Misbah-ul-Haq doesn't give youngsters a chance?

shah_1

I have been this reading this crap for last two weeks and it is obviously not ttue

Junaid Khan
Azhar Ali- could have easily brought Malik or Yousuf to replace him when he took the captaincy
Asad Shafiq-again Malik or Yousuf back
Muhammad Irfan-not young but it was him that brought him back
Nasir Jamshed
Sarfraz Ahmed
Sharjeel Khan in test cricket
Umar Amin
Shoaib Maqsood
Babar Azam in test cricket
Ahmed Shehzad was pretty new and Misbah gave him an extended run
Haris Sohail
Anwar Ali
Umar Akmal was backed for so long
Yasir Shah
Muhammad Nawaz in test cricket
Eshan Adil

Many of them couldn't do much but it wasn't Miabah's fault.

He gave many youngsters a chance in IU team, most went on to play for Pakistan

Much needed thread to clear some misconceptions going around.

Interesting thread. Misbah did prefer experience over youth. All I will say is that if there is a chief selector, how much influence will a captain have over selections? As Pakistan fans I think we over think this. For instance Tim Paine is getting criticised by Australian fans but not about team selection because there is a selection panel.

Misbah and other captains may have pushed for some players, but if you have a chief selector, they will select most of the players.

I think there's a difference between new talent and young talent.

It's rubbish to say he never gave any new talent a chance as that list shows. I'd add Mohammed Abbas to the list. They were mostly seasoned and proven domestic campaigners.

However I don't recall many U23 players debuting though we saw Hasan Ali and Shadab Khan in his last series in the Caribbean.

To add few others to the list

- Zafar Gohar debuted under Misbah too in ODIs and was set to debut in test as well before missing his flight.
- Sami Aslam
- Shan Masood
- Rahat Ali
- Bilawal Bhatti
- Mohammad Talha

and they all were U 23-25 as well when they debuted.

It's rubbish to say he never gave any new talent a chance as that list shows. I'd add Mohammed Abbas to the list. They were mostly seasoned and proven domestic campaigners.

However I don't recall many U23 players debuting though we saw Hasan Ali and Shadab Khan in his last series in the Caribbean.

True, but reality is After Ahmed Shehzad and Umer Akmal in the last 10 years its the first time we are seeing many teenagers and U23 cricketers as well in international side because during 2010 and 2016 we didnt produce a lot of young quality players and if we produced any they didnt get a lot of attention because at that time there werent as many platforms available to impress as we have now.

Also irrespective of how is PSL in terms if quality but considering its stature now, a performing youngster in that shows that he has what it takes to handle pressure in front of crowd, televised audience and against international cricketers. So even if the selectors arent risk takers they can go ahead when they see a youngster like Shaheen Shah taking a 6fer in a pressure environment created by PSL or other such names.

To produce quality players and to improve youngsters a good domestic structure is a must which hopefully we will see in action soon but to judge someone's pressure handling skills we need more audience or atleast more FC matches being televised to create the sort of environment PSL creates for a youngster to show his temperament and pressure handling skills.

PSL has made a huge difference

Great thread.

Clears all the misconceptions of Misbah not giving chances to youngsters.

Shadab Khan, Faheem Ashraf and Sahibzada Farhan also made their debut under Misbah as a captain of Islamabad United.

- Zafar Gohar debuted under Misbah too in ODIs and was set to debut in test as well before missing his flight.
- Sami Aslam
- Shan Masood
- Rahat Ali
- Bilawal Bhatti
- Mohammad Talha

Zafar debuted under
azhar Ali

Thats right. Thanks for correction.

Over all Misbah was not in favor of youngsters,You people are trying too hard,,,,remember he was even against the inclusion of Shaheen in playing eleven.Sarfraz in wc 2015???
Haris Sohail and many more.....

Misbah batted Haris Sohail and Umar Amin at number 7 in the batting order. Amin failed, Sohail's talent shone through and Misbah the oldie lover had no choice but to play Haris at 3, JUST ONE SERIES BEFORE 2015 WC.

Also oldie lover benched for the whole season Pakistan's premier batsman Babar Azam after a couple of failures in the inaugural edition of PSL.

Misbah fan's trying hard.

- Sami Aslam
- Shan Masood
- Rahat Ali
- Bilawal Bhatti
- Mohammad Talha

Talha made his debut in 2009. Zafar hasn't played yet. Rahat has always been rubbish.

Over all Misbah was not in favor of youngsters,You people are trying too hard,,,,remember he was even against the inclusion of Shaheen in playing eleven.Sarfraz in wc 2015???
Haris Sohail and many more.....
Shaheen was battered in few games that was why Misbah objected. It was Waqar in WC 2015 that was not selecting Sarfraz. There seem to be a long list of players he have opportunity to both in Pak team and IU. In reality many talented youngsters have been overlooked by many captains , scorched and selectors due to senior first policy.

- Sami Aslam
- Shan Masood
- Rahat Ali
- Bilawal Bhatti
- Mohammad Talha

Zafar hasn't made debut yet. Talha made it under younis khan. Rahat has always been rubbish but misbah loves him. Sami made his debut in odis when azhar was the captain. He was hardly dropped If I am honest. Misbah dropped potentially our best batsmen ever in psl.

Harris used to get at 7 or 8 under misbah. Misbah was against shaheen. He played his friends such as asad Ali, salman. Has always loved his oldies calling riffat. Loves ifti. Has always backed rubbish players in hafeez. Do I need to go on more.

Misbah batted Haris Sohail and Umar Amin at number 7 in the batting order. Amin failed, Sohail's talent shone through and Misbah the oldie lover had no choice but to play Haris at 3, JUST ONE SERIES BEFORE 2015 WC.

Also oldie lover benched for the whole season Pakistan's premier batsman Babar Azam after a couple of failures in the inaugural edition of PSL.

Misbah fan's trying hard.
trying hard finding only Ahmad shahzad

I have been this reading this crap for last two weeks and it is obviously not ttue

Junaid Khan
Azhar Ali- could have easily brought Malik or Yousuf to replace him when he took the captaincy
Asad Shafiq-again Malik or Yousuf back
Muhammad Irfan-not young but it was him that brought him back
Nasir Jamshed
Sarfraz Ahmed
Sharjeel Khan in test cricket
Umar Amin
Shoaib Maqsood
Babar Azam in test cricket
Ahmed Shehzad was pretty new and Misbah gave him an extended run
Haris Sohail
Anwar Ali
Umar Akmal was backed for so long
Yasir Shah
Muhammad Nawaz in test cricket
Eshan Adil

Many of them couldn't do much but it wasn't Miabah's fault.

He gave many youngsters a chance in IU team, most went on to play for Pakistan

Misbah's ability was that he could stay at the crease for long periods and also he could block runs from opposition. That worked very well in UAE helped Pakistan win and rise to the top. A big factor was Saeed Ajmal and Then Yasir Shah.

But coaching is different, we need somebody who can motivate the team. Be aggressive in approach and also player selection.
Misbah did tried new player but he never dropped his favorites.

Misbah might not be a bad coach but Dean Jones is the far better choice for Pakistan. If Pakistan wants to follow the Australian Model than We need an Australian coach. And Dean Jones has done wonders with Islamabad United.
Dean Jones is so much better than Misbah.

Zafar hasn't made debut yet. Talha made it under younis khan. Rahat has always been rubbish but misbah loves him. Sami made his debut in odis when azhar was the captain. He was hardly dropped If I am honest. Misbah dropped potentially our best batsmen ever in psl.

Harris used to get at 7 or 8 under misbah. Misbah was against shaheen. He played his friends such as asad Ali, salman. Has always loved his oldies calling riffat. Loves ifti. Has always backed rubbish players in hafeez. Do I need to go on more.

We should all be happy and content that he debuted youngsters... doesn't matter how he treated them. Don't mention him playing Harry and Amin at number 7/8.

Buhat talent ko faroogh di hai bhai

trying hard finding only Ahmad shahzad

:))) well said doctor sahab

2015 WC we had Umar Akmal and Sohaib Maqsood forming the bulk of our middle order :))

then Misbah fans have the gall to even say anything

Misbah's ability was that he could stay at the crease for long periods and also he could block runs from opposition. That worked very well in UAE helped Pakistan win and rise to the top. A big factor was Saeed Ajmal and Then Yasir Shah.

But coaching is different, we need somebody who can motivate the team. Be aggressive in approach and also player selection.
Misbah did tried new player but he never dropped his favorites.

Misbah might not be a bad coach but Dean Jones is the far better choice for Pakistan. If Pakistan wants to follow the Australian Model than We need an Australian coach. And Dean Jones has done wonders with Islamabad United.
Dean Jones is so much better than Misbah.

Dean Jones was also much better player

We should all be happy and content that he debuted youngsters... doesn't matter how he treated them. Don't mention him playing Harry and Amin at number 7/8.

Buhat talent ko faroogh di hai bhai

These people are going as if only misbah created the concept of debut. Off course people are gonna play. BTW can't forget when misbah made haris bat below tanvir. He is a cancer for youngsters. These people going on about zafar let me remind you he hardly got a game for Islamabad thanks to misbah selecting his friend Khalid something the spinner.kamran ghulam got 1 game under him no where to be seen. Heck even babar couldn't get a game and left.

Lol Misbah tried to give chances at the same tried to prove the point with his wonderful plans that I'm trying my best to be savior of the team and all the people around me are useless and brainless.

Almost similar team and the players had complete different approach under Misbah.

Keep him away from youngsters players and cricket as much as possible..!!

As with his days as Pakistan captain, Misbah’s phobia for youth couldn’t have been any more apparent following his initial views on Shaheen.

Yes he admitted he was wrong, but it was only until the WC, when the youngster’s prolific bowling performances made him eat his words.

Given these views it’s worrying times for Pakistan cricket when you consider him to be in prime position to land the Head Coach role, as there is no doubt in my mind had he been given this position (much earlier in the year), he would have not have allowed Shaheen to be considered for the first team going into the WC. Doesn’t take a genius to figure that out!

Let’s not forget this young left arm bowler was one of Pakistan’s best two players in the tournament, in fact I would say he was the best.

Not only does this expose Misbah’s phobia for youngsters but also epitomises his lack of cricketing intelligence. I can only dread to imagine what he would do this team that has overcome the transition phase, following the downhill slide to 9th in the ODI rankings, which funnily enough came about because of his incompetence.

I’m happy to provide further examples of his treatment of youngsters (during his days as captain of the Pakistan team), but I wanted to focus on his insight on Shaheen, as it highlights how he’s failed to learn from all the mistakes he’s made, after all these years playing at professional level.

I would also advise the OP to get his facts right before addressing valid criticism as “crap”. For example, Umar Akmal was only given one test match in the UAE, yet you claim “he was backed for so long”.

I would also like to give credit to c.80% of those who voted against the potential appointment of Misbah, since this shows the forum is filled with credible cricketing minds unlike some of the blind followers who disgracefully support Misbah more than the Pakistan team!

As much as misbah gave chances to youngsters he also backed malik.
Brought back younis khan,

As with his days as Pakistan captain, Misbah’s phobia for youth couldn’t have been any more apparent following his initial views on Shaheen.

Yes he admitted he was wrong, but it was only until the WC, when the youngster’s prolific bowling performances made him eat his words.

Given these views it’s worrying times for Pakistan cricket when you consider him to be in prime position to land the Head Coach role, as there is no doubt in my mind had he been given this position (much earlier in the year), he would have not have allowed Shaheen to be considered for the first team going into the WC. Doesn’t take a genius to figure that out!

Let’s not forget this young left arm bowler was one of Pakistan’s best two players in the tournament, in fact I would say he was the best.

Not only does this expose Misbah’s phobia for youngsters but also epitomises his lack of cricketing intelligence. I can only dread to imagine what he would do this team that has overcome the transition phase, following the downhill slide to 9th in the ODI rankings, which funnily enough came about because of his incompetence.

I’m happy to provide further examples of his treatment of youngsters (during his days as captain of the Pakistan team), but I wanted to focus on his insight on Shaheen, as it highlights how he’s failed to learn from all the mistakes he’s made, after all these years playing at professional level.

I would also advise the OP to get his facts right before addressing valid criticism as “crap”. For example, Umar Akmal was only given one test match in the UAE, yet you claim “he was backed for so long”.

I would also like to give credit to c.80% of those who voted against the potential appointment of Misbah, since this shows the forum is filled with credible cricketing minds unlike some of the blind followers who disgracefully support Misbah more than the Pakistan team!

OK listen I know you hate Misbah with a passion, But why do you like Mickey so much? Sarfraz is trash as well. At least under Misbah we were a solid home side. With these clowns sarfraz/mickey the selections in tests, especially UAE tests, have been shocking. We;ve been poor at home as well.

If you read my post and addressed the points made, you would perhaps understand why c.80% of the forum do not wish for him to be Mickey's replacement. The Difference between us and yourself is that we are not blind followers and actually care about the best interests of Pakistan cricket. I've watched cricket for 20 years now and out of all the captains Pakistan I've seen, no one has done more damage than Misbah to this team.

I despise Sarfraz and have expressed the need for him to be replaced on numerous occasions, over the last six to nine months, however compared to Misbah in ODIs he wipes the floor with him. The team's showing in this year's WC was far better than what we saw from Misbah's 2015 WC side. Moreover, they have also both captained in a CT tournament held in England, one of them came home with the trophy whilst the other lost every game, resulting in a shameful group stage exit.

In tests, Misbah's accomplishments in the UAE are overstated and I say that because if Sarfraz had the services of an ATG player of spin (Younis) and the chucking services of Ajmal and Hafeez, he probably would have managed at least a draw against SL and against NZ.

It's taken a while for people to clock on to the fact that Misbah is a selfish individual, whereas I had no doubt of this mentality since that Mohali innings. Since then he has shamelessly clung on to play well beyond his sell-by-date, as we witnessed after his failures in 2011, 2013, 2015 and continues to hog a spot in the PSL even though he's well and truly past it. If he hadn't been forced to retire in 2017, he'd probably still be playing tests.

But his selfishness doesn't conclude there, his sheer lack of regard for the conflict of interest has prompted him to apply for the Head Coach role, which is wrong on so many levels, especially because he has no coaching experience nor is he sufficiently qualified to take up this responsibility.

As for Mickey, I recently said he's far from perfect but I wanted him to stay as I knew the replacement was going to be an inferior ex-player, as one cannot expect the PCB to be flooded with CVs from top coaches around the world, as they don't deem the role to be prestigious enough to add to their experience.

Overall, it's fair to say you ought to end this love affair you have with Misbah, but having said that it wouldn't surprise me if it turns out you support him more than the team.

Sami Aslam made his test debut while Talha made his ODI debut under Misbah. Haris Sohail was played 1 down throughout the WC 2015.

well said. when i saw that interview on cricinfo, i cringed so hard. misbah has always support seniors and experienced players over up and coming talented youngsters.

in fact misbah has given chances to over the hill players like talha, rafatullah, that 30+ allrounder forgot his name who played one test.
im sure there are a couple more.

Misbah was unfortunate that the crop of new players in his time all turned out crap.

Plenty of players in their 20s made debuts in Misbah’s time. What is the obsession with teenager debutants? Cricket has become too professional to offer any success to half baked products like Shadab and Hasnain.

well said. when i saw that interview on cricinfo, i cringed so hard. misbah has always support seniors and experienced players over up and coming talented youngsters.

in fact misbah has given chances to over the hill players like talha, rafatullah, that 30+ allrounder forgot his name who played one test.

Misbah picked Azhar, Asad, Sarfraz, and Yasir who all became integral part of test team.

Sami Aslam made his test debut while Talha made his ODI debut under Misbah. Haris Sohail was played 1 down throughout the WC 2015.

As usual you ignore everything. I am not interested where haris batted in the world cup. Just answer why he batted lower down. What about zafar? What about babar? What about him recommending azhar as captain? What about selecting his friends all the time? What about him begging a psl team to buy him. I mentioned sami odi debut. Talha was rubbish. Misbah pretty much selected all the rubbish youngsters in order to keep his senior friends happy. A fact.

I totally agree - the name you’re looking for I believe is Iftikhar Ahmed. I’ll never forget how Misbah gave him a test cap out of all players. Thanks to Younis Khan’s 218, this blunder from the failed ex-captain thankfully made no difference.

If you read my post and addressed the points made, you would perhaps understand why c.80% of the forum do not wish for him to be Mickey's replacement. The Difference between us and yourself is that we are not blind followers and actually care about the best interests of Pakistan cricket. I've watched cricket for 20 years now and out of all the captains Pakistan I've seen, no one has done more damage than Misbah to this team.

I despise Sarfraz and have expressed the need for him to be replaced on numerous occasions, over the last six to nine months, however compared to Misbah in ODIs he wipes the floor with him. The team's showing in this year's WC was far better than what we saw from Misbah's 2015 WC side. Moreover, they have also both captained in a CT tournament held in England, one of them came home with the trophy whilst the other lost every game, resulting in a shameful group stage exit.

In tests, Misbah's accomplishments in the UAE are overstated and I say that because if Sarfraz had the services of an ATG player of spin (Younis) and the chucking services of Ajmal and Hafeez, he probably would have managed at least a draw against SL and against NZ.

It's taken a while for people to clock on to the fact that Misbah is a selfish individual, whereas I had no doubt of this mentality since that Mohali innings. Since then he has shamelessly clung on to play well beyond his sell-by-date, as we witnessed after his failures in 2011, 2013, 2015 and continues to hog a spot in the PSL even though he's well and truly past it. If he hadn't been forced to retire in 2017, he'd probably still be playing tests.

But his selfishness doesn't conclude there, his sheer lack of regard for the conflict of interest has prompted him to apply for the Head Coach role, which is wrong on so many levels, especially because he has no coaching experience nor is he sufficiently qualified to take up this responsibility.

As for Mickey, I recently said he's far from perfect but I wanted him to stay as I knew the replacement was going to be an inferior ex-player, as one cannot expect the PCB to be flooded with CVs from top coaches around the world, as they don't deem the role to be prestigious enough to add to their experience.

Overall, it's fair to say you ought to end this love affair you have with Misbah, but having said that it wouldn't surprise me if it turns out you support him more than the team.

Ok fair enough, you have more experience as a fan. I actually started watching in 09/10 - the boxing test 2009 vs Aus was my first time watching Pakistan and I watched all of their matches since then. We were in a dark phase at the time with the Yousuf infighting saga and then soon after Salman Butts fixing issues. So I was always thankful to Misbah for taking us away from those dark 2009/10 days.

Ok fair enough, you have more experience as a fan. I actually started watching in 09/10 - the boxing test 2009 vs Aus was my first time watching Pakistan and I watched all of their mat he's since then. We were in a dark phase at the time with the Yousuf infighting saga and then soon after Salman Butts fixing issues. So I was always thankful to Misbah for taking us away from those dark 2009/10 days.

Misbah deserves all the credit for restoring Pakistan’s reputation following the spot fixing saga. His appointment as captain (at the time) was a fine choice from the PCB, as the team needed a man of integrity to lead the side, but merely as a stop gap (like Tim Paine for Australia), as he was given the role when he was 35-36 years old (in 2010), so he was never a viable long-term solution.

His time was up as captain (and as an international cricketer) in 2013, when Pakistan crashed out of the CT without a win and when his side failed to win against a very poor Zimbabwe side.

If he had retired from ODIs following the Mohali knock and subsequently from tests in 2013, he wouldn’t have been despised as much as he is today.
[MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] posted the job spec. for the Head Coach role in another thread and if you read that you’ll find Misbah falls well short of the minimum prerequisites, as he’s never coached a team at professional level, nor does he have the coaching qualifications required to be given this role on any merit whatsoever.

I have no issues if Misbah was given the U19 coaching role or if he was to coach a domestic side first (even if it’s just PSL) to prove his worth but for him to short cut his way to the national side is a recipe for disaster.

PCB allowed an under-qualified Waqar Younis to jump ship as Pakistan coach (for two stints) and we saw how miserably he failed. Misbah and him follow the same school of thought and with their conservative approach, he’s effectively a Waqar Younis clone who’s bound to fail especially on a tactical level.

As mentioned earlier the conflict of interest leaves much to be desired.

This is just myth misbah doesn't like youngster. He does select youngster if they are good

As usual you ignore everything. I am not interested where haris batted in the world cup. Just answer why he batted lower down. What about zafar? What about babar? What about him recommending azhar as captain? What about selecting his friends all the time? What about him begging a psl team to buy him. I mentioned sami odi debut. Talha was rubbish. Misbah pretty much selected all the rubbish youngsters in order to keep his senior friends happy. A fact.

I think we can both agree to disagree. This topic of Misbah has already gone too far because people have taken it there and now are emotionally involved in it so I think its not possible to have any constructive discussion with anyone on this topic further.

Never said he is extraordinary nor did I say he will take Pakistan to new heights (nobody can predict that) however, I only came into discussion few days ago because I thought the criticism on Misbah was going overboard with trying to prove every single thing he did was wrong including the way he breathed on the field.

Again not a die hard fan of Misbah or anybody for that matter, but cant say for the sake of it that everything he did was wrong taking into account his tenure. However, if he becomes coach or get associated with team in any manner and if he doesnt deliver you will see me pointing out his mistakes wherever due just like I did for Mickey Arther (Though I doubt any one ever did or will do as basic mistakes as he did on occasions but you never know).

Riding on the bandwagon and spreading hatred and getting emotionally involved against someone for the sake of it, sorry to you and my other fellow posters but, thats not me. Again not judging, its pretty natural to have difference of opinions but I hope that posters dont make opinions based upon emotions and personal likes and dislikes because the amount of hatred I am seeing by some on this forum against one individual can only be led by emotions not by rational thinking.

Again just my thoughts and we can agree to disagree.

Pick em and bat them at 7
UA Akmal was tasked with finishing matches because he was the one who could hit sixes against fast bowlers whilst the rest of Misbahs boys were spin bashers

This dude chose to invest in Azhar and Asad instead of Haris. Never forget. Terrible at identifying talent. Probably the worst I've seen.

What’s wrong with Azhar and Asad?

Azhar at one time was among the best test openers in the world. If I’m not mistaken he was also among the top 3 batsmen who had faced the most number of balls at that time.

Asad at #6 was averaging around 45 which was good enough.

Azhar is done as a cricketer due to his age. Cook retired at the same age. Asad just could not succeed in more responsibility. It does not change the fact that during Misbah’s time, they were important members of the team.

Haris has none but himself to blame for his poor fitness and lazy attitude.

What’s wrong with Azhar and Asad?

Azhar at one time was among the best test openers in the world. If I’m not mistaken he was also among the top 3 batsmen who had faced the most number of balls at that time.

Asad at #6 was averaging around 45 which was good enough.

Azhar is done as a cricketer due to his age. Cook retired at the same age. Asad just could not succeed in more responsibility. It does not change the fact that during Misbah’s time, they were important members of the team.

Haris has none but himself to blame for his poor fitness and lazy attitude.

Mickey/Sarfraz hasn't exactly played Haris much at all since he cameback, been mostly on the bench. He wasn't even a regular in the world cup until the end and lost his place in the ODI team before when Imam was preferred. He wasn't played over Hafeez or Malik either, particularly the latter.

I don't know why people target Misbah for that. If anything Haris got injured shortly after Misbah did play him in ODIs, and in tests it was especially hard to play him when Azhar, Asad, YK, Misbah was pretty much the settled middle order. Mickey on the other hand, what excuse did he have?

Misbah has been given a decent amount of younger players chances, but it cannot be ignored that he loved mediocre players like:

Zufliqar Babar
Iftikhar Ahmed
Saad Nasim
Bilal Asif

Why was Zafar Gohar ignored? Yes, he made a big error of oversleeping and missing his opportunity, but why was he not given chances in LOI atleast? He only played one game which was appalling.

Misbah has been given a decent amount of younger players chances, but it cannot be ignored that he loved mediocre players like:

Zufliqar Babar
Iftikhar Ahmed
Saad Nasim
Bilal Asif

Why was Zafar Gohar ignored? Yes, he made a big error of oversleeping and missing his opportunity, but why was he not given chances in LOI atleast? He only played one game which was appalling.

Saad Nasim played under Azhar. Bilal under Sarfraz.

Iftikhar got so few opportunities to prove himself despite a good domestic record. He may have come good.

Zulfiqar dominated domestic for a decade and had some talent. Maybe he was just given his chance too late.

Zafar is just 24. He's more suited to LOIs, and in 2015 probably too young for Misbah's team especially when the world cup was in Australia and Afridi was lone spinner. It is a bigger question why he isn't being selected now when he's a little older, and showing stuff in PSL too. Sure if Misbah didn't rate him, he wouldn't be part of IU.

Babar Azam after being given the boot by Misbah and Islamabad United has become the number 1 T20 batsman in the world.
Haris Sohail-Pakistans 2nd best batsman was made to bat at lower middle order by Misbah against Zimbabwe.

I for one will say this. I was not and I probably won't be a fan of Misbah as captain. What I will say no matter what it is still commendable that he took Pakistan's test team to No.1 (in the Rankings). With that being said he had no right to get the coaching gig and above all the chief selector gig. Despite overseas failure, he never encouraged change in the test line-up. Azhar and Asad were shot to the moon with the amount of backing Misbah gave them.

He doesn't like change much, he already screwed up our T20 team by bringing back BBQ dieting Akmal and Selfie taking Shehzad. He's understand some pressure from fellow players and media, what makes this worse for him is that the next tour is against Australia. He's under the cosh and will be some more.