Legendary Pakistan leg-spinner Abdul Qadir passes away at the age of 63

<blockquote class="instagram-media" data-instgrm-captioned data-instgrm-permalink="https://www.instagram.com/p/B2FHPQgn8kb/?utm_source=ig_embed&utm_campaign=loading" data-instgrm-version="12" style=" background:#FFF; border:0; border-radius:3px; box-shadow:0 0 1px 0 rgba(0,0,0,0.5),0 1px 10px 0 rgba(0,0,0,0.15); margin: 1px; max-width:540px; min-width:326px; padding:0; width:99.375%; width:-webkit-calc(100% - 2px); width:calc(100% - 2px);"><div style="padding:16px;"> <a href="https://www.instagram.com/p/B2FHPQgn8kb/?utm_source=ig_embed&utm_campaign=loading" style=" background:#FFFFFF; line-height:0; padding:0 0; text-align:center; text-decoration:none; width:100%;" target="_blank"> <div style=" display: flex; flex-direction: row; align-items: center;"> <div style="background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 50%; flex-grow: 0; height: 40px; margin-right: 14px; width: 40px;"></div> <div style="display: flex; flex-direction: column; flex-grow: 1; justify-content: center;"> <div style=" background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 4px; flex-grow: 0; height: 14px; margin-bottom: 6px; width: 100px;"></div> <div style=" background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 4px; flex-grow: 0; height: 14px; width: 60px;"></div></div></div><div style="padding: 19% 0;"></div> <div style="display:block; height:50px; margin:0 auto 12px; width:50px;"><svg width="50px" height="50px" viewBox="0 0 60 60" version="1.1" xmlns="https://www.w3.org/2000/svg" xmlns:xlink="https://www.w3.org/1999/xlink"><g stroke="none" stroke-width="1" fill="none" fill-rule="evenodd"><g transform="translate(-511.000000, -20.000000)" fill="#000000"><g><path d="M556.869,30.41 C554.814,30.41 553.148,32.076 553.148,34.131 C553.148,36.186 554.814,37.852 556.869,37.852 C558.924,37.852 560.59,36.186 560.59,34.131 C560.59,32.076 558.924,30.41 556.869,30.41 M541,60.657 C535.114,60.657 530.342,55.887 530.342,50 C530.342,44.114 535.114,39.342 541,39.342 C546.887,39.342 551.658,44.114 551.658,50 C551.658,55.887 546.887,60.657 541,60.657 M541,33.886 C532.1,33.886 524.886,41.1 524.886,50 C524.886,58.899 532.1,66.113 541,66.113 C549.9,66.113 557.115,58.899 557.115,50 C557.115,41.1 549.9,33.886 541,33.886 M565.378,62.101 C565.244,65.022 564.756,66.606 564.346,67.663 C563.803,69.06 563.154,70.057 562.106,71.106 C561.058,72.155 560.06,72.803 558.662,73.347 C557.607,73.757 556.021,74.244 553.102,74.378 C549.944,74.521 548.997,74.552 541,74.552 C533.003,74.552 532.056,74.521 528.898,74.378 C525.979,74.244 524.393,73.757 523.338,73.347 C521.94,72.803 520.942,72.155 519.894,71.106 C518.846,70.057 518.197,69.06 517.654,67.663 C517.244,66.606 516.755,65.022 516.623,62.101 C516.479,58.943 516.448,57.996 516.448,50 C516.448,42.003 516.479,41.056 516.623,37.899 C516.755,34.978 517.244,33.391 517.654,32.338 C518.197,30.938 518.846,29.942 519.894,28.894 C520.942,27.846 521.94,27.196 523.338,26.654 C524.393,26.244 525.979,25.756 528.898,25.623 C532.057,25.479 533.004,25.448 541,25.448 C548.997,25.448 549.943,25.479 553.102,25.623 C556.021,25.756 557.607,26.244 558.662,26.654 C560.06,27.196 561.058,27.846 562.106,28.894 C563.154,29.942 563.803,30.938 564.346,32.338 C564.756,33.391 565.244,34.978 565.378,37.899 C565.522,41.056 565.552,42.003 565.552,50 C565.552,57.996 565.522,58.943 565.378,62.101 M570.82,37.631 C570.674,34.438 570.167,32.258 569.425,30.349 C568.659,28.377 567.633,26.702 565.965,25.035 C564.297,23.368 562.623,22.342 560.652,21.575 C558.743,20.834 556.562,20.326 553.369,20.18 C550.169,20.033 549.148,20 541,20 C532.853,20 531.831,20.033 528.631,20.18 C525.438,20.326 523.257,20.834 521.349,21.575 C519.376,22.342 517.703,23.368 516.035,25.035 C514.368,26.702 513.342,28.377 512.574,30.349 C511.834,32.258 511.326,34.438 511.181,37.631 C511.035,40.831 511,41.851 511,50 C511,58.147 511.035,59.17 511.181,62.369 C511.326,65.562 511.834,67.743 512.574,69.651 C513.342,71.625 514.368,73.296 516.035,74.965 C517.703,76.634 519.376,77.658 521.349,78.425 C523.257,79.167 525.438,79.673 528.631,79.82 C531.831,79.965 532.853,80.001 541,80.001 C549.148,80.001 550.169,79.965 553.369,79.82 C556.562,79.673 558.743,79.167 560.652,78.425 C562.623,77.658 564.297,76.634 565.965,74.965 C567.633,73.296 568.659,71.625 569.425,69.651 C570.167,67.743 570.674,65.562 570.82,62.369 C570.966,59.17 571,58.147 571,50 C571,41.851 570.966,40.831 570.82,37.631"></path></g></g></g></svg></div><div style="padding-top: 8px;"> <div style=" color:#3897f0; font-family:Arial,sans-serif; font-size:14px; font-style:normal; font-weight:550; line-height:18px;"> View this post on Instagram</div></div><div style="padding: 12.5% 0;"></div> <div style="display: flex; flex-direction: row; margin-bottom: 14px; align-items: center;"><div> <div style="background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 50%; height: 12.5px; width: 12.5px; transform: translateX(0px) translateY(7px);"></div> <div style="background-color: #F4F4F4; height: 12.5px; transform: rotate(-45deg) translateX(3px) translateY(1px); width: 12.5px; flex-grow: 0; margin-right: 14px; margin-left: 2px;"></div> <div style="background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 50%; height: 12.5px; width: 12.5px; transform: translateX(9px) translateY(-18px);"></div></div><div style="margin-left: 8px;"> <div style=" background-color: #F4F4F4; border-radius: 50%; flex-grow: 0; height: 20px; width: 20px;"></div> <div style=" width: 0; height: 0; border-top: 2px solid transparent; border-left: 6px solid #f4f4f4; border-bottom: 2px solid transparent; transform: translateX(16px) translateY(-4px) rotate(30deg)"></div></div><div style="margin-left: auto;"> <div style=" width: 0px; border-top: 8px solid #F4F4F4; border-right: 8px solid transparent; transform: translateY(16px);"></div> <div style=" background-color: #F4F4F4; flex-grow: 0; height: 12px; width: 16px; transform: translateY(-4px);"></div> <div style=" width: 0; height: 0; border-top: 8px solid #F4F4F4; border-left: 8px solid transparent; transform: translateY(-4px) translateX(8px);"></div></div></div></a> <p style=" margin:8px 0 0 0; padding:0 4px;"> <a href="https://www.instagram.com/p/B2FHPQgn8kb/?utm_source=ig_embed&utm_campaign=loading" style=" color:#000; font-family:Arial,sans-serif; font-size:14px; font-style:normal; font-weight:normal; line-height:17px; text-decoration:none; word-wrap:break-word;" target="_blank">Prime Minister Khan expressed deep grief over the demise of renowned cricketer Abdul Qadir. Abdul Qadir's death has deprived Pakistan of a great cricketer who blazed the name of his country across the world: PM Abdul Qadir's death has deprived me of a dear friend and left me truly saddened: PM The Prime Minister offers his prayers for the aggrieved family.</a></p> <p style=" color:#c9c8cd; font-family:Arial,sans-serif; font-size:14px; line-height:17px; margin-bottom:0; margin-top:8px; overflow:hidden; padding:8px 0 7px; text-align:center; text-overflow:ellipsis; white-space:nowrap;">A post shared by <a href="https://www.instagram.com/imrankhan.pti/?utm_source=ig_embed&utm_campaign=loading" style=" color:#c9c8cd; font-family:Arial,sans-serif; font-size:14px; font-style:normal; font-weight:normal; line-height:17px;" target="_blank"> Imran Khan</a> (@imrankhan.pti) on <time style=" font-family:Arial,sans-serif; font-size:14px; line-height:17px;" datetime="2019-09-06T18:30:59+00:00">Sep 6, 2019 at 11:30am PDT</time></p></div></blockquote> <script async src="//www.instagram.com/embed.js"></script>

Former Pakistan leg-spinner Abdul Qadir, widely regarded as the man who brought wrist-spin out of the dead in the 1970s and ‘80s, passed away, following a cardiac arrest in Lahore on Friday, 6 September. He was 63.

A national icon, Qadir enjoyed a 13-year international career, playing 67 Tests and 104 ODIs in that time. His 236 Test wickets place him second among Pakistan's all-time leading spinners, behind Danish Kaneria. In ODIs, he finished with 132 wickets at 26.16, including two five-wicket hauls.

Qadir was Pakistan’s hero during their tour of England in 1987, when they picked up their first series win in the country. His contributions included a match haul of 10/211 in the fifth Test that helped Pakistan keep their lead intact and win the series.

Later, when England visited Pakistan for a return tour that same year, Qadir destroyed the opposition once again, snaring 30 wickets in three matches. It was an effort that included both his career-best innings figures, 9/56, and best match haul, 13/101. The former stands to date as a Pakistan record.

Abdul Qadir lets it rip during Pakistan's tour of England in 1987Abdul Qadir lets it rip during Pakistan's tour of England in 1987
Those performances, though, weren't anything out of the ordinary. England had always been left spellbound by Qadir's magic, so much that ahead of their 1982 tour of the country, Imran Khan, the then Pakistan captain, and the man under whose leadership Qadir produced many of his finest Test performances, urged a then-26-year-old Qadir to grow a goatee as a way of adding to his mystique and further beguile the Englishmen.

By the time he finished his career, Qadir had 21 wickets in England, his most in any country outside home, and 82 wickets against them overall – almost double the number of wickets he got against his next favourite opposition, Australia, against whom he had 45 wickets in 11 Tests. Qadir also enjoyed great success against the legendary West Indies team of the 1980s, winding up with 42 wickets against them.

Qadir was also a pioneer of the art of wrist-spin in limited-overs cricket. Long before it became the fad that it is today, Qadir was letting googles rip in ODIs. He played important roles in Pakistan's World Cup campaigns in 1983 and 1987, during both of which they made the semi-finals, picking up 24 wickets in 13 matches.

Qadir's contributions to cricket extend well beyond the field. A willing advisor to youngsters, Qadir mentored fellow countrymen Mushtaq Ahmed, Danish Kaneria and Shahid Afridi, as well as Australia's Shane Warne and South Africa's Imran Tahir. Paying tribute, Kaneria said of his hero: “It is a great loss to Pakistan cricket because it was Qadir bhai’s leg-spin magic and artistry that inspired a generation of young leg-spin bowlers in Pakistan and around the cricket world.”

In his book, Shane Warne's Century: My Top 100 Test Cricketers, Warne had written of Qadir: "One of the most interesting nights of my life was at Qadir's house when we sat on the floor and flipped an orange to each other with different grips and forms of spin and discussed tactics and how to sum up batsmen. That was an education and a very good night between two spinners."

Qadir also served as Pakistan’s chief selector, a post he was appointed to in November 2008, but it was short-lived, ending with his resignation after six months. After winding up his international career, which ended when he was edged out of the side by protégé Mushtaq, Qadir ran a private academy near Lahore's Gaddafi Stadium.

"We are devastated with the news of Abdul Qadir's passing, and on behalf of the PCB, I want to express my deepest condolences to his family and friends," Ehsan Mani, the chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board, said.

"The PCB, like every Pakistani, is proud of his services to cricket and Pakistan. His contributions and achievements were not only limited on-field, but he ensured he transferred the art of leg-spin to the up-and-coming cricketers.

"Apart from being a maestro with the ball, Abdul Qadir was a larger-than-life figure who was adored, loved and respected across the globe due to his excellent understanding and knowledge of the game, and strong cricket ethics and discipline. Today, global cricket has become poorer with his passing. He will be missed, but will never be forgotten."

https://www.icc-cricket.com/news/1338464

I am saddened by this. I liked watching Abdul play. He had such an interesting, almost comical run-up. He revived the lost art of wrist spin in test cricket.

Shocking and sad news, a great bowler who in part was responsible for making Pakistan an exciting team to watch. RIP & Condolences. Umpires too couldn't pick his variations so lost out on many lbws.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Remember playing against Abdul Qadir, one of the best spinners of his times. My heartfelt condolences to his family. RIP. <a href="https://t.co/iu03d45sJ0">pic.twitter.com/iu03d45sJ0</a></p>— Sachin Tendulkar (@sachin_rt) <a href="https://twitter.com/sachin_rt/status/1170195454933385217?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 7, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Extremely saddened to hear the passing of my guru and mentor Abdul Qadir sir.He was someone who was always there for me to guide me not only in cricket but everything in life.He was a father figure for many and will be missed for his kind behaviour.May Allah grant him jannah &#55357;&#56468;</p>— Imran Tahir (@ImranTahirSA) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranTahirSA/status/1170081798962892801?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 6, 2019</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Sad to find out about our legends Abdul Qadir and Abid Ali passing away<br>إِنَّا لِلّهِ وَإِنَّـا إِلَيْهِ رَاجِعُونَ<br><br>May Allah give courage to their families during this tough time InshAllah. Pls recite Fatiha for the two legends who elevated the name of Pakistan across the world</p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1170020895236247552?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 6, 2019</a></blockquote>

Inna lillahi wa inna ilaihi raajioon. Shocking news.
May Almighty give sabr and strength to his family

RIP to a great cricketer and more importantly an even better human being. Very down to earth humble man, he will be missed but his legend will never die...

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">إِنَّا لِلّهِ وَإِنَّـا إِلَيْهِ رَاجِعُونَ <br><br>My heart goes out to the family of our legend Abdul Qadir saab, May Allah give him the highest level of Jannat and may people always remember him with love and the highest level of respect in this world, Ameen</p>— Shoaib Malik &#55356;&#56821;&#55356;&#56816; (@realshoaibmalik) <a href="https://twitter.com/realshoaibmalik/status/1170015431387750405?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 6, 2019</a></blockquote>

"We belong to God and to Him we shall return"

A beautiful bowler to watch when on song. I will also never forget the WC87 game he won for us with his batting against the windies in Lahore when all hope was lost.
RIP

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Abdul Qadir is no more..RIP bouncy little Fella with a very big heart..Yur contribution to Spin will be long remembered in Cricket World..more so in Pakistan whom U served with panache & devotion..Allah REHM Kareh..Heartfelt condolences to the Family Of Late Abdul Qadir.</p>— Bishan Bedi (@BishanBedi) <a href="https://twitter.com/BishanBedi/status/1170096959652155392?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 6, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">“Gone Too Soon” Cricket has lost a Legend today Abdul Qadir“Inalil a wa ina alha rajaoon” Very upsetting and disturbing news.He was a very kind and a humble man.May ALLAH grant him highest place in Jannat and give his family a sabr in this difficult time. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/RIP?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#RIP</a> Qadir Bhai&#55357;&#56468; <a href="https://t.co/TBdGVOaS1R">pic.twitter.com/TBdGVOaS1R</a></p>— Waqar Younis (@waqyounis99) <a href="https://twitter.com/waqyounis99/status/1170112320510410753?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 6, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

LAHORE – Googly Master and Legendry leg spinner Abdul Qadir laid to rest among tears and awe in Lahore.

Abdul Qadir was laid to rest in Mian Mir Graveyard, Lahore on Saturday. Thousands of people from different walks of life participated in the funeral.

Prime Minister Imran Khan, Chief of Army Staff General Qamar Javed Bajwa, Senate Chairman Sadiq Sanjrani, Punjab Chief Minister Usman Buzdar and other political leaders expressed grief and sorrow on the sad demise of the legendary cricketer.

On Friday, Abdul Qadir had died of cardiac arrest in Services Hospital Lahore. He was born in September 15, 1955 in Lahore. He played his first Test against England on December 14, 1977 and first one day against West Indies in 1983.

https://timesofislamabad.com/07-Sep...-abdul-qadir-laid-to-rest-among-tears-and-awe

0bd3f938-e962-4aa7-b3e2-43f1a77ccedc.jpg

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Saddened to hear about the sudden demise of Abdul Qadir, a great exponent of legspin who revived the art. Heartfelt condolences to his family and friends.</p>— Anil Kumble (@anilkumble1074) <a href="https://twitter.com/anilkumble1074/status/1170151838357680128?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 7, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/Vtl6sVtPseY" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/y42-P4jIXbY" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I made my debut against this world class leg spinner. <br>RIP <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/AbdulQadir?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#AbdulQadir</a> <a href="https://t.co/aHqp6Usibp">pic.twitter.com/aHqp6Usibp</a></p>— Brian Lara (@BrianLara) <a href="https://twitter.com/BrianLara/status/1170303005922643968?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 7, 2019</a></blockquote>

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/1k3_Rlz1430" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>.

The best leg spinner of all time from Pakistan (Best I saw anyway). Genius. Wish had chance to see him play more. Rest in peace.

May his soul attain peace, RIP Abdul bhai.
A true legend, a magician.
fantastic to watch, always something happening when he was on.
A true sports man as well, he clapped his opponents.
Not for him the ugly one upmanship, the macho posturing and the pathetic sendoffs you see nowadays.
A true gentleman,humble and down to earth, I had the pleasure of meeting him in bangalore in the 1990's when he had come to do some cricket related documentary/promotion and ran a coaching session.....
They say God takes away the good ones early, true in his case.
A champion bowler, a champion human being....love and respect from an indian fan

KARACHI: Tributes poured in from ex-players and officials from all over the world for legendary leg-spinner Abdul Qadir whose untimely death on Friday night stunned his fans. He was 63.

Former Pakistan captains Wasim Akram, Moin Khan, Rashid Latif and Waqar Younis led the condolence messages, saying Qadir’s death was “a great loss of Pakistan cricket”.

“We have lost a great man who was an institution in himself,” said Wasim who played alongside Qadir in the late 1980s. “They called him the magician for many reasons but when he looked me in the eyes and told me I was going to play for Pakistan for the next 20 years, I believed him,” recalled Wasim. “A magician, absolutely. A leg-spinner and a trailblazer of his time. You will be missed Abdul Qadir but never forgotten.”

Australia’s great leg-spinner Shane Warne, the second highest Test wicket-taker in history with 708 scalps and a big fan of Qadir, mourned his shocking death.

“It’s a very sad news,” Warne told Sky Sports during the fourth Ashes Test, “My condolences to Abdul Qadir’s family. I had the opportunity to meet him in 1994 on my first tour to Pakistan. I think a lot of people who bowled leg-spin, like I did, he was the guy who we looked up to in the eighties. He was the main leg-spinner in that era,” said Warne.

“He was a terrific bowler who bamboozled a lot of batsmen. His record is just fantastic.”

Former captain and leg-spinning all-rounder Mushtaq Mohammed and brother Sadiq Mohammad were also crestfallen at Qadir’s untimely demise. “It is indeed a very sad news to hear about Abdul Qadir’s untimely death. Without a doubt he was a world class leg-spinner and played a great part in many of Pakistan’s victories,” said Mushtaq. He will be long remembered as a bowling genius. May Allah grant him best place in Jannah.”

Sadiq endorsed Mushtaq’s views, saying: “I am shocked at this news. I saw batsmen all around the world getting baffled by Qadir’s bowling and I am proud to have played with him.”

Javed Miandad while expressing his deep condolence over the sad demise, said that he could not believe as yet about his death. “Abdul Qadir was a lovely person. As a bowler, no doubt, he made a great name and kept the leg-spin live with his magic bowling skills. We both hhad played together for Pakistan as well as Habib Bank Limited,” he said.

Former Test spinner and NBP Sports Head Iqbal Qasim was very emotional at Qadir’s death and said: “Both of us used to be known as the ‘Spin Twins’ and we played so many matches together. I can’t believe Qadir is no more. May Allah bless his soul.”

Former captain and wicket-keeper Wasim Bari recalled that Qadir made his Test debut under his captaincy in 1978. “Both me and Qadir were really close and he debuted under my captaincy in 1978. What a brilliant bowler and a fine man. My deepest condolences to his family on this tragedy,” said Bari.

Sky Sports commentator and former England captain David Gower said: “He was a brilliant, brilliant leggie. I enjoyed playing against him — partly the challenge of playing people of his skill. Qadir would bamboozle you at times and he would always ask you ‘have you picked the googly? He was just a lovely guy with a huge amount of skill and our condolences to all close to him.”

Asian Bradman Zaheer Abbas, speaking to the media, said: “For me, he was one of the greatest right-arm leg-spinners in the world who redefined the art of spin bowling. He was a great learner of the game and was extremely dedicated. When I heard the news, I did not believe it initially. But then, such is life. Go well, my friend!”

Prolific former Indian Test batsman VVS Laxman added: “Sad to hear about the demise of Abdul Qadir. I was always mesmerised by his unique style of bowling and he was one of the best leg-spinners to play the game.”

Ex-Indian pacer Madan Lal said: “This is a shocking news. Qadir was a dear friend and I will miss him. May his soul Rest in peace.”

Former Test cricketer and chief selector Salahuddin Sallu said: “I am deeply grieved at Qadir’s death. He was a great friend and magnificent leg-spinner whose exploits will be long remembered. May his soul rest in peace. Ameen.”

Another one of Qadir’s former team-mates, Mudassar Nazar, was stunned to hear the news of his demise. “I am completely devastated. I still can’t believe he is no more with us. We had known each other since the age of 13 and grew up together, played in the same team, went to the same college and eventually made it to the Pakistan U-19 team and the senior team,” said Mudassar.

Fawad Ijaz Khan, president Pakistan Veterans Cricket Association (PVCA), recalled his long association with Qadir. “Myself and Qadir studied together at the Govt College, Lahore and we were great friends. He captained the Veterans team to India and again in the series against Indian Veterans in Pakistan. We will miss him so much.”

Express pacer Shoaib Akhtar said the revival of leg spin in cricket is completely credited to Qadir. “He inspired a generation of bowlers to take up leg-spin. A fine soul. God bless him.”

Shoaib Mohammed, the former Pakistan batsman and son of the legendary Hanif Mohammad, fondly remembered his friend and team-mate Abdul Qadir as a “disciplined and straightforward man.” “Qadir was a great bowler indeed who had great variety in his bowling. As a selector, he was instrumental in picking the Pakistan World T20 squad that won the tournament in England in 2009. But soon he resigned as chief selector due to differences with the PCB over selection policies,” Shoaib told Sportstar from Karachi on Saturday.

Ex-captain Intikhab Alam and Federal IPC Minister Fehmida Mirza also condoled the sad demise of Qadir.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1504091/players-officials-pay-rich-tributes-to-late-abdul-qadir

Still numb at the news of Abdul Qadir’s passing.
Was fortunate enough to watch him bowl live at the ground and can’t believe he’s passed on.

He plied his trade during the time of great fast bowlers and was the one spinner people would wait in anticipation for..

Genius bowler and great personality on the field. RIP

Spin legend Abdul Qadir had completed more than half of his autobiography before his passing away on Friday in Lahore, his son Sulaman said on Sunday.

Qadir, who would have turned 64 on September 15, died of cardiac arrest in his hometown of Lahore on Friday. He was having dinner when the cardiac arrest happened. He died on his way to hospital.

"He (Qadir) had completed more than 100 pages of his book and was very keen to invite Prime Minister Imran Khan for the launching ceremony in a few months time," Sulaman said.

"He has written all about his struggle to become a top player and his many interesting incidents in domestic and international cricket as a player and official and his relationship with Imran and others in the Pakistan team," he added.

Qadir's death has drawn tributes and condolences from the cricketing fraternity all over the world, including from his then captain and current Prime Minister Imran Khan who described him as one of the greatest leg-spinners in the world.

Qadir had played in 67 Tests from which he took 236 wickets. He also featured in 104 ODIs and took 132 wickets.

Sulaman said that his father was very keen to complete his book in which he has written about how he had survived poverty and played cricket.

"In one chapter, he has talked about how if he had breakfast in the morning, he was not sure if he would get food at night. Also about his experiences working at a bookshop and laundry for meagre allowances," said another relative aware of the contents of the book.

"(There was also) about the impact Imran had on Pakistan cricket and him, and his matches against Indian and many other interesting incidents including the one about how Shane Warne got in touch with him," he said.

"He (Qadir) has also written about the irony of life that there was a time when he used to sneak into the Gaddafi stadium to watch matches and today there is an enclosure named after him in the stadium."

In the book, Qadir had also talked about his close friendships with Sarfaraz Nawaz, Iqbal Qasim and Wasim Bari and how they supported him when he did not have a good Test debut.

https://www.business-standard.com/a...aphy-before-his-death-son-119090800626_1.html

Lovely messages from all over the world - just shows how highly respected he was.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Legend leggie and great entertainer will be missed. Remember first meeting Abdul Qadir in 1996 in SL. Had a 30min meeting involving an assortment of fruit used to help go through the variations a legspinner should have in his armour. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/masterful?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#masterful</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/lifelessons?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#lifelessons</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/respect?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#respect</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/restinpeace?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#restinpeace</a></p>— Brad Hogg (@Brad_Hogg) <a href="https://twitter.com/Brad_Hogg/status/1170947596040323072?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 9, 2019</a></blockquote>

What killed Abdul Qadir?

ISLAMABAD: Legendary cricketer and master of spin, Abdul Qadir, endearingly known as ‘Baoo’, died of cardiac arrest on September 6, but only a few people know that the late cricketer was suffering from severe mental stress because of not having been paid his salary by the Zarai Taraqiati Bank Limited (ZBTL) – Qadir’s employer.

Speaking to Pakistan Today, Qadir’s family members said that he was engaged in a tussle with the management of the bank because they had withheld his salary for over 9 months.

The spin wizard had repeatedly tried contacting ZTBL high-ups but to no avail. Later, he tried contacting his old friend and former colleague, Prime Minister Imran Khan, but could not get a meeting with him. He met senior Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) leaders Asad Umar, Umar Dar and Asad Qaiser instead, who failed to resolve the matter.

Upon being approached, ZTBL Vice President Saad Zia said that the human resource department had not yet furnished a report regarding the matter.

According to documents available with Pakistan Today, ZTBL management had hired Abdul Qadir through offer letter No KSSL/HR&A/1(2)2009/5854 on September 28, 2009 through ZTBL subsidiary Kissan Support Services (Pvt) Ltd as Coach/Manager of ZTBL Cricket Team on a monthly salary of Rs100,000.

However, two years later, the bank’s management changed Qadir’s designation to that of bowling coach. In a rejoinder, Qadir wrote a complaint to the ZTBL chairman, in which he asked for the release of pending salaries and complained of his abrupt change of designation.

“I would like to express my disappointment/dissatisfaction over the decision taken by the Board of Directors to shift/change my portfolio as bowling coach, informed through a letter issued on December 11, 2010, by Masood Anwar, sports head,” wrote Qadir. He said that he completed his probation satisfactorily despite having his engagement just before the start of first-class domestic cricket season 2010-11. Qadir said that he, in his capacity as the cricket coach, managed available talent to the best of his abilities.

“A letter was written to Masood Anwar on February 21, 2011, to inquire about the actual reasons for this sudden change, so far failed to receive any reply. My salary has been stopped without any reason,” wrote Qadir while asking the ZTBL chairman for immediate release of his pending salaries.

Qadir was subsequently hounded by certain officials within the ZTBL such as sports head Masood Anwar, however, that did not prevent Qadir from pleading his case for the release of his outstanding salaries.

In 2015 Qadir met then chairman of ZTBL, Syed Talat Mehmood, who assured Qadir that his pending dues would be cleared and directed him to rejoin the bank as adviser/consultant ZTBL sports head coach on a salary of Rs250,000 per month.

The appointment letter issued to Qadir by ZTBL in relation to his rejoining the institution stipulated a salary of Rs175,000 per month. However, due to his long association and rapport with former chairman Talat Mehmood, Qadir rejoined ZTBL without objection.

He recruited new talent and took ZTBL team to the finals in his first year and the team won successive Patrons Trophy Grade-II finals during his tenure in 2017 and 2018.

It took Qadir only three years to upgrade ZTBL team to Grade-One in 2018. However, Qadir’s contract expired after the second match of the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy Grade-One. Mehmood promised Qadir the renewal of his contract along with an increased salary of Rs4,750,000 per month and additional privileges such as the provision of a 1,300cc car and fuel. Later, a proposal was also delivered to Qadir who could not sign it because of the ongoing season.

Meanwhile, Mehmood’s contract was terminated by the PTI government and Acting President Shaikh Amanullah withdrew the offer letter and issued a new offer with a downgraded salary of Rs300,000 and without the perks offered in the earlier agreement.

The offer letter included certain conditions that were unacceptable for the cricketing maestro which included him being made subordinate to senior manger security & sports, zonal office Lahore, who was tasked to look after sports despite Qadir’s own designation being equivalent to that of a general manager’s.

Salman Qadir, the son of late Abdul Qadir, confirmed to Pakistan Today that his father was under duress due to non-payment of his salaries since January 2019.

Meanwhile, ZTBL management continues ‘operation clean-up’ even after the sad and sudden demise of Abdul Qadir, terminating around 17 cricket players considered close to the spin master. In the campaign, the management first changed their designations from players to on desk jobs and later terminated their contracts despite the fact that their contracts were still valid for another two years.

https://www.pakistantoday.com.pk/2019/10/01/what-killed-abdul-qadir/

What killed Abdul Qadir?

ISLAMABAD: Legendary cricketer and master of spin, Abdul Qadir, endearingly known as ‘Baoo’, died of cardiac arrest on September 6, but only a few people know that the late cricketer was suffering from severe mental stress because of not having been paid his salary by the Zarai Taraqiati Bank Limited (ZBTL) – Qadir’s employer.

Speaking to Pakistan Today, Qadir’s family members said that he was engaged in a tussle with the management of the bank because they had withheld his salary for over 9 months.

The spin wizard had repeatedly tried contacting ZTBL high-ups but to no avail. Later, he tried contacting his old friend and former colleague, Prime Minister Imran Khan, but could not get a meeting with him. He met senior Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) leaders Asad Umar, Umar Dar and Asad Qaiser instead, who failed to resolve the matter.

Upon being approached, ZTBL Vice President Saad Zia said that the human resource department had not yet furnished a report regarding the matter.

According to documents available with Pakistan Today, ZTBL management had hired Abdul Qadir through offer letter No KSSL/HR&A/1(2)2009/5854 on September 28, 2009 through ZTBL subsidiary Kissan Support Services (Pvt) Ltd as Coach/Manager of ZTBL Cricket Team on a monthly salary of Rs100,000.

However, two years later, the bank’s management changed Qadir’s designation to that of bowling coach. In a rejoinder, Qadir wrote a complaint to the ZTBL chairman, in which he asked for the release of pending salaries and complained of his abrupt change of designation.

“I would like to express my disappointment/dissatisfaction over the decision taken by the Board of Directors to shift/change my portfolio as bowling coach, informed through a letter issued on December 11, 2010, by Masood Anwar, sports head,” wrote Qadir. He said that he completed his probation satisfactorily despite having his engagement just before the start of first-class domestic cricket season 2010-11. Qadir said that he, in his capacity as the cricket coach, managed available talent to the best of his abilities.

“A letter was written to Masood Anwar on February 21, 2011, to inquire about the actual reasons for this sudden change, so far failed to receive any reply. My salary has been stopped without any reason,” wrote Qadir while asking the ZTBL chairman for immediate release of his pending salaries.

Qadir was subsequently hounded by certain officials within the ZTBL such as sports head Masood Anwar, however, that did not prevent Qadir from pleading his case for the release of his outstanding salaries.

In 2015 Qadir met then chairman of ZTBL, Syed Talat Mehmood, who assured Qadir that his pending dues would be cleared and directed him to rejoin the bank as adviser/consultant ZTBL sports head coach on a salary of Rs250,000 per month.

The appointment letter issued to Qadir by ZTBL in relation to his rejoining the institution stipulated a salary of Rs175,000 per month. However, due to his long association and rapport with former chairman Talat Mehmood, Qadir rejoined ZTBL without objection.

He recruited new talent and took ZTBL team to the finals in his first year and the team won successive Patrons Trophy Grade-II finals during his tenure in 2017 and 2018.

It took Qadir only three years to upgrade ZTBL team to Grade-One in 2018. However, Qadir’s contract expired after the second match of the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy Grade-One. Mehmood promised Qadir the renewal of his contract along with an increased salary of Rs4,750,000 per month and additional privileges such as the provision of a 1,300cc car and fuel. Later, a proposal was also delivered to Qadir who could not sign it because of the ongoing season.

Meanwhile, Mehmood’s contract was terminated by the PTI government and Acting President Shaikh Amanullah withdrew the offer letter and issued a new offer with a downgraded salary of Rs300,000 and without the perks offered in the earlier agreement.

The offer letter included certain conditions that were unacceptable for the cricketing maestro which included him being made subordinate to senior manger security & sports, zonal office Lahore, who was tasked to look after sports despite Qadir’s own designation being equivalent to that of a general manager’s.

Salman Qadir, the son of late Abdul Qadir, confirmed to Pakistan Today that his father was under duress due to non-payment of his salaries since January 2019.

Meanwhile, ZTBL management continues ‘operation clean-up’ even after the sad and sudden demise of Abdul Qadir, terminating around 17 cricket players considered close to the spin master. In the campaign, the management first changed their designations from players to on desk jobs and later terminated their contracts despite the fact that their contracts were still valid for another two years.

https://www.pakistantoday.com.pk/2019/10/01/what-killed-abdul-qadir/

Sad state of affairs. The fact our cricket stars still have to worry about their next paycheques after playing at the highest level for their country for a good 8-10 years is very worrying. NBA players in the US, Foot ball players in the UK and Indian Cricketers are set for life after having played that much.