in Karachi, Pakistan, in August 2015, where a man fired at his car after a collision. Akram was not injured in that incident

They wouldn;t even spare Zainab Abbass. Although in that case, what she did herself was disgusting and she rightfully blasted for it by everyone including us Pakistanis/muslims.

When was Akram episode happened…. Hez most popular Pakistani cricketer after IK

Zainab Abbas made anti India statement, she is a commentator and she shouldn’t poke her nose in anti India things. she is young commentator she can learn many things from Wasim and Rameez as a commentator

At Pakistan is now ruled by jihadi Asim Munir…. Even Shahbaz sherrif not offered his condolences to Ashaji, however the same person offered condolences after Lataji’s demise at that time Munir was no where

Pakistan government may punish and take action against Pakistan celebrities and actors who offered condolences after Ashaji’s demise….

They given same treatment for IK.

If anyone wants to know how was the life under Mughal rule, they can watch current affair of present Pakistan government