"Mickey Arthur isn't just abusing me but the whole nation of Pakistan" : Umar Akmal

ahmedwaqas92

Umar Akmal speaking about Mickey Arthur at a press conference:

"He did not give me any support and said that you are not a centrally contracted player"

"When I asked why this is the case, he asked me who did you speak to about this so I said Chief of Selectors so he told me to go and speak to him"

"But Chief Selector [Inzi] sent me back to Arthur but when I went there, he literally started to get angry at me"

"Mickey Arthur took me to Inzi Bhai's room and used abusive language towards me"

"For me this was very painful and 'sharamful' thing because I am a Pakistan player and someone starts to use swear words at me"

"This type of thing should not happen and if there is any problem on my side then I have always accepted my mistakes"

"I accepted that my fitness was not good and I'm working very hard to improve that"

"I asked for a trainer to help me but he still abused and told me off"

"He told me that I should not come to the academy"

"He said 'You should go and play club cricket and I wonder who even allowed you to come here'"

"He shouldnt abuse me like that; he isnt just abusing me but the whole nation of Pakistan"

"Look at any game and you will see that he is always abusing players"

"What is really shameful is that there were other big names sitting there who did not ask Arthur to control himself"

"Whenever I take pictures with my fans, they always say Umar Bhai please fix your fitness issues"

"Now that I am trying to fix my fitness, they wont let me do it and taking all these opportunities away from me"

"Tell me what is the reason for an academy? Its for fixing your problems"

"These swear word were used yesterday at me"

"Yesterday was time with Grant Flower for batting practice but he said we cant do this session as you are not a centrally contracted player"

"I told him that if I am not ccontracted player than I have been watching you work with other non-contracted players"

"Then he took me to MA who took me to Inzi's room and told me off"

"he said that you have failed 7 fitness tests and I agreed but in the past I have always been allowed to work with fitness trainers"

"Grant Flower was working with Salman Butt who is not contracted"

"If I have problems then where else can I work out those issues if I am not allowed to go to the NCA?"

I don't know if it's true or not. It can be a fake masala news.

But I ain't watching a Pak game where any of the Akmals is wearing our jersey.

And then people wonder why do past greats (2 Ws for example) and other prestigious coaches do not come work with PCB :facepalm:

LOL the Akmals are well and truly the Kardashaians of world cricket. Keep entertaining us gentlemen..

Mickey Arthur "Umar Akmal wanted to use Grant Flowers services for batting,I told him he must first earn the right go and play club ckt.1/2"

..since he is not under a PCB contract anymore. He needs to prove himself before he uses our support staff. 2/2

:facepalm: OMG Akmals...

I am also hearing that along the way to this amazing press conference he's created a few new words as well.

'SHARAMFUL' :))) :))) :))) WTH ??

Another topi drama with the Akmals. He couldn't get into the team so he has resorted to such antics? Sad.

Usually in sports, whatever is said between coach and players stays between them. Looks like Akmal didn't get that memo.

This guy is actually taking it to another level :))) keep him far far away from the team he's a trouble maker. We have no need of his services anymore.

Another topi drama with the Akmals. He couldn't get into the team so he has resorted to such antics? Sad.

Usually in sports, whatever is said between coach and players stays between them. Looks like Akmal didn't get that memo.

Akmals are from different planet.......

It's not hard to abuse Akmal. Even water abuses him by making him gain weight by the simple act of drinking it.

Akmal needs to get his head on straight and just get to work getting better at the game.

It's not hard to abuse Akmal. Even water abuses him by making him gain weight by the simple act of drinking it.

Akmal needs to get his head on straight and just get to work getting better at the game.

It is too too late to do such things now.... time has already passed.

This guy really hates his career doesn't he?

Just read Wasim Akram has said that with his attitude what else Mickey should do, should he sing him lullabies.

Wasim wants him to to keep quiet for sometime and concentrate on cricket. Lol

Mickey Arthur is a Champions Trophy winning, world renowned coach who has taken two teams to #1 in Test rankings.

Who the hell is Umar Akmal ?

Please shut up and concentrate on making runs.

Mickey Arthur is a Champions Trophy winning, world renowned coach who has taken two teams to #1 in Test rankings.

The last bit is a little shoddy.. he piggy backed on Vicki's efforts when Pak went to number 1. :afridi

According Mickey Arthur "Umar Akmal wanted to use Grant Flowers services for batting,I told him he must first earn the right go and play club cricket

Mickey Arthur "Umar Akmal can not expect that the support staff for contracted players are at his back & call,go back play some club.

Just read Wasim Akram has said that with his attitude what else Mickey should do, should he sing him lullabies.

Wasim wants him to to keep quiet for sometime and concentrate on cricket. Lol

Wasim is damn right.

Believe me, Akmal is lucky Mickey is a lot calmer and mellower since his last coaching jobs.

He'd have really dished it out to Akmal as far as abusive language is concerned if he was playing for South Africa or Australia when he was coach.

Where have all the posters gone who were criticising Waqar when he excluded UA on disciplinary grounds? Seems like he was right all along. Glad to see Mickey is actually being supported in his efforts to bring in a culture based on discipline, hard work and fitness. This approach will bear fruit- either UA will change his ways and/or other players will get the hint and improve. Sends a clear message.

This guy loves shooting himself in the foot, don't want to see him in the green shirt again and he doesn't seem to value playing for Pakistan.

Junior is an absolute tool.He can kiss any hopes of making an international comeback goodbye.

Also looks like he's brought the heat back on himself.Most former cricketers are taking Mickey's side.But I suspect susar ji will have something to say against Arthur.

Umar Akmal doesn't have a central contract.

2 coaches have now had run ins with UA, need to take disciplinary action. Just can't go on national news and accuse the cricket teams head coach like that and get away with it. Doesn't set a good precedent for upcoming players and current players.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/BbsiFHgfgrU" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Video of the allegations by UA.

2 coaches have now had run ins with UA, need to take disciplinary action. Just can't go on national news and accuse the cricket teams head coach like that and get away with it. Doesn't set a good precedent for upcoming players and current players.

Yes I forgotten he was dropped from this year's list.

In that case, some disciplinary punishment is in order. Should be fined or suspended and his NOCs for T20 leagues revoked.

Hit the guy where it hurts - his pocket.

Wow. Akmal said that on air? Guy is a real tool.

Even if you have issues, it's best to discuss like a man. Akmal is a joke.

Mr. Umar Akmal you are not a doodh peeta bacha.
Harsh/Bad language is common in workplaces. Please concentrate on cricket for God sake yar.
And in my observation the coach has supported him even after failing 7 fitness tests.

Really dissapointed how this guy's career has progressed.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Update: PCB to issue showcause notice to Umar Akmal.</p>— PCB Official (@TheRealPCB) <a href="https://twitter.com/TheRealPCB/status/897818021686898690">August 16, 2017</a></blockquote>

PCB should take every strong action against this guy.

Mr. Umar Akmal you are not a doodh peeta bacha.
Harsh/Bad language is common in workplaces. Please concentrate on cricket for God sake yar.
And in my observation the coach has supported him even after failing 7 fitness tests.

Really dissapointed how this guy's career has progressed.

That depends if you are talking about how old he is, or how old he acts. :))

Just saw this comment on twitter:

Maybe Mickey told him "improve your fitness like Fakhar" and Akmal misinterpreted it.

Headline should be, "Umar Akmal ends chance of ever playing for PAK again."

Just saw this !!! :facepalm:

View attachment 75837

LAHORE: Cricketer Umar Akmal on Wednesday accused Pakistan Cricket Team’s head coach Mickey Arthur of verbally abusing him before throwing him out of the team, ARY News reported.

Speaking to media in Lahore, the middle-order batsman who was dropped from the Pakistan’s Champions Trophy Squad, said that the head coach not only used foul language but even asked him to play in some club team instead of coming to cricket academy.

He maintained that he was dropped out of cricket academy after being given “unnecessary warnings” by the coach.

Akmal claimed that the ugly episode was witnessed by chief selector Inzamamul Haq and a number of other senior players but none stopped Arthur.

He added that he requests Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) to take notice of coach’s behaviour.

Mickey Arthur has rubbished all the allegations leveled by Akmal and said that he only asked Umar Akmal to improve his performance.

“Umar Akmal wanted to use Grant Flower’s services for batting,I told him he must first earn the right go and play club cricket .since he is not under a PCB contract anymore. He needs to prove himself before he uses our support staff,” said Arthur.

He added that he never stopped him from using the academy but only stopped him from using the services of support staff “until he earns the right”.

On the other hand, PCB has decided to issue a show cause notice to Umar Akmal over the presser.

https://arynews.tv/en/umar-akmal-mickey-arthur-presser/

Now be serious guys by keeping akmal's hatred aside for a time being....Do you think Mickey should have used such harsh language by telling him first go and play club cricket? should not he told him that thing in a soft language even if he does not deserve to use services of national coaching staff?

Oh Umar bhai please stop complaining. If you was a player from another country you would have been thrown away a long time ago.

These two sentences are hilarious:

"He shouldn't abuse me like that; he isn't just abusing me but the whole nation of Pakistan"

"Look at any game and you will see that he is always abusing players"

I am also hearing that along the way to this amazing press conference he's created a few new words as well.

What a word. PP should start using this word, to honour him.

This guy is proving to be a cancer to the team. No other player has issues with Mickey and this guy magically does.

Had issues with Waqar and now Mickey. He is like KP just a much worse cricketer but worse ego and personality.

Time to cut the chord and let him go from the team.

Does that give him the right to abuse players?

Why would you assume that he is the one lying?

Boohoo. His lack of backing now will prove to be the downfall of him, he can't expect to keep making stupid comments like these and expect good to come from this.

I wouldn't even mind if Mickey beat this backward bevakoof, let alone swearing because he doesn't learn from regular discipling...

The South African meanwhile has hit back at Akmal’s allegations saying that he has never stopped the batsman from using the services of the NCA but has only asked him to refrain from using the services of the support staff.

“Umar Akmal wanted to use Grant Flower’s services for batting, I told him he must first earn the right. Go and play club cricket since he is not under a PCB contract anymore. He needs to prove himself before using our support staff,” Arthur commented.

“I never stopped him from using the academy, I told him to not use the services of our support staff until he earns the right. Umar Akmal cannot expect the support staff for contracted players to be at his beck and call, go back and play some club cricket,” the South African added.

http://sport360.com/article/cricket...oach-mickey-arthur-for-alleged-foul-language/

Honestly speaking, he must have lost a lot of self respect walking into the NCA thinking he would get the same treatment as the centrally contracted players. Does he think the NCA is like a local pub where you can just turn up and practice just because you were once one of their regulars? Im surprised how he was allowed to even go there and waste Micky and Inzimam's time! They were kind enough to let him through the gates. Micky is right, nothing will stop him as long as he performs and makes his way back

What a joke Akmal cricketers are. Surprised his regular supporters on PP are missing from this thread. Can't wait to hear the justification to use the national batting coach for your training when you're not even part of the squad. The Akmal's sense of entitlement is sickening.

I remember when Mickey bashed out at KK players at the psl...he has this habbit and I JUST LOVE IT...Keep up the good work!

Agreed.

And I feel he's gained a bit of clout after helping PAK win the Champions Trophy. Players and the board will respond to his coaching methods because it works.

By the way, PCB's doctor suggested him knee operation although it was not required.

If anyone listened to his interview then he mentioned it in the end

umar has a bad reputation but that does not mean that he is always wrong and is always the culprit

pcb needs to investigate this matter and if what he said is true mickey needs to tone it down

umar has a bad reputation but that does not mean that he is always wrong and is always the culprit

pcb needs to investigate this matter and if what he said is true mickey needs to tone it down

Doesn't matter if he is right or wrong in his claims.

The simple fact is that he shouldn't have held a press conference about this. There are other avenues to deal with such matters.

Umar is wrong. What other domestic players get to use the services of the national batting coach? Would it be okay if tomorrow Fawad Alam calls Grant and says meet me at the nets buddy?...

Mickey is the coach of an adult sporting team, of course he'll use some aggressive and colourful language from time to time. It goes with the job.

Why do cricketers, especially Asian cricketers, expect to be treated like 5 year old school girls?

I remember a case a while back when Sehwag started crying in the dressing room because John Wright said some bad things to him lol.

These guys are so entitled that they believe everyone should treat them with kid gloves.

Imagine if a footballer said the same about Sir Alex Ferguson, or a basketball player about Phil Jackson. They would be laughed out of town.

This guy loves shooting himself in the foot, don't want to see him in the green shirt again and he doesn't seem to value playing for Pakistan.

He still has a foot left?

Umar is wrong. What other domestic players get to use the services of the national batting coach? Would it be okay if tomorrow Fawad Alam calls Grant and says meet me at the nets buddy?...

that does not mean arthur can abuse him

Honestly speaking, he must have lost a lot of self respect walking into the NCA thinking he would get the same treatment as the centrally contracted players. Does he think the NCA is like a local pub where you can just turn up and practice just because you were once one of their regulars? Im surprised how he was allowed to even go there and waste Micky and Inzimam's time! They were kind enough to let him through the gates. Micky is right, nothing will stop him as long as he performs and makes his way back

The funny thing is he basically admits that once Mickey told him off he went to Inzi. That must have ****** Mickey off even more lol.

"Unhon ne mere saath abusing ki hai" :))) "Main hurts hua hun"

Gotta love this guy's urdu

LOL.

I was just going by the quotes in the OP but I just watched the video. I suggest EVERYONE to watch the actual interview just for the LOLZZ!

The funny thing is he basically admits that once Mickey told him off he went to Inzi. That must have ****** Mickey off even more lol.

Also [MENTION=2016]Rana[/MENTION]. Seems like Mickey never stopped him from using NCA anyway and he is just making him up

He just stopped him from working with Grant Flower and that makes sense. Why would a national team coach waste time with someone not in the team or in the contract list

I agree with this move.Akmal needs to be taught a lesson.

Will this incident affect his participation in the National T20?

what a tool! anyone with a brain knows that you're not going to get back in the team by criticising and leveling accusations against the coach publically

If any player did that for eg to alex ferguson hed never play for the club again

"He shouldn't abuse me like that; he isnt just abusing me but the whole nation of Pakistan" LoL How delusional can you get

Imbecile.

Needs to be severely punished and banned from domestic cricket for a year.

He's finished.

that does not mean arthur can abuse him

Don't think Arthur would abuse him...Umar probably didn't understand the English Mickey was speaking and thought it was abuse. With someone like Umar's mental capacity you can expect that to be true.

actually Mickey just spoke to him in english, junior took that as using ganday ganday ilfaaz!

Get on with it and stop feeling sorry for yourself, Umer. You are always unfit and play silly shots. You deserve all the criticism you get. Overrated as a batsman with no temperament and getting out to needless shots it could be time to accept that your career may be over as an international Cricketer. Your bro Kamran will be able to relate to your feelings.