"Our fielding was woeful and way below standard" : Mickey Arthur

SL_Fan

The Pakistan coach laments missed opportunities in fourth ODI, suggesting Australia 'were 50 runs better' in the field

Pakistan coach Mickey Arthur has labelled his side's fielding "woeful" and "unacceptable" after a butter-fingered display in the fourth VB one-day international against Australia in Sydney.

Pakistan dropped four catches in the field as the home side racked up a monster total of 6-353, with each of Australia's four highest scorers given a life during the innings.

Century-maker David Warner (130) was dropped on 113, Glenn Maxwell (78) was missed on just 8, Travis Head (51) was put down on 28 and captain Steve Smith (49) was spilled on 10, the four chances costing Pakistan a total of 149 runs in the 86-run loss.

Ironically, it was two of Pakistan's best performers for the match who were the culprits; opener Sharjeel Khan spilled Smith and Head before top-scoring with a thrilling 47-ball 74, while paceman Hasan Ali (5-50) put down Warner and Maxwell.

Sharjeel's drop of Smith - he offered just one hand to a regulation chance at backward point - was the worst of the lot and was labelled a "lazy effort" by former Australia captain Michael Clarke in commentary.

"We just can't give chances like that," Arthur said after the loss, which gave Australia an unbeatable 3-1 series lead. "It's unacceptable.

"Certainly, the standards we set for this cricket team haven't been met in the field. So that's really disappointing.

"(Dropped catches) allows them to push out at the back end. Maxwell should have been out, Head should have been out, which meant that we would have had two new batsmen there all the time.

"Those are the kinds of things we just can't afford to do. If we want to get to where we want to get to in terms of rankings, we just can't make those errors.

"Had we taken those catches, those players wouldn't have been at the wicket to take toll of those last couple of overs.

"Batting and bowling I can sit with tonight and take some positives out of it. Fielding (was) woeful and way below standard."

Arthur said his team's fitness, which has long been an issue in Pakistan cricket, has improved since he took over as coach last May and he also backed the training methods of the side's Australian fielding coach Steve Rixon.

Pakistan famously completed an army-style boot camp ahead of their tour of England last year, but Arthur labelled their fitness "a work in progress" and says they still trail behind the rest of the world in that department.

The South African said Australia are "15-20 runs better" than Pakistan on average when it comes to fielding and fitness, but that gap was blown out to an unmanageable level tonight.

"I said to the guys yesterday in our team meeting that I think Australia are 15-20 runs better than us in those departments ... and tonight they were 50 runs better," Arthur said. "And you just can't compete if that's the case.

"(I'm) incredibly frustrated. And it's not through a lack of hard work; the guys have trained and trained and trained and somewhere between the training and going out on the ground, it's seemed to get lost.

"So we'll just keep pursuing that and keep endeavouring to get better and better because we have to.

"The gap between the best sides in the world and where we sit at the moment is not great in terms of batting and bowling, but in terms of fielding, athleticism, fitness, running between the wickets, the gap is massive.

"Those are issues we continually talk about and continually train for, but we're just going to have to do it harder and harder."

Australia were far from perfect in the field tonight themselves, with Usman Khawaja and Travis Head both dropping catches and wicketkeeper Matthew Wade fumbling a possible run out chance.

However match-of-the-match Warner took an excellent diving catch in front of the Member's Stand on the western side of the ground, while Josh Hazlewood also took a good catch diving forward in the deep.

"I probably made it look better than what it was," Warner said of his catch in the outfield to remove Shoaib Malik.

"It came quite flat and I had to run around and try and judge it that way.

"They're always tough ones to catch. Obviously Heady unfortunately dropped his one and ... they're ones at training (that) sometimes we might let go on the odd occasion because of your fingers.

"But we do practice that and we're expected to take them. I'd be gutted if I dropped a couple of them."

Link

Feel for Mickey.

These cricketers obviously do not take fielding seriously enough and we are paying the price for that

I think except Sharjeel,Babar,sarfarz,Hassan everyone else should be fired from the team. Pakistan needs to introduce some young players and invest in them with this team we are loosing anyway !
Selector,mickey need to make some bold brave decisions for west Indies tour

Pakistani fans and the coaches need to understand that their main cause of downfall in limited overs apart from power hitting is the poor ability of their batters to take toll against the spinners, almost all teams in today's day and age play with 3 pacers and 2 spinners with 1 being a part timer, as a batting unit you need to play confidently yet not recklessly against such bowlers. For all the talk about pak being a team that plays spin well there are hardly any player who i feel is confident against spin and do the basics of simple strike rotation and placing the balls in the gaps against innocuous bowlers.

Shoaib Malik, Babar and Akmal were all guitly of doing these basics, the sooner everyone realizes this major deficiency the better for their development.

Again he's coming out to take questions.

Digging his own grave with every press conference IMO.

I think except Sharjeel,Babar,sarfarz,Hassan everyone else should be fired from the team. Pakistan needs to introduce some young players and invest in them with this team we are loosing anyway !
Selector,mickey need to make some bold brave decisions for west Indies tour

Nothing will change watch out for team announcement in few weeks time, same excuse would be given that we don't have talent and this is the best team.

Again he's coming out to take questions.

Digging his own grave with every press conference IMO.

He takes great pride in defending his team and answering for them

Nothing will change watch out for team announcement in few weeks time, same excuse would be given that we don't have talent and this is the best team.

I hope Pcb/selector make some big decisions either to move forward or remain in 90's .. look at Srilanka, India even Australia how they have built a young team .
So frustrating to see these same performance again n again series after series !

Its all right for mickey to be talking about this and that...but the fact is ppl like malik, hafeez, azhar, riz and asad shouldnt be in the team.

Inzy has to wake up, be bold and make the changes...for Gods sake.

Get a grip of urself inzi..

No more excuses.

Come into the 21st c.

Dont give us tatt like we need these players, cos of champs trophy in summer, we need experience, blah blah blah.

Make it happen.

Now.

Thank you

Can some one explain what was Sharjeel doing at point in the first place. He should be at 3rd man or some place worth hiding. The fitness levels of our team is so poor that we end with these disaster situations every other game. The point is we are not going anywhere without h this current core so it's better to move ahead with some experimentation unfortunately with PCB you will never see any change. We always wait for disasters to happen rather than being proactive which should have been done after England disaster odi series

Yup, he shouldn't have been there. Captain fantastic later on goes to place him in cow corner in the final 10 overs.

I will go on to say that the fielders look disinterested given where they were placed and how Azhar's leading them. Under Sarfraz's captaincy in T20's they looked fired up and wanted to tear apart the opposition. That's why I say to sack him pronto.

Our fielding was terrible. Pakistan is never good when it comes to fielding, but last night, it seemed as they just forgot how to field or catch the ball.

Aussies batting first on a batting paradise meant we would most likely be chasing over 300. Our poor batting and fielding doesn't exactly fill me with confidence. Knowing we would lose I didn't even bother watching the match, would rather catch up on some sleep then watch our overrated Cricketers.

Mickey acts like he has complete control over the team. He isn't doing anything right atm though.

Mickey isn't going to transform a bunch of ordinary world cricketers into world beaters.

The least he can do is to get Pak OD team rid of ttf's like Azhar,Wahab.Hafeez,Asad and ramzan.If he can't do that, then he should resign as there is no point having a high profile coach for ttf's.PCb should save money and have inti or mohsin such a team.

What is a coach supposed to do?

To help a bunch of talented cricketers reach their potential.

If their potential is 3 places below World Class how is a coach supposed to elevate them further?

Or if they can't field how can a coach help them catch?

To help a bunch of talented cricketers reach their potential.

If their potential is 3 places below World Class how is a coach supposed to elevate them further?

Or if they can't field how can a coach help them catch?

At least help them a little bit. Ta buu you any impact on the team. It's the same team Waqar coached.

The least he can do is to get Pak OD team rid of ttf's like Azhar,Wahab.Hafeez,Asad and ramzan.If he can't do that, then he should resign as there is no point having a high profile coach for ttf's.PCb should save money and have inti or mohsin such a team.
I didn't know Mickey was a selector.

At least help them a little bit. Ta buu you any impact on the team. It's the same team Waqar coached.
What do you mean help them?

Again Mickey isn't going to tranform an ordinary batsman into Kohli.

I know the current material is below par, but at the least Mickey could be more strict in his selection process not allowing poor fielders, players with poor fitness.

If he won't then no one will because this is Pakistan.

[MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] has already eluded to this fact wrt Hasan

Hasan Ali's fielding :

He is natural athlete, good stamenna, great attitude, humble hard-working guy but

Terrible at Catching. Pakistan's worst catcher at the moment. [MENTION=141390]Ellipsism[/MENTION] keep an eye bro

And

Babar Azam ? [MENTION=139150]aliasad1998[/MENTION] [MENTION=141557]Chief Destroyer[/MENTION] Well physically quite fit but totally disinterested in field just like Saeed Anwar & Mohammad Yousuf. Lacks focus (akmal), makes fumbles, gives easy easy doubles tripples to batsman and drops regulation catches aswell [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] rightly pointed out his approach while fielding.

[MENTION=9]Saj[/MENTION] bhaee and rightly pointed out at Babar's poor fielding in past aswell.

Fakhar Zaman's catching is quite poor aswell. [MENTION=100918]Square Drive[/MENTION]

Yuvraj was 9* (8) SR of 112 when he was dropped by Hasan Ali. He went on to to score 53 (32) ie 44 of his last 24 deliveries. Ended with SR of 165.

Kohli was 44* (56) yeah SR of 78 on flat wicket when Fakhar Zaman dropped him. He went on to score 81* (68) SR of 119.

These catches were Crucial and had a huge role in Pak losing the match. We got murdered in last 4 overs. 72 runs. Momentum was completely with India after that.

The worst part is that Hasan & Babar are our top Odi players especially Babar while Fakhar is best List A opeber at present (Statistically) considering Ave SR combination. So it's a huge issue. :-/

[MENTION=113742]Hamza_[/MENTION]K [MENTION=43242]Dr_Bassim[/MENTION] [MENTION=141093]big_gamer007[/MENTION]

• Screenshot_20170605-061521.jpg
    Screenshot_20170605-061521.jpg
    144.4 KB · Views: 213
  • Screenshot_20170605-061628.jpg
    Screenshot_20170605-061628.jpg
    178.8 KB · Views: 209
In the National Cricket academy in Lahore there is sort of a museum with old Pakistan cricket memorabilia. Also there is a section where there are clippings of old newspapers.

One of the clippings is from a Test match against Australia (?) in the 1970s and the headline is:

"The fielding and batting let us down: Intikhab Alam"
[MENTION=9]Saj[/MENTION] [MENTION=136079]ahmedwaqas92[/MENTION] [MENTION=138980]TalentSpotterPk[/MENTION] [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION]

We can't bowl, we can't bat.

Great.

Now we can't even field.

What are we doing then?

[MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] has already eluded to this fact wrt Hasan

Hasan Ali's fielding :

He is natural athlete, good stamenna, great attitude, humble hard-working guy but

Terrible at Catching. Pakistan's worst catcher at the moment. [MENTION=141390]Ellipsism[/MENTION] keep an eye bro

And

Babar Azam ? [MENTION=139150]aliasad1998[/MENTION] [MENTION=141557]Chief Destroyer[/MENTION] Well physically quite fit but totally disinterested in field just like Saeed Anwar & Mohammad Yousuf. Lacks focus (akmal), makes fumbles, gives easy easy doubles tripples to batsman and drops regulation catches aswell [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] rightly pointed out his approach while fielding.

[MENTION=9]Saj[/MENTION] bhaee and rightly pointed out at Babar's poor fielding in past aswell.

Fakhar Zaman's catching is quite poor aswell. [MENTION=100918]Square Drive[/MENTION]

Yuvraj was 9* (8) SR of 112 when he was dropped by Hasan Ali. He went on to to score 53 (32) ie 44 of his last 24 deliveries. Ended with SR of 165.

Kohli was 44* (56) yeah SR of 78 on flat wicket when Fakhar Zaman dropped him. He went on to score 81* (68) SR of 119.

These catches were Crucial and had a huge role in Pak losing the match. We got murdered in last 4 overs. 72 runs. Momentum was completely with India after that.

The worst part is that Hasan & Babar are our top Odi players especially Babar while Fakhar is best List A opeber at present (Statistically) considering Ave SR combination. So it's a huge issue. :-/

[MENTION=113742]Hamza_[/MENTION]K [MENTION=43242]Dr_Bassim[/MENTION] [MENTION=141093]big_gamer007[/MENTION]
Was that Fakhar who dropped Kohli?I thought it was Fahim.

In the National Cricket academy in Lahore there is sort of a museum with old Pakistan cricket memorabilia. Also there is a section where there are clippings of old newspapers.

One of the clippings is from a Test match against Australia (?) in the 1970s and the headline is:

[MENTION=9]Saj[/MENTION] [MENTION=136079]ahmedwaqas92[/MENTION] [MENTION=138980]TalentSpotterPk[/MENTION] [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION]

People back in the day actually loved and cared about playing for Pakistan and took great pride in representing the star and crescent which is one of the major reasons that even after almost 50 years the pain of these type of losses is etched in the memory of the players and fan alike.

And, if I guess I am recalling the history correctly, all this dedication and efforts came amidst a player and BCCP rift over salaries and daily allowances which where Imran, Sarfaraz Nawaz, Majid and a few others were fighting against Abdul Hafeez Kardar who was the then chairman of the board under the newly established PPP/bhuto govt.

The lot that we have right now, just goes through the motions, without having any passion or any sense of pride to don the green jersey. This mediocre bunch take everything for granted and even with all the facilities and financial benefits at their disposals cannot give the fans a shred of happiness. What is the use of them ??

Nahi yaar @TalentSpottetPk it was Fahim who dropped Kohli; CI messed up.

Unless you've seen Fakhar drop catches in domestic tournaments? Then I'll take your word for it.

Fakhar didnt drop it. I hope he's not too bad in field.

Fitness and concentration are an issue with Pakistan team. Need some gym and yoga sessions for the guys to improve on two counts

Fakhar is a decent fielder I have seen him catch 1 or 2 good catches and is quite involved in the game while fielding.

Was that Fakhar who dropped Kohli?I thought it was Fahim.

nah it ws fahim

Nahi yaar @TalentSpottetPk it was Fahim who dropped Kohli; CI messed up.

Unless you've seen Fakhar drop catches in domestic tournaments? Then I'll take your word for it.

Sorry. I took it from CI. But I have personally seen Fakhar Zaman as a Poor fielder while playing domestic Cricket. Poor wrt catching mainly. Physically he is relatively fit.

Well pointed out Slog.

We must not forget that in those days we weren't the only poor fielding side and fielding did not have as bigger role as it has today in modern Cricket.

In CT we are comfortably the most Unfit & worst fielding side.

The grounds situation esp outfield (In Pak) is a huge reason for bad techniques and bad habits of fielding too.

Sorry. I took it from CI. But I have personally seen Fakhar Zaman as a Poor fielder while playing domestic Cricket. Poor wrt catching mainly. Physically he is relatively fit.

Wow. We really are in trouble if even our youngsters are poor fielders/catchers.

These are the problems. Some are fit, but can't field. Some aren't fit, but can field.

Hasan = good fitness, bad fielding
Amir = okay fitness, okay fielding
Fakhar = good fitness, bad fielding
Fahim = okay fitness, bad fielding
Imad = bad fitness, good fielding
Babar = good fitness, okay fielding

Etcetera etcetera

These are the problems. Some are fit, but can't field. Some aren't fit, but can field.

Hasan = good fitness, bad fielding
Amir = okay fitness, okay fielding
Fakhar = good fitness, bad fielding
Fahim = okay fitness, bad fielding
Imad = bad fitness, good fielding
Babar = good fitness, okay fielding

Etcetera etcetera

Aik baat btao.

Is fitness only related to catching ?

Can a fielder with bulding tummy huffing puffing breath prevent batsman from taking diubles and tripples or quick singles ?

Put off your Imad Wasim glasses for a moment.

I agree with other assesments.

lol..theyve had all sorts of pampering..has it helped? the problem is these unprofessionals eventually go back home and eat nihari and smoke and do all sorts..turn up to the first day of training looking like meatballs!! I would sack the lot of them and choose 19 dedicated players who i would have to babysit and brainwash to a level where I can trust they will look after themselves in the off period..

Aik baat btao.

Is fitness only related to catching ?

Can a fielder with bulding tummy huffing puffing breath prevent batsman from taking diubles and tripples or quick singles ?

Put off your Imad Wasim glasses for a moment.

I agree with other assesments.

No of course not saying it's based on only catching.

Actually, I was wrong above. Only good fielders in team are Shadab, Malik, Azhar and Wahab.

Babar and Shehzad can be good, just need more motivation out there.

Imad, Junaid, Haris and Sarfraz need to work on fitness.

Amir, Fakhar, Hasan, and Fahim need to practice more.

No of course not saying it's based on only catching.

Actually, I was wrong above. Only good fielders in team are Shadab, Malik, Azhar and Wahab.

Babar and Shehzad can be good, just need more motivation out there.

Imad, Junaid, Haris and Sarfraz need to work on fitness.

Amir, Fakhar, Hasan, and Fahim need to practice more.

Now I agree more with you.

Some players diving around and totally missing the ball.

No backing up at times.

Poor throws to the wicket-keeper.

Some players not knowing how to slide to stop the ball.

Dropping simple catches.

Yesterday, at times it was like watching schoolkids.

Kya kerein yaar ? PCB Canada ko dey dein tou shayad waqayee tabdeeli aajaey gee. [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] I am dead honest.

I swear to God, I would be down to pay to become selector.

Inzamam needs to get booted.

Our system is corrupt from top to bottom.

Some players diving around and totally missing the ball.

No backing up at times.

Poor throws to the wicket-keeper.

Some players not knowing how to slide to stop the ball.

Dropping simple catches.

Yesterday, at times it was like watching schoolkids.

Summed up beautifully.

Arthur, Inzamam are all talk but no performance.

If I performed like this in my job, I would have got the boot ages ago. The team selected for the trophy was so mediocre.

Ahmed shehzad gave atleast 6-8 runs in the field he was garbage even in the field. He is not a good ground fielder has safe pairs if hands though but his ground fielding is not good enough.
Shadab was good in patches he did misfield a bit too.