Mohammad Azharuddin claims India are good enough to field two teams in the ICC Under-19 World Cup

hadi123

Such is the strength in depth of India’s U-19 squad that Mohammed Azharuddin said they could field two teams.

“They have done really well so far and I hope they make India proud in the final. To have got opponents out for 69 in a World Cup semi-final, it speaks volumes of the kind of talent we have. I think they are good enough to make another India team,” said the former India captain here on Tuesday referring to the big win in Christchurch.

“We have won the under-19 World Cup a number of times and Inshallah, I hope they bring the cup back again,” said Azharuddin, on the sidelines of DPS North Kolkata’s annual sports day where he was the chief guest.

That some of these teenagers were picked up for eight-figure sums at the IPL auction last weekend augurs well for them, he said. If they are given the right conditions, India could well get the next generation’s Jaspreet Bumrah and Hardik Pandya, said the man who rates Kolkata’s Eden Gardens as his favourite cricket ground.

When the conversation shifted to the India seniors, Azharuddin felt India were unlucky to have lost the Test series 1-2 to South Africa and rated Virat Kohli’s men as favourites for the one-dayers.

“We have a good side and we should be able to beat them. We have a good bowling unit and hopefully for the one-dayers we will get wickets that favour batsmen a little more. So I am hoping our batsmen will click,” he said.

Azharuddin couldn’t praise India’s bowlers enough for their show in South Africa. “I think we must complement the bowlers. If we get wickets like this (the kind India got in South Africa), we will be a handful for any opposition. We have proved that on such surfaces we can bowl the opposition out and we have proved that in this series.”

For him, the victory at Wanderers was one of the best India have ever achieved abroad. “On a very tough wicket, we played like a No. 1 team. It was good to regain some prestige and I think the bowlers need to be praised for the job they did. They really put the South Africa batsmen under pressure,” said Azharuddin.

Azharuddin felt India were a “wee bit unlucky” that the series didn’t go their way. But ‘like everybody in India’ he felt Ajinkya Rahane and Bhuvneshwar Kumar should not have been dropped during the series.

“Sure, they could have played a different team but then the captain and the team thought differently. Outside the team and everybody in India felt Ajinkya and Bhuvi should have played. But every captain has his say,” he said, adding that there is nothing unusual about the kind of sway Virat Kohli has on the team now.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...-azharuddin/story-Kjn27PHCzNrZ3gjtsAdhjO.html

Yeah like the two so called ODI teams we could field and still.managed to lose CT final. Kuch bhi

Lol at least Kohli dropped them with some sort of justification for it. This fixer would've dropped guys like that just to make a quick buck.

Yeah like the two so called ODI teams we could field and still.managed to lose CT final. Kuch bhi

Have been reaching semis and finals for last 4-5 years easily in all ICC tourny. You can't deny that Pakistan lifted their lots of weight above specially for the finals, and india were beaten. His statements are not far fetched. There is lots of talents. That's why IPL is here and it's thriving.

As well as they can manage to put one team on FIFA as well. Phenkne ki bhi hud hoti hai

Is that why they were thrashed in the Asia cup recently ??
Stupid statement . Infact even this side depends on one or two class players.

Is that why they were thrashed in the Asia cup recently ??
Stupid statement . Infact even this side depends on one or two class players.

Their bowling is good, and in batting Shubman Gill is by far the best - heck he is good enough to be in the senior side. Shaw seemed a little over-hyped but still better than the others in the side. None of the others seemed anything amazing to me.

This Pakistani batting lineup was bowled under 70 by Afghanistan twice just months ago so it's not like India have done something mercurial here. Not trying to take anything away from young Indian young bowlers though, they're actually quite good. It's just that our batting lineup is trash.

They should actually do this in some sort of exhibition match. North India vs South India.

India has a huge population and it would be interesting to see how many quality international standard players they can get in to 2 teams.

This "we can field two teams" never end well. May be they will lose the final. India depends on Gill and Shaw. What if they leave early.

Since they got abundance of talent flowing up, it seems true. The gap between Pakistan and India can only widen in future.

India quite honestly can field 2 teams. There's no two way about it. Whether India wins WC or not, is another matter. One can 2-3 good strong team, yet may not win the cup. Whats the big deal about it.

India's second string team was badly beaten in then U19 Asia cup. So not sure what Azhar means. I think lots of top tier countries can field 2 sets of X1 players.

It is this sort of arrogance which makes India's defeats in finals all the more special for fans across the globe. Embarrassing.

Just wit till 3rd February and Aussies will seal the deal.
T20 World cup final 2014
T20 World cup semi final 2016
ICC Champions Trophy 2017
ICC Women cricket world cup final. 2017