Pakistan (146/9) secure a 41-run victory against UAE (105) and qualify for the Super Four of the Asia Cup 2025

What kind of illiterate childish behaviour is this yaar.

PCB's lack of knowledge is a mockery to any sporting organisation. Seriously whats the point of this drama. All because of a ridiculous rejection to a handshake????

It's like there an infant lashing out at there parents. Think Maggie Simpson & pacifiers.

So stupid.

Update: DP World Asia Cup 2025 - Match 10 - Pakistan vs UAE. The match will start at 7:30pm local time. Toss will take place at 7:00pm.

They didn't break any cricketing law. It is not mandatory. India was expected to boycott the match. This is very milder version of that move
Regardless, India should have boycotted the match if the intention was to bring politics into cricket and Asia cup. Cricket is a game played primarily by kids and young adults, international cricketers are just better players of the game than general population. No reason to bring any kind of politics in any game, you play the game and shake hands after the game.

Back to the match, very few predicted lineups have been shared here. Although there is a lot to talk about with respect to that.

I prefer tri-series combo. WK as a rule should play 6-7 for pak. This will allow us to find the right profile and plan long-term rather than changing approach based on accommodating players.

Long-term Agha too has to fix his spot cuz he ain’t bowling no more so better own his spot.

Regardless, India should have boycotted the match if the intention was to bring politics into cricket and Asia cup. Cricket is a game played primarily by kids and young adults, international cricketers are just better players of the game than general population. No reason to bring any kind of politics in any game, you play the game and shake hands after the game.
what about Rizwan's gaza drama in World Cup '23 match vs Sri Lanka.

It would be hilarious if the ACC and UAE board refused the delay and Pakistan ended up forfeiting the game... that will teach them a lesson

I genuinely do feel bad for Pakistan players - imagine the pressure they must be under. It is just a sad indictment of the current politicization of sports.

I do expect Pakistan to beat UAE - but God forbid if they do lose - can you really blame them with all these extraneous factors?

I understand they are all professionals and they need to take it under their chin but these are sub-optimal conditions mentally to prepare for a must win game.

If Pakistan loose today, then only PCB is responsible for it as there was no need for last minute drama

They didn't break any cricketing law. It is not mandatory. India was expected to boycott the match. This is very milder version of that move
I don’t think India were ever going to boycott just before the match starts it looks bad. Even the threatening of the boycott of the tournament if they had to play in Pakistan was done ahead of time and with alternatives offered.

India played this smart and did the worse thing they could do without breaking the rules.

I don’t think Pakistan were thinking of boycotting this match either. I think they assumed icc would be quick to remove Pycroft and they save face. But they stuck with him. Probably because Pycroft has technically done nothing wrong and was placed in a difficult situation. But looks like icc has folded eventually and match will go ahead.

I think PCB has handled this situation embarrassingly, creating trouble for two parties in Pycroft and UAE who are innocent with no malicious intent. While the offending party has been non affected by this. In fact they are probably pleased seeing Pakistan acting this way, it makes their actions look more justified.

Just overly emotional. Sums of the constantly chopping and changing sacking and resacking captains even in the cricketing side. The way Pakistan cricket affairs in recent years has been handled has been like an over emotional fan.

What exactly can he do? he was only a paid employ, with majority of his income coming from India?
Not sure what your point is? I was just replying to a post regarding removing "English" officials from all Pakistan games. I haven’t criticised Pycroft. In all honesty, it's all a non issue. India looked pathetic for not shaking hands and bringing politics into it. Pakistan should have just shrugged their shoulders and moved on. Instead of being an India "issue", it's now a Pakistani "issue". We had the upper hand. Now we just look like cry babies sulking cos the other kids are being mean.

Tactical masterstroke by Naqvi. Dew set in by around 7:15 previously at Dubai giving a distinct advantage to the chasing side .

Now, even the side batting first can take advantage of it thanks to the one hour delay :inti

Naqvi sa'ab has a bit of Chanakya in him
Naqvi pulling a Momin 😵‍💫

I don’t think India were ever going to boycott just before the match starts it looks bad. Even the threatening of the boycott of the tournament if they had to play in Pakistan was done ahead of time and with alternatives offered.

India played this smart and did the worse thing they could do without breaking the rules.

I don’t think Pakistan were thinking of boycotting this match either. I think they assumed icc would be quick to remove Pycroft and they save face. But they stuck with him. Probably because Pycroft has technically done nothing wrong and was placed in a difficult situation. But looks like icc has folded eventually and match will go ahead.

I think PCB has handled this situation embarrassingly, creating trouble for two parties in Pycroft and UAE who are innocent with no malicious intent. While the offending party has been non affected by this. In fact they are probably pleased seeing Pakistan acting this way, it makes their actions look more justified.

Just overly emotional. Sums of the constantly chopping and changing sacking and resacking captains even in the cricketing side. The way Pakistan cricket affairs in recent years has been handled has been like an over emotional fan.
Whole country runs like this too

I long for the days of having an educated gent like Shahryar Khan as the chairman and his excellent handing of the Ovalgate incident (I was present at the stadium)...it's all a bunch of jokers running the game now
I remember Shahryar using the term "Sword of Damocles" hanging over the team in relation to them not coming out and playing in the afternoon session due to being accused of ball-tampering by Umpire Daryl Hair...I was like, damn, even I don't know what that means!

And then his handling of the affairs post match led to the removal of Hair as an international umpire (good riddance). That's how you do it!

Not this Mickey Mouse crap being pulled by Naqvi!

Not sure what your point is? I was just replying to a post regarding removing "English" officials from all Pakistan games. I haven’t criticised Pycroft. In all honesty, it's all a non issue. India looked pathetic for not shaking hands and bringing politics into it. Pakistan should have just shrugged their shoulders and moved on. Instead of being an India "issue", it's now a Pakistani "issue". We had the upper hand. Now we just look like cry babies sulking cos the other kids are being mean.
Its was never Pakistan issue. We should have just moved on to the next game.

Tactical masterstroke by Naqvi. Dew set in by around 7:15 previously at Dubai giving a distinct advantage to the chasing side .

Now, even the side batting first can take advantage of it thanks to the one hour delay :inti

Naqvi sa'ab has a bit of Chanakya in him
In all seriousness India should have boycotted playing against Pakistan. We Kashmiris suffered so much after Pahalgam attack and after few India is playing shamelessly against Pakistan and top of that doing this No hand shake drama. Are bhai agr khelna hi tha phr Handshake karne ya na karne se kya farak padta h.

All poodles of BCCI can get lost. PCB should comb through all officials now

Well done to PCB for sticking to your guns.

Respect for Naqvi.

It was clear. No Pycroft, No match.

Yes.

I don't understand Pakistani politics much and I don't know who are good and who are bad. But, Naqvi has been very good in terms of dealing with Indians.

When it comes to India, you need to be stubborn and cutthroat like the Chinese. That's the only language India understand. Naqvi did well in that regard. :inti

what about Rizwan's gaza drama in World Cup '23 match vs Sri Lanka.
Rizwan did not refuse to shake hands with anyone, India could have given a similar statement to say the victory was dedicated to the people affected etc which is fine. You can still dedicate victories and not make it political. But not shaking hands is despicable.

Yes.

I don't understand Pakistani politics much and I don't know who are good and who are bad. But, Naqvi has been very good in terms of dealing with Indians.

When it comes to India, you need to be stubborn and cutthroat like the Chinese. That's the only language India understand. Naqvi did well in that regard. :inti
We did not need to react at all.

This was how India became so influential and arrogant.

Had countries reacted 10-15 years ago, India could've been kept in check.

Reactions are sometimes necessary when you are dealing with corruption/evil.

In all seriousness India should have boycotted playing against Pakistan. We Kashmiris suffered so much after Pahalgam attack and after few India is playing shamelessly against Pakistan and top of that doing this No hand shake drama. Are bhai agr khelna hi tha phr Handshake karne ya na karne se kya farak padta h.
I agree. This govt. is terrible. All the hoopla about jawans and what not and then they go and play Asia Cup.

Now acting petty by not shaking hands etc.

Completely avoidable, all of it.

1981 Australian tour Dennis Leilee kicked Javed miandad, Pakistan continued with tour not boycotted

In fact if Pycroft issued no hand shake instructions in Urdu, then this drama wouldn't have arised

This was how India became so influential and arrogant.

Had countries reacted 10-15 years ago, India could've been kept in check.

Reactions are sometimes necessary when you are dealing with corruption/evil.
India used Pakistan, Sri Lanka to lobby with them for influence 2 decades ago.

They are proven backstabbers

What exactly could have Pycroft done in the first place? Threaten or force Surya to shake hands? Referee at the end of day can only control on field events - you are dealing with national governments involved here in the background.

I feel Pakistan picked a soft target in Pycroft - and he is still officiating this game today - so what exactly did Pakistan achieve by delaying this game by an hour - other than putting its own team under a lot of unnecessary and avoidable pressure.

India used Pakistan, Sri Lanka to lobby with them for influence 2 decades ago.

They are proven backstabbers

Yup. Exactly.

They backstabbed everyone pretty much.

This is why alliance with India is always a bad idea whether it is in cricket or outside of cricket. They are not trustworthy. :inti

I'm told Pycroft will be officiating.

PCB achieved nothing. This was nothing more than a child's tantrum and it has only disturbed the Pakistan Cricket team.
Like there wasn't enough spotlight on the young team...honestly, proper bunch of jokers running the PCB and that is saying much considering weve had the likes of Ijaz Butt in the past!

What exactly could have Pycroft done in the first place? Threaten or force Surya to shake hands? Referee at the end of day can only control on field events - you are dealing with national governments involved here in the background.

I feel Pakistan picked a soft target in Pycroft - and he is still officiating this game today - so what exactly did Pakistan achieve by delaying this game by an hour - other than putting its own team under a lot of unnecessary and avoidable pressure.
My only issue with him. On a technical level. Is that he didn't report this handshake matter to ICC effective immediately as soon as he learned that he was to tell Pakistani player/s not to shake hands.

It is not the responsibility of referee to monitor handshakes. It is totally voluntary. Not mandatory. PCB should not soft-target referee here as he is not the one made that decision on behalf of Indian team

He represents ICC. His job is to enforce ICC rules in the ground.
Nothing he can do about the handshake. Tomorrow if Pakistan refuse to shake hands nothing could be done either. However I wouldn't recommend anyone not to shake hands as that would a a despicable thing to do.