Modi has dodged every failure till date but will Covid-19 mismanagement be final nail in the coffin?

This thread is a live example what is wrong with Indian liberals and why they have been rejected thoroughly. All I did was share a poll where Modi's approval rating is highest among all global leaders and they lost their mind. Now they are writing essays after essays hoping for a retribution in 2024 or atleast in 2029. There is a famous Anil Kapoor meme 'Bolne De takleef hua bechare ko' comes to mind in this situation. Hilarious predicament.

This is a democracy. What will happen in 2024 or in 2029 people of India will decide. I remember even before 2019 the same thing was said. I mean lets be honest - How much you tried, How very much you tried, How desperately you tried that Rahul will save you or a Priyanka will save you. Forget about being PM, people didnt even elected him in his own constituency and he ran away to Kerala.

Anyway past is past. I would like to wish my liberal brothers all the best for 2024, 2029 or even 2034. Come fully prepared and will see what happens. Why so much rush yaar? Its a democracy afterall.

But one request, try to accept the mandate of people either for or against you. Dont be like Ashok Swain who after 2019 results famously said "People of India are biggest enemy of this country".

See some posters are saying election results are not reputable. Another is saying India is artificial and wants it to break into smaller parts.

As long as their choice was in power, they were ok. When their choice loses its bad.

None of them will post these views on their pers9 FB accounts because it will invite brick bats and possible legal ramifications. Hence vent out frustrations on a pakistani forum so that they can have the false sense of getting support.

It is sad to see how divided Indians are in 2020. Fascism is destroying India.

Wouldn't mind seeing the back of PM Modi. Doesn't seem to like Pakistan very much.

Iam going to vote for N.O.T.A,I suggest all of you to do the same.

Sorry but NOTA option was created for the idiot class of voters. If all but one people vote NOTA and one person votes for a candidate, the candidate wins. Always vote for the least worst candidate. Or the party if you prefer party over candidate.

Modi has only removed the fake secular plastic and shown what india truly was.

This is an interesting point here. Many have of course pointed to a significant disjuncture from the past. Yet these shifts can also conceal some lines of continuity, as suggested by the above quote. To make this point a few comments on two areas of continuity.

Firstly, while many that belonged to Congress were resolutely secularists much historical work has revealed that there was dissonance between the messages from the Congress high command and the actual operation of politics at the local level, which was often laced with Hindu symbolism and connections to Hindu nationalist ideas. As the veteran party member, V. Krishnamachari observed in 1953: “The real truth is that many of the so-called Congressmen in Tamil Nadu are only communalists in Congress garb.” This was in fact similar to Nehru’s comment in his autobiography, “many a Congressman was a communalist under his national cloak.”

Secondly, on the economy, it is of course undeniable that the state directed planned economy, with its bureaucratic ‘Licence Raj’ system has been significantly reformed. Yet the past is not wholly irrelevant. The heavily regulated system that earlier Congress administrations put in place encouraged entrepreneurs to seek ‘favours’ from bureaucrats and politicians to win licences and to bend and navigate the maze of rules. The state’s presence in the economy meant it could not be ignored by businesses. A culture of influence peddling and lobbying emerged which favoured big business as they had the resources to exploit the system. The foundations for crony capitalism, the culture of collusion between big business and politicians that has been so apparent in this century, were therefore present in an earlier age. With the increasing growth in India’s economy since 1991, the scope and scale of graft has increased, strengthening the nexus between influential industrialists, bureaucrats and politicians.

This is an interesting point here. Many have of course pointed to a significant disjuncture from the past. Yet these shifts can also conceal some lines of continuity, as suggested by the above quote. To make this point a few comments on two areas of continuity.

Firstly, while many that belonged to Congress were resolutely secularists much historical work has revealed that there was dissonance between the messages from the Congress high command and the actual operation of politics at the local level, which was often laced with Hindu symbolism and connections to Hindu nationalist ideas. As the veteran party member, V. Krishnamachari observed in 1953: “The real truth is that many of the so-called Congressmen in Tamil Nadu are only communalists in Congress garb.” This was in fact similar to Nehru’s comment in his autobiography, “many a Congressman was a communalist under his national cloak.”

I feel embarrassed that a poster of your caliber quoted a poster like me.

I tried to write a post on the hindutva character of the congress of the past (nehru being an exception) till rajiv gandhi and PVN Rao, but discarded it. Wasn't fit to be something you would read.

Marketing:

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">India’s GDP growth for FY 20 at 4.2%<br>India’s GDP growth rate for Q4 FY 20 at 3.1%<br>India has done better than most of the projections for Q4</p>— Sudhir Chaudhary (@sudhirchaudhary) <a href="https://twitter.com/sudhirchaudhary/status/1266346952792260608?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 29, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Reality

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">India’s GDP Growth in 2019-2020 <br><br>Q1: 5.2%<br>Q2: 4.4% <br>Q3: 4.1%<br>Q4: 3.1% <br><br>The latest Q4 data is for Jan-March 2020. The lockdown only started on 25th March, so this is pretty much before Corona caused Economic Crisis hit. <br><br>This is a result of Govt’s failed policies.</p>— Dhruv Rathee (@dhruv_rathee) <a href="https://twitter.com/dhruv_rathee/status/1266371855268470787?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 29, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Continuing the PROUD tradition of humiliation and ownage.

Chahe kuch bhi ho jaaye, ownage tho hona hi hai. :D

We don't need Harvard.

We need hard work.

No Modiji.

We neither need Harvard nor hard work.

Just someone with brains and some shame. :))

The only thing that should have happened after independence is that we should have broken into smaller, more manageable chunks which among other things would have meant that you would be sitting on your haunches and chewing paan in Bihar-UP and not leaching my tax money like a bottomless pit.
Oof

Actually South was pretty poor after Independence only Bombay and Bengal state were earning 3/4th of the income for the entire country and both of them took it upon themselves reluctantly but thanks to Nehruvian politics to support the entire country.

https://scroll.in/article/875649/a-short-history-of-the-first-finance-commission-and-why-bengal-was-livid-with-it

Actually South was pretty poor after Independence only Bombay and Bengal state were earning 3/4th of the income for the entire country and both of them took it upon themselves reluctantly but thanks to Nehruvian politics to support the entire country.

The question of richer states given money to poorer states also raises other questions:
1. Should a mineral rich state get the right to use the revenue for its local people, without the center deciding it.
2. On what basis will the center decide new colleges, hospitals, SeZs. Why should Delhi get AIIMS and not Calcutta, why HAL is in Bangalore and not Bihar?

The tax money is the least that can be given to the poorer states for the step motherly treatment from the center.

Yeah, he really did a number on his voters, especially the poor and daily labourers who were fooled to vote in the name of religion. Hope they learned some lessons out of this or else there's really no future for them under Modi.

The more desperate people become, the more their faith in him grows.

It's a bit like God and religion actually.

I tried to write a post on the hindutva character of the congress of the past (nehru being an exception) till rajiv gandhi and PVN Rao, but discarded it.

I am here to learn as well. Your idea sounds interesting. You should write it.

India is at #6 now in terms of number of cases.

At this speed, it's going to be #2 very soon.

Trump and Modi have been disasterous managers of Covid-19

Ok then, so what should they have done better ?

A lot of things to learn from countries that have successfully managed this pandemic.

All said and done, the government must immediately put to bin it's plans of unlockng the nation when we are going through the worst and most severe phase of community transmission.

India has surpassed Italy and Spain to reach #5 in the list of most cases.

Modi is nearing Trump.

A lot of things to learn from countries that have successfully managed this pandemic.

All said and done, the government must immediately put to bin it's plans of unlockng the nation when we are going through the worst and most severe phase of community transmission.

There is nothing game changing India could have done any differently . With 1.5 billion ppl no strategy would have prevented a mass spread, it is just reality. Just hope a cure is not too far along..

Which genius has advised them to go for an Unlock however when we are in the middle of our Covid19 peak bro? Can you imagine the situation when these already stupid people are set loose in malls and restaurants

Modi institutes a covid fund called PM-Cares and doesn't even bother to tell the public how the money is being spent or how much has been collected despited repeated requests. Seems like a scandal to me..

Indian posters, any thoughts on this ?

https://mumbaimirror.indiatimes.com...-about-pm-cares-fund/articleshow/76204110.cms

I hope this wont turn into a Kerala type situation where those cold blooded Malayalee politicians took all the funds for themselves which was donated for the Tsunami crisis at the time..

If an election is held in India today, Modi will again win a landslide. Hindutva is a winning issue in India.

What should have Modi done better?

Step 1 - Read through the coronavirus in India thread starting from march posts (our testing in the intial stages were LOW even tho we had the capacity to do a LOT more - all the data and sources given in there)

Step 2 - Read this joint press statement by medical bodies (they detail it out)

https://www.iphaonline.org/wp-conte...nt-plan-May-25-2020_Shorter-version-final.pdf

Govt constitutes a Covid Task force and doesn't even listen to it properly.

Caravan has been reporting it for long.

And now with this press release, everything is crystal clear.

What should have Modi done better?

Step 1 - Read through the coronavirus in India thread starting from march posts (our testing in the intial stages were LOW even tho we had the capacity to do a LOT more - all the data and sources given in there)

Step 2 - Read this joint press statement by medical bodies (they detail it out)

https://www.iphaonline.org/wp-conte...nt-plan-May-25-2020_Shorter-version-final.pdf

Govt constitutes a Covid Task force and doesn't even listen to it properly.

Caravan has been reporting it for long.

And now with this press release, everything is crystal clear.

Wouldnt have made any difference, at best it may have delayed the inevitable. At 1.5 billion ppl India was always going to be in a mess they cant get out off..

Hindsight is great thing, shouldve couldve, but the result here would not have been any different (only a matter of time).

Inb4 the Pseudo Secular Indians come in to score another goal in a goalpost without a goalie..

Wouldnt have made any difference, at best it may have delayed the inevitable. At 1.5 billion ppl India was always going to be in a mess they cant get out off..

Hindsight is great thing, shouldve couldve, but the result here would not have been any different (only a matter of time).

Inb4 the Pseudo Secular Indians come in to score another goal in a goalpost without a goalie..

It's not hinsight.

My posts are a proof of that.

----

Read them.

You asked for data.

I provided data.

You didn't even bother to check the data and say it wouldn't have made a difference.

GHANTA it would't have.

It would have.

Medical professional says so.

----

I thought you would argue based on reason but seems like you just have made up your mind.

That's sad.

But it doesn't matter.

Facts are facts.

And people who voiced their concerns earlier were ACTUALLY proven right and the hinsight logic is just pure garbage.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">This is what a failed lockdown looks like. <a href="https://t.co/eGXpNL6Zhl">pic.twitter.com/eGXpNL6Zhl</a></p>— Rahul Gandhi (@RahulGandhi) <a href="https://twitter.com/RahulGandhi/status/1268888815340421122?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 5, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Pappu ji owning Modi ji again and again. :P

----

I thought you would argue based on reason but seems like you just have made up your mind.

That's sad.

But it doesn't matter.

Look I don't trust any of the figures coming out of India or Pakistan, all of it imo is wrong and WAYYYYY Off. Anyway, I go back to my previous argument, India with 1.5 Billion ppl was an impossible task no matter how you tried to contain the Chinese virus, it was only a matter of time before it became out of control in India...

Look, I don't believe anyone is saying Covid could have been smoothly controlled in India.

It would have been ugly regardless.

But just cos it would be ugly doesn't absolve people from all responsibilities.

India actually got a headstart compared to EU and USA and we still blew it.

They made SO many obvious mistakes it's crazy.

It's like getting 20 marks in a tough exam and saying it's tough so it doesn't matter.

Pakistan have flopped too.

While I haven't followed their progress closely, based on how Immy was dealing with it in March, I am not too surprised.

I feel Modi will do something out of the extraordinary soon. He's not the smartest man in the world.

Look, I don't believe anyone is saying Covid could have been smoothly controlled in India.

It would have been ugly regardless.

But just cos it would be ugly doesn't absolve people from all responsibilities.

India actually got a headstart compared to EU and USA and we still blew it.

They made SO many obvious mistakes it's crazy.

It's like getting 20 marks in a tough exam and saying it's tough so it doesn't matter.

Pakistan have flopped too.

While I haven't followed their progress closely, based on how Immy was dealing with it in March, I am not too surprised.

Not saying that the government is beyond blame but for the most part, it is the 'Indians', a considerable number of them, who have blown it.

People in India, even the so-called 'educated' ones, have been so careless and inconsiderate over this issue that it beggars belief.

When cases started dipping late last year most Indians threw all caution to the winds, stopped wearing masks and forgot all about social distancing. How so many people could indulge in such large scale idiocy is beyond my comprehension.

Even now there are a sizeable number of Indians who are planning holidays abroad. Instead of wondering why countries all over the world are putting restrictions on Indians, they're all discussing ways to evade/bypass them. To hell with the world and the pandemic, they still want their photo ops in Europe to forward to their imbecile brigade on whatsapp!

My blood boils at the way the people in my country of origin are behaving!

And they blame it all on the government. How typically Indian! Acting like morons and blaming someone else is something the whole bloody country is expert at.

And the worst part? After all this passes, they'll get back to their 'normal' read self-destructive ways. No lessons will be learnt.

Every Indian who has ventured out without a mask, avoided social distancing or violated curfews without reason in the last six months has blood on his/her hands. I hope all these fools come down with COVID and never see the light of the day again.

I think Modi will win even greater mandate in the next Indian election. The overwhelming majority of Hindus support him.

I mean he can always start a war with Pak if he is ever in the danger of losing an election...

I heard that always helps....

If this isn't the end of Modi and BJP then nothing ever will. I have little hope from my countrymen to get rid of BJP, time will tell whether we continue to remain stupid or throw these idiots out.

Bjp hasnt lost anything. They retained Assam. Won Pondicherry. Became LoP in Bengal.

When cases started dipping late last year most Indians threw all caution to the winds, stopped wearing masks and forgot all about social distancing. How so many people could indulge in such large scale idiocy is beyond my comprehension.

t.

Plenty of Americans have done the same when their cases went down, in fact in red states, mask wearing is even less prevalent than in Indian metros. Yet their cases show no sign of rising suddenly the way it did in India in April

India got hit badly by this new variant.

Just explain one thing to me:
Indians have been behaving the way they are from October to March, a whole 6 months, and yet cases remained very low compared to the September peak. Then all hell broke loose in April. If it was behavior to blame then cases would have gone up way back like in January or February itself

It is fashionable to blame mask wearing and social distancing for rising cases, but as said if you look at America, cases have gone down even in states where few wear masks and vaccination rates are lower

Plenty of Americans have done the same when their cases went down, in fact in red states, mask wearing is even less prevalent than in Indian metros. Yet their cases show no sign of rising suddenly the way it did in India in April

India got hit badly by this new variant.

Just explain one thing to me:
Indians have been behaving the way they are from October to March, a whole 6 months, and yet cases remained very low compared to the September peak. Then all hell broke loose in April. If it was behavior to blame then cases would have gone up way back like in January or February itself

It is fashionable to blame mask wearing and social distancing for rising cases, but as said if you look at America, cases have gone down even in states where few wear masks and vaccination rates are lower

It’s these super spreader events like kumbh mela and election rallies. US saw a huge surge around election time too.

The US saw a spike in January and not after elections.
Elections were done by early November and huge number of Americans used ballots because of Covid

Kumbh obviously was a huge factor, but the variant is deadly

The Mela just helped spread this deadlier variant to villages and towns across in a very quick way.

Look at the farmer protests in mid January where lakhs of people gathered, did you see a huge spike in Delhi or Punjab just after it? You did not.

However if this new variant was active in India back in January, the farmer protests would have led to a catastrophe in Punjab/Haryana by mid February

The US saw a spike in January and not after elections.
Elections were done by early November and huge number of Americans used ballots because of Covid

That’s not true. The US surge went from
October to Jan where it consistently kept going up. Election rallies were going on since September and it coincided with a 2 week delay

PM Modi Holds Highest 'Approval Rating' Among World Leaders Handling the Pandemic: Report

Interesting.
Yeah. Very interesting.

But one request, try to accept the mandate of people either for or against you. Dont be like Ashok Swain who after 2019 results famously said "People of India are biggest enemy of this country".
Good time to apply this to yourself and accept your state's results :)

That’s not true. The US surge went from
October to Jan where it consistently kept going up. Election rallies were going on since September and it coincided with a 2 week delay

Not really, most places in the US were increasing very slightly between September and Thanksgiving. The December to New Year period is when you saw a huge jump.

Indoors transmission is a bigger thing than outdoors .

Which is why Texas and the South saw cases rise in July/August, and the Northeast and colder states saw cases rise in December

Not really, most places in the US were increasing very slightly between September and Thanksgiving. The December to New Year period is when you saw a huge jump.

Indoors transmission is a bigger thing than outdoors .

Which is why Texas and the South saw cases rise in July/August, and the Northeast and colder states saw cases rise in December

This is not the truths. The December to new year period saw a jump as well but mind you there were protests at the time too

Not saying that the government is beyond blame but for the most part, it is the 'Indians', a considerable number of them, who have blown it.

People in India, even the so-called 'educated' ones, have been so careless and inconsiderate over this issue that it beggars belief.

Even now there are a sizeable number of Indians who are planning holidays abroad. Instead of wondering why countries all over the world are putting restrictions on Indians, they're all discussing ways to evade/bypass them. To hell with the world and the pandemic, they still want their photo ops in Europe to forward to their imbecile brigade on whatsapp!

My blood boils at the way the people in my country of origin are behaving!

And they blame it all on the government. How typically Indian! Acting like morons and blaming someone else is something the whole bloody country is expert at.

And the worst part? After all this passes, they'll get back to their 'normal' read self-destructive ways. No lessons will be learnt.

I don't disagree with your point but you are missing the point bhai.

Our people are scums.

But that doesn't mean govt will sit back and do nothing and then complain what can I do? There must be accountability.

Had the govt tried its best and still the cases surged, no one would blame it.

Kerala govt for example.

Not being from India, I don't exactly know the gravity of the situation but from what I'm hearing, the vaccine roll-out could have been better on Modi's part. However, the extent to which these vaccines can even combat the deadly Indian variant is something I don't know, hence I cannot comment much about Modi's longevity as PM.

Though the government should have done more to stop the current spike (including restrictions on the Kumbh Mela), there really isn't any alternative to BJP in the Center.

BJP lost in West Bengal, but regional leaders like Mamata are no alternatives. There are a dozen regional leaders and they will never be able to work together in a coalition. The regional fragmentation is even worse than it was back in the 1970s when the Janata Party was in power.

True.

There's no credible opposition to Modi.

Maybe the only chance is for all parties to band together and make Arvind Kejriwal the PM candidate.

That will be a good battle.

All this Mamta, Pawar, Tharoor and co will be crushed by Modi in Lok Sabha 2024.

Kejri is a totally different kettle of fish.

All in all, India is screwed. lol.

Nation down in the dumps.

True.

Maybe the only chance is for all parties to band together and make Arvind Kejriwal the PM candidate.

All this Mamta, Pawar, Tharoor and co will be crushed by Modi in Lok Sabha 2024.

What makes Arvind so credible?

It is sad to see how divided Indians are in 2020. Fascism is destroying India.

One can draw so many parallels with US over the political atmosphere except Trump got kicked out of the White House and was disgraced after being banned from even social media platforms whereas, Modi still seems to enjoy fair bit of support by indians.

True.

Hell, no! You overrate Kejriwal too much!

One can draw so many parallels with US over the political atmosphere except Trump got kicked out of the White House and was disgraced after being banned from even social media platforms whereas, Modi still seems to enjoy fair bit of support by indians.

You cannot compare the Indian society with western society. Westerners are secular by nature and largely egalitarian. You have to compare Indian society with fellow south asian countries only because of the huge culture differences between western society and south asian society.

In western societies, if there are right wingers, there would be an equal number of people not subscribing to a right wing ideology if not more. In south asia, everyone is almost always a right winger.

What makes Arvind so credible?
Nothing. He is a big failure whenever he steps out of Delhi. Even in Delhi, he lost 14/14 LS seats since he gained prominence in '13.

So no, he isn't an alternative at center.

Nothing. He is a big failure whenever he steps out of Delhi. Even in Delhi, he lost 14/14 LS seats since he gained prominence in '13.

So no, he isn't an alternative at center.

The only alternative to the BJP at the centre is a strong Congress sans the Gandhis.

And we know how likely that is to happen.

The only alternative to the BJP at the centre is a strong Congress sans the Gandhis.

And we know how likely that is to happen.
If Gandhis had best interests of at least the Congress (forget nation) in their hearts, they would have simply moved away from India's political scene by now, after what so many abject failures.

But no! They're made of sterner stuff and won't give away the throne so easily which is a pity as we do deserve a solid alternative which quite simply Congress under Gandhis isn't able to provide for years now.

And lot of people are saying that Mamata could be an alternative at center, mostly due to euphoria being generated post her win in WB polls. I don't think she is. She is strictly a parochial Bengali lady who doesn't have it in her to take on such a big role.

Looks like TMC goons has been killing, raping and looting the houses of all people who voted for BJP in the polls.

Mamata Banerjee is trash. I have seen the lady speak once. For a leftie, she sounds totally illiterate and dumb.

And lot of people are saying that Mamata could be an alternative at center, mostly due to euphoria being generated post her win in WB polls. I don't think she is. She is strictly a parochial Bengali lady who doesn't have it in her to take on such a big role.

Mamata is a Don and her party workers are certified goons. They are going on a rampage against BJP workers in West Bengal and all the people that voted for BJP. This is 2021 and these people are still living in stone age. Shameful post poll violence. I thought settling scores was a thing of the past. How wrong I was. India never ceases to amaze me.

Bengal and Kerala are two places I always read about political violence happening every now and then.

Kerala probably not the same extent as Bengal but it has active student politics and have read about killings of student leaders from various factions, be it the RSS (ABVP?) or communists or SDPI (or is it SFI?)..

Bengal and Kerala are two places I always read about political violence happening every now and then.

Kerala probably not the same extent as Bengal but it has active student politics and have read about killings of student leaders from various factions, be it the RSS (ABVP?) or communists or SDPI (or is it SFI?)..

Bengal is a land of intellectuals.

NOT!!!

Pretty standard for their to be violence when the communists are powerful. Like religious fanatics they believe they are right and the rest are evil. This is true not only in Kerala and Bengal but also the rest of the world.

TMC is not communist but the CPM goonda cadres found a new home in it.

Anyone who thinks Mamata is a leader, needs to come to Bengal. Rahul Gandhi Congress and Left Front were better.

It’s mostly ABVP against SFI/ DYFI or SDPI/IUML against SFI/ DYFI. That’s how most of the Political fight occurs. Sometimes they kill one of their owns too.

The murder of TP Chandrasekharan (founder of RMP, a breakaway group of CPI/M) was actually planned and executed by CPM. That case is very disturbing like every other political murder. But his widow won the assembly election this time in that constituency. Tbh we all wanted her to win there and sit in opposition against the Pinarayi.

Modi is not going anywhere at least for a few years. He has enough supporters in India who will ensure he carries on nail or no nail:afridi Modi's ignorance and mismanagement is good for us Pakistanis. lagge raho!

One day things will catch up with this butcher of Gujarat. Though, I can’t see him go anytime soon. Out PM Boris s meant to visit him sometime this year and will surely get one of those tight weird hugs from him. Creepy.

It’s mostly ABVP against SFI/ DYFI or SDPI/IUML against SFI/ DYFI. That’s how most of the Political fight occurs. Sometimes they kill one of their owns too.

The murder of TP Chandrasekharan (founder of RMP, a breakaway group of CPI/M) was actually planned and executed by CPM. That case is very disturbing like every other political murder. But his widow won the assembly election this time in that constituency. Tbh we all wanted her to win there and sit in opposition against the Pinarayi.

Why this specific combination?

Don't the ABVP and SDPI/IUML have any issues with each other?

So all vote NOTA...then what happens to the nation lol.

If you gonna vote NOTA, you might as well vote for BJP.

This is a poor way of thinking and shows your intolerance. People vote for different reason, if someone's conscience doesn't allow them to vote for any corrupt representative rather than choosing the lesser of the evils, it's absolutely fine.

The problem with thinking like yours is that you always chose the lesser of two evils and when the lesser evil comes in power and starts becoming a bigger evil, you don't have any answers.

Let me tell you something, do you know what political parties are scared of the most?
HINT: it's not losing elections.

Think about it and tell me what you believe is the answer to this question.

How Iam going vote for BJP if I vote for NOTA?

Do not listen to the other guy, he isn't giving you any good advice and is intolerant himself just like right wingers.

Your vote is your own, if your conscience doesn't allow you to cast vote to any corrupt candidate then don't.

This is a poor way of thinking and shows your intolerance. People vote for different reason, if someone's conscience doesn't allow them to vote for any corrupt representative rather than choosing the lesser of the evils, it's absolutely fine.

The problem with thinking like yours is that you always chose the lesser of two evils and when the lesser evil comes in power and starts becoming a bigger evil, you don't have any answers.

Let me tell you something, do you know what political parties are scared of the most?
HINT: it's not losing elections.

Think about it and tell me what you believe is the answer to this question.

SIF is right. NOTA has zero electoral significance other than assuaging our moral conscience.

Say for example party A is fascist and corrupt. And you believe that party B is corrupt too and because you don't want to vote for the "lesser of two evils", you vote for NOTA. But what you have effectively done is you have not exercised your vote. Voting for NOTA means you saying to the election commission that make my vote invalid in the said election. Again, it's your right to cast whatever vote but it's just that you didn't have to make all the way to the election booth for doing that, you could've just refrained from voting in your home.

And yes, when there are two evils, voting for the lesser of the two evils is always the right thing to do, particularly when the greater evil is more popular. Because not voting or voting for NOTA effectively means one less vote against the greater evil, which is essentially a vote for them. This is a bit like the centrism debate. When you feel there's something bad happening in your eyes, you are either for it or against it. You don't say nah I'll rather be centrist in my views here, which is essentially endorsing the said thing happening.

SIF is right. NOTA has zero electoral significance other than assuaging our moral conscience.

Say for example party A is fascist and corrupt. And you believe that party B is corrupt too and because you don't want to vote for the "lesser of two evils", you vote for NOTA. But what you have effectively done is you have not exercised your vote. Voting for NOTA means you saying to the election commission that make my vote invalid in the said election. Again, it's your right to cast whatever vote but it's just that you didn't have to make all the way to the election booth for doing that, you could've just refrained from voting in your home.

And yes, when there are two evils, voting for the lesser of the two evils is always the right thing to do, particularly when the greater evil is more popular. Because not voting or voting for NOTA effectively means one less vote against the greater evil, which is essentially a vote for them. This is a bit like the centrism debate. When you feel there's something bad happening in your eyes, you are either for it or against it. You don't say nah I'll rather be centrist in my views here, which is essentially endorsing the said thing happening.

If you truly want good governance in a country then NOTA is the only choice. If you continue choosing corrupt candidates albeit the lesser of the evils you will continue getting people like Modi.

I ask you the same question, tell me what does political parties fear the most? If you understand the answer to this question, you will understand why NOTA is important in grand scheme of things.

If you truly want good governance in a country then NOTA is the only choice. If you continue choosing corrupt candidates albeit the lesser of the evils you will continue getting people like Modi.

I ask you the same question, tell me what does political parties fear the most? If you understand the answer to this question, you will understand why NOTA is important in grand scheme of things.

What do political parties fear the most?

They fear re-elections the most. An election campaign is worth crores, from government Babu's, to contractors, to small business unions, to big business houses money is sent to party for election campaign.

When they win the elections these same Babu's, businessmen are given favour by the government in form of transfer to good (good here means money making) department, promotions, contracts, bank loans from government loans, tax chori etc etc

The public you see in rallies, the posters you see on the streets, the TV and radio ads you see, social media advertisements etc everything costs a lot and are paid to by above.
Why do you think in absence of full majority parties buys MLA's or tie up with their arch rivals rather than going for re-elections?

It's because in case of re-election, who will give them money? If they collect more money from the above sources, they will have to return more favours, if they take more from others they will have to return favours to more.

The only way to have political parties set good candidates is to hurt them where it pains, their money stream. The only way you can do that is by causing re-election. And the only chance of having a re-election is everyone outrightedly rejects all candidates, then a PIL is filed in SC court and maybe the court will deem the elections void if 80%+ votes are cast to NOTA.

That is the only way you will ever get good candidates, is it possible or practical? Probably not, but unless you strive to achieve the idealistic situation, you won't know.

They fear re-elections the most. An election campaign is worth crores, from government Babu's, to contractors, to small business unions, to big business houses money is sent to party for election campaign.

When they win the elections these same Babu's, businessmen are given favour by the government in form of transfer to good (good here means money making) department, promotions, contracts, bank loans from government loans, tax chori etc etc

The public you see in rallies, the posters you see on the streets, the TV and radio ads you see, social media advertisements etc everything costs a lot and are paid to by above.
Why do you think in absence of full majority parties buys MLA's or tie up with their arch rivals rather than going for re-elections?

It's because in case of re-election, who will give them money? If they collect more money from the above sources, they will have to return more favours, if they take more from others they will have to return favours to more.

The only way to have political parties set good candidates is to hurt them where it pains, their money stream. The only way you can do that is by causing re-election. And the only chance of having a re-election is everyone outrightedly rejects all candidates, then a PIL is filed in SC court and maybe the court will deem the elections void if 80%+ votes are cast to NOTA.

That is the only way you will ever get good candidates, is it possible or practical? Probably not, but unless you strive to achieve the idealistic situation, you won't know.