New Islamabad Airport.

tahir_dj

Local Club Captain
any 1 got new pics apart from these 1's ??

and which 1 is the actual design??

this 1
Islamabad_International_Airport_Pakistan.jpg

or this??
New_Islamabad_International_Airport_Pakistan.jpg

images

4bd9f9d33c484f167269fbb49.jpg

art_pic12.jpg

Looks nice and simple like the Allama Iqbal in Lahore

thats just on computer graphics.
Dont worry brother, let zardari finish his turn- they will eat up even the existing airports.

I have been hearing about Islamabad's new airport for the past 10+ years and I doubt any progress has been made to finish the project. I bet - we won't see the new airport in our lives, atleast.

the foundation was laid in 2007 by musharaf.. and it is being built in phases it shud b completed by nex year and up running bby nov 2011

Thank You for letting us kow about the latest news on this project.

no problem guys jus wanted to share sumth

it shuold stick to islamabad airport instead of giving differnt namez like benazir n stuff

The real airport has been renamed "benazir international airport". When I landed there few months ago "B and E" were missing (with lights not working)...............

The current Islamabad airport has to be one of the worst airports in the world - about time they replaced it.

Most likely to be another one of those projects that do not see the light of day

I hate the current Islamabad airport, when you get off the plane you have to go on that coach thing to get to the actual airport... And isnt it actually in Rawalpindi and not Islamabad...

stupid pak government should build airport in azad kashmir instend of spending billions in islamabad which at least have a international airport ...pak government promised us free electricty and stole our land to build mangla dam and didnt even thanked us ..they build a cricket stadium to boost ajk tourism and left it as a dog fighting ring lol ..and for the last 15 years they have been promising to build a airport in ajk but nothing happens ..

yaar that is very sad.....ajk needs an airport with the amount of overseas links of that area

Can PIA start a direct flight to one of the most important economic centres of Pakistan?

Yes , Karachi (Which has an apalling early-80's style airport made shockingly in the 90's with a sour lady working in the jumble store known as "Duty Free" when you arrive...)

How about direct domestic flights to one of the largest cities in Pakistan, Hyderabad?

Islamabad'ds airport is all well and good, but who's paying for it?

yaar that is very sad.....ajk needs an airport with the amount of overseas links of that area

true bro ...it takes 5 hrs to get to muzfarrabad from the nearest airport by car..imagine how tired ppl who travelled for whole day on a plane feel ....

If the picture in post #1 are actually of Islamabad airport, then do we need this many gates at Islamabad Airport?

We have only 7 gates at Lahore airport.

There are only 12 gates at Karachi airport.

I hate the current Islamabad airport, when you get off the plane you have to go on that coach thing to get to the actual airport... And isnt it actually in Rawalpindi and not Islamabad...

Yupp .. it really is outdated .. our capitol deserves better.

i usually go the the Islamabad airport cuz its closer to my house as compared to lahore and this would be much needed

the current one is just not meeting the standards an airport should meet

isloo meets pak standards of a really hospitable welcome to the motherland.........

things broken, lights not working, long queues, coach from the plane not starting [yes that has happened to me as they ran out of diesel],

Last time I stepped out of the Aeroplane, I Saw a big banner stating Mohtarma Benzair Bhutto Shaheed Airport.. that was a shocker and I really hated it being named after her.

actually quite sexayy...

the capital city should have a decent airport

Allama Iqbal Airport Lahore is the Airport of Pakistan

No its not, Karachi's Jinnah international is the airport of Pakistan because it has most airlines and most passengers servicing it by far.

Its interesting they decided to build this new airport in Islamabad theres pros and cons to it. Firstly Islamabad really did need a new airport there is no doubt about that. However Karachi actually has the potential to become a regional hub...we need a proper world class standard airport in Pakistan and from the renderings this new Islamabad airport will be the first world class design airport of the country.

I wouldve preferred that they built this as a new terminal at Karachi therefore making into some sort of a potential regional hub with 2 big terminals.

Quite a piece of architecture this - in the OP. Really nice design.

Islamabad currently has the worst airport in comparrison to other Capital Cities. Let's hope this makes up for it.

They don't want you to have an airport because they want to 'fleece' you rich Mirpuris first, before sending you on your way to AJK.
And then 'fleece' you dry on your way back.:27:

What is the point of spending so much money on airports when the Civil Aviation authority doesn't give more access to foreign airlines to increase competition which will lower airfares and get rid of PIA's monopoly on some routes?

For example, Emirates flies to Karachi 4 times a day, yet flies to Lahore 3 times a week? From what I've heard, is till CAA are not paid in the back pocket, the foreign airlines can forget about bringing new services and increasing frequencies.

Well Karachi is a VERY high volume route and can in fact become a regional hub if the right policies are implemeted. Due to Lahore's location it is not a hub and is a much lower volume airport. Despite this fact it is served by the following foreign airlines:

Emirates
Etihad
Qatar Airways
Gulf Air
Kuwair Airways
Oman Air
Saudi Airways
Thai
Uzbekistan Airways

Now thats not bad for a small airport like Lahore.

how long till the not yet NEW SPANKING airport gets torn down...garbage all over the place...things stop working...is filled with crap unprofessional staff...ppl walking around trying to make a quick buck and asking for bribes?

exactly 3 hrs after its opening ...ya pakistan ha meri jan :asif

Impressive looking renders BUT I am more concerned about their staff that try to blackmail you - that needs sorting out (although I am aware as long as there is corruption throughout society it will remain)

how long till the not yet NEW SPANKING airport gets torn down...garbage all over the place...things stop working...is filled with crap unprofessional staff...

Eh?

Have not noticed much of that at the Lahore airport so not sure why you are imagining it will happen at IBD.

Eh?

Have not noticed much of that at the Lahore airport so not sure why you are imagining it will happen at IBD.

Exactly I find Lahore airport to be compact and very efficient they have maintained it quite well imo, the staff especially right from check in, to immigration and to the customer services staff are friendly and helpful which is a rarity for Pakistan. The only complaints I have heard are regarding the customs officers however I personally have not ever had any issues with them.

I think a lot of people tend to run into problems with customs because of the huge amount of "ajeeb o ghareeb" stuff that some Pakistanis try to bring back home with them :))

I would say the same about Karachi airport as well...in my experience at least it is fairly professionally run.

Exactly I find Lahore airport to be compact and very efficient they have maintained it quite well imo, the staff especially right from check in, to immigration and to the customer services staff are friendly and helpful which is a rarity for Pakistan. The only complaints I have heard are regarding the customs officers however I personally have not ever had any issues with them.
That's my experience at both Lahore and Karachi too, Alhamdolillah.

For that matter, the staff and the experience at IBD is fine too - the issue there is the name of the airport :D and the general lack of facilities as it is quite an ancient structure. At least that airport is VERY compact, and the arrivals process especially is exceedingly quick (because its tiny).

The only thing I am pissed off is that Now we would have to travel a lot more to get to this airport. The current Islamabad airport was only 35 minutes drive away from my village in Rawalpindi.

Ah youre from Pindi...have you ever heard of satellite town by any chance?

Yep. Got few relatives living there but have been there only 2-3 times. Spent Most of my Childhood in Islamabad or village in Rawalpindi.

No its not, Karachi's Jinnah international is the airport of Pakistan because it has most airlines and most passengers servicing it by far.

Its interesting they decided to build this new airport in Islamabad theres pros and cons to it. Firstly Islamabad really did need a new airport there is no doubt about that. However Karachi actually has the potential to become a regional hub...we need a proper world class standard airport in Pakistan and from the renderings this new Islamabad airport will be the first world class design airport of the country.

I wouldve preferred that they built this as a new terminal at Karachi therefore making into some sort of a potential regional hub with 2 big terminals.

no airport in pakistan can become a regional hub... that unfortunately is a fact. Lack of international interest, security, and extremely bad press. people would rather use the middle east or india.
islamabad airport by the way is already the 2nd busiest and has the potential to become the busiest in pakistan due to its location.
the new airport is located at fateh jang so it serves not just islamabad but also nowshera,abbotabad,muzzafarabad,murree,taxila,rawalpindi,attock,chakwal,gilgit,skardu,saghoda aur azad kashmir kay pooray 3 million loag

lahore's airport no doubt is very beautiful and a true expression of our culture. instead of expanding karachi airport some of our smaller airports need to be redeveloped like quetta, faislabad and peshwar.

i dont think all the country's resources should be concentrated in one primate city, and besides karachi ceased to be our primate city in the mid 90s and its net contribution to our GDP has been decreasing ever since as other urban centres are growing.

Brother Mubarak Ho !

according to my resources (horses Mouth) Army is going to move out of chaklala airport, so that Civil Airport can be extended and upgraded as NEW ISLAMABAD AIRPORT.

Probably the new airport was v close to sensitive installations, or financial concerns stopping it before it kicked off.

Having said that-God knows Best.

its going to be otherway around now- rumours.

Hmm well I think the runway and taxiways were already built at fateh jang so a swap would be unlikely I think...although of course im not sure and in Pakistan anything can happen.

I think the current airport site is too small for a new one to be built on.

Hmm well I think the runway and taxiways were already built at fateh jang so a swap would be unlikely I think...although of course im not sure and in Pakistan anything can happen.

I think the current airport site is too small for a new one to be built on.

Not sure absolutely- but the plan seems to be merging together army, airforce and civil airports in chaklala together -

Theres no truth in it imo...Golden Arm just spreading a few untrue and unfounded rumours here.

best be coz i was gna hav an hearattak... coz iv been follwing news about new airport for the last 2 years and m so excited about this airport

Brother Mubarak Ho !

according to my resources (horses Mouth) Army is going to move out of chaklala airport, so that Civil Airport can be extended and upgraded as NEW ISLAMABAD AIRPORT.

Probably the new airport was v close to sensitive installations, or financial concerns stopping it before it kicked off.

Having said that-God knows Best.

GHQ project in Sector E-10 Islamabad was stopped because of Financial concerns as well. I could see this project being sidelined until we fix our economy and move forward. I don't see this airport being built until 2020.

Tab Tak hum shahid zinda he na hoon :P

How long will it take to complete the project??

I used the old BB airport a few months ago and it was appalling, rubbish! Well i wasnt expected anything better after reading the name but come on??

This.

I only live 5 min away from the BBIA. :D

lol I went to Pakistan this summer after 9 years and my cousin at the parking lot of ISB airport said, "How's the airport? Looks more like a railway station doesn't it? "

Altaf bhai needs to sort out Karachi Airport.

It's like walking into a musty 1980's politician's seedy lounge. It's horrid.

I head it's due for completion in late 2012, which in Pakistan years, might mean around 2015. :afridi

The Centaurus is still just hanging around in the Islamabad skyline too.

Altaf bhai needs to sort out Karachi Airport.

It's like walking into a musty 1980's politician's seedy lounge. It's horrid.

:altaf doesn't care less about Karachi airport...it's not like he'll ever use it...

Mohsin said:
doesn't care less about Karachi airport...it's not like he'll ever use it...

:boycott, True, But his "Friends" will.:asif

Someone has to collect the Chandha.

On a different angle, that Airport at Karachi dishonours more, the name of Mohammad Ali Jinnah AKA the Qaid.

guys i will be posting the progress pictures of NEW ISLAMABAD AIRPORT INSHALLAH

courtesy of skyscrapercity