Money spent in different worship places?

big_gamer007

So I was visiting a famous temple down south and inwas shocked at the amount of donations people give in the name of God.. History also tells us that Hindu temples were loaded with gold/silverware which throughout history have been looted by invaders.. Even today there are some temples where hundreds of millions worth donations are received every year if all these donation gold is declared it should boost the Indian economy..

Is it just the Hindu temples which receive such huge donations?? Is it because of idol worship? We have different idols and we have or been brought up in an environment to donate in the “daan patra” of temples to please God?

How is the donations in other religion/regions? For e.g. how much donation does the most famous mosque in Pakistan or any other Muslim country get compared to a Sai Baba temple or a Balaji temple?

Similarly how much money/gold is donated to a famous church somewhere in america or Europe?

I know in Golden temple the donations from expat sikhs run into hundreds of millions every year so Sikhism is kuch like Hinduism in that regards..

So I was visiting a famous temple down south and inwas shocked at the amount of donations people give in the name of God.. History also tells us that Hindu temples were loaded with gold/silverware which throughout history have been looted by invaders.. Even today there are some temples where hundreds of millions worth donations are received every year if all these donation gold is declared it should boost the Indian economy..

Is it just the Hindu temples which receive such huge donations?? Is it because of idol worship? We have different idols and we have or been brought up in an environment to donate in the “daan patra” of temples to please God?

How is the donations in other religion/regions? For e.g. how much donation does the most famous mosque in Pakistan or any other Muslim country get compared to a Sai Baba temple or a Balaji temple?

Similarly how much money/gold is donated to a famous church somewhere in america or Europe?

I know in Golden temple the donations from expat sikhs run into hundreds of millions every year so Sikhism is kuch like Hinduism in that regards..

Pity that our donation goes to the govt coffers, while other religious are free to use their money to strengthen their community.

Our temple donation should be used for free food like in Sikh Langars, and for the welfare of HINDUS.

Pity that our donation goes to the govt coffers, while other religious are free to use their money to strengthen their community.

Our temple donation should be used for free food like in Sikh Langars, and for the welfare of HINDUS.

Ofcourse there are pujaris who own 3-4 flats in Delhi NCR.. The donations should ideally be used for development of society like you said but o well..

Anyways I don’t know about other communities/regions but I would think the donations in Hindu temples are the highest compared to other places of worship.. Do you have idea about other places of worship?

Most of the donations in temples around the countries goes to private trusts, govt doesn't actually benefit much from them. Only a handful of temples are owned/operated by govt. You remember the sting ops last year where money was funneled through temples, during demonetization?

Ofcourse there are pujaris who own 3-4 flats in Delhi NCR.. The donations should ideally be used for development of society like you said but o well..

Anyways I don’t know about other communities/regions but I would think the donations in Hindu temples are the highest compared to other places of worship.. Do you have idea about other places of worship?

How much money have you donated to temples that you are asking how it should be spent?

In US, some mega churches get donations worth millions of dollars.

Don't know how it works for Muslims in Mosques.

Many crooks donate crores of rupees and Gold/Silver in Tirumala Balaji Temple. They involve God in the fraud they do for living.

So what is your point? Should the temples filter donations based on someone with no criminal record? Please elaborate on the point you want to make.

How much money have you donated to temples that you are asking how it should be spent?

Who keeps a track? Even if I donated 1 rupee I have the right to know how that one rupee is is spent.. The temples and trusts which operate the temples show to the world that the money that is being donated will be used for welfare of people and/or animals.. So if I donate even 1 rupee it’s my right to know that rupee is spent as was claimed..

Anyways my post was just to know the difference between different places of worship in terms of donations.. This is getting off track..

In US, some mega churches get donations worth millions of dollars.

Don't know how it works for Muslims in Mosques.

As per you if you have to rank places of worship according to the amount of money they receive how would you rate them?

IMO temples would be day and light above any other place of worship Bt then I don’t know about how it works in other places like Mecca mosque I would asssume gets billions of dollars?

Most of the donations in temples around the countries goes to private trusts, govt doesn't actually benefit much from them. Only a handful of temples are owned/operated by govt. You remember the sting ops last year where money was funneled through temples, during demonetization?

In most cases these private trusts are linked with a political party anyways.. For e.g. the treasurer will be a relative of a sitting MLA or the president would be a businessmen with some political contacts or a retired government employee with decent connections..

The above is from my knowledge and first hand experience of small temples locally here.. Ifnyou know about big trusts can you share if it is the same for them?

As per you if you have to rank places of worship according to the amount of money they receive how would you rate them?

IMO temples would be day and light above any other place of worship Bt then I don’t know about how it works in other places like Mecca mosque I would asssume gets billions of dollars?

Saudi Govt is already floating money in Mecca, Madinah and other sacred places. They make truck load of money from travel agents, airlines, resturants, tax etc during Hajj.

Most of the people here donate our money for the building/maintenance of our local Masjid. Otherwise during the Friday Jummah prayer the Imam announces to which Orphanage these money are going to be sent. Sometimes it's also given to the nearby poor families.

There is another Sunni group here who is building a "Grand Mosque with Prophet's Hair" in it. That received millions of donations from lots of NRI's but the project still have not materialized.

The head of this group is one of the biggest crook in Kerala.

Mosques don`t get that much donation, because not alot of us visit mosques in Pakistan. Plus, the corruption culture has made it such that nowadays no one trusts anybody.

On fridays, in mohallahs, as their alot of people attending the mosque, they take a chadar around to everyone in the mosque for donation.

But the donation covers the bills and costs related to the mosque.

Sikh have a great langar system.

FYI , in most major southern temples (especially in Kerala) , you can see hundis on either side of the door to the sanctum sanctorum . But you will also find a huge open Bowl (of steel/brass) right in front of the diety's door and in line of sight with the pilgrim. Every penny that falls in the bowl is for the head priests taking and only the money going into the Hundis, is for the temple administration. That is the arrangement ..

The head priest of Sabarimala is selected through a tedious selection process by picking one among 8-10 candidates. Each of the candidate supposedly gives around 8-10 lakhs or so , simply to be named in the lot as a candidate for the head priest . And if selected by the end of the sabarimala season (two months) , he comes out around a couple of crores richer simply from the earnings of the bowl.

There is another Sunni group here who is building a "Grand Mosque with Prophet's Hair" in it. That received millions of donations from lots of NRI's but the project still have not materialized.

The head of this group is one of the biggest crook in Kerala.

You mean Nizam ikka ? of the Hummer case ..

Muhammad Nisham is a murderer, should be kept in Jail forever.

I was referring to Kanthapuram A.P. Aboobacker Musliyar, leader of A.P group of Sunnis.

Muhammad Nisham is a murderer, should be kept in Jail forever.

I was referring to Kanthapuram A.P. Aboobacker Musliyar, leader of A.P group of Sunnis.

Lol, the 'holy spit' guy ... I remember watching his Kerala Yathra in 2012 pass through my town, the motorcade was huge. Dude himself was in a pretty Cadillac surrounded by GMC/Dodge SUVs (all US brands for a group that hates the US ! :))) ) ..

I always thought how he gained so much support and wealth. Does he run any businesses ?

FYI , in most major southern temples (especially in Kerala) , you can see hundis on either side of the door to the sanctum sanctorum . But you will also find a huge open Bowl (of steel/brass) right in front of the diety's door and in line of sight with the pilgrim. Every penny that falls in the bowl is for the head priests taking and only the money going into the Hundis, is for the temple administration. That is the arrangement ..

The head priest of Sabarimala is selected through a tedious selection process by picking one among 8-10 candidates. Each of the candidate supposedly gives around 8-10 lakhs or so , simply to be named in the lot as a candidate for the head priest . And if selected by the end of the sabarimala season (two months) , he comes out around a couple of crores richer simply from the earnings of the bowl.

Hmm so corruption everywhere people go into politics for power/money and now people go into priesthood for money/power as well?

What happened to the so called “Bhagwan ki sewa” culture that we had? Or was it just in stories?

I guess those money coming from Private pooja they conduct for house warming and special occasions.Lot of money they can earn outside temples.

Yes but they do earn a lot of money in temple also.. Read post #15 by SandyB about a temple in Kerala..

That's in big temples,smaller temples you will not get much plus its shared among different priests.But they can get far bigger amount doing private poojas,rich families will give lot of money.

Saudi Govt is already floating money in Mecca, Madinah and other sacred places. They make truck load of money from travel agents, airlines, resturants, tax etc during Hajj.

Most of the people here donate our money for the building/maintenance of our local Masjid. Otherwise during the Friday Jummah prayer the Imam announces to which Orphanage these money are going to be sent. Sometimes it's also given to the nearby poor families.

I did not mean money from tourist visits which is something else..

I meant people donating lakhs or crores to a temple or donating gold and stuff.. But yes I got what you said so compared to temples Mosque’s don’t have such a big money/gold donating culture? Why is that so if you think?
[MENTION=140459]SandyB[/MENTION]

I meant people donating lakhs or crores to a temple or donating gold and stuff.. But yes I got what you said so compared to temples Mosque’s don’t have such a big money/gold donating culture? Why is that so if you think?

In India obviously Temples get most donations as we are predominantly Hindu country.But church have lot of expensive land in big cities and also get lot of money through foreign missionaries.

Lol, the 'holy spit' guy ... I remember watching his Kerala Yathra in 2012 pass through my town, the motorcade was huge. Dude himself was in a pretty Cadillac surrounded by GMC/Dodge SUVs (all US brands for a group that hates the US ! :))) ) ..

I always thought how he gained so much support and wealth. Does he run any businesses ?

He is already wealthy. There is significant group of people/NRI's who believes in all this superstitions and donate to their organisation. They have built an Islamic University in Kozhikode (Markazu Saqafathi Sunniyya/ Markaz) which is recognized by the Al-Azhar University of Cairo. There are other such educational institutions that they own.

See this Institution's entrance gate inaugurated by M A Yousafali.
A04V8719-copy.jpgA04V8719-copy.jpg

That's in big temples,smaller temples you will not get much plus its shared among different priests.But they can get far bigger amount doing private poojas,rich families will give lot of money.

In smaller temples also you get decent money unless the temple is pretty small and in rural areas where you will not get enough donations since the people visiting are not that well to do.. But one of a normal temple in my area gets decent donations and everyone who visits outs atleast rs 10-500 in the daan peti...

Ofcourse the priests do private Pooja and earn from there as well and that is their right and nothing wrong with it..

Your name seems like you are an Indian Muslim can you tell me why in mosques compared to temples the culture of donating money/gold is less?

In smaller temples also you get decent money unless the temple is pretty small and in rural areas where you will not get enough donations since the people visiting are not that well to do.. But one of a normal temple in my area gets decent donations and everyone who visits outs atleast rs 10-500 in the daan peti...

Ofcourse the priests do private Pooja and earn from there as well and that is their right and nothing wrong with it..

Your name seems like you are an Indian Muslim can you tell me why in mosques compared to temples the culture of donating money/gold is less?

Lol,why you thought i am Muslim?its just random words i used.

In India obviously Temples get most donations as we are predominantly Hindu country.But church have lot of expensive land in big cities and also get lot of money through foreign missionaries.

So if you go visit a mosque do you normally donate rs 10 or whatever amount in collection box?

Ok nvm my question then laugh out loud I thought your name was Muhammad but I just looked at it closely now and it’s something else..

I guess one of the reasons Mosques doesn't get donations as much as temples do is in Temples you have elaborate poojas daily which requires lot of stuff,don't think mosques conduct any such activities.

Another thing is temples conduct large scales functions during special occasions which again needs more money.Many temples provide free Lunch/Dinner to devotees so one more reason for donations.

Nothing can be added in a mosque like temples. There is a prayer hall which has only mats and Quran on shelf. Then there is a mic and speaker for everyone to hear the Qutbah. There is no much expenses there. Unless it's Mecca and Medina, which mosque you pray doesn't matter much tbh.

For donations we are already giving zakaat to the poor. I guess that part is covered by this way.