One to look out for in the future - Rameez Aziz (Little Lara)

Saj

I was speaking to Muhammad Zahid yesterday and one of the things that we were chatting about was whether any batting talent is coming through.

Zahid said that there isnt really a lot of talent that makes you sit up and take note, but one name to look out for is Rameez Aziz :-

http://www.cricinfo.com/pakistan/content/player/286653.html

He said they have nicknamed him "Little Lara" as his style of batting is just like Lara's. He has all the shots has been scoring triple centuries in grad 2 and schools cricket, is very young though but looks like a real star of the future, if he can just sort out his attitude.

Saj said:
I was speaking to Muhammad Zahid yesterday and one of the things that we were chatting about was whether any batting talent is coming through.

Zahid said that there isnt really a lot of talent that makes you sit up and take note, but one name to look out for is Rameez Aziz :-

http://www.cricinfo.com/pakistan/content/player/286653.html

He said they have nicknamed him "Little Lara" as his style of batting is just like Lara's. He has all the shots has been scoring triple centuries in grad 2 and schools cricket, is very young though but looks like a real star of the future, if he can just sort out his attitude.

Saj, couldnt help but noticing this part. Is there anything wrong with his attitude? Is he like Akhtar, or what is it about his attitude?

His stats are not that impressive but stats don't always tell the entire story.

Salazar said:
Saj, couldnt help but noticing this part. Is there anything wrong with his attitude? Is he like Akhtar, or what is it about his attitude?
There are a few "off field issues" with him Salazar. Teenager.....interests outside cricket etc. Needs to focus more on his cricket etc etc

Saj said:
There are a few "off field issues" with him Salazar. Teenager.....interests outside cricket etc. Needs to focus more on his cricket etc etc

Hope he matures quickly to make a career out of his cricket before the interest takes the cricket out of him.

If he's been highly recommended, he's certainly one to look out for.

He's fairly new to first class cricket, so his stats mean nothing as of now. It'll be better to take a look of his stats on a wider range of matches.

Bilal Shifayat captain of the Customs team was singing his praises in the interviews he did on Pakpassion. Hopefully the lad can start giving his 100% to cricket as talent alone is not enough to get you through.

Saj said:
So he is in ahmed shehzad catogary.lets hope our young players focus more on cricket and less on off field activities. :akhtar

It's a bit of a cliche but still, most pertinent when considering his unique brilliance:

'There's only one Brian Lara.'

Here we go again with off field activities..someone needs to have a word with these guys..sometimes a good chitroal can do wonders!!! ..LOL

Sheikh said:
It's a bit of a cliche but still, most pertinent when considering his unique brilliance:

I think some of his team mates have given him the nickname Little Lara as he's a leftie and styles himself on the great BC Lara.

For Zahid to say the lad is good, he must be very good, because Zahid is not easily impressed.

Saj said:
For Zahid to say the lad is good, he must be very good, because Zahid is not easily impressed.

Zahid is quite interesting in what he has to say Saj, I saw the Bin Nasir comments you posted. Hopefully he can give a few more insights over time because it is a lot more interesting than hearing "blah is working hard and if he keeps working hard his chance will come blah blah" that seems to come from everyone else.

Saj said:

Saj, thanks for posting Zahid's view on Nasir and Rameez. When you speak with him next time, can you ask his opinion on Shoib Akhtar? Does he see him coming back to form if he can sort out political issues?
It would be interesting to see his view on Shoib as he's the only bowler still capable of bowling with extra pace in Pakistan.

He came for a tournament to Dubai twice representing customs under 17 and I played against him, I even bowled to him.

He scored a century in one of the games, and was also the man of the series in the tournament. Decent batsmen.

Sheikh said:

x2.

sali said:
Saj, thanks for posting Zahid's view on Nasir and Rameez. When you speak with him next time, can you ask his opinion on Shoib Akhtar? Does he see him coming back to form if he can sort out political issues?
It would be interesting to see his view on Shoib as he's the only bowler still capable of bowling with extra pace in Pakistan.
Sali, I interviewed Zahid about a month ago and this is what he had to say about Akhtar :-

PakPassion.Net : Talking of Shoaib Akhtar, my next question is about him. Shoaib has himself told us that he believed that you (Mohammad Zahid) were the faster bowler ever. With Shoaib Akhtar what advice would you give him considering he is another cricketer where is off field activities is publicised more than his cricket.

Mohammad Zahid : Shoaib and myself both came up the ranks together in first class cricket. We played together for PIA for 3 to 4 years. From Pakistan Juniors to Senior Internationals early on. His attitude has been like this from the early years! What advice can I give him?! I have no real solution for him as he hasn't changed. It's part of his makeup! He is not a bad character. He is a good guy! If I saw him I would give him the brotherly advice and say you have at most 1 or 2 years left in your career and concentrate just on cricket, as it would be good for him and for Pakistan if he knuckled down and kept his focus on cricket.

The interview can be found if you click under literature in the top menu options.

abc_to_xyz said:
Under-12? whats next? Baby cricket?

under-12?? he is 18 years old.... I think at 18 a player can deemed talented and be considered one for the future....

I don't know if you know this but Aamer is 17...

Saj said:

they (teenage Pakistani cricketers) cant help it.... most of them love "off field" activities because they are not control of themselves......

ehjaz said:
they (teenage Pakistani cricketers) cant help it.... most of them love "off field" activities because they are not control of themselves......
I don't think it's limited to the cricketers.

I hope he is good. Although to be honest I am a bit put off by his first name. :raja

Rameez Aziz, the captain of the Customs Cricket Academy (CCA) from Pakistan, hit a century to help his team lift the Dolphin Cup the world's tallest trophy at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium.

Aziz also picked up two valuable wickets to inspire the Customs team to a 108-run win over K&S Academy in the final of this Under-14 nine-day tournament.

It was a splendid captain's show from the start. Opening the innings, after winning the toss, Aziz settled down to play some lovely shots. With Niaza Asad Baig, Aziz put on a 75- run partnership to give his team a brilliant start.

Baig was the first to go, when leg-spinner Daniyal had him caught by Farhad for 36.

One down Azeem too returned quickly, caught and bowled by Salar Waqar for 6. Aziz kept the scoreboard moving despite Nashwan Nasir, bowling a tight length dismissing Ahsan Khan for 19.

Aziz steered Customs to a respectable total of 194 for 5 in the allotted 30 overs before being stumped off Nashwan for 100. Aziz's 100 came off 109 balls. He hit six boundaries and two sixes.

K&S began their chase with openers Aashish Dhingra and Amit Halbhavi. Customs' opening bowler Ashan Khan clean bowled Dhingra for 10. He also cleaned bowled one down Ali Sajjad for 1. Meanwhile, Aziz also bowled Amit for 16.

To make things worse, Aziz trapped K&S's most consistent batsman, Nashwan, leg-before for a duck.

Four down for 35, K&S Academy looked like surrendering meekly.

UAE national Alawi Shukri and Salar Waqar withstood the tight attack and added 29 runs for the fifth wicket. Arsalan Hussain had Shukri caught by Aziz for 15. While Arsalan Saleem dismissed the next two batsmen in a flash.

Waqar remained unbeaten on 17 off 42 balls with two boundaries but his team was shot out for 86 in 26.1 overs.

The Customs team was coached by Jalaludeen, the former Pakistan fast bowler.

Former Pakistan Test star Mudassar Nazar gave away the trophy in the presence of Mazhar Khan, the administrator of the Emirates Cricket Board, and Abdul Razzaq Kazim, chief selector of the UAE team

The Man-of-the-Match award went to Aziz for his splendid allround performance in the final. Customs' opening bowler Mohammad Ashan Khan won the Best Bowler's award.

A special prize was presented to Nashwan Nasir by Jalaludeen for winning the Man-of-the-Match award thrice in this tournament.

Brief scores

Customs Cricket Academy, Pakistan bt K&S Academy, Dubai by 108 runs
CCA Academy 194 for 5 in 30 overs
(Rameez Aziz 100, Mirza Asad Baig 36,Nashwan Nasir 2 for 30) K& S Academy 86 in 26.1 overs (Ahsan Khan 2 for 18, Rameez Aziz 2 for 6,Ahsalan Saleem 2 for 13, Ahsalan Hussain 2 for 21)
Man of the match: Rameez Aziz of CCA Academy.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

One of the tournaments in which Aziz took part in Sharjah.

*sallu* said:
Rameez Aziz, the captain of the Customs Cricket Academy (CCA) from Pakistan, hit a century to help his team lift the Dolphin Cup the world's tallest trophy at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium.

Aziz also picked up two valuable wickets to inspire the Customs team to a 108-run win over K&S Academy in the final of this Under-14 nine-day tournament.

It was a splendid captain's show from the start. Opening the innings, after winning the toss, Aziz settled down to play some lovely shots. With Niaza Asad Baig, Aziz put on a 75- run partnership to give his team a brilliant start.

Baig was the first to go, when leg-spinner Daniyal had him caught by Farhad for 36.

One down Azeem too returned quickly, caught and bowled by Salar Waqar for 6. Aziz kept the scoreboard moving despite Nashwan Nasir, bowling a tight length dismissing Ahsan Khan for 19.

Aziz steered Customs to a respectable total of 194 for 5 in the allotted 30 overs before being stumped off Nashwan for 100. Aziz's 100 came off 109 balls. He hit six boundaries and two sixes.

K&S began their chase with openers Aashish Dhingra and Amit Halbhavi. Customs' opening bowler Ashan Khan clean bowled Dhingra for 10. He also cleaned bowled one down Ali Sajjad for 1. Meanwhile, Aziz also bowled Amit for 16.

To make things worse, Aziz trapped K&S's most consistent batsman, Nashwan, leg-before for a duck.

Four down for 35, K&S Academy looked like surrendering meekly.

UAE national Alawi Shukri and Salar Waqar withstood the tight attack and added 29 runs for the fifth wicket. Arsalan Hussain had Shukri caught by Aziz for 15. While Arsalan Saleem dismissed the next two batsmen in a flash.

Waqar remained unbeaten on 17 off 42 balls with two boundaries but his team was shot out for 86 in 26.1 overs.

The Customs team was coached by Jalaludeen, the former Pakistan fast bowler.

Former Pakistan Test star Mudassar Nazar gave away the trophy in the presence of Mazhar Khan, the administrator of the Emirates Cricket Board, and Abdul Razzaq Kazim, chief selector of the UAE team

The Man-of-the-Match award went to Aziz for his splendid allround performance in the final. Customs' opening bowler Mohammad Ashan Khan won the Best Bowler's award.

A special prize was presented to Nashwan Nasir by Jalaludeen for winning the Man-of-the-Match award thrice in this tournament.

Brief scores

Customs Cricket Academy, Pakistan bt K&S Academy, Dubai by 108 runs
CCA Academy 194 for 5 in 30 overs
(Rameez Aziz 100, Mirza Asad Baig 36,Nashwan Nasir 2 for 30) K& S Academy 86 in 26.1 overs (Ahsan Khan 2 for 18, Rameez Aziz 2 for 6,Ahsalan Saleem 2 for 13, Ahsalan Hussain 2 for 21)
Man of the match: Rameez Aziz of CCA Academy.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

One of the tournaments in which Aziz took part in Sharjah.

An under-14's tournament?

He's 18 now so that was a long time ago and a little irrelevant in my opinion.

Juggernaut said:
An under-14's tournament?

He's 18 now so that was a long time ago and a little irrelevant in my opinion.

Yeah I guess, but was talented

I think generally sportsmen do have off-field ACTIVITIES. But the thing is to keep them in control and be professional towards sports. I think we need more professionalism.

Zahid has seen and bowled to some great Pakistani batsman in his time so I would value his judgement when it comes to spotting talent.

After all he has played alongside and bowled to the likes of Miandad, Salim Malik, Saeed Anwar, Ijaz Ahmed etc etc

He sounded excited about this kid, so lets see what happens to him.

I think this kid also needs same kind of treatment by muddy pa as he gave to umar akmal.
But then umar akmal is lucky to have his elder brother to guide him and pull him when he is not working hard.

He's 18, and honestly, he's really not that young. If he's exceptional he should be playing for those pathetic excuse of domestic teams.

now really...if you begin calling an 18 yo, Lara. what do you expect him to think of himself?

Lara is simply another class...you can't match Lara while playing under-19 and for anyone wanting to become Lara, first you need to correct your attitude.
This may sound non-sense but you aren't Lara until you're the complete Lara

^^ They called him Little-Lara because of his style of batting, not because of his achievements.

eViLrAcEr said:
now really...if you begin calling an 18 yo, Lara. what do you expect him to think of himself?
Especially if you consider the fact that 'Lara' is Punjabi for 'bridegroom'. This might easily put some stupid ideas into the young lad's head. :inzi

McBoom said:
Bilal Shifayat captain of the Customs team was singing his praises in the interviews he did on Pakpassion. Hopefully the lad can start giving his 100% to cricket as talent alone is not enough to get you through.

Just out of curiosity, is this the same Bilal Shifayat that was the 12th man in the Ashes game that Ponting was "irked" by.

kuthaman said:
Just out of curiosity, is this the same Bilal Shifayat that was the 12th man in the Ashes game that Ponting was "irked" by.
Yeah, that was Bilal Shifayat.

If irfan can be called akram than why not rameez be called little lara.

LG said:
^^ They called him Little-Lara because of his style of batting, not because of his achievements.
oh but he's never going to accept that himself :P
Xohaib said:
If irfan can be called akram than why not rameez be called little lara.
trust me, the person who said irfan = wasim would be banging his head right now :P

sali said:

Please don't forget to ask him about Mohamaad Hafiz, Taufeeq Umer, Imran Farhat and Shahryar Ghani? and Faisal Iqbal?

Karachi said:
Please don't forget to ask him about Mohamaad Hafiz, Taufeeq Umer, Imran Farhat and Shahryar Ghani? and Faisal Iqbal?
I dont think his views on Faisal Iqbal can be written on a family friendly forum ;-)

Saj said:
I dont think his views on Faisal Iqbal can be written on a family friendly forum ;-)
Send the grown ups a PM ;-)

It looks like Rameez is living up to expectations, played an AMAZING inning (72 no off 33 balls) against Zimbabwe U19 in the 20/20 game.

Pakistan Under-19s 151 for 7 (Aziz 72*, Mutombodzi 3-20) beat Zimbabwe Under-19s 146 for 8 (Higgins 55*, Zambuko 34, Sana 3-28) by three wickets
Scorecard

A blazing unbeaten 72 by Rameez Aziz guided Pakistan to a three-wicket win in the first Twenty20 at St Johns College Ground. His knock overshadowed a hat-trick by the legspinner Tinotenda Mutombodzi, who had the visitors in a spot of bother in the middle overs chasing 147.

After opting to bat, Zimbabwe were lifted by a fourth-wicket stand of 63 between the captain Dylan Higgins and Mazvita Zambuko. Zambuko hit three sixes in his 27-ball 34 before falling victim to the legspinner Shahzaib Ahmed. Higgins continued to anchor the innings after the pair were separated in the 14th over. Higgins remained unbeaten on 55 and his knock featured three fours and two sixes.

Pakistan, in their reply, were comfortably placed at 68 for 2 in the 11th over before Mutombodzi's strikes jolted their progress. He bowled Babar Azam for 27 and then sent back Nasir Malik and Muzammil Nizam off consecutive deliveries in the same over. At 68 for 5, the home team had the opportunity to go for the kill but Aziz stood firm and took his team home with support from the lower order. His half-century included four fours and six sixes.

The teams will face off again for the second one-dayer in Harare on Sunday

http://www.cricinfo.com/zimbabwe/content/current/story/428195.html

Pakistani senior batsmen are facing problems right now but it looks like we have some exciting talent who can come in and replace the seniors, too early for Rameez it's definitely exciting when a youngster can play such an inning at any level, 6 SIXES to guide Pakistan to victory.

Watch out for Rameez Aziz

This young lad from Karachi currently playing in Zimbabwe has just scored 72 off 33 balls with 6 sixes and 4 fours. I remember a domestic player described him as the best upcoming youngster who bats like Brian Lara. Watch out for him!!

More information needed. How old is he? Which team(s) he plays for in the domestic circuit? At what position does he bat (we are always on the lookout for openers)? I am assuming from Brian Lara's reference that he is a left hander.

Ghoshtbuster said:
Nobody on PP has ever heard of him before.

Thanks.

well, nobody had ever heard of aamir about 2 years ago on PP, but he's an upcoming star of our cricket, who knows this thread may be visited again in 2 years time, and he may be another stAR

we need to draft this guy into the pakistan national team and becaus i think he will be a good replacement for yousuf.......... looks like a good prospect of what ive heard of him..... we need in more new blood in our team......

looks like he batted well against Zim

Pakistan Under-19s 151 for 7 (Aziz 72*, Mutombodzi 3-20) beat Zimbabwe Under-19s 146 for 8 (Higgins 55*, Zambuko 34, Sana 3-28) by three wickets
Scorecard

A blazing unbeaten 72 by Rameez Aziz guided Pakistan to a three-wicket win in the first Twenty20 at St Johns College Ground. His knock overshadowed a hat-trick by the legspinner Tinotenda Mutombodzi, who had the visitors in a spot of bother in the middle overs chasing 147.

After opting to bat, Zimbabwe were lifted by a fourth-wicket stand of 63 between the captain Dylan Higgins and Mazvita Zambuko. Zambuko hit three sixes in his 27-ball 34 before falling victim to the legspinner Shahzaib Ahmed. Higgins continued to anchor the innings after the pair were separated in the 14th over. Higgins remained unbeaten on 55 and his knock featured three fours and two sixes.

Pakistan, in their reply, were comfortably placed at 68 for 2 in the 11th over before Mutombodzi's strikes jolted their progress. He bowled Babar Azam for 27 and then sent back Nasir Malik and Muzammil Nizam off consecutive deliveries in the same over. At 68 for 5, the home team had the opportunity to go for the kill but Aziz stood firm and took his team home with support from the lower order. His half-century included four fours and six sixes.

The teams will face off again for the second one-dayer in Harare on Sunday.

http://www.cricinfo.com/zimbabwe/engine/current/match/424244.html

Whooaaa 6 sixes and 4 fours and that is 58 runs out of 72 in boundaries. This guy does not like to run much does he.

Another Afridi in the making

This is one hell of an inning:

Runs scored: 72
Balls faced: 33
4s: 4
6s: 6
Strike Rate: 218.18
Remains not out

IMO he should be selected for Pakistan A immediately.

Remeber he played against ZIM. lets see how he will play against England NZ AUS etc

JAV12341 said:
we need to draft this guy into the pakistan national team and becaus i think he will be a good replacement for yousuf.......... looks like a good prospect of what ive heard of him..... we need in more new blood in our team......
Wah. Kya baat hai. One good knock against Zimbabwe U-19 and he's good replacement for Yousuf in the national side. You haven't even seen him bat.

JAV12341 said:

Is this a joke?

JAV12341 said:
This takes the cake for a knee jerk reactions on PP.

Just amazing :14:

JAV12341 said:

POTW.........

NOT!

Saj...Its time to request your brother in Law to ask any of his friends in ZIM(if he has any) to us some pics of this guy

Just had a look at his profile which is at cricinfo. I realized that this guy is younger than me (1 day younger than me) :D

I dont know what is so funny about JAV1264784023's comment.

By all accounts, Ramiz Aziz is a highly talented batsman. Now, in our domestic cricket, he will either plunder easy runs, or wither away. International cricket is where our batsman are made.

Umar Akmal is the prime example. He was a name already known due to his brother, but had a stunning record-breaking debut season, averaging 80 with an SR of 90. In his second season, he scored nothing - now look where he is.

These players need to be drafted into the International set up, sooner rather than later - especially with Malik and Misbah stagnating in out middle order.

Umar Akmal is where he is after performing consistently well against some top oppositions, not after a one or two matches. Rameez Aziz may be extrememly talented, but how can he be drafted in to replace Mohammad Yousuf after scoring runs against Zimbabwe U-19? Get him into the international arena now, and we'll be seeing another Hasan Raza. Just give him time to develop as a player, and face challenges as they come.

Ghoshtbuster said:
I dont know what is so funny about JAV1264784023's comment.

By all accounts, Ramiz Aziz is a highly talented batsman. Now, in our domestic cricket, he will either plunder easy runs, or wither away. International cricket is where our batsman are made.

Umar Akmal is the prime example. He was a name already known due to his brother, but had a stunning record-breaking debut season, averaging 80 with an SR of 90. In his second season, he scored nothing - now look where he is.

These players need to be drafted into the International set up, sooner rather than later - especially with Malik and Misbah stagnating in out middle order.
This thread is full of shocking comments
Another knee jerk reaction I say.

Let him play at least 2-3 international matches at least this guy is still in his diapers.

iafzal said:
This thread is full of shocking comments
Another knee jerk reaction I say.

Let him play at least 2-3 international matches at least this guy is still in his diapers.
funny, our ace bowler is younger then him...

Great stuff from Rameez so far in the 2 matches completed in New Zealand against their Under 19s.

Saj who you think will make the National team quicker: Rameez Aziz or Azeem Ghumman? or they will not make it at all?

srh said:
Saj who you think will make the National team quicker: Rameez Aziz or Azeem Ghumman? or they will not make it at all?

4 of our U19 batsmen are highly talented (as talented as players like Sharma ,Raina ,Panday etc) so all of them have the chance to represent our team in near future (if our selectors chooses it to)

srh said:

Azeem most likely before Rameez as former is an opening batsman and we are always on the lookout for opening batsmen.

muhammad saad said:
4 of our U19 batsmen are highly talented (as talented as players like Sharma ,Raina ,Panday etc) so all of them have the chance to represent our team in near future (if our selectors chooses it to)
Who are the other 2 (assuming Rameez Aziz and Azeem Ghumman are already in your list)?

srh said:
Anything is possible mere bhai.

We have seen in the past Under 19 stars disappear off the scene very quickly.

If I had to guess, then I would say Azeem.

The other 2 that Saad is referring to I presume are Ahmed Shehzad and Babar Azam.

Saj said:

The other 2 that Saad is referring to I presume are Ahmed Shehzad and Babar Azam.

Saj,has PP interviewed Rameez Aziz ?

pakmania said:
Saj,has PP interviewed Rameez Aziz ?
No, I was supposed to before the Under 19s went to New Zealand, but didnt get round to doing the interview.

I'll catch up with him Azeem and Babar after the World Cup.

Saj said:

Is not Hammad Azam better than Babar Azam?

Why Rameez Aziz not playing in the warm up matches despite in amazing form?

Is it due to lack of backing because we all know that he is talented and he recently singlehandedly won us the U19 Nz series (by scoring 53 and 83* in the last 2 games) so the question is he injured or he is not having enough sifarish behind his back? Saj can you find that out?

so as soon as a player misses a game there is a conspiracy of biriyani-like proportions ?

pakmania said:
so as soon as a player misses a game there is a conspiracy of biriyani-like proportions ?

Aint that the truth.

Maybe they want to try out as many players as possible in readiness for the tournament. Did that thought cross your mind?