Painful and torturous to watch cricket under Misbah-ul-Haq/Waqar Younis

And having rubbish results in Tests, the purest and most important form the game, is enough to sack Arthur alone for. Losing to NZ and SL at home is unforgivable and still stings me to this day. I would much rather take Misbah who can perform in tests than a coach like Arthur who can only perform in a clown fiests, stupid format like T20?
We lost a test to Zimbabwe under Misbah. Furthermore, we got whitewashed 2-0 in NZ, drew 1-1 against NZ in UAE, whiteashed 3-0 in Australia and lost a test to West Indies in UAE :facepalm:

That's one heck of a performance under Misbah. People who believe we will magically start winning tests now are living in cloud cuckoo land.

Arthur/Sarfraz’s PAK team did beat teams left right & centre ... by the name of the team, indeed. But, what you are conveniently forgetting is part of my post that tells “junior Dala”. Apart from PAK & AFG, no one gives much hoot about bilateral T20s, so Arthur’s PAK shoved some heads. Now the problem is that there are two T20 WCs in next two years ..... and teams are looking for their T20 combination, even Aussies.

No, losing to SRL reserves in T20 series wasn’t a bigger disaster than the Asia Cup of 2018.... when after lots of long, high & triple jumps, your players celebrated the win against AFGs by inch like winning the World Cup (& your coach planned final before reaching there).

You must have known something more than me, otherwise I am not sure why two former PAK Captains for a decade should feel the ego to bring back an obsolete pacer, who last played almost 4 years and dropped from team under the same man captain that time - may be impressed by his size.
Irfan played LOIs after Misbah's retirement. He was not dropped by Misbah.

Asia Cup 2018 was no way a bigger disaster than this rollicking from a reserve Sri Lankan side at home. I'm afraid you have run out of valid points, and are now clinging to flimsy (and wrong) arguments.

Junior Dala played against India in 2018, so he is not some fringe player South Africa cooked up at the last moment. The opposition we beat enroute to the number one rank was better than the Sri Lanka reserve side we recently lost. That's a fact, and no number of Junior Dalas or Jhye Richardsons can change that fact.

We lost a test to Zimbabwe under Misbah. Furthermore, we got whitewashed 2-0 in NZ, drew 1-1 against NZ in UAE, whiteashed 3-0 in Australia and lost a test to West Indies in UAE :facepalm:

That's one heck of a performance under Misbah. People who believe we will magically start winning tests now are living in cloud cuckoo land.

Azhar ali
Abid ali
Babar
Haris
Safiq
Rizwan
Amir yamin
Yasir shah/ shadab khan
Haris rauf
Naseem shah
Shaheen shah afridi

Looks like a pretty decent test team to me.

Also you have the likes of
Musa khan
M. Husnain
Saud shakeel
Plus others available.

Youth is the key!

I absolutely am hating watching Pakistan cricket right now. I could not ever imagine finding cricket so repulsive to watch.

Pathetic tactics and defensive game style. Bowlers like Irfan who we had long shunned bowling for us again. Garbage players like Asif and Ifthikar playing as specialist batsmen.

Its simply terrible and painful to watch Pakistan cricket right now. May this misery ends soon. :(

Surely you enjoyed ifti's innings today?
Yes, we lost, but maybe, just maybe, this ifti's innings can bring about a change in the way pak play cricket(i know i'm being very optimistic, but lets hope).

Was it really that exciting under Arthur? Really?

I know PAK won the battle royal on 5th July under Arthur, and scored 300+ few times - but that PAK side lost defending 300+ few times as well and with my long, long years experience, I can safely say that between two alarming signs, if I am given an option of rating which one at AAA Red - 1. PAK failing to chase 200 or 2. PAK failing to defend 300 .... I know which one is my choice, and I know my cricket a little as well. I am too old to be impressed by the brilliance of PAK best ever top three, that Arthur's team possessed ......

Wasn't it painful at Asia Cup 2018, wasn't it painful in that glorious run of 3-23, wasn't it painful to concede 0-2 against Junior Dala's SAF in T20s, wasn't it painful to watch 16/6 after 15 overs chasing 250+ in a Series saver, wasn't it painful to get spanked inside 35 overs (in a 100 overs game) against that WIN .... I am not even recalling back the memories of SRL Test series, NZ Test Series, SAF Test series?

Posters here would like to drink blood of Misbah & WY, because of a false belief ............. guys, the barrel is empty, trust me - not much left to scratch. Have patience, and give them some time - it won't happen over night.

The way we are heading under Misbah through his bias selection we may not play 2023 World Cup. So it will be far worse than Micky. At least Micky was doing better changes but under Misbah we will see Babar, Shaheen will be out of the team replace by some oldies and these new young pacers (Nasim, Musa, Hanain, Sameen) career will be over

So what has waqar got to do with selection of the team now?
Waqar is the bowling coach, misbah is the chief selector and coach!
So please stop grouping waqar with misbah, when you guys are upset with the players selected and the tactics used, as this is solely MISBAH'S doing and has got nothing to do with waqar!

So he is mr. Misbah's yes man. Why cannot he say no for the selection of Wahab, Irfan, Qadir and Imran Khan? Those guys have no future

No surprise coming from a Mickey Arthur fan, the darkest era of Pakistan cricket.

We were on a perpetual losing streak, longest losing streak in ODIs, forgot what victory meant in the premier Test format, started losing even at our home!

That dark era is ending. We'll start winning Tests starting from home and become competitive in ODIs.

Not to mention Mickey Arthur's love for Sarfraz and Malik. Glad we got rid of them.

Of course it's gonna be painful for the dark era fan. I'm just looking forward to our young pacers and team play the Tests and ODIs.

That darkest era gave us a CT and the number one T20 side in the world

Misbah in his entire career has not even won a single tournament as captain

He is not even good enough to polish Arthur's shoes

So he is mr. Misbah's yes man. Why cannot he say no for the selection of Wahab, Irfan, Qadir and Imran Khan? Those guys have no future
Does the bowling coach have any say in selection?
I genuinely thought that the chief selector, and to some degree the coach and captain decide whose selected.
Misbah being chief selector and coach, is the selector king!
Waqar may be asked by misbah for his opinion, but he has no say in selection.

I think Sarfaraz is tactically strong than misbah. He actually knows how to deal with these average players.
Srilanka wali series m to janab ye bol rahe the k babar hi score karta tha runs isse pehle aur is series m babar ne run nahi banaye tab srilanka se har gye. Ab to babar run bana raha ab kya reason kya bataenge janab.

That darkest era gave us a CT and the number one T20 side in the world

Misbah in his entire career has not even won a single tournament as captain

He is not even good enough to polish Arthur's shoes

The number one t20 thing was because we did not play the big teams away, so the rating is skewed.

Winning champions trophy was huge, but it had more to do with fakhar and hasan ali being at beast mode than anything to do with mickey, to be honest.

In truth mickey and misbah are both terrible coaches. Though misbah is only just starting his coaching career, he has been terrible and i don't see that changing.

The number one t20 thing was because we did not play the big teams away, so the rating is skewed.

Winning champions trophy was huge, but it had more to do with fakhar and hasan ali being at beast mode than anything to do with mickey, to be honest.

In truth mickey and misbah are both terrible coaches. Though misbah is only just starting his coaching career, he has been terrible and i don't see that changing.

spoken like a true Misbah apologetic.

Misbah's selection for this position was a corrupt decision. It defines everything that is wrong with PCB and Pakistani cricket's senior culture. Misbah has ZERO coaching experience of a domestic side, he got his first gig as the head coach of an international side and that too, by replacing a man that has coached Australia, South Africa and Pakistan for more than 2 year stints.

This is like Nawaz Sharif appointing his grandson to become the minister of education or something.

spoken like a true Misbah apologetic.

Misbah's selection for this position was a corrupt decision. It defines everything that is wrong with PCB and Pakistani cricket's senior culture. Misbah has ZERO coaching experience of a domestic side, he got his first gig as the head coach of an international side and that too, by replacing a man that has coached Australia, South Africa and Pakistan for more than 2 year stints.

This is like Nawaz Sharif appointing his grandson to become the minister of education or something.
Read my last paragraph again carefully.
I think mickey was an awful coach and i think misbah will be worse!

Read my last paragraph again carefully.
I think mickey was an awful coach and i think misbah will be worse!

They cannot be compared! Mickey is a bonafide coach, im not sure why people have the audacity to even consider comparing the two! Its like comparing a house cat with a Jaguar!

Unfortunately, can be compared, one is the current pakistan coach and the other is the former pakistani coach.

Both are poor coaches in my opinion, but you seem a fan of mickeys. Mickey obviously is much more experienced than misbah and a bettet coach. HOWEVER,.both are/were poor, in terms of team selection and tactics.

Although Mickey was far from perfect, I agree with this for the following reasons:

1. Unlike Misbah, Mickey did not need to take the unethical conflict of interest approach to secure the role
2. Unlike Misbah, he's a qualified coach
3. Unlike Misbah, he holds extensive experience of coaching cricket teams at international level

So who actually brought these guys in? Misbah certainly wouldn't have.

Micky did his best with limited resources. He could do wonder in 2-3 years with youngsters like Saud, Haider, Haris khan, Musa, Sameen, Nasim, Hasnain, Khusdil.... along with a proper bowling and batting coach.

Misbah is not only terrible but a dishonest in selection means anyone with good frame of mind with level 1 coach is better than Misbah

Unfortunately, can be compared, one is the current pakistan coach and the other is the former pakistani coach.

Both are poor coaches in my opinion, but you seem a fan of mickeys. Mickey obviously is much more experienced than misbah and a bettet coach. HOWEVER,.both are/were poor, in terms of team selection and tactics.

Im a fan of a professional coach, Mickey wins over Misbah any days. How can you even say that both are 'equally poor'? You are basically saying that a Mercedes with an engine bust is equally as poor as an Alto with no engine at all?

Dont understand this comparison between mickey and misbah. Just because Mickey was bad aswell doesn't mean misbah is any better nor do misbahs poor performances so far mean mickey was any better than he was.

Both are rubbish coaches considering Pakistan is a proud cricket nation and perhaps the 2nd most craziest nation for cricket after india. We deserve better than this.

Dont understand this comparison between mickey and misbah. Just because Mickey was bad aswell doesn't mean misbah is any better nor do misbahs poor performances so far mean mickey was any better than he was.

Both are rubbish coaches considering Pakistan is a proud cricket nation and perhaps the 2nd most craziest nation for cricket after india. We deserve better than this.

OK but you dont have Trevor Bayliss or Gary Kirsten lining up to take this job. Micky was the biggest name that PCB could have secured as he is someone who will easily get a job as a head international coach, maybe at SL, WI and possibly NZ or England in the future.

Thats what i have been trying to say, but people here insist on you either being on misbah's side or mickeys.
When both aren't good enough to coach Pakistan.

What we (i.e. fans) need to realize is that the current state of affairs are not due to 1-2 people like Mickey or Misbah or Sarfaraz or Waqar....our current state of affairs are due to the shaky foundations of our cricket system (i.e. Domestic Cricket).

I can bet you even if Mickey and Sarfaraz were at helm today, the results would be the exact same as what Misbah and Waqar are producing. Why? Because the core players, their skill levels are pretty much the same.

However, with the new changes in domestic system, I am optimistic that we will see an improvement in the skill levels of our players and teams in 2-3 years. We will still need to make significant improvements to:
- Domestic Pitches
- Fitness level of players in Domestic
- Fitness level of players in International
- Professional grooming of players
- Investment in improving the players' psyche and mindset (i.e. How to deal with failures & becoming mentally strong)

Nothing can change until pakistani mindset doesn't change. The biggest problem is the fear of getting bowled out before the overs have been completed.

Second problem is poor coaches which ties in with the above point. So players are both mentally weak (fear of getting out) and technically weak, cause the coaches are poor.

Finally, pitches are rubbish, so the players are not used to fast bouncey pitches or pitches that offer spin.

Need to sort these 3 things out before we will improve.

Do people in here understand that when teams prepare for world cups, they try players out? This is what Pakistan team is doing they are trying every possible player to make a good combination for the world cup. Our ODI team is settled now as we have a solid top 4, a good bowling and decent depth in both batting and bowling . (Imam ul Haq, Fakhar Zaman, Babar Azam (c), Haris Sohail, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Amir, Shaheen Afridi, Usman Shinwari).T20i and test are work in progress. As the world cup is near a lot of experiments will be done in the upcoming series as well.

We started loosing T20 form from the SA series (under Mickey Arthur) and funny enough the only player that looked good was Babar Azam. We don't have a reliable batting unit and we don't have reliable bowling and that's why Misbah is experimenting around.

What's the outcome of these experiments? Most of our team is useless and we are understanding who we need and who we don't, things are getting clearer:

Babar Azam, Opener 2, Number 3, Number 4, Number 5, Iftikhar Ahmed (finisher), Imad Wasim, Fast Bowler 1, Fast bowler 2, Fast Bowler 3. (This is the dilemma that must be solved before the world cup!)

In my opinion Shinwari needs to be added into the t20i squad alongside Shaheen and Hasnain. we need a good fast bowling all rounder (Amir Yamin or Amad Butt), a good opener, a solid number 3 batsman and a suitable wicketkeeper batsman for the t20s.

Solid Number 3? Hussain Talat.
A good opener? test Ahsan Ali out or bring back Sharjeel Khan.
A good wicket keeper batsman? There is one who can hit the ball well as well but we are scared to try him: Saif Badar!

So by doing this analysis, I came to the conclusion:

Babar Azam
Ahsan Ali/Sharjeel Khan
Hussain Talat
Saif Badar (wk)
No.5
Iftikhar Ahmed
Imad Wasim
Amir Yamin/Amad Butt
Mohammad Musa
Shaheen Afridi
Usman Shinwari
(My opinion)

Give the management time, and let them experiment everything before the world cup, hopefully it will do us good.

Do people in here understand that when teams prepare for world cups, they try players out? This is what Pakistan team is doing they are trying every possible player to make a good combination for the world cup. Our ODI team is settled now as we have a solid top 4, a good bowling and decent depth in both batting and bowling . (Imam ul Haq, Fakhar Zaman, Babar Azam (c), Haris Sohail, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Amir, Shaheen Afridi, Usman Shinwari).T20i and test are work in progress. As the world cup is near a lot of experiments will be done in the upcoming series as well.

We started loosing T20 form from the SA series (under Mickey Arthur) and funny enough the only player that looked good was Babar Azam. We don't have a reliable batting unit and we don't have reliable bowling and that's why Misbah is experimenting around.

What's the outcome of these experiments? Most of our team is useless and we are understanding who we need and who we don't, things are getting clearer:

Babar Azam, Opener 2, Number 3, Number 4, Number 5, Iftikhar Ahmed (finisher), Imad Wasim, Fast Bowler 1, Fast bowler 2, Fast Bowler 3. (This is the dilemma that must be solved before the world cup!)

In my opinion Shinwari needs to be added into the t20i squad alongside Shaheen and Hasnain. we need a good fast bowling all rounder (Amir Yamin or Amad Butt), a good opener, a solid number 3 batsman and a suitable wicketkeeper batsman for the t20s.

A good wicket keeper batsman? There is one who can hit the ball well as well but we are scared to try him: Saif Badar!

Babar Azam
Ahsan Ali/Sharjeel Khan
Hussain Talat
Saif Badar (wk)
No.5
Iftikhar Ahmed
Imad Wasim
Amir Yamin/Amad Butt
Mohammad Musa
Shaheen Afridi
Usman Shinwari
(My opinion)

Give the management time, and let them experiment everything before the world cup, hopefully it will do us good.

Good post, but Saif Badar isn't a wicket-keeper.

Pretty sure seen him keeping, well if he can't then my bad, but all I am saying is when you experiment, these results don't matter, what if we had won (with a solid opening partnership), par problem toh wahi hai na, we don't have good enough players in the team.

Husain talat is not a t20 player(better suited for odis, as he has no power game).
Amir yamin and amad but will get killed bowling in australia. And so will shinwari.
Shaheen shah is hit and miss musa is unknown quantity, rather go with naseem shah and haris rauf.

Babar Azam
Ahsan Ali/Sharjeel Khan
Hussain Talat
Saif Badar (wk)
No.5
Iftikhar Ahmed
Imad Wasim
Amir Yamin/Amad Butt
Mohammad Musa
Shaheen Afridi
Usman Shinwari
(My opinion)

Really good points raised. My objection isnt regarding trying players out rather I want them to try out players but ones who are suited to T20 format. Giving Haris 3 consecutive matches (Including last one against Srl where he scored 50 balls 52) wasnt a good strategy when even his domestic T20 stats don’t present him as a good player for the format. He can play one off decent knock here and there in T20 but its highly unlikely he will be consistently good for the team in this format.

Coming to the playing 11 you have mentioned pacers and batsmen discussion aside I think it is lacking a specialist spinner which will be important in the T20 WC. Also Badar isnt a specialist keeper and I am not sure if he can keep good enough but, yes I get your point that team is doing experimentation and I agree with that as to find the best combination.

Pretty sure seen him keeping, well if he can't then my bad, but all I am saying is when you experiment, these results don't matter, what if we had won (with a solid opening partnership), par problem toh wahi hai na, we don't have good enough players in the team.

But but but, Pakistan team isn't a laboratory.

Really good points raised. My objection isnt regarding trying players out rather I want them to try out players but ones who are suited to T20 format. Giving Haris 3 consecutive matches (Including last one against Srl where he scored 50 balls 52) wasnt a good strategy when even his domestic T20 stats don’t present him as a good player for the format. He can play one off decent knock here and there in T20 but its highly unlikely he will be consistently good for the team in this format.

Coming to the playing 11 you have mentioned pacers and batsmen discussion aside I think it is lacking a specialist spinner which will be important in the T20 WC. Also Badar isnt a specialist keeper and I am not sure if he can keep good enough but, yes I get your point that team is doing experimentation and I agree with that as to find the best combination.

Indeed, the experimentation of Haris or Rizwan doesn't really make any sense, but Haris was part of the t20 team since Mickey's tenure, Rizwan was probably selected because we do not have good enough wicket keeper batsmen in domestic cricket (I don't think it will be wise to go for Kamran Akmal). Yes we are lacking a spinner, but that's a long story, our domestic cricket is producing only left arm spinners, and we don't have any good quality off or wrist spinner in there who would replace Shadab (on bad performance). I hope they don't drop Usman Qadir after just one match.

People can talk about flukes and beating under strength sides but our T20 side was NEVER this bad under Mickey. Misbah has come in and ruined the whole thing. Absolute disaster.

This humiliation was on the cards considering the fact that teams have started to takeT20s seriously in the WT20 season.

We made hay during 2016-2018 when T20 cricket was dead at the international level. Misbah and Waqar are clueless but they also find themselves in the wrong place at the wrong time.

Mickey and Sarfraz would have been throughly exposed as well, just like how they got exposed in ODIs after 2017.

We're going to get beat most games that's for sure. Misbah should record himself on a tape recorder with his dreary voice peddling out the same excuses for losing so he can save himself the bother of saying the same things on repeat.

This humiliation was on the cards considering the fact that teams have started to takeT20s seriously in the WT20 season.

We made hay during 2016-2018 when T20 cricket was dead at the international level. Misbah and Waqar are clueless but they also find themselves in the wrong place at the wrong time.

Mickey and Sarfraz would have been throughly exposed as well, just like how they got exposed in ODIs after 2017.

Yeah, Sri Lanka with half their players not making the tour was definitely them taking the format as seriously as possible.

Could have, would have but didn't. Sarfraz deserved the sack but Mickey should have been kept around. We played a decent England team in England in 2019, but did not get embarrassed like this.

Dumb fans like you are the reason Pakistan is in this mess right now. All people want to do is sack everyone left, right and centre, and we end up with a jee-huzoori spineless man like Misbah at the helm :facepalm:

Could have, would have but didn't. Sarfraz deserved the sack but Mickey should have been kept around. We played a decent England team in England in 2019, but did not get embarrassed like this.

Dumb fans like you are the reason Pakistan is in this mess right now. All people want to do is sack everyone left, right and centre, and we end up with a jee-huzoori spineless man like Misbah at the helm :facepalm:

Yeah sure, it is my fault.

What they can do when there is severe lack of talent? Even Langer or Lehman can't do anything with this type of players.

Yeah, Sri Lanka with half their players not making the tour was definitely them taking the format as seriously as possible.

Different circumstances. Sri Lanka had to pick reserve players for the Pakistan tour because their main didn’t want to tour for security reasons.

Since the reserve players won comprehensively, it was not possible for all of them to be dropped immediately for the Australian series.

Between the last WT20 and the ODI World Cup, the focus was on ODIs. However, with two World T20s in the next two years, T20 cricket will be prioritized over ODI cricket and we will soon occupy the 5th or 6th position, which is our rightful place in every format.

Babar, Fakhar, Hafeez, Malik, Sarfraz, Imad, Shadab, Hasan, Amir, Shaheen etc. This was the core of the side that became the #1 in the world.

Apart from Babar, there are no established world class/elite players in that bunch. Considering the amount of talent in other teams, how can one justify the #1 ranking of this bunch?

Our fans are plain delusional. They don’t want to acknowledge that our ranking was down to other factors. At no point during Sarfraz and Mickey’s reign were we the best T20 side in the world. Absolutely not close.

Babar, Fakhar, Hafeez, Malik, Sarfraz, Imad, Shadab, Hasan, Amir, Shaheen etc. This was the core of the side that became the #1 in the world.

Apart from Babar, there are no established world class/elite players in that bunch. Considering the amount of talent in other teams, how can one justify the #1 ranking of this bunch?

Our fans are plain delusional. They don’t want to acknowledge that our ranking was down to other factors. At no point during Sarfraz and Mickey’s reign were we the best T20 side in the world. Absolutely not close.
Keep quiet. Atleast we didn't lose games to Sri Lanka D under them :shh

I agree.

I had no issues with sacking Mickey but only on the condition that we find a superior replacement, such as Tom Moody. However that was never realistic because top coaches do not rate the opportunity of coaching Pakistan cricket highly because the role isn't deemed to be prestigious and it certainly doesn't pay enough to make it a worthwhile addition to their CVs.

The fans demanding Mickey to be sacked unconditionally are irrational. Unfortunately they have played their part collectively as PCB has always bowed to media and fan pressure, so it's important this is highlighted and would like to thank you for raising this issue.

Keep quiet. Atleast we didn't lose games to Sri Lanka D under them :shh

Who cares about that series. The point is that they were on the brink of getting exposed as well. The “we are the best in T20s” delusional fans were in need of another reality-check like the Asia Cup last year, where the so-called Champions Trophy winners were supposed to thump a Kohli-less India.

Some fans never learn.

The Damned United: it’s already time to sack Misbah!

Pretty much everyone knows that the greatest English football manager of the last century was Old Big ‘Ead - Brian Clough.

But in 1974 Clough lasted just 44 days as the Manager of the champion English club, Leeds United, before he had to be sacked. It’s immortalised in the movie and book “The Damned United”.

The problem was almost identical to what Pakistan faces now with Misbah-ul-Haq. The new coach did not respect the man he replaced and set out to reverse and dismantle his work.

The Leeds directors quickly realised that this would destroy the work that had been done and that they would need to buy a new team. Clough had to go.

They sacked him, brought in Jimmy Armfield who was a very similar man to Mickey Arthur, and they kept the team together and reached a Champions League final.

The same story is playing out in Pakistan cricket. Mickey Arthur had to wait for Misbah to retire before he could introduce young players and they became the best players in the team. But now Misbah is back and has skipped a generation......upwards! There are a couple of kids to warm the bench, but for Misbah age is everything. Old age.

Old blood has been prioritised in Misbah’s squads and the tactics are prehistoric.

But every Test series counts for the World Test Championship. And the T20 World Cup is just round the corner - and Misbah has sent the performances into freefall.

Pakistan find themselves in exactly the same situation as Leeds United in 1974. They have employed someone who is clearly a terrible fit for the job and who is going to dismantle what his predecessor had done.

In normal circumstances you give a new man enough time to succeed or fail. But it’s plain obvious that Pakistan has employed someone who will dismantle the good things that were already in place.

There’s no time like the present. Misbah needs to be removed now, just like Brian Clough in 1974.

Who cares about that series. The point is that they were on the brink of getting exposed as well. The “we are the best in T20s” delusional fans were in need of another reality-check like the Asia Cup last year, where the so-called Champions Trophy winners were supposed to thump a Kohli-less India.

Some fans never learn.
Keep up with the excuses. We could have got exposed, we would have got exposed but we didn't during that time. It's nice to see you've changed your statements from 'my India will smash this team, you guys just wait and watch' to 'teams taking T20s seriously now, this team will be exposed'.

We got exposed by a Sri Lanka team devoid of their main players, so for you to brush it aside speaks volumes of your cricketing intelligence.

Now, as I said, keep quiet :shh

Really sad. Getting killed in a format we usually have been good at. So the Sri Lankan win was well deserved. Against Aussies it would have been 0-3 as well if not for rain saving us.

why would give debut to young players in a must win match to tie the series. misbahs thought process has me baffled. if these same player had a chance to play against SL im sure we wouldve seen a different result

Part of Pakistan’s problem regardless of coach is that this new ftp (and the old one) is not really favoring them. They will be confined to playing at home or peer level teams over the next two years. Their tours to places like Austria New Zealand South Africa England will be very short affairs.
They will have to find a way to be ready to play without too much acclimatization. Not they have done much with long tours in the past.
And with Misbah at the helm it’s just going to be more meek analytical cricket

Some fans never learn.

bro no point in preaching to the blind and deaf.

misbah is a trash man manager, and his decision making process is clearly flawed. im not sure whats worse sending wahab and irfan as part of the t20 team or playing musa and khushdil shah in a must win match.

Keep up with the excuses. We could have got exposed, we would have got exposed but we didn't during that time. It's nice to see you've changed your statements from 'my India will smash this team, you guys just wait and watch' to 'teams taking T20s seriously now, this team will be exposed'.

We got exposed by a Sri Lanka team devoid of their main players, so for you to brush it aside speaks volumes of your cricketing intelligence.

Now, as I said, keep quiet :shh

What excuses? I don’t need to excuses for a rubbish team, whose mediocrity transcends whoever is the coach, selector or captain.

My point is that the Sri Lankan series presented a lose-lose scenario. Winning that series wasn’t a big deal but losing was. However, even had we won that series, what is the point when we were bound to get thrashed with serious T20I cricket coming up in the next two years? That is why I am “brushing it aside”.

Change my statements? I still maintain that the number 1 rank drama would have blown into a million pieces had India bothered to play us during our so-called winning streak form 2016 to 2018. It would have been as big a reality-check as the Asia cup 2018 was.

As far as other teams are concerned, the likes of Australia and England are in T20 mode now because we have two World T20s in the next two years. It was always inevitable that Pakistan’s fake number 1 team was going to get exposed 2019 onwards.

Yes you can pretend that it wouldn’t have happened just like you wouldn’t have believed that a Kohli-less India would smash Pakistan in ODIs. If you want to be your delusional self, be it far from me to rain on your parade.

Also, let’s not talk about cricket intelligence. Your hilariously arrogant and delusional posts leading up to the Asia Cup last year are still in the archives. I admire your resolve because not many posters would have continued to post after such embarrassment.

bro no point in preaching to the blind and deaf.

misbah is a trash man manager, and his decision making process is clearly flawed. im not sure whats worse sending wahab and irfan as part of the t20 team or playing musa and khushdil shah in a must win match.

Misbah has never understood Limited Overs cricket. Yes our team is poor and there is little talent, but he is also not picking the right combination or the right players. There is no justification for some of his selections and he deserves all the criticism. However, the narrative that he has ruined the #1 team in the world is also wrong. We were never the best T20 side in the world during Mickey no matter what the rankings say.

lol yea i agree, we just never had the batting talent to be hailed as #1 in t20s.

misbah has literally finessed the pcb into 750k guaranteed regardless of if he is fired or not.

give me that im sure ill do a much better job. international coach, give some pep talks improve morale, make the right selections.

there is coaching staff the does most of the hard work aka fielding, batting and bowling drills for him.
misbah is as useless as they come.

Well, at least we don't need to suffer more torture with this T20 series, onto the Test series...

Where are all those people who were calling for MA to be replaced.

I can understand this level of stupidity from armchair supporters and media but the morons running PCB actually acted such calls.

PCB in a matter of months has put back Pak cricket 5 years. Now we will see an expended period of chopping and changing.

If I were the PCB chairmanship I would apologise to MA and request him to come back and bring back SA as captain before we destroy Babar Azam as well.

Stupid people!

Twenty20 is meaningless. We need to lose in Tests to make these loses mean anything.

I have a feeling captaincy will make a negative effect on Babar despite the fact that he had scored 2 fifties.

21 toppun ki salami to Wasim Khan for appointing Misbah. Bhaar mai jaye aisa Leicestershire ka experience.

We will lose equally badly in ODI and Test matches.

PCB has ripped the heart out of the stability and progress the team was starting to make under MA and SA. Remember you always improve in the shorter formats before improving in test cricket.

lol yea i agree, we just never had the batting talent to be hailed as #1 in t20s.

misbah has literally finessed the pcb into 750k guaranteed regardless of if he is fired or not.

give me that im sure ill do a much better job. international coach, give some pep talks improve morale, make the right selections.

there is coaching staff the does most of the hard work aka fielding, batting and bowling drills for him.
misbah is as useless as they come.

Wasim Khan needs to be sacked first before anything for Misbah's appointment.

What excuses? I don’t need to excuses for a rubbish team, whose mediocrity transcends whoever is the coach, selector or captain.

My point is that the Sri Lankan series presented a lose-lose scenario. Winning that series wasn’t a big deal but losing was. However, even had we won that series, what is the point when we were bound to get thrashed with serious T20I cricket coming up in the next two years? That is why I am “brushing it aside”.

Change my statements? I still maintain that the number 1 rank drama would have blown into a million pieces had India bothered to play us during our so-called winning streak form 2016 to 2018. It would have been as big a reality-check as the Asia cup 2018 was.

As far as other teams are concerned, the likes of Australia and England are in T20 mode now because we have two World T20s in the next two years. It was always inevitable that Pakistan’s fake number 1 team was going to get exposed 2019 onwards.

Yes you can pretend that it wouldn’t have happened just like you wouldn’t have believed that a Kohli-less India would smash Pakistan in ODIs. If you want to be your delusional self, be it far from me to rain on your parade.

Also, let’s not talk about cricket intelligence. Your hilariously arrogant and delusional posts leading up to the Asia Cup last year are still in the archives. I admire your resolve because not many posters would have continued to post after such embarrassment.

We are really poor in all formats of cricket but Wasim Khan made it worse by bringing Misbah who first choose his buddies like Shehzad, Umar ...... and broke the team's flow.

I can understand this level of stupidity from armchair supporters and media but the morons running PCB actually acted such calls.

PCB in a matter of months has put back Pak cricket 5 years. Now we will see an expended period of chopping and changing.

If I were the PCB chairmanship I would apologise to MA and request him to come back and bring back SA as captain before we destroy Babar Azam as well.

Stupid people!

A superb post ! I disagree with reinstating Sarfraz but since PCB couldn't attract internationally proven coaches, and the alternatives were Misbah and Dean Jones who have zero international coaching experience, then they should've stuck with the best man for the job in Mickey.

However PCB crumbled like a dessert in the face of pressure from the ex-player mafia who demanded a local coach and sacking of the evil foreigner.

We need a coach with intensity and energy. This bad copy of Inzi isn't going to do much with his lazy mannerisms.

Lol. Mickey has just said that he would bring back safaraz, hafeez and malik.
Hes as bad, if not worse than misbah.

Lol. Mickey has just said that he would bring back safaraz, hafeez and malik.
Hes as bad, if not worse than misbah.

So bad we are ranked no1 because of him and won a ICC tournament?

Whats Misbah done? Played in front of empty stadium in tests and took you to no1 for a couple of months?

Do you even understand Mickeys pedigree, do you know how he shaped SA into a force in the 2000s.

Misbah and any other Pakistani coach are not even good enough to shine his shoes.

Stupid people!

Excellent post overall.

Only thing I disagree with you is on Sarfraz Ahmed because he should have faced the axe instead of Mickey Arthur.

Mickey might be a top coach but it wasn’t working for Pakistan and he had to go. The record breaking losing streak in ODIs and the decline in the Test fortunes cannot he ignored. However, for some reason, PCB thought Misbah was the man to turn things around.

Pakistan is going to experience their most horrific run in all formats under Misbah, the assassinator.

Wasim Khan needs to be sacked first before anything for Misbah's appointment.

Misbah is one of the many catastrophic and terrible decisions made buy Ehsan Mani and Wasim Khan.

Ehsan Mani and Wasim Khan both need to be investigated, for what they are doing to Pakistani cricketers nationwide. Only sacking them is a protecting option for them.

Ehsan Mani has acted like remote control for the mafia to pick politically backed players and put performers[on merit] under pressure in national side ever since he came.
Pakistan national team performance drop is the worst since 2013 and 2015.
They are failing to even make 100 runs in T20 format even with around 6 runs per over.
Wasim Khan has snatched the livelihoods of first class cricketers.
Most first class cricketers are jobless and doing odd jobs to make ends meet.

Misbah is one of the many catastrophic and terrible decisions made buy Ehsan Mani and Wasim Khan.

Ehsan Mani and Wasim Khan both need to be investigated, for what they are doing to Pakistani cricketers nationwide. Only sacking them is a protecting option for them.

Ehsan Mani has acted like remote control for the mafia to pick politically backed players and put performers[on merit] under pressure in national side ever since he came.
Pakistan national team performance drop is the worst since 2013 and 2015.
They are failing to even make 100 runs in T20 format even with around 6 runs per over.
Wasim Khan has snatched the livelihoods of first class cricketers.
Most first class cricketers are jobless and doing odd jobs to make ends meet.

You mean rubbish FC cricketers turning up for a paycheck off the back of a recommendation slip and keeping out promising young talent?

Hopefully they are all now doing a job they are good at.

The blunder is the Misbah hire nothing else. Misbah himself should have known if he was not capable especially when offered 2 roles. He nonchantly accepted just for the paycheck just like he has always done.

I was trying best on here to tell anyone who wanted to listen to keep Mickey, I am not sure who got into Wasim's ear.

Number one T20 team getting whitewashed after whitewash against B and C teams doesn't hold good for T20 WC.

Saying that Misbah is better or worse than Mickey, or that Pakistan needs one or the other, is like rearranging deck chairs when the whole freaking ship is sinking.

What's the point?

In short, the focus should be on growing the pipeline of talent, because I sure as heck can't see much in this current lot. A coach, any coach, Misbah or Mickey or Mahatma Gandhi sure as heck isn't going to make the essential difference.

Well it doesn't look good for Misbah so far. He's got some difficult games coming up and he needs to make sure he prepares the teams better unfortunately Misbah is not refined enough to coach a international team. Learning on the job in the International stage is not a good move.

Very few franchise teams would even consider a coach who would “learn on the job”. But for some reason the PCB has reasoned it’s a completely acceptable thing to do with the national team. And not just coach but also chief selector. How they reason such decisions is mind boggling.

I completely agree. When you have a more qualified option in Dean Jones, who is a well respected cricketer along with a decent coach why not go with him.

I think after this series there’s probably very little faith held in the ranking by players, coaches and supporters. But it’s also very probable that Misbah continues to make disastrous selections. These two series were a good chance to experiment with debutants yet all of those came in the last match of an Australian series in a crunch situation.

It was likely that we were gonna lose this series any which way. The form this Australian team has picked up will make beating them very hard for any team. But it could’ve been better for Pakistan to lose it yet having added more experience and exposure for the youngsters.

Waqar was a pathetic captain and has proven to be a useless coach in all his tenures yet the PCB continues to choose him again and again. Misbah's captaincy presided over our lowest ODI and T-20 rankings and yet the PCB went for him.

Number one T20 team getting whitewashed after whitewash against B and C teams doesn't hold good for T20 WC.

Misbah does have the magic touch. He didnt lead us to the absolute bottom of the ODI rankings for nothing.

And a vast majority of the fans in Pakistan predicted what is happening and more is about to come.