Options for dealing with Umar Akmal

How should Umar Akmal be dealt with?

Junaids

My patience, like everyone else's is well and truly exhausted.

We have a case of a gifted young Batsman who was discarded prematurely, since which time he has sulked and eaten his way through his career. Nothing ever seems to be his fault in his mind.

I get that. He has character similarities to Eric Cantona, to Kevin Pietersen, to Cristiano Ronaldo and to Paul Gascoigne.

He could easily be discarded - but the potential replacements have never shown half his ability against proper pace like Bond and Johnson.

Discarding him - as Mickey Arthur discovered with Mitchell Johnson, Usman Khawaja, Shane Watson and James Pattinson - means an easier life but inferior on field performances.

As I see it, these are the options:

1) Ban Umar Akmal for a long time. But this would be punishment, it would serve zero rehabilitating purpose.

2) Ignore his transgressions, like the young Asif. But that too serves no purpose.

3) Issue him a watertight 3 year contract, with clauses including:

A) a total ban on public comment by him.
B) a set fitness regime, including non-negotiable weight and fitness targets, with heavy fines (1 year of wages) for every failed fitness test.
C) a set playing schedule, including all domestic First Class matches unless a PCB fitness coach has excused him.
D) set scoring goals, including a minimum 600 domestic First Class runs per season.

Wouldn't that be a better way to manage this immature fool?

Why should he be given so much importance just because he played a couple of good innings 8 years ago?

He has done nothing of note since then. Forget Bond and Johnson in Australia and NZ, he can't even score in Asia anymore against much inferior trundlers.

He should just focus on playing in different T20 leagues.

Amazes me why rank average players like Afiridi and in Umar's case, rank poor players get so much attention and media space in Pakistan. Anywhere else, they would have been treated like they ought to be and will be discarded sooner than in Pakistan.

Does anyone remember a particular Andrew Symonds. A brilliant batsman , a useful bowler a someone who could change a match by his brilliant fielding efforts . Remember how he was discarded for disciplinary reasons ? England are yet to find a suitable replacement for Kevin Pietersen but they haven't recalled him . Umar Akmal is old enough to know the right from wrong , unfortunately what's wrong for many is right for him , he needs help not coddling.

Nah because if he fails any of those criteria we're back to square one. No point.

A C contract isn't really that much money and is given to fringe players. Tbh Umar is probably good enough to be in Contract C class looking at the names he's competing with in it. Just been left out as they've lost patience with him. He was in the team not too long ago (admittedly for a short time), and cricketers don't usually drop out of contracts entirely if they were in the XI just recently.

It's pretty easy for Umar to earn his contract back. Regain fitness, perform in domestic. Really isn't that hard for someone who has plenty of international experience which really comes in handy in the domestic arena. Kamran Akmal of all people managed to get a recall to int. cricket that way as a pure batsman alone despite pretty poor international stats, terrible fielding and his fitness ain't great (though it might be better than umar).

Umar should think he's lucky he's not fawad where it doesn't give a damn whether he performs or not. Not saying that Fawad doesn't have flaws that prevent him getting fixed, just umar's recall path is much simpler than most.

Or at least it used to before this outburst. Still I don't think something like this will prevent him getting picked in the future, people will forget this and move on, they'll bear with him if they do truly need him or he can convince that he's changed.

I think the right action is to issue a fine and move on. If Umar really is dedicated to improving like he says he is, he'll probably be back anyway. I'm not sure about Catona or Paul Gascoigne too much as I didn't watch them when they played (nor watch much football anyway). But KP and Ronaldo especially were professional in terms of their sport, always putting in the hard work training and fitness wise. Umar's different, poor professionally as well as behaviour.

You're acting as if he is the second coming of Sir Viv.

The fact is that he is a limited batsmen who lacks basic batting ingredients such as composure, good shot selection and does not know how to build an innings

There is NO reason whatsoever to make any more special considerations for this lunatic. We already have made a lot of compromises for him and he couldn't care less

There should be no further discussion on this player and how to 'fit' him. Either he acts like a normal person with a brain and performs on the field or he doesn't.

End of discussion

We have a case of a gifted young Batsman who was discarded prematurely, since which time he has sulked and eaten his way through his career. Nothing ever seems to be his fault in his mind.

I get that. He has character similarities to Eric Cantona, to Kevin Pietersen, to Cristiano Ronaldo and to Paul Gascoigne.

He could easily be discarded - but the potential replacements have never shown half his ability against proper pace like Bond and Johnson.

Discarding him - as Mickey Arthur discovered with Mitchell Johnson, Usman Khawaja, Shane Watson and James Pattinson - means an easier life but inferior on field performances.

1) Ban Umar Akmal for a long time. But this would be punishment, it would serve zero rehabilitating purpose.

2) Ignore his transgressions, like the young Asif. But that too serves no purpose.

B) a set fitness regime, including non-negotiable weight and fitness targets, with heavy fines (1 year of wages) for every failed fitness test.
C) a set playing schedule, including all domestic First Class matches unless a PCB fitness coach has excused him.
D) set scoring goals, including a minimum 600 domestic First Class runs per season.

To say Umar Akmal and Cristiano Ronaldo are polar opposites is an understatement.

This guy is an unfit, mediocre cricketer who is 27 years old and has no aspirations to improve.

Lets move on.

There is no need for a show cause notice, fines etc. He isn't worthy of such attention.

He just needs 2 seasons where he tops domestic FC cricket and proves his fitness, like any other player.

Unfortunately, he isn't capable of this - and he knows it as well - hence, he has to revert to his contacts in the media to stake a claim.

cristiano ronaldo works hard like a maniac

if umar had his character he would have been a world class batsman and not an over weight fool

It's done

Can not see any way back for him for years.

It's a shame because his ability is undeniable but he only has himself to blame

I always had hope but the latest insanity has ended it for me

Meh I think we've done alright without him [MENTION=132916]Junaids[/MENTION]

Problem is this.

Pakistan lost 7 Tests out of 9 this last year in England, New Zealand and Australia without this idiot.

There clearly are not viable alternatives to bat against pace outside Asia.

So I say design him an individual contract which gags him and which incentivises him to get fit and knuckle down and score runs in First Class cricket.

Problem is this.

Pakistan lost 7 Tests out of 9 this last year in England, New Zealand and Australia without this idiot.

Haris, Babar and Usman Salahuddin are all capable of playing fast bowling and score runs. You should see them more.

Problem is this.

So I say design him an individual contract which gags him and which incentivises him to get fit and knuckle down and score runs in First Class cricket.

You make it sound as if this idiot would have made an iota of difference in those tests.

For the past six year he has generally failed in the domestic FC tournament but you want me to believe that his performance in overseas tests would be better

I know you would like to believe otherwise but he almost certainly would have done worse than the current options

He is not equipped to play high quality bowling overseas and his peak output would be a 30 odd in the best oftimes

Problem is this.

What about when Pakistan whitewashed England and Australia without UA.
What about when Pakistan won away series to SL and WI without UA.

Problem is this.

Dont agree with this. We got much deserving folks than him who have ten times the work ethic he has & we should exhaust our resources on them rather than him. He is given a lot of chances and was a permanent name in our playing eleven. Had it not been for the waqar fiasco, he would still be in the team.This ******* failed two fitness tests, was send back home by mickey and had the guts to say to a pakistani newspaper that fitness doesn't matter, performances do.

I will give you an example of azhar ali. I know he doesnt have a lot of fans here on PP and am not sure whether you rate him highly. He didnt even have half of akmal's game in his early stages, yet look where he is now. That is not because of his talen, it is because of his discipline and work ethic. The other names that you mention like richard hadlee, ronaldo and viv worked hard like maniacs. I dont even watch football and i know he is considered by everybody as the hardest working footballer today.

Nothing substitutes for hardwork. He has nobody to blame but himself. This lower order batting number thing happened to a lot of good players who were juniors in their early careers etc Sachin, ponting, jayasuriya, lara saleem malik, javed miandad even kohli. Even sehwag used to be middle order batsman, but once he got promoted as opener. HE just shut his mouth and did his job like everybody else. He didn't ***** bout the number when he failed unlike akmal. Nobody stopped them from becoming ATG's.

And i forgot to mention that azhar ali was dropped too in 2014. Yet look how he worked hard and made comeback. There is no excuse for akmal if a lesser talented batsmen than him is having a good career

Dont agree with this. We got much deserving folks than him who have ten times the work ethic he has & we should exhaust our resources on them rather than him. He is given a lot of chances and was a permanent name in our playing eleven. Had it not been for the waqar fiasco, he would still be in the team.This ******* failed two fitness tests, was send back home by mickey and had the guts to say to a pakistani newspaper that fitness doesn't matter, performances do.

I will give you an example of azhar ali. I know he doesnt have a lot of fans here on PP and am not sure whether you rate him highly. He didnt even have half of akmal's game in his early stages, yet look where he is now. That is not because of his talen, it is because of his discipline and work ethic. The other names that you mention like richard hadlee, ronaldo and viv worked hard like maniacs. I dont even watch football and i know he is considered by everybody as the hardest working footballer today.

Nothing substitutes for hardwork. He has nobody to blame but himself. This lower order batting number thing happened to a lot of good players who were juniors in their early careers etc Sachin, ponting, jayasuriya, lara saleem malik, javed miandad even kohli. Even sehwag used to be middle order batsman, but once he got promoted as opener. HE just shut his mouth and did his job like everybody else. He didn't ***** bout the number when he failed unlike akmal. Nobody stopped them from becoming ATG's.

Not sure where you got that idea from him- Azhar is the best test batsmen PCT have, and pretty much everyone here respects his work ethic and commitment. He should stay away from captaincy and has work to do if he wants to stay in the ODI team but no-one has ever questioned his integrity/work ethic. Agree with the rest of what you have said.

Problem is this.

We lost because we played overaged babas in middle order and a toothless pace attack.

Better alternatives available in domestics than a person who cannot come up with a single century in FC in last 3, 4 years.

Your love for the likes of UA and Salman Butt is cringe-worthy

The only punishment I can envisage that will hurt him is to tell him his dress sense is horrible [Mithun wants his blazers back] and his gym-work isn't very good...

:D

Not sure where you got that idea from him- Azhar is the best test batsmen PCT have, and pretty much everyone here respects his work ethic and commitment. He should stay away from captaincy and has work to do if he wants to stay in the ODI team but no-one has ever questioned his integrity/work ethic. Agree with the rest of what you have said.

Bhai you misunderstood me there. I am a big fan of azhar since 2014. Just was making comparison to highlight the importance of work ethic and because i despise the "talented" tag umar akmal is always given by fans and some posters here.

The problem I see with U akmal is that he would have been pampered alot when growing up.. so he still has that thing beatowed in him of throwing tantarums whenever things dont go his way.

I understand the point [MENTION=132916]Junaids[/MENTION] is trying to advocate and quite frankly, you can't ignore what he's saying and there's gravity to his statements. A fit (keyword is FIT) Umar Akmal is the best batsman Pakistan have against pace in the team in spite of his character.

The model Junaids is presenting is worth a shot. One batsman ago looked convincing against pace in the recent away tours was the mediocrity of Asad Shafiq. YES. He isn't our best batsman but he's our best bat vs pace and you better expect dark times when such an average and inconsistent cricketer is your best bet against pace on fast and bouncy tracks of South Africa against a roaring Rabada and Steyn (most likely) AND Morkel.

what are you talking about??

Umar Akmal has thrown away what could have been a great career, but he's no criminal

he's out of the team and has no central contract. let him do what he wants

why would you ban him? if he improves, he's back in the team, else let him be

I read the title and it gave me chuckle...No need to read the post further.."Why would we look for options to deal with him? First he needs to learn how to deal with himself" Pak Team have far better options than him. Media should stop giving him coverage and move on..

Mod should start a poll.

Simple.

If he gets fit, and perform in domestic games then he should be selected.

Mouth running is a "desi" syndrome, hard to contain it for most desi's, particularly if you are not well literate.

time to move away from him and people like him. get more team players in the team - the akmal dynasty should now be well and truly over and i'm not one who'll be shedding any tears in missing them.

p.s. i'd also like to see the credentials of the trainer with whom junior worked in england with. from the boxing video shared by junior, the trainer himself looked as someone who wasn't in shape and all that. since i'm not a really gym/training enthusiast, idk if a trainer has to be fit before training other people but the youtube trainers etc. i see are like supper toned and fit.

Just repeating what most others are saying here, Umar Akmal's ability is extremely exaggerated. Inzamam was fat and Kevin Petersen has mental issues, but their ability was ten-fold Akmal's.

What should be done with him? Banning him is not an option because he has not committed the kind of sin that Salman Butt did (who is still being considered for selection!). So you treat him the way you would any child begging for attention. Ignore him.

Ban him for 1 year.

He has some mental problems and badly needs to check into rehab.

I have voted 3, but with a little modification -

E - he won't he called back straight, he has to earn the spot from domestics & A tours
F - he won't be paid any category of central contract - he'll be on "pay as you play" basis, but he'll be allowed/facilitated every training facilities, every medical benefits, every coaching staff that he needs (assessed by Arthur/Inzi or the then Coach/CS) and every perks that a centrally contracted player is entitled.

Give him some professional counselling and bring him back into the national team... He won't develop his game rotting in domestics.

We don't need a utterly mediocre player like him at all so I would put a life ban on him.

Oh dear god...
I voted before reading the opening post...
Let's not waste any more time on this.

I cant believe that you guys actually think a ban is possible. Like the ban wont be challenge in court and it wont get reversed.

He is not committing a crime for which he could recieve a ban.

Only logical thing to do is to throw him back in domestic and ignore him.

I cant believe that you guys actually think a ban is possible. Like the ban wont be challenge in court and it wont get reversed.

He is not committing a crime for which he could recieve a ban.

Only logical thing to do is to throw him back in domestic and ignore him.

They could "unofficially" ban him. For example, they could just stop selecting him for the national duties, and also ask the domestic teams in Pakistan to stop signing him for the tournaments. Terminate contract, etc.

I'm pretty sure that the marshmallow wouldn't be able to do jack about it.

I'm stunned Ronaldo has been mentioned alongside Umar Akmal.

This is ban-worthy.

:murali

This guy is done.

His career is over.

He's a bad player.

Accept the reality.

People are right to point out that Ronaldo is a brilliant trainer while Umar Akmal is a rubbish one.

But Paul Gascoigne and even Diego Maradona used to both get fat and unfit between major tournaments, then wake up, get fit and perform. Glenn Hoddle lost his job as England coach because he dropped the not-yet-fit Gazza from France'98 in the expectation that David Beckham could fill the role, then Becks got himself sent off v Argentina and suddenly the exclusion of Gazza left us with no creativity.

Perhaps I should have also listed "Fat Ronaldo." In January 2002 he looked like he had eaten Umar Akmal. In July 2002 he single-handedly won the World Cup.

Umar Akmal's failure to train properly or play First Class cricket has seen his game fall apart. But get him fit and get him focussed on longer innings and you get yourself a rare jewel.

Don't treat him the same way as someone with a proper brain and common sense. Lock him into a strict contract with a gagging clause and clear fitness and batting targets.

And when he talks rubbish, ignore him. Invoke the gagging clauses of his contract and fine him, but don't be sucked into a dialogue.

Just make sure option 3 is airtight and not watertight because you know... :uakmal

I understand the point [MENTION=132916]Junaids[/MENTION] is trying to advocate and quite frankly, you can't ignore what he's saying and there's gravity to his statements. A fit (keyword is FIT) Umar Akmal is the best batsman Pakistan have against pace in the team in spite of his character.

The model Junaids is presenting is worth a shot. One batsman ago looked convincing against pace in the recent away tours was the mediocrity of Asad Shafiq. YES. He isn't our best batsman but he's our best bat vs pace and you better expect dark times when such an average and inconsistent cricketer is your best bet against pace on fast and bouncy tracks of South Africa against a roaring Rabada and Steyn (most likely) AND Morkel.

Junaids point has no basis

A couple of boundaries means jack

Fitness is just a symptom of his problems and is tip of the iceberg

Guy cant construct an innings to save his life, fitness or no fitness

Junaids point has no basis

A couple of boundaries means jack

Fitness is just a symptom of his problems and is tip of the iceberg

Guy cant construct an innings to save his life, fitness or no fitness

I disagree.

Mohammad Hafeez or Shan Masood could play a thousand Test innings each in Australia or South Africa and would never average above 15.

Umar Akmal has a level of ability against pace that no other Pakistani apart from Babar Azam, Salman Butt and Azhar Ali can approach.

He is a fool, but he has never been replaced.

I disagree.

Mohammad Hafeez or Shan Masood could play a thousand Test innings each in Australia or South Africa and would never average above 15.

Umar Akmal has a level of ability against pace that no other Pakistani apart from Babar Azam, Salman Butt and Azhar Ali can approach.

what is this ability against pace

Why hasnt it yielded runs in T20s or ODIs in last 6 years?

Why didnt it yield runs in England tests of 2010?

what is this ability against pace

Why hasnt it yielded runs in T20s or ODIs in last 6 years?

Why didnt it yield runs in England tests of 2010?

England choro bhai he keeps getting owned by Anwar Ali in domestic tournaments lol

Given the choices by OP I would pick #3. But then not sure if PCB has a leg to stand on and impose this. Since the PCB themselves need a similar list of ultimatums/probation to get their act together.

Coming back to UA, not sure if option #3 will work either. As it requires some self discipline and self motivation, which he seems to lack.

Umar Akmal badly needs a psychologist and an effective man manager (no not his brother)

Needs to stay away from the media and needs to go on a strict training plan and play domestic/PSL for atleast a year before even think of being considered for a recall to the national team.

Just show him the door and discard him.

Fakhar is roughly the same age as umar akmal .... how much more would Pakistan have benefited if they had just discarded the likes of akmal 5 years ago and invested more time in the likes of fakhar....

I disagree.

Going for a full blooded leg side slog and embarrassingly getting caught 15 yards inside the boundary...... indeed no one has replaced this ability that he so wonderfully perfected.

Deal with him series by series. Send him back home should any misadventure take place or he be declared unfit. No more then three chances should be given. After that he should be permanently discarded like the Aussies did Andrew Symonds. Umar is hardly irreplaceable that we can't do without him.

After years Umar Akmal has a prolific Qea trophy.

He was backed by HBL management including strong support from his Captain Imran Farhat and Coach Saleem Jaffar.

Consistent oppurtunities at number 4 batting position.

Less scandals/controversies/fights in a given season.

736 runs in 19 innings at an Ave of 41 and a SR of 78 with 2 FC tons including a match winning hundred and 113 & 52 in the Final. He was declared Man of the match aswell.

Observation

I had the previlage of watching HBL's second inning. Umar Akmal was batting and as usual he played some amazing shots. He looked very calm at the crease, was showing great patience & was giving due respect to all good deliveries from SNGPL bowlers. Some solid forward press straight bat defensive shots showing ful blade.

I said to myself hang of a second has Umar Akmal finally matured at Age 28 ? What a fine knock he is playing here and he is going to finish the game for HBL and this will further boost his ability and will impress Selectors & NCA staff who can than fix his fitness and this might revive his Test Career again with available slots in playing eleven post Misbah Younis era.

But He flattered to deceive once again.

Bilawal Bhatti bowled a straight delivery to Umar Akmal at off stump. He has solidly defended such deliveries back to Bilawal Bhatti atleast 5 times. It was a good length non drivable delivery bowled around 140 kph.

What was Umar's response ?

Played a straight ball across the line aiming for a four through squarish midwicket region. Closed the face of the bat and saw his off and middle stump rattled.

[MENTION=132916]Junaids[/MENTION] these things do matter and matter alot. Hard work wasted in split of a second. What message did he give to Inzamam & Mickey with this hoick through the leg side ?

Like Afridi U. Akmal will never succeed in international cricket with the bat. The best use is too give them a pinchhitter's or finisher's role and not expect wonders. Low IQ and no batting sense means they will never adapt to the situation.

I think Mickey understands this.

Umar Akmal has the money and the resources in the shape of access to trainers and nutritionists to be one of the fittest players in the country. He used to have tremendous fitness at one point. Now he is carrying 15 kgs of fat. That tells you all you need about his work ethics. The day he sheds the fat and achieves peak fitness is the day he proves he is committed to work on his game and has finally matured. Before that let him waste away in T20 tamasha leagues.

Assuming he was to return with those clauses, I don't believe he is capable of abiding by them anyway. But things are so bad he has to be up for consideration...

I still can't believe he dared to fake an injury when he was a complete newbie just because his brother wasn't picked for the side.

And before anyone hates me for mentioning that, forget the fact that I'm an Indian, can you for a second imagine a complete newbie from any team who has played just a handful of games fake an injury for his selfish motives? Can anything be more unprofessional than that?

He showed his true colors right then and there. And it was a big mistake on the PCB's part to have not banned him for a couple of years right then.

I still can't believe he dared to fake an injury when he was a complete newbie just because his brother wasn't picked for the side.

And before anyone hates me for mentioning that, forget the fact that I'm an Indian, can you for a second imagine a complete newbie from any team who has played just a handful of games fake an injury for his selfish motives? Can anything be more unprofessional than that?

He showed his true colors right then and there. And it was a big mistake on the PCB's part to have not banned him for a couple of years right then.

I suppose the most recent example would be Bancroft tampering when his captain asked him and Amir being involved in the fixing after being asked to do the deeds by Salman Butt. I'd say these two were so much worse in comparison but what happened down under during that time with Akmals in general was pathetic.

After years Umar Akmal has a prolific Qea trophy.

He was backed by HBL management including strong support from his Captain Imran Farhat and Coach Saleem Jaffar.

Consistent oppurtunities at number 4 batting position.

Less scandals/controversies/fights in a given season.

736 runs in 19 innings at an Ave of 41 and a SR of 78 with 2 FC tons including a match winning hundred and 113 & 52 in the Final. He was declared Man of the match aswell.

Observation

I had the previlage of watching HBL's second inning. Umar Akmal was batting and as usual he played some amazing shots. He looked very calm at the crease, was showing great patience & was giving due respect to all good deliveries from SNGPL bowlers. Some solid forward press straight bat defensive shots showing ful blade.

I said to myself hang of a second has Umar Akmal finally matured at Age 28 ? What a fine knock he is playing here and he is going to finish the game for HBL and this will further boost his ability and will impress Selectors & NCA staff who can than fix his fitness and this might revive his Test Career again with available slots in playing eleven post Misbah Younis era.

But He flattered to deceive once again.

Bilawal Bhatti bowled a straight delivery to Umar Akmal at off stump. He has solidly defended such deliveries back to Bilawal Bhatti atleast 5 times. It was a good length non drivable delivery bowled around 140 kph.

What was Umar's response ?

Played a straight ball across the line aiming for a four through squarish midwicket region. Closed the face of the bat and saw his off and middle stump rattled.

[MENTION=132916]Junaids[/MENTION] these things do matter and matter alot. Hard work wasted in split of a second. What message did he give to Inzamam & Mickey with this hoick through the leg side ?

His numbers in the QEA trophy are pretty good overall though so that is what will also be looked at when he is up for consideration, his past wont help him but he should be in the reckoning, Umar isn't Viv but we don't have a long list of Viv's in Pakistan anyway.

He was a hack and now he's a fat hack.... not needed! We need professional athletes. Successful cricketers worldwide are trying to become elite sportsman, taking care of their diets and exercise regimes. We don't need amateur hour with Umar Akmal please!

Another meaningless thread

If you are considering UA then I would hedge my bet on bringing Younis Khan out of retirement since he has a better aptitude and temperament for test cricket. UA was more suited for the shorter version of Slam-bang cricket. Regardless of the performance of our current team, we should be looking and building the team of our future with youngster's, mentoring, guiding and backing them up even if it takes time. Rebuilding a team for the next decade would easily take a couple of years provided the board is doing the right things in discovering and promoting talent. Seeking to get player's from the past who have proven to be inept is purely regressive

To put more subtly.....Does considering Umar Akmal or the Akmal brothers for the PK team even count!!!!

Option is to not deal with him at all. Give opportunity to other more deserving youngsters

Is pak so devoid of youngsters that they have to play this drama every few months? One reason i have followed Pak cricket for decades was to watch their young talent make mark at international scene.. Past decade all we have seen is same old TTFs being recycled.. it is a country of 200+ million population whose only primary sport is Cricket. i am sure you can find an exciting talent

Option is to not deal with him at all. Give opportunity to other more deserving youngsters

Pakistan's batting cupboard is totally bare.

Two years ago Pakistan A in England invested in Jaahid Ali as an opener with Sharjeel Khan and in Saud Shakeel as a middle order batsmen.

Where are they now?

Try every single domestic batsmen, even with low averages, including those that bat at 11 and then try every single club player followed by tape ball street cricketer and then maybe someone from the blind team before moving on to the above 40's, 50's 60's players and if all these fails then just dismantle the Pakistan National team.. BUT under no circumstances select Umar Akmal.

our technically and by looking at the amount of talent this guy possesed he is arguably the best player spoiled, by politics, nepotism and a lack of self-believe tbf. Never managed to ever do justice to the comparisons to Kohli which negivtavley affected his career. I think though he has now realised it never was a race Vs Kohli and hopefully we will see a Monster Umar Akmal during this Year World Cup. But one thing is Hoping againts Hope and then theres Umar Himself :/.

Well option 3 seems a professional formula which the incompetent is not suited to try that out.

Moreover if ticks all the conditions of option 3 no body will have any complaints about UA

As of now, forget UA and move on he has not done anything great or even above average to earn a recall.

our technically and by looking at the amount of talent this guy possesed he is arguably the best player spoiled, by politics, nepotism and a lack of self-believe tbf. Never managed to ever do justice to the comparisons to Kohli which negivtavley affected his career. I think though he has now realised it never was a race Vs Kohli and hopefully we will see a Monster Umar Akmal during this Year World Cup. But one thing is Hoping againts Hope and then theres Umar Himself :/.

He certainly has the appetite of a monster

Umar Akmal needs a good PSL and prove fitness to get back into the ODI side. If he doesn't do it this year in time for the WC, we shouldn't pick him in ODIs again because he'll be too old for the next WC.

But knowing Pakistan cricket they like to defy logic.