Pakistan [190/7] beat Sri Lanka [188] in the Under-19 World Cup to qualify for the quarter-finals

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">In Whangarei Pakistan have won the toss and elected to bowl as they battle Sri Lanka for a spot in the <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/U19CWC?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#U19CWC</a> quarter finals!<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/SLvPAK?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#SLvPAK</a> LIVE ➡️ <a href="https://t.co/a477IsCH1P">https://t.co/a477IsCH1P</a> <a href="https://t.co/My6aOJeg1d">pic.twitter.com/My6aOJeg1d</a></p>— Cricket World Cup (@cricketworldcup) <a href="https://twitter.com/cricketworldcup/status/954096835810881536?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 18, 2018</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="in" dir="ltr">PAKu19 XI: M Alam, R Nazir, A Alam, A Zaryab, M Taha, S Khan, H Khan, M Musa, S Afridi, S Shafqat, A Iqbal</p>— ICC Live Scores (@ICCLive) <a href="https://twitter.com/ICCLive/status/954099558845419520?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 18, 2018</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="in" dir="ltr">SLu19 XI: D Lakshan, N Dananjaya, K Sanjula, J Daniel, K Mendis, N Fernando, K Bandara, S Gunathilaka, T Rashmika, N Malinga, P Jayawickrama</p>— ICC Live Scores (@ICCLive) <a href="https://twitter.com/ICCLive/status/954099558522458113?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 18, 2018</a></blockquote>

Good toss to win. Afridi and co need bowl well up front and if they do Lanka could be skittled out for not many.

Why do they keep playing S Shafqat for? The guy usually gets phainty from everyone. Am I missing something? [MENTION=133760]Abdullah719[/MENTION]

No clue. Thought they may play an extra pacer today. Maybe conditions are different? Let's see...

Sad things here Shahin shah does not like to bowl with the new ball [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] bhai kaam u19 sa kharab ha,.

Shaheen is the only player in this team who has a future star potential?

The leggie is a strange selection in this u19 side . Hardly completes his quota .
Is almost always expensive .
This group has serious fast bowling talent so just back your strength .
The fast bowling talent is pretty good this time around but the spin attack of hasan and the leggie is rather ordinary.

The leggie is a strange selection in this u19 side . Hardly completes his quota .
Is almost always expensive .
This group has serious fast bowling talent so just back your strength .
The fast bowling talent is pretty good this time around but the spin attack of hasan and the leggie is rather ordinary.
I wouldn’t even call him a leggie. Bowls 90 kph half-trackers that move out. Should’ve gone in with the genuine pace of Ali against SL.

we will lose this match. our batting is pathertic. whether that be u15, u16,u17,19,u23 , men or women

Warner isn’t a hack, he’s a complete batsman.

What have the rest achieved outside of home?
This is not Tests we are talking about. ODI tracks around the world are flat. Even England and NZ are flat and filled with short boundaries. Roy hit the highest individual score for England in AUS, Hales had that record when he wrecked us in the summer of 16’ while contributing the highest team total in ODI’s ( that 444 game ). Zaman was all over the place in the CT ( bounced on the head, head facing wrong way ) but he scored one of the most significant Finals knocks in recent memory. Warner is a HACK. He has all the shots in the book but cannot perform in all conditions. His performances are mostly in AUS ( 9 out of 14 centuries ). In modern day limited overs cricket, you do not need a Mark Waugh type batsmen who shows reselience and patience along with celestial timing. You need a guy who can top-edge, go through the cordon, slog a few, leg-slide flick his way to a scorching start during the Powerplay. A Hack is considered a dirty word here on PP but the reality is that not only is it necessary in today’s game but also highly effective.

Looks like Pakistanis cannot bat at any level, whether it's men's seniors, women or Under 19.

Pakistan U19 pretty much got this in the bag. If they qualify for QF who are they likely going to face?

63/3 now, the game is in balance with Pakistan just having their nose in front.

Pakistan doing their best to make a close match out of this

If Pak can get another 20-30 runs without losing a wicket then we will have this match in the bag.

128/5 currently

Damn what is wrong with our batting, it's bad all the way down.

We need to fix our system. Sadly won't happen with the amount of corruption/nepotism in our system.

Shaheen Shah Afridi :out

Thought he could bat a bit, but really has disappointed. All hope on Hasan Khan now.

Was a bit of a nailbiter, really looking forward to seeing Pakistans match live on TV.

Our batting is not really all that good from the looks of it, we really depend on 2-3 batsmen.

Muhammad Musa finishes it off in style :six

Will be good to see Shaheen and Iqbal live in quaterfinal

Last two WC had full of trundlers from Pakistan

Sri Lanka put up a fine fight, but Pakistan had simply done too much damage in the first innings of their must-win Group C clash. They sealed their spot in the quarter-finals of the 2018 ICC Under 19 Cricket World Cup, along with Afghanistan, with a three-wicket victory at the Cobham Oval on Friday (19 January).

Hasan Khan, the Pakistan captain, called right at the toss and opted to bowl, wanting to restrict Sri Lanka to a low score and allow his batsmen to chase without scoreboard pressure. The first part of it went to plan, his bowlers trundling out Sri Lanka for 188 in 48.2 overs. However, Sri Lanka emerged for the second innings with supreme spirit, and it needed a watchful half-century from Ali Zaryab (59), and a supportive 45-ball unbeaten 24 from Hasan himself to sneak Pakistan across the line. They did so in 43.3 overs, ending at 190/7.

The fight Sri Lanka put up was lovely to see though. They emerged for the second innings with a war cry, and they put in a display that would have stirred even the most ardent Pakistan fan. Their fielders cheered their bowlers’ every move, and complimented them well in the field. And the bowlers delivered under a searing New Zealand sun. Thisaru Rashmika – who was Sri Lanka’s best bowler with 3/47 – had Rohail Nazir bowled for nought early on, and followed it up with the scalp of Ammad Alam (12).

A brief stand between Zaid Alam and Zaryab helped Pakistan recover from 25/2 and breach the 50-run mark, but Dhananjaya Lakshan induced an edge off Alam and Pakistan were nervy at 57/3. It could have led to a slide, but Mohammad Taha offered good support to Zaryab, and the two staged a recovery. There was no time pressure – there were plenty of overs remaining, and their target was small, allowing them to pick the singles.

Their 61-run stand was crucial in pegging Sri Lanka back, but when Taha (24) was adjudged caught behind – he didn’t think so, but the umpire did – he was followed back to the dressing room by Saad Khan (1) as well. Pakistan were a bit jittery at this point – they were losing wickets in a huff, and there was still a way to go. And Sri Lanka were buzzing.

Hasan came in and played a crucial captain’s knock. He took charge, taking almost no time to settle in, and with his captain batting with such ease, Zaryab could play his game. He soon brought up his half-century, as the two added 33 runs for the sixth wicket. Unfortunately for Pakistan, there was another mini-slide, with Zaryab nicking one to the ‘keeper and Shaheen Afridi (4) holing out shortly thereafter.

Captain Hasan was visibly displeased with his partners’ lack of staying power. The wickets raised the tension that much more, but Pakistan found an unlikely hero in Muhammad Musa. He rotated strike commendably, and hammered an 18-ball unbeaten 23, finishing things off in style with two consecutive sixes. Pakistan’s joy knew no bounds.

In the morning, the Pakistan opening bowlers Arshad Iqbal and Musa had Sri Lanka in trouble early on. They induced an edge off Nipun Perera (4) in the third over, and had Dhananjaya Lakshan and Krishan Sanjula back in the stands to stifle Sri Lanka at 48/3.

The most sickening blow, however, was still to come. Kamindu Mendis, the Sri Lanka captain, is a capable batsman, but his dismissal was disastrous – a run-out after an unfortunate miscommunication with Jehan Daniel. When Nuwanidu Fernando holed out shortly thereafter, Sri Lanka were five down and in dire straits.

It was then that Bandara and Daniel got together. They frustrated Pakistan, stonewalling as much as they could in the early stages. After settling in, they began playing their shots as well, with Daniel in particularly vengeful mood. There were some meaty blows off his willow, including a lofted six over long on. The Pakistan fielders were pushed back, the singles came easily, and their partnership burgeoned.

However, with the death overs approaching, they needed to up the scoring rate. It ended in their falls. Daniel notched up his half-century, but then holed out off Hasan, while Bandara was clean bowled in the very next over. The tail attempted to wag, but Pakistan snuffed them out.

[MENTION=1269]Bewal Express[/MENTION]

https://www.icc-cricket.com/video/597872

Arshad definitely looks quicker than Afridi.

The bits i saw against Aus and NZ in the warmer up matches, Afridi def looked quicker. If this is the case then we have 2 good prospects on our hands. The one thing to say Arshad is that he is def a big lad, and that can never be a bad thing. As i said earlier for a left armer its simple as the wrist position at the release of the ball( ball back into the right handers), if he can get it right he will have a chance and if he doesnt, he has little chance.

Yahan bhi mar mar ke jeetay hain... Pakistani batting har level pe hi baqwas hai