Massive jump in Pakistan's ease of doing business ranking

Syed1

ODI Captain
I didn't see a thread on this, so decided to take matters in my own hands. :inti

Amongst the massive doom and gloom being presented by the media and supporters of status quo parties, Pakistan jumped a massive 28 spots in the Ease of Doing Business ranking in ONE YEAR. This is unprecedented in our history.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Another of our Manifesto commitments fulfilled - this time on Ease Of Doing Business. Pak achieves biggest improvement in its history in World Bank's EODB rankings. Over last decade Pak's ranking had slipped more than 50 places. Now we have improved 28 places - from 136 to 108.</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1187261088309678081?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 24, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

If you do a closer inspection then some metrics Pakistan saw almost unbelievable amount of improvement, like for example in the "Starting a Business" Metric Pakistan went from 130 to 72.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">With a tremendous jump of 58 points in the <a href="https://twitter.com/WorldBank?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@WorldBank</a> indicator 'Starting a Business', SECP <a href="https://twitter.com/SECPakistan?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@SECPakistan</a> is the best contributor to ease of doing business within Pakistan. <a href="https://t.co/8RYfWNsFXz">pic.twitter.com/8RYfWNsFXz</a></p>— Zubair Gilani (@GilaniZubair) <a href="https://twitter.com/GilaniZubair/status/1187243432848379904?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 24, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

(Zubair Gilani is BOI chairman, mods please accept unverified twitter account)

Also Pakistan was ranked as 14th best place IN THE WORLD to be a social entrepreneur.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">This is a country on the rise. <br>On top of improving on the Ease of Business Rankings, Pakistan is the 14th best place on the world to be a social entrepreneur; just behind the UK, and ahead of Korea, Sweden, Switzerland, Germany and India. <a href="https://t.co/nuxqq7giZx">pic.twitter.com/nuxqq7giZx</a></p>— Taimur Khan Jhagra (@Jhagra) <a href="https://twitter.com/Jhagra/status/1187348862429732869?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 24, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

When Mush left our ease of doing business ranking was 76, but then democracy started taking revenge and the corrupt but competent teams of PPP and PML-N successfully managed to us from 76 to 147. Mashallah.

upload_2019-10-24_12-31-1.jpg

Leken Imran Khan ne kya kiya???? Aek saal mein karliya jo apkay leader 10 saal mein nahi kar sakay :shh

again, overseas pakistanis dont know the ground realities, they just enjoy living in their social media bubble.

Social media kay poll walay voters

again, overseas pakistanis dont know the ground realities, they just enjoy living in their social media bubble.

17 million Pakistanis living in Pakistan voted for PTI. They did not win because of overseas Pakistanis. Like I said keep crying. Billoo will never come to power.

The ranking is not by any lalloo panjo organization, it is by World Bank. Your opinion does not matter.

We know the realities. People like you have never earned an honest days crust. Never paid taxes. Lived off their families corrupt links and envelopes. Of course not forgetting how you and your generations voted for corrupt leaders.

The reality is Pakistan is in a state because of people like you. Then you go blame the Army etc, only to call yourself a Major. That's the laughable irony of them all.

i bet you have relatives and friends doing business in pakistan and would know how difficult it has become for everyone

Business is down everywhere.

Toyota and Honda halting production.

the other day i saw this guy come to a shop with a fix amount of money in his pockets. He was buying the usual grocery that he was told and when the bill arrived, his budget was off by a few hundreds. Poor guy asked what product had a change in rate, and the shop keeper responded plz ask which product didnt have an increase in price.

but nahi jee, our overseas brethren know better living abroad.

i bet you have relatives and friends doing business in pakistan and would know how difficult it has become for everyone

the other day i saw this guy come to a shop with a fix amount of money in his pockets. He was buying the usual grocery that he was told and when the bill arrived, his budget was off by a few hundreds. Poor guy asked what product had a change in rate, and the shop keeper responded plz ask which product didnt have an increase in price.

This post above is proof. Crying over the difficulties of running a business in Pakistan? Well of course, before businesses would bypass process etc, or better known as corruption. Now businesses have to follow process and all hell is breaking lose.

Love it. These corrupt folk will be forced out of the wood work in no time. Cannot wait to see their faces in a few years time. Hehehe.

I can't give any facts :))) :)))

The entire OP is not my opinion but FACTS from relevant sources..... for these people it is only fact when you present Pakistan in bad light.

I am truly amazed at how inflation levels are also blamed on IK. These guys have no clue as to how inflation works or how it is curbed. To lower inflation not only do you have to raise rates, but you have to increase tax receipts. It is all about controlling the flow of money within the system. Alas! Paying taxes is a new thing for these corrupt Pakistanis. Well lets hope their corrupt wealth evaporates into thin air as inflation eats through any monetary value!

Will they save their wealth or will they save Pakistan? Stay tuned!

Every business owner is suffering right now. Sales are down and people are being laid-off, but no - we have to do bhangra because our rating has improved.

These are the same overseas Pakistanis who think PTI have turned Peshawar into the Paris of Pakistan in 6 years.

The sad part is the same people who are dismissing and shunning this report would be the first ones to post and share it had Pakistan's ranking actually fallen. With "Pakistanis" like these who needs enemies.

Every business owner is suffering right now. Sales are down and people are being laid-off, but no - we have to do bhangra because our rating has improved.

These are the same overseas Pakistanis who think PTI have turned Peshawar into the Paris of Pakistan in 6 years.

you know whats funny.

this rating imporved because SECP made it easier for business to get registered.

ANd you wanna know something else thats funny. There is a company in rawalpindi called Fragrance land, its a pyramid scheme that is registered by SECP :)))

its been in operation for an year now

you know whats funny.

this rating imporved because SECP made it easier for business to get registered.

ANd you wanna know something else thats funny. There is a company in rawalpindi called Fragrance land, its a pyramid scheme that is registered by SECP :)))

Unfortunately these facts are not available on the Internet and are not reported by PTI’s social media team. Hence, it cannot be true and must do bhangra on how Imran has been a godsend for entrepreneurs.

Not sure why there is so much negativity on this thread?

I have called PTI and Khan out for a lot of their non-sense but if this metric means that new businesses/foreign investors etc are having an easier time in Pakistan, then what is wrong with that?

Pakistan has a market of 200 million potential users, it could be a services and business powerhouse but it isn't because so much money was hidden away and so little spent on what mattered. If the PTI can use metrics like this and take Pakistan in the right direction, then we should be promoting this, not squabbling over it.

you know whats funny.

The Ease of Doing Business (EoDB) is a comprehensive study and it is not based on just one metric. SECP improvement factored in the "Starting a New Business" metric of the EoDB report. There were several other factors due to which Pakistan's overall ranking improved, but I wouldn't expect you to understand it.

Are you representing the opinion of all the Pakistanis living in Pakistan?

Unfortunately these facts are not available on the Internet and are not reported by PTI’s social media team. Hence, it cannot be true and must do bhangra on how Imran has been a godsend for entrepreneurs.

It must hurt you that current account deficit is down 64%, trade deficit is down 40%, tax revenue is up 15%, foreign investment is up 137%.... I can go on and on, but you are a medical doctor and a government one on top of that, so I have serious doubts on your mental capability to understand what I'm saying.

Can you explain the Businesses are suffering. What has the PTI done in the year that has made these businesses suffer?

Pakistan is the 14th best place on the world to be a social entrepreneur; just behind the UK

looks like all those youtube videos by ex-Pakistani cricketers have helped :))

That was a joke btw, good for you guys if true

I can't help but feel like it is deja-vu. Just like in India, it's happening in Pakistan. Imran is like master in PR Game like Modi. Lots of stuff on online and in theories, less on ground realities. All over again like 2014-2015 period of India.

Can't say about overseas Pakistanis but the people living in elite areas of Islamabad, Peshawar, Lahore, Karachi are certainly living in a bubble of their own.

Present government has cleverly handled this issue of inflation (no fault of their own to begin with) by mostly burdening the elite and upper middle class by imposing more taxes, tarrifs on luxury and non essential items. Large businesses/industries, construction, property business has suffered but things have started to improved for small shop owners/buisnesses atleast in last two months.

Poor awaam would have been on the roads protesting alongside Fazlu and Billo if things were as bad as being portrayed by the residents of Defence and Bahria towns but the reality is that inflation has had minimal impact on the life of every citizen.

Prices of fruits and vegetables are almost the same as they were during previous governments, (just today I bought boiled challi/bhutta from roadside for 15 rupees):inzi2. Prices of rooti and other basic necessities including fares between cities have hardly increased.

Awaam knows that next few years will be tough but most have faith in IK's leadership. If elections are held tomorrow, I am sure that PTI will win more seats than they did a year ago. This shor sharaba is mostly propaganda by patwari, and enlightened brigade because now they cannot buy brand new lush push Carollas and Hondas despite of wealth accumulated through years of corruption.

I can't help but feel like it is deja-vu. Just like in India, it's happening in Pakistan. Imran is like master in PR Game like Modi. Lots of stuff on online and in theories, less on ground realities. All over again like 2014-2015 period of India.

Yes IK paid World Bank to get a better rating... you debunked it, well done Sherlock.

I am not saying it is fake or something but you will see in sometime that EODB is not a metric to be proud of. We have seen it all in India. BJP has strong PR game and they are only capable of this. I can't help but feel like Imran's PTI is same in this matter. No hard feelings. But it's just my view by looking at Imran's tenure in KPK and now 1 year in centre. [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION]

It isn't but every bit help.

It must hurt you that current account deficit is down 64%, trade deficit is down 40%, tax revenue is up 15%, foreign investment is up 137%.... I can go on and on, but you are a medical doctor and a government one on top of that, so I have serious doubts on your mental capability to understand what I'm saying.

Pakistan ETFs are a bargain at the moment, less than $1 USD a share! I'm waiting for my bonus next week and I know what I will be buying!

Yes IK paid World Bank to get a better rating... you debunked it, well done Sherlock.

Majority on this forum I believe are not business owners and hence the low quality opinionated posting in this thread.

I am a small business owner in Pakistan supplying industrial raw material to different sectors. I have a product in my portfolio which is used for diapers/pampers production, for years I have not sold a single kg of that material however since the new government came it has raised duty on all non essential import items and the prices of pampers increasing by almost 50% I remember Mamoon throwing a fit on this forum on the rise in diapers prices few months back. Now the result of this price hike is in past 6 months 2 projects already started by different companies who need this raw material for diapers production since now diaper manufacturing is looking lucrative for local investors.

Now before anyone says that this leads to inferior products in the country my supplier is one of the only two global supplier of this raw material who is on P&G global approval list this means not only local investor will produce diapers but he also wants to quality diapers so he is willing to match the quality of P&G diapers.
SO the net effect of this duty increase on diapers?
A temporary price increase which causes some pain for local consumers trust me I have two toddlers I would feel the pinch but in the long run it means better quality of locally produced diapers at a lower price and increase in employment in the country.

I am sure there can be similar cases in other sectors as well. Is everything great in PTI Pakistan? surely not but all long as there is net benefit to the country in the long run I am willing to make small sacrifices.

Majority on this forum I believe are not business owners and hence the low quality opinionated posting in this thread.

I am a small business owner in Pakistan supplying industrial raw material to different sectors. I have a product in my portfolio which is used for diapers/pampers production, for years I have not sold a single kg of that material however since the new government came it has raised duty on all non essential import items and the prices of pampers increasing by almost 50% I remember Mamoon throwing a fit on this forum on the rise in diapers prices few months back. Now the result of this price hike is in past 6 months 2 projects already started by different companies who need this raw material for diapers production since now diaper manufacturing is looking lucrative for local investors.

Now before anyone says that this leads to inferior products in the country my supplier is one of the only two global supplier of this raw material who is on P&G global approval list this means not only local investor will produce diapers but he also wants to quality diapers so he is willing to match the quality of P&G diapers.
A temporary price increase which causes some pain for local consumers trust me I have two toddlers I would feel the pinch but in the long run it means better quality of locally produced diapers at a lower price and increase in employment in the country.

I am sure there can be similar cases in other sectors as well. Is everything great in PTI Pakistan? surely not but all long as there is net benefit to the country in the long run I am willing to make small sacrifices.

Thanks for sharing.... Pakistani economy is going through a corrective phase at the moment and inshallah we will emerge stronger from this with a path towards sustained long term growth that leads to prosperity.

[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] can keep barking his family won't be able to do corruption anymore.

Thats a nice way of seeing things, but isn't that near to socialist experiment of India, where everything imported had heavy duty India made many of its own stuff, example being Automobile?

Also a lot of people start illegally smuggling goods into the country..ofcourse not for diapers but if other products had import duty increased..

Thats a nice way of seeing things, <b>but isn't that near to socialist experiment of India, where everything imported had heavy duty India made many of its own stuff, example being Automobile?</b>

Also a lot of people start illegally smuggling goods into the country..ofcourse not for diapers but if other products had import duty increased..

The technical term economists use to describe this is "autarky". It is a pretty discredited concept for development.

Usual suspects out and about.....to all the naysayers tell me any govt in a corrupt poorly managed nation (for a long time) have success in under 18 months?

When one the posters has a point IKs reforms are hitting the elite and those who are vocal on social media so off course they will be bitter as the gravy train is coming to a halt!

Thats a nice way of seeing things, but isn't that near to socialist experiment of India, where everything imported had heavy duty India made many of its own stuff, example being Automobile?

Why should Pakistan import Pampers it is an off shoot of the textile industry, area where we have private capital and manpower with technical expertise another area of my business where I see changes is ingrediants for cheese production again why should we import cheese when we are the 5th largest milk producer in the world.
I am not saying Pakistan should suddenly start producing everything aircraft parts or other complex products but it's a right strategy by the government that it is discouraging import of products where we have the raw materials and skilled manpower to go for local production.

[MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] I am very much disappointed by PTI specially the ongoing strike where the poor are suffering.Generally small shop keepers and people are becoming happy and I see things improving in last two months. PTI has gaining its lost ground a bit.00

No doubt about it bro. it took almost 30 days to settle down some of the issues, and it should have been done earlier. But i think there are too many things going at the same time, for example Azaadi march e.t.c so that's why it took some time.

But at least now we are seeing positivity, a successful meeting was held between Grand alliance of doctors and Govt delegation. So, i hope things will come to normal routine in a short time inshAllah.

No doubt about it bro. it took almost 30 days to settle down some of the issues, and it should have been done earlier. But i think there are too many things going at the same time, for example Azaadi march e.t.c so that's why it took some time.

But at least now we are seeing positivity, a successful meeting was held between Grand alliance of doctors and Govt delegation. So, i hope things will come to normal routine in a short time inshAllah.

That meeting could have been done earlier but PTI lack of experience was evident.Media have not given proper coverage so i do feel media is under PTI control.I do feel doctors have some blame to share but ultimately its govt to keep all stake holders happy and give relief to its people.

I disagree with the media part. Most of the media is against PTI and we all know it. In earlier days the docter's issue got a lot of coverage but then the Azaadi March + Nawaz health issues got the full attention of media. You very well know our media highlights the issues just for couple of days or so. But not for long, they all look for current and major issues and for them Azaadi march, Nawaz, Zardari are the major issues.

Apart from that, newspapers gave a proper coverage to this problem as i have seen it in all major outlets.

I hope this issue is now permanently resolved.

Why should Pakistan import Pampers it is an off shoot of the textile industry, area where we have private capital and manpower with technical expertise another area of my business where I see changes is ingrediants for cheese production again why should we import cheese when we are the 5th largest milk producer in the world.
I am not saying Pakistan should suddenly start producing everything aircraft parts or other complex products but it's a right strategy by the government that it is discouraging import of products where we have the raw materials and skilled manpower to go for local production.

While its a fair point, one should expect import duties on products from Pakistan in that logic?

Razak directs to accelerate ease of doing business reforms

ISLAMABAD: Ahead of the next World Bank review of ease of doing business index in October, the steering committee of Pakistan Regulatory Modernisation Initiative (PRMI) on Friday held its meeting and directed provinces to speed up the much-needed reform process.

The committee, constituted by Prime Minister Imran Khan last year, had implemented several reforms in consultation with provinces which translated into an improvement in the country’s ranking on the World Bank’s Ease of Doing Business by 28 places to 108 in 2019.

“We are expecting a further improvement in the ease of doing business index this year too,” Commerce Adviser Abdul Razak Dawood told Dawn after chairing the meeting. He claimed significant improvement in 10 critical areas of regulations.

PRMI is the first step taken at the national level in consultation with provinces that aims at simplifying bureaucratic framework and the registration process in order to facilitate the business community.

Under it, the process of mapping, rationalisation, modernisation and automation will be done.

The adviser said substantial progress was made in some areas. Next meeting will be held in the last week of June to assess the flow of progress, he added.

On Friday, an official announcement said that Board of Investment Chairman Atif Riaz Bokhari briefed the committee over the progress on the implementation of reforms.

Bokhaari shared the progress on different initiatives under the umbrella of PRMI, including mapping of various requirements, regulatory guillotine and licensing of small businesses at local government level.

He further shared the developments on Pakistan Business Portal, a part of Pakistan Goes Global Project, which is a platform that will allow all types of businesses to find relevant regulatory requirements, submit their application online and electronically pay the relevant fees as well.

Razak said the government aims to provide a business-friendly and hassle-free environment to invite more domestic as well as foreign investments. He also stressed the need to take the commercial community on board to generate a meaningful dialogue for meeting the intended goals of the project.

The adviser commended the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa administration for removing unnecessary local government registration, licences and no-objection certificates. He suggested that other provinces should also follow its footsteps. However, he noted that there is a need to pursue aggressive communication and advocacy campaign to highlight such success stories.

Discussing the issues pertaining to the Federal Board of Revenue, Razak advised them to come up with a plan to facilitate businesses, particularly with respect to customs clearing issues on the ports. He asked the BOI to build capacity and ensure hand holding of small provinces and regions for effective launching of similar regulatory reforms process in their areas.

Institutional Reforms Adviser Dr Ishrat Hussain, and secretaries of commerce, and BOI and other senior officers attended the meeting.
https://www.dawn.com/news/1561669/razak-directs-to-accelerate-ease-of-doing-business-reforms

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">We have done a lot of work and we are keeping this momentum to pursue further reforms for improving the overall business climate and sustaining our progress in the EODB Index. <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ImranKhanPTI</a></p>— Abdul Razak Dawood (@razak_dawood) <a href="https://twitter.com/razak_dawood/status/1283009557804056576?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 14, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>