New Zealand vs Pakistan | 5th ODI | Wellington | Jan 19, 2018 | Pre-Match Thread

hadi123

We badly want to avoid a whitewash. This series is going similar to the England series in 2016. We lost the first 2 ODI's in both series, got absolutely smashed in the 3rd game in both series (England 2016 - joint highest ODI total, New Zealand 2018 - 74 all out), lost in 4th ODI on both occasions but showed better fight.

Hopefully we win the 5th ODI on Friday as we did in England in 2016 which gives us confidence for the T20 series afterwards; we trashed England in the T20 in 2016.

I don't know if Shoaib Malik will be fit which makes it hard to predict an 11 personally, but I think Aamer Yamin definitely deserves a chance.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Thank you so much for these kind wishes and making my day special.. It's mean a lot for me.. ☺☺☺<br>And sorry for that what happening with my performance.. I will do my best in next In Sha Allah</p>— Faheem Ashraf (@iFaheemAshraf) <a href="https://twitter.com/iFaheemAshraf/status/953287964779524096?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 16, 2018</a></blockquote>

I want the Fakhar-Faheem combo to be tried out once again. If Faheem comes off then we will be in a great position to put up a big total.

It seems like Malik will be fit then as he has traveled with the squad and his tweet suggests he is fine too.

This is the 11 I would pick bearing that in mind:

1) Fakhar Zaman
2) Faheem Ashraf - give him another chance as opener, if he comes off opening he can be our Munro
3) Babar Azam - needs to find form
4) Haris Sohail
5) Mohammad Hafeez
6) Shoaib Malik - should be fit, he's done nothing this series so needs to find form as well
7) Sarfaraz Ahmed (C) (WK)
8) Aamer Yamin - drop Raees, Yamin can hit a long ball as well
9) Hasan Ali
10) Shadab Khan
11) Mohammad Amir.

Boy...That would be one long tail.

It seems like Malik will be fit then as he has traveled with the squad and his tweet suggests he is fine too.

1) Fakhar Zaman
2) Faheem Ashraf - give him another chance as opener, if he comes off opening he can be our Munro
4) Haris Sohail
5) Mohammad Hafeez
6) Shoaib Malik - should be fit, he's done nothing this series so needs to find form as well

9) Hasan Ali
10) Shadab Khan
11) Mohammad Amir.

That is a very good team and can compete against the best(Eng, SA, Ind and NZ and Aus) on their day. One issue is that middle order still has too many grafters. You cannot afford to have both Babar and Haris batting together for a long period of times unless you get very good starts from FZ and FA. Either of Harris or Babar should open and Pak can use Faheem as a floater to inject some dynamism when needed

1) Fakhar Zaman
4) Haris Sohail
5) Mohammad Hafeez
9) Hasan Ali
10) Shadab Khan
11) Mohammad Amir.

That's the problem, the tail begins in the middle order, when you look at that team on paper, it seems impossible they could ever score 300..it's all too weak. It's a shame that this is the best we have from the team selected.

Another humiliation is assured. When Babar fails (owing to lack of ability) he excuses here are hilarious.

Every one of the 11 is a decent batsman haha, lack of sleep is clearly getting to you bro :D

haha fair enough on current form it is questionable if they are batsman, but at least on paper all of them are decent batsman. I think all of them apart from Hasan Ali and Amir have a first class century to their name.

On paper, they can all bat a bit, and it lengthens the so called batting line up haha. On paper, before this series it looks a decent enough batting line up on paper, it goes quite long. However, that middle order looks so empty.

And, after watching them 4 down in the series with one to go, it suggests a good bunch of these players aren't decent enough batsmen, incapable of handling a bit of bounce and movement. Now, the batting order looks so empty when you look at it, the middle order needs more class and depth.

Pakistan Team training session at Basin Reserve, Wellington. Entire squad, including T20I players Ahmed Shahzad & Umer Amin, were present at today's Top Up Session. Where each player works on the skills they feel they need work. NOTE: Shoaib Malik did not come to the ground with the team. He is resting at the hotel. Will update further on Shoaib Malik's situation some time after 12pm PST

IMG-20180118-WA0006.jpgIMG-20180118-WA0000.jpgIMG-20180118-WA0012.jpgIMG-20180118-WA0004.jpgIMG-20180118-WA0010.jpg

Both Babar and Amir needs to be benched. Both have zero contribution. Even Hafeez is far better than Babar

1) Fakhar Zaman
4) Haris Sohail
5) Mohammad Hafeez
9) Hasan Ali
10) Shadab Khan
11) Mohammad Amir.

Just look at that middle order though. Not one dynamic batsman, all accumulators. Which is sadly the best we have available in this series. Players like Hafeez/Malik can turn it up on their day, but their days are far and few in between. I would much rather open with Haris as he's our best batsman of pace. The sooner everyone realizes that the better. My team would go something like this:

1) Fakhar
2) Haris
3) Babar
4) Sarfraz
5) Malik
6) Hafeez
7) Shadab/Faheem (depending on the situation)
8) Faheem/Shadab (depending on the situation)
9) Yamin
10) Hasan
11) Rumman (Amir's been a garbage bowler for 2 years running ala Wahab...time to drop him)

Update: Imam-Ul-Haq who missed the earlier ODI's due to injury practised in the nets with the rest of the squad at the Basin Reserve.

'Motivation is definitely there' – Black Caps target Wellington whitewash over Pakistan

After the five wicket win in Hamilton to seal an 11th straight win across all formats, the Black Caps can seal a series whitewash over the tourists with a good performance at the Basin Reserve.

Speaking to media today, Guptill said that his side are hunting a clean sweep.

"Everyone wants that," he said.

"Everyone in the team, the support staff, and I think around the country want to see us beat Pakistan 5-0.

"The motivation definitely is there."

Guptill also said that while the 5-0 scoreline is the ultimate ambition, the team won't be too disheartened should the tourists salvage a victory.

"We still won the series 4-1 didn't we?"

"While it would be great to win 5-0, 4-1 is still a series win - whatever happens tomorrow we're still going to be in good spirits going into the Twenty20s."

https://www.tvnz.co.nz/one-news/spo...aps-target-wellington-whitewash-over-pakistan

5-0 humiliation about to occur. 4 games into a series and only been competitive in 1 game is pretty shameful stuff.

Drop Malik and play Yamin. Dude has talent and just can't be carrying drinks every game. Say Malik needed to rest or something

This is revenge for 2003 when Pakistan whitewashed a depleted NZ ODI side at home with Yasir Hameed being in monstrous form.

Babar has been the biggest hypejob ever.

Truly overrated, I've never had confidence in him to perform.

Every great player goes through a dip in form. Babar has been in a great form over a year now but he is struggling at the moment. He is a great talent and our best batsman in LOI along with Fakhar and Harris.

We cannot chop and change every match; we need to pick top players and back them up. They will come through for us. Pakistan needs to back Babar, Harris and Fakhar and stick with these guys. However, we do need to drop Azhar(from LOI only), Hafeez and Malik for good and bring in young talent like Babar, Harris and Fakhar.

Every great player goes through a dip in form. Babar has been in a great form over a year now but he is struggling at the moment. He is a great talent and our best batsman in LOI along with Fakhar and Harris.

We cannot chop and change every match; we need to pick top players and back them up. They will come through for us. Pakistan needs to back Babar, Harris and Fakhar and stick with these guys. However, we do need to drop Azhar(from LOI only), Hafeez and Malik for good and bring in young talent like Babar, Harris and Fakhar.

But persistence should be warranted, I mean if a player is contributing to you losing 4 matches, and being 4-0 down in a series that selection isn't warranted.

Tell me how can you justify Babar being selected with these scores in the series so far:
0, 10, 8, 3.

So 4 matches - 21 runs an average of about 5 runs. He hasn't scored more than 10 in 4 matches.

But persistence should be warranted, I mean if a player is contributing to you losing 4 matches, and being 4-0 down in a series that selection isn't warranted.

Tell me how can you justify Babar being selected with these scores in the series so far:
0, 10, 8, 3.

So 4 matches - 21 runs an average of about 5 runs. He hasn't scored more than 10 in 4 matches.

I can understand your point of view but he has been our best batsman over a past year or so. We can't drop him because he had 4 bad games compared to 30 odd games that he has been fantastic for us. Every players goes through a bad form- the likes of AB, Virat, Sachin etc have had few poor games but they weren't dropped and neither should Babar.

Since Amin is now in the squad:

1. Fakhar
2. Haris
3. Babar
4. Amin
5. Sarfraz
6. Faheem
7. Yamin
8. Hafeez
9. Shadab
10. Hasan ali
11. Amir

Let fahim and yamin bat ahead of hafeez. hafeez has already booked his place next series and would be nice go have fahim and yamin have opportunity to showcase their talent.

Fakhar
Amin
Babar
Haris
Sarfaraz
Hafeez
Shadab
Fahim
Yamin
Hasan
Amir

I can understand your point of view but he has been our best batsman over a past year or so. We can't drop him because he had 4 bad games compared to 30 odd games that he has been fantastic for us. Every players goes through a bad form- the likes of AB, Virat, Sachin etc have had few poor games but they weren't dropped and neither should Babar.

He has performed before, or so his stats suggest, however he hasn't performed in new zealand the whole series. If Azhar has been dropped for poor performances, then Babar should be treated similarly.

Why would you want to see him play ahead of another player who could contribute more than 0, 10, 8 and 3 runs? If the team wanted to win the 5th ODI, they should consider these performances.

3 single digit scores and 10 runs is a pathetic performance, theres a reason we don't have a middle order.

Babar has been the biggest hypejob ever.

Come on man. He is an young player trying to find his feet. Yeah he has played 30 odd matches but he is still young and has shown his ability to get runs at this level. He is not over hyped anywhere except in Pakistan. Let him evolve and find his game. PPers are doing a great disservice to him by comparing him to greats of the game. He has enough in him to have a very good career for Pakistan.

LOL!! We won't chase anything 200+ and you are backing 350+ hahaha

If we played this team all series, with a genuine bowler instead of Yamin we would have competed muuuuch better.

First 3 ODIs were lost as soon as Azhar stepped onto the field.

If we played this team all series, with a genuine bowler instead of Yamin we would have competed muuuuch better.

First 3 ODIs were lost as soon as Azhar stepped onto the field.

I agree about the competed much better, and we could have had potentially better batting performances. But even this team couldn't chase anything in excess of 300 v NZ in NZ.

I see no reason why it couldn’t. There’s great depth it’s just the top order need to start off well.

Predictions?
I think we'll bat first and make 256, and NZ will chase it down at 43 overs.

pak will score 300+ plus.. if we bat first..

Ah yes.... the end of the series token win to raise the morale of the boys and for the team management to say all is well. Alhumdulilah

pak will score 300+ plus.. if we bat first..

Optimistic prediction haha, it'd be something if we managed to hit 300. It would provide for some good entertainment which has been lacking throughout the series. Fakhar and Faheem to both get 100's would be exciting, though overly optimistic.

I could almost forgive some of the results so far if we broke a record, imagine we chased down over 435 for the highest ever record chase. LOL that just sounds funny writing it, however, chasing down 350-375 would equally be worth praise. But I guess we should first learn to score 100 runs properly.

Ah yes.... the end of the series token win to raise the morale of the boys and for the team management to say all is well. Alhumdulilah
true and unfortunately, we always settle for less and one win hide our mediocrity.. thats why we have absymal record in lois in last 6,7 years.. gone are the days when we used to dominate opposition and even we used to beat NZL in NZL for fun..

Optimistic prediction haha, it'd be something if we managed to hit 300. It would provide for some good entertainment which has been lacking throughout the series. Fakhar and Faheem to both get 100's would be exciting, though overly optimistic.

I could almost forgive some of the results so far if we broke a record, imagine we chased down over 435 for the highest ever record chase. LOL that just sounds funny writing it, however, chasing down 350-375 would equally be worth praise. But I guess we should first learn to score 100 runs properly.

haha LOL... i'll donate my left kidney if pak somehow manages to score 400 today..

LOL it's bad that it's so funny, it would be up there with our highest cricket achievements haha.

cant even imagine that :/ there is no hope in our batting lineup consisting the likes of hafeez, azhar malik etc.. other teams are scoring 80-90 runs in powerplay and we still live with the mentality of preserving wickets in first 10 overs.. even 250 become difficult with this sort of mentality..

That's the thing, they set a target of 250 as if it's 300. The world has grown up, but we haven't.

BIG, BIG day for PAK cricket - edhar izzat ka sawal, udhar elimination ke khara.

Goli vi nikala aur kutte ko bhi chora - kabhi goli agey to kabhi kutta .............. ek to zarur lage ga (Insha Allah)

BIG, BIG day for PAK cricket - edhar izzat ka sawal, udhar elimination ke khara.

Goli vi nikala aur kutte ko bhi chora - kabhi goli agey to kabhi kutta .............. ek to zarur lage ga (Insha Allah)

hamara lage na lage apka kabhi nahi lage ga :p

Fakhar
Amin
Haris
Babar
Hafeez
Sarfraz
Yamin (Fahim's been good but give him a chance)
Shadab
Hasan
Amir
Rumman

Cant undestand what are u saying?

Today PAK national team playing to save a 5-0 against NZ of all teams ........ and PAK U19 team is playing SRL U19 to stay in the tournament, because they lost to AFG .......

When I started watching game, if someone had forecast this coming in future as close as 25 years, I would have been more religious by now definitely - Qyamat nazdic ki alamat. But, I am hardly surprised now, for that I have analyzed QeA style for last 15-20 years - particularly after ECB stopped hiring PAK players for Counties.