On This Day: November 29, 1977 - The legendary Younis Khan was born

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p>37 years ago one of Pakistan's greatest ever cricketers was born <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash">#Cricket</a> <a href="http://t.co/mi2QxFgzJY">pic.twitter.com/mi2QxFgzJY</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/538637725793271808">November 29, 2014</a></blockquote>

A true legend. And a top bloke.

PS - if you take Younis at his word then he was born in 1975 not 1977.

I have respected him since the day he made his debut. Apart from being a brilliant batsman, he's such a nice and humble human being. The whole of India respect him.

His debut 100 against SL was class and would have been a winning one had Akram not got injured a handful of overs into bowling. SL ended up winning by 2 wickets.

Probably the last world class Test batsman we will ever produce.

Happy Birthday.

indeed he is our best of last 20 years

& yet another test of skills in second inning, let see. I am very much expected a 150+ from him & he has did on several occasions.

Great batsman. Love watching him bat especially against spin. His innings against us in 2005 where he took Kumble apart is the best i've seen against Kumble in India. Can't believe he is 39 years old. Surely he will retire after this series, no?

Happy Birthday.

yes the last, because you wont be there to see you the next world class in few months or even years...

[MENTION=74271]O[/MENTION]p yes indeed the best in test we have produced

Clearly seems like our last classy Test batsman for a very very long time to come . A great player and a humble person...May you have a safe long and healthy life.

yes the last, because you wont be there to see you the next world class in few months or even years...

[MENTION=74271]O[/MENTION]p yes indeed the best in test we have produced

Neither will our grandchildren.

Not once I've seen him misbehave or display a disrespectful attitude on the field. Any captain's dream, I must say.

Greatest Pakistani Batsmen.......

End off

Another century would be nice

Happy Birthday.

Azhar Ali and Ahmed Shahzad could become world class test batsmen, and so could Umar Akmal and Asad Shafiq but less likely than the first two I mentioned.

Azhar Ali? :o You've got to be Kidding("S" word but I might get banned for using that) me, Just look at his awful technique against spin and pace (people who think his technique against pace is good are delusional), don't get me started on his SR, No ability or talent to score freely or even rotate strike to save his life more like Fawad Alam v2.0 in Tests and you imagine him becoming a world class test batsman, how can you even think like that let alone imagine? He's the definition of tuk-tuk, If you wanna torture someone in jail just sit him infront of TV when he's batting, I'm sure there can't be anything more torturous than AA on strike, Ohhh man you really need to get your head checked out!

Whatever his technique may be, he is the most consistent batsmen in the team and has scored the most runs out of all the test players in the team of his age group, he's going to be playing for Pakistan for a long time.

Happy Birthday YK.

Can't even imagine how pakistan test cricket would have fared without his presence.Truly a Legend.

Happy Birthday. Always liked this guy except for that time where tried convincing that he wasn't out and then the DRS exposed him. Can't blame him they are competitive athletes. That is why they are here.

Our test legend. I think he would have murdered Jetan Patel and Sodhi (in cricketing sense) if he was part of the test series

Compare this guy to the pygmies we have today.

From Younis Khan to Uncle Ifti, acha bacha Azhar, coward Shafiq and well spoken Shan.

We are gonna need big daddy hundreds like this man used to get if we wanna win this Test match.

Still haven't replaced his runs in Asia never mind outside, if he was still there for the UAE tests we've lost recently we would have easily won them. Definitely a big miss for the Pakistani side, and not a mental midget like Azhar & Shafiq.

Great fighter with a smiling face. I still remember him doing push ups after a 50 or 100 in sweltering heat just to show he still has energy left in tank. HBD

This man singlehandedly managed to attract 12000 people to a test match in ABU DHABI, on day 2 vs australia when he made 213, what an incredible day that was.

Yes he was past his best in his last few tours, and yes Mr. Team Man had a kind of odd and entitled attitude. But one hell of a bat. To score huge hundreds at 38 or whatever he was in his last couple of overseas tours, just shows his quality.

And yes within Asia was a monster. Huge shoes that still have not been filled. Happy Birthday Younis!

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Celebrating my birthday with friends, Family and my International business associates. I would like to thank all my fans, friends and well wishers for their lovely messages throughout the day. I am very thankful. <a href="https://t.co/yheYCzxF6O">pic.twitter.com/yheYCzxF6O</a></p>— Younus Khan (@YounusK75) <a href="https://twitter.com/YounusK75/status/1200528262096728066?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 29, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

This man singlehandedly managed to attract 12000 people to a test match in ABU DHABI, on day 2 vs australia when he made 213, what an incredible day that was.

One of my favorite cricketing moments. He was in sublime that series.

Australia have smashed us so bad down under. It was amazing to return the favour. Total domination.

one of the most hardworking Pak cricketers. Respect to the legend. May he have many more to come.

42 years today (29th November)!

On another note, didn't he himself confess in a press conference once that he is around 4 years older than his official age? So I guess he is around 46.

This was an actual exchange from a video released today by the PCB :))

Misbah: Happy birthday, ek saal aur jawaan ho gaye.

YK: I hope hum sab ka safar aur, aglay bees pachis saal tak chalay. Inshallah.

Misbah: Inshallah.

Waqar: Inshallah.

YK: Inshallah. :yk

Legends!

On another note, didn't he himself confess in a press conference once that he is around 4 years older than his official age? So I guess he is around 46.

Makes his test achievements all the more impressive - the guy was scoring test double hundreds in England vs Anderson, Broad and co at the age of 41/42.

That innings is the highlight of his career he was under immense pressure