M&H Distinction - First Impressions

AamerM

Just received this bat. Ordered from Prodirect and came within 2 days. Bat weighs 2.10 and has lovely balance and feels lighter.

Tapped it with a mallet and the bat pings beautifully. Real test will come in the nets but first impressions are fantastic.

I hope you enjoy the pictures.

IMAG0133.jpg

IMAG0132.jpg

IMAG0131.jpg

IMAG0124.jpg

IMAG0119.jpg

IMAG0129.jpg

IMAG0128.jpg

IMAG0127.jpg

IMAG0126.jpg

IMAG0125.jpg

an absolute steal of a deal you got there Aamer bhai. Great looking bat. I want one.

Absolutely stunning Aamer Bhai!

I'm really happy for you :), I hope it plays as good it looks.

The profile is amazing! I really don't have words to explain this bat :)

The deal you got is absolutely steal!

ca_gold bhai, lets buy it together :D Next year when M&H has sale on these bats then we'll buy two and VAT will be knocked off the sale price plus shipping of two will be cheap as well :)

You actually paid £166 for it!? :O

I'm totally shocked to see a stunning killer deal, looks to good to be true though!

Does it pick up really well considering the fact it has low sweetspot ?

It picks up beautifully. M&H are top craftsmen.

Keep an eye here in case they get any more stock

Aamer Bhai, did you get a chance to measure the spine from the front edge (face)?

Uzair Bhai do you mean the height of the spine? I haven't measured anything as yet but I can measure anything you would like me to after work tonight.

momin97 bhai thank you for your kind words.

AamerM Bhai, basically stand the bat against the wall (with the top of the spine touching the wall and face of the bat facing outside) and then measure the distance from the wall to the front edge. [Hope it made sense]

If its convenient for you if you can measure it for us, I'd really appreciate it :)

JazakAllah Khair Bhai

I understand... I think. Basically just measuring the depth of the bat.

It's no problem bhai how inconvenient can it be?

Yes, basically that, you got it :)

Yaar the pictures just don't do the justice to "oversizeness" of the bat's spine :)

Pata nahi :D

Aamer Bhai, did you get a chance to measure the spine from the front edge (face)?

as the bat is really concaved, it hardly matters how big the spine is...

looks to be a bargain considering what u paid for it...

Itna bhaai bhaai mat karo bhayooo kya MQM join karli hay.

Lovely bat aamir hardly I have seen such a beautiful crafted piece of willow.

Allah Mubarak karay is say khelna.

but If I have such a bat I may hardly play with it :D just keep it hanging in my drawing-room :D or office.

Aamer, I'm happy for you, but I think you lucked out.

The pro-direct clearance bats are usually ones that don't sell. They sometimes send bats that don't have the best grains, might be the wrong weight (you can't specify exact weight) ... So I wouldn't recommend their clearance sale to everyone.

Anyway, yours looks very nice. Hope it scores lots for you!

Salman Bhai, I would disagree with you at some extent. Yes, you're right that ProDirects clearance bats are the ones which are not sold by the end of the season, however, it doesn't mean it will not be a good bat.

Aamer Bhai, is the second person who I have seen buying a bat from ProDirect and before him is was Usman Bhai and he bought Salix Daemon Grade 1 from ProDirect's clearance and trust me his bat looked great as well, it was a typical Salix which would go for RRP price outside.

I personally think ProDirects sale are very very good because they have real bargains as they want to get rid of there stock quickly and in that quest they mark the bats very low.

For us North Americian's these type of sales are even better because we get another 20% knocked off the price for VAT and I think at the end we get a good bargain, in fact, we end up at same place as UK boys.

If you're saying that Aamer Bhai's M&H is not looking great (grainwise) then yaar all M&H are like this as they grade there bats on performance rather than physical appearence.

Haha LOL at 'UK boys'. :)))

But on serious note note I think that Aamer bhai has got himself a top blade. And I guess it was in his kismat so can't really argue with that, but ProDirect do have really good sales.

as the bat is really concaved, it hardly matters how big the spine is...

looks to be a bargain considering what u paid for it...

I haven't seen one in real life so I want to know how big spine is because the pictures don't do justice to the bat.

Looks a decent bat to me but I dont understand why everyones got so overexcited. This bats grains look almost exactly same as one of my low grade bats.

myadidasincurza786.jpg

This is the bat which I think looks very similar to Aamer bhai's M&H. I picked mine up for around £70 frm a local sports store.

Majid Bhai, you're overlooking the fact that this M&H is made from low density and oversized cleft, craftsmanship of SG is no where near Nick or M&Hs.

M&H are bound to perform and they are pretty certain and its a guarantee as well.

Quite bias to compare Distinction with a G3 Incurza

One minute ur saying lower grade bats with wonky grains dont play well and have no chance of playing as good as grade 1 bats and nxt minute you saying lower grades such as this perform and they are guaranteed to perform.

There is nothing wrong with Adidas bats craftsmanship & it has very good craftsmanship, handle is fitted fine, balance, finishing, profile and pressing is super good. Its only their lower grade bat and it still is very good and imagine how good the top end bats must be then.

This bat(adidas incura club) originally cost £120-130 so a really big brand with good reputation dont rip off customers by selling them bats with poor craftsmanship techniques like you think. Its not like a Pakistani bats where anything is possible. SG are very reliable and very good manufacturers hence why Kook and Adidas have chosen them to make bats, softs, clothing helmets etc for them.

I'm not biased towards english or asian but you seem very biased towards English bat and even if you see a very bad looking bat you will cover it up by saying it will play well and vice versa abt asian bats you will say bat looks poor and it will play poor aswell and say stuff like bats have poor craftsmanship skills etc.

Lol you graded M&H as low density oversized pro cleft and the other Adidas exactly same looking bat( but indian made) as grade 3. The adidas is made frm good sized cleft it has big profile & edges for its weight. It has no blemishes at all, no knots nothing not even on back of the bat.

MYSSTONMATRIX.jpg

The M&H shape reminds me of my SS Ton Matrix but M&H has higher steep spine, thinner edges and it shaped more like a plank, it really must have awful feel and balance.

Uzair Bhai it is 8.3 cm.

WOW!! :O:O

MashAllah, bhai that is unbelievably! As I said pictures don't tell you the spine height etc but after measuring that on ruler it is a lot!

MashAllah, the stickers look great as well!

Did your sons picked up this stick and did they say anything regarding this ?

They have laid claim to it so they will probably take ownership of it once the season starts.

Really don't like the shape, can't imagine it being very durable either.

I'm amazed such willow has an RRP of £350 too. But for the price you paid it's a good deal.

I agree nearly all of the M&H shapes are like planks, they must have awful balance and pick ups. Harlequin & Original shapes are decent imo although the middle is touch high but balance pick up must be okay. I remember when Geraint Jones 1st started playing for England back in those days Puma Ballistic bats were shaped like M&H distinction.:yk

I hope I get a decent bat frm pro direct and decent size profile and good clean grains(although am not so fussy these days abt grains but I have/had a reputation of always getting stunners).

Has anyone here used M&H Original grade 1 bat?

I ordered a medium weight bat frm pro direct I hope they send me atleast 2.9 min if any lower it will be far 2 light. The pick up will already feel couple of oz lighter then the dead weight.

Aamer bhai did u order a medium weight and got 2.10?

Unfortunately not yet. It has been raining a lot and if I start knocking the bat in the house the family complain. I have a week off from work at the end of this month so Inshallah I shall knock it in fully then.

its good cos of the price u paid for it...but at rrp i wudnt recommend to anyone...

That's fair comment. Unfortunately the prices of top end bats are ridiculous. A machine made GM bat commands £300 plus as do top end Gray Nicholls, Salix and Newbery etc.

I would still have bought a Distinction at some point in the future from M&H in Taunton and paid the RRP because, maybe foolishly, I had my heart set on one.

That's fair comment. Unfortunately the prices of top end bats are ridiculous. A machine made GM bat commands £300 plus as do top end Gray Nicholls, Salix and Newbery etc.

I would still have bought a Distinction at some point in the future from M&H in Taunton and paid the RRP because, maybe foolishly, I had my heart set on one.

Aren't GM hand shaped?

I'm with Aamer Bhai, most of English brands top of the line bats are in fact £300 or over.

I find it expensive sometimes but if your heart is set on it then I'm sure £300 looks small figure as well.

that is definitely true. you know what, all u guys buying so many bats is really tempting me. I have 3 bats already and dont need another one at all. but still, today i saw a ICE 350 which looked really good. i am very tempted to get it....cost is around 75 GBP

LOL, yaar if you don't mind me asking then where are you based ? And which bats do you have ?

Unfortunately not yet. It has been raining a lot and if I start knocking the bat in the house the family complain. I have a week off from work at the end of this month so Inshallah I shall knock it in fully then.

Okay, thanks for replying.

Do you know if these bats are hard pressed or soft pressed?

Bhai sorry to bump this (hope you don't mind) just had a question did you oil your Distinction when you got it from ProDirect?

JazakAllah Khair

Have only used this bat in one net session so far and I have been most impressed. I have started playing friendlies at work now so it may get a run out later in the season. We have a game tonight but I will be using the AM 2Good.

always fount the profile of M&H interesting, the bat looks lovely and the spine is massive

The 1990's called they want their bat shape back.

I don't like how thin edge bats play when you don't get the exact middle, when the ball is moving around a little I like to know that as long as I'm getting a piece of it, its going for four.

I've only used it in the nets once or twice so far :(

No doubt the boys will use it next season.

I haven't seen the new shape, do you have any pictures?

On a side note I see M&H have discontinued the S6 and are selling them off for £140 a throw. Decent bat at a good price.

I've only used it in the nets once or twice so far :(

No doubt the boys will use it next season.

I haven't seen the new shape, do you have any pictures?

On a side note I see M&H have discontinued the S6 and are selling them off for £140 a throw. Decent bat at a good price.

Ah okay no worries keep us updated.

Yup here you go;

Old Shape

Distinction_low.jpg

New Shape

distinction2_4.jpg

I don`t know but is it me that new Distinction looks a bit like Amplus with a slightly lower middle and more concaving?

S6 for £140 is real real bargain and steal!

Boys don`t like S6 Aamer Bhai?

I agree certainly resembles more Amplus than traditional distinction.

Boys love the S6 but the lightest one they have is 2 10 so a bit too heavy for them.

Oh acha make sense.

Were they Grade 1 S6 or Grade 2?

Also if I am right M&H Solution is a bit like traditional Distinction, true ?

They say they are reduced from £230 to £140 so I presume they are Grade 1 but it doesn't make it clear.

Solution is very much like traditional distinction but without the high spine.

You thinking of anything new in the new year?

Ah okay, if its Grade 1 then it is a very good buy! Before Harlequin and even Amplus I always wanted S6 and Distinction (Traditional one) because they had lower middle.

Hmm yes actually won't be buying as much as I did in 2011 but the first thing on the list is Screaming Cat Series One.

Looking forward to the Screaming Cat review and how it compares to L&W and GM.

Will definitely review it, but it will be sometime before I place an order with Screaming Cat, need to sell two more bats in order to get rid of them.

Love this Bat

LOL mate rubbing salt in the wounds eh?

It is indeed lovely, I saw new Distinction couple of days ago and it was horrible and I didn't like it at all!

Love this shape, I hope and wish they still made it :( :(.

OP if you ever think of selling it let me know ;-) :P

Im pretty sure they would make one, you would have to pay top dollar and probably get limited warranty

True, they would say its 'custom' and price would be insanely high.

I too doubt they would sell at current Distinction price which is also insanely priced.