My new bat and the huge surprise that comes with it!!

zeusky

Tape Ball Star
Yay!! I am trying to attach the images and you will know what I am talking about!!

Alright guys, I have managed to upload the pics of my new bat. Please look at the last image; he is the man who handpicked it for me. I got it in an amazing deal. Made my year my fellow cricketers!! Also, the bat is a birthday gift....so a good deal on all fronts.

So can you recognize him? :bow::bow:

SAM_1734.jpg

SAM_1735.jpg

SAM_1737-1.jpg

SAM_1738-1.jpg

SAM_1740.jpg

Johng has spoilt us!! After seeing his CA's I don't like any other CA no matter how good it is!

Not a good thing Johng you have spoilt us!!!:pissed: :))

Having said that a great bat indeed! Tell us more about it! How is it feeling, whats the weight, edge sizes etc etc

Also can you give a full profile shot?

Did you buy it from his store? I have heard he runs a cricket equipment store...

I don't have it with me as yet; will be getting it in hand next week. I am sure it will feel good. Mujtaba Sir's choice guys what do you expect? Even if it had 3 grains and weighed a ton I would not have cared....getting a bat from a former international star is pleasant enough for me. I will do a detailed review of it once I have it in my hand.

Also, I don't think lookwise any CA will come close to the ones posted on this forum by johng :)

I paid in total 200 bucks for this one which is around 70-100 bucks less than the average deal one will get in the US for this.

I don't have it with me as yet; will be getting it in hand next week. I am sure it will feel good. Mujtaba Sir's choice guys what do you expect? Even if it had 3 grains and weighed a ton I would not have cared....getting a bat from a former international star is pleasant enough for me. I will do a detailed review of it once I have it in my hand.

Also, I don't think lookwise any CA will come close to the ones posted on this forum by johng :)

I paid in total 200 bucks for this one which is around 70-100 bucks less than the average deal one will get in the US for this.

Definitely, Asif Mujtaba hand selected the bat so he probably knows more than all of us combined.

Johng has spoilt us as I said, he should be banned :P ;-)

Not bad, whats his store website again ?

He does not yet have a store...he said that he is planning to open one...he lives in Plano, TX.....

So how did you find about him? Where does he stock his bat and where is he sending them from?

Mujtaba Sir has got some bats in Plano,TX. He wrote that this is like 'net practice' and he will shortly be opening a store.

Nice bat but one thing that i dont get is why are there yellow blemishes around the CA logo on the edge? ive seen this on many.

I think CA engraves it on their bat so that if anyone takes off the stickers and puts on new ones, than everyone will know it's a CA.

Ah well i think they should do something else because that just ruins the look of the bat.

ahhh Asif Mujtaba he was a real good batsman good to see him after so long.
and nice bat indeed.

i am sure it will turn out to be a belter. hand picked by him must be a special bat. loving all the CAs. they have got some stunners.

Alright here are the pictures I had promised some time back; please remember that my acumen for equipment photography is quite paltry to what others constantly display in this forum :)

• IMG_8904.JPG
    IMG_8904.JPG
    128.2 KB · Views: 298
  • IMG_8905.JPG
    IMG_8905.JPG
    95 KB · Views: 314
  • IMG_8906.JPG
    IMG_8906.JPG
    131.6 KB · Views: 302
  • IMG_8912.JPG
    IMG_8912.JPG
    107.3 KB · Views: 326
  • IMG_8914.JPG
    IMG_8914.JPG
    135.3 KB · Views: 320
A couple more:

• IMG_8908.JPG
    IMG_8908.JPG
    81.3 KB · Views: 311
  • IMG_8907.JPG
    IMG_8907.JPG
    106.7 KB · Views: 293
The bat weighs 2.10; picks up like a dream; the edges are more than 40 mm.

WOW!! :O :O

I can't believe it! This bat is AMAZING!! Seriously! Equally good as TRD I'd say.

I oiled it after I took the pictures; then knocked it in and now have the anti-scuff sheet on it. Will play my first game with it this Saturday.

Ah okay its good you oiled it but I'm sure from the pictures it didn't need to be oiled, I hope you lightly oiled it.

When you oiled it did oil soak in quickly ?

I oiled it lightly; it got soaked in overnight. Mujtaba Sir had said that he will oil it lightly and that I should oil it a little more and then start the knocking-it-in process.

The best way to round off the edges is that keep bat 45 degrees and mallet from top to bottom and after that roll the edge on rounded kitchen or washroom counter top or bat tub make sure it is rounded not sharp.

I normally give around 72 hours before I start knocking in my bats; yes, the edges are always crucial. The bathtub and kitchen ideas are interesting I must say...thanks mate.

bat looks even better without the plastic wrapping. you have got a TRD quality with 10K stickers.

wow nice bat, and never thought of rounding edges using counter top thanks!

Thought about bumping this one up; the bat has been good to me and looks quite different now that is for sure. Might be time to move this one in order to accommodate some upcoming purchases.

It didn't break yet? The way it looked like in previous pictures you posted I thought it would have broken by now ;-)

It is not so bad actually; still has some good life left; only looks a bit different :))

LOL I was a bit sarcastic too ;-)

How did it turn like that all of sudden? My 2 year old CA is not like that yet either lol

It was used a lot; the anti-scuff sheet took a beating and ultimately I got rid of the sheet a few days back; the face does not look so bad because of the presence of the erstwhile sheet; the back has no stickers as I took them out to make the bat a little lighter.

Arre man, flicked and short arm pulled a few sixes in an over sometime in July with this one; I am more of a timer and definitely not a slogger and prefer those traditional down the ground shots but seeing those sixes my team-mates got very interested in my bat and would often request me to lend it to them and hence the HUGE usage in one season. Still has some life left as normally the CAs peak performance time does not last for too long; so was thinking that I should move it now. Only predicament, and it is a big one, is, that it was a gift from my wife and hence moving it might be risky... so caught in a fix :X

It was used a lot; the anti-scuff sheet took a beating and ultimately I got rid of the sheet a few days back; the face does not look so bad because of the presence of the erstwhile sheet; the back has no stickers as I took them out to make the bat a little lighter.

Arre man, flicked and short arm pulled a few sixes in an over sometime in July with this one; I am more of a timer and definitely not a slogger and prefer those traditional down the ground shots but seeing those sixes my team-mates got very interested in my bat and would often request me to lend it to them and hence the HUGE usage in one season. Still has some life left as normally the CAs peak performance time does not last for too long; so was thinking that I should move it now. Only predicament, and it is a big one, is, that it was a gift from my wife and hence moving it might be risky... so caught in a fix :X

Yaar I remove scuff sheet that quickly too but I remember Julian saying take them off after three seasons.

Indeed, I like to play those shots too! :)

My friend has TRD and the ping on that is fabulous, he would hit long sixes off it! CA bats ping very good.

Acha tell me one thing when you removed stickers did it make any difference?

It felt a little lighter but then again I did not have my weighing machine at that time so it could have been pretty much more comfortable 'in the head' than anything else.