My 2X SS TON Limited Edition bats - 1st Impressions

Knightrider

Local Club Regular
These are the two beauties I received today from Ajit (Online Stockist). Older stickers 2010 bat one is 2.8 while other one is 2.11, as you can see they are players willow bats. Both of these bats are top quality and they are top SS bats. The pickup and feel of both of these bats is impressive! The pictures don't do justice but they are huge and comparing the size of the bat with its weight one can easily say these bats are massive!

I tested them with mallet & ball and sound/ping is sooo sweet that I don't think I will need to knock them, overall I am very happy with both bats.

MYSSTWINBATS3.jpg

MYSSTWINBATS6.jpg

MYSSTWINBATS13.jpg

MYSSTWINBATS12.jpg

MYSSTWINBATS11.jpg

MYSSTWINBATS7.jpg

Sorry for the last post i guess, though I didnt know what the problem was........very nice looking bats? Where did u get em? may I ask how much u paid?

Lovely looking bats both look good for there weights.

Which one is 2.8 and which one is 2.11? Also how thick are the edges of these bats?

Both are equally good but what is the difference between 'Players Willow' and other one?

Lovely looking bats both look good for there weights.

Which one is 2.8 and which one is 2.11? Also how thick are the edges of these bats?

Both are equally good but what is the difference between 'Players Willow' and other one?

Both are players willow. The one with edge tape and clear sheet fitted is 2.8 and it has a sticker on the back which says its player willow. The other one has 2011 stickers and players willow is written on the front face of the bat.
2.8 bat has 34/35mm edges, it really is a huge bat for 2.8 and it pick ups like a feather. 2.11lb bat has 36 mm edges and this is also impressive and has good pick and balance for 2.11.

THe 2.8lbs one looks great, in fact, better than 2.11 one I must say.

Lovely bats I hope they go well for you.

Wow, they look like beasts mashallah!

Did Ajit apply the toe guard and anti-scuff sheet, or did you do it yourself?

Wow, they look like beasts mashallah!

Did Ajit apply the toe guard and anti-scuff sheet, or did you do it yourself?

thanks bro,
Ajit applied the toe guards & oiled/knocked in both bats for free and I fitted the anti-scuff sheets myself.

THe 2.8lbs one looks great, in fact, better than 2.11 one I must say.

Lovely bats I hope they go well for you.

your right Uzair bhai, 2.8 one is a special bat and the profile is much better, sweetspot is touch higher and its extended. The other one is also excellent its just the pictures are taken at night and oiling on the bat makes it look little dark.

I played a match on sunday and used Adidas Incurza bat at the start of my innings(great bat) and after a drinks break I changed my and used the 2.8 SS and (kasam se) the 1st shot with the bat went for six. Ping is out of this world, never used any other brand which have matched SS bats performance. SS bats are just the best and this is why so many international and county and IPL players use SS bats.

Yes both are very meaty, lovely pieces of willow and they play very well indeed.

I do enjoy the SS shape, good enough for booming front foot drives as well as back foot punches.

I have played with SS LE (2.12) and it was really good. I was specially impressed with the handle's shock absorption.It is a meaty willow alright. But I still feel that SS Matrix is still the best all round bat produced by them. I used to have a 2008 matrix with 15 grains and it was amazing. It also did not have a big curve and was produced to suit more traditional sources of shot making and perhaps had the lightest pick up of all SS bats (it was around 2.13-2.14). Normally you wouldn't want to use a heavier bat at the top of the order but the pick up was so good that we used it while coming at nos 1,2,3 and 4.

One of my clubmate had SS Matrixx (dumped now) and he used the bat for a season and used it in every game/net and he has good words for the bat! He says it is one of his best bat and I have seen the bat and it does have a good ping. I still remember he sweeped a spinner for a HUGGEE six that the ball went into parking and no one was able to find it!

one of my teammates got a Matrix on his trip to India. it is definitely a top bat and i would say that the sweetspot is quite extended as it pings from the entire hitting area. only the bottom 2-3 cms is not that good. i am definitely impressed by the performance. not quite a fan of the stickers though.

Stickers are not good on SS they cover the whole half....half actually.

The toe was very very weak on my friends SS, I mean he had special sort of toe made which was like white tape and even with that the bat broke from toe.

See many of the top of the line South Asia bats with 10-15 grains are having shorter life spans nowadays. With the Pakistani bats I have felt that the handles have been a weak point. With the Indian SS bats, the blades tend to crack more easily. I have a friend who bought a new SS Professional last year--good looking bat, G1 willow, nice ping. He kept on knocking it in for weeks and the in the fifth game he used the bat, the blade fell apart.

It is not the grains which is making the surface have cracks or decrease life span. Asian bats are soft pressed, hence, they perform very well when new and as you play they cracks on face form because of soft pressing. Hence, bat has shorter life span.

Blade fell apart you mean it split into two pieces?

thanks bro. CC, I got the bats frm Ajit onlinestockist.com

Hi,

Off topic. Have you used light pads (like the GM ones), are they easier to run in and more comfortable? The BoomBoom ones also look light. What about the helmet & gloves? Is it sensible to mix and match companies?

Thanks.

The blade cracked along one of the grain lines as far as I remember...I agree with your statement about bats being soft pressed as it makes more sense. Many non South Asian bats with a lot of grains have a longer longevity because of that. The SS L.E I was talking about belongs to my team captain and he basically never took time to knock it in properly but straightaway started using it and there was great ping from the beginning. I doubt if that would have happened with an English bat.

English bats on other hand are hard pressed compare to Asian bats, they require more knocking and they take time to open up, having said that they [English] bats tend to have a longer life than Asian bats because of the the nature of pressing.

Once English bat opens up it can do wonders.

I personally prefer harder pressed bats because when you pay premium price you want something that will last.

Those cracks on Asian bats are normal, I was knocking my MB LE and while knocking it cracked from the edge.

Also not knocking the bats properly make cracks form much quicker.

Right now the only working bat I have is Laver and Wood Private Bin (2.14); I have a Reebok Skipper but the handle is gone :(....it was actually quite good. It was a gift but I was pleasantly surprised with it. L and W of course is great!!

Oh Laver, cool! Do you mind if I ask how long did it take to open ?

Fan of heavy bats?

Used to be a fan of heavy bats back in the days when I used to lift weights...lol....it is actually 3 years old now and I believe Private Bin was the topmost model from LW at that time. It does not feel heavy trust me mate: the pick up is like a dream. It came knocked in from NZ but I still spent about a couple of weeks with the mallet and old balls and ping was there from Day 1 of match play and I think optimum performance was achieved after about 5-6 games, not that it was not performing before that. if you want I will try to upload a picture later on. Need to hit the sack now.....

James make some great bats and he is one of the best bat maker in the whole world. He has magic in his hands as he has made impressive bats over the year.

If you don't mind can you create a separate thread and upload pictures of your Laver?

I would really appreciate and do it whenever it is convenient for you.

Hi,

Off topic. Have you used light pads (like the GM ones), are they easier to run in and more comfortable? The BoomBoom ones also look light. What about the helmet & gloves? Is it sensible to mix and match companies?

Thanks.

Yeah, I currently use GM RSB Original lightweight pads and they are very comfortable, feather light and its easy to run fast with them on. Protection is also excellent. I use masuri titanium helmet and have wide variety of batting gloves.

one of my teammates got a Matrix on his trip to India. it is definitely a top bat and i would say that the sweetspot is quite extended as it pings from the entire hitting area. only the bottom 2-3 cms is not that good. i am definitely impressed by the performance. not quite a fan of the stickers though.

I also had a SS Ton Matrix last seaon, 2.8/2.9 but very light pick and it played unbelievably well & used it more then half a season and then passed it onto a team mate. Not sure why ur not a fan of the stickers coz imo the stickers are the best I've seen on any Asian bat. SS are SG bats have best/perfect pressing and performance of their top bats is extraordinary.

MYSSTONMATRIX.jpg

profiles are more or less similar with slight differences. the stock shape seems to work for them as their popularity seems to be growing at a good rate. matrix used to be their top bat domestically. a teammate has a Gold edition. very light and not big at all but the performance is unbelievable. want to see how good the Dragon T20 and gladiator are.

Dragon T20? Something new? Mind posting picture ?

Ahh okay thanks for explaining it. I believe they are in same boat as CA same shape for all ranges

its their new bat for T20. saw it on online stockist. havent seen any in person. here is the link

3204125.jpg

3204126.jpg

3204124.jpg

3204123.jpg

3204122.jpg

As good SS is according to KR and how well they play there stickers are let down and they always bog them down I would say.

it is true. i like the new SG stickers that Raina is using. they have reduced the length. while SS stickers always cover more than half the bat.
131314.jpg

Those stickers are very good looking in fact best Indian stickers I would say. The back of bat is fully covered with SS stickers while face as you said covers more than half.

The gloves somewhat resembles Boom Boom Blaze gloves so I am assuming SG make Boom Boom gloves..

i am not sure about them making boom boom stuff but those stickers and gloves are not released yet to the public. they were brought out in the world cup by SG for their players. if you check the website even now, you will see the older branding.

Ahh okay because I remember quite well that in one of World Cup matches Raina was using above sticker bat and then went to old stickers one so I'm sure you're right.

I am not sure but have you used SG softs? A lot of people claim they are better than SS...is it true?

from personal experience, the SG Hilite is better than the SS Super Test Blue Camo (sangakkara ones). one of my teammates has the SG Test which is 5th in their range. it has sheep leather palm which is really soft. for me SG uses the best quality leather in India.

I once tried Kookaburra gloves and didn't like them and after that I said SG is not as good as SS :))

Will try SG one day..

try the sheep skin rather than pittards. you wont believe how soft the palm is.

As good SS is according to KR and how well they play there stickers are let down and they always bog them down I would say.

Its not just me bro, SS bats are number 1 in India, millions of people use SS in India and all Indian, Pakistani, Sri Lankan, Bangladeshi team used/use SS bats.

I find you silly at times. I mean how do you know million of people in India use SS? Do you live in India or work for Cenus India ?

And all Pakistani, Indian and Bangaladeshis? LoL

James Laver have been making bats for entirely Sri Lankan team for past 7 years

guys no point saying stuff which neither of u can prove. what i do know is SS is domestically no. 1 in India for bats but overall SG is a bigger company.

try the sheep skin rather than pittards. you wont believe how soft the palm is.

Your right bro. I had SG Hilite gloves with pittards and I didnt really like them that much so I have now purchased SG supalite pads/gloves with sheep/calf skin leather.

455174396_o.jpg

455174418_o.jpg

455174433_o.jpg

458325447_o.jpg

458325452_o.jpg

Majid, whats the difference between the SG pittards and SS pittards? I have seen the old SG hilite pittards, they look much much more pronounced (not smooth raised pattern) than kookaburra pittards from blade gloves.

How do you find the knee locator for the SG pads verse SS Matrix? I much prefer the knee locator style of Puma, similar to SS Matrix.

To be honest bro, I never looked at the gloves pittard that closely and the only difference I noticed was the colour was different.
I will recieve the SG pads in nxt few days so I'll see then how the knee locator is. I also prefer SS matrix and they are still my favorite pads and inshallah I'll be buying another pair of them frm Ajit.

KR bhai, do you have any pics of the SS Matrix pad, as I quite like the look of them as well. If you don't then it's cool.

JazakallahKhair.

112779517.jpg

Afridi used SS TON bat today with new Boom Boom stickers.

Image1298.jpg

Its not just Afridi who uses SS bats, nearly all Pakistan's top batters have used SS bats with their own sponsor stickers.

Used this SS bat for 1st time in a match today and smashed quickfire 40. The ping is unreal, ball flies off with minimum effort.
Image1388ssssss.jpg

Yara its very difficult to compare bats especially English(GM) and Asian(SS) bats coz both are very different in terms of feel, balance, profile/sweetspot location, pressing, handle shape etc.
I have only used GM bat in nets and its a really good bat. SS LE n GM Icon willow quality looks very similar.

Image1288ssbatle2.jpg

Image1288ssbatle.jpg

nice! Thanks Majid bhai for the pics. I understand that it can be very different when comparing one bat to another.

In your opinion do you feel the the GM's 808 plus sweet spot is as good as the SS Ton offers?

nice! Thanks Majid bhai for the pics. I understand that it can be very different when comparing one bat to another.

In your opinion do you feel the the GM's 808 plus sweet spot is as good as the SS Ton offers?

GM plus 808 sweetspot is touch longer then SS Ton but SS Ton is bit better and it's middle is more sweet. GM will get better when I use it bit more.
One big negative with GM is when you use bats like SS Ton, Matrrixx, SF or any other Indian bat and then you go back to using GM...the GM bat feels like a junior size bat by that i mean the SS bat is more proper and feels like a adult size bat and GM feels like a junior size bat.I have big high back lift so I need bats which are proper size. I should have bought a Long blade GM or another Asian(indian) bat.

GM plus 808 sweetspot is touch longer then SS Ton but SS Ton is bit better and it's middle is more sweet. GM will get better when I use it bit more.
One big negative with GM is when you use bats like SS Ton, Matrrixx, SF or any other Indian bat and then you go back to using GM...the GM bat feels like a junior size bat by that i mean the SS bat is more proper and feels like a adult size bat and GM feels like a junior size bat.I have big high back lift so I need bats which are proper size. I should have bought a Long blade GM or another Asian(indian) bat.

Ah! Nice! Thanks a lot for your feedback. I have always used Desi brands such as MRF, CA, Ihsaan and this will be my first time using a non-english bat.

I was lucky enough to get a similar bat like yours. Icon 808 plus weighing at 2lb 8oz with pick-up index 1. It's en-route at the moment and hopefully by this Friday I should have it.

I do need another back-up bat so I was considering the CA 12000 but your SS Ton looks nice. I will try to find a local dealer here in USA for it.

this ss le looks really good. i really like the profile. according to onlinestocklist site - its $205 cdn...thats pretty cheap. has anyone in canada ordered a bat from him?

I believe that bat is on sale and to be honest it looks a bargain I would say.

Me and my friend we ordered softs and they were top notch and Ajit was a good guy too. Think xkalibur80 bhai ordered a bat and gloves not sure though.

My guess is that you are probably a taller person to experience the size issue in bats. Am I correct?

Look TRD's they are stunning.
Thanks. I started checking them out. So far looks great!

My guess is that you are probably a taller person to experience the size issue in bats. Am I correct?

Nahin yaar am not that tall. My height is around 5.10. Its just GM bats that I find them bit small. Other English brand bats like GN, Kook, Puma etc are ok.

I ordered a bat through onlinestockist after seeing so many positive reviews about him in here...I had ordered it on April12th....still have not received it....he was replying to my queries but now even that has stopped....for every week he would say that he is just on his way to ship the bat but never ended up doing that.....I have never ever been rude to him even after all these false promises of shipping and the long delay..... :(