Nawaz Sharif could escape corruption trial & live in exile deal being brokered by Saudis

Mian

Pakistan’s former prime minister would escape a corruption trial and be allowed to live in exile under a potential deal being brokered by Saudi Arabia.

Nawaz Sharif is expected to visit Saudi Arabia as the kingdom appears ready to intervene in the stand-off between the head of Pakistan’s longest ruling political dynasty and the military establishment.

Mr Sharif, who requires permission to leave Pakistan, is ready to quit active politics, without facing prosecution, according to a source. However, he has been forced to change his preferred line of political succession, naming his brother Shehbaz Sharif as heir to his Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz party, Pakistan’s largest, in place of his daughter, a foe of the military.

Mr Sharif, who has been prime minister three times, was forced from power in July when the Supreme Court disqualified him from holding office, after which a series of corruption cases were opened against him and his family.

He has not gone down without a fight. His political machine, headed by his daughter Maryam Nawaz, has persistently criticised the army for being behind the judiciary’s moves. As a result, civil-military tension in Pakistan has escalated.

Nasser Khan Janjua, the national security adviser acting as an intermediary between the military and the government, confirmed he had a meeting with Mr Sharif on Thursday. Mr Janjua declined to confirm or deny suggestions that Mr Sharif had been offered a backroom deal, but told The Times that he would “never be a part of or party to any conspiracy against the great state of Pakistan”.

Riyadh has long played peace broker between Mr Sharif and the military. After the 1999 coup Mr Sharif depended on the goodwill of the Saudi authorities to bypass prison, even execution, and remain in exile for eight years.

The Saudis are indicating that they await a final sign-off from the Pakistani military. Shehbaz Sharif, an Arabic speaker seen as an ally of the Pakistani military, arrived in Saudi Arabia on Wednesday on a Saudi plane sent to fetch him from Pakistan.

https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/pakistan-could-let-ex-pm-nawaz-sharif-go-into-exile-zb5nk9fdj

Time to move on guys Nawaz Sharif is safe, Shahbaz is your next Prime Minister, Maryam is your next CM Punjab, PPP leadership is safe too and will continue in Sindh and will probably have a shot at federal govt in 2023.

Imran Khan can say good bye to Pakistan and live peacefully for rest of his life with his kids in England.

If the news is true than Pakistan ka Khuda Hafiz

Not again.

How many times are we going to let this happen.

Here's a novel idea let's uphold the law and let justice be served.

But the puppet masters will continue to ***** the country out.

Lets see but if the Judiciary let this happen then they too are finished. It may benefit the NS but i think any deal will seriously damage the rest of the Nooras.

I don't see this happening! Imran will sweep elections if this happens. There will be massive street protests and potential blood shed. The Sharif will meet a slow and painful death.

Time to move on guys Nawaz Sharif is safe, Shahbaz is your next Prime Minister, Maryam is your next CM Punjab, PPP leadership is safe too and will continue in Sindh and will probably have a shot at federal govt in 2023.

Imran Khan can say good bye to Pakistan and live peacefully for rest of his life with his kids in England.

Hold your horses. In the next two weeks; there will be intense pressure on Shahbaz. I see the government toppling in January/ February period.

Protest in Iran, obviously not a conincidence
Saudi sending plane to Pakistan.
Pakistan has to pay back $6bn debt in 6 months.
Qadri back with his demands.
NS most likely to be forgiven.
Army making a deal with NS again.

game of politics played by rich people, where real lives are lost.

I don't see this happening! Imran will sweep elections if this happens. There will be massive street protests and potential blood shed. The Sharif will meet a slow and painful death.

I agree, when Panama papers were leaked most people said that Nawaz will escape once again as courts have never ruled against him but i never thought they can escape as there was more than enough evidence.

People rightly believe Saudis will assist Sharif family once again but i don't think it's going to happen. Imran Khan will take this issue to streets and use it against them in elections and i don't think rigging on massive scale will be possible after what happened in dharna.

Also, still waiting for so called anti establishment people who think innocent Nawaz was victim of evil military-judiciary nexus? How are Saudis strengthening our democracy by making such deals (NOT first time)?

I don't believe it will happen. IK and TUQ will be on the streets in millions if it were to do so.

Not again.

How many times are we going to let this happen.

Here's a novel idea let's uphold the law and let justice be served.

But the puppet masters will continue to ***** the country out.

+1. I will be totally mad at Pakistan Army and Judiciary if this happened. Enough already. Pakistan cannot continue to have different rules for rich and powerful. Nawaz Sharif and co should face the music and give all the money back they looted.

I don't believe it will happen. IK and TUQ will be on the streets in millions if it were to do so.

They are both on Army's leash. Do you seriously think they will protest against anything brokered by their puppet-masters? :))

Let’s see how many Dharnas and marches are going to happen against all mighty saudis?? ;-)

Why you hate Pakistan , and IK ?

They are both on Army's leash. Do you seriously think they will protest against anything brokered by their puppet-masters? :))

The army has nothing IK, they are scared of IK and if he came to power we know who would be incharge. With NS and supporters beings thugs and crooks, they are easily blackmailed. On top of this NS has very little support amongst the masses as shown by the little reaction to his dismissal.

If Army backstabbed Pakistan again then ....

Why isn't the Pakistani army subservient to Pakistani government? It should be this way to stabilize things more.

Lol and usual culprits are blaming Army and not the FATHER of DEMOCRACY Mian Mohammad Nawaz Sharif :))

My concern isn't fauj or any individual, shame on fauj if they get involved and give clean chit to Sharifs due to Saudi pressure.

I haven't seen any comments from fauj bashers about real culprits 'Sharif brothers" here though. Surely, Sharifs should be blamed here for not only looting but also running to Saudis and Americans for protection? Aren't they champions of democracy and their fight i thought was for democracy??

Maryam Nawaz to head to SA soon for further consultation regarding a new NRO-like agreement.

Read this in a newspaper. Not sure how true it it.

Maryam Nawaz to head to SA soon for further consultation regarding a new NRO-like agreement.

Read this in a newspaper. Not sure how true it it.

But but but IK is mohra of establishment :sree

Sharif Family had agreed to return ill-gotten three billion riyals to Saudis under a two-point agreement.

1.No corruption investigation against the Sharif Family will be initiated.

2. Everything will be kept confidential.

Sharif Family had agreed to return ill-gotten three billion riyals to Saudis under a two-point agreement.

1.No corruption investigation against the Sharif Family will be initiated.

2. Everything will be kept confidential.

So the corrupt Saudis will allow these corrupt people to carry on stealing from PK.

Nawaz Sharif aik Nazariya hai :))

Liberals ka nazriati Nawaz Sharif aik baar phir apne nazriye ki taaza misaal detay huay.

How long before they ditch him again and claim we never supported Nawaz Sharif but we supported democracy only? No you people didn't support democracy by falling for Sharif's fake claims that all his corruption cases are establishment's conspiracy knowing very well what sort of person he is.

Something is bound to happen in Saudi.Pakistan needs money and IMF,WB will soon be off-limits

I know! Such a bad mohra to have never won an election. But the proper democrats who hate the 'establishment' seem to get it all. :))

Bhai sari illm ta'aleem tou inhi ke pass hai, hum tou ghaans khaye hoye guggo hain.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">MNS in Madina Munawara for haazri after his meeting with HRH CP Prince Mohammad bin Salman. He would return to Pak tonight after Umrah IA. <a href="https://t.co/mO09TvDQtr">pic.twitter.com/mO09TvDQtr</a></p>— Maryam Nawaz Sharif (@MaryamNSharif) <a href="https://twitter.com/MaryamNSharif/status/948057329563504640?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 2, 2018</a></blockquote>

I wonder what he is thinking when he knows that he has cheated and lied all his life. Maybe he thinks he can lie to Allah like he can to thick Nooras.

Mian sb gunah kar k ya judge kar letay hain ya haj kar letay hain:))