New Zealand vs Pakistan | 1st ODI | Napier | March 29 | Pre-Match Discussion

BouncerGuy

New Zealand will host Pakistan at McLean Park, Napier, on April 29 for the opening clash of the 3-match ODI series. Fresh off their emphatic 4-1 victory in the T20I series, New Zealand carries undeniable momentum, while Pakistan, bruised by their struggles in the shorter format, looks to regroup and rediscover their rhythm in the ODIs.

Will the Men in Green rise to the occasion, or will the Black Caps continue their dominance?

New Zealand ODI Squad

Muhammad Abbas, Adithya Ashok, Michael Bracewell (capt), Henry Nicholls, Mark Chapman, Jacob Duffy, Mitch Hay (wk), Nick Kelly, Daryl Mitchell, Will O’Rourke, Ben Sears, Nathan Smith, Will Young

Pakistan ODI Squad

Mohammad Rizwan (captain), Salman Ali Agha (vice-captain), Abdullah Shafique, Abrar Ahmed, Akif Javed, Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Imam-ul-Haq, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Ali, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Muhammad Irfan Khan, Naseem Shah, Sufiyan Muqeem and Tayyab Tahir

This could be the 11 for this game....

Abdullah
Imam
babar
salman
rizwan
tayyab
sufiyan
Faheem
Akif
Naseem
Wasim Jr

This could be the 11 for this game....

Abdullah
Imam
babar
salman
rizwan
tayyab
sufiyan
Faheem
Akif
Naseem
Wasim Jr
No, rizwan won't bat at 5 and Sufiyan won't get a push over abrar

1) Abdullah
2) Imam
3) Babar
4) Rizwan
5) Salman
6) Niazi( Rizwan will likely push him ahead of Tayyab)
7) Khusdil (most likely no 7)
8) waseem Jnr
9) Naseem
10) Akif Javed
11) Abrar

Top 5 is guaranteed. Niazi is more likely then tayyab, and khusdil will play as Pakistan want a bowling no 7, until saim ayub comes back, Khusdil will remain

No, rizwan won't bat at 5 and Sufiyan won't get a push over abrar

1) Abdullah
2) Imam
3) Babar
4) Rizwan
5) Salman
6) Niazi( Rizwan will likely push him ahead of Tayyab)
7) Khusdil (most likely no 7)
8) waseem Jnr
9) Naseem
10) Akif Javed
11) Abrar

Top 5 is guaranteed. Niazi is more likely then tayyab, and khusdil will play as Pakistan want a bowling no 7, until saim ayub comes back, Khusdil will remain
It makes no sense to play Khushdil over faheem on those bouncy tracks and Sufiyan should play all 3 games...

Anything other than series win will be a failure , NZ are a depleted outfit
Shafiq
Imam
Babar
Tayyab
Salman
Khusdil
Rizwan+c
Naseem
WasimJr.
Akif
Sufyan

Pakistan should win this comfortably as they have more or less first choice team except injuries. NZ is depleted due to IPL and injuries. Just play commonsense cricket and Pak should do fine

New Zealand will host Pakistan at McLean Park, Napier, on April 29 for the opening clash of the 3-match ODI series. Fresh off their emphatic 4-1 victory in the T20I series, New Zealand carries undeniable momentum, while Pakistan, bruised by their struggles in the shorter format, looks to regroup and rediscover their rhythm in the ODIs.

Will the Men in Green rise to the occasion, or will the Black Caps continue their dominance?

New Zealand ODI Squad

Muhammad Abbas, Adithya Ashok, Michael Bracewell (capt), Henry Nicholls, Mark Chapman, Jacob Duffy, Mitch Hay (wk), Nick Kelly, Daryl Mitchell, Will O’Rourke, Ben Sears, Nathan Smith, Will Young

Pakistan ODI Squad

Mohammad Rizwan (captain), Salman Ali Agha (vice-captain), Abdullah Shafique, Abrar Ahmed, Akif Javed, Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Imam-ul-Haq, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Ali, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Muhammad Irfan Khan, Naseem Shah, Sufiyan Muqeem and Tayyab Tahir
Riz Bar are back.. expect a clean sweep for Pakistan. and shutting down of Kee Jerk snydrome.

1743087497827.jpg
Good for Usman but seriously Rauf what will he achieve by playing against C string Black Caps

Pakistan in desperate need of a competent all rounder at no 7? Seam or spin depending on conditions?

Dont think we have any .... !

Imaam
Abdullah
Babar
Agha
Rizwan
Irfan Khan
Wasim Jnr
Naseem Shah
Abrar
Akif Javed
Sufiyaan

1. Usman khan
2. Abdullah
3. Babar
4. Rizwan
5. Agha
6. Tayaab
7. khushadil
8. Wasim jr
9. Haris
10. Naseem
11. Sufiyaan

I think imam is a bit underrated, but I think it’s time to move on from him now since we already dropped him before, especially if Saim and fakhar are coming back eventually. Might as well go with the younger Abdullah even if he’s not in great form.

The Kiwi squad is a third tier team , and If Pakistan cannot win this they need to retire from cricket. I strongly feel the Indian Under 19 team would beat this Kiwi team.

Jeez , how many matches will NZ and Pak play ? T20 series just got over I believe. And they played a 3 game series in Pak before the CT game. Wow, thats overkill! And now an ODI series, shaking my head honestly :facepalm

1. Usman khan
2. Abdullah
3. Babar
4. Rizwan
5. Agha
6. Tayaab
7. khushadil
8. Wasim jr
9. Haris
10. Naseem
11. Sufiyaan

I think imam is a bit underrated, but I think it’s time to move on from him now since we already dropped him before, especially if Saim and fakhar are coming back eventually. Might as well go with the younger Abdullah even if he’s not in great form.
Is usman khan in the squad for odi?

Jeez , how many matches will NZ and Pak play ? T20 series just got over I believe. And they played a 3 game series in Pak before the CT game. Wow, thats overkill! And now an ODI series, shaking my head honestly :facepalm
NZ cricket board has different ways of doing things.

Their the lowest paid board by icc but their thriving due to 3 reasons.

A) Friendly relations with Australia. Australia and CA do alot for NZ and both countries support each other through thick and thin.

B) Friendly relations with India. Bcci will fetch them ipl contracts and will ensure they remain relevant in world cricket. Infact out of all teams in world cricket, NZ is the one team even India dont mind losing to.

C) Friendly relations with Pakistan. Pakistan kinda needs NZ tbh, eng, Aus and India don't do a damn for Pakistan which leaves NZ as your best option. And NZ uses Pakistan to develop its bench strength.

Their a 5M population with only 9M being paid by icc per year. Lol

all the matches are starting at 3 am pst.nz cricket board is literally saying we don't care about this series

A) Friendly relations with Australia. Australia and CA do alot for NZ and both countries support each other through thick and thin.

B) Friendly relations with India. Bcci will fetch them ipl contracts and will ensure they remain relevant in world cricket. Infact out of all teams in world cricket, NZ is the one team even India dont mind losing to.

C) Friendly relations with Pakistan. Pakistan kinda needs NZ tbh, eng, Aus and India don't do a damn for Pakistan which leaves NZ as your best option. And NZ uses Pakistan to develop its bench strength.

Yeah I hope the NZ cricket board is in good shape financially. Cricket after all is played by a handful of teams and you wants all playing teams to be strong for the health of the game

NZ will always be in good shape cause they got Australia and India supporting them.

As a country, due to their geographical remote location, they logically shouldn't have survived however they have Australia to thank for.

Australia does these things for them.

A) Handles all their exports and imports since NZ is too far and exports and imports need to go through Australia to reach NZ, Aus does it for them.

B) Allows business between the 2 countries and work, Aus pr and passport holders are also NZ pr holders and vice versa so zero work and travel restrictions

C) Shares cricketing resources and CA helps Fund NZ cricket board. NZ have mimicked aussie system although they don't have aussie resources.

D) Shares monetary resources. AnZ bank was literally created to ensure the flow of money between the 2 countries remains stable and the economy keeps on growing.

As long as Australia supports them, NZ will remain a drveloped country with a strong economy(for their size and population) and will thrive in the cricketing world since their backed by one of the sportiest and strongest cricket nations in the world

Plus Bcci is more friendly to NZ then they are to ca and ecb. CA and ecb tussle with bcci on occasion. Nz cricket board is quote literally like their GF. Bcci juat cant atop showering them with gifts.

When your infrastructure is backed by one of the most powerful countries in the world(Australia) and your cricket is backed by 2 of the richest boards (CA and BCCI) you're gonna be fine.

It's Pakistan that needs NZ lol 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣. Pakistan has not option. NZ is probably the only side that may actually play 5 match test series against Pak

Bracewell, Duffy, O'Rourke, Sears,

That's 40 overs of good bowlers for Pakistan batters , more than enough to win a game

Here are my key takeaways for the squad

1) Abdullah Shafique: Probably his last chance to perform. His spot is already in danger once Saim returns.

2) Imam: Same as Abdullah. But tbf i have more hopes from Abdullah turning it around. Imam will remain a tuk tuk king.

3) Babar Azam: King needs a century and he needs it badly. Doesnt get easier then a c team NZ. His 2nd last century in odi was against C side NZ as well.

4) Rizwan: He needs to prove that he can function and bat overseas. He's not too bad at home den, he's actually decent in odi and test in home conditons, but he's a total clown overseas. Needs to learn to play swing and develop some offside strokes

5) Agha: No complaints, PPakista's best allrounder, i called it from day one.

6) Usman Khan: Pcb needs to play him. Stop bringing him along and giving him one to 2 matches. Play him for an entire 5 match series and then make your final decision.

7) Rauf: Probs our best bowler in such conditons tbf, he is aging though

8) Akif Javed: Excited to see what he can do

9) Irfan Khan Niazi: He's not an odi cricketer. 27 in List A is not the hallmark of an odi batsmen. Bring him in test cricket since he deserves a shot due to a 45 FC avg but what's the point in odi?

10) Tayyab: I stoll like him in odi. He's not a bad player that people make him out to be. He's batting a bit low though, should bat at no 6 not 7. He's a solid player but yes he's not a world beater or anything.

11) Faheem Ashraf : 🤦🏻🤦🏻🤦🏻🤦🏻🤦🏻🤦🏻🤦🏻

12) Khusdil Shah: This guy is a clown bowler that's the problem, and he's bang avg at no 7.

13) Abrar Ahmed: No issues in odi tbf, he's good enough.

14) Sufiyan: No clue wby he was dropped tbh

15) Naseem Shah: I use to like him, he's lost pace and gained weight now though

16) Waseem Jnr: Honestly glad to see him.back since I don't mind him at no 8, on current form he's better then shaheen atm

17) Mohammad ali: Bhai how many chacha's are going to.play? Basically karo yar.

Nauseous batting line up that . Bowling looks something to look forward to
Unfortunately, these are your best guys. Usman is in now so maybe play him for Imam at the top but really, we have no options.

I will replace naseem with haris if needed.

Here is my take: Already we got 3 passengers in the lineup

The Good
No more Shaheen Afridi & Shadab

The Bad
Tayyab Tahir, Fahim

& The Ugly ( "I'm automatic selection")
:imam

Pakistan Team Head Coach, Aaqib Javed speaking to Media ahead of the ODI series opener:

Expectations from the ODI side:

"The performances on recent away tours in Australia and South Africa have been impressive, and the conditions here will also play a key role, with bowling-friendly pitches anticipated. Like in Australia and South Africa, fast bowlers are expected to dominate and significantly influence the outcome. On these green pitches, the objective will be to restrict the opposition to under 200 runs, and with the experience in the batting lineup, I’m confident this series can produce excellent results."

On Haris Rauf being retained for the ODI series against New Zealand:

"Haris has consistently performed well in similar conditions, making him a valuable asset for this series. On pitches that favor bowlers, Haris is expected to make a significant impact. Pakistan's struggles on flat tracks, as seen in the Champions Trophy, were due to a lack of bowling support on high-scoring surfaces. However, with the current bowling conditions, Pakistan is poised for much-improved performances in this series."

On the ODI team versus the T20 team:

"The ODI team is currently well-settled and performing consistently. During the Champions Trophy in Pakistan, Fakhar Zaman, a key impact player, was injured in the first over of the New Zealand match, which affected the team's performance on batting-friendly tracks. Impact players must be fit and in form to achieve high scores, like the 350-plus runs scored in that series. Against India, the team also held a strong position at one stage. Moving forward, the ODI team remains stable and effective, while changes in the T20 squad are being made to prepare for upcoming tournaments like the Asia Cup and World Cup, both scheduled in India and the subcontinent."

On losing the series 4-1 to New Zealand:

"Pakistan performed well on two pitches—one where they scored 135 runs in 15 overs and another good surface in Auckland, where they secured a win. However, on more challenging pitches, the technical limitations of Pakistani batters were exposed. Nevertheless, these young players, if given consistent opportunities in the subcontinent, including Pakistan, have immense potential and must be supported. Saim Ayub and Fakhar Zaman are promising options, and more will emerge following the PSL. I am optimistic about building a strong T20 team in the near future."

What's Shafiq's claim to an odi spot??

Or Niazi's for that matter?

Both have zero performance in list A.
Abdullah's selection is quite surprising. He came back out of nowhere... You dropped him from CT on those flat tracks because he was out of form and then you brought him back for no reason without any performances and that too on such bouncy tracks....

LOL.... Joke selections

The inclusion of RizBar will provide the much needed stability to the Pakistan batting line-up. Expecting a much better batting performance from Pakistan. They will consistently score 250-330 runs. Now it will be down to the bowlers to secure victories.

NZ without Santner, Conway, Rachin , KW, Latham, Philips, Jamieson and Henry should be easy pickings for Pakistan.

Napier: Pakistan vs New Zealand ODI Series

Due to bad weather and rain, the national ODI squad opted for indoor practice sessions.

Batters worked on their batting skills through throw-down drills in the nets.

The three-match series between Pakistan and New Zealand will commence tomorrow.

The first match will start at 11 AM local time.

View attachment WhatsApp Video 2025-03-28 at 10.44.03_c56355d6.mp4

Abdullah's selection is quite surprising. He came back out of nowhere... You dropped him from CT on those flat tracks because he was out of form and then you brought him back for no reason without any performances and that too on such bouncy tracks....

LOL.... Joke selections
Generational batters must be tested on tough conditons.

I admire pcb for sensing ba/riz/abd/imam out in extremly tough impossible to face conditons.

Surely it is not an issue for

1) Shubman Gill( Abdullah Shafique)
2) Inzimam ul Haq (imam)
3) Virat kohli (Babar)
4) MS Dhoni (Rizwan)

Mashallah we are blessed to have such a scary strong top order

Pakistan should have selected Mohd. Abbas for this series & we would have got Mohd. Abbas bowling to Mohd. Abbas.

Btw with Latham out, looks like Pakistan will edge out New Zealand.

Mohammad Yousuf said on TV that he will insist on Rizwan batting at 6 or 7

And get the proper batters to occupy batting spots 4-5

Let’s see if he gets his way.

Mohammad Yousuf said on TV that he will insist on Rizwan batting at 6 or 7

And get the proper batters to occupy batting spots 4-5

Let’s see if he gets his way.
TV par sab bongiyan martain hain,asal main koi kuch nahi karta.
Rizwan is gonna bat at 4,nobody can stop him as he is captain.
Btw Rizwan batting at 7 is still useless as he cant hit out
He should open or just sit out of the team.

TV par sab bongiyan martain hain,asal main koi kuch nahi karta.
Rizwan is gonna bat at 4,nobody can stop him as he is captain.
Btw Rizwan batting at 7 is still useless as he cant hit out
He should open or just sit out of the team.
Yousuf did threaten that he will leave the job if he doesn’t get his way.

That’s what happened last time too. He walked out because things were not going the way he wanted.

Let’s see.

Mohammad Yousuf: Rizwan, you are not a number 4.

Rizwan: who are you to tell me I am not a number 4?

Highly unlikely but Rizwan is gonna 100% fail if he bats at 6
Yousuf did threaten that he will leave the job if he doesn’t get his way.

That’s what happened last time too. He walked out because things were not going the way he wanted.

Let’s see

So a rich first world country is getting 1.8USD per person in the country. Going by the same rate India should be getting 2.5 billion usd and Pak around 450 million. Probably more as they are poor third world countries

So a rich first world country is getting 1.8USD per person in the country.

^^ What? Whats up with this math 🤣🤣🤣, did you seriously divide 9 by 5 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣.

Bhai Nz cricket board gets paid 9M per annum.

New Zealand is a 5 million population total. How on earth does 9M by icc to MZ cricket board equate to them paying 1.8M per person across all of NZ? 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

This is basically NZ-C.

When you miss 3-4 key players, that's a B team

When you miss 7-8 key players, that's a C team.

Golden chance for Pakistan to beat NZ and claim their 3rd successive SENA ODI series.

This could get ugly for Pakistan up top. Specially since Imam and Abdullah off late haven't been good against new moving ball.

They also are likely to play very conservative Cricket in powerplay which means. 40-0 or 35-1 in 10 overs. Making it potentially a boring match.

Pakistan should have selected Mohd. Abbas for this series & we would have got Mohd. Abbas bowling to Mohd. Abbas.

Btw with Latham out, looks like Pakistan will edge out New Zealand.
Abbas actually wouldn't have been a bad choice with new ball considering the seaming and swinging conditions in New Zealand.

Shafique is a test player and unfairly dropped due to his One day form
If a player isn't in form regardless of the format, is it not fair to drop them and tell them to go back to the domestic circuit and work on their game and pile up runs?

Sahibzada Farhan would have been a better option IMO as he was a strong List A performer a few years ago with avg near 50 and SR near 90.

They will defo go for Shafique, Imam, Babar and Riz that's 4 accumulators in your top 5 right there who play with a SR between 65-85 at most times.

Yeah cant understand why they cant pick players like M Haris, H Nawaz & A Samad. We really need to score 500 runs in ODIs or we are doomed.

This is odi not t20 🤣🤣. No one wants to pick these guys for odi cricket.

So a rich first world country is getting 1.8USD per person in the country.

^^ What? Whats up with this math 🤣🤣🤣, did you seriously divide 9 by 5 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣.

Bhai Nz cricket board gets paid 9M per annum.

New Zealand is a 5 million population total. How on earth does 9M by icc to MZ cricket board equate to them paying 1.8M per person across all of NZ? 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣
Read slowly and clearly and than do math. I wrote 1.8USD not 1.8M USD. 5 million people getting 9 million dollar equates to 1.8 dollar per person. that is the per capita distribution from ICC to NZ. if we go by the same rate, India should be getting 2.5 billion USD.

math and English are primary subjects in third world countries like India. Hope it is same in Australia and you should try it once in a while. It is not very difficult.

The guy has serious issues trying to differentiate between formats
@gazza619 bro, it's simple

T20 cricket

1) 20 overs
2) Each bowler gets to bowl 4 overs max.
3) PP 1 is 6 overs only

Odi cricket

1) 50 overs
2) Bowlers can bowl 10 overs Max
3) PP 1 is 10 overs, pp 2 is 10 to 40 and pp 3 in 40 to 50. 5 fielders allowed outside in pp 3, 4 in pp 2, 2 in pp 1.

^^ How is this difficult to understand? Now yes test cricket will take longer to explain 🤣🤣

Read slowly and clearly and than do math. I wrote 1.8USD not 1.8M USD. 5 million people getting 9 million dollar equates to 1.8 dollar per person. that is the per capita distribution from ICC to NZ. if we go by the same rate, India should be getting 2.5 billion USD.

math and English are primary subjects in third world countries like India. Hope it is same in Australia and you should try it once in a while. It is not very difficult.
It's still silly. 9M is not what the entire population is getting. 9M per annum is what NZ cricket board is getting 🤣🤣🤣. The entire country of NZ obviously gets 1000000x more then 9M lol.

Secondly wealth isn't distributed equally. Mansa must tried this and he badly badly failed. Theirs a reason why some people are billionaires while others are worth less then dirt.

Indian cricket board gets 250M per year by icc which tbh icc doesn't give them that lol. They make it themsleves and give it to themsleves lol.

No issues with that at all. Players with domestic record deserve many chances
Wdym by domestic records? Usman Khan literally kills it in domestic lol?

Or are you referring to no of matches? And selection based of that criteria?

Wdym by domestic records? Usman Khan literally kills it in domestic lol?

Or are you referring to no of matches? And selection based of that criteria?
Excellent point.

As I said, the guy doesn’t even understand the issue he has.