On This Day: November 1, 1989 - Imran Khan helped Pakistan defeat West Indies to win the Nehru Cup

• Thread starter Thread starter PB
  • Start date Start date

PB

On this day in 1989 Pakistan defeated West Indies to clinch the Nehru Cup.

Scorecard for the match.

Windies.jpg
pakies.jpg

What a day that was!

Wasim Akram came to the crease requiring 4 to win off two balls, and hit a six first ball!

LOL India were out of the final? :23:
:

India was massacred by West Indies in the semi-final - 165 all out!

They were a very mediocre team between 1985-2001 largely because the bowling was rubbish and the batting was mediocre.

It was only when the batting line-up clicked after 2000 that they were half-way to being a good team, and then when Zaheer Khan became a world class bowler a few years later they had a few really good years.

Imran Khan the captain was Man of the match for his 3 wickets and an unbeaten score of 55* in a successful chase of 274.

6 teams including host India, Pak, Aus, WI, Eng & SL participated in it.

A pic of imran with young aqib during Nehru Cup

52e10b511a6ae.jpg

Wow, top five teams of the era (+ Sri Lanka) participated and yet we won! Must have been a heck of a tournament!

damn this must have been some tournament.

Can anyone post the scorecards for semi and final

Final

nooodownload.png

Semi Final (Pakistan had to chase 195 in 30 overs and Malik played this innings)

smmdownload.png

Seems like no 4 batting position produced a defence inducing effect on the Pakistani batsman in that potion in the Semis and Finals of the NC in '89.

Man it makes me sad seeing these scorecards now. Makes us realize that while every other team evolved from then till today, we devolved from 2002 onwards. Victories like this one and let's say the 2002 Challenge series win vs Australia IN Australia shows what new low levels our ODI team has come to since then.

Like someone said in another thread, it's not by chance that we are 9th in the rankings :sree

Man it makes me sad seeing these scorecards now. Makes us realize that while every other team evolved from then till today, we devolved from 2002 onwards. Victories like this one and let's say the 2002 Challenge series win vs Australia IN Australia shows what new low levels our ODI team has come to since then.

Like someone said in another thread, it's not by chance that we are 9th in the rankings :sree

I'd say we declined in Tests far earlier than 2002, in fact IMO the 1992 Test series win in England marked the end of our golden period in Tests and from then on we haven't really been a top Test team.

Some time in June next year you will say the exact same words, with the only difference being "Shoaib" instead of "Salim".

Mark your calendar. :jf

I have lauded Shoaib Malik's performances for years now.

A blistering 50 in a multinational seem-final is nothing in comparison to the carnage Shoaib has done. The 1979 final at Lords is probably the greatest ODI innings ever.

The 1980s to early 1990s Pakistan team was better than the outfit of the late 1990s that usually is lauded. They were inconsistent and there was so much instability with frequent captaincy changes, infighting and eventually the matchfixing scandal. Our home record wasn't that good either.

This team of the 1980s had a world-class batsman in Miandad, Saleem Malik, a world-class all-rounder in Imran Khan, a fantastic young prospect in Wasim Akram and Waqar Younis emerging and the greatest leg-spinner we've ever produced in Abdul Qadir. People talk about the 1992 World Cup being simply 15 days of magic - when actually it was 15 years in the making. Pakistan were the only team to win a Test in the Caribbean in the 80s, the only team to avoid defeat in a series in the Caribbean between 1974 and 1995, the only team to win a series in India between 1985 and 2000, and they did not lose a series outside Australasia between 1982 and 1993. That's how good that side was and I'll take it over the late 90s side any day.

The best player, bowler and captain produced by the subcontinent. What a legendary player, MashAllah.

:ik

1 Nov 1989 : Wasim smashes his 1st ball for 6 as Pakistan beat WI by 4 wkts in the Nehru Cup Final

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">On this day 1989. Wasim Akram smashed his first ball for six as Pakistan beat West Indies by 4 wickets in the Nehru Cup final <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://t.co/NvBnx95yto">pic.twitter.com/NvBnx95yto</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/793388629972443136">November 1, 2016</a></blockquote>

"Wasim Bhai ap thaktay nahi hain, ji nahi main cigarette nahi peeta" ad has the coverage of that. Surprisingly the Indian crowd was actually cheering us on.

Remember it very clearly. It was in my hometown of Kolkata. Somehow, Viv Richards ended up bowling the last over and it was an awesome strike from Wasim.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">On this day 1989. Wasim Akram smashed his first ball for six as Pakistan beat West Indies by 4 wickets in the Nehru Cup final <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://t.co/NvBnx95yto">pic.twitter.com/NvBnx95yto</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/793388629972443136">November 1, 2016</a></blockquote>

Love at first sight for me back at that time.I was a school kid and this was the first international cricket tournament for me on TV.I just fell in love with cricket and Pakistan for the first time.

I still remember the final over. Viv Richards was the bowler.Three runs was required of two deliveries.Wasim dancing down the track hit a six and won that memorable match and tournament for Pakistan.I think Imran was at the non striker end.

I searched for the video of this final many times but didn't find. Can anybody put up the video here please?

One of my earliest memories of watching cricket.

What a match this was.

Saleem Malik 71 off 62 against Marshall, Ambrose, Walsh and Benjamin. Sounds like an impressive knock... can't locate any footage.

I’ll read this tomorrow as it is still 31 October here.

3 wickets and an unbeaten 55. Incredible player and that too at the fag end of his career. 273 in those days is a 350 today. Pakistan winning against a pretty good bowling attack and that too chasing and on Indian soil. One of the great Pak conquests!!

Best match was the SF one against England, reduced by rain...Malik played a blinder of an inning which was probably one of his best, after that Calcutta knocks of 72 off 36 balls (including 5 4's against Kapil in one over who was probably one of the most miserly bowler India ever produced). When Malik finally got out in that SF match, England players were so ticked off and incensed by how he was hitting them all over the park that they started cussing at him in frustration.

That whole tournament was a show case of Malik the batsman, some of his finest moments ever and the one and only ever nehru Cup is with the country that Nehru probably liked the least LOL:afridi

SF Match video link (Quality is obviously not that great): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1vaDXFiYWRA

Here is the group match against india which Pak won very convincingly: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eTGlNObjrBM
Imran's late hitting (19 off Kapil's last over, almost unheard of in those days) was awesome. Later watch out for Akram's dismissal of Kapil, just wow.

Here is the only video of the final I could find and it is primarily of the last over by Viv: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=97L7uDvq4SU

I was young back then and don't remember watching all the matches (especially the final) because of my sister's wedding on that day I think)...but looking at some of these videos and scorecards and the little I could recall, this was probably one of our best tournament wins ever and it had all the top teams playing as well!

Pakistan was no doubt best team in the world in late 1980s , very unlucky to miss 1987 WC

Was this tournament as big as world series? Seems pretty big. Great win for Pakistan indeed. Those were your finest days indeed.

This also puts Pakistan's 1992 world cup win in context. Pakistan were a top side from 1987-1994.

India were in a good run from 1983-1987

I have the entire match on VHS stored somewhere in the attic.

That competition was on par with the Champions Trophy with all the top teams participating.

Some great memories! Will we have more of these from our current stars ?

Have to agree on Monsee,s sentiments when it came to malik the batsmen he was just a sublime ODI player and played knocks at the time which were unheard of. No fielding restrictions, no crappy white ball, boundaries brought in etc.. to be able to score at such a high rate in a few games against top bowlers where you could have fielders where you wanted was a real hallmark of the genuis batting malik had.

Pakistan raised their level in multinational tournaments in 80's. Their W/L doubled in big tournaments.

Overall ODI team record in 80's
[table=width: 500, class: grid, align: center]
[tr][td]Team [/td][td]Mat [/td][td]Won [/td][td]Lost [/td][td]Tied [/td][td]NR [/td][td]W/L [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]West Indies [/td][td]170 [/td][td]122 [/td][td]46 [/td][td]1 [/td][td]1 [/td][td]2.652 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]England [/td][td]120 [/td][td]64 [/td][td]55 [/td][td]1 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]1.163 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]Australia [/td][td]187 [/td][td]91 [/td][td]85 [/td][td]2 [/td][td]9 [/td][td]1.07 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]Pakistan [/td][td]162 [/td][td]77 [/td][td]79 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]6 [/td][td]0.974 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]India [/td][td]155 [/td][td]69 [/td][td]80 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]6 [/td][td]0.862 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]New Zealand [/td][td]126 [/td][td]56 [/td][td]66 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]4 [/td][td]0.848 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]Sri Lanka [/td][td]95 [/td][td]19 [/td][td]72 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]4 [/td][td]0.263 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]Zimbabwe [/td][td]12 [/td][td]1 [/td][td]11 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]0.09 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]Bangladesh [/td][td]5 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]5 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]0 [/td][/tr]
[/table]

Series featuring 5 or more teams in 80's

[tr][td]Team [/td][td]Mat [/td][td]Won [/td][td]Lost [/td][td]Tied [/td][td]NR [/td][td]W/L [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]India [/td][td]29 [/td][td]21 [/td][td]8 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]2.625 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]Pakistan [/td][td]29 [/td][td]19 [/td][td]10 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]1.9 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]West Indies [/td][td]25 [/td][td]15 [/td][td]9 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]1 [/td][td]1.666 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]England [/td][td]24 [/td][td]13 [/td][td]11 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]1.181 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]Australia [/td][td]23 [/td][td]12 [/td][td]11 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]1.09 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]New Zealand [/td][td]18 [/td][td]6 [/td][td]11 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]1 [/td][td]0.545 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]Sri Lanka [/td][td]20 [/td][td]2 [/td][td]18 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]0.111 [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]Zimbabwe [/td][td]12 [/td][td]1 [/td][td]11 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]0 [/td][td]0.09 [/td][/tr]
[/table]

Series record featuring 5 or more teams
[tr][td]Series [/td][td]Winner [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]Prudential World Cup (in England), 1983 [/td][td]India [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]Benson & Hedges World Championship of Cricket (in Australia), 1984/85 [/td][td]India [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]Austral-Asia Cup (Australia, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, Sri Lanka in United Arab Emirates), 1985/86 [/td][td]Pakistan [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]Reliance World Cup (in India/Pakistan), 1987/88 [/td][td]Australia [/td][/tr]
[tr][td]MRF World Series (Nehru Cup) (Australia, England, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, West Indies in India), 1989/90 [/td][td]Pakistan [/td][/tr]
[/table]

Pakistan was growing stronger as 80's went on , no wonder 2 years after Nehru Cup they won 92 WC.

Insane final, was definitely ahead of the time though wicket might be very flat.

Look at names involved unbelievable Star Power.

Haynes Richardson Richards Marshall Ambrose Walsh
Javed Imran Wasim Qadir Salim , All Box office stuff.

Star Studded tournament, also started the downfall of WI cricket and sir Viv

India was massacred by West Indies in the semi-final - 165 all out!

They were a very mediocre team between 1985-2001 largely because the bowling was rubbish and the batting was mediocre.

It was only when the batting line-up clicked after 2000 that they were half-way to being a good team, and then when Zaheer Khan became a world class bowler a few years later they had a few really good years.
India were a medicore team reaching semis in this tournament, 1987,1996 wc and winning so many multi national tournaments from 1985-2000?

Star Studded tournament, also started the downfall of WI cricket and sir Viv

Their GOAT ODI side was finished by 86/87 once their best ODI bowlers Garner and Holding retired.

But they were still a force in ODI cricket until 98/99. Ranked 2nd around Jan. 1999.