Our Desi brothers and their habits

DHONI183

A departed friend who will live in our memories fo
Let´s compile few of the habits of our 'Desi' of which they can never get rid of. Living in abroad or not doesn´t matter to them, their lifeystyle simply remains as it has been since their childhood.

Asking irrelevant questions to a fellow-Desi (or country-man):

This is one of the most annoying ones! Once you see them somewere in markets, at work etc., they start shooting off their questions without even thinking once whether they know the other person that well or not. And even if you reflect with a tired/annoyed face they won´t feel the need to pause in between. Few of the most important questions they ask are: "What do you work?", "where do you work?", "what is your salary?", "where in Pakistan are you from?", "since how long have you been here?" and the list goes on.........

My brother told me the other day that he met a Pakistani at his work who asked him "where are you from?", he answered him by saying "Pakistan." Now the man was still not satisfied and asked "no, where exactly are you from?", he again said "I´m exactly from Pakistan!" This time he couldn´t help asking "where exactly in Pakistan are from?", he then answered him "the whole of Pakistan belongs to us." Now this was enough to silence him.

What other habits can you point out;-)?

pertaining to your point...pointless questions

for example, as soon as you enter the house, one of your family members will ask you, and with complete sincerity:

Tum aagaye?

:D

they stare at you if you with family..............and keep staring..........

AhmedZulfiqar said:
pertaining to your point...pointless questions

for example, as soon as you enter the house, one of your family members will ask you, and with complete sincerity:

Tum aagaye?

:D

They will always use the word "Torch" for a search or flash light.

[UTUBE]C5urXhWbHgc&feature[/UTUBE]

2:12-4:00

It applies to us also, especially the last part:))

I've got one seriously annoying one about 'desi' women : Staring at you as they walk past you........until your out of sight!

JammydodgA said:
I've got one seriously annoying one about 'desi' women : Staring at you as they walk past you........until your out of sight!
That's only the case for the 'fit and gorgeous' princess's and angels around ;-) :D

Mohsin said:
[UTUBE]C5urXhWbHgc&feature[/UTUBE]

2:12-4:00

It applies to us also, especially the last part:))

This guy is hilarious. I luv the part where everyone in the airport was looking at him :))

DHONI183 said:
My brother told me the other day that he met a Pakistani at his work who asked him "where are you from?", he answered him by saying "Pakistan." Now the man was still not satisfied and asked "no, where exactly are you from?", he again said "I´m exactly from Pakistan!" This time he couldn´t help asking "where exactly in Pakistan are from?", he then answered him "the whole of Pakistan belongs to us." Now this was enough to silence him.

So where in Pakistan is your brother from? :D

For me the worst habits are asking about salary, staring and not showering.

nazimcricket said:

lol @ nazimcricket, i see nothing wrong with asking anyone where they are from in pakistan. however, asking anyone about their salary is just wrong.

I hate it when someone that your family knows sees you doing something and feels as if its their duty to report it to your paremts. For example, if someone sees you talking with a girl they have to report it to your parents and add some masala to it.

I don't think there is anything wrong with asking where a person's from or how long he has lived in a certain area and is actually quite natural. I don't think that it is rude at all. At times, it can help start conversations and make sure you don't offend the person keeping in mind his background and cultural practices. I can understand how questions about someone's job and especially salary can be intrusive and wrong if the person does not want to speak about it. However, the nationality and area thing is not foreign to other cultures as well. I don't see how anyone would find that offensive.

Inswinger said:
I hate it when someone that your family knows sees you doing something and feels as if its their duty to report it to your paremts. For example, if someone sees you talking with a girl they have to report it to your parents and add some masala to it.

How many times you were reported?

And what happened after that?

Best one is when older women in your family try to inform you about other peoples lives to gain more masala news.Its so annoying when a certain aunti asks you bashir na munda gori naal renda?kar te kat e anda.Bashir,s son hardly comes home is he living with a gori.

in US, How long you have been in the States? esp. from people who are here for most part of their life and didn't do better in professional life. I heard it a lot when mingling with the older ppl in the mosque.
Also another one: Aur Job Kaisi chal rahi hai?I don't know it just me but I hate it when i hear someone asking this question.

To remove any doubts, let me make it clear that "where in Pakistan are you from?" will always be the first of the questions with a long series following it. So therefore, better to silence there than showing a tired face later on:26:.

nazimcricket said:

We will never change:boom:!!!!

:P;-)

the Staring habit...

staring is the most annoying one i find about desis

Works both ways I guess. I am sure they have a lot of things to say about "NOT SO DESIS" people. Its called cultural differences. May be we don't know our culture...lol

jump on an opportunity and then back away. Like there was one when PP was going to do commentary and people went missing and commentary got cancelled, or the Quick Advice thread where a bid was made to purchase an item and the person comes here to check after bidding :)) and changes his mind.

12thMan said:
jump on an opportunity and then back away. Like there was one when PP was going to do commentary and people went missing and commentary got cancelled, or the Quick Advice thread where a bid was made to purchase an item and the person comes here to check after bidding :)) and changes his mind.
:)) :)) :D

pakistanbest said:
That's only the case for the 'fit and gorgeous' princess's and angels around ;-) :D

Lol, I meant 'desi' older women staring, tho apparently it applies to the men too?

ali110 said:
in US, How long you have been in the States? esp. from people who are here for most part of their life and didn't do better in professional life. I heard it a lot when mingling with the older ppl in the mosque.
Also another one: Aur Job Kaisi chal rahi hai?I don't know it just me but I hate it when i hear someone asking this question.

well unless you're laid off recently that question will sting obviously. That question "Aur Job Kaisi chal rahi hai" is usually just for carrying the conversation further. If you feel uncomfortable (I don't know why you would though), just say "theek chal rahi hai , ap sunao ap ki kaisi chal rahi hai " :)

JammydodgA said:
Lol, I meant 'desi' older women staring, tho apparently it applies to the men too?
you could apply that to the "jawan" kuriya, do see alot of that at college, girls staring at other girls and giving them dirty looks just cause they possess better looks :malik

well,, when guys meet here in europe ,,questions i hate are :

ooor bachi sachi ha koe ? ( its the most annoying question )

yarr tu kaal kiss ka saath jaa raha tha ?( well its none of ur bussiness mate )

oor shaadi kab kar rahee hoo ?,,, kar loo aab tumharrey saath ka sab loogoon na to kar li ( well hell with it ,,i m mature enough to know this )

When I lived in the States, I kept being asked 'where are you from' by any desi person I met. They used to get upset when I replied with the town in England that I grew up in, and where my parents still live!
Then they would try again, "No, no, I meant where are you really from?".

Javelin said:
When I lived in the States, I kept being asked 'where are you from' by any desi person I met. They used to get upset when I replied with the town in England that I grew up in, and where my parents still live!

In US, the correct way of asking this is "What nationality are you?" which does not mean what passport do you hold but where your roots belong?

JeeraBlade said:
Indians on Pakistani forums pretend to Pakistanis.

Or why someone cares so much that if someone is Indian and has nothing better to do with his time.

Habits I don't like is the way some do not do their research in terms of Islam. Their is Islam, by the Sunnah and then there is desi Islam. There are a lot of myths and bid'ah (innovation) in our culture which people mistaken to be an Islamic rule.

Such an example would be the whole "don't cut your nails at night." There is no such Hadith backing that, its just a Pakistani thing. Another one is the use of peers and baba's. This is amongst the worst kind of sins (shirk, like treason). Or the use of 786 (sorry folks, its not a replacement).

Growing up as a kid, this stuff never really occurred to me that it wasn't Islam. My elders would just tell me and I would agree. Now that I am reading about it more, I never realized all the innovations I been following just cause some one told me so! So beware this desi form of Islam.

Javelin said:

I guess its a person to person thing...
I wouldn't mind having a lil friendly chit chat with a fellow desi instead of rudely turning him down in an effort to prove as if my sh!t doesn't smell?
I guess it wont hurt if one politely tells them "my parents are from this n that part of Pakistan" to answer the question "where you from", but again, it depends on person to person so no worries. :)

Uncle Sam said:
I guess it wont hurt if one politely tells them "my parents are from this n that part of Pakistan" to answer the question "where you from", but again, it depends on person to person so no worries. :)
In that case, I suppose one should go the whole way and explain that 'my mother actually came from this part of India, but was very young when the Partition took place and her parents fled to this part of Pakistan, whilst my father was born in this part of Pakistan, moved to this other part of Pakistan from where he moved to England when he was still in his early 20's, in the mid 1960's.......'

Simply for him to know that I am of Pakistani origin, but actually grew up in this part of England (and hence my accent) was not good enough.
I had to give him my whole family history on the first encounter?

Yes. anything less will be uncivilized. What else is there to talk about with a stranger?

12thMan said:
Yes. anything less will be uncivilized. What else is there to talk about with a stranger?
OK, I'll bear that in mind for next time. Thanks for the advice.

Yeah I see nothing wrong with telling someone what part of Pakistan are you originally from unless you yourself are really confused about your roots and don't know where you come from, which is just sad. It's just a part of being civil.

Javelin said:
In that case, I suppose one should go the whole way and explain that 'my mother actually came from this part of India, but was very young when the Partition took place and her parents fled to this part of Pakistan, whilst my father was born in this part of Pakistan, moved to this other part of Pakistan from where he moved to England when he was still in his early 20's, in the mid 1960's.......'

Simply for him to know that I am of Pakistani origin, but actually grew up in this part of England (and hence my accent) was not good enough.

As I said, it depends on person to person how to deal with certain people and you are totally free to live the way you want to.... so no worries. :) Enjoy life and be happy.
Even I may play a joke once in a while... I was asked by an american bank teller "so where u from"?... I politely said ... China. She didn't have anything else to say.

Shoaib Akhtar's Fan said:
Yeah I see nothing wrong with telling someone what part of Pakistan are you originally from unless you yourself are really confused about your roots and don't know where you come from, which is just sad. It's just a part of being civil.
Roots?
Since nearly all Pakistani's are now Muslims and up until a few hundred years ago the people living on the area of land we call Pakistan were not Muslims, it follows that the current situation has come about as a result of combinations of the following:

1. Our ancestors converted to Islam
2. Our forefathers moved here from other parts of the sub-continent (eg during the Partition)
2. Our ancestors migrated from some other parts of the World (-Central Asia, Persia, Arabia......)

And now, we in turn, have moved to other parts of the World, where some of our children have been born and will live and grow up.

So unless you are able to say categorically 'where you came from' (i.e. your 'roots' in the manner described above) try not to preach to others about being 'confused'.

I suspect that many Pakistani's, when talking about their 'roots' are simply explaining where their parents or grandparents or, at most, greatgrandparents were born. In which case, many children, of Pakistani origin, in a few years time could claim their 'roots' to be Manchester, or Leeds, or Bradford......

Fine by me only if they don't take interest in Pakistan. When people say they are American or British then they should be that and look for interest of that country and not Pakistan, like cricket or politics.

I do get to hear some white people saying they are Irish or German (background) etc. But they are Americans and support America.

Some people just ask a wrong question or are not clear about what they are asking. Ask an American "where is he from" he will say New York or some city/state. Ask his background and it will be Irish or something if they know it. The Irish city/province/state etc will probably not come after this unless you are new guy from Ireland asking question. With desis some are new immigrants plus they think differently

Javelin said:
Roots?
Since nearly all Pakistani's are now Muslims and up until a few hundred years ago the people living on the area of land we call Pakistan were not Muslims, it follows that the current situation has come about as a result of combinations of the following:

2. Our forefathers moved here from other parts of the sub-continent (eg during the Partition)
2. Our ancestors migrated from some other parts of the World (-Central Asia, Persia, Arabia......)

And now, we in turn, have moved to other parts of the World, where some of our children have been born and will live and grow up.

So unless you are able to say categorically 'where you came from' (i.e. your 'roots' in the manner described above) try not to preach to others about being 'confused'.

I suspect that many Pakistani's, when talking about their 'roots' are simply explaining where their parents or grandparents or, at most, greatgrandparents were born. In which case, many children, of Pakistani origin, in a few years time could claim their 'roots' to be Manchester, or Leeds, or Bradford......

Not a few years but now..there are many 3rd generation Pakistanis, whose parents have English as main language, English education etc.. of course their outlook is naturally different to a some cousin who is over from Pakistan on a student visa. They are not directly comparable, you will expect both to have a different but overlapping culture.

Anyone who thinks otherwise is seriously deluded.

12thMan said:
Fine by me only if they don't take interest in Pakistan. When people say they are American or British then they should be that and look for interest of that country and not Pakistan, like cricket or politics.

I totally agree and second that. This is not against such people I mean everyone makes their own choices. In my case for example in less than a couple of years I'll be eligible for British citizenship and a passport. However I know that I will never be able to stand there with my hand held up and swear allegiance to the queen...just couldnt do it. So therefore no matter what benefits im giving up here I will always only have a Pakistani passport and im very much proud of it.

dblock said:
Not a few years but now..there are many 3rd generation Pakistanis, whose parents have English as main language, English education etc.. of course their outlook is naturally different to a some cousin who is over from Pakistan on a student visa. They are not directly comparable, you will expect both to have a different but overlapping culture.

Anyone who thinks otherwise is seriously deluded.
Why they should do so? How does that change the roots?

I don't know what this fuss is about. I often ask white Americans where they are from and they do tell me about the state they belong, and also if they have Italian ancestors, they tell so, if their parents/grandparents/ancestors are German, Polish migrants etc, they tell me about that proudly that they are Polish/Italian/German etc. If you are not ashamed of your roots, you wouldn't hide it.

Javelin said:
Roots?

No point in posing such a lengthy argument. The point is that there is nothing wrong in asking which part of a certain country are you from. One must be really anti-social to get irritated by such questions.

On the topic of roots, I am not sure about others but as muslims our roots go back to Muhammad, Isa, Musa, Ibrahim and all the way back to Adam (peace be on all of them). At any rate they should.

It doesn't matter where we live and where we were born and how many generations may have passed since we settled in our current locations. This is what makes a revert one of us the very day he submits to Allah. All other things are that irrelevent. At least they should be.

Pride based on ethnicity, tribe, nationality and place of birth (which are all nothing but accidents of fate) is the most irrational thing I have ever known. Slogans such as "Proud to be an American", "Proud to be a Lahori", etc are oxymorons of the highest quality. As George Carlin points out, pride should only be reserved for something achieved.

On the topic of roots, I am not sure about others but as muslims our roots go back to Muhammad, Isa, Musa, Ibrahim and all the way back to Adam (peace be on all of them). At any rate they should.

It doesn't matter where we live and where we were born and how many generations may have passed since we settled in our current locations. This is what makes a revert one of us the very day he submits to Allah. All other things are that irrelevent. At least they should be.

Pride based on ethnicity, tribe, nationality and place of birth (which are all nothing but accidents of fate) is the most irrational thing I have ever known. Slogans such as "Proud to be an American", "Proud to be a Lahori", etc are oxymorons of the highest quality. As George Carlin points out, pride should only be reserved for something achieved.
What a post:14:!

JeeraBlade said:
Indians on Pakistani forums pretend to Pakistanis.
Or being too obsessed with one´s personal identity (as if infatuated) :13:.

Thanks for proving my point right (see the opening post) :))!

DHONI183 said:
Or being too obsessed with one´s personal identity (as if infatuated) :13:.

Thanks for proving my point right (see the opening post) :))!

It wasn't directed at you at all. I don't know why you took it personally. :20:

JeeraBlade said:
It wasn't directed at you at all. I don't know why you took it personally. :20:

Where did I say I took it personally:20:?

DHONI183 said:
Where did I say I took it personally:20:?

Oooh. I see. Yes, you didn't. Ok my mistake.

This brings up another desi habit --- a lot of desi brothers take things personally for no apparent reason.

JeeraBlade said:
Oooh. I see. Yes, you didn't. Ok my mistake.

This brings up another desi habit --- a lot of desi brothers take things personally for no apparent reason.
:14: :14: :14:

typical desi sarcsim ,,hitting others personallly and intentionally and then denying it straight away by saying

main to waisee hi kah raha hoon ,, means ( i m talking in general )

this is where we desi's have problem we love to hurt and pinch others .

This is one of those rare occasions where I happen to agree with you!

Javelin said:
This is one of those rare occasions where I happen to agree with you!
Allah khair kare. :)

Well there's always a first time I guess.

HillRock said:
I don't know what this fuss is about. I often ask white Americans where they are from and they do tell me about the state they belong, and also if they have Italian ancestors, they tell so, if their parents/grandparents/ancestors are German, Polish migrants etc, they tell me about that proudly that they are Polish/Italian/German etc. If you are not ashamed of your roots, you wouldn't hide it.

Yep, an example would be the celebration of St Patrick's day here in United States by 5th to 6th generation Irish Americans.

Uncle Sam said:
Yep, an example would be the celebration of St Patrick's day here in United States by 5th to 6th generation Irish Americans.
Yes, but Desi's are not simply asking if you're of Pakistani origin. That's already been established.
They're asking as to which Province, which City, which Town (or Village), which street and even who your next door neighbour is/was!

sohailmm said:
:14: :14: :14:

typical desi sarcsim ,,hitting others personallly and intentionally and then denying it straight away by saying

main to waisee hi kah raha hoon ,, means ( i m talking in general )
typical desi mentality,,trying to defend others when they know other are grown up and mature enough to defend themselves. Well, Lollywood/Bollywood movies will do that you since in every other movie, the hero saves the heroin from the "ghunda loogs".

sohailmm said:
this is where we desi's have problem we love to hurt and pinch others .
Well, if people are soooo sensitive to criticism, sarcasm, joking, kidding and being fun made of, then either they are not old enough to log on to a computer or they need to stay away from chat forums.

Plus if you think my comments were meant to hurt/pinch Dhoni183, then you haven't seen nothing yet. Check out some of the google groups and see what kind of language people use for each other. You'll also notice that it is not a desi thing. In any chat forum people are at each other's throat because nobody knows you and nobody cares.

From the replies I get from DHONI183, I am sure he knows that I only kid with him. He is more than capable of giving me appropriate repsonses. Don't tell him that, but I do enjoy most of his responses. :)

sorry for being a bit nasty but
every desi guy tends to scratch in the crotch every once in a while

Javelin said:
Yes, but Desi's are not simply asking if you're of Pakistani origin. That's already been established.
They're asking as to which Province, which City, which Town (or Village), which street and even who your next door neighbour is/was!

I don't see anything wrong with that. They just asking what city you are from, not your social insurance number. People in Canada ask me what city do I live in Canada or what city I was born....I don't exactly see the point in tearing their head off.

There is no other habit I hate more, than a desi being a burger. Burger people are so damn annoying

Here's a true story.....

My cousin won the batting trophy in his league last year as he got the most runs. Anyway he gave it to one of our best friends to look after as he already has a lot of trophies and thought our friend might like to display one. Plus we didn't really have any space to display it in the shop/takeaway.

So what happens is our friend gets his name engraved on the trophy! One of the senior club guys (secretary i think) visits him and notices the trophy with the wrong name. He says to him "hey you didn't win that" friend says "oh no what happened was one of my customers is an engraver and took the trophy and engraved my name on it as a joke."

TBC......

waqar_ahmad said:
There is no other habit I hate more, than a desi being a burger. Burger people are so damn annoying

lol hahahha yeah and there are quite a few of them "dhobi ka kutta, na ghar ka na ghaat ka".

the light taali after the telling of a good joke...

Uncle Sam said:
lol hahahha yeah and there are quite a few of them "dhobi ka kutta, na ghar ka na ghaat ka".
Yup. and you will find a lot of them in pakistan now.

Brilliant post Momo. :14: POW for me.

Allah khair kare. :)

Well there's always a first time I guess.

That is usually said when something untoward happens:))!

Does this discussion constitute Backbiting? Mayb it doesn't as no names are mentioned here.
I see alot of behaviour from other desis which i personally feel is incorrect, but then it comes to my mind that even beeing desis, we are all different.

If a desi asks you where you are from, what can be wrong with that? He might live in your neighbourhood back home and just want to know that. He might feel lonely, and just to feel a bit comfortable he wana speak with you about pakistan. I mean there can be several reasons behing a question.

What desis in norway are well known for is their "pedh-chaal". If one person starts driving taxi, every1 else will follow him and so on. This might be common in your countries as well?

IAJ said:
Does this discussion constitute Backbiting? Mayb it doesn't as no names are mentioned here.
I see alot of behaviour from other desis which i personally feel is incorrect, but then it comes to my mind that even beeing desis, we are all different.

If a desi asks you where you are from, what can be wrong with that? He might live in your neighbourhood back home and just want to know that. He might feel lonely, and just to feel a bit comfortable he wana speak with you about pakistan. I mean there can be several reasons behing a question.

What desis in norway are well known for is their "pedh-chaal". If one person starts driving taxi, every1 else will follow him and so on. This might be common in your countries as well?

thats a common phenomenon amongst desis

waqar_ahmad said:
Yup. and you will find a lot of them in pakistan now.

I know someone who actually treats em pretty roughly to get them back into their minds. I remember we met a burger who was trying to speak English as if left side of his mouth had been paralyzed in an effort to copy American accent, and then he claimed that he had forgotten ALL Urdu since he had been living in the US for the past 5 years or so. My friend quickly greeted him with a few "maa bhen ki gaali", the guy turned red and inquired why the heck was my friend swearing at him? My friend said: "but i thought you had forgotten all Urdu" and ended his sentence with another maa ki gaali. The burger went out of control, his paralyzed mouth became straighten out and started swearing back in pure Urdu and Punjabi. All of his Urdu memory loss was recovered in matter of seconds.

Uncle Sam said:
I know someone who actually treats em pretty roughly to get them back into their minds. I remember we met a burger who was trying to speak English as if left side of his mouth had been paralyzed in an effort to copy American accent, and then he claimed that he had forgotten ALL Urdu since he had been living in the US for the past 5 years or so. My friend quickly greeted him with a few "maa bhen ki gaali", the guy turned red and inquired why the heck was my friend swearing at him? My friend said: "but i thought you had forgotten all Urdu" and ended his sentence with another maa ki gaali. The burger went out of control, his paralyzed mouth became straighten out and started swearing back in pure Urdu and Punjabi. All of his Urdu memory loss was recovered in matter of seconds.

That was absolutely brilliant, I really hate those burger types...I think we have found a method on how to deal with all of them, thanks uncle sam

Uncle Sam said:

Brilliant!!

Plz tell your friend that I love him.

My brother told me the other day that he met a guy in pakistan, who had been living in pakistan for his entire life. And yet, could not read or write urdu, and spoke urdu with an accent, as if english was his native language.

I, for one, can not understand how that can happen. Before coming to the US, I went to the best private school in pakistan, where English was the norm. And so did my brothers. But that doesnt mean I want to speak english with everyone outside of my classroom. And honestly, urdu is much more fun for a typical "guy conversation", if you know what I mean.

I guess it has become a status symbol now.

These guys deserve the kind of treatment that your friend gives them. Actually, they need a kick on their backsides, followed y some pakistani galian to get their heads straight.

waqar_ahmad said:
Before coming to the US, I went to the best private school in pakistan, where English was the norm.

Then you must be the one who extensively use the word "like" in their sentences, ;-)

"And then, he was all like, and then I was like, and he was like, no way, and then I was like, yeah, way. And he was like..."

I have noticed this thing in Pakistani students who went to English medium schools.

spoke urdu with an accent, as if english was his native language.
PJ Mir?? or whoever is on ARY and has a Urdu show and was Pakistan cricket team media guy for 2007 WC

HillRock said:
Then you must be the one who extensively use the word "like" in their sentences, ;-)

"And then, he was all like, and then I was like, and he was like, no way, and then I was like, yeah, way. And he was like..."

I have noticed this thing in Pakistani students who went to English medium schools.
I use it, like, never. How can you, like, accuse of that. That's, like , so rude :P

That is actually very common for a lot of people, not just burgers. But in case of burgers, it is VERY common with girls. Some burger girls can be seriously annoying.

waqar_ahmad said:
, I went to the best private school in pakistan, where English was the norm. .....
...........I guess it has become a status symbol now.

These guys deserve the kind of treatment that your friend gives them. Actually, they need a kick on their backsides, followed y some pakistani galian to get their heads straight.
Pot calling the kettle black?

Javelin said:
Pot calling the kettle black?
I think anyone with an iota of common sense can understand why I said that

In fact, judging by some of your posts, and the threads you have started, you are one of the burger types, who tried to appear very liberal and enlightened. You were the one had an objection to muslims mentioning Allah frequently, right?

May be that's why you didnt like my comments