Lesser known but exciting careers

Suleiman

I mean compared to the usual engineering, doctor, banker guy.

Anybody here working to be a chef or a pilot, or anything else like theater maybe or graphic design?

How was it like working towards your certification? Was it worth it, does it ever get boring or is everyday exciting? Would you change a thing, any regrets?

Ofc there are a lot more career choices out there, but chef and pilot came first to mind as I was watching Gordon Ramsay teach how to make chocolate donuts on Youtube and ended up looking at MH370 conspiracies few days ago... summer holidays lol.

I'm working towards an engineering degree myself but can't help but feel there is a bit of a gaping hole in my life where my "passions" are supposed to go. Don't get me wrong I'm very grateful for the degree (Alhamdullilah) for it and want to complete it, but maybe dabble here and there in other fields once I'm done.

I mean compared to the usual engineering, doctor, banker guy.

Anybody here working to be a chef or a pilot, or anything else like theater maybe or graphic design?

How was it like working towards your certification? Was it worth it, does it ever get boring or is everyday exciting? Would you change a thing, any regrets?

Ofc there are a lot more career choices out there, but chef and pilot came first to mind as I was watching Gordon Ramsay teach how to make chocolate donuts on Youtube and ended up looking at MH370 conspiracies few days ago... summer holidays lol.

I'm working towards an engineering degree myself but can't help but feel there is a bit of a gaping hole in my life where my "passions" are supposed to go. Don't get me wrong I'm very grateful for the degree (Alhamdullilah) for it and want to complete it, but maybe dabble here and there in other fields once I'm done.

I'm doing BEng in Aerospace Eng.

That's prolly the closest I can get to become a pilot :P

I'm doing BEng in Aerospace Eng.

That's prolly the closest I can get to become a pilot :P

That was actually my 2nd choice major, am doing civil.

Exciting? Being a cop.

You're the second Canadian kid I've heard who also wants to be a cop. I go there every 2 years or so and this guy is super passionate about it. Is always out on all the police events and everything. Good stuff, best of luck.

I know cops here in the US don't make much considering how much they do. My roommate's brother quit the police force and started his own business because of that.

That was actually my 2nd choice major, am doing civil.

You're the second Canadian kid I've heard who also wants to be a cop. I go there every 2 years or so and this guy is super passionate about it. Is always out on all the police events and everything. Good stuff, best of luck.

I know cops here in the US don't make much considering how much they do. My roommate's brother quit the police force and started his own business because of that.

I wouldn't mind joining the military either. The idea of working a desk job does not excite me - I will be depressed.

I think maybe I didn't word my OP properly, I'm asking if anyone on PP is in any of these careers, wasn't asking for a list lol. Just curious if everybody here falls into the desi "mera beta engineer/doctor/banker hai" or they broke the tradition.

I did my bachelors and masters in mathematics, but found it too hard, hence changed line and now is doing research in theoretical computer science, which i guess doesn't fall in engineering , medicine or banking. But i always had full support of my family.

I always eny guys like hassa cheema , harsha bogle and dr nauman niaz who achieved astonishing success in different fields than what they studied.

I don't know much about hassan & harsha engineering careers but Doc amazes me the most at practicing medicine & at the same time following cricket like a religion.

Exciting? Being a cop.

Be very careful when you become a cop in Canada. Follow the rules to the letter. My brother's friend was a cop, made a honest mistake of not following a rule to the letter and lost his job.

Two guys i know graduated in engineering but pursued other careers. One became an actor and the other became part time ghazal singer and does gigs on ata al haq's show on ptv world.

They both were pretty involved in dramatics throughout their whole life and especially their uni period. The acting guy used to go to hamra theater every other day for auditions & then slowly started getting parts.

Same with the ghazal guy. He used to spend his summer vacations learning raag & all that stuff from some ustaad. No suprise his struggles paid off.

I worked at the FBI Financial Crimes Investigations. Does that count?

That's pretty cool actually. I'd ask about it, but I think they make you keep a lot of things confidential so I don't want you to compromise.

Damn.... Is it as they show in the movies/tv shows or is it alot more bureaucratic? Why did you leave it

That's pretty cool actually. I'd ask about it, but I think they make you keep a lot of things confidential so I don't want you to compromise.

In reality, I guess it is a person sitting in a table with piles of files in from of him?

He could tell you, but then he’d have to kill you.

I wouldn’t push it if I were you.

He could tell you, but then he’d have to kill you.

I wouldn’t push it if I were you.

Lmao. I’d like to hear your take on the premise of this thread too. I recall you saying engineering isn't what you initially wanted to do, you had some literary aspirations.

I have a clause in my employment contract which says that employment is terminable at any time, with or without cause and with or without notice.

At least you are employed in a well paid job.
I otoh am in similar predicament as dhobi ka kutta.

In reality, I guess it is a person sitting in a table with piles of files in from of him?

This. It mainly involved forensic accounting and economics. Though I did attend the new agent training at the FBI academy.

The actual work was fairly interesting. I mainly worked on investigating and uncovering complex Ponzi schemes. Worked on a relatively big one in one of the western states which is under litigation.

The job had a great work/life balance but the pay was below industry average. I got a better offer from one of the management consulting firms. I intend to go back though.

Being a bouncer would be fun while you're in college. I've got my security license already. :D

Media. A very exciting job as opposed to being stuck in an office all day long. Astronaut and commercial airline pilot if you have the required qualifications, they will most likely be asking for lots.

This clause seems very risky.

I have my base covered. I work full time for two companies in two different time zones, and both think I work only for them. If I can pull this off for one more year I can buy a farm house around Delhi. Fingers crossed.

Wow CC Bhai thats amazing.
Buy one in Haryana if you are looking for investment purpose.

Lmao. I’d like to hear your take on the premise of this thread too. I recall you saying engineering isn't what you initially wanted to do, you had some literary aspirations.

More like literary delusions. The delusions persist to this day, as does the loathing for engineering, but I find myself unable to break the shackles.

As for the premise of this thread, its something all of us stuck in the rat race fantasize about, and I'm no exception. Someday I will reconcile myself to the fact that it just won't happen. Until then, I'll dream, as I'm sure millions of others do too.

Media. A very exciting job as opposed to being stuck in an office all day long. Astronaut and commercial airline pilot if you have the required qualifications, they will most likely be asking for lots.

Actually for the most part being a commercial airline pilot is a very boring job since you are just looking out into nothing-ness and monitoring systems that are pretty much self-sufficient infact if you mess them with too much you risk the flight. The only "exciting" part comes during take-off and landing.

Great! Means you don't need to be to smart to do the job. I am thinking "Executive Decision" and "Passenger 57":fizz