Misbah-ul-Haq has now gone ahead of MS Dhoni in the number of sixes in Test cricket

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Misbah has now gone ahead of MS Dhoni in the number of sixes in Test cricket:<br>Misbah 79 in his 74th Test<br>MS Dhoni 78 in 90 Tests<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/859453624912670721">May 2, 2017</a></blockquote>

80 now, Most number of 6s in tests for Pak, second best is Younis with 70

The shot that did it.

QXvORjH.gif

Dhoni played a lot more tests too ... jeez. I just wish Misbah ahd more centuries under his belt and we may be talking about him as an atg.

Misbah could hit them as big as Dhoni or even better but Dhoni never had the temperament or technique to grind it out like Misbah in Tests.

Misbah should be selected to play T20 cricket for Pakistan

How many times has Misbah played on his home ground? Dhoni was a failure batsman in Tests. Especially outside of the Sub-Cont.

Misbah has played 66% of his matches in Asia, while Dhoni has played 70%. 82% of those matches, Dhoni played on Indian rank turners, while Misbah bhai played majority on flat UAE battas.

Now speaking of their averages outside subcontinent (Aus, NZ, England and SA)

Dhoni - 31.47
Misbah - 29.46

So, next time do some research before before acting like a Cricket expert. :najam

Misbah has played 66% of his matches in Asia, while Dhoni has played 70%. 82% of those matches, Dhoni played on Indian rank turners, while Misbah bhai played majority on flat UAE battas.

Dhoni - 31.47
Misbah - 29.46

So, next time do some research before before acting like a Cricket expert. :najam

Misbah has three tons outside Asia, Dhoni has how many?

Dhoni - 31.47
Misbah - 29.46

Would be better if you excluded the 12 and 2 he had vs Aus in 2002. Regardless it's easy to say Misbah has had a greater impact than Dhoni as a batsman in the respective sides.

Dhoni the FTB often came at 300-3, 400-4 after platform was build by Sehwag, Dravid, SRT, Laxman and scored cheap runs. It was rare to see him playing under pressure after early fall of wickets and taking his team to safety unlike Misbah who often took charge after a collapse and carried the burden on his shoulders.

Misbah has three tons outside Asia, Dhoni has how many?

Ask me this question when Misbah starts batting no. 6 or 7.

Btw, it is not relevant to the thread. The thread compares no. of 6s Dhoni and Misbah hit and all comes down to the kind of pitches they played on.

Would be better if you excluded the 12 and 2 he had vs Aus in 2002. Regardless it's easy to say Misbah has had a greater impact than Dhoni as a batsman in the respective sides.

Well yes, in Asia, Misbah surely had a greater impact. It comes when you play as a specialist batsman.

Ask me this question when Misbah starts batting no. 6 or 7.

Btw, it is not relevant to the thread. The thread compares no. of 6s Dhoni and Misbah hit and all comes down to the kind of pitches they played on.

dhoni played 11 more test buddy 11 more test .......

i know it hurt you :smith

Well yes, in Asia, Misbah surely had a greater impact. It comes when you play as a specialist batsman.

Dhoni won't be remembered as a test player, Misbah will. 'Specialist' is an excuse when you have other WK-batsmen thriving, like QDK.

dhoni played 16 more test buddy 16 more test .......

I know, and I am taking nothing away from Misbah here. But since the comparison has been made, it also makes sense to take into account the fact that Dhoni played on minefields where even buying a run was struggle. UAE on the other hand happens to be the flattest and most batting friendly place. So surely it makes a difference, no?

Dhoni won't be remembered as a test player, Misbah will. 'Specialist' is an excuse when you have other WK-batsmen thriving, like QDK.

If someone averaging 29 outside subcontinent is worth remembering, then please. :misbah

I know, and I am taking nothing away from Misbah here. But since the comparison has been made, it also makes sense to take into account the fact that Dhoni played on minefields where even buying a run was struggle. UAE on the other hand happens to be the flattest and most batting friendly place. So surely it makes a difference, no?

pardon me on which rank turner.??

dhoni played 80% of his cricket on flat track after 2013 probably pitches have become rank turner in

india

So just so I'm clear on this, the pitches were minefields when Dhoni batted but flat phattas when Ashwin was bowling yeah?

Stop misguiding people. Sehwag and bullies weren't scoring truck load of runs on minefields. It's only recently under the captaincy of Kohli when India has prepared rank turners.

India minefield, UAE patta. Waah kya logic hai.

So just so I'm clear on this, the pitches were minefields when Dhoni batted but flat phattas when Ashwin was bowling yeah?

Lol.. yes. Leave it, let the brothers enjoy this milestone. :D

So when Yasir takes wickets in UAE the pro he's there are a minefield and when Pakistani batsmen bat it is the flattest and most batting friendly track :)))

Stop misguiding people. Sehwag and bullies weren't scoring truck load of runs on minefields. It's only recently under the captaincy of Kohli when India has prepared rank turners.

India minefield, UAE patta. Waah kya logic hai.

Ok brother, I won't complain. I actually feel happy that all those Ashwin wickets under Dhoni's captaincy were truly earned. Confirms his ATG status to me. :19:

As for the comparison, I agree. Misbah bhai wins.

Ok brother, I won't complain. I actually feel happy that all those Ashwin wickets under Dhoni's captaincy were truly earned. Confirms his ATG status to me. :19:

He is correct though and you know it if you actually follow test cricket

Rank turners started in Aussie series of 2013

Idhar nahi kaam chala tou udhar chala lo, lols, such embarrasement.

Dhoni - 31.47
Misbah - 29.46

LOL. Typical confused Indian cricket fan...brah you might be this deluded but don't think others are. Hitting number of sixes in not a matter of national pride..quit getting your chuddis in a bunch.

Dhoni is a superior batsman and captain in all formats, but this isn't the thread for it.

Dhoni was a nobody in test cricket. Misbah wipes the floor with Dhoni in tests and T20s. Only in ODIs, Dhoni is better.

Can't rate someone who has not scored a single century outside Asia in any format.

Dhoni is a superior batsman and captain in all formats, but this isn't the thread for it.

a pathetic post

It is a thread about sixes, and he comments about batting in all formats and captaincy.

Misbah wipes the floor with Dhoni in test cricket.

Anyone in their right mind will never agree with that. However, I think you're just saying this because of your false sense of righteousness understood as criticizing ones own country even when its not due. Misbah is galaxies ahead of Dhoni as captain and player in the Test format. For ODI's, sure, Dhoni could be one of the best captains and even players to have played the game but not Tests. And for most cricket fans, like myself, that's what really matters.

Dhoni has no achievements in Test cricket that he could speak of. Either in terms of personal performances or as captain. He was given an ATG XI by Ganguly and yet he lost series at home with them. I don't even consider it an achievement for him to take India to the No.1 rank because when he got the team, it was already No.2. Misbah is galaxies ahead of him solely for the reason of rebuilding the team from scratch and taking them to the paramount.

Misbah wipes the floor with Dhoni in test cricket.

Dhoni is leagues below Misbah in Test cricket.

Misbah is galaxies ahead of Dhoni as captain and player in the Test format.

None of the above is true. However, as I said, this is not the thread for it and it should not have been derailed in the first place. A Misbah vs Dhoni thread for Test cricket already exists.

Congratulations to Misbah for hitting more sixes.

Dhoni was a nobody in test cricket. Misbah wipes the floor with Dhoni in tests and T20s. Only in ODIs, Dhoni is better.

Can't rate someone who has not scored a single century outside Asia in any format.

The bolded part is just as much an understatement, as the burlesque italic part being an overstatement. It may be long row to hoe for you to accept but, dhoni was comparatively very close to misbah in Asia and just might be better batsman overseas.

None of the above is true. However, as I said, this is not the thread for it and it should not have been derailed in the first place. A Misbah vs Dhoni thread for Test cricket already exists.

Please emphasize more on why he's a better player let alone captain? Don't worry. It won't derail the thread. This very much is a Dhoni vs Misbah thread, so please go on. I'd love to know why you think someone who hasn't even scored a SINGLE century outside of Asia is better than Misbah as player?

What you stated is ignorant, biased and a vacuous Lie.

Misbah is well ahead in test cricket, runs, average, temperament, you name it.

One can argue that Misbah's striking ability of sixes and aggressive play in tests is better than Dhoni's as well, Misbah has shown it to the world.

Please don't compare Misbah to FTB like Dhoni.

What you stated is ignorant, biased and a vacuous Lie.

Misbah is well ahead in test cricket, runs, average, temperament, you name it, unless one is an oaf, he'll not say something like you said.

One can argue that Misbah's striking ability of sixes and aggressive play in tests is better than Dhoni's as well, Misbah has shown it to the world.

Please don't compare Misbah to FTB like Dhoni.

There is absolutely no world where Dhoni can be considered as a better player, let alone captain for Tests. Misbah was a much, much, much, much, much better player and an even better captain. There's no biases but frankly, Dhoni doesn't even deserve to mentioned in the same sentence.

Most Indians themselves agree that Dhoni has done nothing of note in test cricket with the bat. But the flame bait posters here never fail to sieze the opportunity to make an outrageous statement like the one posted above, if a Pakistani does something good, he's not as good as Indian, if he doesnt do aomething good, he's not as good as Indian, RIP logic

Exactly. There's a few sane ones here too. In fact, a lot of them. But there's a few Indians and even Pakistani's who hold their opinion to be more important than statistics and the opinion of the majority. The fact is, even if we look at it creatively, Misbah has had a much, much bigger impact on cricket in the last decade than Dhoni. In Tests, Dhoni is a nobody while Misbah is a great.

[MENTION=141922]ExpressPacer[/MENTION] [MENTION=143127]Citizen4[/MENTION]

I have no objections to anyone claiming that Misbah is a better Test batsman than Dhoni. However, the claims that Misbah wipes the floor with Dhoni in Test cricket, Misbah is galaxies above him and please don't compare Misbah to a FTB etc. etc. are nothing but unadulterated exaggerations. Firstly, Misbah has been as much of a FTB as Dhoni. Throughout his career, he has struggled against bounce and lateral movement, which is why he has failed badly in Australia and South Africa. He has also struggled in SL when they dished out seaming wickets. He has done well in England especially at Lord's, but those were flat wickets with the sun out. He is technically not good enough to score runs in traditional English conditions, and his track-record proves that.

As far as Dhoni is concerned, he was technically not good enough against lateral movement and bounce too. Throughout his career, he struggled with the out-swinger, which was his biggest weakness. However, he has still managed to outdo Misbah in places like Australia, South Africa and Sri Lanka. Yes he doesn't have a hundred overseas, but he has 90+ scores in England and South Africa. Both did well in New Zealand and in Pakistan/India respectively, but Misbah did better in the Caribbean.

In addition, he was a devastating game-changer in the Subcontinent. Misbah does have the joint second-fastest Test century in history, but it was a massive outlier; his style of play did not create the sort of impact that Dhoni's did, but one can argue that he had the luxury of playing in a stronger batting lineup.

Personally, I give Dhoni the edge because he has a similar track-record to Misbah and has similar strengths, but he also had the additional burden of keeping wickets, which takes a lot of physical toll. He looks spent at 35 while Misbah is playing in his 40's. However, if he was a wicket-keeper, he would have retired years ago. It is not fair to compare the batting output of a specialist batsman to a wicket-keeper batsman, and if they have similar performances and strengths/weaknesses, siding with the wicket-keeper batsman is not a difficult decision.

Nonetheless, as I said previously, there is not much between the two in Tests and one can make a case for both. However, pretending that Misbah is at a completely different level is nonsense. If you believe that, then you are either a) severely overrated Misbah or b) severely underrating Dhoni.

Not interested in stats or long paragraphs

Misbah has a far more impact as a test batsman than Dhoni ever had.

Dhoni never had to worry about carrying his team's batting. Misbah did it several times after his comeback.

Did Dhoni ever win a test outside Asia with his batting? No.

Misbah won Lord's test.

And how was it a flat track when:

Misbah was the only batsman who scored a century in that test
Besides Misbah's 100, there was only one 50+ score in the entire test match
The highest score in that match was 339.
3 out of 4 innings in that test produced scores in 200s.

Dhoni never had to worry about carrying his team's batting. Misbah did it several times after his comeback.

Misbah won Lord's test.

Flat wicket doesn't mean than you can score runs automatically. There were no demons in the pitch, and most batsmen threw their wicket away due to recklessness. Apart from Younis and poor players like Masood, Hales, Ballance, Vince etc., every batsman looked in control but found ways of getting out. Even Hafeez looked very good on the first morning. Hardly any batsman got out due to prodigious swing or seam.

England were too reckless against Yasir in the first innings and he capitalized on the rough created by the pacers in the second innings, but it was a 400+ pitch but both teams batted poorly. Of course, credit should be given to Misbah for being the only batsman who cashed in on the conditions, but it does not change the fact that he has not been good enough against lateral movement and bounce. His failures in Australia, South Africa and the seaming wickets of Sri Lanka such as Galle prove that.

Misbah has carried a weaker lineup and it's a valid point, I have mentioned that already, but it doesn't change the fact that statements like their is daylight between the two in Tests and Misbah is in a different galaxy etc. are nothing but hyperboles and exaggerations.

Misbah won Lord's test.

In 2011 world cup , Dhoni promoted himself over yuvraj after Kohli got out to settle the Innings down with Murli bowling in full flow. If this isn't carrying the batting then what is ?
Seondly, Dhoni while primarily being the wicketkeeper - has been an exemplary finisher for his team - which Misbah notedly has failed in doing - 2007 World T20 w/c against India and 2011 w/c against India.

In 2011 world cup , Dhoni promoted himself over yuvraj after Kohli got out to settle the Innings down with Murli bowling in full flow. If this isn't carrying the batting then what is ?
Seondly, Dhoni while primarily being the wicketkeeper - has been an exemplary finisher for his team - which Misbah notedly has failed in doing - 2007 World T20 w/c against India and 2011 w/c against India.

I think he was speaking of Tests rather then limited Overs where Dhoni is an ATG

Oh if this is purely tests then I would have limited knowledge as I haven't followed Dhoni's stats in Tests enough

Misbah is a better test batsmen and test captain than Dhoni. However, in odis, Dhoni is an ATG batsmen+ ATG captain i.e. overall an ATG cricketer.

Congratulations to Misbah for the record.

And to think Dhoni at the end of his career now as his skills have faded is still younger than when Misbah properly started his career....

I remember when Misbah was first made captain at at 37, I thought *** have pakistan done, and he only had like 1 or 2 100's to his name then. But he has proved me wrong, and he has gone on to score over 10 hundreds and most of them after turning 40. Just shows what determination he has

[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION], Misbah has led from the front

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Most runs as Test captain <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://t.co/Et3ETTInH3">pic.twitter.com/Et3ETTInH3</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/859483426138849280">May 2, 2017</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Misbah's batting average in Tests as captain. Better than:<br>Steve Waugh<br>Inzamam<br>Michael Clarke<br>R Ponting<br>S Tendulkar<br>J Miandad<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/859458893533073408">May 2, 2017</a></blockquote>

Misbah is the 9th highest scorer as captain, and have the 3rd best average in the top 10. Dhoni is nowhere near top 10 in that list and he averages 40 odd as captain.

Dhoni has no 100 outside Asia and only one 100 outside India (which was on a batting paradise in Pakistan where a guy like Afridi outscored him).

Misbah's 100 at Lord's is better than any test innings Dhoni has played, it was a display of sheer determination which is a core attribute of any great test batsmen.

Saying Misbah was not technically perfect and not a complete batsman, is the same as saying sky is blue. You don't have to be a perfect textbook batsman to become a great batsman, Miandad says Hi!.

And since when performing against Lateral movement, become a measuring scale of a good batsman?! No one is saying Misbah is an ATG, You can't judge a fish by its ability to climb tree, that's just nitpicking 101, looking for small or unimportant errors or faults, especially in order to criticize unnecessarily, fussy fault-finding. Dhoni also averaged 19 in Aus, 26 in SA and 22 in WI (lol) no surprise that you didnt mention Dhoni's failures in your biased post. For example, Ponting also struggled in India , averaged 26 there, that means he's not a great batsman? Positive outweigh his negatives, so that does no effect his greatness. Your measuring standards of a batsman is the definition of personal biased BS that's oven-baked for more time than it should've been. If you want nit-picking competition then believe me I can give you a tough time and I'll bring the other greats in debate, but it is useless here, mud slinging is not what I like when the image is clear to the whole world except you.

Misbah outclasses Dhoni in every department, I mean give me a break, at least compare someone who averages closer to Misbah. You are saying Dhoni is not too far off Misbah in test cricket, when he averaged 9 runs less than him and has no 100 outside Asia, that's a big difference, Dhoni is a home-track bully. You have be some kind of Indian Desh Bhagat with national pride at stake, to say otherwise. Misbah will be remembered as a better test captain and batsman than Dhoni in world cricket. The whole world knows this, but of course nothing is stopping you from fan-girling Dhoni and defending him because he's one of your favorites. Your way of categorising Indian and Pakistani players, is akin to Varna (Hindu caste system), in which Brahmins the master race are Indian players, they are the overlords and Shudras the lowlifes are Pakistani players. you can believe what you want that wouldn't change the facts and stats, and the reputation of both as test players, in which Misbah is much superior.

^ Predictably, you failed to address anyone of the points I raised and went on a tangent, to the point that midway through your post, I couldn't even comprehend your point. The number of runs Misbah has scored and his average as captain has absolutely nothing to do with the point that I made, and I don't think I have the energy to go through it all over again. If you don't want to address a point, don't change the channel. Ignoring the post is less time consuming.

Dhoni is a better test captain than Misbah statistically. Misbah has 19 losses now, which is 1 more than Dhoni. Dhoni also has 2 more wins. And all this despite the fact that Dhoni toured much more outside Asia than Misbah.

[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION], Misbah has led from the front

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Most runs as Test captain <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://t.co/Et3ETTInH3">pic.twitter.com/Et3ETTInH3</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/859483426138849280">May 2, 2017</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Misbah's batting average in Tests as captain. Better than:<br>Steve Waugh<br>Inzamam<br>Michael Clarke<br>R Ponting<br>S Tendulkar<br>J Miandad<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/859458893533073408">May 2, 2017</a></blockquote>

Misbah is the 9th highest scorer as captain, and have the 3rd best average in the top 10. Dhoni is nowhere near top 10 in that list and he averages 40 odd as captain.

Dhoni has no 100 outside Asia and only one 100 outside India (which was on a batting paradise in Pakistan where a guy like Afridi outscored him).

Misbah's 100 at Lord's is better than any test innings Dhoni has played, it was a display of sheer determination which is a core attribute of any great test batsmen.

Saying Misbah was not technically perfect and not a complete batsman, is the same as saying sky is blue. You don't have to be a perfect textbook batsman to become a great batsman, Miandad says Hi!.

And since when performing against Lateral movement, become a measuring scale of a good batsman?! No one is saying Misbah is an ATG, You can't judge a fish by its ability to climb tree, that's just nitpicking 101, looking for small or unimportant errors or faults, especially in order to criticize unnecessarily, fussy fault-finding. Dhoni also averaged 19 in Aus, 26 in SA and 22 in WI (lol) no surprise that you didnt mention Dhoni's failures in your biased post. For example, Ponting also struggled in India , averaged 26 there, that means he's not a great batsman? Positive outweigh his negatives, so that does no effect his greatness. Your measuring standards of a batsman is the definition of personal biased BS that's oven-baked for more time than it should've been. If you want nit-picking competition then believe me I can give you a tough time and I'll bring the other greats in debate, but it is useless here, mud slinging is not what I like when the image is clear to the whole world except you.

Misbah outclasses Dhoni in every department, I mean give me a break, at least compare someone who averages closer to Misbah. You are saying Dhoni is not too far off Misbah in test cricket, when he averaged 9 runs less than him and has no 100 outside Asia, that's a big difference, Dhoni is a home-track bully. You have be some kind of Indian Desh Bhagat with national pride at stake, to say otherwise. Misbah will be remembered as a better test captain and batsman than Dhoni in world cricket. The whole world knows this, but of course nothing is stopping you from fan-girling Dhoni and defending him because he's one of your favorites. Your way of categorising Indian and Pakistani players, is akin to Varna (Hindu caste system), in which Brahmins the master race are Indian players, they are the overlords and Shudras the lowlifes are Pakistani players. you can believe what you want that wouldn't change the facts and stats, and the reputation of both as test players, in which Misbah is much superior.

Dhoni is a way better ODI player and a captain than Misbah so calm your horses down and come back to reality

80 sixes
505 fours

That's 2500 runs in 4s and 6s.
Nearly 50% of his career total.
[MENTION=133397]WebGuru[/MENTION] [MENTION=135134]CricketAnalyst[/MENTION]
Where does misbah rank amongst batsmen who have scored the highest percentage in tests threw boudaries?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">81 Test sixes now for Misbah-ul-Haq. Goes level with KP and joint 11th on the all-time list of most 6s in Test cricket <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/WIvPAK?src=hash">#WIvPAK</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/862740356609323008">May 11, 2017</a></blockquote>

Misbah > MSD in Test Cricket (Batting).

Dhoni's records may not look that great because he has been part of more overseas challenges than Misbah and he skipped playing minnows like Zimbabwe unlike Misbah.

His home average is 46. again playing against quality teams most of the times and pitches had more for bowlers
in India than on flat roads of UAE.
in England he averages 37 after 12 games.
in New Zealand 54.

He struggled in Aus,SL and SA just like Misbah he has average in the 20s in these countries. So I would say it's even steven. but if it came to choosing between Misbah and Dhoni in tests as a batsman I would definitely go with Dhoni. Much better and more skilled batsman to watch.